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Introduction

This manual is written for schools participating in the Minnesota State Grant program and is
subject to all subsequent changes in both federal and Minnesota state laws and regulations
governing the Minnesota State Grant program.

The Agency will provide each school with an opportunity to respond to proposed changes to
the State Grant program rules and regulations. Within 10 days following the adoption of new or
modified program rules or regulations, the Agency will develop and distribute updated written
information to schools that will later be included in this manual.

This chapter of the manual is updated on an annual basis. Schools are required to read all e-
mail and written correspondence from the Agency to keep informed of current changes during
the interim. According to the Institutional Participation Agreement (Appendix G), policy
changes announced during the interim have the full force and effect of the Financial Aid
Manual. All participating schools are responsible for designating a State Grant contact on
campus and notifying the Agency about changes to the campus contact information; including
name, e-mail address and phone number.

Program Objective

The objective of the Minnesota State Grant program is to provide monetary assistance to
eligible students who demonstrate financial need, in order to encourage their education at
Minnesota postsecondary institutions of their choice.

Program Overview

The Minnesota State Grant program provides undergraduate students with assistance in
meeting the cost of attendance at eligible Minnesota public and private postsecondary
institutions of their choice. Each academic year, the Agency determines which schools will be
eligible according to program statutes and rules. Program funds are allocated to the Agency by
the State Legislature.

To receive a State Grant, the student must be enrolled at an eligible Minnesota postsecondary
institution for at least three credits per term, demonstrate financial need (as defined in
Minnesota Statutes 136A.121, Subd. 5), and meet several other eligibility requirements

outlined in the ‘Eligibility Requirements’ section of this chapter. A student may receive a State
Grant for any year of undergraduate study unless the student fails to meet the program
eligibility requirements.
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The following formula is used to calculate the 2021-2022 annual full-time State Grant award:

Tuition and mandatory general fees (30 semester/45 quarter credits)*

Living and miscellaneous expense allowance (LME)

Award calculation budget

- 50% student share

- 79% (dependent)

- 35% (independent w/o dependents) or 71% (independent w/ dependents) of annual 9- month FM EFC
- Full-time annual 9-month Pell Grant

= State Grant award ($100 annual minimum, $50 semester, $33 quarter)

*Subject to tuition and fee maximums in law.

(See also Appendix J - Shared Responsibility Formula)

Participating schools are responsible for screening applications, calculating awards, award
notification, and disbursement of awards at the campus level, and electronically reporting the
application and award data to the Agency on a monthly basis to ensure that the school’s award
calculations and payments fall within established tolerances.

Application Process

Original Application

The student applies for a State Grant by completing the Free Application for Federal Student
Aid (FAFSA) on the Web at www.studentaid.gov. In order to provide an electronic signature on
the FAFSA on the Web, the student and parents should create a Federal Student Aid ID (FSA ID)
while completing the FAFSA process.

Once the FAFSA is submitted, the federal processor calculates the Federal Methodology need
analysis results and sends an electronic FAFSA record called the Institutional Student
Information Record (ISIR) with results to both the Agency and any college the student listed on
the FAFSA. The student is sent an output document called the Student Aid Report (SAR). If the
student provided an e-mail address on the FAFSA, the student will be sent an e-mail containing
a link to the electronic version of the SAR.

Only schools participating in federal financial aid programs can receive ISIR records from the
federal processor. Students attending schools that do not participate in federal aid programs
can have the student list the University of MN (003969) on their FAFSA and then the institution
can work with the MN OHE to retrieve that ISIR.

The federal processor sends ISIR records to the Agency throughout the FAFSA processing cycle.
ISIR records are downloaded by the Agency on a nightly basis. Each time the Agency downloads
ISIR records, the records are screened to inform schools about possible eligibility problems and
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data is written to an on-line hold report for each school (see Appendix E). The school is notified
by the Agency via an automated e-mail any time data is changed on its online hold report.

Correcting Applications

Correction Methods

Once a FAFSA is processed, there are several methods a student or school can use to make
corrections:

e the student can make corrections on the paper SAR and resubmit the SAR to the federal
processor;

e the student can make corrections on the Web at www.fafsa.ed.gov; or

e ifthe school participates in federal aid programs, the school can electronically submit
corrections to the federal processor

Schools not participating in federal financial aid programs must have students submit any
corrections on their SAR and provide the school with a revised SAR after the corrections have
been processed by the Central Processing System (CPS).

Use of Professional Judgment

The Agency allows data elements on the student’s application to be adjusted based on the
financial aid administrator exercising professional judgment, as outlined in federal aid
regulations and Minnesota Statutes 136A.1312. This occurs when there are documented

changes in the family’s economic status during the current or previous tax year. Examples of
special cases are loss of employment, marriage, divorce, change in number of dependents,
substantial medical expenses, etc. Professional judgment may also be used for a dependency
override, whereby the aid administrator makes an otherwise dependent applicant independent
based on documentation of unusual circumstances. (Please refer to ‘Professional Judgment’
under ‘Common Definitions’ chapter of this manual for further instructions.)

There must be written documentation of the special situation and the resulting financial impact
in the student’s file. Documentation should include a description of the special situation, the
effect it will have on the student’s ability to pay for his/her education, the effect on the
student’s overall financial condition, and the date the school was informed of the special
situation.
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Corrections/adjustments based on the financial aid administrator exercising professional
judgment must be submitted to the federal processor by the financial aid administrator either
electronically or on the student’s paper SAR.

Institutional Responsibility for Correcting Applications

Schools are responsible for resolving all conflicting information on the student’s application as
well as any C codes on the student’s ISIR record. This includes actively comparing any new
information received or accessed by the school to existing information to determine if a
student’s eligibility is affected. Institutions are required to make financial changes to a student’s
application if the change will have an impact on the parent contribution, expected family
contribution, Pell Grant award, or any other factor affecting the State Grant award calculation.

Schools not participating in federal financial aid programs must have students submit any
corrections on their SAR and provide the school with a revised SAR after the corrections have
been processed by the Central Processing System (CPS).

If a student’s FAFSA application is selected for verification by the federal processor, the
institution is responsible for verifying the accuracy of data provided on the student’s
application using procedures and tolerances established for federal Title IV financial aid
programs, even if the institution does not participate in those programs. The school should
obtain a copy of the federal ‘Application and Verification Guide’ for the current aid year at FSA
Partner Connect for further guidance.

If a student’s ISIR record or SAR has a value of ‘2’ or ‘3’ for the unusual enrollment history flag,
the school must delay disbursing State Grant funds to the student until the unusual enrollment
history can be resolved in accordance with unusual enroliment history guidelines issued for
federal financial aid programs. This applies even if the school does not participate in federal
financial aid programs. The unusual enrollment history flags and required actions are described
inthe March 8, 2013 Dear Colleague letter from the U.S. Department of Education available at
FSA Partner Connect.

In cases where a subsequent ISIR is received after the student is no longer attending the school
and is not intending to reenroll, the school is not required to adjust the student’s State Grant if:

e all the student’s State grant has already been disbursed; and

e there was no conflicting information at the time of disbursement

Minnesota State Grant Program 10
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Application and Correction Deadlines

Original Application Deadlines

In order to receive a State Grant award for a term, the student’s original FAFSA for the current
aid year must be received by the federal central processing system (CPS) no later than the 30t
calendar day of the term. For example, if fall semester started on September 1, the original
FAFSA application receipt date at the CPS must be on or before September 30. There is no
requirement that the original FAFSA result in a valid output document as long as the original
FAFSA is received by the CPS no later than the 30t calendar day of the term. This same deadline
applies to state financial aid applications submitted by undocumented students under the MN
Dream Act.

If the student’s original FAFSA was submitted under an incorrect social security number and the
student corrects the error by submitting another FAFSA under the correct social security
number, the FAFSA receipt date on the original FAFSA will be used to determine if the student
meets the State Grant application deadline.

In certain cases, schools with uniform term start and end dates for all students have courses or
programs which might start later in the term, or may even overlap terms. In these cases, the
State Grant application deadline is 30 calendar days from the beginning of the term, rather than
30 days from the date the particular course or program begins.

Many term-based schools combine multiple mini-sessions into one term. When this occurs, the
term start date is considered the first day of the first mini-session in the term and the term end
date is considered the last date of the last mini-session in the term, regardless of whether or
not the student was enrolled in all mini-sessions.

There are several schools participating in the State Grant program that do not use uniform term
start and end dates for all students. This group of schools includes progressive clock hour
schools using payment periods instead of terms, credit-based schools that link together
sequential credit-based modules to form a “term” for each student equal to a certain number
of credits, or credit-based schools with “rolling” term start and end dates that may have the
first fall semester running September 1 through December 15, the second fall semester running
September 15 through December 30, and so forth.

For these types of schools, the term start date used to determine the State Grant application
deadline will be the first calendar day of the student’s payment period or term. When the
Agency processes State Grant DDS batches for these schools, it will not be able to verify the
student’s FAFSA was received at the CPS by the application deadline because only one term
start and end date can be stored on the State Grant database for each school. Therefore, these
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schools will need to monitor each student’s term start date on campus and prevent State Grant
awards from going to students who missed the application deadline.

If the student’s original FAFSA was received by the CPS after the application deadline for a
term, the student cannot receive a State Grant award for that term but may be eligible for
subsequent terms during that academic year. For example, if fall term started September 1 and
the student’s original FAFSA receipt date at the CPS were October 15, the student could not
receive a State Grant for fall term but could be awarded for the subsequent terms of that aid
year. The same applies to state financial aid applications submitted by undocumented students
under the MN Dream Act.

Correction Deadlines

The only State Grant application transaction that is subject to the application deadline is the
student’s original FAFSA for the aid year in question. If the student’s original FAFSA was
received by the deadline, the school may accept any subsequent correction transaction until
the school closes out its State Grant activity for the aid year, which it must do no later than
August 31. Therefore, schools are allowed to package and adjust the student’s State Grant
throughout the aid year, which may involve late or retroactive payment for a term, as long as
the original FAFSA was received by the application date. (See ‘Adjusting Payments Due to
Revised Award’ and ‘Late/Retroactive Disbursement’ sections for further information.) The
same applies to state financial aid applications submitted by undocumented students under the
MN Dream Act.

State Grant Student Eligibility Questionnaire

Because the FAFSA does not contain all of the information needed to verify State Grant
eligibility, the institution must collect and/or review supplemental data to determine each
student’s history of Minnesota residency and postsecondary attendance. The institution can
use the paper Student Eligibility Questionnaire (see Appendix D), the On-Line Student Eligibility
Questionnaire (see Appendix Z) or include the questions from the Agency’s questionnaire on its
own institutional paper or online form as a proxy. If the institution chooses to include these
guestions on its own form, it is recommended they be included on a financial aid form since
many students exclude previous postsecondary attendance on admissions forms if they do not
wish to transfer credit.

A school is not required to have each State Grant applicant complete the Student Eligibility
Questionnaire (or school’s proxy) if the school has sufficient information from other sources;
ISIR/SAR, National Student Loan Data system (NSLDS), admissions records, registration records,
and other financial aid records that documents the student’s eligibility. The following are
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examples of when state residency or the amount of postsecondary attendance can be
documented without using the paper or On-Line Student Eligibility Questionnaire (or school’s
proxy):

e The school has a copy of the student’s Minnesota high school diploma or another form
the student completed indicating the student graduated from a Minnesota high school
(establishes Minnesota residency via graduation from a Minnesota high school).

e Adependent student’s ISIR/SAR indicates Minnesota as the parents’ state of legal
residence (establishes Minnesota residency by documenting parents resided in
Minnesota when the FAFSA was completed).

e Student’s date of birth on the SAR/ISIR or other records held by the college is such that
it would be impossible for the student to have exceeded the limit on postsecondary
attendance by continuous enrollment between the date of high school graduation and
the current academic year, including summer terms.

e The student has previously completed a Student Eligibility Questionnaire (or the school’s
proxy) and subsequent information received or accessed by the school (SAR/ISIR, NSLDS,
institutional records, etc.) is reviewed to determine it does not contradict the student’s
continued eligibility.

Because the NSLDS and State Grant historical databases are not comprehensive sources of
previous postsecondary attendance, they cannot be the only method used to initially determine
the student’s amount of previous postsecondary attendance. However, once the student has
provided information about previous postsecondary attendance on the Student Eligibility
Questionnaire (or school’s proxy), these databases can be used to identify subsequent
postsecondary attendance without the student having to complete additional forms. In cases
where the amount of previous postsecondary attendance, including attendance at the current
school, equals three or more academic years, the school is required to review the student’s
academic transcripts to determine the precise amount of previous postsecondary attendance.

