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Our Mission EbpucaTioN
To advance the promise of higher education to all Minnesotans, and to provide the critical
information needed to make informed higher education decisions.

Our Purpose

The Minnesota Office of Higher Education is a state agency providing students with financial aid programs
and information to help them gain access to postsecondary education. The agency serves as the state’s
clearinghouse for data, research and analysis on postsecondary enroliment and financial aid. The
Minnesota State Grant program is the largest program administered by the agency, providing need-based
tuition assistance to Minnesota students. The agency also oversees tuition reciprocity programs, a student
loan program, Minnesota’s 529 college savings plan, licensing and an early awareness outreach initiative
for youth.

Agency Functions

» Financial Aid Programs — The agency typically awards more than $145 million each year in need-
based state grants, about $120 million in state loans. The agency also administers state work-study
funds, a child care grant, the Minnesota Gl Bill, an Indian Scholarship program and the Achieve
Scholarship, which is awarded to Minnesota residents who take rigorous course work in high school.

= Licensing and Registration of Private Colleges — The agency protects consumers by administering
laws to license private not-for profit and private for-profit non-degree granting schools, and register
private not-for-profit, private for-profit, and out of state public degree granting schools.

= Interstate Tuition Reciprocity Programs — Minnesota has interstate reciprocity agreements with
Wisconsin, South Dakota, and North Dakota and the Canadian province of Manitoba. More than 42,000
students take advantage of these agreements each year.

= The Minnesota College Savings Plan — The agency has responsibility for the Minnesota College
Savings Plan, an Internal Revenue Code Section 529 plan with assets of $900 million.

= Data Collection — The agency is responsible for collecting and maintaining data on enrollments,
financial aid and other relevant data. Data include information on both public and private post-
secondary education and are used to inform policymakers and the higher education community about
trends and issues.

= Policy and Analysis — As the executive branch agency for higher education, the agency is charged
with developing an accountability system for Minnesota’s higher education sector to inform
policymakers.

= Student and Parent Information — The agency provides students and parents with information about
academic and financial preparation, including financial aid. The agency accomplishes this through its
Web site, publications, presentations and outreach to students and families.

= Administration of Federal and State Programs — The agency administers various federal and state
programs targeted at students, parents, teachers and institutions statewide. Funded primarily under a
federal GEAR UP grant, the Get Ready Program provides a variety of early college awareness services
including: academic advising, tutoring, college awareness curriculum, parent events, college visits and
after school programming to low income students and their families in selected urban schools. In
addition, the program also provides materials and programming assistance to other schools throughout
Minnesota that serve a predominance of low-income students. Another federal program is the
Improving Teacher Quality State Grant Program, designed to improve the effectiveness of K-12
classroom instruction, particularly in the areas of mathematics, science, and social studies. The federal
College Access Challenge Grant provides services to school counselors, students, and families to
increase the number of students who enter and remain in postsecondary education. The state funded
Intervention for College Attendance Grant Program provides competitive grants for outreach programs
to increase postsecondary access and success for groups traditionally underrepresented in higher
education.

For general information about the Minnesota Office of Higher Education, visit
www.ohe.state.mn.us or call (651) 642-0567 or (800) 657-3866. Other agency resources include:

= Preparing and paying for college: www.getreadyforcollege.org

=  SELF Loan program: www.selfloan.org

= Minnesota College Savings Plan: www.mnsaves.org

= College Encouragement Campaign: www.imakeithappen.org August 2011
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Address for Refunds: MN Office of Higher Education, P.O. BOX 64449, St. Paul, MN 55164-0449
Please direct students to the student inquiry number below to avoid encountering voice mail.

Student Inquiries and Supplies
In the Twin Cities metropolitan area, call (651) 642-0567
Outside the metropolitan area, call 1-800-657-3866
TTY: 1-800-627-3529 FAX: (651) 642-0675

e State financial aid information
e State application procedures

e Status of state program applications
e Supplies

Main OHE Web Page: www.ohe.state.mn.us

Financial Services Division

e Tim Geraghty
Director of Financial Services
(651) 259-3950
Tim.Geraghty@state.mn.us

¢ Robert Helgeson
Audit Supervisor
(651) 259-3997
Robert.Helgeson@state.mn.us

e Dean Johnson
Senior Auditor
(651) 259-3953
Dean.Johnson@state.mn.us

e Kimberly Wagner
Auditor
(651) 259-3931
Kimberly.Wagner@state.mn.us

Data and Programs

e Alex Djurovich
Student Enrollment Data
(651) 259-3962
Alexandra,Djurovich@state.mn.us

e Meredith Fergus
Financial Aid Policy & Research Analyst
(651) 259-3963
Meredith.Fergus@state.mn.us

e Tricia Grimes
Legislative Relations
(651) 259-3964
Tricia.Grimes@state.mn.us

Director’s Office

e Sheila Wright
Director
(651) 259-3900
Sheila.Wright@state.mn.us

e Sandy Connolly
Director of Communications
(651) 259-3902
Sandy.Connolly@state.mn.us

Financial Aid Presentations & Agency Outreach
e MaryLou Dresbach
Outreach Director
(651) 259-3940
MaryLou.Dresbach@state.mn.us

OHE Web Page for Families: www.getreadyforcollege.org

Student Financial Aid Services Division

Diane O’Connor

Associate Agency Director
(651) 259-3922
Diane.OConnor@state.mn.us

Ginny Dodds

Manager, State Financial Aid Programs

State Grant, Reciprocity, Child Care Grant, Work Study
Summer Transition Grant

(651) 355-0610
Ginny.Dodds@state.mn.us

Megan Fitzgibbon

Manager, State Scholarship Programs
Achieve Scholarship, MN Indian Scholarship, MN Gl Bill,
John R. Justice Loan Repayment
(651) 259-3931
Megan.Fitzgibbon@state.mn.us
Marilyn Kosir

Manager, SELF Loan Program

(651) 355-0600
Marilyn.Kosir@state.mn.us

Marilyn Doriott

Asst Mgr, State Aid Programs

(651) 355-0604
Marilyn.Doriott@state.mn.us

Brenda Larter

State Grant, Reciprocity, Paul Douglas Scholarship, Child Care,

Work Study, Public Safety Officers Survivor Grant
(651) 355-0612
Brenda.Larter@state.mn.us

Nancy Johnson

State Grant, Reciprocity

(651) 355-0611
Nancy.A.Johnson@state.mn.us

Jodi Rouland

Reciprocity Program

(651) 355-0613
Jodi.Rouland@state.mn.us

Sheila Price

SELF Loan Supervisor
(651) 355-0602
Sheila.Price@state.mn.us

Pam Knapp

SELF Loan

(651) 642-0567 Option 2
Pamela.Knapp@state.mn.us
Annie Workman

SELF Loan

(651) 642-0567 Option 2
Angelique.Workman@state.mn.us
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Common Definitions

A. Introduction

This chapter of the manual is intended to provide information about terms and requirements that

apply to several state financial aid programs. If a term or requirement applies only to one state

financial aid program, it will be defined in that particular chapter.

B. Terminology

1.

Academic Year

A period of time in which a full-time student is expected to complete the equivalent of at
least two semesters, two trimesters or three quarters; or at least 30 semester hours or

45 quarter hours; or at least 900 clock hours. For credit-hour programs, an academic year
must be at least 30 weeks in duration. For a clock-hour program, an academic year must be

at least 26 weeks in duration.

Audits/Records Retention
Schools may arrange for audits of state financial aid awards and tuition reciprocity

recipients in conjunction with their audits for federal financial aid programs.

Minnesota Statute 136A. 1313 gives schools the ability to decide which agency or firm will
conduct the audit of state financial aid programs. The school may opt to continue to have
auditors from the Minnesota Office of Higher Education (the Agency) perform audits free
of charge or may choose to employ an outside auditing firm to conduct the state audit in
conjunction with the federal audit. The auditing firm must be the firm that conducts the

school’s audit of federal aid programs. Choosing an outside firm is not a free service.

If an outside auditing firm is used, the Office of Higher Education would review each audit

and determine the appropriate response to audit exceptions and findings.

The school must make available to auditors all pertinent books, documents, papers and

records for audit and examination for three years after the last day of the fiscal year or until
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all audit exceptions for the period are resolved. (See chapter on SELF loan for additional

records retention requirements for that program.)

Certificate Program
A program that is offered by an eligible school; is at least 12 quarter credits or the

equivalent, or 300 credit hours for clock hour schools; and is at least eight weeks long.

Clock Hour

A clock hour is defined as a period of time consisting of:

e a 50 to 60 minute class, lecture or recitation in a 60 minute period;

e a 50 to 60 minute faculty-supervised laboratory, shop training or internship in a 60
minute period; or

e 60 minutes of preparation in a correspondence course.

If an institution seeks to determine the number of clock hours in an educational program by

aggregating the number of minutes in that program, it must divide those minutes by 60.

Credit Hour

A credit hour is a basic measure of the amount of student work completed. Credit hour is
not defined in state statutes or Agency rules. Typically, accrediting agencies review credit
hours assigned by colleges to ensure appropriateness. The definition of credit hour used to
determine enrollment level for federal financial aid programs is one classroom hour and
two out-of-class work hours over the course of 15 weeks (semester) or 10—12 weeks
(quarter), or an equivalent amount of work over a different amount of time. This definition
may also be used to determine enrollment level for state financial aid programs, but is not

required.

For certain educational programs measured in credit hours, the credit hour value must be
determined by applying a conversion formula linked to clock hours of instruction. The
following conversion formula must be used:

e asemester or trimester hour must include at least 37.5 clock hours of instruction; and
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e a quarter hour must include at least 25 hours of instruction.

For institutions that can demonstrate that a program credit hour meets the new definition of
credit hour used for federal financial aid programs and the school’s accreditor has identified
no deficiencies regarding assignment of credit hours, the following conversion formula
must be used:

e asemester or trimester hour must include at least 30 clock hours of instruction; and

e a quarter hour must include at least 20 hours of instruction.

The clock hour to credit hour conversion formula does not apply to a program if:

e the program is at least two academic years in length and provides an associate degree,
bachelor’s degree or a professional degree; or

e cach course within the program is acceptable for full credit toward that institution’s
degree or professional degree, provided that the institution’s degree requires at least
two academic years of study and the institution can demonstrate students enroll in and

graduate from that degree program.

Public and private non-profit hospital-based nursing schools are exempt from this

requirement.

Dependent Student

A student who is required to provide parental information on the financial aid application
because the student does not meet the criteria for independent student in the Higher
Education Act of 1965 as amended. (See definition of “Independent Student” in this

section.)

Director
The director of the Minnesota Office of Higher Education.
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8. Eligible Institution

a.

A postsecondary institution is eligible for state student aid under chapter 136A and
sections 197.791 and 299A .45, if the institution is located in this state and:

1) is operated by this state or the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota; or
2) is operated privately and, as determined by the office, meets the requirements of

paragraph b.

A private institution must:
1) maintain academic standards substantially equivalent to those of comparable
institutions operated in this state;
2) be licensed or registered as a postsecondary institution by the office; and
3) 1) bylJuly 1, 2010, participate in the federal Pell Grant program under Title IV of
the Higher Education Act of 1965, Public Law 89-329, as amended; or
ii) if an institution was participating in state student aid programs as of June 30,
2010, and the institution did not participate in the federal Pell Grant program
by June 30, 2010, the institution must require every student who enrolls to sign
a disclosure form, provided by the office, stating that the institution is not
participating in the federal Pell Grant program (see Appendix 23 in State Grant

chapter of this manual).

An institution that offers only graduate-level degrees or graduate-level nondegree
programs, or that offers only degrees or programs that do not meet the required
minimum program length to participate in the federal Pell Grant program, is an eligible
institution if the institution is licensed or registered as a postsecondary institution by

the office.

An eligible institution under paragraph b, clause 3, item ii, that changes ownership as
defined in section 136A.63, subdivision 2, must participate in the federal Pell Grant

program within four calendar years of the first ownership change to continue eligibility.
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e. An institution that loses its eligibility for the federal Pell Grant program is not an

eligible institution.

9. Eligible Non-Citizen
Eligible non-citizens are eligible to receive state financial aid if they are:
e aU.S. national; or
e apermanent resident holding an Alien Registration Receipt Card (I-551); or
e a conditional permanent resident (I-551C); or
e other eligible non-citizen holding an Arrival-Departure Record (I-94) showing
“Refugee,” “Asylum Granted,” “Parole” (paroled for less than one year and status has

99 ¢

not expired), “Cuban Haitian Entrant,” “victim of human trafficking,” or T-Visa holder.
10. Expected Family Contribution
The Expected Family Contribution (EFC) is the amount the family is expected to contribute
towards educational costs based on treatment of family income and assets under the federal
need analysis. In the case of an independent student, the EFC is the same as the student
contribution. For dependent students, the EFC is comprised of the student and parent

contributions.

11. Financial Need
Demonstrated need of the applicant for financial assistance to meet the actual costs of
attending the eligible institution of choice as determined from financial information on the
applicant and, if required, on the applicant’s parents under the federal need analysis
formula. For campus-based programs such as State Work Study, financial need is defined
as the cost of attendance minus the federal EFC and other financial aid. The Minnesota
State Grant program uses the Design for Shared Responsibility formula to determine

financial need.

12. Fiscal Year

A state fiscal year begins on July 1 and ends on June 30.
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13.

14.

15.

Good Standing

The student’s grade point average (GPA) meets the standards required by the satisfactory

academic progress policy in place for a particular aid program.

Independent Student

A student who is not required to provide parental information on the financial aid

application because the student meets one of the criteria for independent student in the

Higher Education Act of 1965 as amended:

is 24 years of age or older by December 31 of the award year;

was an orphan, ward of the court, or in foster care at any time age 13 or older;+

is a veteran of the Armed Forces of the United States;

is currently serving on active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces for purposes other than
training;

is a graduate or professional student;

is a married individual;

has legal dependents (other than children or a spouse) who live with and receive more
than half of their support from the student;

has children who receive more than half of their support from the student;

is a student for whom a financial aid administrator makes a documented determination
of independence by reason of other unusual circumstances;

is an emancipated minor as determined by a court;

is in legal guardianship as determined by a court;

is/was an unaccompanied youth who is/was homeless as determined by a high school
or school district homeless liaison or director of an emergency shelter program; or
is/was an unaccompanied youth who was homeless or self supporting and at risk of
being homeless as determined by a director of a runaway/homeless youth or transitional

living program.

Institutional Participation Agreement

The document signed by the appropriate school official(s) and the designated

representatives for the Minnesota Office of Higher Education which specifies the rights and
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16.

17.

18.

the responsibilities of the school and the Agency as they relate to participation in the

specific financial aid program(s) covered by that agreement.

Leave of Absence (LOA)

A leave of absence is a period of time approved by the school during which the student is
not in attendance but is considered to be enrolled. Each school is required to have a formal
leave of absence policy, the student must follow that policy when requesting a leave of
absence, and the school must have approved the student’s request in accordance with its
policy. The student’s request must be submitted in writing, specifying the reason for the
LOA. A student may take multiple leaves of absence from a school within a 12-month
period as long as the total number of days in all leaves does not exceed 180 days. A leave

of absence need not consist of consecutive days when granted.

Schools participating in financial aid programs must have a written leave of absence policy
that meets the definition of leave of absence used for federal financial aid programs, as

defined in 34 CFR 668.22(d).

If a student does not return at the expiration of an approved leave of absence, the student is

considered to have withdrawn on the day the student began the leave of absence.

State financial aid cannot be disbursed during a leave of absence. Further, the institution
may not assess the student any additional institutional charges, the student’s financial need
may not increase and the student is not eligible for any additional state financial aid due to

a leave of absence.

Office
The Minnesota Office of Higher Education.

Parent Contribution
The amount parents are expected to contribute towards the student’s education according to

the federal need analysis formula.
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19.

20.

Postsecondary Institution

An academic, vocational, proprietary, technical, business, professional, college or
university offering educational credentials or offering instruction or educational services
(primarily to persons who have completed or terminated their secondary education or who
are beyond the age of compulsory attendance) for attainment of educational, professional or
vocational objectives. Postsecondary education institutions may be classified as either
publicly or privately controlled. The privately controlled group includes two major

categoriesCprivate nonprofit schools and proprietary schools.

Professional Judgment

A procedure introduced under federal Title IV aid programs whereby the financial aid
director is given the authority to make adjustments to the student’s financial aid application
based on unusual circumstances. Examples of unusual circumstances include, but are not
limited to: death of a wage earner; divorce; unemployment; unusual medical expenses;
unusually high child care costs; parents enrolled in college; or other changes in a family’s
income, assets, or a student’s status. Professional judgment may also be used for a
dependency override, whereby the aid administrator changes a student’s dependency status

from dependent to independent based on documentation of unusual circumstances.

The aid administrator may not extend adjustments to a broad class of students, but must
review each student’s situation on a case-by-case basis. All adjustments must be
documented in the student’s file. Any adjustments to the EFC must be based on changing
data elements (i.e., income, assets, etc.) used in the need analysis formula as opposed to
making a bottom line change to the EFC itself. With the exception of the State Grant
budget, the aid administrator is also allowed to adjust the student’s cost of attendance based

on unusual circumstances.

One example of a professional judgment adjustment is changing the income on a student’s
application to reflect the income for the current tax year (January 1BDecember 31) or
academic year (July 1BJune 30) if the student or parent became unemployed during or after

the past tax year.
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21.

22.

For further guidance, schools should refer to the section on professional judgment contained
in the Application and Verification Guide chapter of the Federal Student Aid Handbook at

www.ifap.ed.gov.

Refund

The amount of institutional charges returned to the financial aid programs and/or student
after the student withdraws, fails to enroll or changes enrollment status. Policies,
procedures and worksheets/spreadsheets for refunds can be found in the State Grant chapter

of the financial aid manual.

Resident Student

A resident student means a student who meets one of the following conditions:

e adependent or independent student who has resided in Minnesota for 12 consecutive
months without being enrolled in a postsecondary school for more than five credits in
any term; or

e adependent student whose parent or legal guardian resides in Minnesota at the time the
student applies; or

e an independent or dependent student who graduated from a Minnesota high school, if
the student was a resident of Minnesota during the student’s period of attendance at the
Minnesota high school, and, if the student is residing in another state, the student is
physically attending a Minnesota postsecondary educational institution; or

e an independent or dependent student who, after residing in the state for a minimum of
one year, earned a high school equivalency certificate (GED) in Minnesota; or

e an independent student who was granted residency as a dependent student and has not
since left the state of Minnesota; or

e an independent or dependent student who is a member (or spouse/dependent of a
member) of the armed forces of the United States stationed in Minnesota on active
federal military service as defined in section 190.05, subdivision 5c; or

e aspouse or dependent of a veteran, as defined in Minnesota Statutes 197.447, if the

veteran meets the residency definition used for state financial aid programs; or
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e an independent or dependent student (or spouse of) who relocated to Minnesota from

an area that is declared a presidential disaster area within 12 months of the disaster

declaration, if the disaster interrupted the person's postsecondary education; or

e an independent or dependent student defined as a refugee under United States Code,

title 8, section 1101(a)(42) who, upon arrival in the United States, moved to Minnesota

and has continued to reside in Minnesota.

Although a student may meet the definition of a resident student, the student is not eligible

to receive funds from the State Grant, Postsecondary Child Care Grant and State Work

Study programs if the student is receiving tuition reciprocity benefits from another state

while attending a Minnesota public college or university.

Establishing Minnesota Residency for State Grant, State Work Study
and Postsecondary Child Care Grant Programs

Methods Dependent Student | Independent Student Documentation
Graduated from MN [ Meets residency Meets residency Supplemental questionnaire
high school while definition indefinitely |definition indefinitely |(beyond FAFSA) or
student resided in regardless of state of |regardless of state of [admissions/financial aid
MN. (Home- residency after high residency after high form asking location of

schooling considered
equivalent to
traditional high
school.) Must
physically attend a
MN college if
currently residing in
another state.

school, provided the
student is not
exclusively taking
distance education
classes while residing
in another state.

school, provided the
student is not
exclusively taking
distance education
classes while residing
in another state.

high school and student’s
residence during high
school. Registration records
would indicate mode of
delivery for current classes.

Earned GED in MN
after residing in MN
for 12 consecutive
months. (Time
incarcerated cannot
be used to establish
residency.)

Meets residency
definition indefinitely
regardless of state of
residence after GED
earned.

Meets residency
definition indefinitely
regardless of state of
residence after GED
earned.

Supplemental questionnaire
(beyond FAFSA) or
admissions/financial aid
form asking when/where
GED earned and date
student moved to MN.
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Establishing Minnesota Residency for State Grant, State Work Study
and Postsecondary Child Care Grant Programs

Methods

Dependent Student

Independent Student

Documentation

Parents resided in
MN when application
completed.

Meets residency
definition. In case of
divorce, ‘parent’ is
parent whose financial
information is
provided on FAFSA.
Parents’ absence from
MN excused for
military service,
postsecondary
education and
missionary work if
parents continue to file
MN state taxes.

Not applicable.

Parent’s state of legal
residence on current
FAFSA is sufficient if no
conflicting information in
student’s file.

Student resided in
MN for 12
consecutive months
without being
enrolled for more
than five credits per
term. (Time
incarcerated cannot
be used to establish
residency. Absence
from MN during
initial 12-month
period excused for
military service if
student files MN state
taxes.)

Meets residency
definition. Subsequent
absences from MN
excused for up to one
year for any reason
and more than one
year if reason for
absence is
postsecondary
education, military
service or missionary
service and student
continues to file taxes
in MN.

Meets residency
definition. Subsequent
absences from MN
excused for up to one
year for any reason
and more than one
year if reason for
absence is
postsecondary
education, military
service or missionary
service and student
continues to file taxes
in MN.

Supplemental questionnaire
(beyond FAFSA) or
admissions/financial aid
form asking student to list
dates for all places student
has resided and
name/location of all
colleges attended beyond
high school.

Student met
residency definition
as a dependent
applicant and has not
since left the state of
MN.

Not applicable.

Meets residency
definition. This
language grandfathers
through independent
students previously
granted residency as a
dependent student.

Documentation from past
aid year shows student met
the definition of MN
resident as a dependent
applicant.
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Establishing Minnesota Residency for State Grant, State Work Study
and Postsecondary Child Care Grant Programs

Methods

Dependent Student

Independent Student

Documentation

Student is a member
(or spouse/dependent
of a member) of the
armed forces of the
United States
stationed in MN on
active federal military
service as defined in
section 190.05,
subdivision 5c.

Meets residency
definition if parent(s)
reside in MN for
active federal military
service, even if parents
moved to MN after
FAFSA was
submitted.

Meets residency
definition if residing in
MN for own or
spouse’s active federal
military service, even
if student has not
resided in MN for 12
months.

Supplemental questionnaire
(beyond FAFSA) or
admissions/financial aid
form asking student to list
dates for all places student
has resided and reason for
residence in state. Form
should ask student to self-
identify to financial aid
office if reason for residing
in MN is active federal
military service. Confirm
by securing signed
statement from military
commander confirming
student (or spouse) is
stationed in MN for active
federal military service.

Student is a
dependent or spouse
of a veteran who
meets the residency
definition used for
state financial aid
programs.

Meets residency
definition if student is
a dependent of a
veteran who meets the
residency definition.

Meets residency
definition if student is
a dependent or spouse
of a veteran who meets
the residency
definition.

State Grant Program Student
Eligibility Questionnaire
directs student to self-
identify to financial aid
office if student is a
dependent or spouse of a
veteran who meets the
residency definition.
Confirm veteran status by
obtaining DD214 form.
Confirm veteran is resident
by completing State Grant
Program Student Eligibility
Questionnaire. Confirm
veteran status by obtaining
DD214 or other supporting
documentation from veteran.
For definition of veteran, see
https://www.revisor.leg.state
.mn.us/statutes/?1d=197.447.
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Establishing Minnesota Residency for State Grant, State Work Study
and Postsecondary Child Care Grant Programs

Methods Dependent Student | Independent Student Documentation
Student (or spouse of) | Applies to dependent | Applies to independent | Supplemental questionnaire
who relocated to MN | student, even if student | student, even if student | (beyond FAFSA) or
from an area thatis [ has not resided in MN | has not resided in MN | admissions/financial aid

declared a
presidential disaster
area within 12
months of the disaster
declaration, if the
disaster interrupted
the person's
postsecondary
education.

for 12 months.

for 12 months.

form asking student to list
dates for all places student
has resided and reason for
residence in state. Form
should ask student to self-
identify to financial aid
office if reason for residing
in MN is disaster relocation.
Confirm disaster
declaration on FEMA web
site:
www.fema.gov/news/disast
ers.fema and disruption of
postsecondary education at
college located in disaster
area via documentation
from college or list of
affected colleges on FEMA,
NASFAA or other
government web site.

Student defined as a
refugee under United
States Code, title 8,
section 1101(a)(42)
who, upon arrival in
the United States,
moved to MN and
has continued to
reside in MN.

Applies to dependent
student, even if student
has not resided in MN
for 12 months.
Subsequent absences
from MN excused for
up to one year for any
reason and more than
one year if reason for
absence is
postsecondary
education, military
service or missionary
service and student
continues to file taxes
in MN.

Applies to independent
student, even if student
has not resided in MN
for 12 months.
Subsequent absences
from MN excused for
up to one year for any
reason and more than
one year if reason for
absence is
postsecondary
education, military
service or missionary
service and student
continues to file taxes
in MN.

Supplemental questionnaire
(beyond FAFSA) or
admissions/financial aid
form asking student to list
dates for all places student
has resided and reason for
residence in state. Form
should ask student to self-
identify to financial aid
office if reason for residing
in MN is refugee relocation.
Confirm refugee status and
date of entry to U.S. by
student’s immigration
documentation.

a. Residency Exceptions and Clarifications

Although a student may meet the definition of a resident student, the student is not

eligible to receive funds from the State Grant, Work Study or Postsecondary Child
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Care Grant programs if the student is receiving tuition reciprocity benefits from another
state while attending a Minnesota postsecondary institution. (See ‘General Eligibility
Requirements Chart’ in ‘Introduction’ chapter or individual program chapters for

further guidance.)

Incarcerated students must demonstrate the criteria necessary for residency prior to

being incarcerated.

A family that physically resides in Minnesota near a bordering state but receives mail at

a border state address (e.g., Wisconsin) will be considered to be residing in Minnesota.

A student who completes high school via home-schooling in Minnesota is considered
to be the equivalent of a student who graduates from a Minnesota high school while

residing in Minnesota.

If a student could not graduate from a Minnesota high school because the family
resided in another state for purposes of military service, missionary work or
postsecondary education, the student will be considered a resident if the parents retain

Minnesota as the state of legal residence by filing taxes in Minnesota.

If the only means by which a student can establish Minnesota residency is graduation
from a Minnesota high school while residing in Minnesota, the student must be
physically attending a Minnesota college campus if currently residing in another state.
At least one or more of the student’s classes for the term must require physical class
attendance (beyond required examinations) at a Minnesota campus in order to be

considered a Minnesota resident for the term.

A dependent applicant will be considered a resident if the applicant’s parent(s)
originally resided in Minnesota but resided in another state at the time of application
due to missionary work, military service or postsecondary education but retained

Minnesota as the state of legal residence by filing taxes in Minnesota.



NUMBER PAGE

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL Section I 15

SECTION

DATE
Common Definitions July 2011

An applicant who does not initially reside in Minnesota for 12 consecutive months
prior to attending a postsecondary school may later establish residency by remaining in
the state of Minnesota for 12 consecutive months without attending a Minnesota
postsecondary institution for more than five credits in any term. An applicant who
establishes residency by residing in Minnesota for 12 consecutive months will lose
residency status by moving from Minnesota for more than one year for purposes other

than education, military or missionary service.

An applicant will not be penalized for failure to reside in Minnesota for 12 consecutive
months without being enrolled for six or more credits in any term if the student left
Minnesota during the 12-month period to serve in the military, provided the student

enlisted in Minnesota and continues to file Minnesota taxes.

In the case of legal separation or divorce, “parent” means the parent whose financial
information was provided on the application according to the federal Title IV financial

aid program guidelines.

23. Satisfactory Academic Progress
To be making satisfactory academic progress, a student is expected to complete a program
within a specified time frame and maintain a grade point average consistent with
requirements. Schools are required to follow the satisfactory academic progress
requirements in state law (Minnesota Statutes 136A.101, Subd.10), which adopts the
satisfactory academic progress requirements used for federal student financial aid programs
as defined in the Code of Federal Regulations Title 34, Sections 668.32 and 668.34. The
federal requirements referred to in the state law define minimum standards for maintaining

satisfactory academic progress. A school is allowed to adopt stricter standards.

Schools should rely on Volume 1, Chapter 1 of the Federal Student Aid Handbook, which
provides additional details and guidance regarding the federal satisfactory academic

progress requirements. The handbook can be accessed at: www.ifap.ed.gov.




NUMBER PAGE
FINANCIAL AID MANUAL Section [ 16
SECTION DATE
Common Definitions July 2011

According to the federal regulations referred to in the state law, a student is making

satisfactory academic progress if:

by the end of a student’s second academic year of attendance at an institution, the
student has at least a cumulative grade point average of C or its equivalent or academic
standing consistent with the institution’s graduation requirements; and

the student will be able to complete the program within a maximum time frame that is

no longer than 150 percent of the published program length.

“Academic year” is defined in this chapter as the period of time it takes a full-time student

complete the equivalent of at least two semesters, two trimesters or three quarters, or at

least 30 semester hours, 45 quarter hours or 900 clock hours.

Satisfactory academic progress should be measured and monitored in the following

manner:

The school must check state satisfactory academic progress using the same increments
required for federal aid programs. Federal Title IV regulations require schools to divide
a student’s program into equal evaluation periods called increments. For programs that
are one academic year or less, schools must evaluate satisfactory academic progress at
the end of each payment period. For programs longer than one academic year, schools
must evaluate at least annually to correspond to the end of a payment period, but can
choose to evaluate at the end of each payment period. For students enrolled on a less
than full-time basis at clock hour institutions, increments must be based on the payment
periods used for the State Grant program as opposed to payment periods used for

federal student aid programs.

Any time an increment or “check point” falls within the student’s first two academic
years, the school must verify the student is meeting the timely completion component
in the federal satisfactory academic progress policy. There is no GPA requirement in
the federal policy within the student’s first two academic years other than the student

meeting any GPA requirements in the school’s own policies.
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To determine if the student is meeting the timely completion component of satisfactory
academic progress, the school would divide the program length by the maximum time
frame set by the school (must be no longer than 150 percent of the program length) to
determine the percentage of credits the student must complete. For example, a four-

year degree program would typically have a maximum time frame of six years, which

would result in a completion percentage of 66.7 percent (4 divided by 6 = .667).

e Any time an increment or “check point” falls after the end of the student’s second
academic year, the student must have a GPA of 2.0 (or its equivalent on a grading
system) or academic standing consistent with graduation standards to be making

satisfactory academic progress. “Consistent with graduation standards” means the

student’s GPA can fall below 2.0 if the institution’s graduation requirement is less than

2.0 or the institution has a progressive GPA requirement that gradually progresses
throughout the student’s course of study (e.g., 1.50 freshmen, 1.75 sophomore, 1.85
junior, 2.0 senior). The school must also verify the student is meeting the timely

completion component in the federal satisfactory academic progress policy.

If student’s enrollment status is comprised of course work undertaken at two schools during

the same term, satisfactory academic progress must be verified by evaluating all course

work that was used to determine the student’s enrollment status.

For transfer students, cumulative GPA may be based on course work completed at a
previous institution, course work at the current institution or a combination. If the student
has not yet completed a term at the current institution when satisfactory academic progress

is being checked, the GPA may be based on all the course work completed at the previous

institution or on the course work that transferred to the current institution. If the student has

completed a term at the current institution, the GPA may be based solely on course work
completed at the current institution or in combination with course work completed at or

transferred from the previous institution.
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The school must choose one method of calculating the cumulative GPA for transfer
students and apply this method across all applicable state financial aid programs. When
combining grades from the previous and current institutions, the current institution must

convert previous credits and grade points onto its own grade point system.

When monitoring the timely completion component of satisfactory academic progress for

transfer students, the school must either:

e count all courses that transferred to the current institution; or

e at a minimum, count all courses that will transfer to the student’s program; or

e “reset the clock” at the current institution, whereby the maximum time frame is
determined by multiplying the remaining time left in the student’s program at the
current institution by 150 percent. For example, if the student, upon transferring to the
current institution, had two years remaining in a four-year degree program, maximum

time frame would be three years (2 years remaining X 1.5 = 3 years).

With respect to credits attempted/earned under the state’s Postsecondary Enrollment
Options (PSEO) program, PSEO credits taken at the current institution are treated in the
same manner as any other course work taken at the current institution and should be
included when determining the student’s GPA and monitoring the timely completion
component of satisfactory academic progress. PSEO credits taken at a previous institution
are treated in the same manner as any other type of course work transferred to the current

institution.

If a student is not meeting the standards of satisfactory academic progress, the
consequences will be based on how often the school evaluates the student’s satisfactory

academic progress.

If a school evaluates the student’s satisfactory academic progress at the end of each
payment period, the school may place a student who does not meet standards on warning
status for one payment period, during which the student can continue to receive financial

aid. A student appeal is not required to be placed on warning status. If, upon completion of
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24.

25.

the warning period, the student still does not meet standards, the student can continue to
receive financial aid for one additional payment period upon a successful appeal of the

student to be placed on financial aid probation.

If satisfactory academic progress is evaluated only once per academic year, a student
cannot be placed on warning status. Rather, eligibility for financial aid can only be
extended upon a successful appeal by the student to be placed on probation for one
payment period. After probation, a student must be making satisfactory academic progress
or successfully following an academic plan that ensures the student will be able to meet

standards by a specific point in time.

An appeal by the student must include why the student failed to make satisfactory academic
progress and what has changed that will allow the student to make satisfactory academic

progress at the next evaluation point.

All institutions must have a written satisfactory academic progress policy in compliance
with the requirements in for federal financial aid programs, as required in 34 CFR 668.34

and described in Volume 1, Chapter 1 of the Federal Student Aid Handbook.

Student Contribution
The student contribution is the amount a student is expected to contribute towards
educational costs based on treatment of the student’s income and assets under the federal

need analysis formula.

Veteran

The definition of veteran, as referred to in the definition of Minnesota resident used for
state financial aid programs, means a citizen of the United States or a resident alien who
has been separated under honorable conditions from any branch of the armed forces of
the United States after having served on active duty for 181 consecutive days or by
reason of disability incurred while serving on active duty, or who has met the

minimum active duty requirement as defined by Code of Federal Regulations, title 38,
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section 3.12a, or who has active military service certified under section 401, Public
Law 95-202. The active military service must be certified by the United States
secretary of defense as active military service and a discharge under honorable
conditions must be issued by the secretary.
26. Withdrawal Date

For schools participating in federal financial aid programs, withdrawal date is as defined in

the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 668.22. Schools not participating in federal aid

programs are subject to any definition of withdrawal date that exists in state law or, if none

exists, institutional policy.
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136A.101 DEFINITIONS.
Subdivision 1. Scope. For purposes of sections 136A.095 to 136A.1311, the terms defined in this section

have the meanings ascribed to them.

Subd. 2. Office. “Office” means the Minnesota Office of Higher Education.

Subd. 3. Director. “Director” means the director of the Minnesota Office of Higher Education.

Subd. 4. Eligible institution. “Eligible institution” means an institution that meets the eligibility

requirements under Section 136A.103.

Subd. 5. Financial need. “Financial need” means the demonstrated need of the applicant for financial
assistance to meet the recognized costs of attending the eligible institution of choice as determined from
financial information on the applicant and, if required, on the applicant's parents, by the federal need

analysis.

Subd. 5a. Assigned family responsibility. “Assigned family responsibility” means the amount of a
family's contribution to a student's cost of attendance, as determined by a federal need analysis. For
dependent students, the assigned family responsibility is 96 percent of the parental contribution. For
independent students with dependents other than a spouse, the assigned family responsibility is 86 percent
of the student contribution. For independent students without dependents other than a spouse, the

assigned family responsibility is 68 percent of the student contribution.

Subd. 6.[Repealed, 1989 ¢ 293 s 85]

Subd. 7. Student. “Student” means a person who is enrolled for at least three credits per quarter or
semester, or the equivalent, in a program or course of study that applies to a degree, diploma, or
certificate. Credit equivalencies assigned by an institution that are applicable to federal Pell grant

calculations shall be counted as part of a student's credit load.
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Subd. 7a. Full time. “Full time” means enrollment in a minimum of 15 credits per quarter or semester, or

the equivalent.

Subd. 7b. Half time. “Half time” means enrollment in a minimum of six credits per quarter or semester,

or the equivalent.

Subd. 8. Resident student. “Resident student” means a student who meets one of the following

conditions:

(1) a student who has resided in Minnesota for purposes other than postsecondary education for at least
12 months without being enrolled at a postsecondary educational institution for more than five credits
in any term;

(2) a dependent student whose parent or legal guardian resides in Minnesota at the time the student
applies;

(3) a student who graduated from a Minnesota high school, if the student was a resident of Minnesota
during the student's period of attendance at the Minnesota high school and the student is physically
attending a Minnesota postsecondary educational institution;

(4) a student who, after residing in the state for a minimum of one year, earned a high school equivalency
certificate in Minnesota;

(5) a member, spouse, or dependent of a member of the armed forces of the United States stationed in
Minnesota on active federal military service as defined in section 190.05, subdivision 5c;

(6) a spouse or dependent of a veteran, as defined in section 197.447, if the veteran is a Minnesota
resident;

(7) a person or spouse of a person who relocated to Minnesota from an area that is declared a presidential
disaster area within the preceding 12 months if the disaster interrupted the person's postsecondary
education; or

(8) a person defined as a refugee under United States Code, title 8, section 1101(a)(42), who, upon arrival

in the United States, moved to Minnesota and has continued to reside in Minnesota.

Subd. 9. Independent student. “Independent student” has the meaning given it in the Higher Education
Act of 1965, United States Code, title 20, section 1070a-6, and applicable regulations.
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Subd. 10. Satisfactory academic progress. “Satisfactory academic progress” as defined under Code of
Federal Regulations, title 34, sections 668.16(¢), 668.32(f), and 668.34.

History: 1971 ¢ 862 s 2; 1975 ¢ 271 s 6; 1975 ¢ 390 s 4; 1Sp1985 ¢ 11 529; 1987 ¢ 401 s 15; 1989 ¢ 293
$ 24-26; 1991 c 356 art 8 s 1-5; 1992 c 513 art 1 s 12; 1Sp1993 c2 art 25 7,8; 1995 ¢ 186 s 119; 1995 ¢
212 art 3 s 17-21,59; 1996 ¢ 398 s 30; 1997 c 183 art 2 s 3; 1998 ¢ 384 s 7; 1Sp2001 c 1 art 2 s 8,9; 2003
c 133 art2s8; 2005 ¢ 107 art 2 s 60; 2006 ¢ 282 art 8 s 3; 2007 ¢ 144 art 2 s 17,18; 2008 ¢ 298 s 3; 2008
c363art4s6;2009c95art2s 10

136A.103 INSTITUTION ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS.

