## Full Review & New Schools

## MINNESOTA OFFICE OF HIGHER EDUCATION PRIVATE CAREER SCHOOL LICENSE

Enclosed are the application forms you must complete to apply for a Minnesota Private Career School License. Also included are the state laws regulating private career schools doing business in the state of Minnesota.

The fees for a private school license application and solicitor permit are:

New School License Fee

Schools that will offer no more than one program its first year \$2,500 Schools that will offer more than one program its first year \$2,500

\$500

(per additional program)

School License Renewal Fee for category (A) schools

Schools Offering One Program
\$1,150
Schools Offering Two or More Programs
\$1,150

\$200

(per additional program – with max. annual licensing fee of \$2,000)

Solicitor Permit Fee – Per Solicitor \$350.00

Multiple Location(s) – Location(s) 2-5 \$250.00 per site
Location(s) 6 or more \$100.00 per site

Submit completed application for license and appropriate fee along with required materials to:

Office of Higher Education 1450 Energy Park Dr. Ste. #350 St. Paul, MN 55108 (north entrance elv. to 3<sup>rd</sup> floor)

Questions contact (651) 259-3976

#### APPLICATION FOR PRIVATE CAREER SCHOOL LICENSE

Mail to: Office of Higher Education, Private Career School	Licensure, 1450 Energy Park D	r. Suite 350, St. Pe	aul, MN 55108							
IDENTIFICATION INFORMATION										
Name of School*	School Phone Number  ( ) -	Date of this Ap	pplication							
School Address	City	State	Zip Code							
Name of Administrative Director of School	Primary Contact Number ( ) -	Email								
Mailing Address City State Zip Co										
* Name of School must match filing as list	ed with the Minnesota Secret	ary of State.								
SCHOOL OWNE	ERSHIP INFORMATION									
Check the type of ownership of the school. Complete the following the type of ownership checked.	section below which is indic	ated by the letter	immediately							
[ ] Proprietorship (A) [ ] Partnership (B) [	] Limited Liability Compa	.ny (C) [ ] Co	orporation (D)							
A <b>PROPRIETORSHIP</b> - List the name and home	address of the proprietor (ple	ease type or print	t):							
Name of Proprietor Addres	ss City S	State Zip (	Code							

PARTNERSHIP - List the names, titles, and home addresses of all partners in the partnership. Use Addendum

City

City

City

City

City

City

State

State

State

State

State

State

Zip Code

Zip Code

Zip Code

Zip Code

Zip Code

Zip Code

% owned

% owned

% owned

% owned

% owned

% owned

Address

Address

Address

Address

Address

Address

home addresses. Use Addendum Form if more space is needed (please type or print).

LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY - List the names and title of the ownership parties with their respective

**CORPORATION** - List the names and title of the corporate officers with their respective home addresses. Use

Form if more space is needed (please type or print).

Addendum Form if more space is needed (please type or print).

Name, Title

Name, Title

Name, Title

Name, Title

Name, Title

Name, Title

В

C

D

MN Tax ID #	FEIN/ITIN/SSN# (Provide one of these)
Minn. Stat. 270C.72 Subd. 4. information is required for yo Office. The Office will only state of the control o	Minnesota Office of Higher Education must collect your school's MN Tax ID and Federal Tax ID to comply with The Office must submit an annual license and registration report to the Minnesota Department of Revenue. This ur annual application. Refusal to provide this information will result in the revocation of your approval through the share this information with the Minnesota Department of Revenue to satisfy annual reporting requirements. (FEIN – on Number, SSN-Social Security Number, ITIN – Individual Taxpayer Identification Number)
	al partner, managing partner, authorized corporate officer, or other representative of the school overning board to sign contracts on behalf of the school certifies that:
There is no pending administ officer(s), agent(s) or sponsor	trative, civil or criminal proceeding for fraud or misrepresentation against the school's owner(s), oring organization
☐ I agree	
There has been no administration officer(s), agent(s) or sponsor	ative, civil or criminal proceeding for fraud or misrepresentation against the school's owner(s), oring organization
☐ I agree	
	ecruiting agents who are operating in Minnesota identify themselves as agents of the school when with students and prospective students
☐ I agree	
	d a student's official transcript because the student is in arrears or in default on any loan issued by the loan qualifies as a school loan under United States Code, title 11, section 523(a)(8)(b)
☐ I agree	
evidence from previous emp three years of full-time, trade curriculum leading to a bacc	or school meet the following: A. recognized standing as a tradesperson or specialist supported by loyers, or the possession of a baccalaureate degree; B. a high school diploma or its equivalent; and e, or professional experience in the trade or specialty taught, or successful completion of a college alaureate degree in that trade or specialty, or a combination of experience and education in the trade ee years of full-time experience
☐ I agree	
The quality and content of ear of study for the program	ach program or course provides adequate preparation for students for entry level positions in the field
☐ I agree	
and learning such as technological	ride students and instructors the infrastructure and resources necessary to support effective teaching ogical infrastructure, scientific laboratories, libraries, performance spaces, clinical practice sites, opriate to the school's offerings
☐ I agree	
The school conforms to com	monly accepted minimum program lengths for their programs
☐ I agree	
The school has a clear policy to complete the student's pro	on the maximum allowable credit for prior learning as a reasonable proportion of the requirements ogram
☐ I agree	
The school evaluates the suc employment	cess of its graduates. The school assures that its programs prepares students for advanced study or
☐ I agree	