Disclosure Statement Required for Schools Not Participating
in the Federal Pell Grant Program

Private schools not participating in the Federal Pell Grant program must have all students sign
the student disclosure statement (Appendix Y) upon enrollment at the school informing them
that they will not be eligible to receive a Federal Pell Grant at that particular school.
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Eligibility Requirements

Postsecondary Institutions

At least annually, the Commissioner of the Minnesota Office of Higher Education adopts a list of
schools at which a State Grant may be used. To be eligible, a postsecondary institution must:

e be located in Minnesota;
e offer at least one program that:
o isvocational or academic in nature,
o leads to a certificate or degree,
o is at least eight weeks long, and
o involves at least 12 academic credits or 300 clock hours;

e meet the definition of eligible institution contained in the ‘Common Definitions’ chapter
of this manual (for schools not participating in the Federal Pell Grant program, this
requires having all enrolled students sign the student disclosure statement (Appendix Y);

e have the necessary administrative computing capability to administer the program on
campus and electronically report student data records to the Agency; and

e provide data to the Agency on student enrollment and federal and state financial aid
To be approved, the postsecondary institution must also:
e complete the on-line State Grant Budget Questionnaire;

e receive an on-site administrative overview from the supervisor of the Agency’s auditing
staff;

e after the administrative review, be approved by the Agency’s Commissioner;

e once approved, sign an Institutional Participation Agreement which can be obtained
from the State Grant unit (Appendix G);

e attend a training session offered by the manager of the State Grant program; and
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purchase or create the software necessary to calculate federal need analysis and
Minnesota State Grant awards on campus and electronically report student data records
to the Agency

Schools are also encouraged to become members of the Minnesota Association of Financial Aid
Administrators (MAFAA) and subscribe to the MAFAA email listserv at www.mafaa.org .

If a school is approved after the beginning of the academic year, the school will be eligible to
disburse awards beginning with the term during which it obtained approval.

Student Eligibility

Comprehensive List of Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for a State Grant, a student must:

be a Minnesota resident as defined in Minnesota Statutes 136A.101, Subd. 8;

be an undergraduate student who has not received a baccalaureate degree;

not have attended the equivalent of eight semesters of full-time postsecondary
education;

be a graduate of a secondary school/GED recipient or be 17 years of age or older by
June 30 of the academic year (high school students enrolled in postsecondary courses
prior to receiving their high school diploma are not eligible for a State Grant);

not owe the Agency for a State Grant overpayment;
not be in default on a student educational loan;

not be more than 30 days in arrears for child support payments owed to a public child
support enforcement agency unless the student is complying with a written repayment
plan;

enroll at an eligible Minnesota postsecondary institution for at least three credits (or six
clock hours per week at clock hour institutions) while pursuing a program or course of
study that applies to a degree, diploma or certificate at any eligible Minnesota
postsecondary institution;

on the date of disbursement, be making satisfactory academic progress; and
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e not be receiving tuition reciprocity benefits from another state while attending a
Minnesota postsecondary institution

Further Information on Selected Eligibility Requirements

Minnesota Resident

A student must be a Minnesota resident to receive a State Grant. (See ‘Common Definitions’

chapter for definition of “Resident Student.”)

Undergraduate Requirement

A student enrolled in an undergraduate program who has not earned a baccalaureate degree is
eligible for a Minnesota State Grant. A comparable four-year postsecondary degree earned in
another country, but not officially called a “baccalaureate” degree, will be considered a
baccalaureate degree for purposes of the State Grant program. A foreign bachelor’s degree
consisting of six or fewer semesters without general education requirements is not considered
a bachelor’s degree for purposes of the State Grant program.

A student enrolled in a graduate program who has not yet earned a baccalaureate degree is not
eligible for a State Grant, even if some of the student’s course work is at the undergraduate
level. A student enrolled in an undergraduate program is eligible for a Minnesota State Grant,
even if some of the student’s courses are at the graduate level. The key to determining
eligibility is whether the student is enrolled in an undergraduate (eligible) or graduate
(ineligible) program.

Limit on Postsecondary Attendance

An applicant who does not have the equivalent of eight full-time semesters of postsecondary
attendance is eligible for a Minnesota State Grant. Attendance is accumulated in units, with 96
units being the equivalent of eight semesters of full-time attendance. Units are assigned as

follows:
Units Chart - Course Work Prior to July 1, 1992
Term Enrollment Status Units Assigned — Qtr Units Assigned - Sem
Full-time (12+ credits) 8 12
3/4-time (9-11 credits) 6 9
1/2-time (6-8 credits) 4 6
(1-5 credits) Bank Credits Bank Credits

Minnesota State Grant Program 16


http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/pdf/FAManual/CommonDefinitions.pdf
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/pdf/FAManual/CommonDefinitions.pdf

Units Chart - Course Work After July 1, 1992
Credits Clock Hours
Units for Quarter | Units for Semester
Per Term Per Week
15+ 30+ 8 12
14 28-29 7.5 11.2
13 26-27 6.9 104
12 24-25 6.4 9.6
11 22-23 5.9 8.8
10 20-21 53 8.0
9 18-19 4.8 7.2
8 16-17 4.3 6.4
7 14-15 3.7 5.6
6 12-13 3.2 4.8
5 10-11 2.7 4.0
4 8-9 2.1 3.2
3 6-7 1.6 24
2 4-5 1.1 1.6
1 2-3 .5 .8

If the student’s total credits for a term is not a whole number (e.g., 14.5 credits), the remaining

percentage/fraction must be dropped (e.g., assign units based on 14 credits rather than 14.5). If
a student has less than one credit per term, it would be considered a term with zero credits.

A student loses eligibility once the student’s remaining units of eligibility are less than those
assigned for a Level 3 term (three credits) as shown on the ‘Course Work After July 1, 1992’
chart. For example, if a student attending a quarter institution had accumulated 95 units, the
student would not be eligible because the remaining units of eligibility (96 maximum units
minus 95 accumulated units = 1 remaining unit) are less than those assigned to a Level 3
quarter (1.6 units). Therefore, a student with more than 94.4 units is no longer eligible for a
State Grant at a quarter system institution. A student with more than 93.6 units is no longer
eligible for a State Grant at a semester system institution.

Institutions that disburse aid on a quarter system may exceed the maximum of 96 units by
disbursing up to one more full-time quarter of aid to a student who has not accumulated more
than 94.4 units. Institutions that disburse aid on a semester system may exceed the maximum
of 96 units by disbursing up to one more full-time semester of aid to a student who has not
accumulated more than 93.6 units.
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Extra Term of Eligibility for Students Who Withdraw for Active Military Service

If a student had to withdraw from college for active military service after December 31, 2002,
course work taken during that term shall not count against the limit on postsecondary
education used for the State Grant program. The State Grant Student Eligibility Questionnaire
(Appendix D) has been modified to identify students who may have withdrawn for active
military service. If schools do not use this form, it is recommended that they incorporate
language to solicit such information into any institutional forms used to determine State Grant
eligibility and make arrangements for the school’s registrar or VA counselor to notify the
financial aid office about such withdrawals. The financial aid administrator should request
documentation from the student to verify the student has withdrawn for active military service.
Once the financial aid administrator identifies such a student, the administrator should notify
the grant unit at the Office of Higher Education so the appropriate adjustments can be made to
the State Grant database. There is no restriction against this provision being used for multiple
occurrences.

Extra Term of Eligibility for Students Who Withdraw for Serious Health Condition

If a student had to withdraw from college for a serious health condition, while under the care of
a medical professional that substantially limited the student’s ability to complete the term, the
current institution may exclude that term when determining the amount of previous
postsecondary attendance for that student. This exclusion applies regardless of whether the
withdrawal took place at the current or a previous institution. The State Grant Student Eligibility
Questionnaire (Appendix D) has been modified to identify students who may have withdrawn
for this reason. If schools do not use this form, it is recommended that they incorporate
language to solicit such information into any institutional forms used to determine State Grant
eligibility and make arrangements for the school’s registrar to notify the financial aid office
about such withdrawals. The financial aid administrator should request documentation from
the student’s medical professional verifying the student had to withdraw for a serious health
condition that substantially limited the student’s ability to complete the term. Once the
financial aid administrator identifies such a student, the administrator should notify the grant
unit at the Office of Higher Education so the appropriate adjustments can be made to the State
Grant database. There is no restriction against this provision being used for multiple
occurrences.

Extra Term of Eligibility for Students Who Withdraw while providing care to spouse, child, or
parent who has a serious health condition.

If a student had to withdraw from college while providing care to a spouse, child, or parent who
has a serious health condition, and that substantially limited their ability to complete the term,
the current institution may exclude that term when determining the amount of previous
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postsecondary attendance for that student. This exclusion applies regardless of whether the
withdrawal took place at the current or a previous institution. The State Grant Student Eligibility
Questionnaire (Appendix D) has been modified to identify students who may have withdrawn
for this reason. If schools do not use this form, it is recommended that they incorporate
language to solicit such information into any institutional forms used to determine State Grant
eligibility and make arrangements for the school’s registrar to notify the financial aid office
about such withdrawals. The financial aid administrator should request documentation from a
medical professional verifying the student provided care for a spouse, child, or parent who had
a serious health condition and that substantially limited the student’s ability to complete the
term. Once the financial aid administrator identifies such a student, the administrator should
notify the grant unit at the Office of Higher Education so the appropriate adjustments can be
made to the State Grant database. There is no restriction against this provision being used for
multiple occurrences.

COVID-19 MN Unit Restoration

Students who withdraw from enroliment during the peacetime public health emergency known
as COVID-19 may be eligible to have grant eligibility from the term of withdrawal reinstated for
State Grant, Postsecondary Child Care Grant and Indian Scholarship programs. Similar to the full
withdraw due to serious health conditions while under the care of a physician that impacted a
student’s ability to complete the term, the documentation needs to be collected and reviewed
by OHE in order for units to be restored. If the statement and transcript warrant the unit
restoration, OHE staff will remove units from our internal database(s); once this is complete,
school administrators will see the resulting change via SG Student Web Access Screen. In some
scenarios, students were granted COVID-19 Unit Restoration, yet they did not receive a MN
State Grant for that term and since the SG Student Web Access only displayed units paid, there
were no units OHE to restore. In these cases, OHE provided the reporting institution a student
letter documenting that unit restoration was approved, this letter should be retained by the
institution and shared with the student.

Instructions for Reviewing Academic Transcripts

Because the FAFSA does not contain data required to determine the amount of postsecondary
education the student has attempted, the school must have the student complete the State
Grant Student Eligibility Questionnaire (Appendix D) or a similar form designed by the school. If
the institution chooses to include these questions on its own form, it is recommended they be
included on a financial aid form since many students exclude previous postsecondary
attendance on admissions forms if they do not wish to transfer credit. If the documentation the
campus collects indicates the student may have attended three or more years of postsecondary
education, including attendance at the current institution, the institution must request and
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evaluate the student’s academic transcripts. (See ‘Relying on Pell Grant Lifetime Eligibility Used
(LEU)” in this section for guidance on when a student’s Pell Grant LEU may be used in lieu of
reviewing academic transcripts.)

When reviewing transcripts to determine a student’s units of postsecondary attendance, a
separate grade transcript must be obtained from each postsecondary institution the student
has attended. It is not sufficient to assign units based on a listing of transfer credits appearing
on another institution’s transcript because the student may have completed course work that
did not transfer to the current institution. Either official transcripts or student copies are
acceptable.

When reviewing transcripts, units will be assigned differently depending on whether the course
work took place before or after July 1, 1992, as shown on the preceding units charts.

When assigning units, all postsecondary education must be counted, including, but not limited
to:

e course work taken during military service if it was taken at a postsecondary institution
(as opposed to training provided by the military);

e course work taken at colleges in other states or countries;
e independent study courses;

e classes from which the student withdrew (except for active military duty after
December 31, 2002, or for a major medical illness), failed, received no credit, repeated
or earned an incomplete;

e Developmental and below college-level courses taken prior to 07/01/2021; and
e course work during terms for which State Grant awards were not available

[Note: The school may opt to exclude course work from which the student withdrew if it took
place prior toJuly 1, 1995. However, if the student retained State Grant aid during that term,
the Agency will assign units of aid for that term.]

When assigning units, the following course work must be excluded:

e Developmental and below college-level courses taken 07/01/2021 and later from the
Limit on Post-Secondary Review. Excluding developmental and below college-level
courses will extend the timeline for which students who take these courses may receive
MN State Grant.
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course work completed at a Minnesota postsecondary institution which is not
participating in the Minnesota State Grant program and from which the student
transferred no credit (a list of all schools that have participated in the State Grant
program is available at www.ohe.state.mn.us, Campus Financial Aid Administrator

Resources, Minnesota State Grant Program Administration);

course work from which the student withdrew after December 31, 2002, for active
military service;

term from which the student withdrew for a major medical illness, while under the care
of a medical professional, that substantially limited the student’s ability to complete the
term;

term from which the student withdrew enrollment during the peacetime public health
emergency known as COVID-19 and was granted MN Unit Restoration

term from which the student withdrew while providing care to a spouse, child, or parent
who has a serious health condition, and that substantially limited their ability to
complete the term;

College Level Examination Program (CLEP) credits — classes the student “tested out” of
without having to attend the course;

Post-Secondary Enrollment Options (PSEO) course work or other similar programs that
allow the student to take college course work while the student is still in high school;

course work or training assigned Continuing Education Units (CEUs);
programs under eight weeks in duration (e.g., nursing assistant program);

course work not offered by postsecondary institutions (e.g., Red Cross first aid training,
Salvation Army on-the-job training, military training, etc.) evenif it is later granted credit
by a postsecondary institution; and

courses the student audited

TRANSCRIPT REVIEW TOOLS

Schools may use either the Transcript Review Worksheet (Appendix |) or Transcript Review

Spreadsheet to review transcripts and assign units. The spreadsheet tool is available at
www.ohe.state.mn.us , Campus Financial Aid Administrator Resources, Program Forms,

Spreadsheets and Instructions. The spreadsheet is designed to automatically assign units based

on the attempted credits entered into the spreadsheet for each term. The second page of the
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spreadsheet will determine units for clock hour course work taken at another school if the user
enters total clock hours and total number of weeks in the period of enroliment.