(a) A postsecondary institution is eligible for state student aid under chapter 136A and sections 197.791
and 299A .45, if the institution is located in this state and:

(1) is operated by this state or the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota; or
(2) is operated privately and, as determined by the office, meets the requirements of paragraph (b).
(b) A private institution must:
(1) maintain academic standards substantially equivalent to those of comparable institutions operated
in this state;
(2) be licensed or registered as a postsecondary institution by the office; and
(3) (1) bylJuly 1, 2010, participate in the federal Pell Grant program under Title IV of the Higher
Education Act of 1965, Public Law 89-329, as amended; or
(i1) if an institution was participating in state student aid programs as of June 30, 2010, and the
institution did not participate in the federal Pell Grant program by June 30, 2010, the
institution must require every student who enrolls to sign a disclosure form, provided by the
office, stating that the institution is not participating in the federal Pell Grant program.

(c) An institution that offers only graduate-level degrees or graduate-level nondegree programs, or that
offers only degrees or programs that do not meet the required minimum program length to participate
in the federal Pell Grant program, is an eligible institution if the institution is licensed or registered as
a postsecondary institution by the office.

(d) An eligible institution under paragraph (b), clause (3), item (ii), that changes ownership as defined in
section 136A.63, subdivision 2, must participate in the federal Pell Grant program within four

calendar years of the first ownership change to continue eligibility.
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(e) An institution that loses its eligibility for the federal Pell Grant program is not an eligible institution.

136A.1312 FINANCIAL AID ADMINISTRATOR, PROFESSIONAL JUDGMENT.

Nothing in this chapter or in the office’s rules shall be interpreted as limiting the ability of student
financial aid administrators, on the basis of adequate documentation, to make necessary adjustments to
the cost of attendance and expected family contribution computations to allow for treatment of individual
students with special circumstances, with the exception of the cost of attendance defined under section
136A.121, subdivision 6. In addition, nothing in this chapter or in the office’s rules shall be interpreted as
limiting the ability of the student financial aid administrator to use supplementary information about the
financial status of eligible applicants with special circumstances in selecting recipients of state financial
aid and determining the amount of awards. Nothing in this section precludes a financial aid administrator

from establishing an appeals process for other extenuating circumstances.

History: 1996 ¢ 398 s 31

136A.1313 FINANCIAL AID AUDITS.

Beginning with audits for fiscal year 1996, in place of the audits provided by the office, public
institutions that administer state grants under decentralized delivery may arrange for audits of state
financial aid awards and tuition reciprocity recipients in conjunction with their audits for federal financial
aid. Audits must be conducted in compliance with guidelines and materials prepared by the office. The
office shall develop a review process including procedures for responding to audit exceptions. All other
institutions under decentralized delivery may arrange for audits under this section beginning with audits

for fiscal year 1997.

History: 1996 ¢ 398 s 32

16A.645 GOPHER STATE BONDS.

Subd. 5. Effect on student grants. The first $25,000 of gopher state bonds purchased for the benefit of a
student must not be considered in determining the financial need of an applicant for the state grant
program under section 136A.121. This $25,000 is in addition to any other asset exclusion authorized

under chapter 136A.
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124D.09 POST-SECONDARY ENROLLMENT OPTIONS ACT.

Subd. 14. Grants and financial aid prohibited. A pupil enrolled in a post-secondary course for

secondary credit is not eligible for any state student financial aid under chapter 136A.
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4830.0100 DEFINITIONS FOR HIGHER EDUCATION PROGRAMS.
Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of chapters 4800, 4810, and this chapter, the terms defined in this part

have the meanings given them unless specifically provided otherwise.

Subp. la. Academic year. “Academic year” means a period of time in which a full-time student is

expected to complete:

A. the equivalent of at least two semesters, two trimesters, or three quarters at an institution that
measures academic progress in credit hours and uses a semester, trimester, or quarter system;

B. at least 30 semester hours or 45 quarter hours at an institution that measures academic progress in
credit hours but does not use a semester, trimester, or quarter system; or

C. atleast 900 clock hours at an institution that measures academic progress in clock hours.

Subp. 2. Office. “Office” means the Minnesota Office of Higher Education.

Subp. 2a. Certificate program. “Certificate program” means a program that is:
A. offered by an eligible school as defined in part 4830.0300, subpart 1;
B. atleast 12 quarter credits or the equivalent, or 300 clock hours for clock hour schools; and

C. atleast eight weeks long.

Subp. 3. Dependent student. “Dependent student” means a student who is not an independent student.

Subp. 3a. [Repealed, 23 SR 594]

Subp. 4. Educational costs. “Educational costs” means tuition, required fees, room and board, books, and

miscellaneous expenses.

Subp. 5. Eligible student. “Eligible student” means a student who meets, at a minimum, all of the

following requirements:

A. has not earned a baccalaureate degree and has not entered a graduate school program as a full-time
graduate student;

B. is aresident of Minnesota;
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C. is not receiving tuition reciprocity benefits while attending a Minnesota postsecondary institution;

D. is enrolled or is intending to enroll as at least a half-time student in an eligible school;

E. isin good standing and making satisfactory academic progress, as defined in Minnesota Statutes,
section 136A.101, subdivision 10;

F. is apermanent resident of the United States, if the student is not a United States citizen; and

G. is not in default, as defined under the applicable loan program, of any educational loan, or, if the

student is in default, has made satisfactory arrangements to repay the loan.

Subp. 6. Director. “Director” means the director of the office, or office staff who perform duties as

assigned by the director.

Subp. 7. Financial need. “Financial need” means the amount of monetary assistance necessary for a
student to meet educational costs after parental and student contributions, determined by the financial

need analysis, are subtracted from the student’s educational costs.

Subp. 8. Financial need analysis. “Financial need analysis” means a system for analyzing a family’s
financial strength to determine the expected parental and student contributions to educational costs. The
system is a federally approved system or an equivalent need analysis system adopted each year by the

office for the appropriate processing year.

Subp. 8a. Full-time. “Full-time” means the enrollment level defined in Minnesota Statutes, section
136A.101, subdivision 7a, except that for purposes of work-study grants administered under parts
4830.2000 to 4830.2600, “full-time” means enrollment in a minimum of 12 credits per quarter or

semester, or the equivalent.

Subp. 9. Independent student. “Independent student” has the meaning given it in the Higher Education
Act of 1965, United States Code, title 20, section 1070a-6, and applicable regulations.

Subp. 10. Minnesota resident. “Minnesota resident” means:

A. adependent student whose parent or legal guardian resides in Minnesota on the date of application;
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B. a student who has resided in Minnesota for other than educational purposes for at least 12 consecutive
months without being enrolled at a postsecondary institution for more than five credits in any term
prior to the date of application;

C. astudent who graduated from a Minnesota high school, if the student was a resident of Minnesota
during the student’s period of attendance at the Minnesota high school;

D. a student who, after residing in the state for a minimum of one year, earned a high school equivalency
certificate in Minnesota; or

E. an independent student who was initially a Minnesota resident as defined in item A and who has

continued to reside in Minnesota.

Subp. 10a. Determination of student residence. The residence of the parent whose financial information

is reported in the financial need analysis determines the residence of the student.

Subp. 11. Audit requirements. Audit requirements means that the school must make available to the
office and its authorized representatives all pertinent books, documents, papers, and records for audit and
examination for three years after the last day of a fiscal year or until audit exceptions for the period are

resolved.

Subp. 12. [Repealed, 20 SR 2284]

Stat Auth: MS s 14.388; 136A.01; 136A.04; 136A.111; 136A.134; 136A.16; 136A.234; 136A.70;
147.30

Hist: 8 SR 196; 10 SR 2319; 13 SR 128; 15 SR 1780; 16 SR 2732; 19 SR 1491; L 1995 ¢ 212 art 3 s 59;
20 SR 2284; 21 SR 1821; 23 SR 594; 28 SR 889; L 2005 ¢ 107 art 2 s 60

4830.0110 DEFINITIONS FOR SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS.
Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of parts of 4830.0200 to 4830.0700 and 4830.7000 to 4830.7900, the
definitions in this part apply to satisfactory academic progress as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section

136A.101, subdivision 10.
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Subp. 2. Academic standing consistent with the institution’s graduation requirements. “Academic
standing consistent with the institution’s graduation requirements” means the student’s cumulative grade
point average must meet the cumulative grade point average required by the institution for graduation.
The institution’s graduation requirement may be a fixed cumulative grade point average which is the
same for all grade levels or a graduated cumulative grade point average which progresses towards the

grade point average required for graduation.

Subp. 3. Academic year. “Academic year” means the grade level as defined by the school.

Subp. 4. [Repealed, 23 SR 594]

Subp. 5. Repealed, 23 SR 594]

Subp. 6. Repealed, 23 SR 594]

Subp. 7. Repealed, 23 SR 594]

Subp. 8. Repealed, 23 SR 594]

Subp. 9. Repealed, 23 SR 594]

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.01
Hist: 20 SR 2284; 23 SR 594

4830.0120 SCOPE.
For the purposes of this chapter and chapter 4850, the procedure in parts 4830.0130 to 4830.0195 applies
to the termination of an institution’s eligibility to participate in a student financial aid program

administered by the Minnesota Office of Higher Education.

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.01
Hist: 24 SR 389; L 2005 ¢ 107 art 2 s 60
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4830.0130 DEFINITIONS.
Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of parts 4830.0120 to 4830.0195, the terms defined in this part have

the meanings given them.

Subp. 2. Director. “Director” means the director of the office, or office staff who perform duties as

assigned by the director.

Subp. 3. Fiscal year. “Fiscal year” means the period from July 1 to the following June 30.

Subp. 4. Funds. “Funds” means money disbursed or the commitment to disburse money under any

program to an institution or to an institution on behalf of students enrolled and attending the institution.

Subp. 5. Institution. “Institution” means a post-secondary institution that participates in a student

financial aid program or student loan program administered by the office.

Subp. 6. Office. “Office” means the Minnesota Office of Higher Education.

Subp. 7. Program. “Program” means a financial aid and loan program administered by the Minnesota

Office of Higher Education.

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.01
Hist: 24 SR 389; L 2005 ¢ 107 art 2 s 60

4830.0140 TERMINATION.

The office shall terminate an institution’s eligibility to participate in a program if the institution:

A. violates a provision of Minnesota statutes or rules governing the program, and fails to correct the
violation within 90 days from the date on the written notification of the termination;

B. refuses to allow inspection of or provide information relating to financial aid records, after written

request by the office;

C. is no longer eligible to participate in a program under part 4830.0300, subparts 1 and 2; 4830.7200; or

4850.0011, subpart 14; or
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D. is not complying with chapter 4850.

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.01
Hist: 24 SR 389

4830.0150 TERMINATION PROCEDURE.

Subpart 1. Termination. The office shall provide written notice of its intent to terminate an institution’s
eligibility to participate in a program or programs if there is evidence that the institution has been in
noncompliance based on the criteria under part 4830.0140. At the time the office provides notice of its
intent to terminate, it shall also provide an institution an opportunity for a hearing pursuant to Minnesota

Statutes, chapter 14.

Subp. 2. Notification. The office shall send the institution written notification of the termination of the
institution’s eligibility to participate in a program. Termination shall be effective 90 days from the date of

the written notification.

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.01
Hist: 24 SR 389

4830.0160 REQUEST FOR HEARING.

An institution may request a hearing pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14, regarding its termination
of eligibility to participate in a program. The request must be in writing and must be received by the
director within 30 days of the date on the written notification of termination sent by the office. Within ten
days of receipt of the request for hearing, the office shall contact the Office of Administrative Hearings to

arrange a hearing date.

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.01
Hist: 24 SR 389
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4830.0170 FINAL DECISION, ORDERS.

The director shall render a decision and order in writing following receipt of the report issued by the
administrative law judge after the hearing. The final decision of the director shall take into consideration
the hearing record and the report of the administrative law judge. The order of the director is the final
decision in the termination of the institution’s eligibility to participate in a program administered by the

office.

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.01
Hist: 24 SR 389

4830.0180 REIMBURSEMENTS AND REFUNDS.

A. The office’s director of student financial aid services or the director of the office shall require an
institution to remedy a violation of applicable program statutes and rules.

B. If an institution is required to reimburse or make other payments to the office, the director shall offset

these claims against benefits or claims due to the institution.

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.01
Hist: 24 SR 389

4830.0190 STUDENT AWARDS AFTER TERMINATION.
Subpart 1. Payment of awards. If an institution is terminated from participating in a program during a
payment period, a student at the institution who was eligible for an award before the effective date of the

termination shall receive a payment for that payment period.

Subp. 2. Notice. For the purposes of subpart 1, “notice” occurs:

A. under the Student Educational Loan Fund (SELF) Program when the director or servicer advises the
student, in writing, that the loan is approved; and

B. under the state grant and campus-based programs when the director or institution has notified the

student, in writing, of the award.
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Stat Auth: MS s 136A.01
Hist: 24 SR 389

4830.0195 REINSTATEMENT.

Subpart 1. Application. An institution terminated from participation in a program by the office under part
4830.0140, may request reinstatement to participate in the program. The institution must wait at least 12
consecutive months from the effective date of the termination to submit a request for reinstatement. A
request for reinstatement must be in writing and submitted to the director. If the institution is initially
denied reinstatement, the institution must wait at least 90 days from the date of denial of reinstatement, as
specified in subpart 3, to resubmit a request for reinstatement. If an institution’s eligibility is reinstated
after the start of the academic term, eligible students shall receive payment retroactively to the beginning

of the term when the institution was reinstated.

Subp. 2. Reinstatement requirements. An institution’s reinstatement request must include:

A. written documentation of the process used to correct a violation, and how the violation will be
prevented in the future;

B. evidence of full repayment to the office of program funds the institution improperly received,
withheld, disbursed, or caused to be disbursed; and

C. new participation agreements with the office for all programs the institution wishes to participate in.

Subp. 3. Response to reinstatement request. Within 60 days of receiving the institution’s reinstatement
request, the office shall:
A. grant the request; or

B. deny the request based on evidence of noncompliance with the requirements in subpart 2.

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.01
Hist: 24 SR 389
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Introduction

This manual is written for schools participating in the Minnesota State Grant program and is
subject to all subsequent changes in both federal and Minnesota state laws and regulations

governing the Minnesota State Grant program.

The Agency will provide each school with an opportunity to respond to proposed changes to the
State Grant program rules and regulations. Within 10 days following the adoption of new or
modified program rules or regulations, the Agency will develop and distribute updated written

information to schools that will later be included in this manual.

This chapter of the manual is updated on an annual basis. Schools are required to read all email
and written correspondence from the Agency to keep informed of current changes during the
interim. According to the Institutional Participation Agreement (Appendix 5), policy changes
announced during the interim have the full force and effect of the Financial Aid Manual. All
participating schools are responsible for designating a State Grant contact on campus and notifying
the Agency about changes to the campus contact information; including name, e-mail address and

phone number.

Program Objectives

The objective of the Minnesota State Grant program is to provide monetary assistance to eligible
students who demonstrate financial need, in order to encourage their education at Minnesota

postsecondary institutions of their choice.

Program Overview

The Minnesota State Grant program provides undergraduate students with assistance in meeting
the cost of attendance at eligible Minnesota public and private postsecondary institutions of their
choice. Each academic year, the Agency determines which schools will be eligible according to

criteria in the program rules. Program funds are allocated to the Agency by the State Legislature.

To receive a State Grant, the student must be enrolled at an eligible Minnesota postsecondary

institution for at least three credits per term, demonstrate financial need (as defined in Minnesota
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Statutes 136A.121, Subd. 5), and meet several other eligibility requirements outlined in the
‘Eligibility Requirements’ section of this chapter. A student may receive a State Grant for any year

of undergraduate study unless the student fails to meet the program eligibility requirements.

The following formula is used to calculate the 2011-2012 annual full-time State Grant award:

Tuition and mandatory general fees (30 semester/45 quarter credits)*
+ Living and miscellaneous expense allowance (LME)
= Award calculation budget
- 46.3% student share
- 97.92% of annual 9-month FM parent contribution (dependent)
- 69.36% (independent w/o dependents) or 87.72% (independent w/ dependents) of annual 9-month FM EFC
- Full-time annual 9-month Pell Grant
= State Grant award ($100 annual minimum, $50 semester, $33 quarter)

*Subject to tuition and fee maximums in law.

(See also Appendix 8 — Shared Responsibility Formula)

Participating schools are responsible for screening applications, calculating awards, award
notification, and disbursement of awards at the campus level, and electronically reporting the
application and award data to the Agency on a monthly basis to ensure that the school’s award

calculations and payments fall within established tolerances.

Application Process

A. Original Application
The student applies for a State Grant by completing the Free Application for Federal Student
Aid (FAFSA) which can be obtained from a high school counselor, college financial aid
office, or the Agency. However, most students choose to submit an electronic FAFSA on the
Web at www.fafsa.gov. In order to provide an electronic signature on the FAFSA on the Web,
the student and parents should apply for a PIN number at www.pin.ed.gov or while completing

the FAFSA on the Web.

Because the FAFSA does not contain all of the information needed to verify State Grant
eligibility, the institution must collect and/or review supplemental data to determine each

student’s history of Minnesota residency and postsecondary attendance. The institution can
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use the Student Eligibility Questionnaire (see Appendix 2) or include the questions from the
Agency’s form on its own institutional paper or on-line form as a proxy. If the institution
chooses to include these questions on its own form, it is recommended they be included on a
financial aid form since many students exclude previous postsecondary attendance on

admissions forms if they do not wish to transfer credit.

A school is not required to have each State Grant applicant complete the Student Eligibility
Questionnaire (or school’s proxy) if the school has sufficient information from other sources
(ISIR/SAR, NSLDS system, admissions and registration records, other financial aid records,
etc.) that documents the student’s eligibility. The following are examples of when state
residency or the amount of postsecondary attendance can be documented without using the
Student Eligibility Questionnaire (or school’s proxy):

e The school has a copy of the student’s Minnesota high school diploma or another form the
student completed indicating the student graduated from a Minnesota high school
(establishes Minnesota residency via graduation from a Minnesota high school).

e A dependent student’s SAR/ISIR indicates Minnesota as the parents’ state of legal
residence (establishes Minnesota residency by documenting parents resided in Minnesota
when the FAFSA was completed).

e Student’s date of birth on the SAR/ISIR or other records held by the college is such that it
would be impossible for the student to have exceeded the limit on postsecondary
attendance by continuous enrollment between the date of high school graduation and the
current academic year, including summer terms.

e The student has previously completed a Student Eligibility Questionnaire (or the school’s
proxy) and subsequent information accessed by the school (SAR/ISIR, NSLDS,
institutional records, etc.) or supplied by the student does not contradict the student’s

continued eligibility.

Because the NSLDS and State Grant historical databases are not comprehensive sources of
previous postsecondary attendance, they cannot be the only method used to initially determine
the student’s amount of previous postsecondary attendance. However, once the student has

provided information about previous postsecondary attendance on the Student Eligibility




NUMBER PAGE

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL Section I 4

SECTION

DATE
State Grant Program July 2011

Questionnaire (or school’s proxy), these databases can be used to identify subsequent
postsecondary attendance without the student having to complete additional forms. In cases
where the amount of previous postsecondary attendance, including attendance at the current
school, equals three or more academic years, the school is required to review the student’s

academic transcripts to determine the precise amount of previous postsecondary attendance.

Private schools not participating in the Federal Pell Grant program must also have all enrolled
students sign the student disclosure statement (Appendix 23) informing them that they will not

be eligible to receive a Federal Pell Grant at that particular school.

Once the FAFSA processor receives the student’s FAFSA, the processor calculates the Federal
Methodology need analysis results and sends an electronic FAFSA record called the
Institutional Student Information Record (ISIR) with results to both the Agency and any
college the student listed on the FAFSA. The student is sent an output document called the
Student Aid Report or SAR. If the student provided an email address on the FAFSA, the

student will be sent an email containing a link to the electronic version of the SAR.

Only schools participating in federal financial aid programs can receive ISIR records from the
federal processor. Therefore, students attending schools that don’t participate in federal aid

programs must submit their paper SAR to the school.

The processor sends ISIR records to the Agency starting in January of the preceding academic
year through the last month of the current academic year. ISIR records are downloaded by the
Agency on a nightly basis. Each time the Agency downloads ISIR records, the records are
screened to inform schools about possible eligibility problems and data is written to an on-line
hold report for each school (see Appendix 3). The school is notified by the Agency via an

automated email any time data is changed on its on-line hold report.
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B. Correcting Applications

1. Correction Methods

Once a FAFSA is processed, there are several methods a student or school can use to make

corrections:

¢ the student can make corrections on the paper SAR and resubmit the SAR to the
FAFSA processor;

o the student can make corrections on the Web at www.fafsa.ed.gov; or

o if the school participates in federal aid programs, the school can electronically submit

corrections to the FAFSA processor.

Use of Professional Judgment

The Agency allows data elements on the student’s application to be adjusted based on the
financial aid administrator exercising professional judgment, as outlined in federal aid
regulations and Minnesota Statutes 136A.1312. This occurs when there are documented
changes in the family’s economic status during the current or previous tax year. Examples
of special cases are loss of employment, marriage, divorce, change in number of
dependents, substantial medical expenses, etc. Professional judgment may also be used for
a dependency override, whereby the aid administrator makes an otherwise dependent
applicant independent based on documentation of unusual circumstances. (Please refer to
‘Professional Judgment’ under ‘Common Definitions’ chapter of this manual for further

instructions.)

There must be written documentation of the special situation and the resulting financial
impact in the student’s file. Documentation should include a description of the special
situation, the effect it will have on the student’s ability to pay for his/her education, the
effect on the student’s overall financial condition, and the date the school was informed of

the special situation.

Corrections/adjustments based on the financial aid administrator exercising professional
judgment must be submitted to the FAFSA processor by the financial aid administrator

either electronically or on the student’s paper SAR.
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3.

Institutional Responsibility for Correcting Applications

Schools are responsible for resolving all conflicting information on the student’s
application. Institutions are required to make financial changes to a student’s application if
the change will have an impact on the parent contribution, expected family contribution,

Pell Grant award, or any other factor affecting the State Grant award calculation.

If a student’s FAFSA application is selected for verification by the FAFSA processor, the
institution is responsible for verifying the accuracy of data provided on the student’s
application using procedures and tolerances established for federal Title IV financial aid

programs, even if the institution does not participate in those programs. The school should

obtain a copy of the federal ‘Application and Verification Guide’ for the current aid year

and complete the on-line Verification tutorial at www.ifap.ed.gov for further guidance.

C. Application and Correction Deadlines

1. Original Application Deadlines

In order to receive a State Grant award for a term, the student’s original FAFSA for the
current aid year must be received by the federal central processing system (CPS) no later
than 30 calendar days after the term’s start date. For example, if fall semester started on
September 1, the original FAFSA application receipt date at the CPS must be on or before
September 30. There is no requirement that the original FAFSA result in a valid output
document as long as the original FAFSA is received by the CPS no later than 30 days after

the term’s start date.

If the student’s original FAFSA was submitted under an incorrect social security number
and the student corrects the error by submitting another FAFSA under the correct social
security number, the FAFSA receipt date on the original FAFSA will be used to determine

if the student meets the State Grant application deadline.

In certain cases, schools with uniform term start and end dates for all students have

courses or programs which might start later in the term, or may even overlap terms. In
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these cases, the State Grant application deadline is 30 calendar days from the beginning of

the term, rather than 30 days from the date the particular course or program begins.

Many term-based schools combine multiple mini-sessions into one term. When this
occurs, the term start date is considered the first day of the first mini-session in the term
and the term end date is considered the last date of the last mini-session in the term,

regardless of whether or not the student was enrolled in all mini-sessions.

There are several schools participating in the State Grant program that do not use uniform
term start and end dates for all students. This group of schools includes progressive clock
hour schools using payment periods instead of terms, credit-based schools that link
together sequential credit-based modules to form a “term” for each student equal to a
certain number of credits, or credit-based schools with “rolling” term start and end dates
that may have the first fall semester running September 1 through December 15, the

second fall semester running September 15 through December 30, and so forth.

For these types of schools, the term start date used to determine the State Grant application
deadline will be the first calendar day of the student’s payment period or term. When the
Agency processes State Grant DDS batches for these schools, it will not be able to verify
the student’s FAFSA was received at the CPS by the application deadline because only
one term start and end date can be stored on the State Grant database for each school.
Therefore, these schools will need to monitor each student’s term start date on campus and

prevent State Grant awards from going to students who missed the application deadline.

If the student’s original FAFSA was received by the CPS after the application deadline for
a term, the student cannot receive a State Grant award for that term but may be eligible for
subsequent terms during that academic year. For example, if fall term started September 1
and the student’s original FAFSA receipt date at the CPS were October 15, the student
could not receive a State Grant for fall term but could be awarded for the subsequent terms

of that aid year.
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2. Correction Deadlines
The only State Grant application transaction that is subject to the application deadline is
the student’s original FAFSA for the aid year in question. If the student’s original FAFSA
was received by the deadline, the school may accept any subsequent correction transaction
until the school closes out its State Grant activity for the aid year, which it must do no later
than August 31. Therefore, schools are allowed to package and adjust the student’s State
Grant throughout the aid year, which may involve late or retroactive payment for a term,
as long as the original FAFSA was received by the application date. (See ‘Adjusting
Payments Due to Revised Award’ and ‘Late/Retroactive Disbursement’ sections for

further information.)

V. Eligibility Requirements

A. Postsecondary Institutions

At least annually, the Director of the Minnesota Office of Higher Education adopts a list of
schools at which a State Grant may be used. To be eligible, a postsecondary institution must:
e be located in Minnesota;

e offer at least one program that:

a) 1is vocational or academic in nature,

b) leads to a certificate or degree,

c) is at least eight weeks long, and

d) involves at least 12 academic credits or 300 clock hours;

e meet the definition of eligible institution contained in the ‘Common Definitions’ chapter
of this manual (for schools not participating in the Federal Pell Grant program, this
requires having all enrolled students sign the student disclosure statement (Appendix 23);

e have the necessary administrative computing capability to administer the program on
campus and electronically report student data records to the Agency; and

e provide to the Agency data on student enrollment and federal and state financial aid.

To be approved, the postsecondary institution must also:

e complete the on-line State Grant Budget Questionnaire;
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receive an on-site administrative overview from the supervisor of the Agency’s auditing
staff;

after the administrative review, be approved by the Agency’s Director;

once approved, sign an Institutional Participation Agreement which can be obtained from
the State Grant unit (Appendix 5);

attend a training session offered by the manager of the State Grant program; and

purchase or create the software necessary to calculate federal need analysis and Minnesota
State Grant awards on campus and electronically report student data records to the

Agency.

Schools are also encouraged to become members of the Minnesota Association of Financial

Aid Administrators (MAFAA) and subscribe to the MAFAA email listserv at www.mafaa.org.

If a school is approved after the beginning of the academic year, the school will be eligible to

disburse awards beginning with the term during which it obtained approval.

B. Student Eligibility

1.

Comprehensive List of Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for a State Grant, a student must:

e be a U.S. citizen or eligible non-citizen;

e be a Minnesota resident as defined in Minnesota Statutes 136A.101, Subd. §;

e Dbe an undergraduate student who has not received a baccalaureate degree;

e not have attended the equivalent of eight semesters of full-time postsecondary
education;

e be a graduate of a secondary school/GED recipient or be 17 years of age or older by
June 30 of the academic year (high school students enrolled in postsecondary courses
prior to receiving their high school diploma are not eligible for a State Grant);

e not owe the Agency for a State Grant overpayment;

e ot be in default on a student educational loan;
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not be more than 30 days in arrears for child support payments owed to a public child
support enforcement agency unless the student is complying with a written repayment
plan;

enroll at an eligible Minnesota postsecondary institution for at least three credits (or
six clock hours per week at clock hour institutions) while pursuing a program or
course of study that applies to a degree, diploma or certificate at any eligible
Minnesota postsecondary institution;

on the date of disbursement, be making satisfactory academic progress; and

not be receiving tuition reciprocity benefits from another state while attending a

Minnesota postsecondary institution.

Further Information on Selected Eligibility Requirements

a. U.S. Citizenship or Eligible Non-Citizen

The student applicant must be a U.S. citizen or eligible non-citizen. (See ‘Common
Definitions’ chapter for definition of “Eligible Non-Citizen.”) A school is expected to
rely on procedures in place for federal Title IV financial aid programs when
requesting documentation to verify a student is a U.S. citizen or eligible non-citizen,
even if the school does not participate in federal financial aid programs. Schools
should refer to the Student Eligibility chapter of the Federal Student Aid Handbook at

www.ifap.ed.gov for detailed instructions.

Minnesota Resident
A student must be a Minnesota resident to receive a State Grant. (See ‘Common

Definitions’ chapter for definition of “Resident Student.”)

Undergraduate Requirement

A student enrolled in an undergraduate program who has not earned a baccalaureate
degree is eligible for a Minnesota State Grant. A comparable four-year postsecondary
degree earned in another country, but not officially called a “baccalaureate” degree,

will be considered a baccalaureate degree for purposes of the State Grant program.
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A student enrolled in a graduate program who has not yet earned a baccalaureate
degree is not eligible for a State Grant, even if some of the student’s course work is at
the undergraduate level. A student enrolled in an undergraduate program is eligible for
a Minnesota State Grant, even if some of the student’s courses are at the graduate
level. The key to determining eligibility is whether the student is enrolled in an

undergraduate (eligible) or graduate (ineligible) program.

d. Limit on Postsecondary Attendance
(1) General
An applicant who does not have the equivalent of eight full-time semesters of
postsecondary attendance is eligible for a Minnesota State Grant. Attendance is
accumulated in units, with 96 units being the equivalent of eight semesters of

full-time attendance. Units are assigned as follows:

Units Chart — Course Work Prior to July 1, 1992

Term Enrollment Status Units Assigned — Qtr Units Assigned — Sem
Full-time (12+ credits) 8 12

3/4-time (9-11 credits) 6 9

1/2-time (6-8 credits) 4 6

(1-5 credits) Bank Credits Bank Credits
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Units Chart — Course Work After July 1, 1992
Credits Clock Hours Uniits for Quarter Units for
Per Term Per Week Semester
15+ 30+ 8 12
14 28-29 7.5 11.2
13 26-27 6.9 10.4
12 24-25 6.4 9.6
11 22-23 5.9 8.8
10 20-21 5.3 8.0
9 18-19 4.8 7.2
8 16-17 43 6.4
7 14-15 3.7 5.6
6 12-13 32 4.8
5 10-11 2.7 4.0
4 8-9 2.1 3.2
3 6-7 1.6 2.4
2 4-5 1.1 1.6
1 2-3 S .8

If the student’s total credits for a term is not a whole number (e.g., 14.5 credits),
the remaining percentage/fraction must be dropped (e.g., assign units based on 14
credits rather than 14.5). If a student has less than one credit per term, it would be

considered a term with zero credits.

A student loses eligibility once the student’s remaining units of eligibility are less
than those assigned for a Level 3 term (three credits) as shown on the ‘Course
Work After July 1, 1992’ chart. For example, if a student attending a quarter
institution had accumulated 95 units, the student would not be eligible because the
remaining units of eligibility (96 maximum units minus 95 accumulated

units = 1 remaining unit) are less than those assigned to a Level 3 quarter

(1.6 units). Therefore, a student with more than 94.4 units is no longer eligible for
a State Grant at a quarter system institution. A student with more than 93.6 units is

no longer eligible for a State Grant at a semester system institution.
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2

3)

Institutions that disburse aid on a quarter system may exceed the maximum of 96
units by disbursing up to one more full-time quarter of aid to a student who has
not accumulated more than 94.4 units. Institutions that disburse aid on a semester
system may exceed the maximum of 96 units by disbursing up to one more full-

time semester of aid to a student who has not accumulated more than 93.6 units.

Extra Term of Eligibility for Students Who Withdraw for Active Military Service

If a student had to withdraw from college for active military service after
December 31, 2002, course work taken during that term shall not count against the
limit on postsecondary education used for the State Grant program. The State
Grant Student Eligibility Questionnaire (Appendix 2) has been modified to
identify students who may have withdrawn for active military service. If schools
do not use this form, it is recommended that they incorporate language to solicit
such information into any institutional forms used to determine State Grant
eligibility and make arrangements for the school’s registrar or VA counselor to
notify the financial aid office about such withdrawals. The financial aid
administrator should request documentation from the student to verify the student
has withdrawn for active military service. Once the financial aid administrator
identifies such a student, the administrator should notify the grant unit at the
Office of Higher Education so the appropriate adjustments can be made to the
State Grant database. There is no restriction against this provision being used for

multiple occurrences.

Extra Term of Eligibility for Students Who Withdraw for Major Medical Illness

If a student had to withdraw from college for a major medical illness, while under
the care of a medical professional, that substantially limited the student’s ability to
complete the term, the current institution may exclude that term when determining
the amount of previous postsecondary attendance for that student. This exclusion
applies regardless of whether the withdrawal took place at the current or a
previous institution. The State Grant Student Eligibility Questionnaire

(Appendix 2) has been modified to identify students who may have withdrawn for

this reason. If schools do not use this form, it is recommended that they
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incorporate language to solicit such information into any institutional forms used
to determine State Grant eligibility and make arrangements for the school’s
registrar to notify the financial aid office about such withdrawals. The financial
aid administrator should request documentation from the student’s medical
professional verifying the student had to withdraw for a major medical illness that
substantially limited the student’s ability to complete the term. Once the financial
aid administrator identifies such a student, the administrator should notify the
grant unit at the Office of Higher Education so the appropriate adjustments can be
made to the State Grant database. There is no restriction against this provision

being used for multiple occurrences.

Instructions for Reviewing Academic Transcripts

Because the FAFSA does not contain data required to determine the amount of
postsecondary education the student has attempted, the school must have the
student complete the State Grant Student Eligibility Questionnaire (Appendix 2)
or a similar form designed by the school. If the institution chooses to include these
questions on its own form, it is recommended they be included on a financial aid
form since many students exclude previous postsecondary attendance on
admissions forms if they do not wish to transfer credit. If the documentation the
campus collects indicates the student may have attended three or more years of
postsecondary education, including attendance at the current institution, the

institution must request and evaluate the student’s academic transcripts.

When reviewing transcripts to determine a student’s units of postsecondary
attendance, a separate grade transcript must be obtained from each postsecondary
institution the student has attended. It is not sufficient to assign units based on a
listing of transfer credits appearing on another institution’s transcript because the
student may have completed course work that did not transfer to the current

institution. Either official transcripts or student copies are acceptable.
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When reviewing transcripts, units will be assigned differently depending on

whether the course work took place before or after July 1, 1992, as shown on the

preceding units charts.

When assigning units, all postsecondary education must be counted, including, but

not limited to:

course work taken during military service if it was taken at a postsecondary
institution (as opposed to training provided by the military);

course work taken at colleges in other states or countries;

independent study courses;

classes from which the student withdrew (except for active military duty after
December 31, 2002, or for a major medical illness), failed, received no credit,
repeated or earned an incomplete;

remedial course credit equivalencies allowed in determining enrollment status;
and

course work during terms for which State Grant awards were not available.

[Note: The school may opt to exclude course work from which the student

withdrew if it took place prior to July 1, 1995. However, if the student retained

State Grant aid during that term, the Agency will assign units of aid for that term.]

When assigning units, the following course work must be excluded:

course work completed at a Minnesota postsecondary institution which is not
participating in the Minnesota State Grant program and from which the
student transferred no credit (a list of all schools that have participated in the

State Grant program is available at www.ohe.state.mn.us, Campus Financial

Aid Administrator Resources, Minnesota State Grant Program
Administration);
course work from which the student withdrew after December 31, 2002, for

active military service;
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term from which the student withdrew for a major medical illness, while

under the care of a medical professional, that substantially limited the

student’s ability to complete the term;

e CLEP credits (classes the student “tested out” of without having to attend the
class);

e PSEO (Post-Secondary Enrollment Options) course work or other similar
programs that allow the student to take college course work while the student
is still in high school;

e course work or training assigned CEUs (continuing education units);

e programs under eight weeks in duration (e.g., nursing assistant program);

e course work not offered by postsecondary institutions (e.g., Red Cross first aid

training, Salvation Army on-the-job training, military training, etc.) even if it

is later granted credit by a postsecondary institution; and

e courses the student audited.

TRANSCRIPT REVIEW TOOLS

Schools may use either the Transcript Review Worksheet (Appendix 7) or
Transcript Review Spreadsheet to review transcripts and assign units. The
spreadsheet tool is available at www.ohe.state.mn.us, Campus Financial Aid
Administrator Resources, Program Forms, Spreadsheets and Instructions. The
spreadsheet is designed to automatically assign units based on the attempted
credits entered into the spreadsheet for each term. The second page of the
spreadsheet will determine units for clock hour course work if the user enters total

clock hours and total number of weeks in the period of enrollment.

ASSIGNING UNITS TO PRE-JULY 1, 1992 COURSE WORK

Assign units to each term in which the student was enrolled on a half-time or more
basis according to the pre-July 1, 1992 units chart or transcript review worksheet
(Appendix 7). Place all credits from terms that were less than half-time (less than six
credits) in a separate quarter or semester “bank,” depending on the system used by

that school. Translate banked credits into units according to the instructions on the
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worksheet. The transcript review spreadsheet will automatically assign units for
credits entered on the spreadsheet. It can be downloaded from www.ohe.state.mn.us,

Financial Aid Administrator Resources, Forms for Financial Aid Administrators.

ASSIGNING UNITS TO POST-JULY 1, 1992 COURSE WORK

Assign units to each term based on the exact number of credits as shown on the
post-July 1, 1992 units chart or the transcript review worksheet (Appendix 7).
Units should be assigned to less than half-time terms instead of banking credits.
The transcript review spreadsheet will automatically assign units for credits
entered on the spreadsheet. It can be downloaded from www.ohe.state.mn.us,
Campus Financial Aid Administrator Resources, Program Forms, Spreadsheets &

Instructions.

ASSIGNING UNITS FOR SUMMER 1992 TERMS

If the student was paid a State Grant for summer term 1992, assign units based on
the units chart in effect for the academic year from which the funding originated.
If the school cannot determine if the student was paid a State Grant for summer
term 1992, units should be assigned based on the units chart in effect for the
academic year in which the term started. In other words, if the summer term
started before July 1, 1992, assign units based on the pre-July 1, 1992 units chart.
If the term started on or after July 1, 1992, assign units based on the post-July 1,
1992 units chart.

ASSIGNING UNITS WHEN STUDENT ATTENDED
MULTIPLE SCHOOLS FOR SAME TERM

If a student attends multiple schools for the same term, the credits appearing on all
transcripts should be combined prior to assigning units. For example, if a student
took eight semester credits at one school and 10 semester credits at another, the
credits would be combined for a total of 18 credits and assigned 12 units for a full-
time semester of 15 or more credits. In cases where the student attends both

quarter and semester schools, credits should be converted prior to assigning units.
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Semester credits should be multiplied by 1.5 to convert to quarter credits. Quarter

credits should be multiplied by .667 to arrive at semester credits.

CREDIT CONVERSIONS FOR PRE-1998-99 MNSCU COURSE WORK

If a school is reviewing a transcript from a MnSCU school (public two-year
college or state university) and quarter credits earned for course work completed
prior to the 1998-99 academic year have been converted by MnSCU into semester
credits, those semester credits must be converted back to quarter credits (in other
words, multiplied by 1.5) before the transcript is reviewed for state aid program

eligibility.