If the applicant school is owned by an individual, this affidavit is to be made by that individual; if owned by a
AFFIDAVIT
I agree
e school provides a list of its current clinical, internship, practicum or externship sites for students to review if a clinical, ernship, practicum or externship is required
I agree
my of the school's programs require a clinical, internship, practicum or externship; the school understands that it is responsible obtaining a site for a student
I agree
he school uses a written contract or enrollment agreement, the school provides an exact copy/duplicate of the signed contract enrollment agreement to the student
I agree
e school does not use any contract or enrollment agreement that contains a wage assignment provision or a confession of gement clause
I agree
he school uses a written contract or enrollment agreement, the school provides a prospective student the school's catalog or its along the student signs the contract or enrollment agreement

	AFFIDAVIT
•	al, this affidavit is to be made by that individual; if owned by a by a corporation or association, by one of its authorized officers.
STATE OF:	
COUNTY OF:	
	, being duly sworn deposes and says that (s)he is the
(Name - print or type)	
	of
(Title of Position Held)	(Name of School)
	r license is made; that (s)he has read the foregoing application; and best of his/her knowledge, information and belief.
	(Signature)
Subscribed and sworn to this day of	, 20
(SEAL)	(Notary Public)
County	State

## CHECKLIST OF REQUIRED DOCUMENTS

(Minn. Stat. 136A.82 – 136A.834 requires that the information below be furnished)

 _ <b>A.</b>	<b>APPLICATION FEE.</b> The new school license fee is \$2,500 for schools that will offer one program its first year, or \$2,500 + \$500 for each additional program, for schools that will offer more than one programs its first year. The school license renewal fee is \$1,150 for schools offering one program or \$1,150 + \$200 for each additional program with a maximum of \$2,000 for schools offering two or more programs.
 _ <b>B.</b>	<b>FINANCIAL.</b> Submit a current balance sheet, income statement, and adequate supporting documentation by an independent public accountant or certified public accountant, including a review level engagement. Our office also has the right to require audited financial statements if deemed necessary. New applicants should also include a projected income statement for two years of operation as well as 2 years tax returns for anyone involved in ownership.
 _ <b>C</b> .	MINNESOTA SECRETARY OF STATE FILINGS. You must provide copies of the following documents with your application: Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State Certificate of Organization, Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State Articles of Organization, Office of the Secretary of State Notice of Registered Agent. (see <a href="https://www.sos.state.mn.us">www.sos.state.mn.us</a> )
 _ <b>D.</b>	<b>ADVERTISING.</b> Provide copies of all media advertising and promotional literature and brochures currently used or expected to be used in the near future. All advertising must be approved in advance by OHE.
 _ E.	<b>CATALOG.</b> Submit the current school catalog. ( <i>Refer to Appendix A</i> )
 _ <b>F.</b>	<b>EQUIPMENT.</b> Provide a list of tools and equipment available for instruction.
_ G.	<b>INSPECTION REPORTS.</b> Attach copies of inspection reports issued by local and state regulating agencies indicating that the premises and conditions under which students work and study at the school are sanitary and safe. An example of a form used by the city of Minneapolis is included. A Certificate of Occupancy will also satisfy this requirement.
_ <b>H.</b>	<b>CONTRACTS.</b> Provide copies of all Minnesota enrollment agreement forms and contract forms used or proposed to be used in Minnesota. <b>These must be approved in advance.</b> ( <i>Refer to Appendix B</i> )
 _ <b>I.</b>	<b>PLACEMENT SERVICE.</b> If you offer or advertise a job placement service, submit a certified copy of the graduate placement record and a summary of job placements. This is not required with initial license. ( <i>Refer to Appendices C and D</i> )
 _ <b>J.</b>	BONDS. Surety bonds shall be in the amount of 10% of the preceeding year's <u>Net Student Revenue</u> with a minimum amount of \$10,000, as specified in M.S. Chp. 136A.822, Subd. 6 Such bonds shall run to the State of Minnesota/OHE. ( <i>Refer to Appendix E</i> )
 _ <b>K.</b>	<b>SOLICITORS.</b> A Solicitor Permit costs \$350. The bond amount for each solicitor is (\$2,000/solicitor). An application for Solicitor's Permit must be submitted yearly along with permit fee ( <i>Refer to Appendices F and G</i> ).
 _ L.	<b>INSTRUCTORS.</b> Provide the office with each instructors name and academic degrees earned or applicable education and experience and indicate which course(s) each instructor teaches. Instructors are required to have either a baccalaureate degree in the field they are teaching or three years work experience in the field they are teaching. ( <i>Refer to Appendix I</i> )
 _ <b>M.</b>	<b>PROGRAMS.</b> Provide a list of the specific programs that are offered and the purposes of such instruction. Programs require prior approval by OHE. (Refer to Appendix J)
 _ <b>N.</b>	<b>MULTIPLE LOCATION ADDENDUM.</b> Institutions operating more than one location must submit a Multiple Location Addendum for each location, along with supporting documentation and fee. ( <i>Refer to Appendix K</i> )
 _ 0.	<b>STUDENT RECORDS.</b> *** Note: If your institution has a Record Plan on file with OHE that was signed after 01/01/12 you are not required to submit the Student Record Protection Plan for re-licensure at this time. Schools must either: (1) Submit a plan meeting the following: (a) copy of student records held in a secure depository; (b) an official designated to provide copies of records to students upon request; and (c) binding agreement for preserving student records if the school ceases to exist; or (2) if no binding agreement for preservation of student records exists a surety bond – or – Irrevocable Letter of Credit not to exceed \$20,000 must be filed with the office. (Refer to Appendices L-1 or L-2)
 _ P.	<b>NET STUDENT REVENUE STATEMENT.</b> You must provide a statement of the Net Student Revenue from students for the preceding calendar or fiscal year ( <i>please see Appendix M for calculation</i> ). If this is your first license application submission this requirement is not necessary. ( <i>Refer to Appendix M</i> )
 _ Q.	<b>ORGANIZATIONAL FRAMEWORK.</b> Submit information showing that the school has an organizational framework with administrative and instructional personnel to provide the programs it intends to offer.
R.	<b>ENROLLMENT.</b> For each course of instruction offered, provide the current enrollment. Also provide the maximum enrollment that you can accommodate with your present staff, equipment and facilities. ( <i>Refer to Appendix N</i> )
S.	WORKERS COMPENSATION. Provide Workers Compensation insurance information. (Refer to Appendix O)