ASSIGNING UNITS TO PRE-JULY 1, 1992 COURSE WORK

Assign units to each term in which the student was enrolled on a half-time or more basis
according to the pre-July 1, 1992 units chart or transcript review worksheet (Appendix I). Place
all credits from terms that were less than half-time (less than six credits) in a separate quarter
or semester “bank,” depending on the system used by that school. Translate banked credits
into units according to the instructions on the worksheet. The transcript review spreadsheet
will automatically assign units for credits entered on the spreadsheet. It can be downloaded
from www.ohe.state.mn.us, Financial Aid Administrator Resources, Forms for Financial Aid

Administrators.
ASSIGNING UNITS TO POST-JULY 1, 1992 COURSE WORK

Assign units to each term based on the exact number of credits as shown on the post-July 1,
1992 units chart or the transcript review worksheet (Appendix 1). Units should be assigned to
less than half-time terms instead of banking credits. The transcript review spreadsheet will
automatically assign units for credits entered on the spreadsheet. It can be downloaded from
www.ohe.state.mn.us , Campus Financial Aid Administrator Resources, Program Formes,

Spreadsheets & Instructions.
ASSIGNING UNITS FOR SUMMER 1992 TERMS

If the student was paid a State Grant for summer term 1992, assign units based on the units
chart in effect for the academic year from which the funding originated.

If the school cannot determine if the student was paid a State Grant for summer term 1992,
units should be assigned based on the units chart in effect for the academic year in which the
term started. In other words, if the summer term started before July 1, 1992, assign units based
on the pre-July 1, 1992 units chart. If the term started on or after July 1, 1992, assign units
based on the post-July 1, 1992 units chart.

ASSIGNING UNITS WHEN STUDENT ATTENDED MULTIPLE SCHOOLS FOR SAME TERM

If a student attends multiple schools for the same term, the credits appearing on all transcripts
should be combined prior to assigning units. For example, if a student took eight semester
credits at one school and 10 semester credits at another, the credits would be combined for a
total of 18 credits and assigned 12 units for a full-time semester of 15 or more credits. In cases
where the student attends both quarter and semester schools, credits should be converted
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prior to assigning units. Semester credits should be multiplied by 1.5 to convert to quarter
credits. Quarter credits should be multiplied by .667 to arrive at semester credits.

CREDIT CONVERSIONS FOR PRE-1998-99 MinnState COURSE WORK

If a school is reviewing a transcript from a MinnState school (public two-year college or state
university) and quarter credits earned for course work completed prior to the 1998-99
academic year have been converted by MinnState into semester credits, those semester credits
must be converted back to quarter credits (in other words, multiplied by 1.5) before the
transcript is reviewed for state aid program eligibility.

ASSIGNING UNITS FOR INTERIM TERMS

When reviewing transcripts from another school to determine the amount of postsecondary
education a student has attended, interim terms should be treated as follows:

e Ifthe student attended an interim term and one or more semesters during the same
academic year, the interim term should not be counted as a separate term. Rather,
interim term credits should be distributed to the other semester(s) in a manner that
would equalize enrollment status for both semesters. Once both semesters have
enough credits to be considered full time, distributing additional interim credits to
either semester will have no effect on the units assigned to each semester.

e [f the total number of interim credits is not an even number, distribute only whole
credits to the other two semesters rather than dividing an uneven number by two.

e Ifastudent attended only one semester plus an interim term during the same academic
year, all of the interim term credits should be distributed to the one semester.

e If the student only attended an interim term during an academic year, the interim term
must be treated as a separate term.

However, when assessing previous postsecondary attendance taken at the current school,
interim credits should be allocated to adjoining terms as they were to determine enrollment
level for awarding purposes.

ASSIGNING UNITS WHEN NO CREDITS LISTED FOR GRADE OF W OR F

Certain colleges do not list attempted credits on academic transcripts when a student receives
a grade of W or F for the course, or when the course is a remedial course. In such cases, the
financial aid administrator must use an assumed value of four credits for these types of courses
without having to contact the previous college. If the student wants to appeal that assumption,
the student can produce additional documentation to verify the number of actual attempted
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credits. This assumption should only be applied in the rare instances when no attempted
credits appear for certain classes on another college's transcript. Financial aid administrators
will still be expected to look up actual attempted credits for classes taken at their own
institution.

INABILITY TO DECIPHER TRANSCRIPT

If a transcript lacks information needed to accurately determine the amount of postsecondary
education attempted (course work not shown by term, no start or end dates, no credits or clock
hours associated with classes, etc.), the financial aid administrator should make a good faith
effort to assign units of postsecondary attendance. Such cases shall be taken into consideration
during audits provided the school documents how the result was determined.

INABILITY TO OBTAIN TRANSCRIPTS

Prior to July 1, 2010, cosmetology schools in Minnesota were only required to keep records for
five years. If academic transcripts from any type of school are not available (closed school, no
records maintained, natural disaster, civil war, etc.), the school may accept a written, signed
statement from the student in which the student reconstructs his/her postsecondary period of
enrollment and enrollment level. Such a statement cannot be used in lieu of transcripts in cases
where the transcript cannot be released due to non-payment of institutional charges. However,
schools are required by FERPA (34 CFR 99.10) to release unofficial transcripts to students who
have a hold on their records and these are acceptable for purposes of reviewing transcripts.

PROGRESSIVE CLOCK HOUR TRANSCRIPTS

If a transcript from a clock hour school does not separate course work into enrollment periods,
the school should first determine the number of weeks in the student’s period of enroliment.
Assume continuous enrollment without breaks unless the student states otherwise. In rare
cases, total clock hours may not appear on a cosmetology transcript. If the student has
obtained a license in any of these fields, assume these hours: Cosmetology = 1,550 hours;
Barbering = 1,500 hours; Esthiology = 600 hours; Manicuring = 350 hours.

e Determine the student’s enrollment status by dividing the total number of clock hours
completed by the number of weeks in the enrollment period. Once average hours per
week are known, assumed enrollment status for the entire enrollment period will be
based on the following chart:
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Enrollment Status at Clock Hour School
Average Clock Hours Course Work Taken Course Work Taken
Per Week Pre-July 1, 1992 Post-July 1, 1992

30+ Full-time Level 15
28-29 Full-time Level 14
26-27 Full-time Level 13
24-25 Full-time Level 12
22-23 3/4-time Level 11
20-21 3/4-time Level 10
18-19 3/4-time Level 9
16-17 Half-time Level 8
14-15 Half-time Level 7
12-13 Half-time Level 6
10-11 N/A Level 5

8-9 N/A Level 4

6-7 N/A Level 3

Determine the approximate number of quarters that could have taken place within the
enrollment period by dividing the total number of weeks in the enrollment period by 12.

Determine the total units of postsecondary education by applying enrollment status to the
number of quarters in the enrollment period and referring to the units charts in this section or
Appendix I. The second page within the OHE Transcript Review Spreadsheet is designed to

calculate units if a user enters total clock hours and total weeks enrolled.

Total Hours Completed = 1550

Example of Units for Clock Hour Attendance

Period of Enrollment was 9/1/89 to 8/26/90 = 51 weeks

Average Hours per Week = 1550/51 = 30
Assumed Enrollment Status = Full-time (Level 15)
Number of Quarters in Enrollment Period =51/12 = 4.25
Number of PSE Units = 4.25 FT quarters x 8 units = 34 units
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Relying on Pell Grant Lifetime Eligibility Used (LEU)

A school may rely on a student’s Pell Grant Lifetime Eligibility Used (LEU) calculated on the
federal central processing system in lieu of requesting and reviewing a student’s academic
transcripts if a student’s Pell Grant LEU is 500 percent, in which case, the school can assume the
student has reached the State Grant limit on postsecondary attendance of at least four full-time
academic years. (Using a Pell Grant LEU of 400 percent would not work in this case, since the
Pell Grant full-time definition is only 12 credits such that the student may have attended for
four years, but for less than 15 credits per term.)

If a school chooses to use Pell Grant LEU in this case, it should make sure it is not in conflict with
any policy it has adopted to exclude courses with W grades earned before July 1, 1995, which is
allowed for the State Grant program if the student did not receive a State Grant payment for
those credits.

High School Graduate, GED Recipient or 17 Years of Age

To qualify for Minnesota State Grant, a student must be at least 17 years old at the time of
disbursement or have a high school diploma or GED. While Minnesota uses the standard GED
test, certain other states use alternative tests, such as the High School Equivalency Test (HiSET)
or Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC). Minnesota’s K-12 education agency, the
Minnesota Department of Education, honors alternative tests authorized and used by other
states and will issue a student who successfully passed such a test a Minnesota GED certificate
upon request. For purposes of this eligibility requirement, however, such a GED will not be
treated as the equivalent of a GED earned in Minnesota for purposes of establishing state
residency. (See ‘Resident Student’ in Common Definition chapter.)

The Minnesota Department of Education currently does not honor such alternative tests if they
were taken in a state in which they are not authorized. Thus, students who took alternative
tests in a state in which they are not authorized will not be considered to have the equivalent of
a GED for purposes of state financial aid programs.

The following is a list of states authorizing and using alternative tests to the GED:

HiSET Test: lowa, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New
Hampshire, New Jersey, Tennessee, Wyoming

TASC Test: Indiana, New Jersey, New York, Nevada, West Virginia, Wyoming
State Grant Overpayment
A student is not eligible to receive a State Grant if the student owes the school or the Agency

for a State Grant overpayment. A student is considered to have received an overpayment if the
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student’s total payments exceeded the allowable State Grant award or if the school or the
Agency learned the student did not meet one of the program eligibility requirements after the
student received a State Grant payment.

The student will become eligible retroactive to the beginning of the current aid year if the
student repays the overpayment or maintains a pattern of monthly payments to repay the
obligation provided the student currently meets all program eligibility requirements. The
student also has the option of repaying an overpayment from a previous aid year with part or
all of the award for the current aid year if the student makes such arrangements with the
school or the Agency’s Financial Services section.

Student Loan Default

If a student is considered to be in default on any federal student loan or state SELF Loan, the
student is not eligible to receive a State Grant as of the date the school (in the case of federal
student loans) or the Agency (in the case of SELF loans) was notified of the default. For
example, if the student received a fall term State Grant payment and, following disbursement,
defaulted on a student loan, the student would not lose eligibility for fall term, but would lose
eligibility for subsequent terms. The student will be considered eligible for a State Grant
retroactive to the beginning of the current aid year if the student produces documentation
from the guarantor, lender or servicer that the loan has been paid in full or otherwise satisfied
(i.e., meets criteria for reinstatement of federal or state financial aid eligibility) and the student
currently meets all other program eligibility requirements.

The school must rely upon the student’s SAR or ISIR, or the federal NSLDS system to determine
if the student has defaulted on a federal student loan. In the case of the state SELF Loan,
schools are notified of a student’s default status on the State Grant On-Line Hold Report (see
‘State Grant On-Line Hold Report’ section in this chapter).

Child Support Arrears

Effective January 1, 1992, a student is not eligible to receive a State Grant if the student is more
than 30 days in arrears for child support payments owed a public child support enforcement
agency unless a student is complying with a written payment agreement or order for
arrearages. The State Department of Human Services will run a child support arrears interface
on a weekly basis against the State Grant database. A student’s State Grant record will be
marked with a hold if the student appears in the interface file. The student will lose eligibility
for future State Grant payments as of the date the Office of Higher Education is notified of the
delinquency.

Schools will be notified of students placed on or released from child support holds on the State
Grant On-Line Hold Report (Appendix E) via automated emails. Schools that do not participate
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in federal aid programs will need to check student eligibility using the State Grant web access
screen (Appendix F). Schools should prevent future State Grant payments to these students
and, in some cases, may be liable for previous payments made to these students (refer to
‘Responsibility for Monitoring Eligibility Requirements’ section of this chapter).

To regain eligibility for a State Grant, the student must contact the county child support
enforcement office and make the necessary arrangements for the worker to release the hold
on the Department of Human Service’s child support database. Once a student is no longer in
arrears for child support payments or is complying with a written repayment agreement or
order for arrearages, the student is eligible to receive a State Grant retroactive to the beginning
of the current aid year provided the student currently meets all other program eligibility
requirements. The hold will be removed from the student’s State Grant record once the
student shows up as released on the Department of Human Service’s interface file.

Enrollment Status at Eligible Institution

General

To receive consideration for a State Grant, a student must be enrolled at an eligible Minnesota
postsecondary institution for at least three credits per term (or six clock hours per week at
clock hour institutions) in a program or course of study that applies to a degree, diploma or
certificate.