ASSIGNING UNITS FOR INTERIM TERMS

When reviewing transcripts to determine the amount of postsecondary education a

student has completed, interim terms should be treated as follows:

e [fthe student attended an interim term and one or more semesters during the
same academic year, the interim term should not be counted as a separate
term. Rather, interim term credits should be distributed to the other
semester(s) in a manner that would equalize enrollment status for both
semesters. Once both semesters have enough credits to be considered full
time, distributing additional interim credits to either semester will have no
effect on the units assigned to each semester.

e [fthe total number of interim credits is not an even number, distribute only
whole credits to the other two semesters rather than dividing an uneven
number by two.

e [fastudent attended only one semester plus an interim term during the same
academic year, all of the interim term credits should be distributed to the one
semester.

e If the student only attended an interim term during an academic year, the

interim term must be treated as a separate term.
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ASSIGNING UNITS WHEN NO CREDITS LISTED FOR GRADE OF W OR F

Certain colleges do not list attempted credits on academic transcripts when a
student receives a grade of W or F for the course, or when the course is a remedial
course. In such cases, the financial aid administrator must use an assumed value of
four credits for these types of courses without having to contact the previous
college. If the student wants to appeal that assumption, the student can produce
additional documentation to verify the number of actual attempted credits. This
assumption should only be applied in the rare instances when no attempted credits
appear for certain classes on another college's transcript. Financial aid
administrators will still be expected to look up actual attempted credits for classes

taken at their own institution.

INABILITY TO DECIPHER TRANSCRIPT

If a transcript lacks information needed to accurately determine the amount of
postsecondary education attempted (course work not shown by term, no start or
end dates, no credits or clock hours associated with classes, etc.), the financial aid
administrator should make a good faith effort to assign units of postsecondary
education. Such cases shall be taken into consideration during audits provided the

school documents how the result was determined.

INABILITY TO OBTAIN TRANSCRIPTS

Prior to July 1, 2010, cosmetology schools in Minnesota were only required to
keep records for five years. If academic transcripts from any type of school are not
available (closed school, no records maintained, natural disaster, civil war, etc.),
the school may accept a written, signed statement from the student in which the
student reconstructs his/her postsecondary period of enrollment and enrollment
level. Such a statement cannot be used in lieu of transcripts in cases where the
transcript cannot be released due to non-payment of institutional charges.

However, student copies of transcripts are acceptable.



NUMBER PAGE
FINANCIAL AID MANUAL Section I 20
SECTION DATE
State Grant Program July 2011

PROGRESSIVE CLOCK HOUR TRANSCRIPTS

If a transcript from a clock hour school does not separate course work into
enrollment periods, the school should first determine the number of weeks in the
student’s period of enrollment. Assume continuous enrollment without breaks
unless the student states otherwise. In rare cases, total clock hours may not appear
on a cosmetology transcript. If the student has obtained a license in any of these
fields, assume these hours: Cosmetology = 1,550 hours; Barbering = 1,500 hours;

Esthiology = 600 hours; Manicuring = 350 hours.

Determine the student’s enrollment status by dividing the total number of clock
hours completed by the number of weeks in the enrollment period. Once average
hours per week are known, assumed enrollment status for the entire enrollment

period will be based on the following chart:

Enrollment Status at Clock Hour School
Average Clock Hours Course Work Taken Course Work Taken
Per Week Pre-July 1, 1992 Post-July 1, 1992

30+ Full-time Level 15
28-29 Full-time Level 14
26-27 Full-time Level 13
24-25 Full-time Level 12
22-23 3/4-time Level 11
20-21 3/4-time Level 10
18-19 3/4-time Level 9
16-17 Half-time Level 8
14-15 Half-time Level 7
12-13 Half-time Level 6
10-11 N/A Level 5

8-9 N/A Level 4

6-7 N/A Level 3
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Determine the approximate number of quarters that could have taken place within
the enrollment period by dividing the total number of weeks in the enrollment

period by 12.

Determine the total units of postsecondary education by applying enrollment
status to the number of quarters in the enrollment period and referring to the units
charts in this section or Appendix 7. The second page within the OHE Transcript
Review Spreadsheet is designed to calculate units if a user enters total clock hours

and total weeks enrolled.

Example of Units for Clock Hour Attendance

Period of Enrollment was 9/1/89 to 8/26/90 = 51 weeks

Total Hours Completed = 1550

Average Hours per Week = 1550/51 =30

Assumed Enrollment Status = Full-time (Level 15)

Number of Quarters in Enrollment Period = 51/12 = 4.25
Number of PSE Units = 4.25 FT quarters x 8 units = 34 units

e. State Grant Overpayment

A student is not eligible to receive a State Grant if the student owes the school or the
Agency for a State Grant overpayment. A student is considered to have received an
overpayment if the student’s total payments exceeded the allowable State Grant award
or if the school or the Agency learned the student did not meet one of the program

eligibility requirements after the student received a State Grant payment.

The student will become eligible retroactive to the beginning of the current academic
year if the student repays the overpayment or maintains a pattern of monthly payments
to repay the obligation. The student also has the option of repaying an overpayment
from a previous academic year with part or all of the award for the current academic
year if the student makes such arrangements with the school or the Agency’s Financial

Services section.
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Student Loan Default

If a student is considered to be in default on any federal student loan or state SELF
Loan, the student is not eligible to receive a State Grant as of the date the school (in
the case of federal student loans) or the Agency (in the case of SELF loans) was
notified of the default. For example, if the student received a fall term State Grant
payment and, following disbursement, defaulted on a student loan, the student would
not lose eligibility for fall term, but would lose eligibility for subsequent terms. The
student will be considered eligible for a State Grant retroactive to the beginning of the
current academic year if the student produces documentation from the guarantor,
lender or servicer that the loan has been paid in full or otherwise satisfied (i.e., meets

criteria for reinstatement of federal or state financial aid eligibility).

The school must rely upon the student’s SAR or ISIR, or the federal NSLDS system to
determine if the student has defaulted on a federal student loan. In the case of the state
SELF Loan, schools are notified of a student’s default status on the State Grant On-

Line Hold Report (see ‘State Grant On-Line Hold Report’ section in this chapter).

g. Child Support Arrears

Effective January 1, 1992, a student is not eligible to receive a State Grant if the
student is more than 30 days in arrears for child support payments owed a public child
support enforcement agency unless a student is complying with a written payment
agreement or order for arrearages. The State Department of Human Services will run a
child support arrears interface on a weekly basis against the State Grant database. A
student’s State Grant record will be marked with a hold if the student appears in the
interface file. The student will lose eligibility for future State Grant payments as of the

date the Office of Higher Education is notified of the delinquency.

Schools will be notified of students placed on or released from child support holds on
the State Grant On-Line Hold Report (Appendix 3) via automated emails. Schools that
do not participate in federal aid programs will need to check student eligibility using

the State Grant web access screen (Appendix 4). Schools should prevent future State
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Grant payments to these students and, in some cases, may be liable for previous
payments made to these students (refer to ‘Responsibility for Monitoring Eligibility

Requirements’ section of this chapter).

To regain eligibility for a State Grant, the student must contact the county child
support enforcement office and make the necessary arrangements for the worker to
release the hold on the Department of Human Service’s child support database. Once a
student is no longer in arrears for child support payments or is complying with a
written repayment agreement or order for arrearages, the student is eligible to receive
a State Grant retroactive to the beginning of the current academic year. The hold will
be removed from the student’s State Grant record once the student shows up as

released on the Department of Human Service’s interface file.

h. Enrollment Status at Eligible Institution

(1) General
To receive consideration for a State Grant, a student must be enrolled at an
eligible Minnesota postsecondary institution for at least three credits per term (or
six clock hours per week at clock hour institutions) in a program or course of

study that applies to a degree, diploma or certificate.

Schools that disburse aid under the progressive clock hour system must base their
enrollment level definitions on the average number of hours completed by the
student each week. (See also ‘Determining Enrollment Status Throughout the
Academic Year at Progressive Clock Hour Schools’ in the Disbursement section
of this manual for further guidance.) Schools that disburse aid under the
term-based system must base their enrollment level definitions on the number of
credits per term. This includes non-term based schools that combine sequential
course products into a term, whereby the student’s enrollment level is based on

credits for all courses combined into one term.
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The number of credits per term or average clock hours per week used for the

various enrollment levels for the State Grant program are as follows:

State Grant Enrollment Levels

Credits Per Term Average Clock Hours Per Week Enroliment Level

15+ 30+ Level 15 (full-time)
14 28-29 Level 14
13 26-27 Level 13
12 24-25 Level 12
11 22-23 Level 11
10 20-21 Level 10
9 18-19 Level 9
8 16-17 Level 8
7 14-15 Level 7
6 12-13 Level 6
5 10-11 Level 5
4 8-9 Level 4
3 6-7 Level 3

If the number of credits per term is not a whole number (e.g., 7.5 credits), the
remaining fraction or percentage must be dropped before determining enrollment
status. A student enrolled for 7.5 credits would be assigned an enrollment level
based on seven credits (Level 7). The same applies to clock hour schools. If a
student’s average clock hours per week are 13.33, assign an enrollment level

based on 13 hours (Level 6).

If a student drops or adds credits during a term in which the State Grant award
has already been disbursed, the State Grant may have to be adjusted. For
additional information, please refer to ‘Adjustments to Award Based on Changes
in Enrollment Level” under the ‘Award Process and Formula’ section of this

manual.
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2

Each institution must have written definitions of a “payment period” or “term.”
The enrollment level used for the State Grant program must meet the

requirements shown on the preceding chart.

Certain schools (e.g., radiology programs) only offer a full-time program and
require all students to enroll on a full-time basis. The Agency does not require
the school to allow students to enroll on a less than full-time basis. However, the
school must use the state definition of full-time for administration of the State

Grant program.

Enrollment Level at Non Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools

Non term-based credit-hour schools link sequential course modules together to
form a term and determine enrollment level. For example, a school might define

its semester as 12 credits based on combining four 3-credit sequential classes.

3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits

There is no requirement that all classes within such terms must be sequential. In
the following example, a school defines its semester as 15 credits based on five

3-credit classes, with two classes taken simultaneously at the onset of the term.

3 Credits

3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits

If a student fails a class or classes and continues in the same program, the student
will not be able to advance to the next term under all the credits required for the
first term are successfully completed. Thus, the term would be extended to
include the credits for the additional class or classes. If the school charges for the
additional class(es), the student’s award for the extended term would be also be
adjusted for the new enrollment level. Otherwise, the original term award would

not be adjusted.
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For example, if the student fails the third course module, the term would be
extended to include an additional three credits before the student could advance
to the next term. If the school charges for the additional class, the student’s award
would be adjusted from Level 12 to Level 15. If the school doesn’t charge for the

additional class, the State Grant award would remain at Level 12.

3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits
Class 1 Class 2 Class 3 Repeat Class 3 | Class 4
Grade =B Grade=C Grade =F

Likewise, if a student withdraws from school during a term, but reenters the same
program, the student cannot advance to the next term until all the course modules
for the term during which the student withdrew are completed. If the student
reenters within the same aid year, any refunds for recalculations and withdrawals
during that term can be reversed, provided the student still meets all the program
eligibility requirements. However, if the student reenters during the subsequent
aid year, refunds during the previous aid year cannot be reversed. Further, the
student’s enrollment level for that term in the subsequent aid year will be based

solely on the credits for the remaining classes of the original term.

For example, the student’s semester consists of four 3-credit classes for a total of
12 credits. The student is paid a Level 12 State Grant at the onset of the term.
The student withdraws during the third class, the award is recalculated from
Level 12 to Level 9 and a withdrawal refund calculation is performed for the
Level 9 State Grant. If the student reenters the same program within the same aid
year, both the recalculation and withdrawal refund amounts can be reversed since
the student is continuing in the same term. Because the student will need to
complete 12 credits to advance to the next term, the current term can be extended
and enrollment level can be increased to account for both the withdrawn class
and the remaining six credits in the term. The student’s enrollment level would
increase from Level 12 to Level 15. If the school charges for the additional
course module, the State Grant award can be adjusted from Level 12 to Level 15.

Otherwise, the student’s State Grant award would be based on Level 12.
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3)

If the student withdraws during a term but reenters in the subsequent aid year,
any refunds for recalculations or withdrawals for the previous aid year cannot be
reversed. The student’s enrollment level in the subsequent aid year would be
determined by the credits remaining in the original term. In the case cited in the
preceding paragraph, the student completed six credits and withdrew from three
credits in the previous aid year and would have six credits to complete in the
subsequent aid year prior to advancing to the next semester. Therefore, the
student could receive a Level 6 State Grant payment for the term in the
subsequent aid year, provided the student was charged for both classes in the
subsequent aid year. Otherwise, credits for which the student was not charged

would not be included in the student’s enrollment level.

Aid Year One (Enrollment level recalculated from Level 12 to Level 9 and

withdrawal refund calculated for Level 9) l
3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits
Class 1 Class 2 Class 3 Class 4
(withdrawal) (never started)

Aid Year Two (Enrollment level based on 6 credits remaining in original term,
assuming student charged for both classes)

3 Credits 3 Credits
Class 3 Class 4
repeat

In no instance can a school disburse a State Grant retroactively for a term during
which the student withdrew from school (see also ‘Late/Retroactive
Disbursement’ section in this manual) or classes from which the student

withdrew.

Clock-Hour/Credit-Hour Conversion

The school must use a clock-hour to credit-hour conversion formula to determine

the student’s enrollment unless the student’s program:
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e is at least two academic years in length and provides an associate, bachelor’s
or professional degree; or

e cach course from the program is acceptable for full-credit towards a degree
program offered by the institution and the institution can demonstrate

students enroll in and graduate from that degree program.
Public and private non-profit schools of nursing are exempt from this
requirement. (See ‘Credit Hour’ definition in the Common Definitions chapter of

this manual for further information.)

Pursuing Degree, Diploma or Certificate

In order to be eligible for a State Grant, a student must be enrolled in a program
leading to a degree, diploma or certificate that is at least eight weeks long and

consists of a minimum of 12 credits or 300 clock hours.

There is no requirement that a student must be pursuing a degree, diploma or
certificate at the institution awarding the State Grant as long as the student is
accepted into a degree, diploma or certificate program at any Minnesota
institution eligible to participate in the State Grant program. No consortium
agreement is required in these cases. (See exception under ‘Awarding State Grant

Beyond Associate Degree or Maximum Time Frame at Two-Year College.”)

If the student is taking course work at an ineligible school (foreign school, school

located outside Minnesota), the student can only receive a State Grant if the

student is pursuing a degree, diploma or certificate at an eligible Minnesota

school and:

e the student registers and pays for the course work through an eligible
Minnesota school; or

o the student registers and pays for the course work through an ineligible
school that has a consortium agreement with the eligible Minnesota school

administering the State Grant program.
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(5) Excluded Course Work

(6)

(7

®)

Transfer credits earned during a previous term at another institution, courses that
the student audited, credits awarded from placement or CLEP tests, or non-
remedial credits that will not be applied towards the student’s credential may not
be counted towards enrollment status. However, the school may opt to have a

policy that includes credits for repeated classes in the student’s enrollment level.

High school students enrolled in postsecondary classes prior to receiving a high

school diploma are not eligible for a State Grant.

State Grant Versus Pell Grant Enrollment Level

In certain instances, the student’s enrollment level used for the State Grant
program may differ from the student’s federal Pell Grant enrollment level. In
such cases, the Pell Grant subtracted in the State Grant award calculation is based

on what the Pell Grant would be for the student’s State Grant enrollment level.

A chart comparing State Grant and Pell Grant enrollment levels is provided in the

‘Pell Grant’ section under ‘Shared Responsibility Formula’ in this chapter.

Remedial Course Work

Credits or credit equivalencies assigned for remedial course work may be
counted towards the student’s enrollment level if the student has been accepted
into a degree, diploma or certificate program and takes remedial course work
within that program. A school cannot count non-credit remedial hours in a
student’s enrollment status if the course is part of a program that leads to a high
school diploma or GED. There is no limit on the total amount of remedial credits

that can be used to determine the student’s enrollment level.

Awarding State Grant Beyond Associate Degree or
Maximum Time Frame at Two-Year College

A student is eligible for a State Grant at a two-year college after earning an

associate’s degree if the student’s course work is required for admission to a
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©)

four-year degree program at another college or the student is already admitted to
the four-year degree program and the course work will be applied to that
program. This provision applies even if the student has exceeded the maximum
time frame for satisfactory academic progress at the two-year college, since
course work transferred to the four-year college will count against the maximum
time frame for satisfactory academic progress at the four-year college. In
instances where the student has already been accepted into a four-year degree
program, the State Grant may be awarded by the two-year college or the four-
year college if it is an institution eligible to participate in the State Grant
program. If the eligible four-year college acts as the “home” institution, the
amount of State Grant awarded must be based on the cost of tuition and fees at
the institution the student is actually attending (see Example 8 in Appendix 9 for
example award calculation). In instances where the student is not yet admitted
into the four-year degree program or the four-year college is not eligible to
participate in the State Grant program, only the eligible two-year college may

award the student a State Grant.

Whichever college awards the State Grant for this type of course work must have
documentation from the student that verifies the course work taken at the two-
year college is required for entry into or will be applied to a four-year degree
program at the four-year college. Such documentation should include a copy of
the catalog or course schedule from the four-year college specifying pre-requisite
or required course work needed for the four-year degree program and a statement
of intent from the student that the course work is being taken for this purpose.
State Grant awards for this type of course work are limited to no more than 30

semester or 45 quarter credits.

Attending Multiple Schools for Same Term

A student attending two or more eligible schools for the same term can either:
e receive a separate State Grant at each school for up to a total of 15 credits

based on the tuition and fees charged at each school; or
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e receive a State Grant at one school based on the cost for the combined credits

from all schools attended.

If the student receives a separate State Grant at each school attended, the award
at each school would be based on the tuition and fees for the credits attended at
that school. However, the student cannot be awarded for more than a total of 15
credits in any term. The school that reports a payment to the Agency which
causes the 15 credit limit to be exceeded will have its payment rejected and will
need to recalculate the award to a lower enrollment level. (See Example 7 in

Appendix 9.)

For example, if School A reports a fall semester payment to the Agency for eight
credits and School B reports a fall semester payment for nine credits, for a total
of 17 credits, School B’s payment will be rejected until School B recalculates the
award based on the cost for seven credits and reports the new award to the

Agency.

The other option for a student attending multiple eligible schools for the same
term is to have one school act as the “home school” and calculate the State Grant
term award based on the cost for up to 15 credits attended at all schools. The
dollar amount of total tuition and fees cannot exceed the tuition and fee

maximum at the “home school” for the student’s enrollment level.

The “home school” must develop a procedure that allows the school to verify the
student’s attendance at all schools attended for the term. If the “home school”
determines that the student withdrew or changed enrollment level or tuition and
fee charges at the other schools, the “home school” must adjust the State Grant

award accordingly.

For further information about the tuition and fees used to calculate the State

Grant award for a student enrolled at multiple schools for the same term, see
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‘Tuition, Fees and LME Used for Students Attending Multiple Schools for Same
Term’ under the ‘Shared Responsibility Term Award Calculation’ section of this

chapter. (See also Example 8 in Appendix 9.)

(10) Use of Interim Term Credits

Schools using a 4-1-4 calendar may use student credits attended during the
interim term in determining the student’s enrollment status for State Grants. The
credits attended during interim may be counted as part of the fall semester or the
spring semester or may be divided between the two terms. Schools may adopt
any reasonable method for allocating interim credits and determining the
appropriate enrollment status for fall and spring semesters. Schools will be liable
for any resulting State Grant overpayments if a student does not attend the
interim term after a State Grant disbursement was made for an enrollment status

that included interim term credits.

Any State Grant overpayments must be repaid within 30 days of the starting

date of the interim period.

Example:

Jane registers for 13 credits in the fall semester, three credits for the interim term
and 14 credits for the spring semester. The school may count two of the interim
credits toward the fall term enrollment status, making the student eligible for a
Level 15 State Grant. The school may then count the remaining one credit as part
of the spring semester enrollment status. If the student fails to attend the interim
term, the school must retroactively recalculate the fall semester State Grant amount
to a Level 13 term award and return any overpayment to the State Grant program.
Prior to spring term disbursement, the school must also recalculate the spring award
from Level 15 to Level 14.

(11) For Non-Standard Terms

A student’s term enrollment status does not have be adjusted if the term is shorter
than the standard length of 10 weeks per quarter or 15 weeks per semester. To
determine the award, refer to the ‘Awards for Summer or Non-Standard Terms’

section of this chapter.
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i. Satisfactory Academic Progress
To be eligible for a State Grant, the student must be making satisfactory academic
progress as described in the ‘Common Definitions’ section of this manual. (See also
‘Awarding State Grant Beyond Associate Degree or Maximum Time Frame at Two-

Year College’ in this chapter.)

j.  Tuition Reciprocity Restriction

A student may not receive a State Grant if the student is receiving tuition reciprocity

benefits from another state to attend a Minnesota postsecondary institution.

3. State Grant On-Line Hold Report

The State Grant On-Line Hold Report (Appendix 3) is generated by the Agency and
provides information to schools about student eligibility problems. The State Grant on-line
hold database is updated each night when the Agency downloads Institutional Student
Information Records (ISIR) to the State Grant database. Schools will be notified via email
if any student data was added or updated on the State Grant on-line hold database for their
campus. The email will contain a link to the screen schools can use to view the data and

print a hold report on campus.

The State Grant on-line hold database will only contain data about child support arrears
holds, SELF loan default holds, and students whose units of State Grant paid through the
current aid year exceed three full-time academic years (> 72 units). The units appearing on
the on-line hold database only represent units of State Grant PAID to the student and do
not eliminate the school’s responsibility for reviewing student academic transcripts to
determine the amount of postsecondary education the student has ATTENDED to date.
The Agency will load ISIR records to the State Grant database each night from the federal
financial aid application system. Between January and July, the Agency will download
ISIRs for two consecutive aid years. After July, the Agency will only download ISIRs for

the current aid year.
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The Agency will store the college codes from the student’s three most recent ISIR records
for the aid year on the State Grant database as well as the college’s position (college
choice one through ten) on the ISIR. If a school’s code appears in any location on the three
most recent ISIRs for the student or if the school has already reported a State Grant DDS
record for the student to the Agency for the current aid year, the school will be notified of

any holds for that student on the State Grant database.

If the school has not yet submitted a DDS record for the student for the aid year, the
‘DDS/ISIR rank’ column on the report will reflect on which ISIR record the college code
was listed and the position, with the first digit of the code representing which of the three
most recent ISIRs contains the college code and the second digit representing the college
choice position:

14 = most recent ISIR, 4th position

23 = 2nd most recent ISIR, 3rd position

31 = 3rd most recent ISIR, 1st position

If the school has submitted a DDS record for the student for the aid year, a code of ‘DDS’
will appear in the ‘DDS/ISIR rank’ column and ISIR rank data will not be displayed.

The ‘DDS/ISIR rank’ column was designed to help schools prioritize students. Schools
may wish to spend more time reviewing hold data for students with a ‘DDS’ code in this
column since those students are presumably attending the current institution. With respect
to ISIR rank codes, the higher the value the less likelihood there is the student will

actually attend the institution.

The school’s designated State Grant contact will be notified via an automated email when

any of the student hold data changes for that school. The email will contain a link to the

State Grant on-line hold report. Email notification will occur in the following instances:

e ISIR or DDS record loaded to State Grant database for a student who has a hold
problem and has not yet had hold information written to the State Grant on-line hold

database for that school; or
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¢ hold information changes after hold information has already been written to the State
Grant on-line hold database for that school (e.g., hold is released) regardless of whether

or not a new ISIR or DDS record has been received.

It will be the school’s responsibility to notify the Agency’s grant unit about any

changes to the email address for the designated State Grant contact at the school.

The school can access the State Grant On-Line Hold Report by logging into the State
Grant web access screen. Once logged into the screen, the school can choose to access
individual student data (State Grant Student Web Access Screen) or the hold report (State
Grant On-Line Hold Report). The same username and password is used for both features.
If a school forgets its password, the school should contact the Agency’s grant unit for

assistance.

Once the school is logged onto the State Grant On-Line Hold Report, the school will
choose the date range for the hold report. The default date range will be the first date the
on-line hold database was created for the current aid year through the current date,
producing a comprehensive cumulative report for the year. If the school would like to
produce a report for a narrower date range, the school can adjust the dates accordingly.
When the on-line hold report is first operational, schools will want to select a report using
the default date range. After that point, schools may want to choose shorter date intervals

and review only the most recent information loaded to the on-line hold database.

After the date range is selected, a hold report will be generated displaying all hold data
updated during that period. The default sort option produces an alphabetical report by
student last name. A school has the option of changing the sort option to SSN, Aid Year,
DDS/ISIR rank or Last Transaction date by clicking on those column headings. If a school
would like to sort by any other field appearing on the report, the data can be copied from
the on-line report and pasted into any spreadsheet software for sorting. Once the data is
sorted by the chosen field, the school can print the entire report or select a portion of the

report and print that selection. Schools should print using landscape option for all fields to
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appear on one page. If printed directly from the on-line report, headers will only appear on
the first page. However, schools can copy the data to spreadsheet software, which allows

headers on every page.

Because the State Grant On-Line Hold Report is generated from a cumulative on-line hold
database, there will be no need for schools to maintain paper printouts of the report
throughout the aid year since the data will be available on-line. Once a student appears in

the on-line hold database, the student’s record will remain on the report.

Many fields appearing on the report will have a ‘help’ pop-up box schools can access for a
description of that field. It is important to note the distinction between the hold start date
and the hold notification date appearing on the report. The hold start date is the date the
student becomes ineligible. The notification date is the date the hold data was first written
to the on-line hold database. For example, a student could have been placed on a child
support hold in January 2003 (hold start date) but the hold would not be written to the on-
line hold database until the first ISIR or DDS record was received for the current aid year
(notification date). In such cases, the school must collect all State Grant payments made
after the hold start date from the student, but the school is not liable for repaying the first
term payment made after the hold start date from its own funds if it was made before the

hold notification date.

The hold start date and hold end date will continue to appear on the report regardless of
the student’s hold status and will represent the most recent date the student was placed on
or released from a hold. The hold notification date will always represent the date the

student’s most recent hold was written to the on-line hold database.

Units appearing in the ‘Units’ column represent units of State Grant paid to the student up
through the current aid year, including the current school. Though the units appearing on
the on-line report may change throughout the aid year, the school will only be notified via
an automated email when the units exceed or fall below 72 units, which is the equivalent

of three full-time academic years. If a school wants to view more detailed units
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information for a particular student (units by aid year and campus), the school can click on
the student’s name and toggle to the State Grant student web access screen and then hit the

‘Back’ key to go back to the hold report.

It will be common for a student to appear twice on the on-line hold report if the State
Grant database has a DDS or ISIR record for the student for both consecutive aid years. In
most cases, the hold data appearing for the student will be identical for both years but the

amount of units appearing in the ‘Units’ column may differ by aid year.

If schools would like additional instructions on how to access the State Grant On-Line
Hold Report, they can access an audio/video tutorial developed by the Agency at

www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pagelD=346 or contact the grant unit for assistance.

Use of State Grant Web Access Screen to Determine Hold Status

The State Grant web access screen allows schools access to student hold data on the State
Grant database. The hold data is current as of the time the school is accessing the student’s
record. Therefore, schools will be able to check hold data on students prior to making a

State Grant disbursement.

Schools can access the State Grant web access screen at

https://www.ohe.state.mn.us/SSL/SG/index.cfm.

Each school participating in the State Grant program will be assigned a username and
password to gain access to the State Grant web access screen. To log on to the screen, the
user would enter the school’s six-digit FAFSA school code for the username on the
screen. If the school is not participating in federal financial aid programs, the school
would use the six-digit code assigned by the Agency’s grant unit. The user would then
enter the school’s password. If the school has misplaced its password, the user should

contact the Agency’s grant unit for assistance.
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The security system for the State Grant web access screen will only allow a school to
access a student’s record if that school is listed on the student’s ISIR for the current aid
year. If the school’s code is NOT listed on the student’s ISIR for the current aid year, the
following message will appear:
“SCHOOL NOT LISTED ON CURRENT YEAR ISIR - CANNOT ACCESS
STUDENT RECORD”

If the Agency does not have the student’s ISIR record on file for the current aid year, the
school will receive the following error message:

“NO CURRENT YEAR RECORD ON FILE FOR STUDENT”

If the school passes the school code clearance and accesses a student’s record, information
about any existing holds, past history of State Grant units paid (broken out by aid year and
college), and the enrollment status and accepted payments for the current aid year will be
displayed on the screen. (A sample copy of the State Grant web access screen is provided

as Appendix 4).

At the top of the screen, the user will see the date of inquiry and the student’s name and

social security number.

The top section of the screen will display any holds currently on the student’s file. If a
student has a SELF default or child support hold, the date the hold was placed on the
student’s file (that is, the date eligibility was lost) is also displayed. Otherwise, just a
description of the hold code is displayed. Holds appearing on this report are controlled by
the Agency and require consultation with the grant unit staff if the school believes the data
is incorrect. If no holds appear, it means there are currently no holds on the student’s

record.

The middle section of the screen shows units of State Grant aid paid to the student during
previous aid years broken out by aid year and school. The user may encounter the

following message under the School Name column: “School Name Not Found. Please
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Contact the Grant Unit.” This means the school code on the student’s history record didn’t
translate into a school name. Schools should contact the grant unit for assistance in

determining the school name.

Historical records for the State Grant system contain information about units of State
Grant aid PAID to the student during previous aid years as opposed to the units of
postsecondary education attendance the student has attempted. Schools are still expected
to request and review academic transcripts from students to determine the amount of
postsecondary education the student has attended. However, the State Grant web access
screen may be a helpful tool for solving discrepancies, particularly for cases when the
Agency’s units of State Grant paid to the student are greater than the units of
postsecondary education attended derived from the school’s review of academic

transcripts.

The bottom section of the screen shows enrollment and accepted payment information at
any school that has reported in a DDS record for the student for the current aid year,

including the school accessing the record.

Schools may wish to print and save a copy of the student’s State Grant web access screen

to document the student’s eligibility at a certain point in time for auditing purposes.

Liability for Monitoring Eligibility Requirements

Because the FAFSA does not always contain information needed to verify state residency
and the amount of previous postsecondary attendance, the institution must collect
supplemental data to determine if the student meets these eligibility requirements unless
information supplied on the FAFSA is sufficient or the student has previously completed
the State Grant Student Eligibility Questionnaire (or the school’s proxy) and no
subsequent information contradicts the student’s continued eligibility (see also ‘Student

Eligibility Questionnaire’ section under ‘Original Application’ section of this chapter).
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If the institution’s form indicates there is reason to believe the student completed three or
more full-time academic years of postsecondary education, the institution must request
and evaluate the student’s academic transcript(s) according to the ‘Limit on Postsecondary

Attendance’ section of this chapter.

If funds are withheld either by the school or the Agency because the student owes a State
Grant overpayment, is in default on a student loan or is more than 30 days in arrears for
child support payments, once the obligation is repaid or otherwise satisfied, the student
will be eligible to receive the State Grant retroactive to the beginning of the academic

year.

If the school had documentation on campus that the student did not meet an eligibility
requirement and the school disbursed the State Grant award to the student, the school will
be responsible for reimbursing the State Grant program from its own funds if it cannot

collect the overpayment from the student.

If a school fails to run an eligibility check (child support, past overpayment, four years of
aid, SELF default) against the State Grant database prior to disbursing State Grant funds to
a student, the school will be liable for repaying rejected payments from its own funds if it
cannot collect the overpayment from the student, with the exception of the initial term
payment which can be turned over to the Agency as an accounts receivable at the end of

the aid year, after making diligent efforts to bill the student.

Monitoring Program Eligibility Requirements During the School Year

All schools are responsible for establishing a procedure to inform the financial aid office
of all changes in a student’s status that may affect the student’s eligibility for a State Grant
during an academic term. One means of ensuring this is to have the registrar’s office (or its
counterpart) routinely inform the financial aid office when any student changes enrollment
status, ceases to be making satisfactory academic progress, withdraws from school,

produces additional academic transcripts, etc. The Agency strongly recommends that all
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students be required to contact the financial aid office when dropping to less than full-time

status or withdrawing from school.

VI. Award Process and Formula

A. Shared Responsibility Formula

The State Grant is calculated using the Shared Responsibility Formula (see Appendix 8) which
assigns responsibility for college costs to the student, family and government. A detailed

description of its components follows.

1. State Grant Budget

The budget used in the Shared Responsibility term award calculation consists of:

e auniform nine-month living and miscellaneous expense allowance (LME) set by the
Legislature each academic year prorated for term length and then for enrollment level;
and

e the lesser of:

- the school’s annual full-time (30 semester credits or 45 quarter credits) average
tuition and mandatory fees prorated for term length and then for enrollment level,
or

- the annual nine-month tuition and fee maximum set by the Legislature prorated

for term length and then for enrollment level.

a. Living and Miscellaneous Expense Allowance (LME)
A uniform nine-month annual LME is set by the Legislature for each academic year
which represents costs for books, transportation and other living expenses. When
calculating the Shared Responsibility term award calculation, the LME is first
adjusted for term length by multiplying by .50 for a semester (or a clock hour school
with an academic year divided into two payment periods) and by .3333 for a quarter
(or a clock hour school with an academic year divided into three payment periods) and
rounding the result. If the student is enrolled for fewer than 15 credits, the term LME
is then reduced by multiplying the term LME by the number of credits for which the

student is enrolled divided by 15. For example, a student enrolled for 12 credits (or
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b.

24 clock hours per week) would have the term LME prorated by 12/15ths, or
80 percent, and the result rounded. The term LME is NOT increased if the student
enrolls for more than 15 credits. (For further information, see Appendix 8 Shared

Responsibility term award calculation.)

(1) LME for Incarcerated Students

Incarcerated students are eligible to receive a State Grant if they meet the program
eligibility requirements. However, according to program statutes, the LME must

be set to zero for incarcerated students.

Tuition and Fees

The tuition and fees used in the Shared Responsibility term award calculation are the
lesser of the school’s average annual full-time (30 semester or 45 quarter credits)
tuition and fees prorated for term length and then for enrollment level or the annual
tuition and fee maximum set by the Legislature for each academic year prorated for

term length and enrollment level.

(1) Tuition and Fee Maximum

The Legislature sets a separate nine-month annual full-time tuition and fee
maximum for students enrolled in a four-year degree program and another for
students enrolled in a two-year degree or shorter credential program. The annual
full-time tuition and fee maximum for the program the student is enrolled in for
the term must be adjusted for term length by multiplying by .50 for a semester or
by .3333 for a quarter and rounding the result. If the student is enrolled for fewer
than 15 credits, the term tuition and fee maximum is reduced by multiplying the
term maximum by the number of credits for which the student is enrolled divided
by 15. For example, a student enrolled for 12 credits would have the term tuition
and fee maximum prorated by 12/15ths, or 80 percent, and then rounded. The term
tuition and fee maximum is NOT increased if the student enrolls for more than
15 credits. (For further information, see Appendix 8 Shared Responsibility term

award calculation.)
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If a student is simultaneously enrolled in both a two- and four-year degree
program, the tuition and fee maximum used to calculate the State Grant will be
based on the nature of the student’s program. If the content area for both the two-
and four-year program is identical or very similar, where the majority of credits
from the two-year program will be applied to the four-year program, the school
should use the four-year tuition and fee maximum to calculate the State Grant
award for the term. For example, some students may wish to earn an A.A. degree

at the midpoint of a B.A. degree program.

If the content area of the two- and four-year degree programs is quite different,
where the majority of credits from the two-year program will not be applied to the
four-year degree program, the school must either:
e use the two-year tuition and fee maximum until the student completes the two-
year program; or
e manually calculate the State Grant so that both the two- and four-year tuition
and fee maximums are applied to the credits from each program. If certain
credits will count towards both programs, they should be considered two-year
program credits. [Note: When reporting the award to the Agency on the DDS
system, the school should report a ‘4’ in the field that indicates which tuition
and fee maximum was used to calculate the award.] An example of this option
follows.
- EXAMPLE: Jane Doe is enrolled in both a two-year Medical Assistant
A.A.S. degree program and a four-year degree completion program for a
B.S. in Organizational Management. Jane has eight credits that will apply
to the two-year program and seven credits that will apply to the four-year
degree program for a total of 15 credits. The applicable tuition and fee
maximum for each program would be prorated to the student's enrollment
level as follows: Annual full-time two-year tuition maximum $5,808/2 =
$2,904 for full-time semester X 8/15ths or .533 = $1,548. Annual full-
time four-year tuition maximum $10,488/2 = $5,244 for full-time
semester X 7/15ths or .467 = $2,449. The prorated tuition and fee
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maximums would then be compared to the tuition and fees charged by the
school and the lesser of the two would be added to the full-time LME to
construct the State Grant award calculation budget. The tuition and fees
charged by the school are the annual full-time tuition and fees reported by
the school on the Agency’s on-line State Grant Budget Questionnaire,
prorated to the student's enrollment level. If the annual full-time tuition
and fees were $10,000, then the amount for eight credits would be
$10,000/2 = $5,000 for full-time semester X 8/15ths or .533 = $2,665.
The amount for seven credits would be $10,000/2 X 7/15ths or .467 =
$2,335. Because the tuition and fees charged exceed the tuition and fee
maximum for each program, the school would add the eight credit two-
year tuition and fee maximum of $1,548 to the four-year maximum for
seven credits, $2,449, for a combined tuition and fee maximum of $3,997.
This would then be added to the LME of $3,500 for a full-time semester

resulting in a State Grant term award calculation budget of $7,497.

If a student changes programs between terms, the appropriate tuition and fee
maximum must be used to recalculate the award for the subsequent terms of the
aid year based on the student’s current program. If a student changes programs
within a term, the State Grant award for that term must be recalculated using the
tuition and fee maximum for the student’s current program and any resulting

overpayments recovered or additional funds due to the student disbursed.

Schools cannot direct students who would normally enroll in a two-year degree
program to enroll in a four-year degree program simply to take advantage of the
higher four-year tuition and fee maximum if the students have no intention of
completing a four-year degree. Agency auditors will be reviewing institutional
records to determine if there is a pattern of students changing from a four-year
degree program to a two-year program after completing their first two academic

years.
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(2) Average Tuition and Fees

To determine the amount of tuition and fees used to calculate the student’s State
Grant term award, the school must compare its average annual tuition and fees
prorated by term length and the student’s enrollment level to the appropriate
tuition and fee maximum for the student’s degree program prorated by term length

and enrollment level and then select the lesser of the two.

The average tuition and fees for the student’s enrollment level are derived from
the school’s annual full-time average tuition and mandatory fees which are then
prorated for term length and student enrollment level. The annual full-time
average tuition is the weighted average tuition the school charges a student for two
full-time (15 credits) semesters, three full-time quarters, or for the number of
hours in a clock hour school’s definition of academic year. For public colleges, the
standard resident tuition rate is used for the annual average tuition. For private
schools where tuition rates vary by program, a weighted average is used to

determine the annual full-time average tuition as shown in the following example.

Cost for Two Percent of Student
Full-Time Population in
Program Name Semesters Program Weighted Tuition
Admin Assistant $5,000 X 75% = $3,750
Legal Secretary $6,000 X 25% = $1,500
Weighted Average Annual Tuition $5,250

Once the annual full-time average amount is known, the school must add on the
amount of annual full-time mandatory fees charged to all full-time students.
Annual full-time mandatory fees would consist of mandatory fees charged to all
full-time students for two full-time (15 credits) semesters, three full-time quarters,

or for the number of hours in a clock hour school’s definition of academic year.

Mandatory fees charged to all full-time students cannot include mandatory fees for

the purchase or rental of books, as book charges are considered a component in
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3

the Living and Miscellaneous Allowance (LME) used in the award calculation.
The same applies to mandatory fees for the purchase of equipment and supplies
required for all students (such as cosmetology supply kits and computers) in cases
where the student retains ownership, as these items also fall under the LME.
However, if the school charges a rental fee for equipment and supplies to all
students and the school retains ownership, such fees are allowable general fees

used in the State Grant calculation.