#### **CATALOG CHECKLIST**

#### Minnesota Statutes Section 136A.822 and 136A.827 - 136A.828 require the following information

Identifying data, such as volume and date. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (1))
School name and address. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (2))
School governing body and officials. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (2))
Calendar of the school year showing legal holidays and beginning and ending dates of classes. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (3))
Enrollment dates and entrance requirements for each course. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (4))
Attendance policies: leave, absences, class cuts, make-up work, tardiness, unsatisfactory attendance. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (5))
Grading policies: grading system, standards of progress for minimum grades, probation, re-enrollments. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (6))
Conduct: policies and dismissal procedures. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (7))
Detailed schedule of all fees: tuition, books, supplies, tools, activities, lab fees, service charges, and other charges. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (8))
Facilities & Equipment. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (10))
Course outline: course objectives, subject or units in each course, type of work or skill to be learned, time or clock hours, lecture or lab-time. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (11))
Previous credit: transfer credit, work/life experience credit. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (12))
Complaint procedure: a procedure to investigate and resolve student complaints (136A.822 Subd. 10 (14))
OHE name and address: the full name of the Minnesota Office of Higher Education and its current address. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (15))
Required Disclosure Statement: MN STATUTE 136A.828 Subd. 1. A school, agent, or solicitor may represent in advertisements and <i>shall disclose</i> in catalogues, applications, and enrollment materials that the school is duly licensed by the state by prominently displaying the following statement:

"(Name of School) is licensed as a private career school with the Minnesota Office of Higher Education pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections <u>136A.821</u> to <u>136A.832</u>. Licensure is not an endorsement of the institution. Credits earned at the institution may not transfer to all other institutions."

(CONTINUED)

Refund Policy. (136A.827) *** - Note this refund policy is the same language required to be
ncluded in your Contract/Enrollment Agreement if your institution uses one – (see Contract/Enrollmen
Agreement Checklist below APPENDIX B)

During the last legislative session, there were some statutory changes made to the required Private Career School refund policy. Our office has created the following language from the required refund policies for your institution's inclusion into your catalog and if applicable, contract or enrollment agreement. You are permitted to use the following refund policies in lieu of the statutory language. You only need to publish the policies that are applicable to your programs and your institution (See A, B and C on next page).

#### A. Refund policy for Programs that are 40 hours or less

If your application is rejected, you will receive a full refund of all tuition, fees, and other charges. If your program is 40 hours or less and you withdrew from your program, your refund will be pro-rated by the number of hours attended and the length of the program. To receive a full refund of tuition, fees, and other charges, you must withdraw from your program before the scheduled start day of the program. You will receive written notice acknowledging your withdraw request within 10 business days after receipt of the notice and you will receive a refund of any tuition, fees, and other charges within 30 business days of receipt of your withdrawal. Written notice is effective of the date of the postmark if sent by mail or the day it has been hand-delivered to the institution.

Institutions must include this clause if your institution's student catalog, contract, or enrollment agreement includes a separate statement on the fair market of the equipment and any of the equipment can be reasonably resold: "You may be entitled to a refund of your equipment and supplies costs if you return your equipment and supplies within 10 days of withdrawing if your supplies in a condition suitable for resale. If you do not return your equipment and supplies or the supplies are not in a condition suitable for resale, this cost will be deducted from your tuition, fee, and other charge refund that you may be eligible for."

#### B. Refund policy for programs greater than 40 hours with a written contract or enrollment agreement

If your application is rejected, you will receive a full refund of all tuition, fees, and other charges. You will be entitled to a full refund of tuition, fees, and other charges if you give notice that you are cancelling your contract within five business days after the contract or enrollment agreement is considered effective. A contract or enrollment agreement will be presumed to effective on the date of that the institution notifies you that you have been accepted into the institution and you have signed the contract or enrollment agreement. If the notification of acceptance into the institution is sent by mail, then the effective day of being accepted is the postmark on the acceptance letter.