Schools that disburse aid under the progressive clock hour system must base their enroliment
level definitions on the average number of hours completed by the student each week. (See
also ‘Determining Enrollment Status throughout the Academic Year at Progressive Clock Hour
Schools’ in the Disbursement section of this manual for further guidance.) Schools that disburse
aid under the term based system must base their enrollment level definitions on the number of
credits per term. This includes non-term based schools that combine sequential course modules
into a term, whereby the student’s enroliment level is based on credits for all courses combined
into one term.

The number of credits per term or average clock hours per week used for the various
enrollment levels for the State Grant program are as follows:
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State Grant Enroliment Levels
Credits Per Term Average Clock Hours Per Week Enroliment Level
15+ 30+ Level 15 (full-time)
14 28-29 Level 14
13 26-27 Level 13
12 24-25 Level 12
11 22-23 Level 11
10 20-21 Level 10
9 18-19 Level 9
8 16-17 Level 8
7 14-15 Level 7
6 12-13 Level 6
5 10-11 Level 5
4 8-9 Level 4
3 6-7 Level 3

If the number of credits per term is not a whole number (e.g., 7.5 credits), the remaining
fraction or percentage must be dropped before determining enrollment status. A student
enrolled for 7.5 credits would be assigned an enrollment level based on seven credits (Level 7).
The same applies to clock hour schools. If a student’s average clock hours per week are 13.33,
assign an enrollment level based on 13 hours (Level 6).

If a student drops or adds credits during a term in which the State Grant award has already
been disbursed, the State Grant may have to be adjusted. For additional information, please
refer to ‘Adjustments to Award Based on Changes in Enrollment Level’ under the ‘Award
Process and Formula’ section of this manual.

Enrollment Level at Non Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools

Non term-based credit-hour schools link sequential course modules together to form a term
and determine enrollment level. For example, a school might define its semester as 12 credits
based on combining four 3-credit sequential classes.

3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits

There is no requirement that all classes within such terms must be sequential. In the following
example, a school defines its semester as 15 credits based on five 3-credit classes, with two
classes taken simultaneously at the onset of the term.
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3 Credits

3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits

If a student fails a class or classes and continues in the same program, the student will not be
able to advance to the next term unless all the credits required for the first term are
successfully completed. Thus, the term would be extended to include the credits for the
additional class or classes. If the school charges for the additional class(es), the student’s award
for the extended term would be also be adjusted for the new enrollment level. Otherwise, the
original term award would not be adjusted.

For example, if the student fails the third course module, the term would be extended to
include an additional three credits before the student could advance to the next term. If the
school charges for the additional class, the student’s award would be adjusted from Level 12 to
Level 15. If the school doesn’t charge for the additional class, the State Grant award would
remain at Level 12.

3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits
Class 1 Class 2 Class 3 Repeat Class 3 | Class 4
Grade=B Grade=C Grade=F

Likewise, if a student withdraws from school during a term, but reenters the same program, the
student cannot advance to the next term until all the course modules for the term during which
the student withdrew are completed. If the student reenters within the same aid year, any
refunds for recalculations and withdrawals during that term can be reversed, provided the
student still meets all the program eligibility requirements. However, if the student reenters
during the subsequent aid year, refunds during the previous aid year cannot be reversed.
Further, the student’s enrollment level for that term in the subsequent aid year will be based
solely on the credits for the remaining classes of the original term.

For example, the student’s semester consists of four 3-credit classes for a total of 12 credits.
The student is paid a Level 12 State Grant at the onset of the term. The student withdraws
during the third class, the award is recalculated from Level 12 to Level 9 and a withdrawal
refund calculation is performed for the Level 9 State Grant. If the student reenters the same
program within the same aid year, both the recalculation and withdrawal refund amounts can
be reversed since the student is continuing in the same term. Because the student will need to
complete 12 credits to advance to the next term, the current term can be extended and
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enrollment level can be increased to account for both the withdrawn class and the remaining
six credits in the term. The student’s enrollment level would increase from Level 12 to Level 15.
If the school charges for the additional course module, the State Grant award can be adjusted
from Level 12 to Level 15. Otherwise, the student’s State Grant award would be based on Level
12.

If the student withdraws during a term but reenters in the subsequent aid year, any refunds for
recalculations or withdrawals for the previous aid year cannot be reversed. The student’s
enrollment level in the subsequent aid year would be determined by the credits remaining in
the original term. In the case cited in the preceding paragraph, the student completed six
credits and withdrew from three credits in the previous aid year and would have six credits to
complete in the subsequent aid year prior to advancing to the next semester. Therefore, the
student could receive a Level 6 State Grant payment for the term in the subsequent aid year,
provided the student was charged for both classes in the subsequent aid year. Otherwise,
credits for which the student was not charged would not be included in the student’s
enrollment level.

Aid Year One (Enrollment level recalculated from Level 12 to Level 9 and withdrawal refund

|

calculated for Level 9)

3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits
Class 1 Class 2 Class 3 Class 4
(withdrawal) (never started)

Aid Year Two (Enroliment level based on 6 credits remaining in original term, assuming student

charged for both classes)

3 Credits 3 Credits
Class 3 Class 4
repeat

In no instance can a school disburse a State Grant retroactively for a term during which the
student withdrew from school (see also ‘Late/Retroactive Disbursement’ section in this manual)
or for classes from which the student withdrew.

Clock-Hour/Credit-Hour Conversion

The school must use a clock-hour to credit-hour conversion formula to determine the student’s
enrollment unless the student’s program:
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e isatleast two academic years in length and provides an associate, bachelor’s or
professional degree; or

e each course from the program is acceptable for full-credit towards a degree program
offered by the institution and the institution can demonstrate students enroll in and
graduate from that degree program

See ‘Credit Hour’ definition in the Common Definitions chapter of this manual for further
information. Public and private non-profit schools of nursing are exempt from this requirement.

Pursuing Degree, Diploma or Certificate

In order to be eligible for a State Grant, a student must be enrolled at an eligible Minnesota
institution in a program leading to a degree, diploma or certificate that is at least eight weeks
long and consists of a minimum of 12 credits or 300 clock hours.

There is no requirement that a student must be pursuing a degree, diploma or certificate at the
institution awarding the State Grant as long as the student is accepted into a degree, diploma
or certificate program at any Minnesota institution eligible to participate in the State Grant
program. No consortium agreement is required in these cases. (See exception under ‘Awarding
State Grant beyond Associate Degree or Maximum Time Frame at Two-Year College.’)

If the student is taking course work at an ineligible school (foreign school, school located
outside Minnesota), the student can only receive a State Grant if the student is pursuing a
degree, diploma or certificate at an eligible Minnesota school and:

e the student registers and pays for the course work through an eligible Minnesota
school; or

e the student registers and pays for the course work through an ineligible school that has
a consortium agreement with the eligible Minnesota school administering the State
Grant program

Excluded Course Work

Credits can only be included in the student’s enrollment level from learning that results from
instruction provided or overseen by the current school.

Transfer credits earned during a previous term at another institution, courses that the student
audited at the current school, credits awarded from placement or CLEP tests, or credits that will
not be applied towards the student’s credential may not be counted towards enrollment status.
However, the school may opt to have a policy that includes credits for repeated classes in the
student’s enrollment level.
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When payment is delayed for a term, courses with grades of W, FN or FW may not be included
when determining the student’s enrollment level.

High school students enrolled in postsecondary classes prior to receiving a high school diploma
are not eligible for a State Grant.

State Grant vs Pell Grant Enrollment Level

In certain instances, the student’s enrollment level used for the State Grant program may differ
from the student’s Federal Pell Grant enrollment level. In such cases, the Pell Grant subtracted

in the State Grant award calculation is based on what the Pell Grant would be for the student’s

State Grant enrollment level.

A chart comparing State Grant and Pell Grant enrollment levels is provided in the ‘Pell Grant’
section under ‘Shared Responsibility Formula’ in this chapter.

Developmental Education

Credits or credit equivalencies assigned for developmental education course work may be
counted towards the student’s enrollment level if the student has been accepted into a degree,
diploma or certificate program and takes remedial course work within that program. A school
cannot count non-credit developmental education hours in a student’s enrollment status if the
course is part of a program that leads to a high school diploma or GED. There is no limit on the
total amount of developmental education credits that can be used to determine the student’s
enrollment level.

Awarding State Grant Beyond Associate Degree or Maximum Time Frame at Two-Year College

A student is eligible for a State Grant at a two-year college after earning an associate’s degree if
the student’s course work is required for admission to a four-year degree program at another
college or the student is already admitted to the four-year degree program and the course work
will be applied to that program. This provision applies even if the student has exceeded the
maximum time frame for satisfactory academic progress at the two-year college, since course
work transferred to the four-year college will count against the maximum time frame for
satisfactory academic progress at the four-year college. In instances where the student has
already been accepted into a four-year degree program, the State Grant may be awarded by
the two-year college or the four-year college if it is an institution eligible to participate in the
State Grant program. If the eligible four-year college acts as the “home” institution, the amount
of State Grant awarded must be based on the cost of tuition and fees at the institution the
student is actually attending (see Example 8 in Appendix K for example award calculation). In
instances where the student is not yet admitted into the four-year degree program or the four-
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year college is not eligible to participate in the State Grant program, only the eligible two-year
college may award the student a State Grant.

Whichever college awards the State Grant for this type of course work must have
documentation from the student that verifies the course work taken at the two-year college is
required for entry into or will be applied to a four-year degree program at the four-year college.
Such documentation should include a copy of the catalog or course schedule from the four-year
college specifying pre-requisite or required course work needed for the four-year degree
program and a statement of intent from the student that the course work is being taken for this
purpose. State Grant awards for this type of course work are limited to no more than 30
semester or 45 quarter credits.

Attending Multiple Schools for Same Term
A student attending two or more eligible schools for the same term can either:

e receive a separate State Grant at each school for up to a total of 15 credits based on the
tuition and fees charged at each school; or

e receive a State Grant at one school based on the cost for the combined credits from all
schools attended

If the student receives a separate State Grant at each school attended, the award at each
school would be based on the tuition and fees for the credits attended at that school. However,
the student cannot be awarded for more than a total of 15 credits in any term. The school that
reports a payment to the Agency which causes the 15 credit limit to be exceeded will have its
payment rejected and will need to recalculate the award to a lower enrollment level. (See

Example 7 in Appendix K.)

For example, if School A reports a fall semester payment to the Agency for eight credits and
School B reports a fall semester payment for nine credits, for a total of 17 credits, School B's
payment will be rejected until School B recalculates the award based on the cost for seven
credits and reports the new award to the Agency.

The other option for a student attending multiple eligible schools for the same term is to have
one school act as the “home school” and calculate the State Grant term award based on the
cost for up to 15 credits attended at all schools. The dollar amount of total tuition and fees
cannot exceed the tuition and fee maximum at the “home school” for the student’s enrollment
level.

The “home school” must develop a procedure that allows the school to verify the student’s
attendance at all schools attended for the term. If the “home school” determines that the
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student withdrew or changed enrollment level or tuition and fee charges at the other schools,
the “home school” must adjust the State Grant award accordingly.

For further information about the tuition and fees used to calculate the State Grant award for a
student enrolled at multiple schools for the same term, see ‘Tuition, Fees and LME Used for
Students Attending Multiple Schools for Same Term’ under the ‘Shared Responsibility Term
Award Calculation’ section of this chapter. (See also Example 8 in Appendix K.)

Use of Interim Term Credits

Schools using a 4-1-4 calendar may use student credits attended during the interim termin
determining the student’s enroliment status for State Grants. The credits attended during
interim may be counted as part of the fall semester or the spring semester or may be divided
between the two terms. Schools may adopt any reasonable method for allocating interim
credits and determining the appropriate enrollment status for fall and spring semesters on a
student-by-student basis. With respect to students who are also Pell Grant recipients, there is
no requirement that interim term credits be allocated to fall and spring semesters in the same
manner allocated for the Pell Grant program, as long as the resulting State Grant enrollment
level will not cause the incorrect Pell Grant award to be subtracted within the State Grant
award calculation.

Example:

A student registers for 11 credits in the fall semester, four credits in the interim
term and 11 credits for the spring semester. The school’s policy for the Pell Grant
program is to attach the interim term to the spring semester, resulting in a 15-
credit enrollment level for the Pell Grant program. For the State Grant program,
the school must also allocate the four interim term credits to the spring semester,
since allocating any interim credits to the fall term would result in a full-time Pell
Grant award being subtracted in the State Grant calculation when the student is
receiving a three-quarter time Pell Grant award for the fall semester. However, if
the student were not a Pell Grant recipient, the interim term credits could be
allocated to fall and/or spring semesters in any manner selected by the school.
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Example:

A student registers for 11 credits in the fall semester and four credits in the interim
term but does not enroll for spring semester. The school’s policy for the Pell Grant
program is to attach the interim term to the spring semester, resulting in a four
credit less than half-time spring term enrollment level for the Pell Grant program.
For the State Grant program, the school must also allocate the four interim term
credits to the spring semester, since allocating any interim credits to the fall term
would result in an a full-time Pell Grant award being subtracted in the State Grant
calculation when the student is receiving a three-quarter time Pell Grant award
for the fall semester. However, if the student were not a Pell Grant recipient, the
interim term credits could be allocated to fall and/or spring semesters in any
manner selected by the school.