Using the full-time tuition and fees applies even if students are not enrolled for 15
credits per term since the tuition and fees will later be adjusted within the award

calculation for less than full-time enrollment.

The annual full-time average tuition and annual full-time mandatory fees are then
prorated for term length by multiplying by .50 (semester) or .3333 (quarter) and
the result is rounded. If the student is less than full-time for the term, the tuition
and fees are prorated for enrollment level by dividing the student’s number of
credits by 15. For example, a student taking 12 credits would have the full-time
term tuition and fees prorated by 12/15ths, or 80 percent, and the result rounded.
The tuition and fees are then compared to the appropriate tuition and fee
maximum for the student’s program and the lesser of the two are used in the term

award calculation. (See award calculation examples in Appendix 9.)

Tuition Waivers

Because a uniform amount of average tuition and mandatory fees is used to
calculate State Grants for all students enrolled at the same institution, any tuition
waivers applied to individual student tuition and fee charges are not subtracted
from the tuition and fees used to calculate the State Grant award for the student,
nor are any other types of scholarships or resources applied to tuition and fee

charges.
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(4) Determining Tuition and Fees for Clock Hour Payment Period
To determine the amount of tuition and fees for a clock hour payment period, the
school would first divide the total tuition and fees for the program by the number
of clock hours in the program to determine the hourly tuition and fee cost. The
hourly cost would then be multiplied by the number of hours in the payment
period to determine the tuition and fees for the payment period. The payment
period tuition and fees would then be compared to the tuition and fee maximum
for the term/payment period, prorated for the student’s enrollment level, and the
lesser of the two would be used to calculate the State Grant award for the payment
period. (See award calculation Examples 9 and 10 in Appendix 9 for further

details.)

In cases where the remaining hours in the student’s program are less than the
number of hours in the payment period, the school should still calculate the award
based on costs for the entire payment period and then prorate the award. (See
‘Adjusting Payments for Clock Hour Programs When Remaining Program Hours
are Less Than the Number of Hours in Payment Period’ under the ‘Disbursement

Process’ section of this chapter for further information.)

Tuition, Fees and LME Used for Students
Attending Multiple Schools for Same Term

For information on enrollment requirements for students attending multiple schools
for the same term, please refer to the ‘Attending Multiple Schools for Same Term’ and
‘Enrollment Status at Eligible Institution’ sections under ‘Student Eligibility’ in this

chapter.

If a student opts to receive a separate State Grant at each school attended during a
term, each school must calculate the student’s State Grant term award based on the
average tuition and mandatory fee costs for the credits taken at that school. The tuition
and fee costs would be subject to the tuition and fee maximum for the degree program
the student is enrolled in at each school, which would be prorated for the student’s

enrollment level if the student enrolled for fewer than 15 credits. The term living and
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miscellaneous expense allowance (LME), prorated for the number of credits attended
at the school, would be added to the tuition and fees to arrive at the State Grant term
award calculation budget. (See award calculation Examples 7 and 8 in Appendix 9 for

further details.)

A student cannot be paid for more than a total of 15 credits of tuition and fees and
LME when attending multiple schools for the same term. If, for example, School B
knows that School A already awarded the student a State Grant for 10 credits, School
B should limit the tuition, fees and LME used in its award calculation to five credits. If
School B is not aware of the student attending the other school and awards the student
for more than five credits, School B’s payment will be rejected when reported to the
Agency and School B will need to recalculate the student’s State Grant so it is based
on tuition, fees and LME for no more than five credits. If the school cannot collect the
overpayment from the student, the school is NOT liable for repaying the State Grant
overpayment from its own funds. Rather, the school would turn over the overpayment
case to the Agency at the end of the award year for collection. To avoid overpayments,
schools can use the Agency’s State Grant web access screen (Appendix 4) to
determine if the student has received a State Grant disbursement at another school for

the same term.

Another option for a student attending multiple schools for the same term is to have
one school act as the “home” school and award the student a State Grant based on the
combined costs for the total credits consumed at all schools, not to exceed 15 credits
per term. The dollar amount of total tuition and fees used is subject to the tuition and
fee maximum for the degree program in which the student is enrolled at the “home
school,” which is based on 15 credits and is not increased for students taking more
than 15 credits. The LME used in the award calculation at the “home school” is based

on combined credits but cannot exceed the LME for 15 credits.

In cases where the student is attending multiple schools within the same system

(University of Minnesota, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, private four-
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year college, private two-year college), the tuition and fees used in the State Grant
calculation shall be the tuition and fees charged by the “home” school for the student’s
combined credits from all schools, up to a maximum of 15 credits. For example, if the
student were taking 10 credits at a state university (home school) and five credits at a
community college, the State Grant would be based on the cost of 15 credits at the
state university, since both state universities and community colleges are within the

MnSCU system.

Conversely, if the student is attending multiple schools in different systems, the
“home” school must calculate the State Grant using the tuition and fees charged by
each institution (see award calculation Example 8 in Appendix 9) up to a maximum of
15 credits. Financial aid administrators should use the Multiple School Term Award
Calculation Spreadsheet developed by the Agency for this purpose. The spreadsheet is
posted on the Agency’s web site (www.ohe.state.mn.us) under Campus Financial Aid

Administrator Resources, Program Forms, Spreadsheets & Instructions.

2. Student Share

The student is expected to contribute a share of the budget used in the Shared
Responsibility term award calculation from the student’s resources, such as employment,
savings or private scholarships. If the term budget (tuition, fees plus LME) has been
adjusted due to less than full-time enrollment, the student is expected to contribute a share

of the adjusted term budget.

Currently, the student share of the State Grant budget is set in statute at 46 percent.
However, the statute also gives the Agency the authority to adjust this percentage on a
term-by-term basis if awards must be rationed to address a projected funding shortfall.

Any such adjustment will be shown in Appendix 8.

Parent Contribution
For dependent applicants, the nine-month annual parent contribution, as determined by the

Federal Methodology need analysis formula, is used in the State Grant award calculation.
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The annual contribution is first adjusted for term length by multiplying by .50 (semester)
or .3333 (quarter) and rounding the result. The result is then multiplied by .96 and
rounded. The resulting parent contribution is not adjusted if the student is enrolled for

more or fewer than 15 credits (see Appendices 8 and 9).

In the case of two need analysis results (primary vs. secondary), the lowest parent

contribution should be used.

The State Grant statute gives the Agency the authority to add a percentage surcharge to the
parent contribution on a term-by-term basis in order to address any projected funding
shortfalls. Any such surcharge will be shown in Appendix 8. For example, ifa 10.7
percent surcharge were added to the parent contribution for spring semester, the surcharge

would be applied in the following manner:

Annual Nine-Month Federal Methodology Parent Contribution $1,000
Parent Contribution Prorated to Term Length for Semester $ 500
Term Parent Contribution Prorated to 96 Percent $ 480
10.7 Percent Surcharge added to Prorated Term Parent Contribution $ 531

Student Contribution

The nine-month annual Federal Methodology need analysis student contribution, or EFC,
is subtracted as the student contribution in the State Grant award calculation for
independent students. No student contribution is subtracted for dependent students. The
contribution is first adjusted for term length by multiplying by .50 (semester) or by .3333
(quarter) and rounding the results. Only 68 percent of the term student contribution is
subtracted in the State Grant award calculation for independent students without
dependents other than a spouse. Only 86 percent of the term student contribution is
subtracted in the State Grant award calculation for independent students with dependents
other than a spouse. The term contribution is not adjusted if the student enrolls for more or

fewer than 15 credits (see Appendices 8 and 9).
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When choosing between two state need analysis formula results (primary vs. secondary),

the lowest student contribution, or EFC, should be used.

The State Grant statute gives the Agency the authority to add a percentage surcharge to the
independent student contribution on a term-by-term basis in order to address any projected
funding shortfalls. Any such surcharge will be shown in Appendix 8. For example, if a
10.7 percent surcharge were added to the independent student contribution for spring

semester, the surcharge would be applied in the following manner:

Annual Nine-Month Federal Methodology Student Contribution/EFC $1,000
Student Contribution Prorated to Term Length for Semester $ 500
Term Student Contribution Prorated to 68 Percent* § 340
10.7 Percent Surcharge Added to Prorated Term Student Contribution $ 376

*The Student Contribution is prorated to 68 percent for independent students without
dependents and 86 percent for independent students with dependents.

Pell Grant

The amount of the federal Pell Grant for which the student would be eligible based on the
student’s Expected Family Contribution (EFC) and State Grant enrollment status is always
subtracted in the State Grant formula, even if the school or program does not participate in
the federal Pell Grant program or the student does not actually receive the Pell Grant (e.g.,
misses application deadline, does not meet eligibility requirement). The student’s actual
federal Pell Grant is determined by the Federal Methodology Expected Family
Contribution (EFC) and the student’s enrollment level for the federal Pell Grant program,
and is calculated in accordance with the U.S. Department of Education’s federal Pell
Grant disbursement schedule. However, when calculating a State Grant, the Pell Grant
amount subtracted in the State Grant award calculation will always be based on the
student’s enrollment status for the State Grant program and how that corresponds to the
various enrollment levels for the federal Pell Grant program as shown in the following

table:



FINANCIAL AID MANUAL Sectionl | 52
SECTION DATE
State Grant Program July 2011
Pell Grant Subtracted in
State Grant Enrollment Level State Grant Calculation
15+ credits/30 clock hours per week Full-time
14 credits/28-29 clock hours per week Full-time
13 credits/26-27 clock hours per week Full-time
12 credits/24-25 clock hours per week Full-time
11 credits/22-23 clock hours per week 3/4-time
10 credits/20-21 clock hours per week 3/4-time
9 credits/18-19 clock hours per week 3/4-time
8 credits/16-17 clock hours per week 1/2-time
7 credits/14-15 clock hours per week 1/2-time
6 credits/12-13 clock hours per week 1/2-time
5 credits/10-11 clock hours per week Less than 1/2-time
4 credits/8-9 clock hours per week Less than 1/2-time
3 credits/6-7 clock hours per week Less than 1/2-time

For example, if a student’s enrollment level for State Grant were 15 credits but the
enrollment level for Federal Pell Grant were only 11 credits, the full-time Pell Grant
would still be subtracted in the State Grant award calculation even if the student were
actually receiving a 3/4-time Pell Grant. (See ‘State Grant Versus Pell Grant Enrollment

Level’ in this chapter.)

With respect to awards for crossover terms (start before and end after July 1), the State

Grant and Pell Grant must always be based on need analysis results for the same aid year.

To see examples of how the Pell Grant is subtracted in the State Grant award calculation,

please see Appendices 8 and 9.

B. Definition of Academic Year/Period of Award
1. Definition of Academic Year
The definition of “academic year” for purposes of award calculations is provided in the
‘Common Definitions’ chapter of this manual. That definition of academic year must be
used in all adjustment calculations involving State Grant, such as proration of awards.
Although federal financial aid policy allows the institution to use a minimum academic

year of 30 weeks (26 weeks for clock hour institutions) in its formulas, if the institution’s
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academic year is longer than 30 weeks, the actual number of weeks in the academic year

must be used in State Grant adjustment calculations.

Period of Award / Awards for Fourth Quarter/Third Semester

Students may receive a State Grant for up to four consecutive full-time quarters or three

consecutive full-time semesters within a fiscal year (July 1-June 30). The term award for

the fourth quarter or third semester is calculated in the same manner as for other terms.

The decision to award the student for the fourth quarter or third semester within the aid

year is not optional.

a. Transfer Students

A student who attends more than one school during the fiscal year may also receive a

State Grant award for the equivalent of four full-time quarters or three full-time

semesters.

A student who attends different schools during the aid year may be awarded for up to

four full-time quarters (60 quarter credits) or three full-time semesters (45 semester

credits) based on the awards calculated at the different schools, even if the award

amounts differ. For example, a student could receive two full-time quarter

disbursements at School A based on School A’s award calculation and two full-time

quarter disbursements at School B based on School B’s award calculation. The same

logic applies to a student attending different schools on the semester system. A term in

which the student is enrolled for more than 15 credits should count only as 15 credits

against the limit.

A student who transfers between schools on the quarter and semester system is also

limited to receiving State Grant payments for up to 60 quarter credits or 45 semester

credits during the fiscal year. Credits from the previous school must be translated to

credits at the current school as shown in the example below.
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Determining Eligibility For Transfer Student
Example:

School A awards student for two full-time quarters = 30 quarter credits
School B awards student for one full-time semester = 15 semester credits

To determine the award for a second semester at School B, convert quarter
credits (30) to semester credits (30 x .67 = 20). Total semester credits

awarded = 35. Because a student may not receive funding for more than 45
semester credits during the fiscal year, School B could award the student for up
to 10 additional semester credits at School B for the second semester.

Schools may use the Agency’s State Grant web access screen to determine whether a
student has been paid a State Grant at another school for the same aid year (see
Appendix 4). This information also appears on the Roster of Accepted Payments or

Roster of Rejected Awards/Payments (see Appendices 20 and 21).

C. Notification of Awards
Schools are responsible for notifying students about their State Grant eligibility and award
amount. The award notice should contain a statement which informs recipients about the
impact of enrollment status on the State Grant award. The State Grant award notification may

be incorporated into the school’s standard financial aid award notice.

Schools are also responsible for providing information to students about all forms of financial
aid administered by the institution and the availability of additional State Grant aid for a fourth

full-time quarter or third full-time semester during the fiscal year.

D. State Grant Award Advisory Roster
Each time a school submits a batch of DDS records, the Agency checks the accuracy of
awards and payments and generates a set of output reports for the school. The Roster of
Rejected Awards/Payments (Appendix 16) and the Award Detail Error Roster (Appendix 17)
contain information about awards that fall outside established tolerances. The school is

responsible for resolving errors shown on these reports.
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E. Awards for Summer or Non-Standard Terms

Students may receive a State Grant award for up to four full-time quarters or three full-time
semesters within a fiscal year. The fourth quarter or third semester will often times take place

in the summer and overlap fiscal years. Such terms are referenced to as “crossover” terms.

1. Origination of Funding
If a term does not overlap two aid years, it must be paid from the aid year in which it

occurs.

When a crossover term overlaps two aid years (begins before and ends after July 1),
funding may come from either aid year. The institution may decide from which aid year to
draw funds on a student-by-student basis. However, because the student’s State Grant is
based on the student’s EFC and Pell Grant award, the same aid year must be selected for
both the State Grant and Pell Grant. Once the aid year is selected, the need analysis, laws,

rules and policies in place for that aid year must be applied.

For non term-based schools that link sequential course modules together to form a term, if
such a term overlaps a fiscal year, it is considered a crossover term and is subject to
policies for crossover terms. In the event the student withdraws during a term and
subsequently reenters within the same program, enrollment level and the option to reverse
refunds should be based on policies described earlier in this manual under ‘Enrollment

Level at Non Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools.’

2. Defining a Term

Definition of a term must be done uniformly for all recipients.

In order for two or more mini-sessions to be treated as one term, the school must define a
student’s enrollment status in terms of the number of credits for which the student is
enrolled during all sessions. When multiple mini-sessions are combined to make one term,

the term start date is considered the first day of the first session in the term even if the
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student does not attend the first session. This also applies to non term-based credit-hour

schools that combine sequential course modules into one term.

Example: The first summer session starts May 28 and ends June 29 (five weeks) and the
second summer session starts July 1 and ends August 3 (five weeks). If these two 5-week
sessions are combined into a 10-week term, enrollment status must be based on the total

number of credits during the 10-week period. The term start date is May 28.

If the original award disbursed at the onset of the term is based on credits for other
sessions or course modules and the student drops those credits without attending the
classes, the State Grant must be recalculated. (See ‘Recalculation of Student Award Based

on Changes in Enrollment Level.”)

In order for multiple mini-sessions to be treated as separate “mini-terms” at standard term-
based schools, the school must define enrollment status separately for each session. This is

not an option at non term-based credit-hour schools.

Determining Credits Needed for Enroliment Status
If a quarter is at least 10 weeks long or a semester is at least 15 weeks long, it is

considered a standard term. Otherwise, it is referred to as a non-standard term.

In previous years, enrollment status for non-standard terms was derived by adjusting the
student’s actual enrollment status to compensate for term length. However, effective

July 1, 2002, enrollment status for standard and non-standard terms is derived in the same
manner; that is, based on the actual number of credits or clock hours for which the student

is enrolled.

Determining Amount of Award
The calculation of the student’s State Grant term award for a standard or non-standard
term is identical. There is no further proration required for non-standard terms. (See

Appendix 8 for Shared Responsibility term award calculation.) However, award proration
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is required when the number of clock hours or weeks remaining in the student’s program
is less than the clock hours or weeks in the school’s payment period or term. (See items 6

and 7 under ‘Institutional Responsibilities Prior to Disbursement’ in this chapter.)

F. Recalculation of State Grant Awards

State Grant awards are revised at the campus level. Schools are responsible for informing

students about adjustments made to the award.

Increased Award - Institutional Responsibilities

If a school learns that a student’s State Grant should be increased due to a change in
enrollment level, federal need analysis results, the Pell Grant award or the budget used to
calculate the State Grant, the school is responsible for recalculating the student’s State
Grant, notifying the student of the revised award amount and disbursing additional funds
to the student. If the term has already started or been completed, policies for late or
retroactive disbursement apply. (See ‘Late/Retroactive Disbursement’ section in this

chapter.)

Decreased Award - Institutional Responsibilities and Liability

If a school learns a student’s award should be reduced or eliminated due to a change in
enrollment level, federal need analysis results, Pell Grant or State Grant budget, or a
student not meeting the program eligibility requirements, the school is responsible for
reducing the student’s award, notifying the student of the reduced award and making sure
the overpayment is returned to its State Grant fund on campus. The balance of the fund is

then returned to the Agency at the end of each academic year.

If the school is unable to collect the overpayment from the student, the school may turn
over the student’s accounts receivable to the Agency as part of the balance due the Agency
at the end of the year if the school was not liable for repaying the overpayment from its
own institutional funds. Otherwise, the school must repay the overpayment from its

institutional funds.
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3.

In general, a school is liable for repaying the overpayment from its own funds if:

documentation on campus showed the student did not meet a program eligibility
requirement at the time of disbursement;

after the student was paid, an item on the application was corrected that should have
been resolved prior to disbursement through resolving conflicting information or the
verification process; or

the school paid the student before checking with the Agency to see if the student had
received four years of aid, a previous State Grant overpayment, was in arrears on child
support payments or was in default on a SELF loan and, upon checking with the
Agency, learned that the student failed to meet one of these eligibility requirements at
the time of disbursement. The school would be liable for repaying all funds disbursed

to the student with the exception of the payment for the student’s initial term.

In collecting overpayments from students, schools must:

inform the student in writing of the overpayment;

follow the applicable collection procedures to secure the return of the funds (the
specific procedures utilized by the school to accomplish this would be determined by
the school); and

notify the Agency if the student refuses to acknowledge the overpayment or refuses to
repay the funds. The Agency will utilize state income tax revenue recapture or may
seek the assistance of the Attorney General of the State of Minnesota to recover the

overpayment.

If the school is turning over a student’s file to the Agency for billing at the end of the aid

year, it must include all pertinent documentation such as the SAR or ISIR, copies of

billing letters, an explanation of how the overpayment occurred, copies of cashed checks

or student account transactions and all other supporting documentation.

Adjustments to Award Based on Change in Enrollment Level

State Grant award disbursements must always be based on the student’s enrollment level

as of the date of disbursement.
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Unlike the Federal Pell Grant program which allows schools to “freeze” the student’s
enrollment level and Pell Grant award at a certain point in time (normally the end of the
drop/add period), the State Grant program requires the school to make State Grant

adjustments based on changes in enrollment level throughout the entire term.

A student’s attendance will have an impact on how the State Grant is adjusted. If a student
drops or withdraws from a class after disbursement of the State Grant and the student
never attended the class, the State Grant must be recalculated to the lower enrollment level
and the difference refunded to the State Grant program. This also applies to cases where
the school grants a retroactive withdrawal for a class backdated to the first day of the term,

even if the student attended the class.

After the initial disbursement of the State Grant, if a student withdraws from a class after
attending the class and the State Grant award at the revised enrollment level is LESS than
the award disbursed for the original enrollment level, the school must complete the Office
of Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13b of State Grant
manual) and return the lesser of the following to the State Grant program:

o the difference between the State Grant at the original and revised enrollment level; or
o the State Grant proportional share of the institution’s refund of institutional charges

(from line I (E) of the Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet).

Example A: No Change in EFC

Student originally paid $500 for Level 15 enrollment

Student withdraws from three credits to Level 12 enrollment
Award at Level 12 is $300

Difference between Level 15 and Level 12 award is $200
Proportional share of refund of institutional charges is $100
$100 is returned to State Grant program

School continues to report Level 15 enrollment to the Agency

In the rare instance when a student withdraws from a class AND the student’s overall
State Grant award is decreased based on a change in parent contribution or EFC, the

school must first collect the overpayment (difference between the original and new State
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Grant award at the original enrollment level) from the student and then return the lesser of

the following to the State Grant program:

o the difference between the new State Grant award at the original and revised enrollment
level; or

o the State Grant proportional share of the institution’s refund of institutional charges

(from line I (E) of the Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet).

Example B: Change in EFC

Student originally paid $500 for Level 15 enrollment

Student withdraws from three credits to Level 12 enrollment

Original award for Level 12 is $300

Change in EFC results in revised award of $400 for Level 15

Revised award for Level 12 is $200

School must first recapture $100 (difference between original and revised award for Level 15)
Difference between revised Level 15 ($400) and Level 12 ($200) is $200

Refund of institutional charges is $0

$0 refund due State Grant program

School reports Level 15 enrollment to the Agency with payment of $400

If the student withdraws from a class and the State Grant at the revised enrollment level is
MORE than the award disbursed for the original enrollment level (this occurs in some
cases for Pell Grant recipients when the withdrawn credits result in a lower Pell Grant
enrollment level), the school can only increase the student’s State Grant if the school
actually reduces the Pell Grant award or if the increase in the State Grant award at the

lower enrollment level can be attributed to a change in parent contribution or EFC.

Example C: No Change in EFC

Student originally paid $300 for Level 12 enrollment

Student withdraws from one credit to Level 11 enrollment

Award at Level 11 is $400

School does not adjust Pell Grant from full-time to 3/4-time

State Grant remains at $300

School continues to report Level 12 enrollment to the Agency with payment of $300
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Example D: Change in EFC

Student originally paid $300 for Level 12 enrollment

Student withdraws from one credit to Level 11 enrollment

Award at Level 11 is $400 due to drop in Pell enrollment level

School does not adjust Pell Grant from full-time to 3/4-time

Change in EFC results in $500 Level 12 and $600 Level 11

Student limited to $200 increase in State Grant award

($500 revised Level 12 minus $300 original Level 12)

School continues to report Level 12 enrollment to the Agency with $500 payment

[Note: Had school actually adjusted Pell to 3/4-time, the student would receive the difference
between the original $300 Level 12 disbursement and the revised $600 Level 11 award.]

If a student adds credits after the initial disbursement of the State Grant and the award at
the revised enrollment level is MORE than the award disbursed for the original enrollment
level, the school should disburse additional funds to the student. This applies regardless of
whether the increase in the State Grant award is based on an increase in the enrollment

level and/or a change in the parent contribution or EFC.

If a student adds credits after the initial disbursement of the State Grant and the award at
the revised enrollment level is LESS than the award disbursed for the original enrollment
level (this occurs in some cases for Pell Grant recipients), the school is only required to
reduce the student’s State Grant if the school actually increased the student’s Pell Grant
award or if the decrease in the State Grant award can be attributed to a change in the

student’s parent contribution or EFC.

Example E: No Change in EFC

Student originally paid $400 for Level 11 enrollment

Student adds one credit for Level 12 enrollment

Award at Level 12 is $300

School does not adjust Pell Grant from 3/4-time to full-time

State Grant remains at $400

School continues to report Level 11 enrollment to the Agency with payment of $400
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Example F: Change in EFC

Student originally paid $400 for Level 11 enrollment

Student adds one credit for Level 12 enrollment

Award at Level 12 is $300

School does not adjust Pell Grant from 3/4-time to full-time

Change in EFC results in $200 Level 11 and $100 Level 12

School must recapture $200 decrease in State Grant award

($400 original Level 11 minus $200 revised Level 11)

School continues to report Level 11 enrollment to the Agency with payment of $200

[Note: Had school actually adjusted Pell Grant to full-time, school would need to recapture the
$300 difference between the original $400 Level 11 disbursement and the revised $100 Level 12
award. ]

State Grant award adjustment policy becomes more complex in cases where the student
both withdraws from and adds credits after the initial disbursement of the State Grant
award. The school must always use the student’s actual enrollment level (original
enrollment level minus credits withdrawn or dropped plus credits added) to determine
eligibility for a subsequent award. However, whether the revised award results in the
disbursement of additional funds or recapturing funds previously disbursed will be based
on the student’s disbursement history. Additionally, the enrollment level and payment
reported to the Agency on the State Grant DDS record may not necessarily match the
student’s actual revised enrollment level. A flow chart outlining the steps for State Grant
award adjustments taking place after the initial disbursement of the State Grant award as

well as several examples is provided in Appendix 20.

Appendix 21 outlines the current State Grant disbursement and award adjustment policies

in comparison to the policies used for the federal Pell Grant program.

a. Adjustment of Awards for Students Attending
Non Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools

This section applies to non term-based credit-hour schools that combine a number of
sequential course modules together to define a term. For example, a school may define
a semester as 12 credits, comprised of a series of four sequential 3-credit courses that

each last a month.
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12-Credit Semester

3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits
Class 1 Class 2 Class 3 Class 4

If a student withdraws from school during the first course module of the term without
attending the course, the entire State Grant disbursement for the term must be

refunded.

If the student did attend the first course module before withdrawing, then the school
must first recalculate the State Grant for an enrollment level that excludes credits for
the remaining course modules and refund the difference between the original and
revised State Grant. The school would then complete the Office of Higher Education
Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13) to determine the amount of the refund

due the State Grant program from the first module attended.

In the following example, if the school disbursed a Level 12 State Grant at the onset of
a semester to cover four 3-credit sequential course modules and the student withdrew
from school during the first module after attending the course, the school would first
recalculate the State Grant term award from Level 12 to Level 3 and refund the
difference to the State Grant program. The school would then complete the OHE
Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13a) for the first 3-credit course module the
student attended, including only the Level 3 State Grant award amount on the

worksheet, as opposed to the original award for 12 credits.

!

3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits
Class 1 Class 2 Class 3 Class 4
(attended but (didn’t start) (didn’t start) (didn’t start)
withdrew)

In the next example, the student completes the first course module and then withdraws
before starting the second course module. The original State Grant term award

(Level 12) would be recalculated for the lower enrollment level (Level 3) and the
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difference refunded to the State Grant program. No refund calculation worksheet

would be required, since the student did not withdraw during a course module.

3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits
Class 1 Class 2 Class 3 Class 4
(completed) (didn’t start) (didn’t start) (didn’t start)

These same policies apply when the student withdraws later in the term. In the

following example, the student withdraws from school during the third course module

after beginning attendance in that course. The school must first recalculate the State

Grant term award to an enrollment level that excludes credits for any remaining

modules the student did not attend, and refund the difference between the original

(Level 12) and revised (Level 9) State Grant awards to the State Grant program. The

school would then complete the Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation

Worksheet (Appendix 13a) for the three course modules the student did attend, and

list only the Level 9 State Grant award when completing the worksheet.

|

3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits

Class 1 Class 2 Class 3 Class 4

(completed) (completed) (attended then (didn’t start)
withdrew)

If a student withdraws during the last course module of a term after beginning

attendance in that course, an award recalculation would not be required, since there

are no remaining course modules the student did not attend. Rather, the school would

complete the OHE Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13a) for a full

withdrawal, using the amount of the original Level 12 State Grant on the worksheet.

)

3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits

Class 1 Class 2 Class 3 Class 4

(completed) (completed) (completed) (attended then
withdrew)

Enrollment levels, award recalculations and withdrawal refunds are determined

similarly for students taking courses simultaneously within a semester.
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In the next example, the student’s original disbursement would be based on 12 credits.
If this student withdrew from school after completing the first set of simultaneous
courses, the award would be recalculated from Level 12 to Level 6 and the difference
refunded to the State Grant program. A withdrawal refund calculation would not be

required, since the student did not withdraw during a course module.

3 Credits

Class 1

(completed)

3 Credits 3 Credits 3Credits
Class 2 Class 3 Class 4
(completed) (not started) (not started)

If this same student withdrew from school during the first set of simultaneous courses,
the award would first be recalculated from Level 12 to Level 6 and the difference
refunded to the State Grant program. A full withdrawal refund calculation would then
be performed using the OHE Refund Calculation Spreadsheet (Appendix 13a) using

only the amount of the student’s Level 6 State Grant award.

!

3 Credits

Class 1

(completed)

3 Credits 3 Credits 3Credits
Class 2 Class 3 Class 4
(completed) (not started) (not started)

If a student withdraws at any point during the term, but subsequently reenrolls in the
same program, the student cannot advance to the next term until the remaining courses
in the previous term have been completed. To determine the student’s enrollment level
for the term in question, and whether recalculation and/or withdrawal refunds for that
term can be reversed, see the ‘Enrollment Level at Non Term-Based Credit-Hour
Schools’ and ‘Post-Withdrawal Disbursement for Returning Students at Non Term-

Based Credit-Hour Schools’ sections of this manual.

If a student withdraws during a module or between modules but continues on in a

different program, the State Grant for the original term would be recalculated to cover
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4. Recalculation of State Grant Award for Student Who Receives All F Grades

only the modules the student did complete and a new State Grant would be awarded to

cover the next term, which would start with the next course module in which the

student enrolled for the new program. For example, if a Level 12 State Grant were

disbursed for the initial semester and the student fully completed two 3-credit modules
of the first semester and then decided to change programs, the State Grant for the first

semester would be recalculated to a Level 6 and the difference between the Level 12

and Level 6 State Grant term awards would be refunded to the State Grant program.

The next course module would then be considered the first 3-credit course module of a

new semester consisting of four 3-credit modules for the student’s new program. A

Level 12 State Grant would be disbursed for the new semester.

If the student receives F grades for all classes taken during a term, the federal financial aid
guidelines requiring schools to document attendance in these cases also apply to the State
Grant program. If the school determines the student never attended a class or classes, the
State Grant award must be recalculated to exclude those credits prior to any refund taking

place for withdrawn classes the student did attend. (See ‘Award Adjustments and Refunds

for All F Grades’ in the ‘Refund Process’ section of this chapter.)

VIl. Disbursement Process

A. Disbursing Funds to Schools

To improve cash management and timely State Grant reporting, the following guidelines are

used when processing funds advances for the State Grant program.

A school’s initial advance for funds will not be processed until the school has:

reported a DDS batch for the new aid year that has been tested and is suitable for

production;

requested funds using the SG web access screen; and

submitted its final batch and returned its end of year fund balance for the prior aid year.
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The amount of funds advanced for the school’s initial term of the new aid year is the total
amount of awards for that term in the school’s first batch for the new aid year. Schools can

request additional funds once the initial installment has been disbursed to students.

Subsequent funds requests for the first term must be requested on the SG web access screen
and accompanied by an up-to-date batch showing that payments to date have consumed most
of the initial installment and that total term awards in the batch support the additional funds

request.

Funds advances for subsequent terms must also be requested on the SG web access screen and
accompanied by an up-to-date batch showing that payments to date have consumed most of
the previous advances. Advance amounts for subsequent terms are based on the amount of
awards for that term in the school’s most recently submitted DDS batch. Schools can request

additional funds once the initial installment has been disbursed to students.

The Agency can limit the amount of funds advances to less than the amount of total term
awards in the school’s most recent batch if term awards are not yet adjusted for less than full-

time enrollment levels.

. Disbursing Funds to Students

In general, State Grant funds may only be used to pay for the student’s costs for the current
academic year. However, a school may use current-year funds to satisfy prior-year charges for
tuition, fees, room or board and, with written authorization, other educationally related

charges.

The State Grant award must be based on the student’s enrollment level as of the date of
disbursement. If a student withdraws from a class prior to disbursement, the student cannot
receive a State Grant payment for those credits. (See also ‘Adjustments to Award Based on

Change in Enrollment Level’ and Appendices 20 and 21 for further information.)
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1. When Schools May Disburse Funds

An institution may not make a payment to a student for a payment period or term until the
student has registered for classes. Schools are discouraged from delaying disbursements
beyond the end of the drop/add period in attempts to avoid award recalculations or refunds

based on changes in enrollment level.

The institution will return to the State Grant program any funds paid to a student who,
before the first day of classes:

e officially or unofficially withdraws,

e isexpelled, or

e fails to attend any classes.

The institution is liable for all State Grant funds that are disbursed to an enrolled student
prior to the start of the enrollment period if that student fails to begin the enrollment
period. The institution will have to reimburse State Grant funds disbursed to the student
prior to the start of the enrollment period if the institution cannot document that the

student did begin attending classes.

If an institution posts a State Grant payment to a student’s account prior to receiving State
Grant funds from the Agency, the payment posted to the student’s account must either be
cancelled or adjusted if the student fails to enroll, withdraws or changes enrollment level

prior to the institution’s receipt of funds from the Agency.

Documentation must exist regarding the date of disbursement of the State Grant payment.
The disbursement date is the date that the Agency requires the institution to determine the
student’s enrollment level prior to determining the amount of State Grant funds to be
disbursed to the student. The Agency and/or the institution’s independent public auditors
will use the disbursement date to verify the enrollment level of State Grant program
participants. Schools are required to report accurate term disbursement dates on the DDS

record for each student (Appendix 12).
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The disbursement date of all State Grant funds to a student made prior to the start of the

enrollment period will be the first day of required class attendance.

The disbursement date of all State Grant funds disbursed to a student after the start of the

enrollment period will be:

for State Grant funds paid to a student account, the date the funds are disbursed to the
student’s account or applied to tuition charges;

for State Grant funds that are mailed to the student or transferred by EFT, the date of
the check or EFT transaction unless the institution elects to use the previous day as the
disbursement date for all students paid using this method; or

for State Grant funds that are disbursed directly to the student via check, the date the

student picks up the check.

Payment Periods

The Agency designates that schools may have only two or three payment periods
during the academic year. The institution specifies on the budget questionnaire it
completes each year whether it will disburse aid on a semester (two periods) or

quarterly (three periods) basis.

For progressive clock hour schools, the length of a full-time payment period equals
the total number of hours in the full-time academic year (e.g., 900 clock hours)
divided by the number of payment periods (two or three). Payment periods should be
of approximately equal length and the total period covered by the payment periods
should equal the entire academic year. For example, if a clock hour school had a
1,200-hour academic year and disbursed aid on a semester basis, each full-time
payment period would consist of 600 hours. For students attending less than full-time,
the hours in the payment period must be adjusted accordingly. (See ‘Payment Periods

for Less Than Full-Time Enrollment at Progressive Clock Hour Schools.”)
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Late/Retroactive Disbursement

The State Grant disbursed to a student must be based on the student’s enrollment status as
of the date of disbursement. If a student withdrew from a class prior to disbursement,
those credits cannot be included in the student’s enrollment level. If a student withdrew
from school or dropped below three credits or its equivalent prior to disbursement, the
school cannot disburse any State Grant funds to the student for that term. All other grades,

including F, NC and I shall be counted when determining the student’s enrollment level.

At non term-based credit-hour schools, the State Grant award cannot be disbursed
retroactively for a term during which the student withdrew from school, even if one or
more sequential course modules were completed. Further, if a term is extended due to the
student withdrawing from one or more courses but continuing on at the school, the
student’s enrollment level for retroactive State Grant disbursements cannot include credits

for withdrawn courses.

In cases where a student earns an F for every class taken during a term and the Title IV
federal financial aid guidelines require the school to verify the student actually attended
classes, the results of the verification shall also apply to the State Grant program. That is,
if the school determines the student did not attend a class or classes or unofficially
withdrew during the term, the school must also calculate a refund for the State Grant
program. (See ‘Award Adjustments for Refunds for All F Grades’ in the ‘Refund Process’

section of this chapter.)

If a school disburses a State Grant to a student who is later determined to have a
withdrawal date set prior to the disbursement, the school must complete the OHE Refund
Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13) to determine if a refund is due the State Grant
program. This can occur in cases where a school is not required to take attendance and

becomes aware of the withdrawal after the date of disbursement.

A student is eligible to receive retroactive payment for a past term, even if the student is

not currently enrolled in a subsequent term, provided the student currently meets all of the
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other program eligibility requirements as of the date of disbursement. If payment is for a
term that has already been completed, the disbursement must be based on the student’s

enrollment status as of the end of the term.

For example, if a student met all the program eligibility requirements throughout fall term
but was placed on a child support hold during spring term prior to the school disbursing
funds for fall and spring terms, the school cannot disburse funds to the student for either
term because the student does not meet all the program eligibility requirements as of the
date of disbursement. The same logic applies to a student who is not making satisfactory
academic progress (and has exhausted appeals and probationary periods) at the time of

disbursement even if the student was making satisfactory progress during a previous term.

Method of Disbursement to Students

Each school may disburse funds to students using one or a combination of the following
methods. The institution may disburse State Grant funds:

e by institutional check directly to the student,

e Dby an institutional check that is mailed to the student,

e to the student’s account, or

e to the student by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT).

Whichever methods of disbursement are used, the school must document the date of
disbursement and the amount of State Grant funds disbursed to the student. The Agency

holds schools liable for improperly disbursed checks.

If the school disburses the State Grant payment directly to the student, the student must be
paid by check. When disbursing a check to the student, the institutional representative
should request proper identification (preferably a picture ID) and check the student’s
social security number. Once the check has been signed and cashed, the Agency will not

refund or replace it.
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The institution may exercise the option of mailing the checks to the student. The

institution must maintain a record that documents for each student included in each

transaction the:

e student’s name,

e source and amount of state and other financial aid funds included in the payment to
the student,

e number of the institutional check, and

e the date that the check was mailed to the student if different from the date of the
check.

The institution is liable for all funds that are lost. The institution will have to reimburse

either the student, the Agency or both for any lost State Grant funds.

If the institution credits State Grant funds to the student’s account, the institution must
document:

e student’s name,

e amount and type of charges paid by each transaction in the student’s account, and
e source and amount of state and other financial aid funds disbursed to the student’s

account.

If the institution chooses to disburse State Grant funds to the student by initiating an EFT
to the bank account designated by the student, the institution must obtain authorization

from the student to disburse by that method.

Each State Grant aid award must be based on the student’s enrollment level as of the date

the funds are electronically transferred to the student. The following standards apply to

EFTs:

e The date of the EFT transaction must be documented. This will be considered the date
of disbursement unless the institution elects to take the following option.

e At the institution’s option, the date of disbursement may be one business day prior to

the date of the EFT transaction.
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For each EFT transaction, the institution must maintain a dated record that documents for
each student included in the transaction the:

e student’s name,

e source and amount of state and other financial aid funds included in the EFT,

e the amount of the EFT,

e student’s bank account number, and

e name of the bank into which the funds were deposited.

The institution is liable for all funds that are lost. The institution will have to reimburse

either the student, the Agency or both for any lost state financial aid funds.

Disbursement to Incarcerated Students
Disbursement of the State Grant for an incarcerated student should be arranged with the
education director at the correctional facility. The award may be credited to a student’s

account at the school or disbursed to the student through the education director.