This five-day refund policy applies regardless of when the program starts. If you give notice more than five days after you signed the contract, but before the start of the program (or first lesson for an online distance education program), you will receive a refund of all tuition, fees, and other charges minus 15%, up to \$50, of the total cost of the program. You will be provided a prorated tuition, fees, and other charges refund minus a 25% fee, up to \$100 administrative if you give notice of your withdrawal after your program has begun, but before 75% program has completed. If you withdraw from your program after 75% of the program has completed, you are not entitled to a refund of tuition, fees, and other charges.

You will receive written notice acknowledging your withdraw request within 10 business days after receipt of the notice and you will receive a refund of any tuition, fees, and other charges within 30 business days of receipt of your withdrawal. Written notice is effective of the date of the postmark if sent by mail or the day it has been hand-delivered to the institution. If you do not withdraw in writing or contact the institution about your absence, and you have not attended your program for 21 consecutive days, you will be considered to have withdrawn from the school as of your last date of attendance.

Institutions must include this clause if your institution's student catalog, contract, or enrollment agreement includes a separate statement on the fair market of the equipment and any of the equipment can be reasonably resold: "You may be entitled to a refund of your equipment and supplies costs if you return your equipment and supplies within 10 days of withdrawing if your supplies in a condition suitable for resale. If you do not return your equipment and supplies or the supplies are not in a condition suitable for resale, this cost will be deducted from your tuition, fee, and other charge refund that you may be eligible for."

#### C. Refund policy for programs greater than 40 hours without a written contract or enrollment agreement

If your application is rejected, you will receive a full refund of all tuition, fees, and other charges. You will be entitled to a full refund of tuition, fees, and other charges if you give notice that you are cancelling your enrollment within five days of being accepted into the school or program. This five-day refund policy applies regardless of when the program starts. If you give notice more than five days after you have been accepted into the school or program (or first lesson for an online distance education program), you will receive a refund of all tuition, fees, and other charges minus 15%, up to \$50, of the total cost of the program. You will be provided a prorated tuition, fees, and other charges refund minus a 25%, up to \$100 administrative if you give notice of your withdrawal after your program has begun, but before 75% program has completed. If you withdraw from your program after 75% of the program has completed, you are not entitled to a refund of tuition, fees, and other charges.

You will receive written notice acknowledging your withdraw request within 10 business days after receipt of the notice and you will receive a refund of any tuition, fees, and other charges within 30 business days of receipt of your withdrawal. Written notice is effective of the date of the postmark if sent by mail or the day it has been hand-delivered to the institution. If you do not withdraw in writing or contact the institution about your absence, and you have not attended your program for 21 consecutive days, you will be considered to have withdrawn from the school as of your last date of attendance.

Institutions must include this clause if your institution's student catalog, contract, or enrollment agreement includes a separate statement on the fair market of the equipment and any of the equipment can be reasonably resold: "You may be entitled to a refund of your equipment and supplies costs if you return your equipment and supplies within 10 days of withdrawing if your supplies in a condition suitable for resale. If you do not return your equipment and supplies or the supplies are not in a condition suitable for resale, this cost will be deducted from your tuition, fee, and other charge refund that you may be eligible for."

## CONTRACT OR ENROLLMENT AGREEMENT CHECKLIST

(Minn. Stat. 136A.826 requires the following information)

Name and address of the school. (136A.826 Subd. 2 (1))
Clear and conspicuous disclosure that agreement is a legally binding instrument upon written acceptance of the student unless cancelled under section 136A.827 (136A.826 Subd. 2 (2))
Refund/cancellation policy: must be entitled "Buyer's Right to Cancel". (136A.826 Subd. 2 (3))
Refund Policy - *** As referenced above in APPENDIX A. (136A.826 Subd. 2 (3))
The total cost of program including tuition and all other charges shall be clearly stated. (136A.826 Subd. 2 (4))
Name and description of program including number of hours of class room instruction and/or number of distance education lessons. (136A.826 Subd. 2 (5))
Clear and conspicuous form and means for student to cancel, effective date of cancellation, and name/address to which the notice should be sent. (See "Sample" notice of cancellation) (136A.826 Subd. 2 (6))
Required Disclosure Statement: MN STATUTE 136A.828 Subd. 1. A school, agent, or solicitor may represent in advertisements and <i>shall disclose</i> in catalogues, applications, and enrollment materials that the school is duly licensed by the state by prominently displaying the following statement:
"(Name of School) is licensed as a private career school with the Minnesota Office of Higher Education pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 136A.821 to 136A.832. Licensure is not an endorsement of the institution. Credits earned at the institution may not transfer to all other institutions."
Contract/Enrollment Agreement does not contain a wage assignment provision or a confession of judgment clause. (136A.826 Subd. 3)
An exact copy of the signed Contract/Enrollment Agreement is provided to the student upon execution. (136A.826 Subd. 3)

#### NOTICE OF CANCELLATION

What is the program you want to cancel?					
When did you sign up for this program					
When did you sign up for this program					
(School Name	and Address)				
If you cancel, any payments made by you under the following the postmarked date of the Notice of Cabby you will be returned within ten business days for	he contract or sale will be returned within 30 bus incellation. Any property traded in and any instr following receipt by the seller of your cancellation	siness days rument executed			
received any goods delivered to you under this cor	ntract or sale; or you may if you wish, comply w	ith the written			
	•	u may retain			
I HEREBY CANCEL THIS TRANSACTION.					
(Date)	(Buyer's Signature)				

## **PLEASE NOTE:**

The above is provided as a sample to reconcile the conflict which exists between Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 325 and Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 136A. This reconciliation pertains only to that provision of Chapter 325 which requires specific language under the heading "Notice of Cancellation." Any other references to the "third business day" required by Chapter 325 would also be reconciled by changing this to the "fifth business day."