Example:

A student registers for 13 credits in the fall semester, three credits for the interim
term and 14 credits for the spring semester. The school’s policy for the Pell Grant
program is to attach the interim term to the spring semester, resulting in a 17-
credit enrollment level for the Pell Grant program. For the State Grant program,
the school may allocate all interim credits to either fall or spring semesters, or
allocate two of the interim credits toward the fall term enrollment status and the
remaining one credit as part of the spring semester enrollment status, resulting in
a Level 15 State Grant award for each semester. Any of these options would be
allowable since the correct full-time Pell Grant would still be subtracted within the
State Grant award calculation for each term regardless of how interim credits were
allocated for the State Grant program.

The school may have a policy to retroactively adjust fall term awards based on the assignment
of interim term credits even if the adjustment is performed after the school’s award adjustment
end date.

If a student does not attend the interim term after a State Grant disbursement was made for an
enrollment status that included interim term credits, the school must recalculate the State
Grant award for that term and return the overpayment to the State Grant program.

For Non-Standard Terms

A student’s term enrollment status does not have to be adjusted if the term is shorter than the
standard length of 10 weeks per quarter or 15 weeks per semester. To determine the award,
refer to the ‘Awards for Summer or Non-Standard Terms’ section of this chapter.
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Satisfactory Academic Progress

To be eligible for a State Grant, the student must be making satisfactory academic progress as
described in the ‘Common Definitions’ section of this manual. (See also ‘Awarding State Grant
Beyond Associate Degree or Maximum Time Frame at Two-Year College’ in this chapter.)

Tuition Reciprocity Restriction

A student who technically meets the definition of a Minnesota resident may not receive a State Grant if
the student is receiving tuition reciprocity benefits from another state to attend a Minnesota public
postsecondary institution. The student can opt to cancel tuition reciprocity benefits in order to receive a
State Grant. In these cases where the school has determined that the student meets a Minnesota
resident student definition, cancelling the tuition reciprocity benefit means the student is coded as a
Minnesota resident, not a non-resident or resident of another state. In order to pay out Minnesota
State Grant, this must be done even if the school does not charge a different rate to residents versus
non-residents.

State Grant On-Line Hold Report

The State Grant On-Line Hold Report (Appendix E) is generated by the Agency and provides
information to schools about student eligibility problems. The State Grant on-line hold database
is updated each night when the Agency downloads Institutional Student Information Records
(ISIR) of MN Residents to the State Grant database. Schools will be notified via email if any
students who self-identified on the FAFSA as MN Residents were added or updated on the State
Grant on-line hold database for their campus. The email will contain a link to the screen schools
can use to view the data and print a hold report on campus. Undocumented students applying
for state financial aid under the MN Dream Act do not currently appear on the report since they
are not able to submit the FAFSA.

The State Grant on-line hold database will only contain data about child support arrears holds,
SELF loan default holds, and students whose units of State Grant paid through the current aid
year exceed three full-time academic years (> 72 units). The units appearing on the on-line hold
database only represent units of State Grant paid to the student and do not eliminate the
school’s responsibility for reviewing student academic transcripts to determine the amount of
postsecondary education the student has attended to date. The Agency will load ISIR records to
the State Grant database each night from the federal financial aid application system. Between
January and July, the Agency will download ISIRs for two consecutive aid years. After July, the
Agency will only download ISIRs for the current aid year.

The Agency will store the college codes from the student’s three most recent ISIR records for
the aid year on the State Grant database as well as the college’s position (college choice one
through ten) on the ISIR. If a school’s code appears in any location on the three most recent

ISIRs for the student or if the school has already reported a State Grant DDS record for the
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student to the Agency for the current aid year, the school will be notified of any holds for that
student on the State Grant database.

If the school has not yet submitted a DDS record for the student for the aid year, the ‘DDS/ISIR
rank’ column on the report will reflect on which ISIR record the college code was listed and the
position, with the first digit of the code representing which of the three most recent ISIRs
contains the college code and the second digit representing the college choice position:

14 = most recent ISIR, 4th position
23 = 2nd most recent ISIR, 3rd position
31 = 3rd mostrecent ISIR, 1st position

If the school has submitted a DDS record for the student for the aid year, a code of ‘DDS’ will
appear in the ‘DDS/ISIR rank’ column and ISIR rank data will not be displayed.

The ‘DDS/ISIR rank’ column was designed to help schools prioritize students. Schools may wish
to spend more time reviewing hold data for students with a ‘DDS’ code in this column since
those students are presumably attending the current institution. With respect to ISIR rank
codes, the higher the value the less likelihood there is the student will actually attend the
institution.

The school’s designated State Grant contact will be notified via an automated email when any
of the student hold data changes for that school. The email will contain a link to the State Grant
on-line hold report. Email notification will occur in the following instances:

e ISIR or DDS record loaded to State Grant database for a student who has a hold problem
and has not yet had hold information written to the State Grant on-line hold database
for that school; or

e Hold information changes after hold information has already been written to the State
Grant on-line hold database for that school (e.g., hold is released) regardless of whether
or not a new ISIR or DDS record has been received

It will be the school’s responsibility to notify the Agency’s grant unit about any changes to the
email address for the designated State Grant contact at the school.

The school can access the State Grant On-Line Hold Report by logging into the State Grant web
access screen. Once logged into the screen, the school can choose to access individual student
data (State Grant Student Web Access Screen) or the hold report (State Grant On-Line Hold
Report). The same username and password is used for both features. If a school forgets its
password, the school should contact the Agency’s grant unit for assistance.
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Once the school is logged onto the State Grant On-Line Hold Report, the school will choose the
date range for the hold report. The default date range will be the first date the on-line hold
database was created for the current aid year through the current date, producing a
comprehensive cumulative report for the year. If the school would like to produce a report for a
narrower date range, the school can adjust the dates accordingly. When the on-line hold report
is first operational, schools will want to select a report using the default date range. After that
point, schools may want to choose shorter date intervals and review only the most recent
information loaded to the on-line hold database.

After the date range is selected, a hold report will be generated displaying all hold data updated
during that period. The default sort option produces an alphabetical report by student last
name. A school has the option of changing the sort option to SSN, Aid Year, DDS/ISIR rank or
Last Transaction date by clicking on those column headings. If a school would like to sort by any
other field appearing on the report, the data can be copied from the on-line report and pasted
into any spreadsheet software for sorting. Once the data is sorted by the chosen field, the
school can print the entire report or select a portion of the report and print that selection.
Schools should print using landscape option for all fields to appear on one page. If printed
directly from the on-line report, headers will only appear on the first page. However, schools
can copy the data to spreadsheet software, which allows headers on every page.

Because the State Grant On-Line Hold Report is generated from a cumulative on-line hold
database, there will be no need for schools to maintain paper printouts of the report
throughout the aid year since the data will be available on-line. Once a student appears in the
on-line hold database, the student’s record will remain on the report.

Many fields appearing on the report will have a ‘help’ pop-up box schools can access for a
description of that field. It is important to note the distinction between the hold start date and
the hold notification date appearing on the report. The hold start date is the date the student
becomes ineligible. The notification date is the date the school was notified that the hold data
was written to the on-line hold database. For example, a student could have been placed on a
child support hold in January 2003 (hold start date) but the hold would not be written to the
on-line hold database or the school notified until the first ISIR or DDS record was received for
the current aid year (notification date).

The hold start date and hold end date will continue to appear on the report regardless of the
student’s hold status and will represent the most recent date the student was placed on or
released from a hold. The hold notification date will always represent the date the student’s
most recent hold was written to the on-line hold database.

Units appearing in the ‘Units’ column represent units of State Grant paid to the student up
through the current aid year, including the current school. Though the units appearing on the
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on-line report may change throughout the aid year, the school will only be notified via an
automated email when the units exceed or fall below 72 units, which is the equivalent of three
full-time academic years. If a school wants to view more detailed units information for a
particular student (units by aid year and campus), the school can click on the student’s name
and toggle to the State Grant student web access screen and then hit the ‘Back’ key to go back
to the hold report.

It will be common for a student to appear twice on the on-line hold report if the State Grant
database has a DDS or ISIR record for the student for both consecutive aid years. In most cases,
the hold data appearing for the student will be identical for both years but the amount of units
appearing in the ‘Units’ column may differ by aid year.

If schools would like additional instructions on how to access the State Grant On-Line Hold
Report, they can access an audio/video tutorial developed by the Agency at
www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pagelD=346 or contact the grant unit for assistance.

Use of State Grant Web Access Screen to Determine Hold Status

The State Grant web access screen allows schools access to student hold data on the State
Grant database. The hold data is current as of the time the school is accessing the student’s
record. Therefore, schools will be able to check hold data on students prior to making a State
Grant disbursement. Undocumented students applying for state financial aid under the MN
Dream Act do not have records in the State Grant database since they are not able to submit a
FAFSA.

Schools can access the State Grant web access screen at
www.ohe.state.mn.us/SSL/SG/index.cfm .

Each school participating in the State Grant program will be assigned a username and password
to gain access to the State Grant web access screen. To log on to the screen, the user would
enter the school’s six-digit FAFSA school code for the username on the screen. If the school is
not participating in federal financial aid programs, the school would use the six-digit code
assigned by the Agency’s grant unit. The user would then enter the school’s password. If the
school has misplaced its password, the user should contact the Agency’s grant unit for
assistance.

The security system for the State Grant web access screen will only allow a school to access a
student’s record if that school is listed on the student’s ISIR for the current aid year. If the
school’s code is NOT listed on the student’s ISIR for the current aid year, the following message
will appear:

“SCHOOL NOT LISTED ON CURRENT YEAR ISIR - CANNOT ACCESS STUDENT RECORD”
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If the Agency does not have the student’s ISIR record on file for the current aid year, the school
will receive the following error message:

“NO CURRENT YEAR RECORD ON FILE FOR STUDENT”

If the school passes the school code clearance and accesses a student’s record, information
about any existing holds, past history of State Grant units paid (broken out by aid year and
college), and the enrollment status and accepted payments for the current aid year will be
displayed on the screen. (A sample copy of the State Grant web access screen is provided as

Appendix F).

At the top of the screen, the user will see the date of inquiry and the student’s name and social
security number. Because private data is displayed on the screen, financial aid administrators
should make sure they exit the system if they are away from their work stations.

The top section of the screen will display any holds currently on the student’s file. If a student
has a SELF default or child support hold, the date the hold was placed on the student’s file (that
is, the date eligibility was lost) is also displayed. Otherwise, just a description of the hold code is
displayed. Holds appearing on this report are controlled by the Agency and require consultation
with the grant unit staff if the school believes the data is incorrect. If no holds appear, it means
there are currently no holds on the student’s record.

The middle section of the screen shows units of State Grant aid paid to the student during
previous aid years broken out by aid year and school. The user may encounter the following
message under the School Name column: “School Name Not Found. Please Contact the Grant
Unit.” This means the school code on the student’s history record didn’t translate into a school
name. Schools should contact the grant unit for assistance in determining the school name.

Historical records for the State Grant system contain information about units of State Grant aid
paid to the student during previous aid years as opposed to the units of postsecondary
attendance the student has attempted. Schools are still expected to request and review
academic transcripts from students to determine the amount of postsecondary education the
student has attended. However, the State Grant web access screen may be a helpful tool for
solving discrepancies, particularly for cases when the Agency’s units of State Grant paid to the
student are greater than the units of postsecondary education attended derived from the
school’s review of academic transcripts.

The bottom section of the screen shows enrollment and accepted payment information at any
school that has reported in a DDS record for the student for the current aid year, including the
school accessing the record.
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Schools may wish to print and save a copy of the student’s State Grant web access screen to
document the student’s eligibility at a certain point in time for auditing purposes.

Liability for Monitoring Eligibility Requirements

Because the FAFSA does not always contain information needed to verify state residency and
the amount of previous postsecondary attendance, the institution must collect supplemental
data to determine if the student meets these eligibility requirements unless information
supplied on the FAFSA is sufficient or the student has previously completed the paper or online
State Grant Student Eligibility Questionnaire (or the school’s proxy) and no subsequent
information contradicts the student’s continued eligibility (see also ‘Student Eligibility
Questionnaire’ section under ‘Original Application’ section of this chapter).

If the supplemental information indicates there is reason to believe the student completed
three or more full-time academic years of postsecondary education, the institution must
request and evaluate the student’s academic transcript(s) according to the ‘Limit on
Postsecondary Attendance’ section of this chapter. (See exception under ‘Relying on Pell Grant
Lifetime Eligibility Used (LEU)’ in this chapter.)

If funds are withheld either by the school or the Agency because the student owes a State
Grant overpayment, is in default on a student loan or is more than 30 days in arrears for child
support payments, once the obligation is repaid or otherwise satisfied, the student will be
eligible to receive the State Grant retroactive to the beginning of the current aid year provided
the student currently meets all program eligibility requirements.

If the school had documentation on campus, including notification of hold status on the State
Grant On-Line Hold Report, that the student did not meet an eligibility requirement and the
school disbursed the State Grant award to the student, the school will be responsible for
reimbursing the State Grant program from its own funds if it cannot collect the overpayment
from the student.