Disbursement to Students Studying Abroad

If tuition is paid at the Minnesota institution for study abroad, the student’s State Grant
check should be credited to the student’s account. Any excess funds can be mailed to the
student or deposited in the student’s bank account via EFT unless the school is authorized
by the student to hold a balance in the student’s account. If the student must pay tuition at
the foreign school, the school may mail the check to the student or deposit the funds in the
student’s bank account via EFT, if so authorized. However, the student must be registered
for credit at an eligible Minnesota school or the eligible Minnesota school must have a

consortium agreement with the foreign school.

Payment of Unpaid Institutional Charges
At the time of disbursement, a school may require a student to pay all institutional charges
currently due the school. Minnesota financial aid recipients cannot have stricter payment

requirements than students who don’t receive financial aid.
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7. Student Account Balances

Unless otherwise authorized by the student, whenever an institution applies state financial
aid funds to a student’s account and determines that the amount of those funds exceeds or
exceeded the amount of allowable charges the institution assessed the student, the
institution must pay that balance directly to the student as soon as possible but within 14
days of the later of:

a. the date that balance occurs,

b. the first day of classes of a payment period/period of enrollment as applicable, or

c. the date the student rescinds his or her authorization.

If a school receives authorization to hold excess funds, the school must identify the student
or parent and the amount of funds the school holds for the student or parent in a subsidiary
ledger account designated for that purpose. The school also must maintain, at all times,

cash in its bank account at least equal to the amount the school holds for students.

Because state financial aid funds are awarded to students to pay current year charges,
notwithstanding any authorization obtained by a school from a student or parent, the
school must pay:

e any remaining balance on state loan funds by the end of the loan period, and

e any other remaining balance on state financial aid program funds by the end of the last

payment period in the award year for which they were awarded.

If a school cannot locate a student to whom a state financial aid credit balance must be
paid, the school must return the credit balance to the appropriate state financial aid
program. The Agency does not specify how a school should determine which financial aid
funds created the credit balance. However, when possible, the Agency encourages schools
to return state financial aid fund balances to the SELF Loan program first to reduce the

likelihood of default.

The school is permitted to retain any interest earned on the student’s credit balance funds.
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Student Authorization

An institution must obtain from a student written authorization allowing the institution to:
e disburse State Grant funds via EFT,;

e hold excess funds in the student’s account; or

e apply State Grant funds to prior year charges other than for tuition, fees, room and

board.

In obtaining authorization for any of these activities, an institution may not require the
student to provide that authorization and must allow the student to rescind that

authorization at any time.

The authorization granted to an institution is valid for the award year or the period of
enrollment in which the institution obtains that authorization. The initial authorization will
continue to be valid provided that the institution notifies the student of the provisions
regarding the student’s current authorization prior to conducting any of the activities that
require authorization for any subsequent award year. The institution’s notice to the student
must, in a plain and conspicuous manner, explain those provisions including an
explanation regarding any interest that the institution earns on the student’s funds and
whether the institution will provide that interest to the student. The notice must also

provide the student with the opportunity to cancel or modify those provisions.

C. Institutional Responsibilities Prior to Disbursement

1. Notification of Students

Schools are responsible for letting students know when their State Grant payments will be
ready for disbursement. Notification may include a letter to the student or announcement

of disbursement dates.

Certification and Monitoring of Student Eligibility
Prior to disbursement, a school is responsible for certifying that a student meets the
program eligibility requirements outlined in the ‘Program Eligibility Requirements’

section of this chapter.
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3. Federal Verification

Before disbursing the State Grant award, the school is responsible for verifying the data on
the student’s application when selected by the federal government using the verification
criteria procedures and tolerances established by the Department of Education for federal
student aid programs. This requirement also applies to schools that do not participate in
federal aid programs. Schools should refer to the federal Application and Verification
Guide for the aid year in question for detailed instructions. The verification guide and an

on-line verification tutorial are available at www.ifap.ed.gov.

If a student’s application was not selected for verification until after the State Grant was
disbursed, all future disbursements must be held until verification is performed. If
verification corrections result in a reduced award, the school must bill the student for the
overpayment and return the overpayment to its State Grant account. If a student fails to
produce the required verification documentation, the student should be billed for the entire

amount previously disbursed.

Adjusting Payments Due to Revised Award

Schools are responsible for adjusting a student’s State Grant payment if a change in
federal need analysis results, Pell Grant, or the budget used to calculate the State Grant
resulted in a revision to the student’s State Grant award. If a school receives a revised
ISIR after the deadline by which it must make Pell Grant adjustments and the ISIR would
result in a decreased Pell Grant and an increased State Grant, the school cannot increase

the student’s State Grant if it did not decrease the student’s Pell Grant.

Adjusting Payments Based on Enrollment Status

Schools must generate State Grant payments based on the enrollment status as of the
disbursement date. Because the amount of the State Grant award varies based on the
student’s enrollment status, the school must make certain it is generating a payment for the
appropriate enrollment level. (See also ‘Adjustments to Award Based on Change in

Enrollment Level’ and Appendices 20 and 21 for further information.)
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a. Payment Periods for Less Than Full-Time Enrollment

at Progressive Clock Hour Schools

Schools using progressive clock hour disbursement must reduce the number of clock
hours in a student’s payment period if the student attends on a less than full-time
(Level 15) basis. Thus, if a full-time (Level 15) payment period is 600 hours for a
school with a 1,200-hour academic year split into two payment periods, payment
periods for less than full-time (Level 15) enrollment would be reduced

proportionately, as shown in the chart in Appendix 15.

For less than full-time students, State Grant payment periods may be different than
Pell Grant payment periods due to different enrollment levels for the State Grant and
Pell Grant programs. For samples of State Grant payment periods, please refer to

Appendix 15.

To arrive at the number of clock hours in a State Grant payment period for less than
full-time (Level 15) enrollment, multiply the number of hours in a full-time academic
year by the percentage shown on the following chart and divide the result by 3 (three
payment periods per academic year) or 2 (two payment periods per academic year).

Sample payment period charts are available in Appendix 15.
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Determining Number of Clock Hours in Academic Year
for Less Than Full-Time Enrollment
state Grant Level | AYOIL NI O M emic Year by: |
Level 15 30+ 1.0
Level 14 28-29 933
Level 13 26-27 .867
Level 12 24-25 .800
Level 11 22-23 733
Level 10 20-21 .667
Level 9 18-19 .600
Level 8 16-17 533
Level 7 14-15 467
Level 6 12-13 400
Level 5 10-11 333
Level 4 8-9 267
Level 3 6-7 .200

b. Determining Enrollment Status Throughout the Academic Year
at Progressive Clock Hour Schools

(1) Enrollment Status for Initial Payment Period

When the State Grant award is disbursed within the first two weeks of the
student’s initial payment period at the school, the amount of the award and the
number of hours in the student’s payment period should be based on the

enrollment level for which the student has contracted or registered.

In cases where the State Grant is disbursed after the first two weeks of the
student’s initial payment period, the enrollment status used to determine the award
and hours in the payment period should be based on the average hours per week

the student has completed to date.

Payment periods and enrollment levels must also be determined for students who
do not financially qualify for an award, in which case the “disbursement date” is

the date the schools determines the student’s enrollment level and payment period.
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2

Since students are not eligible to receive a State Grant during high school, any
hours completed before the student finished high school should not be considered

when determining the student’s enrollment level.

Once the State Grant award has been disbursed for the initial payment period, the
disbursement does not have to be subsequently adjusted if the student’s average
hours per week fall short or exceed the enrollment level used to calculate the
original award. However, if the student withdraws from school, then a refund
calculation is required. (See ‘Total Withdrawal — Progressive Clock Hour

Schools’ under ‘Refund Process’ section of the State Grant manual.)

Once the student completes the number of hours in the initial payment period, the
school should calculate and disburse the State Grant award for the next payment
period. In cases where the student withdraws during a payment period and re-
enrolls at a later date, see also ‘Post-Withdrawal Disbursement for Returning

Students at Progressive Clock Hour Schools.’

Enrollment Status for Subsequent Payment Periods

When the State Grant award is disbursed within the first two weeks of a
subsequent payment period, the enrollment level used to calculate the award and
determine the number of hours in the current payment period must be based on the
number of hours per week the student actually averaged during the preceding
payment period. For example, if the student received a full-time Level 15 State
Grant for the initial payment period based on contracting for 30+ hours per week
but only averaged 24 hours per week during the initial payment period, the
enrollment level used to determine the award and payment period hours for the

next payment period would be 24 hours per week, or Level 12.

When the State Grant award is disbursed after the first two weeks of a subsequent
payment period, the enrollment level used to calculate the award and determine

the number of hours in the payment period must be based on the number of hours
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per week the student actually averaged during the preceding payment period up
through the date of disbursement for the current payment period. Thus, if a
student completed four weeks of the current payment period prior to State Grant
disbursement, the enrollment level used to calculate the award and payment
period hours would be based on average hours per week from the beginning of the
preceding payment period through the end of the fourth week of the current

payment period.

These same rules apply even when a student does not financially qualify for an

award.

If the student’s average hours per week during the previous payment period
through the date of disbursement for the current payment period fall below the
minimum enrollment level (six clock hours per week), the school must delay
calculation and disbursement of the award for the current payment period until the
student’s average hours per week for the previous payment period through the
disbursement date of the current payment period meet or exceed the minimum

enrollment level of six hours per week, or Level 3.
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Example of Payment Periods for 1,550 Hour Cosmetology Program
Academic Year Defined as 1,200 Clock Hours With Two Payment Periods

Payment Period 1 | Payment Period 2 | Payment Period 3

Disbursement First day of First day of Delayed until first

Date Payment Period 1 Payment Period 2 day of fourth week of
Payment Period 3

Contracted Hours | Full-time 35 hours | N/A N/A

per Week

Enrollment Level | Level 15 (based on | Level 12 (based on | Level 14 (based on

for Payment contracted hours) average hours for average hours per

Period Payment Period 1) | week during
Payment Period 2
through third week of
Payment Period 3)

Payment Period 600 hours 480 hours 560 hours

Hours (600 x 12/15ths) (600 x 14/15ths)

Calendar Time to | 9/4/06 — 02/25/07 02/26/07 — 6/23/07 | 6/26/07 — 10/06/07

Complete Period 25 weeks 17 weeks 15 weeks

Average Hours 600/25 =24 = 480/17 =28 = 470/15=31=

per Week for this | Level 12 Level 14 Level 15

Period

Total Program 600 completed 1,080 completed 1,550 completed

Hours Completed/ | 950 remaining 470 remaining 0 remaining

Remaining at End

of Payment Period

(3) When Disbursement is Substantially Delayed

In cases where the student has attended the institution for a number of months
prior to disbursement of the State Grant award, the school may have to determine
the student’s enrollment level for multiple payment periods based on the average
hours per week to date. For example, if the student started a program in September
and the initial disbursement was delayed until March, the school would determine
the student’s average hours per week from September through March and use that
enrollment level to determine the award and payment period hours for multiple
payment periods. This same rule applies to students who do not financially qualify

for an award.
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Example of Delayed Disbursement at Clock Hour Institution

Length of Student’s 1,550 clock hours
Cosmetology Program
School’s Definition of Full-Time | 1,200 clock hours split into two full-time

Academic Year and Payment payment periods of 600 clock hours

Period

Period of Student’s Enrollment | From September 2006 through February 2007
Prior to Disbursement student completed 750 clock hours in 25.8 weeks
Enrollment Status Used to 750 clock hours divided by 25.8 weeks =29.07
Calculate Awards and Payment | hours per week = Level 14

Period

Student’s first payment period 560 hours (600 hours X 14/15ths)

Student’s second payment 560 hours (600 hours X 14/15ths)

period

Student’s third payment period | After student completes 1,120 hours, school will
average hours per week during the second
payment period and base third payment period
and award on that enrollment level

6. Adjusting Payments for Clock Hour Programs When Remaining

Program Hours Are Less Than The Number of Hours in Payment Period
If the number of clock hours remaining in the student’s program is less than the number of
hours in the payment period, the school must first calculate the State Grant award for the

entire payment period and then prorate the award using the following formula:

State Grant Award for Number of Clock Hours Remaining in Student’s Program
Entire Payment Period X Number of Hours in Payment Period

For example, a student is enrolled full-time (averaging 30+ clock hours per week) in a 350
hour program at a school with an academic year of 1,200 hours split into two payment
periods. A full-time payment period would be 600 hours. The payment period award
would initially be calculated based on costs for a 600 hour period. However, because there
are only 350 hours remaining in the student’s program, the award would then be prorated

by multiplying the award by 350/600 clock hours, or by .583.
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7. Adjusting Payments for Term-Based Clock/Credit Hour Programs

When Program Length Does Not Correspond to Term Length
Term-based clock hour schools disburse aid to students based on the amount of time

that has passed, not the number of clock hours completed.

If the length of a student’s program does not directly correspond to term length, the State

Grant term award must be adjusted to reflect the length of the program.

In cases where program length directly corresponds to term length, the student may
receive the standard term payments. For example, if a program consisted of two quarters,

the student would be eligible for two standard term payments.

In cases where the entire or remaining program length does not directly correspond to term
length, the State Grant term award for the student’s enrollment level must be prorated

according to the following formula:

Pro-Rating Term Award for Term Based Clock/Credit Hour Program
Less Than One Academic Year in Length

a. The number of weeks remaining in the student’s program
The number of weeks in the term

b. Multiply the student’s State Grant term award by the result of (a).

For example, a student is enrolled in a program lasting 18 weeks. The school’s semesters
are each 15 weeks in length so the student’s award for the second semester would be

prorated to 3/15, or .20.

Adjusting Payments for Leaves of Absence
A school cannot disburse State Grant funds to a student who is on a leave of absence. (See

definition in ‘Common Definitions’ chapter.)
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The hours in a leave of absence are ignored for purposes of averaging hours per week and

disbursing aid at clock hour schools. For example, if a student is scheduled to receive a

term payment every 517 hours, the leave of absence hours would be excluded as follows:

e Student receives check covering 517 hours
e After completing only 200 hours, student takes a leave of absence

e Check covering second payment period cannot be disbursed until student returns to school
and completes the remaining 317 hours of the first payment period.

VIIl. DDS Reporting Requirements

A. General Description of DDS System

All participating schools are now required to administer the State Grant program on campus

using the Decentralized Delivery System (DDS).

With DDS, the school is responsible for screening the student’s application using the FAFSA

record it receives from the FAFSA processor and the Minnesota State Grant program Student

Eligibility Questionnaire (Appendix 2). Once the school completes the student’s application,

the school then calculates the student’s State Grant award using the Shared Responsibility

term award calculation (Appendix 8). The Agency advances State Grant funds to schools each

term to cover anticipated payments. The school then notifies the student about his/her State

Grant eligibility via the financial aid award letter and makes disbursements from its State

Grant account to the student at the onset of each term. The school reports award and payment

activity to the Agency on at least a monthly basis throughout the academic year. Any refunds

for students who did not enroll, withdrew or changed enrollment status are deposited back in

the school’s State Grant fund, the balance of which must be returned to the Agency at the close

of the aid year. The deadline for returning funds to the Agency is August 31.

. Requesting State Grant Funds

Schools must request State Grant funds using the SG web access screen along with submitting

an up-to-date DDS batch. The Agency can adjust a school’s advance based on previous year

spending patterns or the sum of term awards in the school’s most recent DDS batch. The
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Agency can also delay a school’s advance if the school is not meeting the reporting schedule
deadlines described below.

C. Required Reporting Schedule
Each school is responsible for submitting a batch containing DDS records for both State Grant
recipients and no-need students to the Agency on at least a monthly basis. This is to ensure
that the State Grant database contains current information about awards and payments for the
fiscal year in question. (See definition of no-need under ‘Selection of Student Records for
DDS Batches.’)

D. Reporting Deadlines

Schools should make an effort to submit their initial DDS batch to the Agency prior to making
any disbursements in order for the Agency to check for hold data and verify accuracy of

awards and payments.

While submitting DDS batches to the Agency on at least a monthly basis, schools must

incorporate the following reporting deadlines:

e Schools must submit a DDS batch suitable for production prior to receiving their initial
funds advances for the new aid year. For schools who process aid for the leading summer
term, the initial batch should be submitted in June. For schools with aid years starting with
fall term, the initial batch should be submitted by August 1.

e Schools with payments for the leading summer term should submit a batch reflecting
payment activity by July 15.

e Fall term payment activity for terms starting in August or September must be reported no
later than October 1. For fall terms starting in early October, fall term payment activity
must be reported no later than October 15.

e  Winter quarter payment activity must be reported no later than January 15.

e Spring term payment activity for terms starting in January or February must be reported no
later than March 1. For spring terms starting in March or early April, spring term payment

activity must be reported no later than April 15.



NUMBER PAGE

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL Section I 86

SECTION

DATE
State Grant Program July 2011

e Trailing summer term awards and enrollment levels should be reported as soon as students
have enrolled for the trailing summer term. Payment activity must be reported by July 1.
e Schools must submit an error-free final batch to the Agency by August 31 along with a

refund of all unused funds from that aid year.

Reporting deadlines are also shown in the ‘Calendar of Financial Aid Events and Deadline’ in

the introductory section of the Financial Aid Manual.

Selection of Student Records for DDS Batches

DDS batches should be cumulative and increase in volume throughout the year as more

students apply and complete their financial aid applications.

Schools must report data for students who meet all the program eligibility requirements such
as residency (see ‘Comprehensive List of Eligibility Requirements’ in this chapter), have
completed financial aid applications, will enroll at the school for one or more terms of the aid
year, and have been evaluated for a State Grant using the Shared Responsibility term award
calculation (Appendix 8) and found to either be recipients or no-need students. No-need
students are those who meet all the program eligibility requirements but do not show financial
need for a State Grant award. It is critical for the Agency to have both recipient and no-need
records on its database in order to conduct accurate program expenditure projections and
simulations for proposed changes to the award formula. DDS batch selection criteria are

illustrated in Appendix 11.

The DDS Record Layout
A description of the DDS Record Layout can be found in Appendix 12.

The DDS record is 960 bytes long and contains fields for most of the data elements collected
on the student’s FAFSA record as well as need analysis results, enrollment level, term

award/payment amounts and accurate term disbursement dates.
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The DDS record is identical for both recipients and no-need students, although the school

should report zeros for the award and payment fields on the record for no-need students.

. Reporting Student Enrollment Status on the DDS Record

When a school first reports a student’s record to the Agency, the school should report an
assumed full-time enrollment status (15 credits) for the student for all terms of the school’s
standard academic year (fall through spring terms) unless the school is aware of the student’s
actual enrollment level for those terms. Term enrollment status for the leading and trailing
summer terms should not be populated until the student registers for those terms unless the

school has a reliable means of knowing the student will enroll for either of those terms.

Throughout the course of the school year the school should be updating term enrollment status
on the DDS record for students who do not enroll or end up enrolling less than full-time. Term

enrollment status must be updated on both recipient and no-need records.

If a student withdrew or changed enrollment status after the State Grant was disbursed and the
full amount of the difference in the awards for the initial and revised enrollment levels was not
required to be returned to the State Grant program, the school should continue to report the

enrollment level at which the student was initially paid. (See also Appendix 20 for examples.)

. Methods for Submitting DDS Batches

Schools should submit batches to the Agency using the SG web access screen. Schools may
also use an automated SFTP process to transmit DDS batches to the Agency. Schools
interested in submitting data via SFTP must contact the grant unit to obtain a username,
password and directory. In either case, the Agency will need to know the name of the school
sending the batch, the cut-off date for the batch and the balance of funds remaining in the
school’s State Grant account on campus. Most schools have designed their reporting software

to include this information in designated fields on the trailer record for the DDS batch.
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Reviewing DDS Batch Output Reports

When the Agency processes a batch of DDS records, it checks to make sure the student does
not have an eligibility problem by checking for child support holds, SELF default holds,
overpayment holds and four years of aid holds on its database. It also uses the data on the
school’s DDS record to calculate the federal need analysis results and the State Grant award.
The Agency’s calculation results are then compared to the data submitted by the school and
any discrepancies are noted. If discrepancies are outside the established tolerances, the award

and payment data for the student is rejected.

Data about eligibility problems, award discrepancies and rejected payments is provided on a
series of on-line output reports generated for the school after the DDS batch is processed by

the Agency. Reports can either be viewed on-line or downloaded to the school’s system.

The output reports generated when a DDS batch is processed are the Roster of Rejected
Awards/Payments (Appendix 16), the Award Error Detail Roster (Appendix 17), the Roster of
Accepted Payments (Appendix 18) and the Reconciliation Report (Appendix 19). Reports are

accessed at: https://www.ohe.state.mn.us/SSL/SG/Index.cfm.

The school is responsible for reviewing DDS batch output reports and resolving errors prior to
the school reporting its next DDS batch. The school should refer to the appropriate appendices

for detailed instructions on reviewing these reports and resolving errors.

IX. Refund Process

A. General Information and Deadlines

All refunds should be for an even dollar amount with cents rounded to the nearest dollar.

Any refunds of student State Grant payments must be returned to the school’s State Grant
account on campus for the given aid year regardless of the dollar amount of the refund.
Schools are responsible for calculating the amount of student refunds within a reasonable
amount of time and returning funds to the State Grant account in a timely manner. Any

remaining balance in the account must be returned to the Agency by the end of year deadline
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for the DDS system or within ten (10) working days of a written request from the Agency.
Failure to meet this deadline will result in the Agency delaying funds advances for the next
academic year. After the school has returned the end of year account balance to the Agency,
any student refunds discovered after that point should be sent directly to the Agency along
with the Refund Return Form (Appendix 22).

. Refunds for Students Who Do Not Attend

If a student fails to attend any classes for a term or payment period, any State Grant funds
disbursed to the student or credited to the student’s account must be fully refunded to the

school’s State Grant account on campus.

Calculating Refunds for Students Who Change Enrollment
Level or Withdraw After State Grant Disbursement

If, according to the refund policy the school is required to use, there is a refund of institutional
charges for a student who withdrew from school or had a change in enrollment, all or a portion
of that student’s refund may be due to the State Grant program. (See ‘Common Definitions’

chapter for a definition of “Withdrawal Date.”)

Each institution is responsible for refunds of unused institutional charges when a student

changes enrollment status or withdraws from school.

The Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13) or similar form
should be used to document the calculation of refunds to the State Grant program. The
worksheet is for the school’s use and is not intended to be sent to the Agency. Use of this
particular refund calculation worksheet is not a program requirement but if the school does not
use this worksheet, the Agency requires that the school design some type of comparable
refund worksheet in order to document the calculation of State Grant refund transactions. This
worksheet is also available in spreadsheet format on the Agency’s web page under Campus

Financial Aid Administrator Resources, Program Forms, Spreadsheets & Instructions.
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1. Change in Enrollment Level

a.

Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools

If, according to the policies described under ‘Adjustments to Awards Based on
Change in Enrollment Level,” the school is required to complete the Agency’s Refund
Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13b) for students who withdrew from a class but
were still enrolled for three or more credits for the term, the amount of the refund due
the State Grant program will be the lesser of: the difference between the State Grant
term award for the original and current enrollment level or a proportional amount of
the school’s refund of institutional charges based on the refund policy the school is
required to use. If there is no refund of institutional charges based on the institution’s

refund policy, the school is not required to return funds to the State Grant program.

The following example illustrates the difference between a case where the Agency’s
Refund Calculation Worksheet would be used (Case A) and a case of award
recalculation (Case B) which, while requiring a refund, does not necessitate use of the
Agency’s Refund Calculation Worksheet. (The Refund Calculation Worksheet is used
when a student attends and then withdraws from a class or classes. Recalculation of
the award occurs when a student drops a class or classes without having attended the

class.)
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Example of Adjustments to Award Due to Reduced Enrollment

State Grant Refund Recalculation
Term Awards Case A Case B
Level 15 $800 | The student initially received a The student initially received a
Level 14 $746 | Level 15 State Grant of $800 for Level 15 State Grant of $800 for
Level 13 $694 | fall quarter after starting classes. fall quarter but did not begin a
Level 12 $640 | The student then withdrew from a two-credit course and dropped
Level 11 $586 | two-credit class the student had those two credits, resulting in an
Level 10 $534 | attended and the enrollment status enrollment status change to
Level 9 $480 | changed to Level 13. The difference | Level 13. The State Grant must
Level 8 $426 | between Level 15 and Level 13 be recalculated and the difference
Level 7 $374 | term awards is $106. Therefore, up | between Level 15 and Level 13
Level 6 $320 | to $106 of the refund is due the term awards ($106) must be

Level 5 $300 | State Grant program. The school’s returned to the State Grant
Level 4 $287 | refund calculation (Appendix 13b) program.

Level 3 $250 | results in a refund to the State Grant
program of $90.

Therefore, only $90 would be
returned to the State Grant program.
The school would not have to bill
the student for the remainder.

b. Non Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools
Non term-based credit-hour schools that combine sequential course modules into a
term are not subject to refund calculations for partial withdrawals. Since courses are
offered sequentially, student withdrawals are subject to refunds for total withdrawals
and/or refunds for award recalculations. (See ‘Enrollment Level at Non Term-Based
Credit-Hour Schools,” ‘Adjustment of Awards for Students Attending Non Term-
Based Credit-Hour Schools’ and ‘Total Withdrawal — Non Term-Based Credit-Hour

Schools’ sections in this manual for further guidance.)

2. Total Withdrawal
a. Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools
This policy refers to students who withdraw from school (or below three credits) after
attending classes. If a student withdraws without attending classes, the State Grant
term award must be recalculated to zero and the State Grant term award disbursement

must be returned to the State Grant program. This also applies if the student attends
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classes but is granted a withdrawal date retroactively to the first day of the term. (See

‘Backdated Withdrawal Date’ in this section.)

Schools should refer to the definition of “withdrawal date” contained in the ‘Common
Definitions’ chapter of this manual to determine the date of withdrawal. If the refund
policy the school is required to use results in a refund of institutional charges and,
after the institution’s share of any required refund to Title IV programs has been
refunded (Unearned Title IV Aid Due from the School, Step 5.0. of Title IV Refund
Worksheet), a proportional share of any remaining refund (Line E of Office of Higher
Education Refund Calculation Worksheet), not to exceed the amount of the State
Grant payment the student initially received for the term, must be returned to the State
Grant program. Schools should use the Agency’s Refund Calculation Worksheet
(Appendix 13a) to calculate the amount of funds to return to state financial aid
programs. The worksheet is also available in spreadsheet format on the Agency’s web
site under Campus Financial Aid Administrator Resources, Program Forms,

Spreadsheets & Instructions.

If a school disburses a State Grant to a student who is later determined to have a
withdrawal date set prior to the disbursement, the school must complete the OHE
Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13) to determine if a refund is due the State
Grant program. This can occur in cases where a school is not required to take

attendance and becomes aware of the withdrawal after the date of disbursement.

On Line A of the Refund Calculation Worksheet, the school would enter the total
amount of all (federal, state, institutional, private) financial aid and cash applied to the
original institutional charges for the term or payment period, not to exceed the amount
of original institutional charges. In other words, if a student received $4,000 in
financial aid and original institutional charges were only $3,500, the excess $500
disbursed to the student for non-institutional expenses would not be reported on

Line A.
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On Line B of the refund worksheet, the school would report the amount of
institutional charges it is allowed to retain per its institutional or state-mandated refund
policy. Most schools rely on their institutional or accrediting agency’s refund policy,
but certain proprietary schools are required to use a state-mandated policy, such as
cosmetology and barber schools (Minnesota Board of Barbers and Cosmetologist
Examiners), truck driving schools (Department of Public Safety) and for-profit

institutions not offering degrees (Minnesota Statues Chapter 141).

In the case where a school is first performing an award recalculation prior to a refund
for a withdrawal, the amounts on lines A and B should only include amounts for the
revised enrollment level. For example, if the school disbursed a Level 15 State Grant
to a student who first dropped or withdrew from a three-credit class without attending
the class, and then fully withdrew from school, the school would first refund the
difference between the Level 15 and Level 12 State Grants and then perform the

refund worksheet calculation using the Level 12 State Grant amount.

Line C of the refund worksheet is the gross refund calculated by subtracting Line B
from Line A. If the amount on Line C is not greater than zero, there is no refund
required for state financial aid programs. If Line C is greater than zero, the school
would report the amount of the school’s share of any required refund to federal
financial aid programs on Line D (from Step 5.0. of the federal refund worksheet),

with Line E representing Line C minus Line D.

If the amount on Line E is not greater than zero, no refund to state financial aid
programs is required. If the amount on Line E is greater than zero, it should distributed
on a proportional basis to non-Title IV aid programs requiring refunds, not to exceed
the actual amount the student received from each program. All Minnesota aid
programs (excluding State Work Study) from which the student received funds must
receive their proportional share of the remaining refund before the student may receive

any portion of the amount listed on Line E.
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To determine the proportional share of the refund due each non-federal financial aid
program, the school would first list all non-federal financial aid programs in Part Two
of the Refund Calculation Worksheet (Title IV aid, State Work Study earnings, and
payments made by the student should not be included) that require a portion of any
refund of institutional charges. For non-Title IV loans, use the total loan divided by
the number of attendance periods in the loan period. Institutional aid may also be
included. Once the amount of the total non-Title IV aid package is known, divide the
student’s State Grant for the term by the amount of the term’s total non-Title IV aid
package to determine what percentage of the total non-Title IV aid package is
comprised of State Grant funds. The same would apply to the other state financial aid

programs listed in Part Two of the worksheet.

Example of Proportional Distribution of Refund to Non-Federal Aid Programs

Aid Package for Fall Term

Pell Grant $ 600 Federal Title IV Aid
State Grant $ 300

Self Loan $ 200

YMCA Scholarship $ 800

Inst Scholarship $ 400

TOTAL $2,300

Case A

Refund of institutional charges = $1,000

Remaining refund after subtracting institutional share of Title IV refund = $700 ($1,000 - $300),
State Grant percentage of non-Title IV aid package = $300/$1,700 = .18

Amount of remaining refund due State Grant = $700 x .18 = $126

Case B

Refund of institutional charges = $3,000
Remaining refund after subtracting institutional share of Title IV refund = $2,700 ($3,000-$300]
State Grant percentage of non-Title IV aid package = $300/$1,700 = .18
$2,700 x .18 = $486, which exceeds State Grant term award of $300
$300 would be refunded to State Grant

b. Non Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools
When a student withdraws from a non term-based credit-hour school, the point of

withdrawal will determine whether the school must perform an award recalculation or
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C.

total withdrawal refund, or both. In general, if a student withdraws between a
completed course and the next course, an award recalculation is performed. If a
student withdraws during the last course of the term after beginning attendance in that
course, the school would perform a refund for a total withdrawal using the OHE
Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13a). If a student withdraws during a
course, and there are remaining courses in the term that will not be attended, the
school must first recalculate the State Grant award to exclude credits for the remaining
courses, and then perform a total withdrawal refund using the Refund Calculation
Worksheet (Appendix 13a) listing the State Grant award amount for the classes the
student did attend during the term. For further guidance, see sections ‘Enrollment
Level at Non Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools’ and ‘Adjustment of Awards for

Students Attending Non Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools’ in this manual.

(1) Post-Withdrawal Disbursement for Returning Students
at Non Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools

If a student at a non term-based credit-hour school withdraws from school and
subsequently reenrolls in the same program during the same aid year, any refunds
for award recalculations and withdrawals can be reversed and the original term
award reinstated, provided the student still meets all program eligibility
requirements. The length of the term would typically be extended and the
student’s enrollment level increased to compensate for the additional class. If the
student reenrolls in the next aid year, different guidelines apply. For further
guidance on both of these scenarios, refer to the sections on ‘Enrollment Level at
Non Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools,” ‘Adjustment of Awards for Students
Attending Non Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools,” and ‘Awards for Summer or

Non-Standard Terms’ in this manual.

Progressive Clock Hour Schools

This policy refers to students who withdraw from school (or below six clock hours per
week) after attending classes. If a student withdraws without attending classes, the
State Grant term award must be recalculated to zero and the State Grant term award

disbursement must be returned to the State Grant program.
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If a student withdraws and the refund policy used by the school results in a refund of
institutional charges, and after the institution’s share of any required refund to Title IV
programs has been refunded (Unearned Title IV Aid Due from the School, Step 5.0.
of Title IV Refund Worksheet), a proportional share of the remaining refund must be
returned to the State Grant program based on a percentage determined by dividing the
amount of State Grant funds received for the payment period by the total non-Title IV

aid received for that payment period or aid year.

Once the percentage is calculated, the refund remaining (Line E of the Office of
Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet) after federal aid programs have
been repaid is multiplied by the percentage and the result, not to exceed the amount of
the State Grant payment the student initially received for the State Grant program

payment period or aid year, is returned to the State Grant program.

For progressive clock hour schools with institutional refund policies based on the
amount of institutional charges that can be retained for a payment period, lines A and
B on Part One of the Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13) should be based
on the funds applied and charges retained for the payment period. Determining the
percentage of the payment period financial aid package covered by the State Grant can
be difficult because the payment period used for State Grant may be different from the

payment period used for other non-Title IV financial aid programs.

If the school’s refund policy bases the amount of institutional charges the school can
retain on scheduled rather than attended hours, the school must adequately document

both scheduled and completed hours for auditing purposes.

For purposes of calculating what percentage of the total payment period non-Title IV
aid package is comprised of State Grant funds, an hourly rate must be calculated.
Divide the State Grant payment for the payment period by the number of hours in the

State Grant payment period to determine the amount of State Grant per clock hour.
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Divide any other non-Title [V aid by the number of hours in the award period, which

may consist of more hours than a payment period, as shown in the chart that follows.

Example of Refund Distribution at Clock Hour Institution
Where Refund Period Based on Payment Period

Academic year = 900 hours (300 Clock Hours in Level 15 Payment Period)

State Grant Level 14 Payment $ 500

State Grant Level 14 Payment Period 280 clock hours = $1.79 (35.0%)

SELF Loan $2.000

SELF Loan Award Period 900 clock hours = $2.22 (43.4%)

Institutional Scholarship $1.000

Scholarship Award Period 900 clock hours = $1.11 (21.6%)
$5.12 (100%)
Total Non-Title IV
Aid Per Clock Hour

Total Refund of Institutional Charges $1,500

Institutional Share of Title IV Refund - 767

Remaining Refund $ 733

$733 x 35.0% = $257 State Grant Portion of Remaining Refund
$733 x 43.4% = $318 SELF Loan Portion of Remaining Refund
$733 x 21.6% = $158 Institutional Scholarship Portion of Remaining Refund

(1) Post-Withdrawal Disbursement for Returning
Students at Progressive Clock Hour Schools

If a student attending a progressive clock hour school withdraws from school but
re-enrolls at the school within 180 days of the withdrawal date, the student is
eligible to receive a State Grant for the payment period during which the student
withdrew. The school may not impose additional fees for the student to re-enroll
or require the student to re-enroll in the same program. If the school performed a
refund calculation for the withdrawal, the school may reverse the refunds to
financial aid programs as if the student never withdrew. In these cases, the State
Grant award is not revised from the award amount at the time of the initial
disbursement. If the State Grant for the payment period was not disbursed prior to

the withdrawal, it can be disbursed after the student re-enrolls based on the
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student’s enrollment level from the beginning of the previous payment period to
the current date of disbursement. For students who re-enroll in this manner, the
State Grant award for the next payment period cannot be disbursed until the
student completes the hours in the payment period during which the student

withdrew.

If a student attending a progressive clock hour school withdraws from school but
re-enrolls at the same school more than 180 days after the withdrawal date, the
timing of the next State Grant disbursement to the student will be based on the
terms of the contract under which the student re-enrolls. If the student re-enrolls
under the previous contract without incurring additional charges, the school may
not disburse additional State Grant funds to the student until the hours in the
payment period during which the student withdrew have been completed. If the
student re-enrolls under a new contract subject to additional charges, the student is
eligible to receive a State Grant disbursement at the onset of the new period of
enrollment as would any other new or transfer student. When students re-enroll
more than 180 days after the date of withdrawal, any refunds to state financial aid

programs for the student’s withdrawal cannot be reversed.

3. Total Withdrawal When School’s Mandatory Refund Policy

Applies to Program Length

If the institutional refund policy the school is required to use applies to charges assessed

and retained for the student’s entire program as opposed to a term or payment period,

Line A in Part One of the Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13) should reflect all
financial aid and cash applied to institutional charges to date for the aid year, not to exceed
the amount of institutional charges. Line B of the worksheet should reflect the amount of

institutional charges the institution is allowed to retain for the student’s program. Part Two

of the worksheet should reflect non-Title IV financial aid disbursed to date for the aid

year.
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Sample of Withdrawal Refund Calculation
When Refund Period is Based on Length of Program

Institutional Charges = $8,000 for 1550 hour cosmetology program
School defines aid year as 1200 clock hours, with two 600-hour full-time payment periods

Financial aid and cash applied to institutional charges:

MN State Grant = $2,700 first payment period; $2,700 second payment period

SELF Loan = $1,000 first payment period; $1,000 second payment period

Cash payment = $300 during first payment period
Student has been enrolled full-time but withdraws from school during second payment period at
hour 700.
Student has completed 45.2% of program (700/1550 = 42.5%)
School’s mandated refund policy allows school to retain 70% of institutional charges for the
program.

Part One of Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13)

Line (A) = $7,700 (all financial aid and cash applied to institutional charges to date for aid year)
Line (B) = $5,600 ($8,000 program charges x 70% institution can retain)

Line (C) = $2,100 ($7,700 - $5,600)

Line (D) = $0 (no Title IV financial aid disbursed)

Line (E) = $2,100 (to be distributed proportionally to non-Title IV financial aid programs)

Part Two of Worksheet (non-Title IV aid disbursed to date for aid year)
$5,400 State Grant (73%)

$2.000 SELF Loan (27%)

$7,400 Total Non-Title IV Financial Aid Disbursed (100%)

Distribution of Remaining Refund as shown on Line (E) Part One
$2,100 x 73% = $1,533 to MN State Grant
$2,100 x 27% = $567 to SELF Loan

4. Backdated Withdrawal Date
A student who withdraws from a class or classes and is granted a retroactive withdrawal
date back to the start date of the term will be treated as if the student never attended the
class or classes. The award must be recalculated to exclude credits granted a retroactive

withdrawal and the overpayment returned to the State Grant program.

5. Award Adjustment and Refunds for All F Grades
If a student receives a grade of F in all classes taken during the term, the applicable federal
financial aid guidelines requiring schools to document attendance in these cases also apply
to the Minnesota State Grant program. If the school determines that the student never

attended a class or classes, the State Grant award for the term must be recalculated to
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exclude the credits for the classes the student never attended and the overpayment
refunded to the State Grant program prior to any refund taking place for other classes the

student did attend but did not complete.

For example, a student enrolls and receives a State Grant disbursement for 15 credits at the
onset of the term. The student then receives a grade of F in all courses for the term. The
school determines the student never attended one 3-credit class, did attend and complete
three 3-credit classes and did attend but stopped attending another 3-credit class. In this
case, a refund would not be required for the Pell Grant program since the student attended
at least one class and, therefore, earned the F grade. However, for Minnesota State Grant,
the award must first be recalculated to exclude the 3-credit class the student never attended
and any overpayment refunded to the program prior to completing the Refund Calculation
Worksheet (Appendix 13) to determine the refund for the one 3-credit class the student

attended but did not complete (that is, an unofficial withdrawal).

The state does not impose any stricter requirements upon schools to document attendance
in these cases beyond those already in place for federal financial aid programs. In other
words, if the school first documents the student did attend at least one class and is,
therefore, eligible for the federal Pell Grant, the state does not require the school to

document attendance in all classes for the term.