## **SAMPLE**

# INTERAGENCY REQUEST FOR FIRE INSPECTION OF SCHOOL FACILITY

\*\*\* Note (Instead of this form an inspector may submit their own documentation of inspection or report)

]	Date	Name of Inspector	
;	School Name		
	School Address		
	Contact Person		
		I inspected the above school facility. The facility messe as a school not to exceed persons.	eets the requirements
me		I inspected the above school facility. The above school sets of the fire code. (See attached list of violations). Violations must (date).	
— ha		I re-inspected the above school facility. The previous and the facility meets the requirements of the fire code for use as a persons.	•
		Signature of Fire Inspector	
		Date Inspection is Valid Through	
		Fire Prevention Bureau	

#### **RETURN TO:**

Office of Higher Education Private Career School Licensure 1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350 St. Paul, MN 55108 (651) 259-3976

#### INSTITUTIONAL SUMMARY OF GRADUATE STATUS BY PROGRAM

Name of Institution	Reporting Period (last complete 12 month period
Name of Person Completing this Form	July 1-June 30 prior to this application's due date):
(note this form is available electronically from our office)	
	July 1, through June 30,

			SUMMARY BY STATUS									IN THE LABOR FORCE								
PROGRAM	TOTAL GRADUATES		In the A Labor Force		Not in the		Continuin		Status		EMPLOYED FULL-TIME <sup>2</sup> Part-1									
						Labor Force <sup>1</sup>		g Education		Unknown		For Which Trained		Related		Not Related		or Short- Term <sup>3</sup>		Chempiojeu
	N	%	N	%	N	%	N %	N	%	N	%	N	%	N	%	N	%	N	%	
		100.0																		
		100.0																		
		100.0																		
		100.0																		
		100.0																		
		100.0																		

- 1. Includes deceased, incarcerated, medical condition, and not seeking employment.
- 2. Employed full-time means employed after graduation at one job for at least 4 weeks and for at least 30 hours per week.
- 3. Employed part-time or short-term means employed after graduation for fewer than four weeks or fewer than 30 hours per week.

## GRADUATE PLACEMENT RECORD

Program:	
Name of Institution	Reporting Period:
Name of Person Completing this Form	July 1, through June 30,

taine of Ferson Compi	- Carrie	15 1 01111				Guij	1,		in ough (	suiie 50,	· ———		
	Grad			Status	Emj	ployed Full-T	Гime		ployed Part-Torr		N	Not Employe	d
Graduate's Name	Date	Employer Name & Address	Job Title (specific)	Unknown	Trained	Related	Unrelat	Trained	Related	Unrelat	Unempl	Unavail	Cont Ed

	Grad		Status		Emp	ployed Full-1	Γime		ployed Part-T or Short-Term		1	Not Employe	d
Graduate's Name	Date	Employer Name & Address	Job Title (specific)	Job Title (specific) Unknown T	Trained	Related	Unrelat	Trained	Related	Unrelat	Unempl	Unavail	Cont Ed

## PRIVATE SCHOOL BOND

			Bond Num	ber:		
		Name(s)	of Principal(s)			
an individua	l doing business as _					
partners doi:	ng business as					
a corporation	n					
of				as	nrincinal(s)	
(Street)	(City)	(State)	(Zip Code)	, as	principal(s),	
Name of	Surety Company	(Str	eet) (City)	(State)	(Zip Code)	
as surety, are held	l and firmly bound in	the sum of			dollars (\$	)
private school und NOW THEREFO the principal(s) or injury in conseque	ORE, if the principal its (their) agents or s	Minnesota Statut (s) shall faithfull solicitors, and sha any such contra	es, Chapter 136A.S y perform all contr all pay to the State	822. acts and ag and to suc	greements with students repersons, if any, as may agation shall be void, but	nade by sustain
	d with our Seals and		day of	, 2	0	
	Principal			Co	orporate Principal	
	Principal				President	
	Principal				Secretary	
				S	urety Company	
				Ā	Attorney-in-Fact	
				Counters	igned by Resident Agent	
				Addre	ss of Resident Agent	

## ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF INDIVIDUAL OR PARTNERSHIP PRINCIPAL(S)

State of		
County of)		
On this day of	, 20	
and(s)he/they is (are) the principal(s) in the foregoing act and deed.	ing bond a	to me personally known, who before me did swear that and acknowledged that (s)he/they executed the same as his/her/their free
	· <del>-</del>	Notary Public
(Seal)		County,
		My commission expires
ACKNOWLED	GEMENT	Γ OF CORPORATE PRINCIPAL
State of		
County of)		
On this day of	, 20	, before me appeared to me personally known, who being by me duly sworn
	aid instru	ment to be the free act and deed of the corporation.  Notary Public
(Seal)		County, My commission expires
<i>ACK</i> N	OWLED	GEMENT OF SURETY
State of)		
County of		
On this day of	, 20	, before me appeared, to me personally known, who being by me duly sworn
	executed (	surety in the foregoing bond, that the seal affixed thereto is the corporate on behalf of the corporation by authority of its board of directors, and deed of the corporation.
	-	Notary Public
(Seal)		County,
		My commission expires

Attach Power of Attorney and Copy of Resolution for Agent Named Above.