If a school not participating in federal financial aid programs fails to run an eligibility check
(child support, past overpayment, four years of aid, SELF default) against the State Grant
database via submitting a State Grant DDS batch prior to disbursing State Grant funds to a
student, the school will be liable for repaying rejected payments from its own funds if it cannot
collect the overpayment from the student.

Monitoring Program Eligibility Requirements during the School Year

All schools are responsible for establishing a procedure to inform the financial aid office of all
changes in a student’s status that may affect the student’s eligibility for a State Grant during an
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academic term. One means of ensuring this is to have the registrar’s office (or its counterpart)
routinely inform the financial aid office when any student changes enrollment status, ceases to
be making satisfactory academic progress, withdraws from school, produces additional
academic transcripts, etc. The Agency strongly recommends that all students be required to
contact the financial aid office when dropping to less than full-time status or withdrawing from
school.

Award Process and Formula

Shared Responsibility Formula

The State Grant is calculated using the Shared Responsibility Formula (see Appendix J) which
assigns responsibility for college costs to the student, family and government. A detailed
description of its components follows.

Prior to final award parameters being established by the legislature each year, estimated
awards contained in award notices to students must be based on estimated parameters issued
by the Agency by February 15th preceding the coming aid year.

The State Grant award is not subject to financial aid packaging requirements. Thus, it is never
reduced in cases where the student’s Expected Family Contribution (EFC) and other financial aid
and resources exceed the student’s cost of attendance used for federal financial aid programs.

State Grant Budget

The budget used in the Shared Responsibility term award calculation consists of:

e auniform nine-month living and miscellaneous expense allowance (LME) set by the
Legislature each academic year prorated for term length and then for enrollment level;
and

e the lesser of:

o the school’s annual full-time (30 semester credits or 45 quarter credits) average
tuition and mandatory fees prorated for term length and then for enroliment
level, or

o the annual nine-month tuition and fee maximum set by the Legislature prorated
for term length and then for enroliment level
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Living and Miscellaneous Expense Allowance (LME)

A uniform nine-month annual LME is set by the Legislature for each academic year which
represents costs for books, transportation and other living expenses. (See Appendix J for
current LME.) When calculating the Shared Responsibility term award calculation, the LME is
first adjusted for term length by multiplying by .50 for a semester (or a clock hour school with
an academic year divided into two payment periods) and by .3333 for a quarter (or a clock hour
school with an academic year divided into three payment periods) and rounding the result. If
the student is enrolled for fewer than 15 credits, the term LME is then reduced by multiplying
the term LME by the number of credits for which the student is enrolled divided by 15. For
example, a student enrolled for 12 credits (or 24 clock hours per week) would have the term
LME prorated by 12/15ths, or 80 percent, and the result rounded. The term LME is NOT
increased if the student enrolls for more than 15 credits. (For further information, see Appendix
J Shared Responsibility term award calculation.)

LME for Incarcerated Students

Incarcerated students are eligible to receive a State Grant if they meet the program eligibility
requirements. However, according to program statutes, the LME must be set to zero for
incarcerated students.

Tuition and Fees

The tuition and fees used in the Shared Responsibility term award calculation are the lesser of
the school’s average annual full-time (30 semester or 45 quarter credits) tuition and fees
prorated for term length and then for enroliment level or the annual tuition and fee maximum
set by the Legislature for each academic year prorated for term length and enroliment level.

Tuition and Fee Maximum

The Legislature sets a separate nine-month annual full-time tuition and fee maximum for
students enrolled in a four-year degree program and another for students enrolled in a two-
year degree or shorter credential program. (See AppendixJ for current tuition and fee

maximums.) The annual full-time tuition and fee maximum for the program the student is
enrolled in for the term must be adjusted for term length by multiplying by .50 for a semester
or by .3333 for a quarter and rounding the result. If the student is enrolled for fewer than 15
credits, the term tuition and fee maximum is reduced by multiplying the term maximum by the
number of credits for which the student is enrolled divided by 15. For example, a student
enrolled for 12 credits would have the term tuition and fee maximum prorated by 12/15ths, or
80 percent, and then rounded. The term tuition and fee maximum is NOT increased if the
student enrolls for more than 15 credits. (For further information, see AppendixJ Shared
Responsibility term award calculation.)
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If a student is simultaneously enrolled in both a two- and four-year degree program, the tuition
and fee maximum used to calculate the State Grant will be based on the nature of the student’s
program. If the content area for both the two- and four-year program is identical or very
similar, where the majority of credits from the two-year program will be applied to the four-
year program, the school should use the four-year tuition and fee maximum to calculate the
State Grant award for the term. For example, some students may wish to earn an A.A. degree at
the midpoint of a B.A. degree program.

If the content area of the two- and four-year degree programs is quite different, where the
majority of credits from the two-year program will not be applied to the four-year degree
program, the school must either:

e use the two-year tuition and fee maximum until the student completes the two-year
program; or

e manually calculate the State Grant so that both the two- and four-year tuition and fee
maximums are applied to the credits from each program. If certain credits will count
towards both programs, they should be considered two-year program credits. [Note:
When reporting the award to the Agency on the DDS system, the school should report a
‘4’ in the field that indicates which tuition and fee maximum was used to calculate the
award.] An example of this option follows

o EXAMPLE: Jane Doe is enrolled in both a two-year Medical Assistant A.A.S.
degree program and a four-year degree completion program for a B.S. in
Organizational Management. Jane has eight credits that will apply to the two-
year program and seven credits that will apply to the four-year degree program
for a total of 15 credits. The applicable tuition and fee maximum for each
program would be prorated to the student's enroliment level as follows: Annual
full-time two-year tuition maximum $5,808/2 = 52,904 for full-time semester X
8/15ths or .533 = $1,548. Annual full-time four-year tuition maximum $10,488/2
=§5,244 for full-time semester X 7/15ths or .467 = $2,449. The prorated tuition
and fee maximums would then be compared to the tuition and fees charged by
the school and the lesser of the two would be added to the full-time LME to
construct the State Grant award calculation budget. The tuition and fees charged
by the school are the annual full-time tuition and fees reported by the school on
the Agency’s on-line State Grant Budget Questionnaire, prorated to the student's
enrollment level. If the annual full-time tuition and fees were $10,000, then the
amount for eight credits would be $10,000/2 = $5,000 for full-time semester X
8/15ths or .533 = $2,665. The amount for seven credits would be $10,000/2 X
7/15ths or .467 = $2,335. Because the tuition and fees charged exceed the

Minnesota State Grant Program 45



tuition and fee maximum for each program, the school would add the eight
credit two-year tuition and fee maximum of $1,548 to the four-year maximum
for seven credits, $2,449, for a combined tuition and fee maximum of $3,997.
This would then be added to the LME of $3,500 for a full-time semester resulting
in a State Grant term award calculation budget of $7,497.

If a student changes programs between terms, the appropriate tuition and fee maximum must
be used to recalculate the award for the subsequent terms of the aid year based on the
student’s current program. If a student changes programs within a term, the State Grant award
for that term must be recalculated using the tuition and fee maximum for the student’s current
program and any resulting overpayments recovered or additional funds due to the student
disbursed.

Schools cannot direct students who would normally enroll in a two-year degree program to
enroll in a four-year degree program simply to take advantage of the higher four-year tuition
and fee maximum if the students have no intention of completing a four-year degree. Agency
auditors may review institutional records to determine if there is a pattern of students changing
from a four-year degree program to a two-year program after completing their first two
academic years.

Average Tuition and Fees

To determine the amount of tuition and fees used to calculate the student’s State Grant term
award, the school must compare its average annual tuition and fees prorated by term length
and the student’s enrollment level to the appropriate tuition and fee maximum for the
student’s degree program prorated by term length and enrollment level and then select the
lesser of the two.

The average tuition and fees for the student’s enrollment level are derived from the school’s
annual full-time average tuition and mandatory fees which are then prorated for term length
and student enrollment level. The annual full-time average tuition is the weighted average
tuition the school charges a student for two full-time (15 credits) semesters, three full-time
quarters, or for the number of hours in a clock hour school’s definition of academic year. For
public colleges, the standard resident tuition rate is used for the annual average tuition. For
private schools where tuition rates vary by program, a weighted average is used to determine
the annual full-time average tuition as shown in the following example.
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Cedgie Percent of Student
Program Name Full-Time Semesters Population in Program Weighted Tuition
Admin Assistant $5,000 X 75% = $3,750
Legal Secretary $6,000 X 25% = $1,500
Weighted Average Annual Tuition $5,250

Once the annual full-time average amount is known, the school must add on the amount of
annual full-time mandatory fees charged to all full-time students. Annual full-time mandatory
fees would consist of mandatory fees charged to all full-time students for two full-time (15
credits) semesters, three full-time quarters, or for the number of hours in a clock hour school’s
definition of academic year.

Mandatory fees charged to all full-time students cannot include mandatory fees for the
purchase or rental of books, as book charges are considered a component in the Living and
Miscellaneous Allowance (LME) used in the award calculation. The same applies to mandatory
fees for the purchase of equipment and supplies required for all students (such as cosmetology
supply kits and computers) in cases where the student retains ownership, as these items also
fall under the LME.

However, if the school charges a rental fee for equipment and supplies to all students and the
school retains ownership, such fees are allowable general fees used in the State Grant
calculation.

Using the full-time tuition and fees applies even if students are not enrolled for 15 credits per
term since the tuition and fees will later be adjusted within the award calculation for less than
full-time enrollment.

The annual full-time average tuition and annual full-time mandatory fees are then prorated for
term length by multiplying by .50 (semester) or .3333 (quarter) and the result is rounded. If the
student is less than full-time for the term, the tuition and fees are prorated for enrollment level
by dividing the student’s number of credits by 15. For example, a student taking 12 credits
would have the full-time term tuition and fees prorated by 12/15ths, or 80 percent, and the
result rounded. The tuition and fees are then compared to the appropriate tuition and fee
maximum for the student’s program and the lesser of the two are used in the term award
calculation. (See award calculation examples in Appendix K.)
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Tuition Waivers

Because a uniform amount of average tuition and mandatory fees is used to calculate State
Grants for all students enrolled at the same institution, any tuition waivers applied to individual
student tuition and fee charges are not subtracted from the tuition and fees used to calculate
the State Grant award for the student, nor are any other types of scholarships or resources
applied to tuition and fee charges.

Determining Tuition and Fees for Clock Hour Payment Period

To determine the amount of tuition and fees for a clock hour payment period, the school would
first divide the total tuition and fees for the program by the number of clock hours in the
program to determine the hourly tuition and fee cost. The hourly cost would then be multiplied
by the number of hours in the payment period to determine the tuition and fees for the
payment period. The payment period tuition and fees would then be compared to the tuition
and fee maximum for the term/payment period, prorated for the student’s enroliment level,
and the lesser of the two would be used to calculate the State Grant award for the payment
period. (See award calculation Examples 9 and 10 in Appendix K for further details.)

In cases where the remaining hours in the student’s program are less than the number of hours
in the payment period, the school should still calculate the award based on costs for the entire
payment period and then prorate the award. (See ‘Adjusting Payments for Clock Hour Programs
When Remaining Program Hours are Less Than the Number of Hours in Payment Period’ under
the ‘Disbursement Process’ section of this chapter for further information.)

Tuition, Fees and LME Used for Students Attending Multiple Schools for Same Term

For information on enrollment requirements for students attending multiple schools for the
same term, please refer to the ‘Attending Multiple Schools for Same Term’ and ‘Enrollment
Status at Eligible Institution’ sections under ‘Student Eligibility’ in this chapter.

If a student opts to receive a separate State Grant at each school attended during a term, each
school must calculate the student’s State Grant term award based on the average tuition and
mandatory fee costs for the credits taken at that school. The tuition and fee costs would be
subject to the tuition and fee maximum for the degree program the studentis enrolled in at
each school, which would be prorated for the student’s enrollment level if the student enrolled
for fewer than 15 credits. The term living and miscellaneous expense allowance (LME), prorated
for the number of credits attended at the school, would be added to the tuition and fees to
arrive at the State Grant term award calculation budget. (See award calculation Examples 7 and
8 in Appendix K for further details.)
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A student cannot be paid for more than a total of 15 credits of tuition and fees and LME when
attending multiple schools for the same term. If, for example, School B knows that School A
already awarded the student a State Grant for 10 credits, School B should limit the tuition, fees
and LME used in its award calculation to five credits. If School B is not aware of the student
attending the other school and awards the student for more than five credits, School B’s
payment will be rejected when reported to the Agency and School B will need to recalculate the
student’s State Grant so it is based on tuition, fees and LME for no more than five credits. If the
school cannot collect the overpayment from the student, the school is NOT liable for repaying
the State Grant overpayment from its own funds. Rather, the school would turn over the
overpayment case to the Agency at the end of the award year for collection. To avoid
overpayments, schools can use the Agency’s State Grant web access screen (Appendix F) to
determine if the student has received a State Grant disbursement at another school for the
same term.