Withdrawal for Military Service or Service-Related Medical Condition

When a student must withdraw from school for military service, the standard refund policy
for withdrawals is used. However, state law provides special options for students whose
postsecondary education at a Minnesota school is affected due to military service or a
service-related disability. The applicable law can be accessed at www.leg.state.mn.us by

retrieving Statute 192.502.
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X. Accounting and Audit Requirements

A. General

Each institution must designate an employee(s) as the institutional representative to perform or
supervise all financial and accounting activities related to the Minnesota State Grant program.
Auditors from the Office of Higher Education will periodically visit each participating school
to perform an audit. Schools have the option of hiring a private auditing firm to conduct the
audit of state aid programs in conjunction with an audit of federal financial aid programs. (See
also ‘Audits’ under ‘Common Definitions’ chapter for criteria for hiring independent auditing

firm.)

Each participating school must establish a procedure by which an audit can be conducted by
going to no more than three administrative offices within the school. In most cases, these will
be the financial aid office, the business office and the registrar’s office, but that choice is made

by the school.

The school must make available all pertinent books, documents, papers and records for audit
and examination for three years after the last day of a fiscal year or until all audit exceptions

for the period are resolved.

Upon request by the school, the Agency will supply an updated State Grant program audit
guide.

. Documentation of Student Eligibility

All schools must have written documentation that the student meets all of the program

eligibility requirements described in the ‘Student Eligibility’ section in this chapter.

With respect to written documentation of enrollment status, the actual documentation, such as
a fee statement or transcript, need not be kept at the financial aid office but must be readily

available at the registrar’s office or other responsible department within the school.
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C. Documentation of State Grant Receipts,
Disbursements and Refunds

1. General Ledger

All schools must maintain an audit trail in the form of a general ledger (see Appendix 14

for example) by state fiscal year that tracks the following transactions:

e the date and amount of State Grant funds sent by the Agency to the institution;

e the date and amount of State Grant funds disbursed by the institution to students. The
institution should keep supporting documentation for disbursement entries that
identifies the amount of State Grant funds disbursed to the student by check or
deposited in the student’s institutional or bank account by student name and social
security number. The institution must reconcile financial aid records to business office
records regarding the amount of State Grant paid to each student;

e the date and amount of State Grant refunds or repayments from students deposited
back into the institution’s State Grant account on campus. The institution should keep
supporting documentation for refund entries that identifies the amount of State Grant
funds deposited back into the institution’s State Grant account for each student by
student name and social security number. The school must also keep a copy of the
refund calculation worksheet, or the school’s facsimile, used to calculate the State
Grant refund; and

e the date and amount of State Grant funds returned to the Agency by the institution at

the end of each fiscal year.

D. Reconciliation
1. Reconciling State Grant Disbursement Records
At the end of each fiscal year, the financial aid office needs to reconcile its record of State
Grant disbursements with:
e the Agency’s records of State Grant disbursements, and

e the institution’s business office records of State Grant disbursements.
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To complete the reconciliation, the financial aid office needs to ensure the total amount

listed as disbursed to eligible students agrees with both the business office and the

Agency’s total.

In addition, the financial aid office needs to verify that they have the same amount

disbursed to each student as the business office and the Agency. This process includes, but

is not always limited to, the following steps:

STEP 1.

STEP 2.

The institution selects their official record of State Grant disbursements. This
must be the record used to submit batches to the Agency and can be

maintained by the financial aid office or the business office.

Institution determines that its official record and the Agency records agree by

verifying:

e all disbursements of State Grant funds have been submitted to the
Agency,

e that there are no outstanding rejected payments, and

e the total amounts disbursed by the institution and the total amount of

payments accepted by the Agency agree.

[Note: If the institution is not able to transmit payment data to the Agency due to

software errors, the Agency will not grant the school credit for those payments.]

STEP 3.

Institution determines that the records of the business office and the financial
aid office are in agreement. If appropriate, any differences should be corrected
by adjusting the non-official State Grant disbursement record. If the school

needs to adjust its official record, the institution must repeat Step 2.

The student must be eligible to receive any increased award payments made to him or her

as part of the reconciliation process.
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This part of the reconciliation should establish that:

e the business office and the financial aid office recorded the same total disbursements,
and

e for each student, the business office and the financial aid office recorded the same

disbursements.

2. Reconciliation Summary Report

Reconciliation between the school and the Agency occurs each time the school submits a
batch of student records reflecting payments to date. The Reconciliation Summary Report
generated during batch processing reflects the amount of funds advanced to the school, the
amount of payments in the current batch accepted by the Agency, and the remaining
balance due the Agency at the end of the academic year. (See Appendix 19 for further

information about this report.)

3. Return of Excess Funds
The school must return all excess funds to the Agency no later than August 31. Schools
must also honor any requests for return of excess cash balances sent by the Agency
throughout the aid year and return the requested amount within 10 days of receiving the

request.

E. Utilization of State Grant Fund Interest Earnings

Schools are allowed to utilize any interest earnings on State Grant funds advanced to the
institution to offset administrative costs incurred by the financial aid office from administering

the State Grant program on a decentralized basis.

Prohibition Against Charging Student Fees
The school shall not, under any circumstances, collect from State Grant applicants or
recipients any special fees for charges to directly cover the cost of administering the State

Grant program.
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G. Student Account Requirement

If a school maintains student accounts, the school must provide the student with an itemized
statement of the account at least annually and upon termination of enrollment. (See also

‘Student Authorization” under ‘Disbursement Process’ section of this chapter.)

. Summary of State Audit Requirements: Institutional

Documentation for the Minnesota State Grant Program
At a minimum, each school must be able to produce the following for auditors:

1. individual student financial aid files for State Grant recipients;

2. documentation that students meet program eligibility requirements as outlined under
‘Student Eligibility’ in this chapter;

3. documentation of the need analysis results used to calculate the student’s State Grant
award;

4. documentation of the student’s enrollment level at the time of State Grant disbursement;

5. documentation of the disbursement dates of payments to individual award recipients;

6. written documentation of refund calculations for individual award recipients [e.g., copy of
Refund Calculation Worksheet or Spreadsheet (Appendix 13a or 13b) or the school’s
facsimile];

7. written documentation of individual student refund amounts and the date these State Grant
funds were returned to the school’s State Grant account;

8. written definition of “satisfactory academic progress” and a policy which conforms to both
federal and state requirements;

99 <.

9. written definitions of “full-time student,” “three-quarter time student,” “half-time student,”
and “less than half-time student” for purposes of Federal Title IV programs;

10. documentation of the unusual circumstances requiring a professional judgment change of
dependency status or adjustment of EFC or cost of attendance; and

11. for private schools not participating in the Federal Pell Grant program, a signed student

disclosure statement (Appendix 23) for all enrolled students.
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Index

academic year
clock hour schools, 78
definition of, 52
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Award Advisory Roster, 54

award calculation, 41
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non-standard term, 55
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award notification, 54, 75
award revisions, 57
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attending multiple schools, 47
LME, 41




NUMBER PAGE
FINANCIAL AID MANUAL Section I 108
SECTION DATE
State Grant Program July 2011

student share, 49
tuition and fees, 42

Centralized Delivery System, 1
child support arrears, 22
citizenship requirement, 10
CLEP credits, 16

clock hour schools
payment period, 69
payment periods, 77
proration, 82

concortium agreement, 73
consortium agreement, 23
correcting applications, 5
correction deadlines, 8
crossover terms, 55

DDS record layout, 86
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reporting requirements, 85

default, 22

disbursement, 66
clock hour schools, 77
crediting student accounts, 72
disbursement date, 68
disbursing checks, 71
electronic funds transfer, 72
funds advances, 84
incarcerated students, 73
late disbursement, 70
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mailing checks, 72

payment periods, 69

retroactive disbursement, 70
student account balances, 74
student authorization, 75

when schools may disburs funds, 68

electronic funds transfer, 72
eligibility certification, 75
eligibility monitoring, 39, 40
eligibility reinstatement, 40
eligibility requirements, 9
eligible non-citizen, 10

enrollment status
adjusting awards due to change in, 24, 90
adjusting payments based on, 76
attending two schools for same term, 30
clock hour schools, 78
clock hours, 24
consortium agreement, 23
credit hours, 24
interim terms, 32
non-standard terms, 32
remedial course work, 15, 29
reporting on DDS record, 87
written definition of, 25

Expected Family Contribution, 51
FAFSA, 2

federal Pell Grant, 51

foreign course work, 15, 73

four years of postsecondary education
clock hour transcripts, 20
exclusions, 15
inability to obtain transcripts, 19
interim terms, 18
maximum units, 12
postsecondary enrollment options, 16
reviewing transcripts, 14
units, 11, 12, 16, 17

funds advances, 66, 84
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home school, 31

incarcerated students, 42, 73

Initial Eligibility Problem Roster, 4
institutional eligibility, 8
institutional liability, 39, 58
interest earnings, 104

interim terms
enrollment level, 32
on transcripts, 18

late disbursement, 70
leave of absence, 83
limit on postsecondary attendance, 11

living and miscellaneous expense allowance, 41
attending multiple schools, 47
incarcerated students, 42
when less than full-time, 41

LME, 41
loan default, 22

military service
units for, 15
withdrawal, 13, 15, 100

Minnesota resident, 10
no need record, 86
non-standard term, 55
non-standard terms, 32
notification of awards, 54
on-line hold report, 33
overpayment, 21, 57

parent contribution, 49
surcharge, 50

payment periods, 69
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units for, 16

professional judgment, 5
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program objectives, 1
program overview, 1

proration
clock hour schools, 82
leave of absence, 83
non-standard term, 56
term based schools, 83

recalculation of award, 57
reciprocity restriction, 33

reconciliation, 102
Recociliation Summary Report, 104

refunds, 88
all F grades, 99
change in enrollment level, 90
deadline, 88
failure to enroll, 89

Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet, 89

withdrawal, backdated, 99
withdrawal, clock hour school, 95
withdrawal, military service, 100
withdrawal, program length, 98
withdrawal, term-based school, 91

remedial course work, 15, 29
resident, 10

retroactive disbursement, 70
satisfactory academic progress, 33
SG web access screen, 22, 37, 66, 67

Shared Responsibility Formula, 2, 41
attending multiple schools, 47, 53
federal Pell Grant, 51
parent contribution, 49
student contribution, 50
student share, 49
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tuition and fees, 42

special conditions, 5
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student account requirement, 105
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student account requirements, 74, 75
student authorization, 75

student contribution, 50
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student disclosure statement, 4, 8, 105
student eligibility, 9

student share, 49

study abroad, 73

summer term, 55

surcharge, 50, 51

transcripts, 14
clock hour transcripts, 20
inability to decipher, 19
inability to obtain, 19
requirement to request, 40
transcript review spreadsheet, 17

transfer students
award calculation, 53

tuition and fee maximum, 42

tuition and fees, 42
attending multiple schools, 47
average, 45
clock hour schools, 47
mandatory fees, 45
tuition and fee maximum, 42
waivers, 46

U.S. citizenship, 10
verification, 6, 76

withdrawal
calculating refund, 91, 95
for military service, 100
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136A.121 Grants.
Subdivision 1. [Repealed, 1989 ¢ 293 s 85]

Subd. 2. Eligibility for grants. An applicant is eligible to be considered for a grant, regardless of the
applicant’s sex, creed, race, color, national origin, or ancestry, under sections 136A.095 to 136A.131 if
the office finds that the applicant:

(1) is a resident of the state of Minnesota;

(2) is a graduate of a secondary school or its equivalent, or is 17 years of age or over, and has met all
requirements for admission as a student to an eligible college or technical college of choice as defined
in sections 136A.095 to 136A.131;

(3) has met the financial need criteria established in Minnesota Rules;

(4) is not in default, as defined by the office, of any federal or state student educational loan; and

(5) is not more than 30 days in arrears in court-ordered child support that is collected or enforced by the
public authority responsible for child support enforcement or, if the applicant is more than 30 days in
arrears in court-ordered child support that is collected or enforced by the public authority responsible
for child support enforcement, but is complying with a written payment agreement under section

518A.69 or order for arrearages.

Subd. 3. Allocation. Grants must be awarded on a funds available basis to those applicants who meet the

office’s requirements.

Subd. 4. [Repealed, 1989 ¢ 293 s 85]

Subd. 5. Grant stipends. The grant stipend shall be based on a sharing of responsibility for covering the

recognized cost of attendance by the applicant, the applicant’s family, and the government. The amount of

a financial stipend must not exceed a grant applicant’s recognized cost of attendance, as defined in

subdivision 6, after deducting the following:

(1) the assigned student responsibility of at least 46 percent of the cost of attending the institution of the
applicant’s choosing;

(2) the assigned family responsibility as defined in section 136A.101; and
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(3) the amount of a federal Pell grant award for which the grant applicant is eligible. The minimum

financial stipend is $100 per academic year.

Subd. 6. Cost of attendance.
(a) The recognized cost of attendance consists of:
(1) an allowance specified in law for living and miscellaneous expenses, and
(2) an allowance for tuition and fees equal to the lesser of the average tuition and fees charged by the
institution, or a tuition and fee maximum if one is established in law. If no tuition and fee
maximum is established in law, the allowance for tuition and fees is equal to the lesser of:
(1) the average tuition and fees charged by the institution, and
(2) for two-year programs, an amount equal to the highest tuition and fees charged at a public
two-year institution, or for four-year programs, an amount equal to the highest tuition and
fees charged at a public university.
(b) For a student registering for less than full time, the office shall prorate the cost of attendance to the

actual number of credits for which the student is enrolled.

The recognized cost of attendance for a student who is confined to a Minnesota correctional institution
shall consist of the tuition and fee component in paragraph (a), with no allowance for living and

miscellaneous expenses.

For the purpose of this subdivision, “fees” include only those fees that are mandatory and charged to full-
time resident students attending the institution. Fees do not include charges for tools, equipment,

computers, or other similar materials where the student retains ownership.

Fees include charges for these materials if the institution retains ownership. Fees do not include optional

or punitive fees.

Subd. 7. Insufficient appropriation. If the amount appropriated is determined by the office to be
insufficient to make full awards to applicants under subdivision 5, awards must be reduced by:
(1) adding a surcharge to the applicant’s assigned family responsibility, as defined in section 136A.101,

subdivision 5a; and
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(2) a percentage increase in the applicant’s assigned student responsibility, as defined in subdivision 5.

The reduction under clauses (1) and (2) must be equal dollar amounts.

Subd. 7a. Surplus appropriation. If the amount appropriated is determined by the office to be more than
sufficient to fund projected grant demand in the second year of the biennium, the office may increase the
living and miscellaneous expense allowance in the second year of the biennium by up to an amount that
retains sufficient appropriations to fund the projected grant demand. The adjustment may be made one or
more times. In making the determination that there are more than sufficient funds, the office shall balance
the need for sufficient resources to meet the projected demand for grants with the goal of fully allocating
the appropriation for state grants. An increase in the living and miscellaneous expense allowance under

this subdivision does not carry forward into a subsequent biennium.

Subd. 8. [Repealed, 1Sp1985 ¢ 11 s 81]

Subd. 9. Awards. An undergraduate student who meets the office’s requirements is eligible to apply for
and receive a grant in any year of undergraduate study unless the student has obtained a baccalaureate
degree or previously has been enrolled full time or the equivalent for eight semesters or the equivalent,
excluding courses taken from a Minnesota school or postsecondary institution which is not participating
in the state grant program and from which a student transferred no credit. A student who withdraws from
enrollment for active military service or for a major illness, while under the care of a medical
professional, that substantially limits the student’s ability to complete the term is entitled to an additional
semester or the equivalent of grant eligibility. A student enrolled in a two-year program at a four-year

institution is only eligible for the tuition and fee maximums established by law for two-year institutions.

Subd. 9a. Full-year grants. Students may receive state grants for four consecutive quarters or three

consecutive semesters during the course of a single fiscal year. In calculating a state grant for the fourth
quarter or third semester, the office must use the same calculation as it would for any other term, except
that the calculation must subtract any federal Pell grant for which a student would be eligible even if the

student has exhausted the Pell grant for that fiscal year.



FINANCIAL AID MANUAL Section II o

SECTION DATE
State Grant Program July 2011

Subd. 9b. Onetime grant for high school-to-college developmental transition program.

(a) A student who enrolls in a program under section 135A.61 is eligible for a onetime grant to help pay
expenses to attend the program. The amount of the grant must be determined according to
subdivision 5, except as modified by paragraph (b). The requirement in subdivision 9a that subtracts a
federal Pell Grant award for which a student would be eligible, even if the student has exhausted the
federal Pell Grant award, does not apply to a student who receives a grant under this subdivision in
the award year in which the grant is received. The maximum grant under this subdivision must be
reduced by the average amount a student would earn working in an on-campus work-study position
for ten hours per week during a summer term. The office must determine an amount for student
earnings in a summer term, using available data about earnings, before determining the amount
awarded under this subdivision.

(b) For a student with an expected family contribution of zero, the maximum amount of the grant is the
cost of attendance under subdivision 6.

(c) A grant under this subdivision counts as one of the nine semesters of eligibility under subdivision 9.
A grant under this subdivision must not be awarded for the same term for which another grant is

awarded under this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for students who graduate from high school after
December 31, 2009.

Subd. 10. [Repealed, 1Sp1993 ¢ 2 art 2 s 26]
Subd. 11. Renewal conditions. Each grant is renewable, contingent on continued residency in Minnesota,
satisfactory academic progress, recommendation of the eligible institution currently attended, and

evidence of continued need.

Subd. 12. Annual application. To continue to receive a grant, the student must apply for renewal each

year.

Subd. 12a. Free application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) compliance. All eligible institutions

must implement policies and procedures that ensure that applicants are aware that they must annually
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complete the FAFSA to be eligible for financial aid.

Subd. 13. Deadline. The deadline for the office to accept applications for state grants for a term is 30 days
after the start of that term.

Subd. 14. [Repealed, 1Sp1985 ¢ 11 s 81]
Subd. 15. [Repealed, 1989 ¢ 293 s 85]

Subd. 16. How applied; order. Grants awarded under this section must be applied to educational costs in
the following order: tuition, fees, books, supplies, and other expenses. Unpaid portions of the awards

revert to the grant account.

Subd. 17. Independent student information. The office shall inform students in its financial aid
publications about the definition of independent student status and appeals to the financial aid

administrator relating to the declaration of the status.

Subd. 18. Data.

(a) An eligible institution must provide to the office data on student enrollment and federal and state
financial aid.

(b) An institution or its agent must provide to the office aggregate and distributional financial or other
data as determined by the director that is directly related to the responsibilities of the office under this
chapter and chapter 141. The director may only request aggregate and distributional data after
establishing and consulting with a data advisory task force to determine the need, content, and detail
of the information. Data provided by nonpublic institutions under this paragraph is considered

nonpublic data under chapter 13.

Subd. 19. Reporting. By November 1 and February 15, the Office of Higher Education must provide, to
the committees of the legislature with jurisdiction over higher education finance and policy, updated state
grant spending projections taking into account the most current and projected enrollment and tuition and
fee information, economic conditions, and other relevant factors. Before submitting state grant spending

projections, the Office of Higher Education must meet and consult with representatives of public and
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private postsecondary institutions, the Department of Finance, the Governor’s Office, legislative staff, and

financial aid administrators.

History: 1971 ¢ 862 s 4; 1975¢ 2715 6; 1975¢390s 5; 1977 ¢ 384 s 2; 1977 ¢ 449 s 16; 1979 ¢ 238

s 1-4; 1981 ¢ 359 s 15,16; 1983 ¢ 258 s 42; 1984 c 654 art 4 s 21; 1Sp1985 ¢ 11 s 30-42; 1987 ¢ 258 s 12;
1987 ¢ 401 s 17,18; 1989 ¢ 246 s 2; 1989 ¢ 293 s 27; 1991 ¢ 292 art 5 s 2; 1991 ¢ 356 art 8 s 6-8; 1992
cS513art1s13;1993¢340s 1; 1Sp1993 c2 art2s9,10; 1994 ¢ 532 art2s5; 1995 ¢ 212 art 3
§22-26,59; 1997 c 183 art 2 s 4,5; 1998 ¢ 384 s 8; 1999 c 214 art 2 s 5; 1Sp2001 ¢ 1 art 2 s 10,11; 2002
c220art5s5;2002c 374 art 5s1;2003 c 133 art 2s9-13; 2005 c 107 art 2 s 17-22; 2005 ¢ 164 s 29;
1Sp2005 ¢ 7528

NOTE: The additional semester or the equivalent of grant eligibility under subdivision 9, as amended by
Laws 2005, chapter 107, article 2, section 20, applies to any student who withdrew from enrollment in a
postsecondary institution after December 31, 2002, because the student was ordered to active military

service as defined in section 190.05, subdivision 5b or 5¢. Laws 2005, chapter 107, article 2, section 59.

136A.131 Accounting and Records.
Subdivision 1. Accounts. The office shall establish and maintain appropriate accounts and related records

of each recipient of a grant.

Subd. 2. Rules, payment and accounting. The office shall provide by rule the method of payment of the

grant awarded and prescribe a system of accounting to be kept by the institution selected by a recipient.

Subd. 3. Certification to commissioner of finance. Upon proper verification for payment of a grant, the
office shall certify to the commissioner of finance the amount of the current payment to be made to the

grant recipient in conformance with the rule of the office governing the method of payment.

Subd. 4. Recovery of overpayments. A recipient of a grant must reimburse the office for overpayment.
The amount of reimbursement is the difference between the amount received and the amount of actual
entitlement as calculated by the office after it makes its final findings under section 136A.121 and rules

implemented under that section. The amount of reimbursement may include any costs or expenses,



FINANCIAL AID MANUAL soctionts | 9"

SECTION DATE
State Grant Program July 2011

including reasonable attorney fees, incurred by the agency in collecting the debt. The reimbursement is
recoverable from the recipient or the recipient’s estate. The agency may institute a civil action, if

necessary for recovery.

The recipient must not receive additional awards until the overpayment is recovered or the recipient is
making payments under an approved plan. Additional awards for which the recipient is eligible may be

used to recover an unreimbursed overpayment.

History: 1971 ¢ 862 s 5; 1973 ¢ 492 s 14; 1975 ¢ 271 s 6; 1989 ¢ 293 5 30; 1995 ¢ 212 art 3 s 59

136A.1311 Cash Flow.

The Minnesota Office of Higher Education may ask the commissioner of finance to lend general fund
money to the grant account to ease cash flow difficulties. The Minnesota Office of Higher Education must
first certify to the commissioner that there will be adequate refunds to the account to repay the loan. The
commissioner shall use the refunds to make repayment to the general fund of the full amount loaned.
Money necessary to meet cash flow difficulties in the state grant program is appropriated to the

commissioner of finance for loans to the Minnesota Office of Higher Education.

History: 1991 ¢ 356 art 8 s 14; 1995 ¢ 212 art 3 s 59; 2005 ¢ 107 art 2 s 60
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4830.0200 SCOPE.

Parts 4830.0200 to 4830.0700 govern state grants.

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.04; 136A.111; 136A.121; 136A.132; 136A.141; 136A.16; 136A.233; 136A.234;
136A.70
Hist: 8 SR 196; 8 SR 2335; 9 SR 991; 15 SR 1780

4830.0300 ELIGIBLE SCHOOLS.
Subpart 1. Annual list. Annually the director shall approve a list of schools at which a state grant may be

used. Schools may be added to the list by the director anytime during the school year.

Subp. 2. Requirements. To be eligible a school must:
A. be located in Minnesota;
B. offer at least one program that:
(1) is vocational or academic in nature;
(2) leads to a certificate or degree;
(3) is at least eight weeks long; and
(4) involves at least 12 academic credits or 300 clock hours;
C. be:
(1) accredited by a federally recognized accrediting agency or association;
(2) approved to offer degrees or use terms in its name according to part 4840.0500; or
(3) licensed by an appropriate state agency;
D. sign an institutional agreement with the director; and
E. have the necessary administrative computing capability to administer the program on campus and

electronically report student data records to the office.

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.01; 136A.04; 136A.111; 136A.121; 136A.132; 136A.141; 136A.16; 136A.233;
136A.234; 136A.70
Hist: 8 SR 196; 8 SR 2335; 9 SR 991; 9 SR 2341; 15 SR 1780; 18 SR 1141; 20 SR 2284; 24 SR 518
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4830.0400 APPLICATION DATES AND STUDENT ELIGIBILITY.
Subpart 1. Date. Annually the office shall adopt by resolution a date after February 14, by which all

applications must be filed to receive an award.

Subp. 2. [Repealed, 15 SR 1780]

Subp. 2a. Out-of-state housing. A student’s Minnesota residence is not lost if the student or parent must
live outside of Minnesota for purposes of postsecondary education, military service, or missionary work,
provided the student or parent continues to claim Minnesota as the state of legal residence for income tax

purposes.

Subp. 3. [Repealed, 15 SR 1780]

Subp. 4. Eligibility for initial grant. To be eligible for an initial grant a student must be an eligible
student, as defined in part 4830.0100, subpart 5, except item D, and:
A. demonstrate financial need;

B. ifunder 17 years old, hold a high school diploma or the equivalent;

O

pursuing a program or course of study that applies to a degree, diploma, or certificate;

O

must not have received a previous Minnesota state grant; and

e

is not more than 30 days in arrears for any child support payments owed to a public agency
responsible for child support enforcement or, if the student is more than 30 days in arrears, is

complying with a payment plan for arrearages.

Subp. 5. Renewal awards. A grant is renewable for a maximum of six semesters, nine quarters, or the
equivalent, but must not continue after the first of the following occurrences:

A. the recipient has obtained a baccalaureate degree; or

B. the recipient has been enrolled on a full-time basis for eight semesters, 12 quarters, or the equivalent,

taking into account the exclusions specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.121, subdivision 9.

To be eligible to renew a grant a student must apply each year and continue to meet the requirements for
an initial grant, except for subpart 4, item D. A student must have made satisfactory academic progress as

defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.101, subdivision 10.
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Subp. 5a. Child support arrearages. A grant is not renewable if the recipient is more than 30 days in
arrears for any child support payment owed to a public agency responsible for child support enforcement
and not subject to a payment plan for arrearages or not in compliance with a payment plan for the

arrearages.

Subp. 6. [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]

Subp. 7. Minnesota correctional institution. “Minnesota correctional institution” means a federal or
state penal institution located in Minnesota in which students are eligible for grants under this rule
pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.121, subdivision 6.

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.01; 136A.04; 136A.111; 136A.134; 136A.16; 136A.234; 136A.70; 147.30

Hist: 8 SR 196; 8 SR 2335; 9 SR 991; 10 SR 2319; 13 SR 128; 15 SR 1780; 16 SR 1822; 18 SR 1141; L
1995 ¢ 212 art 3 s 59; 20 SR 2284

4830.0500 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]

4830.0600 AWARDS.
Subpart 1. [Repealed, 23 SR 594]

Subp. 1a. [Repealed, 23 SR 594]

Subp. 1b. [Repealed, 13 SR 128]

Subp. lc. [Repealed, 13 SR 128]

Subp. 1d. [Repealed, 13 SR 128]

Subp. le. Awards for fourth quarter or third semester. In calculating a state grant for the fourth
quarter or third semester within a fiscal year, the award shall be calculated as specified in Minnesota

Statutes, section 136A.121, subdivisions 5 and 9a.

Subp. 2. [Repealed, 28 SR 889]
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Subp. 3. [Repealed, 10 SR 2319]

Stat Auth: MS s 14.388; 136A.01; 136A.04; 136A.111; 136A.134; 136A.16; 136A.234; 136A.70;
147.30

Hist: 8 SR 196; 8 SR 2335; 9 SR 991; 10 SR 2319; 13 SR 128; 15 SR 1780; 20 SR 2284; 23 SR 594; 28
SR 889

4830.0700 METHOD OF PAYMENT.

Subpart 1. Payments to schools. After a grant award is determined, the award amount shall be sent by the
director to the school chosen by the recipient or the school shall withdraw the award amount from its state
grant account. The school shall apply the award to the recipient’s educational costs in the following order:
tuition, fees, books, supplies, and other expenses. The costs must be prorated for each term of the

academic year. The school shall notify each recipient that the award is ready for disbursement.

Subp. 2. Refunds. A grant is awarded for full-time attendance at a specified school for up to four quarters
or three semesters within the state fiscal year. If a recipient fails to enroll or reduces enrollment, the
school must refund the unused portion of the award. If the director determines that a school has
fraudulently handled grant money, the refund of the unused portion of the award is immediately due, and
the office may institute a civil action for recovery if necessary. Refunds to the office are determined as
follows:

A. calculate the percentage the state grant award represents of the student’s total financial aid package
for the applicable term, excluding funds received from federal Title IV programs, United States Code,
title 20, sections 1070-1099;

B. calculate the total tuition refund amount using the refund calculation required of schools participating
in federal Title IV programs;

C. subtract the federal aid programs’ refund amount from item B to determine the remaining tuition
refund amount; and

D. multiply the percentage in item A by the amount calculated in item C to determine the amount to be

refunded to the state grant program.

Refunded money to the state grant program is available for awards to eligible students.
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Subp. 3. School accounting requirements. Schools shall maintain separate accounts for grant funds.
Refunds to the state grant program must be accompanied with a list stating the social security number,
name, award type, amount of refund, term, and refund code for each student included in the refund. The
refund must be made to the program within 30 days from the end of the academic term, or 30 days from
the date the school is notified of a student’s withdrawal, whichever is less. Schools must provide
evidence, prepared according to generally accepted accounting principles, that all awards have either been

distributed or refunded to the program.

Subp. 4. Recovery of overpayments. An overpayment occurs when a grant recipient receives more
money than the recipient is eligible to receive under the award calculation. A grant recipient shall
reimburse the state grant program for overpayment regardless of the cause. The overpayment amount is
the difference between the amount received and the calculated award eligibility. The reimbursement
amount includes any costs or expenses incurred by the office in collecting the debt, including reasonable
attorney fees. The reimbursement is recoverable from the recipient or the recipient’s estate. The office

may institute a civil action for recovery if necessary.

The recipient must not receive additional awards until the overpayment is recovered or the recipient is
making payments under an approved plan. Additional awards for which the recipient is eligible may be

used to recover an unreimbursed overpayment.

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.01; 136A.04; 136A.111; 136A.134; 136A.16; 136A.234; 136A.70; 147.30
Hist: 8 SR 196; 9 SR 991; 10 SR 2319; 13 SR 128; 15 SR 1780; 18 SR 2482; L 1995 ¢ 212 art 3 s 59; 20
SR 2284

4830.1000 [Repealed, 10 SR 2417]

4830.1100 [Repealed, 10 SR 2417]

4830.1200 [Repealed, 10 SR 2417]

4830.1300 [Repealed, 10 SR 2417]
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4830.1400 [Repealed, 10 SR 2417]

4830.1500 [Repealed, 10 SR 2417]

4830.1550 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]

4830.1551 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]

4830.1552 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]

4830.1553 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]

4830.1554 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]

4830.1555 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]

4830.1560 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]

4830.1561 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]

4830.1562 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]

4830.1563 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]

4830.1564 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]

4830.1565 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]
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Minnesota State Grant Program
Delivery System

Decentralized Delivery System

Schools receive student’s FAFSA data from federal processor.

Schools screen applications for program eligibility requirements.

Schools calculate awards and notify students.

Schools report DDS records to Office of Higher Education (OHE) each month containing FAFSA,

award and payment data.

The Agency edits for certain eligibility criteria and checks schools’ awards and payments for

accuracy, generating output reports.

Schools resolve errors on output reports prior to disbursement.

Schools disburse funds to students and return excess funds to OHE at close of aid year.

Communication is between student and school.

All participating schools are now on the Decentralized Delivery System for the Minnesota State Grant

program.
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State Grant
Decentralized Delivery System

Final Batch & Fund Balance e

Cumulative batch of student application, award and payment data e

A y
e School Office of
« screen application Higher Education
« calculate award P « verify accuracy of
« notify student - award payments
«disburse funds « screen for selected
ereview error reports holds

Did student Make Yes Problems
list school correction on with student e
on FAFSA? SAR/ISIR Reject data?
Reports

Accepted
Central Reports Load data to
Processing |« State Grant e
System (CPS Funds database
'y Advances

0 [ Student ]

Student’s FAFSA, electronic
or renewal application to any
processor
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MINNESOTA STATE GRANT PROGRAM
STUDENT ELIGIBILITY QUESTIONNAIRE

AID YEAR:

Student Name: Social Security Number:
If you graduated from high school, please provide the name and If you graduated from high school, please provide the address at which you
address (city and state) of your high school and the year in which resided when you received your diploma:

you received your diploma:

If you did not graduate from high school, did you earn your G.E.D.? Please provide the address at which your parents resided when you
completed your Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA):

Yes No If “yes,” in which state?

If “yes,” date earned: / /

Please list all the states (or countries) in which you have resided, your dates of residence and your reason for residing (e.g., college, employment,
military service, place of birth, etc.) in each state. Please contact the college financial aid administrator if any of the following reasons for residing in
Minnesota apply to you or your spouse: active federal military service in MN, you are a spouse or dependent of a veteran who is a MN resident,
relocation to MN from presidential disaster area within 12 months of disaster declaration, immediate relocation to Minnesota as refugee from another
country.

Name of State Dates of Residence Reason for Residing in State

Please list the names of all schools you have attended after high school and the dates of attendance for each school. Do NOT include college courses
taken during high school. If you withdrew from college during a term due to a major illness while under the care of a physician, or you withdrew for
active military service after December 31, 2002, please make note of this below and provide the necessary documentation to your college financial aid
administrator. PLEASE LIST ALL COLLEGES ATTENDED, EVEN IF YOU DO NOT WISH TO TRANSFER CREDIT.

Name of College Dates of Enrollment Enrollment Level

Note: School should review an academic transcript from each school listed above to correctly assess the amount of postsecondary attendance.

If attending public college in Minnesota, are you receiving tuition reciprocity benefits from a neighboring state? Yes No
If you are currently residing outside of MN, are you enrolled in a distance education program offered by a MN college? Yes No

Student Signature Date Form Completed
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This Side for School Use Only

In addition to screening for eight full-time semesters of postsecondary education (or the equivalent) and Minnesota residency
on the reverse side of this form, the school is also responsible for verifying that the student meets the remainder of eligibility

requirements for the Minnesota State Grant program shown on this side of the form.

Student has not earned baccalaureate degree prior to
the start of the current academic year

Student is not in default on a federal student loan

Student is enrolled in an undergraduate program in
course work leading to a diploma, certificate or
degree

Student is a high school graduate, GED recipient or
will be 17 by the end of the academic year

Student is not receiving Tuition Reciprocity benefits
from another state
(applies only to MN public colleges)

Student meets federal and state requirements for
satisfactory academic progress

Student will be enrolled for 3 or more credits (or 6
clock hours per week at clock hour school)

Student does not owe the Office of Higher Education
for a State Grant overpayment

Student is not in default on a state SELF loan

Student is not more than 30 days past due on a child
support obligation

Student is a U.S. citizen or permanent resident of the
United States

Student’s FAFSA was received by federal processor
within 30 days of term start date

* The Office of Higher Education assists schools in screening for these variables by reporting data on the State Grant On-Line Hold Report.
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7§ State Grant Student Record Search - Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by MHESO -2 x|

File Edit Wiew Favaorites Tools  Help |

$Back ~ = - (@) 7} | Qsearch [GgFavortes nvedia 4 | By S -

Address I@ https: /v, mhesa.skate.mn.us/SsL/SG stateGrant 2. ofm j G0 |Links >
State Grant Student Record Search Results Log Out
Gi22/2004
Name SSN

Code Date (monthiyear) Description
4C8s 0304 * CHILD SUPPORT HOLD 2003-04

Units of Past State Grant Paid

Aid Year School Name Units Award Payment
2003-2004 CENTURY COLLEGE 11.2 1028 1028
2002-2003 CENTURY COLLEGE 1.2 1118 1118
2000-2001 COLLEGE OF VISUAL ARTS 24 4350 4350
19992000 COLLEGE OF VISUAL ARTS 0.4 4205 4384

Current Year Enrollment

2003-2004
Units .
School . Summer I Fall Winter Spring Summer IT
Credits | Paid | Crediis | Paid | Credits | Paid | Credits | Paid | Credits | Paid
CENTURY COLLEGE 11.2 oo 0 06 | 362 0 08 | b6 1] 0

Continue Log Out
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INSTITUTIONAL PARTICIPATION AGREEMENT
MINNESOTA STATE FINANCIAL AID PROGRAMS
(Excluding SELF Loan Program)

WHEREAS, The Minnesota Office of Higher Education (hereinafter “the Agency”) has been
designated as the agency to administer the Minnesota State Grant Program, State Work Study Program,
Postsecondary Child Care Grant Program, and Safety Officer’s Survivor Grant Program (hereinafter
“Programs”); and

WHEREAS, Program recipients must attend an eligible institution pursuant to Minnesota Statutes
136A.101, Subdivision 4, 136A.121, Subdivision 18, and Agency Rules 4830.0300. Subpart 2, unless
Minnesota Statutes and/or Agency Rules governing Programs dictate otherwise; and

WHEREAS,
(hereinafter “Institution”) desires to be recognized as an eligible institution for one or more of the above
mentioned Programs administered by the Agency; and

WHEREAS, the Agency, upon review of the Institution’s application for eligibility as evidenced by
the completion of Section XV of this Agreement and by providing the required signatures in this section,
the Agency does recognize the Institution as an eligible institution pursuant to Minnesota Statutes
136A.101, Subdivision 4, and Agency Rules 4830.0300, Subpart 2, but does not recognize such
eligibility with respect to Programs where Minnesota Statutes and/or Agency Rules governing the
Programs dictate otherwise;

THEREFORE, the parties agree to the following terms and conditions:

1. Designation of Institutional Employee(s)

The Institution must designate an employee(s) as the Institutional Representative(s) to perform or
supervise all financial aid and accounting activities.

1I. Limitation of Institutional Participation

An Institution is eligible to participate in the Programs subject to program eligibility limitations
specified in Minnesota Statutes and Agency Rules governing the Programs.

I1I. Program Administration

Both parties to this agreement agree to administer the Programs in accordance with all Federal and
Minnesota State Statutes and Agency Rules governing the Programs and the Program policies and
procedures contained in the most current version of the Agency’s Minnesota Financial Aid Manual.

This agreement is subject to all subsequent changes in both Federal and Minnesota State Statutes
and Agency Rules governing the Programs, and Program policies and procedures contained in the
most current version of the Agency’s Minnesota Financial Aid Manual.
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Iv.

VL

VIL

VIIL

IX.

Both parties acknowledge that the pertinent Program chapters of the Agency’s Minnesota
Financial Aid Manual will be updated on an annual basis and that written directives concerning
Program policies and procedures issued by the Agency in the interim will have the full force and
effect of the Agency’s Minnesota Financial Aid Manual, until they are so incorporated.

Terms of the Agreement

This Agreement shall be effective July 1, 2011, or upon final execution, whichever is later, and
shall remain in force until modified by mutual consent by both parties or terminated as hereafter
provided.

Modification or Termination of Agreement

The Agreement may be modified at any time upon mutual agreement of both the Agency and
the Institution.

The Agency or the Institution may terminate this Agreement at any time with or without cause
upon thirty (30) days written advance notice to the other party. Termination shall be effective on

the termination date given in the written notice. All requirements of the agreement related to
monies received shall remain in effect until resolved.