#### APPLICATION FOR SOLICITOR'S PERMIT

Mail to: Office of Higher Education Private Career School Licensure 1450 Energy Park Dr., Suite 350

St. Paul, MN 55108

**GENERAL INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS:** Any person seeking a permit to solicit students who are residents of the state of Minnesota for purposes of enrolling in private career schools must obtain a solicitor's permit pursuant to the requirements of Minnesota Statutes 136A.822. The completed application, a continuous surety bond in the amount of \$2,000 and a nonrefundable permit fee of \$350 (check payable to the State of Minnesota/OHE must be submitted to the above address. Permits expire one year from date of issuance. Solicitation is prohibited until the solicitor's permit has been received by the applicant.

APPLICANT INFORMATION

Name of Solicitor (Last, First, Middle)					
Home Address (Str	Home Address (Street/P.O. Box, City, State, Zip Code)  Telephone Number  ( ) -				
	IDENTIFICATION OF SCHOOL(S)				
Identify the school (or schools under common ownership) for which you are applying for permit.  Attach an addendum sheet if you wish to represent more than three schools under the same common ownership. <b>NOTE:</b> A separate application must be made for each school solicited which is not under the same common ownership.					
	School Name	Telephone Number			
School 1	Address (Street/P.O. Box, City, State, Zip Code)				
	School Name	Telephone Number			
School 2	School 2 Address (Street/P.O. Box, City, State, Zip Code)				
	School Name	Telephone Number			
School 3 Address (Street/P.O. Box, City, State, Zip Code)					

## EACH AFFIDAVIT MUST BE PROPERLY SIGNED AND NOTARIZED

AFFIDAVIT	OF SOLICITOR
STATE OF:	
COUNTY OF:	
Name (print or type)	, being duly sworn deposes and says that (s)he is the
of	
Title of Position Held	School Names - All Under Common Ownership
	r's permit is made; that (s)he has read the foregoing e best of his (her) knowledge, information, and belief; and lowledge of the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter
Subscribed and sworn to before me this	Signature of Solicitor
day of, 20	Notary Public
	County,
(SEAL) M	y Commission Expires:
AFFIDAVIT O	F SCHOOL OFFICIAL
STATE OF:	
COUNTY OF:	
Name of School Official (print or type)	, being duly sworn deposes and says that (s)he is the
Position Held	Name of School
and that the applicant solicitor named in this application the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 136A.822	has been furnished a copy, has read, and has knowledge of .
Subscribed and sworn to before me this	Signature of Solicitor
day of, 20	Notary Public
	Notary Public
	County,
(SEAL) M	y Commission Expires:

## BLANKET PRIVATE CAREER SCHOOL SOLICITOR'S BOND

		Bond	Number:		
	Nan	ne(s) of Principal	(s)		
an individual doing busi	ness as				
partners doing business	as				
a corporation					
of			, as pri	ncipal(s),	
(Street)	(City)	(State)	(Zip Code)		
and	, of				
Name of Surety Compa	any	(Street)	(City)	(State)	(Zip Code)
as surety, are held and firmly bo Minnesota, and unto any person Chapter 136A.822. For the paymexecutors, administrators, repres	who may have a cause ment of this well and tru	of action for a breauly to be made, we	ch of contract, in acco	rdance with Mi	nnesota Statutes,
The condition of this obligation under the provisions of Minneso surety bond of said solicitor's.				·	•
NOW THEREFORE, if the pri or its (their) agents or solicitors, breach of any such contract or ag	and shall pay to the Sta	ate and to such pers	ons, if any, as may sus	stain injury in co	onsequence of any
The liability of the surety of this of any and all recoveries hereund					
Signed and Sealed with our Seal	s and dated this	_ day of	, 20		
Principal		-	Corpor	rate Principal	
Principal		-	Pı	resident	
Principal		-	Se	cretary	
		-	Suret	y Company	
		_	Attor	ney-in-Fact	
		_	Countersigned	d by Resident A	agent
		_	Address of	Resident Agen	nt

(Continued on Next)

## ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF INDIVIDUAL OR PARTNERSHIP PRINCIPAL(S)

State of		
County of	)	
On this day of	, 20	, before me appeared
and		to me personally known, who before me did swear that and acknowledged that (s)he/they executed the same as his/her/their free act
	-	Notary Public
(Seal)		County,
		My commission expires
		NT OF CORPORATE PRINCIPAL
State of	)	
County of	)	
On this day of	, 20	to me personally known, who being by me duly sworn
(0, 1)		Notary Public
(Seal)		County,
		My commission expires
	ACKNOWLE	DGEMENT OF SURETY
State of	)	
County of	ss.	
		, before me appeared, to me personally known, who being by me duly sworn did
say that (s)he is the attorney-in	n-fact of the corporate sure bond was executed on beha	ty in the foregoing bond, that the seal affixed thereto is the corporate seal of alf of the corporation by authority of its board of directors, and (s)he
		Notary Public
(Seal)		County,
		My commission expires

Attach Power of Attorney and Copy of Resolution for Agent Named Above.