Another option for a student attending multiple schools for the same term is to have one
school act as the “home” school and award the student a State Grant based on the combined
costs for the total credits consumed at all schools, not to exceed 15 credits per term. The dollar
amount of total tuition and fees used is subject to the tuition and fee maximum for the degree
program in which the student is enrolled at the “home school,” which is based on 15 credits
and is not increased for students taking more than 15 credits. The LME used in the award
calculation at the “home school” is based on combined credits but cannot exceed the LME for
15 credits.

In cases where the student is attending multiple schools within the same system (University of
Minnesota, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, private four-year college, private two-
year college), the tuition and fees used in the State Grant calculation shall be the tuition and
fees charged by the “home” school for the student’s combined credits from all schools, up to a
maximum of 15 credits. For example, if the student were taking 10 credits at a state university
(home school) and five credits at a community college, the State Grant would be based on the
cost of 15 credits at the state university, since both state universities and community colleges
are within the MinnState system.

Conversely, if the student is attending multiple schools in different systems, the “home” school
must calculate the State Grant using the tuition and fees charged by each institution (see award
calculation Example 8 in Appendix K) up to a maximum of 15 credits. Financial aid
administrators should use the Multiple School Term Award Calculation Spreadsheet developed
by the Agency for this purpose. The spreadsheet is posted on the Agency’s web site
(www.ohe.state.mn.us ) under Campus Financial Aid Administrator Resources, Program Forms,

Spreadsheets & Instructions.
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Student Share

The student is expected to contribute a share of the budget used in the Shared Responsibility
term award calculation from the student’s resources, such as employment, savings or private
scholarships. If the term budget (tuition, fees plus LME) has been adjusted due to less than
full-time enrollment, the student is expected to contribute a share of the adjusted term budget.

The student share of the State Grant budget is shown in Appendix J. However, the statute gives
the Agency the authority to adjust this percentage on a term-by-term basis if awards must be
rationed to address a projected funding shortfall. Any such adjustment will be shown in

AppendixJ.
Parent Contribution

For dependent applicants, the nine-month annual parent contribution, as determined by the
Federal Methodology need analysis formula, is used in the State Grant award calculation. The
annual contribution is first adjusted for term length by multiplying by .50 (semester) or .3333
(quarter) and rounding the result. The result is then multiplied by .96 and rounded. The
resulting parent contribution is not adjusted if the student is enrolled for more or fewer than 15
credits (see Appendices J and K) unless the student is attending a MinnState, in which case the

resulting parent contribution is prorated for the student’s enroliment level (e.g., by 12/15 or 80
percent if the student is enrolled for 12 credits).

In the case of two need analysis results (primary vs. secondary), the lowest parent contribution
should be used.

The State Grant statute gives the Agency the authority to add a percentage surcharge to the
parent contribution on a term-by-term basis in order to address any projected funding
shortfalls. Any such surcharge will be shown in Appendix J. For example, if a 10.7 percent
surcharge were added to the parent contribution for spring semester, the surcharge would be
applied in the following manner:
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Example of Surcharge at Non-MinnState School

Annual Nine-Month Federal Methodology Parent Contribution $1,000
Parent Contribution Prorated to Term Length for Semester S 500
Term Parent Contribution Prorated to 96 Percent S 480
10.7 Percent Surcharge added to Prorated Term Parent Contribution S 531

Student Contribution

The nine-month annual Federal Methodology need analysis student contribution, or EFC, is
subtracted as the student contribution in the State Grant award calculation for independent
students. No student contribution is subtracted for dependent students. The contribution is
first adjusted for term length by multiplying by .50 (semester) or by .3333 (quarter) and
rounding the results. Only 50 percent of the term student contribution is subtracted in the
State Grant award calculation for independent students without dependents other than a
spouse. Only 86 percent of the term student contribution is subtracted in the State Grant award
calculation for independent students with dependents other than a spouse. The resulting
contribution is not adjusted if the student enrolls for more or fewer than 15 credits (see
Appendices J and K) unless the student is attending a MinnState school, in which case the

resulting EFC is prorated for the student’s enroliment level (e.g., by 12/15 or 80 percent for a
student enrolled for 12 credits).

When choosing between two state need analysis formula results (primary vs. secondary), the
lowest student contribution, or EFC, should be used.

The State Grant statute gives the Agency the authority to add a percentage surcharge to the
independent student contribution on a term-by-term basis in order to address any projected
funding shortfalls. Any such surcharge will be shown in Appendix J. For example, if a 10.7
percent surcharge were added to the independent student contribution for spring semester,
the surcharge would be applied in the following manner:
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Example of Surcharge at MinnState School

Annual Nine-Month Federal Methodology Student Contribution/EFC $1,000
Student Contribution Prorated to Term Length for Semester S 500
Term Student Contribution Prorated to 50 Percent* S 250
Term Student Contribution Prorated for Enrollment Level S 200

(by 12/15 for student taking 12 credits)
10.7 Percent Surcharge Added to Prorated Term Student Contribution S 221

*The Student Contribution is prorated to 50 percent for independent students without dependents and
86 percent for independent students with dependents other than a spouse.

Pell Grant

The amount of the Federal Pell Grant for which the student would be eligible based on the
student’s Expected Family Contribution (EFC) and State Grant enrollment status is always
subtracted in the State Grant formula, even if the school or program does not participate in the
Federal Pell Grant program or the student does not actually receive the Pell Grant (e.g., misses
application deadline, does not meet eligibility requirement). The student’s actual Federal Pell
Grant is determined by the Federal Methodology EFC and the student’s enrollment level for the
Federal Pell Grant program and is calculated in accordance with the U.S. Department of
Education’s Federal Pell Grant disbursement schedule. However, when calculating a State
Grant, the Pell Grant amount subtracted in the State Grant award calculation will always be
based on the student’s enroliment status for the State Grant program and how that
corresponds to the various enrollment levels for the Federal Pell Grant program as shown in the
following table:
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Pell Grant Subtracted in
State Grant Enrollment Level State Grant Calculation
15+ credits/30 clock hours per week Full-time
14 credits/28-29 clock hours per week Full-time
13 credits/26-27 clock hours per week Full-time
12 credits/24-25 clock hours per week Full-time
11 credits/22-23 clock hours per week 3/4-time
10 credits/20-21 clock hours per week 3/4-time
9 credits/18-19 clock hours per week 3/4-time
8 credits/16-17 clock hours per week 1/2-time
7 credits/14-15 clock hours per week 1/2-time
6 credits/12-13 clock hours per week 1/2-time
5 credits/10-11 clock hours per week Less than 1/2-time
4 credits/8-9 clock hours per week Less than 1/2-time
3 credits/6-7 clock hours per week Less than 1/2-time

For example, if a student’s enrollment level for State Grant were 15 credits but the enroliment
level for Federal Pell Grant were only 11 credits, the full-time Pell Grant would still be
subtracted in the State Grant award calculation even if the student were actually receiving a
3/4-time Pell Grant. (See ‘State Grant Versus Pell Grant Enrollment Level’ in this chapter.)

With respect to awards for crossover terms (start before and end after July 1), the State Grant
and Pell Grant must always be based on need analysis results for the same aid year.

To see examples of how the Pell Grant is subtracted in the State Grant award calculation, please
see Appendices J and K.

Definition of Academic Year/Period of Award

Definition of Academic Year

The definition of “academic year” for purposes of award calculations is provided in the
‘Common Definitions’ chapter of this manual. That definition of academic year must be used in
all adjustment calculations involving State Grant, such as proration of awards. Although federal
financial aid policy allows the institution to use a minimum academic year of 30 weeks (26
weeks for clock hour institutions) in its formulas, if the institution’s academic year is longer than
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30 weeks, the actual number of weeks in the academic year must be used in State Grant
adjustment calculations.

Period of Award / Awards for Fourth Quarter/Third Semester

Students may receive a State Grant for up to four consecutive full-time quarters (60 quarter
credits) or three consecutive full-time semesters (45 semester credits) within an aid year (July
1-June 30). The term award for the fourth quarter or third semester is calculated in the same
manner as for other terms. The decision to award the student for the fourth quarter or third
semester within the aid year is not optional.

Transfer Students

A student who attends more than one school during the aid year may also receive a State Grant
award for the equivalent of four full-time quarters or three full-time semesters.

A student who attends different schools during the aid year may be awarded for up to four full-
time quarters (60 quarter credits) or three full-time semesters (45 semester credits) based on
the awards calculated at the different schools, even if the award amounts differ. For example, a
student could receive two full-time quarter disbursements at School A based on School A’s
award calculation and two full-time quarter disbursements at School B based on School B’s
award calculation. The same logic applies to a student attending different schools on the
semester system. A term in which the student is enrolled for more than 15 credits should count
only as 15 credits against the limit.

A student who transfers between schools on the quarter and semester system is also limited to
receiving State Grant payments for up to 60 quarter credits or 45 semester credits during the
aid year. Credits from the previous school must be translated to credits at the current school as
shown in the example below.
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Determining Eligibility for Transfer Student
Example:

School A awards student for two full-time quarters = 30 quarter credits

School B awards student for one full-time semester = 15 semester credits

To determine the award for a second semester at School B, convert quarter credits
(30) to semester credits (30 x .67 = 20). Total semester credits awarded = 35. Because
a student may not receive funding for more than 45 semester credits during the fiscal
year, School B could award the student for up to 10 additional semester credits at
School B for the second semester.

Schools may use the Agency’s State Grant web access screen to determine whether a student
has been paid a State Grant at another school for the same aid year (see Appendix F). This
information also appears on the Roster of Accepted Payments or Roster of Rejected
Awards/Payments (see Appendices Vand W).

Notification of Awards

Schools are responsible for notifying students about their State Grant eligibility and award
amount. The award notice should contain a statement which informs recipients about the
impact of enrollment status on the State Grant award. The State Grant award notification may
be incorporated into the school’s standard financial aid award notice.

Prior to final award parameters being established by the legislature each year, estimated
awards contained in award offers to students must be based on estimated parameters issued
by the Agency by February 15th preceding the coming aid year.

Schools are also responsible for providing information to students about all forms of financial
aid administered by the institution and the availability of additional State Grant aid for a fourth
full-time quarter or third full-time semester during the fiscal year.

State Grant Award Advisory Roster

Each time a school submits a batch of DDS records, the Agency checks the accuracy of awards
and payments and generates a set of output reports for the school. The Roster of Rejected
Awards/Payments (Appendix R) and the Award Detail Error Roster (Appendix S) contain
information about awards that fall outside established tolerances. The school is responsible for
resolving errors shown on these reports.
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Awards for Summer or Non-Standard Terms

Students may receive a State Grant award for up to four full-time quarters or three full-time
semesters within a fiscal year. The fourth quarter or third semester will often times take place
inthe summer and overlap fiscal years. The same applies to progressive clock hour schools at
which students can receive up to four full-time payment periods (if school divides academic
year into three payment periods similar to quarters) or three full-time payment periods (for
schools that divide the academic year into two payment periods like semesters). Such terms are
referred to as “crossover” terms or payment periods.

If a student is enrolled and eligible for a State Grant during the summer term or payment
period, the student must be awarded. The school cannot require a separate application beyond
the FAFSA (or state financial aid application used for undocumented students) and documents
used to award for the standard terms or payment periods of the academic year.

Origination of Funding

If a term or payment period does not overlap two aid years, it must be paid from the aid year in
which it occurs.

When a crossover term or payment period overlaps two aid years (begins before and ends after
July 1), funding may come from either aid year. The institution may decide from which aid year
to draw funds on a student-by-student basis. However, because the student’s State Grant is
based on the student’s EFC and Pell Grant award, the same aid year must be selected for both
the State Grant and Pell Grant. Once the aid year is selected, the need analysis, laws, rules and
policies in place for that aid year must be applied.

For non-term-based schools that link sequential course modules together to form a term, if
such a term overlaps a fiscal year, it is considered a crossover term and is subject to policies for
crossover terms. In the event the student withdraws during a term and subsequently reenters
within the same program, enrollment level and the option to reverse refunds should be based
on policies described earlier in this manual under ‘Enrollment Level at Non-Term-Based Credit-
Hour Schools.’

When a progressive clock hour school changes the number of hours in its academic year from
one year to the next, the payment period hours for a crossover payment period would be based
on the number of hours in a payment period for the aid year from which funds are awarded.
For example, if the previous academic year was defined as 900 clock hours with two 450-hour
full-time payment periods, and the student’s crossover payment period was funded from that
aid year, the crossover payment period would contain 450 hours (assuming the student is full-
time). Once the crossover payment period ends in the new aid year, the school must start using
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the new year’s academic year and payment period hours for any payment periods starting in
that year.

Defining a Term

Definition of a term must be done uniformly for all recipients.

In order for two or more mini sessions to be treated as one term, the school must define a
student’s enrollment status in terms of the number of credits for which the student is enrolled
during all sessions. When multiple mini sessions are combined to make one term, the term start
date is considered the first day of the first session in the term even if the student does not
attend the first session. This also applies to non-term-based credit-hour schools that combine
sequential course modules into one term.

Example: The first summer session starts May 28 and ends June 29 (five weeks) and the second
summer session starts July 1 and ends August 3 (five weeks). If these two 5-week sessions are
combined into a 10-week term, enrollment status must be based on the total number of credits
during the 10-week period. The term start date is May 28.