Assignment

The Institution shall neither assign nor transfer any rights or obligations under this Agreement
without the prior written consent of the Agency.

Amendments

Any amendments to this Agreement shall be in writing.

Audits

The books, records, documents, and accounting procedures, and practices of an outside party, if
applicable and relevant to this Agreement, shall be subject to examination by the Agency and the

Legislative auditors.

Affirmative Action

When applicable, the Institution must certify that it has received a certificate of compliance from
the Commission of Human Rights pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 363.073.

Workers' Compensation

In accordance with the provisions of Minnesota Statutes 176.182, the Agency affirms that the
Institution has provided acceptable evidence of compliance with the workers’ compensation
insurance coverage requirement of Minnesota Statutes 176.181, Subdivision 2.
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XI.

XII.

XI1I.

XIV.

Antitrust

The Institution hereby assigns to the State of Minnesota any and all claims for overcharges as to
goods and/or services provided in connection with this Agreement resulting from antitrust
violations which arise under the antitrust laws of the United States and the antitrust laws of the
State of Minnesota.

Voter registration

If the Institution is a state agency or a community based public agency or a non-profit corporation,
it shall provide non-partisan voter registration services and assistance, using forms provided by the
state, to employees of the institution and the public as required by Minnesota Statutes Section
201.162.

Sexual Harassment and Violence Policy

All eligible institutions, as defined in Minnesota Statutes 136A.101, Subdivision 4, must adopt a
Sexual Harassment and Violence Policy, as outlined in Minnesota Statutes 135A.15.

Data Practices

The Institution, whether public or private, and the Agency, will maintain and handle all
confidential, private and non-public data pursuant to the Minnesota Data Practices Act (“Act”)
(Minn. Stat. Chapter 13) in the administration of the Programs. The Institution and the Agency
agree that each will be responsible for its own acts or omissions relative to compliance with the
Act, and the results of such acts or omissions, to the extent authorized by law and shall not be
responsible for the acts of the other party and the results thereof.
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Certification

1. Name of Institution

(type or print)

2. Full Address
(type or print)

(type or print)

3. The six digit code assigned to the school by the U.S. Department of Education:

(FAFSA Code)

4. Name and Telephone Number of the Director of Financial Aid:

( )

Name Telephone Number

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties have caused this agreement to be duly executed intending to be bound thereby.

APPROVED INSTITUTION MINNESOTA OFFICE OF HIGHER EDUCATION
President, Chief Executive Officer Director of Financial Services

Name: Name: Tim Geraghty

Signature: Signature:

Date: Date:

Financial Aid Director

Name:

Signature:

Date:

Chief Fiscal Officer/Business Manager

Name:

Signature:

Date:
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Guidelines for Verifying
State Grant Eligibility Requirements
Eligibility Data Triggering Eligibility Verification*
Requirement and Suggested Documentation
U.S. Citizen or FAFSA citizenship questions; Federal Homeland Security and

Eligible Non-Citizen

SSA cross-check. Verification documentation the same as for
Title IV programs.

Undergraduate Program
No Baccalaureate Degree

FAFSA degree questions, school’s records. Transcripts or other
academic records must prove student does not have a
baccalaureate degree and is enrolled in an undergraduate
program.

Federal Loan Default

CPS interface with federal loan default data base (NSLDS).
Verification documentation the same as for Title IV programs.

Minnesota Residency

FAFSA parent and student state and date of legal residence;
address state; admissions records may possibly hold state of
high school graduation or GED and whether student is paying
resident tuition other than through a reciprocity agreement;
institutional form should be used to obtain data not on FAFSA
(state of high school graduation/GED, whether family resided in
Minnesota during high school attendance, date student last
moved to Minnesota, when student started postsecondary
education in Minnesota, purpose for residing in Minnesota).
Documentation must verify that student graduated from a
Minnesota high school while residing in Minnesota or student
earned a GED in Minnesota after living here 12 months or
dependent students' parents resided in Minnesota when FAFSA
was completed or student lived in Minnesota 12 months without
attending college on a half-time basis or more. Twelve month
requirement is waived for: students or spouses stationed in MN
for active federal military service; students who are a dependent
or spouse of a veteran who is a Minnesota resident; students (or
spouses of) who relocated to MN from an area declared a
presidential disaster area within the 12 months of the disaster
declaration, if the disaster interrupted the person’s
postsecondary education; persons defined as refugees under
USC Title 8 who, upon arrival in the U.S., immediately resettled
in MN and have continued to reside in MN. (Refer to ‘Common
Definitions’ chapter of this manual for definition and
documentation of MN residency.)

Not Receiving Tuition Reciprocity
Benefits from Another State

Admissions, business office and registration records.

*Data triggering selection for eligibility verification is not all inclusive. Schools may have other sources that

cause schools to question eligibility.
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Eligibility
Requirement

Data Triggering Eligibility Verification*
and Suggested Documentation

Limit on Postsecondary Education

FAFSA year in college, degree/certificate and bachelor’s degree
questions. Institutional form should ask student to list all
colleges attended and dates of enrollment. Academic transcripts
must be reviewed to determine units of postsecondary education
attended if student indicates previous enrollment of three or
more years. (Refer to State Grant manual for instructions on
reviewing transcripts.) The Agency’s State Grant On-Line Hold
Report (Appendix 3) shows units of State Grant paid to the
student in prior years. Schools can also access this data using the
State Grant Web Access Screen (Appendix 4). Federal NSLDS
system also shows previous attendance if student received
federal financial aid.

17 Years Old or High School
Diploma/GED

(High school students taking college
courses are not eligible for State
Grant)

FAFSA date of birth and high school graduation/GED response.
Documentation must prove student will be 17 or older by June
30th of the academic year or have high school diploma/GED.
Suggested documentation would be high school diploma or
GED certificate or birth certificate.

Enrolled 3 Credits or More in
Program Leading to Degree,
Diploma or Certificate

School's registration records. School must verify coursework is
applicable towards degree, diploma or certificate. Pell Grant
eligible credit equivalencies should be counted towards
enrollment status.

Satisfactory Academic Progress

State adopts federal satisfactory academic progress policy used
for Title IV financial aid programs.

State Grant Overpayment

The Agency stores data on its database about students who owe
for a State Grant overpayment and controls this eligibility
criteria by informing schools about students on hold. Student
must repay the Agency in full or enter into a repayment plan.
School can also access data using State Grant Web Access
Screen (Appendix 4) or State Grant On-Line Hold Report
(Appendix 3).

SELF Loan Default

The Agency stores this data on its database and controls this
eligibility criteria by informing schools about students on hold.
Student must repay loan in full or enter into a repayment plan.
School can also access data using State Grant Web Access
Screen (Appendix 4) or State Grant On-Line Hold Report
(Appendix 3).

Child Support Arrears

The Agency loads data from Human Services Department onto
its database and controls this eligibility requirement by
informing schools about students on hold. School can also
access data using State Grant Web Access Screen (Appendix 4)
or State Grant On-Line Hold Report (Appendix 3). DHS must
send electronic notification to the Agency that student has repaid
past due amount or entered into repayment plan.

*Data triggering selection for eligibility verification is not all inclusive. Schools may have other sources that

cause schools to question eligibility.
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Student's Name: Social Security #:
Minnesota State Grant Program Transcript Review Worksheet
Aid Year:
Units for Pre-July 1, 1992 Coursework Units for Post-July 1, 1992 Coursework
Semester Units
Quarter Credits Semester Credits Credits Quarter Units

12+ = 8 Units 12+ =12 Units 15+ 8 12

11-9 = 6 Units 11-9 = 9 Units 14 7.5 11.2

8-6 = 4 Units 8-6 =6 Units 13 6.9 10.4

5-0 = Bank Credits 5-0 = Bank Credits 12 6.4 9.6
* Translating total guarter bank credits to units. Divide total quarter bank credits by 12 to 11 5.9 8.8
determine number of full-time quarters. Multiply whole number portion of result by 8 units and assign 10 53 3.0
units to any remaining portion of result as follows: .00-.49 = 0 units; .50-.74 = 4 units; .75-.99 =6
units. Example: Total quarter bank credits = 32 credits divided by 12 = 2.66 FT quarters = 20 units 9 4.8 72
(2.00 x 8 units = 16 units; .66 = 4 units.) 8 43 6.4
** Translating total semester bank credits to units. Divide total semester bank credits by 12 to 7 37 5.6
determine number of full-time semesters. Multiply whole number portion of result by 12 units and 5 ) 13
assign units to any remaining portion of result as follows: .00-.49 = 0 units; .50-.74 = 6 units; .75-.99 = . :
9 units. Example: Total semester bank credits = 32 credits divided by 12 = 2.66 FT semesters. 2.66 FT 5 2.7 4.0
semesters = 30 units (2.00 x 12 units; .66 = 6 units.) 4 2.1 32
*** Total Units. After translating banked credits to units, add all units for total units. Four full-time 3 e 24
years = 96 units. However, schools on the quarter system may exceed the maximum by disbursing one . .
more quarter of aid to a student who has not exceeded 94.4 units. The corresponding cutoff for 2 1.1 1.6
semester system schools is 93.6 units. 1 5 8

Quarter School Bank || Semester School Name Bank
Name Term | Year | Credits | Units | Credits Term | Year | Credits | Units | Credits
Total Banked Credits | N/A Total Banked Credits | N/A

Total Quarter Units *

Total Semester Units

**

Total Units *** Terms of remaining eligibility

Date Reviewed:
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Student's Name:  Student Smith

Social Security #: 444-44-4444

Minnesota State Grant Program Transcript Review Worksheet

Aid Year:
Units for Pre-July 1, 1992 Coursework Units for Post-July 1, 1992 Coursework
Semester Units
Quarter Credits Semester Credits Credits Quarter Units
12+ = 8 Units 12+ = 12 Units 15+ 8 12
11-9 = 6 Units 11-9 = 9 Units 14 7.5 11.2
8-6 = 4 Units 8-6 =6 Units 13 6.9 10.4
5-0 = Bank Credits 5-0 = Bank Credits 12 6.4 9.6
* Translating total quarter bank credits to units. Divide total quarter bank credits by 12 to 11 5.9 8.8
determine number of full-time quarters. Multiply whole number portion of result by 8 units and assign 10 53 3.0
units to any remaining portion of result as follows: .00-.49 = 0 units; .50-.74 = 4 units; .75-.99 = 6
units. Example: Total quarter bank credits = 32 credits divided by 12 = 2.66 FT quarters = 20 units 9 48 72
(2.00 x 8 units = 16 units; .66 = 4 units.) 8 43 6.4
** Translating total semester bank credits to units. Divide total semester bank credits by 12 to 7 3.7 5.6
determine number of full-time semesters. Multiply whole number portion of result by 12 units and 5 ) 13
assign units to any remaining portion of result as follows: .00-.49 = 0 units; .50-.74 = 6 units; .75-.99 = . :
9 units. Example: Total semester bank credits = 32 credits divided by 12 = 2.66 FT semesters. 2.66 FT 5 2.7 4.0
semesters = 30 units (2.00 x 12 units; .66 = 6 units.) 4 2.1 32
*** Total Units. After translating banked credits to units, add all units for total units. Four full-time
— - . . . 3 1.6 24
years = 96 units. However, schools on the quarter system may exceed the maximum by disbursing one
more quarter of aid to a student who has not exceeded 94.4 units. The corresponding cutoff for 2 1.1 1.6
semester system schools is 93.6 units. 1 5 8
Quarter School Bank || Semester School Name Bank
Name Term | Year | Credits | Units | Credits Term | Year | Credits | Units | Credits
Mankato State Univ. Fall 89-90 12 8 Univ. of St. Thomas Fall 91-92 4 4
oo Wtr 89-90 10 6 o Sum 90-91 7 6
o Spg 89-90 5 5 o Sum 93-94 4 32
U of M — Mpls. Fall 93-94 12 6.4 Hamline University Sum 91-92 5 5
oo Wtr 93-94 10 53 Fall 92-93 15 12
oo Spg 93-94 17 8
oo Fall 95-96 16 8
oo Wtr 95-96 14 75
oo Spg 95-96 16 8
oo Sum 95-96 7 3.7
Total Banked Credits | N/A 5 (12= 417 Total Banked Credits | N/A 9 (12=15
FT Qtrs) FT Sems)
Total Quarter Units | 60.9 *0 Total Semester Units | 21.2 **9
Total Units *** (60.9 + 0 + 21.2 + 9) 91.1 Terms of remaining eligibility 1qtr 1sem Date Reviewed: 7/1/10
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2011-2012 STATE GRANT SHARED RESPONSIBILITY TERM AWARD CALCULATION

July 22, 2011

The 2011-2012 State Grant term award calculation is shown below. When prorating/multiplying, results should be rounded up or
down to the nearest dollar. (Round up if .50 or higher; down if .49 or lower.) Changes from 2010-2011 are underlined in red.

+ Average tuition and fees for | Use the lesser of the school’s average tuition and fees for 15 credits or the full-time tuition
term and fee maximum for the term. The four-year full-time tuition and maximum is $5,244 for a
semester and $3,496 for a quarter. The two-year full-time tuition and fee maximum is
(The average tuition and fees | $2,904 for a semester and $1,936 for a quarter. If the student is enrolled for fewer than 15
for the term is a uniform credits per term, both the average full-time tuition and fees and the applicable full-time
amount used for all students tuition and fee maximum for the term are prorated on a per credit basis for the student’s
at an institution and consists enrollment level (e.g., by 73.3 percent or 11/15ths for a student enrolled for 11 credits)
of tuition and mandatory fees and the lesser of the two is used in the award calculation. The full-time average tuition and
charged to all full-time fees or the full-time tuition and fee maximum are NOT increased if the student enrolls for
students) more than 15 credits. The tuition and fee maximum used for each student is based on the
student’s program of study. If the student is enrolled in a four-year degree program, the
four-year college tuition and fee maximum is used. If the student is enrolled in a two-year
or less program/degree, then the two-year college tuition and fee maximum is used. If the
student is paid a State Grant at multiple schools for the same term, the student cannot be
paid for more than a total of 15 credits per term. Students enrolled for fewer than three
credits per term are not eligible for State Grants.
+ Living and Misc Expense The 9-month annual full-time LME in statute ($7,000) is prorated for the term length

Allowance (LME) for Term

($3,500 for a semester; $2,333 for a quarter) and then prorated again if the enroliment
level is less than 15 credits (e.g., by 73.3 percent or 11/15ths if the student is enrolled for
11 credits). The LME is NOT increased if the student is enrolled for more than 15 credits.
If a student is paid a State Grant at multiple schools for the same term, the total amount of
LME used in all the award calculations cannot exceed the LME amount for 15 credits.
OHE has the authority to make further increases to the LME during the second year of the
biennium (2012-2013) to use up any projected surplus of funds.

State Grant Budget for Term

Derived by adding the term tuition and fees to the term LME.

Student Share
46.3%

46.3 percent of the State Grant Budget for Term (OHE has authority to adjust this
percentage during the year to address funding shortfalls).

Parent Contribution
for Term

2% rationing surcharge on
top of prorated Federal PC

Subtract only for dependent students. Prorate 100 percent of the 9-month annual Federal
Methodology need analysis Parent Contribution by term length (50 percent for semester
system; 33.33 percent for quarter system). Multiply the term amount by .96 _and then by
1.02. Subtract the result within the award calculation. Do NOT prorate for less than full-
time enrollment. (OHE has the authority to place a percentage surcharge on the PC due
to projected funding shortfalls.)

Student Contribution/
EFC for Term

2% rationing surcharge on
top of prorated Federal EFC

Subtract only for independent students. Prorate 100 percent of the 9-month annual
Federal Methodology need analysis Expected Family Contribution (EFC) by term length
(50 percent for semester system; 33.33 percent for quarter system). Multiply the term
amount by .86 and then by 1.02 (shorter alternative is to multiply the term amount by .877)
for independent students with dependents other than a spouse or by .68 and then by 1.02
for independent students without dependents other than a spouse. Do NOT prorate for
less than full-time enrollment. (OHE has the authority to place a percentage surcharge on
the SC due to projected funding shortfalls.)

Federal Pell Grant
Term Award

(based on the 2011-2012
Pell Grant Payment Schedule)

Subtract Federal Pell Grant award for term based on student’s enrollment level used for
the State Grant program. Prorate annual Pell Grant award for student’s Pell Grant
enrollment level by term length (50 percent for semester system; 33.33 percent for quarter
system). Pell Grant enroliment levels are: 12+ credits = full-time, 9-11 credits 3/4-time;
6—8 credits 1/2-time; 1-5 credits less than half-time.

State Grant Term Award

If less than the minimum award of $50 per semester or $33 per quarter, set to zero.
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Sample 2011-2012 State Grant Term Award Calculations
Using Average Tuition and Fees

Exam ple 1: State Grant award for dependent student enrolled in 4-year degree program taking
17 credits at 4-year public college on semester system. Student has 9-month annual Federal
Methodology Parent Contribution of $1,505 and 9-Month Federal Methodology EFC of $2,000.

Annual Standard Resident Tuition for 30 semester credits = $7,000

Full-Time (15 credits) semester tuition = $3,500 (must limit tuition to 15 credits)
Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $800
Full-Time (15 credits) semester fees = $400 (must limit fees to 15 credits)
Tuition and Fees for Semester = $3,900

Annual Tuition and Fee Maximum for 4-Year College = $10,488
Tuition and Fee Maximum for Full-Time Semester = $10,488 X .50 = $5,244
(maximum not increased for students taking more than 15 credits)

Tuition used in term award calculation = $3,500
Fees used in term award calculation = $ 400
$3,900
LME used in award calculation + $3,500 ($7,000 X .50 = $3,500)

(15 credit LME not increased for student
taking more than 15 credits)

State Grant Budget for Term: = $7,400
Minus 46.3% Student Share - $3,426 ($7,400 X .463 = $3,426)

Minus FM Parent Contribution

$ 737 ($1,505 X .50 = $753 X .96 X 1.02 = $737)

Minus Full-Time Pell Grant - $1.800 ($3,600 X .50 =$1,800)
State Grant Award for Term =$ 1,437 (over minimum semester award of $50)

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot
include fees for the purchase of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of
required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are required. Fees cannot
cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can be waived for certain
students, even if required for other students.
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Sample 2011-2012 State Grant Term Award Calculations
Using Average Tuition and Fees

Example 2. State Grant award for married independent student without dependents enrolled in
2-year degree program taking 13 credits at 2-year public college with tuition banding on semester
system. Student has 9-month annual Federal EFC of $2,145.

Tuition $200.00 per credit for student taking 1 - 11 credits

Tuition $2,200 per semester for student taking 12 - 18 credits

Annual Full-Time Tuition for 30 Semester Credits = $2,200 X 2 = $4,400

Tuition for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $2,200

Tuition for 13 Credit Semester = $2,200 X 13/15ths or 86.7% = $1,907.40 = $1,907
Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $500
Full-Time (15 credits) semester fees = $250

Fees for 13 credit semester = $250 X 13/15ths or 86.7% = $216.75 = $217

Tuition and Fees for 13 Credit Semester = $2,124
Annual Full-Time (30 semester credits) Tuition and Fee Maximum for 2-Year College = $5,808

Maximum for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $5,808 X .50 = $2,904
Maximum for 13 Credit Semester = $2,904 X 13/15ths or 86.7% = $2,518

Tuition used in term award calculation = $1,907
Fees used in term award calculation = $ 217
$2,124
LME used in award calculation + $3,035 (50% of 13/15 of 15 credit LME of $7,000)

($7,000 X .50 = $3,500)
($3,500 X .867 = $3,035)

State Grant Budget for Term: = $5,159
Minus 46.3% Student Share - $2,389 ($5,159 X .463 = $2,389)

Minus FM Student Contribution

$ 744 ($2,145 X .50 = $1,073)
($1,073 X .68 X 1.02 = $744)
(prorated by state)

Minus Full-Time Pell Grant - $1,700 (50% of $3,400)
State Grant Award for Term =$ 326 (over minimum semester award of $50)

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot
include fees for the purchase of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of
required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are charged to all
students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can
be waived for certain students, even if required for other students.
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Sample 2011-2012 State Grant Term Award Calculations
Using Average Tuition and Fees

Exam ple 3. State Grant award for dependent student enrolled in 4-year degree program taking
18 credits at private 4-year college on semester system. Student has 9-month annual Federal
Methodology Parent Contribution of $1,755 and 9-Month Federal EFC of $2,235.

Annual Tuition $1,000 per credit X 30 credits = $30,000
Tuition for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $30,000 X .50 = $15,000

Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $500
Full-Time (15 credits) semester fees = $250

Annual Full-Time Tuition and Fee Maximum = $10,488

Maximum for Full-Time Semester = $10,488 X .50 = $5,244

(Full-time private 4-year tuition maximum of $10,488 for 15 credits not increased for students taking
more than 15 credits)

Tuition used in term award calculation = $--------
Fees used in term award calculation = $----o--

$5,244 (tuition and fee maximum)
LME used in award calculation + $3,500 ($7,000 X .50 = $3,500)

(15 credit LME not increased for student
taking more than 15 credits)
State Grant Budget for Term: = $8,744
Minus 46.3% Student Share - $4,048 ($8,744 X .463 = $4,048)

Minus FM Parent Contribution

$ 860 ($1,755 X .50 =$878 X .96 X 1.02 = $860)

Minus Full-Time Pell Grant - $1,650 ($3,300 X 50%)

State Grant Award for Term $2,186 (over minimum semester award of $50)

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot
include fees for the purchase of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of
required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are charged to all
students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can
be waived for certain students, even if required for other students.
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Sample 2011-2012 State Grant Term Award Calculations
Using Average Tuition and Fees

Exam ple 4: State Grant award for single independent student with dependents enrolled in 4-year

degree program taking 12 credits at private 4-year college on semester system. Student has 9-month
annual Federal Methodology EFC of $2,241

Tuition $1,000 per credit X 30 credits = $30,000
Tuition for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $30,000 X .50 = $15,000
Tuition for 12 Credit Semester = $15,000 X 12/15ths or 80% = $12,000

Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $500
Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $250
Fees for 12 Credit Semester = $250 X 12/15ths or 80% = $200

Annual Full-Time Tuition and Fee Maximum = $10,488
Maximum for Full-Time (15 Credits) Semester = $10,488 X .50 = $5,244
Maximum for 12 Credits Semester = $5,244 X 12/15ths or 80% = $4,195

Tuition used in term award calculation
Fees used in term award calculation

$4,195 (tuition and fee maximum)

LME used in award calculation + $2,800 ($7,000 X .50 = $3,500)
($3,500 X .80 (12/15) = $2,800)

State Grant Budget for Term: = $6,995

Minus 46.3% Student Share - $3,239 ($6,995 X .463 = $3,239)

Minus FM Student Contribution - $ 983 ($2,241 X .50 =4$%1,121)

($1,121 X .86 X 1.02 = $983)
(prorated by state)

Minus Full-Time Pell Grant - $1,650 ($3,300 X .50)
State Grant Award for Term = $1,123 (over semester minimum award of $50)

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot
include fees for the purchase of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of
required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are charged to all
students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can
be waived for certain students, even if required for other students.
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Sample 2011-2012 State Grant Term Award Calculations
Using Average Tuition and Fees

Exam ple 5: state Grant award for dependent student enrolled in 2-year degree program taking
11 credits at private 2-year college with tuition banding on semester system. Student has 9-month
annual FM Parent Contribution of $2,829 and 9-Month Federal EFC of $3,414.

Tuition $680 per credit for student taking 1 - 11 credits

Tuition $8160 band for students taking 12 - 18 credits = $8,160

Annual Full-Time (30 semester credits) Tuition = $16,320

Full-Time (15 Credits) Semester Tuition = $8,160

Tuition for 11 Credit Semester = $8,160 X 11/15ths or 73.3% = $5,981.28 = $5,981

Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $500
Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $500 X .50 = $250
Fees for 11 Credit Semester = $250 X 11/15ths or 73.3% = $183.25 = $183

Tuition and Fees for 11 Credit Semester = $6,164
2-Year Annual Tuition and Fee Maximum = $5,308

Maximum for Full-Time (15 Credits) Semester = $5,808 X 50% = $2,904
Maximum for 11 Credit Semester = $2,904 X 11/15ths or 73.3% = $2,129

Tuition used in term award calculation = $-------
Fees used in term award calculation = $--—-----
$2,129 (tuition and fee maximum)
LME used in award calculation + $2,566 (50% of 11/15 of 15 credit LME of $7,000)

($7,000 X .50 = $3,500)
($3,500 X .733 = $2,566)

State Grant Budget for Term: = $4,695

Minus 46.3% Student Share - $2,174 ($4,695 X .463 = $2,174)

Minus FM Parent Contribution - $1,386 ($2,829 X .50 =$1,415 X .96 X 1.02 = $1,386)
Minus 3/4-Time Pell Grant - $ 788 ($1,575 X .50 = $788)

State Grant Award for Term =$ 347 (over semester minimum award of $50)

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot
include fees for the purchase of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of
required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are charged to all
students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can
be waived for certain students, even if required for other students.
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Sample 2011-2012 State Grant Term Award Calculations
Using Average Tuition and Fees

Exam ple 6: State Grant award for single independent student without dependents enrolled in
2-year degree program taking 7 credits at private 2-year vocational college on quarter system.
Student has 9-month annual Federal Methodology EFC of $4,350.

$250 per credit X 45 quarter credits = $11,250
Tuition for Full-Time (15 Credits) Quarter = $3,750
Tuition for 7 Credit Quarter = $3,750 X 7/15ths or 46.7% = $1,751.25 = $1,751

Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 45 quarter credits = $300
Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Quarter = $100
Fees for 7 Credit Quarter = $100 X 7/15ths or 46.7% = $46.70 = $47

Tuition and Fees for 7 Credit Quarter = $1,798

Annual Tuition and Fee Maximum: $5,808

Maximum for Full-Time (15 Credits) Quarter = $5,808 X .3333% = $1,936
Maximum for 7 Credit Quarter = $1,936 X .467 (7/15ths) = $904

Tuition used in term award calculation
Fees used in term award calculation

$ 904 (tuition and fee maximum)

LME used in award calculation + $1,090 ($7,000 X .3333 = $2,333)
($2,333 X .467 (7/15) = $1,090)
(15 credit LME prorated for student taking
fewer than 15 credits)

State Grant Budget for Term: = $1,994
Minus 46.3% Student Share - $ 923 ($1,994 X .463 = $923)
Minus FM Student Contribution - $1,006 ($4,350 X .3333 = $1,450)

($1,450 X .68 X 1.02 = $1,006)
(prorated by state)

Minus Half-Time Pell Grant - $ 277 ($831X.3333)

State Grant Award for Term = $ 0 (under $33 minimum award for quarter)

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot
include fees for the purchase of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of
required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are charged to all
students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can
be waived for certain students, even if required for other students.
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Sample 2011-2012 State Grant Term Award Calculations
Using Average Tuition and Fees

Exam ple /. State Grant awards for dependent student taking 10 credits at 2-year public college
and 7 credits at a private 4-year college both on semester system for the same term. Award
calculated and disbursed separately at both schools. Public college was first to report award to OHE
for 10 credits, so private 4-year college is limited to using 5 credits of actual tuition and fees, tuition
and fee maximum and LME. Student has 9-month annual Federal Methodology Parent Contribution of
$0 and 9-Month Federal Methodology EFC of $0.

Annual Full-Time Tuition at Public College: $150 per credit X 30 Semester Credits = $4,500
Tuition for Full-Time (15 Credits) Semester = $4,500 X .50 = $2,250
Tuition for 10 Credit Semester = $2,250 X 10/15ths or 66.7% = $1,501

Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $600
Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $600 X .50 = $300
Fees for 10 Credit Semester = $300 X 10/15ths or 66.7% = $200

Tuition and Fee Maximum for 2-Year College = $5,808 X .50 = $2,904
$2,904 X 10/15ths or .667 = $1,937

Award Calculation at Public College for 10 Credits

Tuition used in term award calc: $ 1,501
Fees used in term award calculation: $ 200
$1,701 (actual tuition and fees below cap)

LME used in award calculation + $2,335 ($7,000 X .50 = $3,500)
($3,500 X .667 = $2,335)
(LME would be limited to 8 credits if
private college reported first)

State Grant Budget for Term: = $4,036

Minus 46.3% Student Share - $1,869 ($4,036 X .463 = $1,869)

Minus FM Parent Contribution -$ 0

Minus 3/4-Time Pell Grant - $2,082 (%$4,163 X .50 = $2,082)

State Grant Award for Term = $ 86 (over minimum semester award of $50)

at 2-Year Public College

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot
include fees for the purchase of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of
required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are charged to all
students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can
be waived for certain students, even if required for other students.
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Example 7 (continued)

Annual Full-Time Tuition at Private College: $1,000 per credit X 30 credits = $30,000
Full-Time Tuition for Semester = $30,000 X .50 = $15,000
Tuition for Remaining 5 Credits of Eligibility = $15,000 X 5/15ths or 33.3% = $4,995

Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $375
Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $375 X .50 = $187.50 = $188
Fees for 5 Credits of Remaining Eligibility = $188 X 5/15ths or 33.3% = $62.60 = $63

Annual Tuition and Fee Maximum for 4-Year College = $10,488
Maximum for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $10,488 X 50% = $5,244
Maximum for Remaining 5 Credits of Eligibility = $5,244 X .333 (5/15ths) = $1,746

Award Calculation at Private 4-Year College for 5 Credits

Tuition and fees used: $1,746 (tuition and fee maximum for 5 credits)
LME used in award calculation + $1,166 ($7,000 X .50 = $3,500)

($3,500 X .333 (5/15ths) = $1,166)
(10 credits LME used at public college
leaving 5 remaining credits of LME)
State Grant Budget for Term = $2,912
Minus 46.3% Student Share - $1,348 ($2,912 X .463 = $1,348)

Minus Federal Parent Contribution $ 0

Minus Less Than Half-Time Pell Grant

$ 694 ($1,388 X .50 = $694)

State Grant Award for Term
at Private 4-Year College

$ 870 (over minimum semester award of $50)

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot
include fees for the purchase of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of
required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are charged to all
students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can
be waived for certain students, even if required for other students.
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Sample 2011-2012 State Grant Term Award Calculations
Using Individualized Tuition and Fees

Exam ple 8: State Grant award for dependent student enrolled in 4-year degree program taking
10 credits at a 4-year private college and 10 credits at a 2-year public college both on semester
system. Credits and costs are combined and the award is calculated and disbursed at the 4-year
private college. In this case, average tuition and mandatory fees for 15 credits combined from both
schools are compared to the 4-year private college tuition and fee maximum for the student=s
combined credits. Student has 9-month annual State Parent Contribution of $0 and 9-Month Federal
EFC of $0.

Annual Full-Time Average Tuition at Private College: $1,000 per credit X 30 credits = $30,000
Full-Time Tuition for Semester = $30,000 X .50 = $15,000
Tuition for 10 Credits = $15,000 X 10/15ths or 66.7% = $10,005

Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $375
Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $375 X .50 = $187.50 = $188
Fees for 10 Credits = $188 X 10/15ths or 66.7% = $125.39 = $126

Annual FT Average Tuition at 2-Year Public College: $150 per credit X 30 credits = $4,500
Full-Time Tuition for Semester = $4,500 X .50 = $2,250
Tuition for 5 Remaining Credits of Eligibility = $2,250 X 5/15ths or 33.3% = $749.25 = $749

Annual mandatory fees charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $300
Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $300 X .50 = $150
Fees for 5 Credits of Remaining Eligibility = $150 X 5/15ths or 33.3% = $49.95 = $50

10 Credits Tuition and Fees at Private 4-Year College = $10,005
5 Credits Tuition and Fees at Public 2-Year College = $__ 799
$10,804

Private Tuition and Fee Maximum for 4-Year College for 20 Credits: $10,488 X .50 = $5,244
(15 Credit maximum not increased for students taking more than 15 credits)
$10,804 Exceeds Tuition and Fee Maximum of $5,244, so $5,244 will be used

Award Calculation at Private 4-Year College for Combined Credits

Tuition and fees used: $5,244
LME used in award calculation + $3,500 ($7,000 X .50 = $3,500)
(LME limited to 15 credits per term)
State Grant Budget for Term: = $8,744
Minus 46.3% Student Share - $4,048 ($8,744 X .463 = $4,048)
Minus State Parent Contribution - $ 0
Minus Full-Time Pell Grant - $2,775 ($5,550 X .50 = $2,775)
State Grant Award for Term = $1,921 (over minimum semester award of $50)

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot
include fees for the purchase of required kits, equipment or supplies, but may include charges for
rental of required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are charged to
all students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that
can be waived for certain students, even if required for other students.
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Sample 2011-2012 State Grant Term Award Calculations
Using Average Tuition and Fees

Exam ple O: state Grant award for single independent student with no dependents attending
progressive clock hour school for 30+ hours per week. School defines full-time academic year as
1200 clock hours and divides academic year into 2 payment periods, like semesters. Student has 9-
month annual Federal Methodology EFC of $1,505.

Tuition: $13,000 for 1550 hour cosmetology program = $8.39 per hour
Annual Tuition for Full-Time 1200 Hour Academic Year = 1,200 X $8.39 = $10,068
Tuition for Full-Time 600 Hour Payment Period/Semester = $10,068 X .50 = $5,034

Mandatory fees* charged to all students for 1550 hour cosmetology program = $200 = $.13 hr
Fees for Full-Time 1200 hour academic year = 1,200 X $.13 = $156
Fees for Full-Time 600 Hour Payment Period/Semester = $156 X .50 = $78

Annual Full-Time Tuition and Fee Maximum for 2-Year College = $5,808
Maximum for Full-Time 600 Hour Payment Period = $5,808 X .50 = $2,904

Tuition used in term award calculation = $-------
Fees used in term award calculation = $--
$2,904 (private tuition and fee maximum)
LME used in award calculation + $3,500 ($7,000 X .50 = $3,500)
State Grant Budget for Period: = $6,404
Minus 46.3% Student Share - $2,965 ($6,404 X .463 = $2,965)
Minus FM EFC - $ 522 (%$1,505 X .50 =$753)
($753 X .68 X 1.02 = $522)
(prorated by state)
Minus Full-Time Pell Grant - $2,000 (50% of $4,000)

State Grant Award for Term $ 917 (over minimum semester award of $50)

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot
include fees for the purchase of required kits, equipment or supplies, but may include charges for
rental of required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are charged to
all students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that
can be waived for certain students, even if required for other students.
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Sample 2011-2012 State Grant Term Award Calculations
Using Average Tuition and Fees

Exam ple 10: state Grant award for single independent student with dependents attending
progressive clock hour school for 22 hours per week (Level 11). School defines full-time academic
year as 1200 clock hours and divides academic year into 2 payment periods, like semesters. Student
has a 9-month Federal Methodology EFC of $1,505.

Tuition $5,000 for 350 hour manicurist program = $14.29 per hour

Annual Full-Time Tuition for 1200 Hour Academic Year = 1,200 X $14.29 = $17,148
Tuition for Full-Time 600 Hour Payment Period = $17,148 X .50 = $8,574

Tuition for Level 11 440 Hour Payment Period = $8,574 X 11/15ths or 73.3% = $6,285

Mandatory fees* charged to all students for 350 hour manicurist program = $100 = $.29 hour
Fees for Full-Time 1200 hour academic year = 1,200 X $.29 = $348

Fees for Full-Time 600 Hour Payment Period = $348 X .50 = $174

Fees for Level 11 440 Hour Payment Period = $174 X 11/15ths or 73.3% = $127.50 = $128

Annual Full-Time Tuition and Fee Maximum for 2-Year College = $5,808
Maximum for Full-Time 600 Hour Payment Period = $5,808 X .50 = $2,904
Maximum for Level 11 440 Hours Payment Period = $2,904 X 11/15ths or 73.3% = $2,129

Tuition used in term award calculation = $----
Fees used in term award calculation = $-----
$2,129 (tuition and fee maximum Level 11)

LME used in award calculation + $2,566 ($7,000 Level 15 LME X .50 = $3,500)
($3,500 X 11/15 (.733) = $2,566)
(LME for Level 11 period)

State Grant Budget for Period: = $4,695

Minus 46.3% Student Share - $2,174 ($4,695 X .463 = $2,174)

Minus FM EFC - $ 661 ($1,505 X .50 =$753)

($753 X .86 X 1.02 = $661)
(prorated by state)

Minus 3/4-Time Pell Grant - $1,500 (50% of 3/4-time annual Pell of $3,000 = $1,500)

State Grant Award for Level 11
Pay Period of 440 hours

I
&~
w
o
o

(over minimum semester award of $50)

Prorated State Grant Award for
350 remaining hours within 440 hour

pay period $360 X 350/440 (.80) $ 288

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees
cannot include fees for the purchase of required kits, equipment or supplies, but may include
charges for rental of required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees
are charged to all students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees
cannot include fees that can be waived for certain students, even if required for other students.
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DDS Processing Cycle

1. The DDS institution submits a batch of DDS
records to the Agency via SG web access upload
or automated SFTP process.

2. School also requests funds using SG web access
screen.

/[&Lﬂ

!

The Office of Higher Education provides an initial
funds advance for first term payments no sooner than
14 days in advance of the first term’s start date, based
on historical payment data for the institution and the
sum of term awards in the institution’s most recent
batch.

The Agency compares the institution’s trailer record
totals with its own computation of totals. If a
discrepancy is found, the Agency will not process the
DDS transmittal and will ask the school to correct
and resubmit its transmittal.

Jster of
3jected

vards/
ayments

The Roster of Rejected Awards/Payments displays
rejected payments for students with award or
payment calculation errors. The roster also includes
warning edits for awards that are below the Agency’s
calculated award and discrepancies in the EFC and
PC.

ard The Award Error Detail Roster displays data on all
‘ror Detail award errors occurring within the batch and compares
oster the institution’s need analysis and State Grant awards
__—— to the results calculated by the Agency.
The Roster of Accepted Payments displays all
oster of students in the DDS batch with accepted payments
>cepted and total accepted payments by term.
ayments
\_/_

A Reconciliation Report is generated to enable the
Agency and the institution to reconcile amounts for
advances, accepted payments, rejected payments and
cash balances on hand.
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The Agency places output reports in the institution’s
directory on the SG web access screen. Schools log
on to SG web access screen to view, print or
download output reports.

The institution reviews the reports and makes any
necessary corrections to its student and accounting
records. The cycle is repeated on a monthly basis
until the end of the year with close attention paid to
the reporting deadlines listed under ‘Reporting
Deadlines’ in the State Grant Manual.

)
|

///M////

!
\/[

The school returns all excess funds and submits an
error-free final batch by the end of year deadlines
listed under ‘Reporting Deadlines’ in the State Grant
manual.
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Selecting a DDS Batch Population

DDS Batch should include:

* Recipients

« “No-needs’ (meet
eligibility requirements
but don’t show financial
need for an award)

Total Student
Population

Financial Aid
Applicants

Financial Aid Applicants
Enrolled with Completed
Files/Packaged

Applicants Meeting
State Grant Eligibility
Requirements

* MN residents

» undergraduates who
haven’t yet earned four-
year degree or reached
limit on postsecondary
attendance

« U.S. citizens or eligible
non-citizens

» making satisfactory
academic progress

* not in default on student
loans
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NUMBER PAGE

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL Section Il | App 13a

SECTION DATE

State Grant Program July 2011

MN Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet
USE FOR FULL WITHDRAWAL (or drop below minimum enrollment level)

This form is available in spreadsheet format at: www.ohe.state.mn.us, Campus Financial Aid Administrator Resources, Program Forms, Spreadsheets & Instructions.