## **NEW INSTRUCTOR FORM**

Minnesota Rule 4880.1900, requires schools licensed pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 136A.822 to inform the Office of Higher Education within 30 days of certain changes. One of those changes is the hiring of new instructors. This means that a school must inform this office of all new instructors within 30 days of the hire.

Please make copies of this form so that you can submit it as necessary throughout the year. Provide the office with each new instructor's name, the academic degrees earned or applicable education and work experience as specified in Minnesota Rule 4880.1900. Also provide a list of the course or courses for which the person will be responsible.

Institution:	
Instructors Name:	Date Hired:/
Qualifications:	
Education:	
Work Experience:	
Course(s) to be taught:	
Instructors Name:	Date Hired:/
Qualifications:	
Education:	
Work Experience:	
Course(s) to be taught:	
Instructors Name:	Date Hired:/
Qualifications:	
Education:	
Work Experience:	
Instructors Name:	Date Hired:/
Qualifications:	
Education:	
Work Experience:	
Course(s) to be tought:	

#### LICENSED INSTITUTIONS

#### PROCESS & CRITERIA FOR NEW PROGRAM APPROVAL

#### A. Criteria

Minn. Rules 4880.1700 subp. 4: A program is a course or a grouping of courses that is advertised or listed in the school's catalog, brochures, electronic display, or other publications, or for which the school grants a diploma, certificate, or other formal recognition that does not confer a degree. A program is the same as a "course of instruction." For each program, the school must provide the following information:

#### **B.** Information required:

- (1) Title of program and type of diploma/certificate awarded on completion
- (2) Geographic location
- (3) Proposed implementation date
- (4) Length of program in quarter or semester credits, lessons, or clock hours
- (5) Number of graduates expected annually
- (6) Curriculum required to complete the program. Outline of each course including course objectives, subjects or units in the course, type of work or skill to be learned, and approximate time, hours, or credits to be spent on each subject or unit
- (7) Data that supports employment opportunities for graduates
- (8) Physical resources needed, including equipment currently available for program instruction
- (9) Information services needed, including libraries
- (10) Academic and administrative mechanisms planned for monitoring the quality of the program
- (11) Documentation of availability of clinical, internship, practicum, or externship sites, if applicable

#### MULTIPLE LOCATION ADDENDUM

Fee: \$250 per location 2-5 - \$100 per location after 5th

Minn. Stat. 136A.822 requires that an addendum be completed for each location other than the principal site.

IDENTIFICATION INFORMATION for MAIN LOCATION					
Name of School	Telephone Number	Date of this Appl	ication		
School Address	City	State	Zip Code		
Name of Administrative Director of School		Home Telephone Number			
Home Address of Administrative Director	City	State	Zip Code		
LOCATION OF ADDITIONAL SITE					
Name of School		Telephone Numb	er		
School Address	City	State	Zip Code		

#### REQUIRED ATTACHMENTS

- A. CATALOG. Submit if different from primary site.
- **B. INSTRUCTORS.** List their name, the subjects they will be teaching, and their qualifications.
- **C. EQUIPMENT.** For each program offered, provide a list of the tools and equipment available for instruction.
- **D. INSPECTION REPORTS.** Attach copies of inspection reports issued by local and state regulating agencies. These should show that the facilities are sanitary, healthful and safe.
- **E. ENROLLMENT.** Provide the current enrollment for each program and the maximum enrollment that can be accommodated with present staff, equipment and facilities.
- F. AFFIDAVIT. (on next page).

AFFIDAVIT				
If the applicant school is owned by an individual, this affidavit is to be made by that individual; if owned by a partnership, by the managing partner; if owned by a corporation or association, by one of its authorized officers.				
STATE OF:				
COUNTY OF:	_			
(Name - print or type)	, being duly sworn deposes and says that (s)he is the			
(Title of Position Held)	of(Name of School)			
respecting which the foregoing application for license is the statements therein made are true to the best of his/h	is made; that (s)he has read the foregoing application; and that her knowledge, information and belief.			
	(Signature)			
Subscribed and sworn to this	day of			
	(Notary Public)			
(SEAL)	County			

#### STUDENT RECORDS PROTECTION PLAN

(In the Event of Institutional Closure)

\*\*\* Please note that if your institution has a Student Record Protection Plan on file with OHE that was signed after 01/01/11 you are not required to submit this form for re-licensure at this point. OHE does reserve the right to require this form be completed as part of licensure renewal.

The Private Career School Act (Minn. Stat. Chapter 136A.822 Subd. 3) requires that all licensed institutions provide to the Minnesota Office of Higher Education an agreement between the licensed institution and another organization acceptable to OHE, to maintain and make accessible official copies of the student records of the licensed institution should it cease operation. This form is to be filled out by the organization which agrees to hold student records in the event of institutional closure.

	agrees to hold the student records of
(Name of Organization to Receive the Records)	
	for at least 50 years should the
(Name of Licensed Institution)	
	cease to exist, and agrees to maintain
(Name of Licensed Institution)	
and provide official copies of these records.	
	(Organization to Receive Student Records)
further agrees to inform the Minnesota Office of Higher inability to continue to execute this agreement.	Education in writing at the address below in the event of its
(Name and Address of Organization to Receive the Receive	ords)
(Name)	(Title)
(Signature)	-
Subscribed and sworn to this day of	, 20
Notary (Signature and Seal)	-
(Signature and Sour)	(SEAL)

