skip to content
  • Get Ready!
  • SELF Loan
  • Minnesota College Savings Plan
Minnesota Office of Higher Education

Home > Contact Us > Advisory Groups


Advisory Groups


The Office of Higher Educations has one standing advisory group, The Student Advisory Council, and convenes other groups of stakeholders to address issues as the need arises.

The Student Advisory Council provides the office with student perspectives on statewide higher education issues and policies, including financial aid.

Student Advisory Council members

University of Minnesota:

Valkyrie Jensen
Chair, Student Advisory Council
Student Senate Chair
(612) 423-7405

State Universities:

Kari Cooper
Chair, Minnesota State University Student Association
555 Park Street, Suite 420
(651) 224-1518 (office)

Technical and Community Colleges:

Kayley Schoonmaker
President, Minnesota State College Student Association
(651) 203-9460

Matthew Rubel
Secretary, Student Advisory Council
Treasurer, Minnesota State College Student Association
Office: (651) 297-5877 Cell: (612) 910-3287

Private Colleges:

May Yang
Vice Chair, Student Advisory Council
(651) 447-9271

For-Profit Postsecondary Institutions:

Jennifer Kromrey
(763) 795-4729