This form should be used to calculate refunds for all state financial aid programs when a student completely withdraws from
school or, for the MN State Grant and SELF Loan programs, if the student drops below minimum enrollment level for those
programs. (Note: Refunds are never required for the State Work Study program.)

Student Name: | |  ssSN: |

Did student totally withdraw from school? (enter Yes/No)
Date of student withdrawal or change in enrollment level: |

PART | - DETERMINING AMOUNT OF NET REFUND OF INSTITUTIONAL CHARGES

A. Amount of funds (financial aid, cash) applied to the original institutional charges for the period*, including
any post-withdrawal disbursements of Title IV financial aid applied to institutional charges. Include cents.
If funds exceed the original institutional charges, enter the amount of original institutional charges only.
(The state adopts the definition of institutional charges used for federal Title IV aid programs under 484B of

the Higher Education Act of 1965 as amended and 34 CFR 668.22.) Al

B. Subtract amount of original institutional charges the school can retain per its institutional or

State-mandated refund policy.* B |

C. =GROSS REFUND OF INSTITUTIONAL CHARGES

If gross refund is not greater than zero, then no refund is due state financial aid programs. C |

D. Subtract amount of institutional share of any required refund for Title IV financial aid programs from Step 5

Box O) of Return of Title IV Funds Refund Worksheet. Enter O if no Title IV refund is due. D |

E. =NET REFUND OF INSTITUTIONAL CHARGES

If net refund is not greater than zero, then no refund is due state financial aid programs. E |

*If the institution’s refund policy is based on the amount of institutional charges the school can retain for the
student’s entire program, then the amount entered in Box A should be the amount of funds applied to
institutional charges to date for the ENTIRE AID YEAR. Otherwise, the amounts in Boxes A and B should
represent funds applied and charges retained for the term or payment period.




NUMBER PAGE
FINANCIAL AID MANUAL Section Il | App 13a
SECTION DATE
State Grant Program July 2011

PART Il - DETERMINING PROPORTIONAL SHARE OF NON-TITLE IV FINANCIAL AID PACKAGE FOR REFUND

List all non-Title 1V financial aid disbursed to the student for the term/payment period (if school charges by

term or payment period) or to date for the aid year (if school charges for entire program). Include only programs

requiring refunds when a student withdraws from school or drops below minimum enroliment level. For SELF Loans,

use the total loan divided by the number of attendance periods in the loan period. Do NOT include work study

awards. Clock hour schools should refer to the program manual to calculate an hourly rate for aid disbursed.

Program Name

State Grant

Postsecondary Child Care Grant
Safety Officer’s Survivor Grant
SELF Loan

Achieve Scholarship

MN Indian Scholarship

MN Gl Bill

O©COoO~NOOOUL,WNPE

TOTAL

+$
+$
+$
+$
+$
+$
+$
+$
+$
=3

% of Non-
Title IV Aid

Package
(For each program

Refund(s) to

State Financial

Aid Programs
(Multiply Part |, Line E

Amount divide amount by % of Non-Title IV
Disbursed disbursed by total Aid Package for each
disbursed) program)

X $

X $

X $

X $

X $

X $

X $

X $

X $

= 100.0%

WHERE TO RETURN REFUNDS:

SELF Loan refunds should be returned to: Firstmark Services, PO Box 82522, Lincoln, NE 68501

State Grant and Child Care Grant refunds occurring before the school closes out its activity for the aid year should be placed back in
the school’'s State Grant or Child Care Grant account on campus. Refunds for Achieve Scholarship and MN Indian Scholarship as well
as post-closure refunds for State Grant and Child Care Grant should be returned as individual refunds to OHE on the Refund Return
Form downloadable from: www.ohe.state.mn.us, Campus Financial Aid Administrator Resources, Program Forms, Spreadsheets &

Instructions. Refunds for other state financial aid programs should also be sent directly to OHE on the Refund Return Form.




NUMBER PAGE

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL Section Il | App 13b

SECTION DATE

State Grant Program July 2011

MN Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet
USE FOR PARTIAL WITHDRAWAL (MN State Grant, Postsecondary Child Care Grant, Safety Officer’s Survivor Grant)

This form is available in spreadsheet format at: www.ohe.state.mn.us, Campus Financial Aid Administrator Resources, Program Forms, Spreadsheets & Instructions.

This form should be used to calculate refunds for the MN State Grant, Postsecondary Child Care Grant and Safety Officer’s
Survivor Grant programs when the student changes enrollment level but is still enrolled at or above the minimum enroliment
level for each program.

Student Name: | |  ssSN: |

Date of student’s change in enroliment level: | |

PART | - DETERMINING AMOUNT OF NET REFUND OF INSTITUTIONAL CHARGES

A. Amount of funds (financial aid, cash) applied to the original institutional charges for the period”, including
any post-withdrawal disbursements of Title IV financial aid applied to institutional charges. Include cents.
If funds exceed the original institutional charges, enter the amount of original institutional charges only.
(The state adopts the definition of institutional charges used for federal Title IV aid programs under 484B of

the Higher Education Act of 1965 as amended and 34 CFR 668.22.) A |

B. Subtract amount of original institutional charges the school can retain per its institutional or

State-mandated refund policy.* B |

C. =GROSS REFUND OF INSTITUTIONAL CHARGES

If gross refund is not greater than zero, then no refund is due state financial aid programs. C |

*If the institution’s refund policy is based on the amount of institutional charges the school can retain for the
student’s entire program, then the amount entered in Box A should be the amount of funds applied to
institutional charges to date for the ENTIRE AID YEAR. Otherwise, the amounts in Boxes A and B should
represent funds applied and charges retained for the term or payment period.

PART Il - DIFFERENCE BETWEEN ORIGINAL AND REVISED STATE FINANCIAL AID AWARDS

Safety
State Child Care Officer’s
Grant Grant Survivor
Credits Award Award Award

Original Enroliment Level: [ | §] | 8| | 8] |

Revised Enrollment Level |:| - $| | - $| | - $| |

AWARD DIFFERENCE =$ | | =% | | =% |
(Original minus Revised)
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PART Ill - DETERMINING PROPORTIONAL SHARE OF NON-TITLE IV FINANCIAL AID PACKAGE FOR REFUND

List all non-Title 1V financial aid disbursed to the student for the term/payment period (if school charges by

term or payment period) or to date for the aid year (if school charges for entire program). Include only programs
requiring refunds when a student changes enroliment level but is still enrolled at or above the minimum enrollment
for the program. Clock hour schools should refer to the program manual to calculate an hourly rate multiplied by

the hours in the period before entering an amount under Amount Disbursed.

b WN R

Program Name

State Grant +$
Postsecondary Child Care Grant +$
Safety Officer’s Survivor Grant +$
+$

+$

TOTAL =9

% of Non-
Title IV Aid
Package

(For each program

Proportional
Share of
Refund*

(Multiply Part I, Line

Refund for
Partial
Withdrawal

(Lesser of program
Award Difference in

A_m ount g:gll:()jue rsaé?jol:yn ' I(i/%s/oP(;t:E;;;glre E?c::)gr(t)ignal Share
Disbursed total disbursed) each program) of Refund)

X =% $

X = $

X = $

X = $

X =% $

100.0%

WHERE TO RETURN REFUNDS:

State Grant and Child Care Grant refunds occurring before the school closes out its activity for the aid year should be placed back in
the school’s State Grant or Child Care Grant account on campus. Post-closure refunds for these programs as well as refunds for the

Safety Officer’s Survivor Grant should always be sent directly to OHE using the Refund Return Form downloadable from:

www.ohe.state.mn.us, Campus Financial Aid Administrator Resources, Program Forms, Spreadsheets & Instructions.
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SAMPLE GENERAL LEDGER
FOR MINNESOTA STATE GRANT PROGRAM
DECENTRALIZED DELIVERY SYSTEM SCHOOLS
Date Description Credits Debits Balance
9/1/2006 From State Grant Program $950,000 $950,000
Fall Semester 2006 Advance
9/21/2006  Disbursed to Student Accounts $800,000 $150,000
(Invoice #395)
10/02/2006  Refunds from 9/21/2006 disbursements $100,000 $250,000
(Invoice #493)
11/30/2006  From State Grant Program $700,000 $950,000
for Spring Semester Advance
12/21/2006  Disbursed to Student Accounts $800,000 $150,000
(Invoice #654)
1/5/2007 Refunds from 12/21/2006 $40,000 $190,000
6/30/2007 Returned 2006-2007 Balance to $190,000 0

Office of Higher Education







FINANCIAL AID MANUAL

NUMBER

PAGE

Section III App 15
SECTION DATE
State Grant Program July 2011
Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School
900 Hour Academic Year — 3 Pay Periods
State Payment Periods
State Grant
Enrollment Hours % State Hrs State Pay Period Pay Period Pay Period
Level Per Week Budget Acad Yr 1 2 3
Level 15 30+ 100% 900 300 300 300
(1-300) (301-601) (601-900)
Level 14 28-29 93.3% 840 280 280 280
(1-280) (281-560) (561-840)
Level 13 26-27 86.7% 780 260 260 260
(1-260) (261-520) (521-780)
Level 12 24-25 80% 720 240 240 240
(1-240) (241-480) (481-720)
Level 11 22-23 73.3% 660 220 220 220
(1-220) (221-400) (441-660)
Level 10 20-21 66.7% 600 200 200 200
(1-200) (201-400) (401-600)
Level 9 18-19 60% 540 180 180 180
(1-180) (181-360) (361-540)
Level 8 16-17 53.3% 480 160 160 160
(1-160) (161-320) (321-480)
Level 7 14-15 46.7% 420 140 140 140
(1-140) (141-280) (281-420)
Level 6 12-13 40% 360 120 120 120
(1-120) (121-240) (241-360)
Level 5 10-11 33.3% 300 100 100 100
(1-100) (101-200) (201-300)
Level 4 8-9 26.7% 240 80 80 80
(1-80) (81-160) (161-240)
Level 3 6-7 20.0% 180 60 60 60
(1-60) (61-120) (121-180)
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Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School
900 Hour Academic Year — 2 Pay Periods
State Payment Periods
State Grant
Enrollment Hours % State Hrs State Pay Period Pay Period
Level Per Week Budget Acad Yr 1 2
Level 15 30+ 100% 900 450 450
(1-450) (451-900)
Level 14 28-29 93.3% 840 420 420
(1-420) (421-840)
Level 13 26-27 86.7% 780 390 390
(1-390) (391-780)
Level 12 24-25 80% 720 360 360
(1-360) (361-720)
Level 11 22-23 73.3% 660 330 330
(1-330) (331-660)
Level 10 20-21 66.7% 600 300 300
(1-300) (301-600)
Level 9 18-19 60% 540 270 270
(1-270) (271-540)
Level 8 16-17 53.3% 480 240 240
(1-240) (241-480)
Level 7 14-15 46.7% 420 210 210
(1-210) (211-420)
Level 6 12-13 40.0% 360 180 180
(1-180) (181-360)
Level 5 10-11 33.3% 300 150 150
(1-150) (150-300)
Level 4 8-9 26.7% 240 120 120
(1-120) (121-240)
Level 3 6-7 20.0% 180 90 90
(1-90) (91-180)
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Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School
1100 Hour Academic Year — 3 Pay Periods
State Payment Periods
State Grant
Enrollment Hours % State Hrs State Pay Period Pay Period Pay Period
Level Per Week Budget Acad Yr 1 2 3
Level 15 30+ 100% 1100 367 367 366
(1-367) (368-734) (735-1100)
Level 14 28-29 93.3% 1026 342 342 342
(1-342) (343-684) (685-1026)
Level 13 26-27 86.7% 954 318 318 318
(1-318) (319-636) (637-954)
Level 12 24-25 80% 880 294 293 293
(1-294) (295-587) (588-880)
Level 11 22-23 73.3% 806 269 269 268
(1-269) (270-538) (539-806)
Level 10 20-21 66.7% 734 245 245 244
(1-245) (246-490) (491-734)
Level 9 18-19 60% 660 220 220 220
(1-220) (221-440) (441-660)
Level 8 16-17 53.3% 586 196 195 195
(1-196) (197-391) (392-586)
Level 7 14-15 46.7% 514 172 171 171
(1-172) (173-343) (344-514)
Level 6 12-13 40% 440 147 147 146
(1-147) (148-294) (295-440)
Level 5 10-11 33.3% 367 123 122 122
(1-123) (124-245) (246-367)
Level 4 8-9 26.7% 294 98 98 98
(1-98) (99-196) (197-294)
Level 3 6-7 20.0% 220 74 73 73
(1-74) (75-147) (148-220)
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Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School
1100 Hour Academic Year — 2 Pay Periods

State Payment Periods

State Grant
Enrollment Hours % State Hrs State Pay Period Pay Period
Level Per Week Budget Acad Yr 1 2
Level 15 30 + 100% 1100 550 550
(1-550) (551-1100)
Level 14 28-29 93.3% 1026 513 513
(1-513) (514-1026)
Level 13 26-27 86.7% 954 477 477
(1-477) (478-954)
Level 12 24-25 80% 880 440 440
(1-440) (441-880)
Level 11 22-23 73.3% 806 403 403
(1-403) (404-800)
Level 10 20-21 66.7% 734 367 367
(1-367) (368-734)
Level 9 18-19 60% 660 330 330
(1-330) (331-660)
Level 8 16-17 53.3% 586 293 293
(1-293) (294-586)
Level 7 14-15 46.7% 514 257 257
(1-257) (258-514)
Level 6 12-13 40.0% 440 220 220
(1-220) (221-440)
Level 5 10-11 33.3% 367 184 183
(1-184) (185-367)
Level 4 8-9 26.7% 294 147 147
(1-147) (148-294)
Level 3 6-7 20.0% 220 110 110
(1-110) (111-220)
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Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School
1200 Hour Academic Year — 3 Pay Periods
State Payment Periods
State Grant
Enrollment Hours % State Hrs State Pay Period Pay Period Pay Period
Level Per Week Budget Acad Yr 1 2 3
Level 15 30+ 100% 1200 400 400 400
(1-400) (401-800) (801-1200)
Level 14 28-29 93.3% 1120 373 373 374
(1-373) (374-746) (747-1120)
Level 13 26-27 86.7% 1040 347 347 346
(1-347) (348-694) (695-1040)
Level 12 24-25 80% 960 320 320 320
(1-320) (321-640) (641-960)
Level 11 22-23 73.3% 880 293 293 294
(1-293) (294-586) (587-880)
Level 10 20-21 66.7% 800 267 267 266
(1-267) (268-534) (535-800)
Level 9 18-19 60% 720 240 240 240
(1-240) (241-480) (481-720)
Level 8 16-17 53.3% 640 213 213 214
(1-213) (214-426) (427-640)
Level 7 14-15 46.7% 560 187 187 186
(1-187) (188-374) (375-560)
Level 6 12-13 40% 480 160 160 160
(1-160) (161-320) (321-480)
Level 5 10-11 33.3% 400 133 133 134
(1-133) (134-266) (267-400)
Level 4 8-9 26.7% 320 107 107 106
(1-107) (108-214) (215-320)
Level 3 6-7 20.0% 240 80 80 80
(1-80) (81-160) (161-240)
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Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School
1200 Hour Academic Year — 2 Pay Periods
State Payment Periods
State Grant
Enrollment Hours % State Hrs State Pay Period Pay Period
Level Per Week Budget Acad Yr 1 2
Level 15 30+ 100% 1200 600 600
(1-600) (601-1200)
Level 14 28-29 93.3% 1120 560 560
(1-560) (561-1120)
Level 13 26-27 86.7% 1040 520 520
(1-520) (521-1040)
Level 12 24-25 80% 960 480 480
(1-480) (481-960)
Level 11 22-23 73.3% 880 440 440
(1-440) (441-880)
Level 10 20-21 66.7% 800 400 400
(1-400) (401-800)
Level 9 18-19 60% 720 360 360
(1-360) (361-720)
Level 8 16-17 53.3% 640 320 320
(1-320) (321-640)
Level 7 14-15 46.7% 560 280 280
(1-280) (281-560)
Level 6 12-13 40.0% 480 240 240
(1-240) (241-480)
Level 5 10-11 33.3% 400 200 200
(1-200) (201-400)
Level 4 8-9 26.7% 320 160 160
(1-160) (161-320)
Level 3 6-7 20.0% 240 120 120
(1-120) (121-240)
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Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School
1550 Hour Academic Year — 3 Pay Periods
State Payment Periods
State Grant
Enrollment Hours % State Hrs State Pay Period Pay Period Pay Period
Level Per Week Budget Acad Yr 1 2 3
Level 15 30+ 100% 1550 517 517 516
(1-517) (518-1034) | (1035-1550)
Level 14 28-29 93.3% 1446 482 482 482
(1-482) (483-964) (965-1446)
Level 13 26-27 86.7% 1344 448 448 448
(1-448) (449-896) (897-1344)
Level 12 24-25 80% 1240 413 413 414
(1-413) (414-826) (827-1240)
Level 11 22-23 73.3% 1136 379 379 378
(1-379) (380-758) (759-1136)
Level 10 20-21 66.7% 1034 345 345 344
(1-345) (346-690) (691-1034)
Level 9 18-19 60% 930 310 310 310
(1-310) (311-620) (621-930)
Level 8 16-17 53.3% 826 275 275 276
(1-275) (276-550) (551-826)
Level 7 14-15 46.7% 724 241 241 242
(1-241) (242-482) (483-724)
Level 6 12-13 40% 620 207 207 206
(1-207) (208-414) (415-620)
Level 5 10-11 33.3% 516 172 172 172
(1-172) (173-344) (345-516)
Level 4 8-9 26.7% 414 138 138 138
(1-138) (139-276) (277-414)
Level 3 6-7 20.0% 310 103 103 104
(1-103) (104-206) (207-310)
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Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School
1550 Hour Academic Year — 2 Pay Periods
State Payment Periods
State Grant
Enrollment Hrs Per % State Hrs State Pay Period Pay Period
Level Week Budget Acad Yr 1 2
Level 15 30+ 100% 1550 775 775
(1-775) (776-1550)
Level 14 28-29 93.3% 1446 723 723
(1-723) (724-1446)
Level 13 26-27 86.7% 1344 672 672
(1-672) (673-1344)
Level 12 24-25 80% 1240 620 620
(1-620) (621-1240)
Level 11 22-23 73.3% 1136 568 568
(1-568) (569-1136)
Level 10 20-21 66.7% 1034 517 517
(1-517) (518-1034)
Level 9 18-19 60% 930 465 465
(1-465) (466-930)
Level 8 16-17 53.3% 826 413 413
(1-413) (414-826)
Level 7 14-15 46.7% 724 362 362
(1-362) (363-724)
Level 6 12-13 40% 620 310 310
(1-310) (311-620)
Level 5 10-11 33.3% 516 258 258
(1-258) (259-516)
Level 4 8-9 26.7% 414 207 207
(1-207) (208-414)
Level 3 6-7 20.0% 310 155 155
(1-155) (156-310)
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Report Name

Roster of Rejected Awards/Payments

Program Origin
Distribution

Frequency

Purpose

General Description

Data Description

* Name

* Soc Sec

* Date of Birth
* Total Paid

e Summer 1

* Fall

* Winter

* Spring

e Summer 2

Message

Date of Birth is Blank

or Invalid

One of four State Grant Decentralized Delivery System (DDS) Output Reports
DDS School (1); Office of Higher Education (1).

This output report is generated each time the Office of Higher Education processes a
DDS batch containing errors. This report will not be generated if there were no
award or payment errors in the school’s DDS batch.

The error edits performed during DDS batch processing inform schools about
possible overpayments and prevent erroneous data from being loaded to the
Agency’s State Grant database. This output report provides information to DDS
schools so that errors can be corrected prior to the next DDS batch submission. The
total of rejected payments on this roster also appears on the Reconciliation Report,
another output report displaying accounting totals for the school’s DDS batch.
Schools can review and print this report on-line by logging into the SG Web Access
Screen the day after submitting a DDS batch to the Agency. The data can also be
copied from the report into another format, such as Word or Excel.

This report displays data on all errors that occurred during processing of the school’s
DDS batch. Most errors result in rejection of awards or payments, but some errors
are merely warnings that do not result in award or payment rejection. The school is
responsible for recovering any funds disbursed to students appearing on this report
with rejected payments, unless data can be corrected that will allow payments to be
accepted in the next DDS batch submission. A small number of error messages are
warnings that do not result in rejected payments. Further detail on some of the award
and payment errors appearing on this report appears on the Award Error Detail
Roster.

A description of the data appearing on this roster is provided below by column
heading:

Student’s reported name

Student’s reported social security number

Student’s reported date of birth

Total rejected payments for student for all terms

Student’s rejected payment for leading summer term

Student’s rejected payment for fall term

Student’s rejected payment for winter term (quarter schools only)
Student’s rejected payment for spring term

Student’s rejected payment for trailing summer term 2

A description of error messages and their corresponding ‘Action Steps’ is provided
below.

Appears when the date of birth on the student’s incoming DDS record is blank or
invalid and results in all reported payments being rejected. The school should correct
the student’s date of birth prior to the next DDS batch submission.
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SSN is Non-Numeric

School’'s Name/DOB
Do Not Match the
Agency’s Name/DOB

Invalid Aid Year on
DDS Record

Term Award is
Non-Numeric

Term Enrollment is
Blank or > 30

Child Support Hold
Before Term
Disbursement

SELF Default Hold
Before Term
Disbursement

Appears when the social security number on the student’s incoming DDS record
contains a non-numeric value and results in all reported payments being rejected.
The school should correct the student’s social security number prior to the next DDS
batch submission.

Appears when both the student’s name and date of birth on the incoming DDS
record for a given social security number do not match the name and date of birth
associated with the corresponding social security number on the Agency’s existing
State Grant database. This error results in all reported payments being rejected. The
school should check the student’s social security number, name and date of birth and
make any necessary changes prior to the next DDS batch submission. If the school
determines the Agency’s data is in error, the school should notify the Agency’s grant
unit via email or fax.

Appears when the aid year value on the student’s incoming DDS record is not for
the current year being processed and results in all reported payments being rejected.
The school should correct the aid year value on the student’s record prior to the next
DDS batch submission.

Appears when any of the reported term awards contains a non-numeric value other
than spaces. The name of all affected terms will be included in the error message
and reported payments for all affected terms will be rejected. The school should
correct the term award values prior to the next DDS batch submission.

Appears when any of the reported term enrollment values is blank or greater than 30
credits in cases where there is a reported payment for that term. The name of all
affected terms will be included in the error message and reported payments for all
affected terms will be rejected. The school should correct the term enrollment values
prior to the next DDS batch submission.

Appears when a child support hold existed on the Agency’s State Grant database
prior to the date of disbursement reported by the school for the term. The name of all
affected terms will be included in the error message and reported payments for all
affected terms will be rejected. If a student is on hold for being 30+ days in arrears
on child support payments, the school must withhold all future State Grant payments
for the student until the student is no longer in arrears. Rejected payments should be
recovered from the student and returned to the school’s State Grant account. The
school does not have liability for repayment of overpayments from its own
institutional funds unless the school disbursed State Grant funds after the school was
notified by the Agency, via the on-line hold report or a previous DDS batch output
report, of the student being placed on hold.

Appears when a SELF default hold existed on the Agency’s State Grant database
prior to the date of disbursement reported by the school for the term. The name of all
affected terms will be included in the error message and reported payments for all
affected terms will be rejected. If a student is on hold for defaulting on a SELF loan,
the school must withhold all future State Grant payments for the student until the
student is no longer in default or has made six consecutive monthly payments to
regain eligibility for State Grant. Rejected payments should be recovered from the
student and returned to the school’s State Grant account. The school does not have
liability for repayment of overpayments from its own institutional funds unless the
school disbursed State Grant funds after the school was notified by the Agency, via
the on-line hold report or a previous DDS batch output report, of the student being
placed on hold.
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Total Units in Prior
Aid Years Exceed
Limit

Total Units Prior to
Term Exceed Limit

Term Payment >
Term Award

Multiple Term
Payments >
15 Credits

Annual Units Limit
Exceeded

Applied After Cutoff
for Term

Appears when the student has accumulated the maximum number of units of State
Grant paid in previous aid years and results in all reported payments being rejected.
A student loses eligibility for State Grant once the student has attended or received
State Grant payments for 96 units, which is the equivalent of eight full-time
semesters or 12 full-time quarters. The actual cut-off point is >94.4 units for a
student attending a quarter school and 93.6 units for a student attending a semester
school. A school can use the SG Web Access screen to query the student and review
historical State Grant payment data. All rejected payments for the current year must
be recovered from the student and returned to the school’s State Grant account.

Appears when the student has accumulated the maximum number of units of State
Grant paid prior to the term embedded in the error message. Any reported payments
for the affected and subsequent terms will be rejected and must be recovered from
the student and returned to the school’s State Grant account. A student loses
eligibility for State Grant once the student has attended or received State Grant
payments for 96 units, which is the equivalent of eight full-time semesters or 12 full-
time quarters. The actual cut-off point is >94.4 units for a student attending a quarter
school and 93.6 units for a student attending a semester school. A school can use the
SG Web Access screen to query the student and review historical State Grant
payment data. All rejected payments for the current year must be recovered from the
student and returned to the school’s State Grant account.

Appears when a reported payment for a term exceeds that term’s reported award by
more than $1. The affected term will be embedded in the error message and the
corresponding term payment will be rejected. The school should adjust the term
payment and return any overpayments to its State Grant account prior to the next
DDS batch submission.

Appears when another school has already paid the student for the term(s) in question
and the current school’s reported term payment results in the student being paid for
more than 15 credits. The name of the affected term will be embedded in the error
message and the corresponding term payment will be rejected. The current school
should adjust the student’s State Grant payment to an acceptable level and return any
overpayments to its State Grant account prior to the next DDS batch submission.

Appears when the student is paid for more than three full-time semesters (36 units)
or four full-time quarters (32 units) during the current aid year. The name of the
affected term will be embedded in the error message and the corresponding term
payment will be rejected. The current school should either cancel or adjust the
student’s State Grant payment for the affected term and return any overpayments to
its State Grant account prior to the next DDS batch submission.

Appears when the student missed the State Grant application deadline for the term in
question. The name of the affected term(s) will be embedded in the error message
and all reported payments for the affected terms will be rejected. In order to meet the
application deadline, the student’s original FAFSA application must be received by
the federal application processor within 30 days of the term start date. The Agency
makes this determination by comparing the student’s FAFSA receipt date on the
ISIR to the school’s term start dates collected on the annual State Grant budget
questionnaire. If the school believes the student’s original FAFSA receipt date was
within 30 days of the term start date, the school should contact the Grant Unit for
assistance at (651) 642-0567. If the student did apply after the term deadline date,
the school should cancel the student’s award for that term(s) and return any rejected
State Grant payments to its State Grant account.
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No ISIR Record on
File

Term Award Too High
for Enrolled Credits

Term Award Too Low
for Enrolled Credits

Federal Reject

School’s EFC Not
Equal to the
Agency’s EFC

School’s PC Not
Equal to the
Agency’s PC

Appears when the Agency does not have an ISIR record for the student for the
current aid year and is, therefore, unable to verify whether the student met the State
Grant application deadline. The school should make sure the student submits a
FAFSA. If the student has submitted a FAFSA, the school should contact the
Agency’s State Grant unit for assistance.

Appears when the reported award for the term in question is more than $2 higher
than the Agency’s calculated award for the term, based on the student’s reported
enrollment level. The name of the affected term is embedded in the error message
and the corresponding term payment is rejected. A detailed comparison of term
awards is provided on the accompanying Award Error Detail Roster for the current
DDS batch. The school should adjust the term award and return any overpayments
to its State Grant account. In cases where the award appears too high because the
school reported an incorrect enrollment value, the school should correct the
enrollment value prior to the next DDS batch submission.

Appears when the reported award for the term in question is more than $2 lower
than the Agency’s calculated award for the term, based on the student’s reported
enrollment level. The name of the affected term is embedded in the error message
but the corresponding term payment is NOT rejected. A detailed comparison of term
awards is provided on the accompanying Award Error Detail Roster for the current
DDS batch. If necessary, the school should adjust the term award. In cases where the
award appears too low because the school reported an incorrect enrollment value,
the school should correct the enrollment value prior to the next DDS batch
submission.

Appears when the Agency could not perform the Federal Methodology need analysis
formula and State Grant award calculation due to the student’s application data
meeting one or more of the several Federal Methodology reject edits. All reported
term payments for the current year will be rejected. The precise federal reject code
and detailed description will appear on the accompanying Award Error Detail
Roster for the current DDS batch. The school should correct the application data
creating the federal reject prior to the next DDS batch submission.

Appears when the school’s reported Expected Family Contribution (EFC) for the
student does not match the EFC calculated by the Agency using the data supplied on
the DDS record for the student. This is a warning message only and does not result
in rejected payments. In most cases, discrepancies occur because the school’s EFC is
based on Federal Methodology assumptions and the Agency’s EFC is not, or vice
versa. The school should check the value it sent in the MHESO-ORIGIN-TYPE
field on the DDS record to make sure it sent the correct value. A value of ‘O’ means
the Agency should use assumptions when calculating the EFC. A value of ‘R’ or
spaces means the Agency should not use assumptions when calculating the EFC.

Appears when the school’s reported Parent Contribution (PC) for the student does
not match the PC calculated by the Agency using the data supplied on the DDS
record for the student. This is a warning message only and does not result in rejected
payments. In most cases, discrepancies occur because the school’s PC is based on
Federal Methodology assumptions and the Agency’s PC is not, or vice versa. The
school should check the value it sent in the MHESO-ORIGIN-TYPE field on the
DDS record to make sure it sent the correct value. A value of ‘O’ means the Agency
should use assumptions when calculating the PC. A value of ‘R’ or spaces means the
Agency should not use assumptions when calculating the PC.
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SECTION

DATE
State Grant Program July 2011

Report Name

Award Error Detail Roster

Program Origin
Distribution

Frequency

Purpose

General Description

Data Description

* Name

* Soc Sec
* Tuition
* Fees

*Cap

e Dep Status
e Federal PC

e State PC

One of four State Grant Decentralized Delivery System (DDS) Output Reports.
DDS School (1); Office of Higher Education (1).

This output report is generated each time the Office of Higher Education processes a
DDS batch containing need analysis or award errors. This report will not be
generated if there were no award or payment errors in the school’s DDS batch.

The error edits performed during DDS batch processing prevent erroneous data from
being loaded to the Agency’s State Grant database. This output report provides
further detail on need analysis and award calculation errors so they can be corrected
prior to the next DDS batch submission. Schools can review and print this report on-
line by logging into the SG Web Access Screen the day after submitting a DDS
batch to the Agency. The data can also be copied from the report into another
format, such as Word or Excel.

This report provides further detail for need analysis and award calculation errors
appearing on the Roster of Rejected Awards/Payments. Most errors result in
rejection of awards or payments, but some errors are merely warnings that do not
result in award or payment rejection.

A description of the data appearing on this roster is provided below by column
heading:

Student’s reported name.
Student’s reported social security number.
Term tuition reported by school appears if term award is flagged for error

Term fees reported by school appears if term award is flagged for error

Term tuition and fee maximum for student’s degree program (two- or four-year)
reported by school appears if term award is flagged for error

Student’s dependency status as reported by school (D=dependent; I=independent)

Federal Methodology parent contribution calculated by the Agency using data
supplied by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported Federal
Methodology parent contribution appears under ‘Inst Award’ column.

State need analysis parent contribution calculated by the Agency using data supplied
by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported state need
analysis parent contribution appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. (Note: Data in this
field is only used if state need analysis differs from federal need analysis. Currently,
the state adopts the federal need analysis.)
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e State PC

e State SC

* Federal EFC

* FT Pell Award

* 3Q Pell Award

* HT Pell Award

* PT Pell Award

e Summer 1

« Fall

* Winter

* Spring

State need analysis parent contribution calculated by the Agency using data supplied
by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported state need
analysis parent contribution appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. (Note: Data in this
field is only used if state need analysis differs from federal need analysis. Currently,
the state adopts the federal need analysis.)

State need analysis parent contribution calculated by the Agency using data supplied
by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported state need
analysis parent contribution appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. (Note: Data in this
field is only used if state need analysis differs from federal need analysis. Currently,
the state adopts the federal need analysis.)

Federal Methodology expected family contribution calculated by the Agency using
data supplied by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported
Federal Methodology expected family contribution appears under ‘Inst Award’
column.

The full-time Federal Pell Grant award calculated by the agency appears under
‘State Award’ column. School’s reported full-time Federal Pell Grant award appears
under ‘Inst Award’ column.

The three-quarter time Federal Pell Grant award calculated by the Agency appears
under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported three quarter-time Federal Pell Grant
award appears under ‘Inst Award’ column.

The half-time Federal Pell Grant award calculated by the Agency appears under
‘State Award’ column. School’s reported half-time Federal Pell Grant award appears
under ‘Inst Award’ column.

The less than half-time Federal Pell Grant award calculated by the Agency appears
under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported less than half-time Federal Pell
Grant award appears under ‘Inst Award’ column.

State Grant award for leading summer term calculated by the Agency using data
supplied by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported award
for leading summer term appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. Any difference
between leading summer term awards is displayed in the ‘Award Diff* column.

State Grant award for fall term calculated by the Agency using data supplied by
school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported award for fall term
appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. Any difference between fall term awards is
displayed in the ‘Award Diff” column.

State Grant award for winter quarter calculated by the Agency using data supplied
by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported award for winter
quarter appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. Any difference between winter quarter
awards is displayed in the ‘Award Diff” column. (Note: Semester schools reporting
winter quarter term awards will see errors and award differences since there is no
winter quarter on a semester system.)

State Grant award for spring term calculated by the Agency using data supplied by
school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported award for spring
term appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. Any difference between spring term
awards is displayed in the ‘Award Diff” column.
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e Summer 2 State Grant award for trailing summer term calculated by the Agency using data
supplied by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported award
for trailing summer term appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. Any difference
between trailing summer term awards is displayed in the ‘Award Diff” column.
Message A description of error messages and their corresponding ‘Action Steps’ is provided

Term Award Too High
for Enrolled Credits

Term Award Too Low
for Enrolled Credits

below.

Appears when the reported award for the term in question is more than $2 higher
than the Agency’s calculated award for the term, based on the student’s reported
enrollment level. The name of the affected term is embedded in the error message
and the corresponding term payment is rejected. The school should adjust the term
award and return any overpayments to its State Grant account. In cases where the
award appears too high because the school reported an incorrect enrollment value,
the school should correct the enrollment value prior to the next DDS batch
submission.

Appears when the reported award for the term in question is more than $2 lower
than the Agency’s calculated award for the term, based on the student’s reported
enrollment level. The name of the affected term is embedded in the error message
but the corresponding term payment is NOT rejected. If necessary, the school should
adjust the term award. In cases where the award appears too low because the school
reported an incorrect enrollment value, the school should correct the enrollment
value prior to the next DDS batch submission.
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DATE
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Report Name

Roster of Accepted Payments

Program Origin
Distribution

Frequency

Purpose

General Description

Data Description

* Name

* Soc Sec

* Total Paid
e Summer 1
* Fall

* Winter

* Spring

e Summer 2

One of four State Grant Decentralized Delivery System (DDS) Output Reports.
DDS School (1); Office of Higher Education (1).

This output report is generated each time the Office of Higher Education processes a
DDS batch containing payments that were not flagged for errors. This report is not
generated if there were no accepted payments in the school’s DDS batch.

The error edits performed during DDS batch processing prevent erroneous data from
being loaded to the Agency’s State Grant database. If a term payment passes through
the error edits, it is displayed on this report as accepted. It is possible for a student to
appear on this roster, as well as the Roster of Rejected Awards/Payments, if one
term’s payment is rejected and another’s is accepted. The total of accepted payments
on this roster also appears on the Reconciliation Report, another output report
displaying accounting totals for the school’s DDS batch. Schools can review and
print this report on-line by logging into the SG Web Access Screen the day after
submitting a DDS batch to the Agency. The data can also be copied from the report
into another format, such as Word or Excel.

This report displays data on all accepted term payments within the school’s most
recent DDS batch. Data is provided by student in alphabetical order, with accepted
term payments appearing under the applicable term headings.

A description of the data appearing on this roster is provided below by column
heading:

Student’s reported name.

Student’s reported social security number.

Student’s total accepted payments for all terms.

Student’s accepted payment for leading summer term.

Student’s accepted payment for fall term.

Student’s accepted payment for winter term (used only for quarter system).
Student’s accepted payment for spring term.

Student’s accepted payment for trailing summer term.
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DATE
State Grant Program July 2011

Report Name

Reconciliation Report

Program Origin
Distribution

Frequency

Purpose

General Description

Data Description

* School

» School Code

* Label ID

* Cutoff Date

* Date Received
* Date Processed

* Number of Records

* Amount Net
Payments

* Total Advances

» Total Payments
Accepted

* Balance on Hand

One of four State Grant Decentralized Delivery System (DDS) Output Reports
DDS School (1); Office of Higher Education (1).

The Reconciliation Report is generated each time the Office of Higher Education
processes a DDS submitted by the institution.

The report is produced in order for the Agency and the institution to reconcile
accounting records with respect to cash advances to date, accepted net payments to
date, rejected net payments to date and cash balances on hand at the institution.
Schools can review and print this report on-line by logging into the SG Web Access
Screen the day after submitting a DDS batch to the Agency. The data can also be
copied from the report into another format, such as Word or Excel.

The report provides a comparison of the Agency’s and the institution’s data in order
to reconcile accounting records and cash flow figures. Totals are taken from a
variety of sources such as the institution’s trailer record for its DDS batch, the
Agency’s records of cash advances to date, and the total accepted and rejected
payments from the Roster of Rejected Awards/Payments and the Roster of Accepted
Payments.

A description of the data appearing on this roster is provided below by column
heading:

Name of school submitting DDS batch

School’s 6-digit school code used for federal financial aid programs
10-character optional identifier supplied by school submitting DDS batch
School’s cutoff date for data supplied in DDS batch

Date DDS batch received by the Agency

Date DDS batch processed by the Agency

Number of student records in DDS batch as counted by the Agency (OHE column)
and school (School column)

Total amount of payments in DDS batch as calculated by the Agency (OHE column)
and school (School column)

Total funds advanced to school by the Agency to date, with detail of individual
advances appearing below total

Total payments accepted in current batch from the Roster of Accepted Payments

Total funds advanced to school by the Agency minus total of accepted payments
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» Total Rejected Total payments rejected in current batch from the Roster of Rejected
Payments Awards/Payments

e Unidentified School  This amount should always be ‘0.’ If it is necessary for the Agency to “plug” an
Difference amount on this line to reconcile, it is an indication that the institution has not
reconciled its computer records with its business office accounting records prior to
submitting DDS records to the Agency. This figure is derived by subtracting the
total rejected payments from the difference between the school’s balance on hand
and the Agency’s balance on hand.

* Balance Payable to Total funds advanced to school by the Agency minus total of accepted payments.
the OHE Balance must be returned to the Agency no later than August 1 at the end of each aid
year.
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Reconciliation Report - 07/30/2007

SAMPLE UNIVERSITY [001234]

Label ID: SA01

Cutoff Date: 07/27/2007

Date Received: 07/27/2007

Date Processed: 07/30/2007

Trailer Reconciliation OHE School

Number of Records 391 391

Amount Net Payments $78,435.00 | $78,435.00

Outstanding Balance Summary OHE School

Advance Dated 07/20/2007 | $35,000.00

Total Advances $35,000.00

Net Payments Accepted Through