Please return this completed form to:

Minnesota Office of Higher Education, 1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350, St. Paul, MN 55108 - ATTN: Private Career School Licensure

## PRIVATE CAREER SCHOOL STUDENT RECORDS BOND

		Bond	l Number:		
	Na	me(s) of Principal	(s)		
an individual doing business as					
partners doing business as					
a corporation					
of					
(Street)	(City)			1 1 (//	
and	, of				
Name of Surety Company		(Street)	(City)	(State)	(Zip Code)
as surety, are held and firmly bound in the su					
preserving student records after		principal(s)		shall cease	e to exist.
The condition of this obligation is such that vischool under the provisions of Minnesota Stanow THEREFORE, if the principal(s) rentul force and effect	itutes, Cha	apter 136A.822 Sub	d. 4.		-
Signed and Sealed with our Seals and dated to	his	_ day of	, 20	_•	
Principal		-	C	orporate Principal	
Principal		-		President	
Principal		-		Secretary	
		-		Surety Company	
		-		Attorney-in-Fact	
		-	Counters	signed by Resident A	Agent
		-	Addr	ess of Resident Ager	 nt

(Continued on Next)

## ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF INDIVIDUAL OR PARTNERSHIP PRINCIPAL(S)

State of		
County of)		
	, 20	, before me appeared
and		to me personally known, who before me did swear that
(s)he/they is (are) the principal(s) in the foregoing act and deed.	ng bond a	and acknowledged that (s)he/they executed the same as his/her/their free
act and deed.	_	
		Notary Public
(Seal)		County,
		My commission expires
ACKNOWLEDG	GEMEN	T OF CORPORATE PRINCIPAL
State of		
County of)		
•	. 20	, before me appeared
and	,	to me personally known, who being by me duly sworn
		nd that said bond was executed in behalf of the corporation by authority of ment to be the free act and deed of the corporation.  Notary Public
(Seal)		County,
		My commission expires
ACKN	OWLED	GEMENT OF SURETY
State of)		
County of)		
On this day of	20	hafara ma appaarad
		, before the appeared, to me personally known, who being by me duly sworn
did say that (s)he is the attorney-in-fact of the co	orporate s	surety in the foregoing bond, that the seal affixed thereto is the corporate on behalf of the corporation by authority of its board of directors, and
		Notary Public
(Seal)		County,
		My commission expires

Attach Power of Attorney and Copy of Resolution for Agent Named Above.

## NET STUDENT REVENUE STATEMENT

(School Name)
License applications must include Net Student Revenue earned in the preceding year from student tuition, fees, and other required institutional charges as described in M.S. Chapter 136A.822, Subd. 6 (b)(1).
<b>Net Student Revenue:</b> Total gross revenues generated from only educational activities (e.g. tuition, fees, kits, books and supplies, housing and meal plans if billed through a student account system, etc.) less amounts representing reduction of those gross revenues due to student withdrawals during a program which required refund calculations. A school may also subtract from the total gross revenues from educational activities any grant/scholarship provided by the school in the form of an unfunded tuition discount (e.g. military discount, etc.).
The amount of the surety bond shall be ten percent of the preceding year's net student revenue, fees, and other required institutional charges collected, but in no event less than \$10,000, except that a school may deposit a greater amount at its own discretion. A school that operates at two or more locations may combine net student tuition, fees, and other required institutional charges for all locations for the purpose of determining the annual surety bond requirement.
A school in each annual application for licensure must compute the amount of the surety bond and verify that the amount of the surety bond complies with this subdivision. In lieu of bond, the applicant may deposit with the commissioner of management and budget a sum equal to the amount of the required surety bond in cash, an irrevocable letter of credit issued by a financial institution equal to the amount of the required surety bond, or securities as may be legally purchased by savings banks or for trust funds in an aggregate market value equal to the amount of the required surety bond. (M.S. Chapter 136A.822, Subd. 6 (d))
<b>NOTE to OUT OF STATE LICENSED SCHOOLS.</b> Licensed schools that are based in other states should provide only their Net Student Revenue for Minnesota Students.
Please identify the 12 month period used to determine the school's net tuition income:
/ to/
month day year to// day year

TOTAL NET STUDENT REVENUE

\$

# **Organizational Framework (insert)**

# **ENROLLMENT**

0.1 1	
School:	

Program	Current Enrollment	Maximum Enrollment

## WORKERS' COMPENSATION INSURANCE VERIFICATION

Minnesota Statutes 176.182 requires as a condition to issue or renew a license or permit, that a business in Minnesota must present evidence of compliance with the workers' compensation insurance coverage requirements of Minnesota Statutes 176.181, subdivision 2 by providing, to the agency issuing such license or permit, the name of the insurance company, the policy number, and the dates of coverage or the permit to self-insure.

Please provide the requested information or indicate that the school has no employees required to be covered by workers' compensation insurance in the spaces provided.

#### **No Workers' Compensation Insurance Coverage:**

has no employees a therefore exempt from the requirements of Minnesota Statutes 176.181, Subd. 2. to obtaworkers' compensation insurance coverage.	
School Name	
Signature of School Officer	/Official
Workers' Co	ompensation Insurance Coverage Information:
Insurance Company Name:	(Company name, not agency name)
Insurance Policy Number:	
Insurance Coverage Dates:	to
School Name	
Signature of School Officer	/Official