If the original award disbursed at the onset of the term is based on credits for other sessions or
course modules and the student drops those credits without attending the classes, the State
Grant must be recalculated. (See ‘Recalculation of Student Award Based on Changes in
Enrollment Level.’)

In order for multiple mini-sessions to be treated as separate “mini terms” at standard term-
based schools, the school must define enrollment status separately for each session. This is not
an option at non-term-based credit-hour schools.

Determining Credits Needed for Enroliment Status

Enrollment status for standard and non-standard terms or payment periods is derived in the
same manner; that is, based on the actual number of credits or clock hours for which the
student is enrolled. No adjustments are required for non-standard terms.

Determining Amount of Award

The calculation of the student’s State Grant term award for a standard or non-standard term is
identical. There is no further proration required for non-standard terms. (See AppendixJ for

Shared Responsibility term award calculation.) However, award proration is required when the
number of clock hours or weeks remaining in the student’s program is less than the clock hours
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or weeks in the school’s payment period or term. (See items 6 and 7 under ‘Institutional
Responsibilities Prior to Disbursement’ in this chapter.)

Recalculation or Revision of State Grant Awards

State Grant awards are revised or recalculated at the campus level. Schools are responsible for
informing students about adjustments made to the award.

Increased Award - Institutional Responsibilities

If a school learns that a student’s State Grant should be increased due to a change in federal
need analysis results, the Pell Grant award or the budget used to calculate the State Grant, the
school is responsible for recalculating the student’s State Grant, notifying the student of the
revised award amount and disbursing additional funds to the student. If the term has already
started or been completed, policies for late or retroactive disbursement apply. (See
‘Late/Retroactive Disbursement’ section in this chapter.)

Schools are not required to adjust the award based on a subsequent ISIR received after the
student has stopped attending if the award for the term has already been disbursed and there
was no conflicting information at the time of disbursement.

Decreased Award - Institutional Responsibilities and Liability

If a school learns a student’s award should be reduced or eliminated due to a change in federal
need analysis results, Pell Grant or State Grant budget, or a student not meeting the program
eligibility requirements, the school is responsible for reducing the student’s award, notifying
the student of the reduced award and making sure the overpayment is returned to its State
Grant fund on campus. The balance of the fund is then returned to the Agency at the end of
each academic year.

If the school is unable to collect the overpayment from the student, the school may turn over
the student’s account receivable to the Agency as part of the balance due the Agency at the
end of the year if the school was not liable for repaying the overpayment from its own
institutional funds. Otherwise, the school must repay the overpayment from its institutional funds.

The State Grant award is not subject to financial aid packaging requirements. Thus, it is never
reduced in cases where the student’s Expected Family Contribution (EFC) and other financial aid
and resources exceed the student’s cost of attendance used for federal financial aid programs.
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Schools are not required to adjust the award based on a subsequent ISIR received after the

student has stopped attending if the award for the term has already been disbursed and there

was no conflicting information at the time of disbursement.

In general, a school is liable for repaying the overpayment from its own funds if:

documentation on campus showed the student did not meet a program eligibility
requirement at the time of disbursement, including the State Grant On-Line Hold
Report;

after the student was paid, an item on the application was corrected that should have
been resolved prior to disbursement through resolving conflicting information or the
verification process; or

a school not participating in federal financial aid programs paid the student before
submitting a State Grant DDS batch to the Agency to see if the student had received
four years of aid, a previous State Grant overpayment, was in arrears on child support
payments or was in default on a SELF loan and, upon checking with the Agency, learned
that the student failed to meet one of these eligibility requirements at the time of
disbursement. The school would be liable for repaying all funds disbursed to the
student.

In collecting overpayments from students, schools must:

inform the student in writing of the overpayment;

follow the applicable collection procedures to secure the return of the funds (the
specific procedures utilized by the school to accomplish this would be determined by
the school); and

notify the Agency if the student refuses to acknowledge the overpayment or refuses to
repay the funds. The Agency will utilize state income tax revenue recapture or may seek
the assistance of the Attorney General of the State of Minnesota to recover the
overpayment

If the school is turning over a student’s file to the Agency for billing at the end of the aid year, it

must include all pertinent documentation such as the SAR or ISIR (or the output from the state

financial aid application used for undocumented students), copies of billing letters, an

explanation of how the overpayment occurred, copies of cashed checks or student account

transactions and all other supporting documentation.
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Adjustments to Award Based on Change in Enrollment Level

State Grant award disbursements must always be based on the student’s enrollment level as of
the date of disbursement.

If a student drops or withdraws from a class after disbursement of the State Grant and the
student never attended the class, the State Grant must be recalculated to the lower enrollment
level and the difference refunded to the State Grant program. This also applies to cases where
the school grants a retroactive withdrawal for a class or classes backdated to the first day of the
term, even if the student attended the class(es), since it is treated as though the student never
attended.

Conversely, if a student appeals to have a class added after the school’s award adjustment end
date (described later in this section) or the late addition of the class is based on a school error
or the assignment of interim term credits to fall term, the school may have a policy to
recalculate the State Grant award to include those credits even if they were added after the
school’s award adjustment end date. Or, the school can adhere to its standard policy regarding
the award adjustment end date and not adjust the student’s award.

In cases where the student has begun attendance in all classes, State Grant award
recalculations and/or partial withdrawal refunds are not required unless the school adopts a
written policy requiring award adjustments through a certain end date within the term.
However, if a student withdraws from all classes, a total withdrawal refund will always be
required (see ‘Total Withdrawal’ in the ‘Calculating Refunds for Students Who Change
Enrollment Level or Withdraw After State Grant Disbursement’ section in this chapter).

The school may choose an award adjustment end date that coincides with the end of the
drop/add period (the most commonly chosen) or any other date during the term, including the
last day of the term if the school opts to perform award adjustments through the entire term.
Whichever end date is selected for award adjustments, it must also be used for all applicable
state financial aid programs. There is no requirement that the award adjustment end date used
for state financial aid programs match the end date selected for adjusting Pell Grants. The
school has the option of selecting different award adjustment end dates for different programs
of study offered by the school.

If a student has a change in enrollment level after beginning attendance in all classes but before
the school’s end date for award adjustments, the school must perform award recalculations or
partial withdrawal refunds for both increases and decreases in enrollment level. In other words,
a school cannot opt to make adjustments only if they result in an increased award. The
following State Grant examples apply to cases of enroliment changes occurring after the
student has begun enrollment in all classes but before the end date selected by the school:
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Student adds credits resulting in an increased State Grant award. The school would recalculate
the State Grant award and disburse additional funds to the student.

Student adds credits resulting in a decreased State Grant award. If the student’s State Grant
reduction was the result of an actual increase to the student’s Pell Grant award, the school
would recalculate/reduce the student’s State Grant award. Otherwise, no refund would be
required for the State Grant program.

Student drops/withdraws credits resulting in a reduced State Grant award. The school must
perform a partial withdrawal refund calculation.

Student drops/withdraws credits resulting in an increased State Grant award. If the student’s
State Grant increase was the result of an actual reduction of the student’s Pell Grant award, the
school may disburse additional State Grant funds to the student. Otherwise, no adjustments are
made to the State Grant.

If a school must calculate a refund for a partial withdrawal, the school must use the Office of
Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix O of State Grant manual) or
spreadsheet (posted on www.ohe.state.mn.us) and return the lesser of the following to the State

Grant program:
e the difference between the State Grant at the original and revised enrollment level; or

e the State Grant’s proportional share of the institution’s refund of institutional charges
(from line | (E) of the Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet or
spreadsheet).

Example A: No Change in EFC

Student originally paid $500 for Level 15 enrollment

Student withdraws from three credits to Level 12 enrollment
Award at Level 12 is $300

Difference between Level 15 and Level 12 award is $200
Proportional share of refund of institutional charges is $100
$100 is refunded to State Grant program

School continues to report Level 15 enroliment to the Agency

In the rare instance when a student withdraws from a class after beginning attendance and
before the school’s award adjustment end date, and the student’s overall State Grant award is
decreased based on a change in parent contribution or EFC, the school must first collect the
overpayment (difference between the original and new State Grant award at the original
enrollment level) from the student and then perform a partial withdrawal refund calculation.

Minnesota State Grant Program 61


http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/

Example B: Change in EFC

Student originally paid $500 for Level 15 enrollment

Student withdraws from three credits to Level 12 enrollment

Original award for Level 12 is $300

Change in EFC results in revised award of $400 for Level 15

Revised award for Level 12 is $200

School must first recapture $100 (difference between original and revised award for Level 15)

Difference between revised Level 15 (5400) and Level 12 ($200) is $200

If the student withdraws from a class after beginning attendance and before the school’s award
adjustment end date, and the State Grant at the revised enrollment level is higher than the
award disbursed for the original enrollment level (this occurs in some cases for Pell Grant
recipients when the withdrawn credits result in a lower Pell Grant enroliment level), the school
can only increase the student’s State Grant if the school actually reduces the Pell Grant award
orif the increase in the State Grant award at the lower enroliment level can be attributed to a
change in parent contribution or EFC.

Example C: No Change in EFC

Student originally paid $300 for Level 12 enrollment

Student withdraws from one credit to Level 11 enrollment

Award at Level 11 is $400

School does not adjust Pell Grant from full-time to 3/4-time award
State Grant remains at $300

School continues to report Level 12 enrollment to the Agency with payment of $300

Example D: Change in EFC

Student originally paid $300 for Level 12 enroliment

Student withdraws from one credit to Level 11 enrollment

Award at Level 11 is $400 due to drop in Pell enrollment level

School does not adjust Pell Grant from full-time to 3/4-time award

Change in EFC results in $500 Level 12 and $600 Level 11

Student limited to $200 increase in State Grant award

(5500 revised Level 12 minus $300 original Level 12)

School continues to report Level 12 enrollment to the Agency with $500 payment

[Note: Had school actually adjusted Pell to 3/4-time, the student would receive the difference between the
original $300 Level 12 disbursement and the revised $600 Level 11 award.]

Minnesota State Grant Program 62



If a student adds credits after the initial disbursement of the State Grant and before the
school’s award adjustment end date, and the award at the revised enrollment level is higher
than the award disbursed for the original enrollment level, the school should disburse
additional funds to the student. This applies regardless of whether the increase in the State
Grant award is based on anincrease in the enrollment level and/or a change in the parent

contribution or EFC.

If a student adds credits after the initial disbursement of the State Grant and before the

school’s award adjustment end date, and the award at the revised enrollment level is less than

the award disbursed for the original enrollment level (this occurs in some cases for Pell Grant

recipients), the school is only required to reduce the student’s State Grant if the school actually

increased the student’s Pell Grant award or if the decrease in the State Grant award can be

attributed to a change in the student’s parent contribution or EFC.

Example E: No Change in EFC

Student originally paid $400 for Level 11 enrollment

Student adds one credit for Level 12 enrollment

State Grant award at Level 12 is $300

School does not adjust Pell Grant from 3/4-time to full-time award

State Grant remains at $400

Example F: Change in EFC

Student originally paid $400 for Level 11 enrollment

Student adds one credit for Level 12 enrollment

State Grant award at Level 12 is $300

School does not adjust Pell Grant from 3/4-time to full-time award

Change in EFC results in $200 Level 11 and $100 Level 12

School must recapture $200 decrease in State Grant award

(5400 original Level 11 minus $200 revised Level 11)

School continues to report Level 11 enrollment to the Agency with payment of $200

[Note: Had school actually adjusted Pell Grant to full-time, the school would need to recapture
the $300 difference between the original $400 Level 11 disbursement and the revised $100 Level
12 award.]

State Grant award adjustment policy becomes more complex in cases where the student both
withdraws from and adds credits after beginning attendance in all classes but before the
school’s award adjustment end date. The school must always use the student’s actual

enrollment level (original enrollment level at the time of disbursement minus credits withdrawn
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or dropped plus credits added) to determine the adjusted award. However, whether the
adjusted award results in the disbursement of additional funds or recapturing funds previously
disbursed will be based on the student’s disbursement history. Additionally, the enrollment
level and payment reported to the Agency on the State Grant DDS record may not necessarily
match the student’s actual revised enrollment level. A flow chart outlining the steps for State
Grant award adjustments taking place after the initial disbursement of the State Grant award as
well as several examples is provided in Appendix V.

Appendix W outlines the current State Grant disbursement and award adjustment policies in
comparison to the policies used for the Federal Pell Grant program.

In cases where the initial calculation and disbursement of the State Grant award take place
after the school’s award adjustment end date, the award must be based on the student’s
enrollment level as of the date of disbursement and no further award adjustments would take
place after that point.

Adjustment of Awards for Students Attending Non-Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools

This section applies to non-term-based credit-hour schools that combine a number of
sequential course modules together to define a term. For example, a school may define a
semester as 12 credits, comprised of a series of four sequential 3-credit courses that each last a
month.

12-Credit Semester

3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits

Class 1 Class 2 Class 3 Class 4

If a student withdraws from school during the first course module of the term without
attending the course, the entire State Grant disbursement for the term must be refunded.

If the student did attend the first course module before withdrawing, then the school must first
recalculate the State Grant for an enrollment level that excludes credits for the remaining
course modules and refund the difference between the original and revised State Grant. The
school would then complete the appropriate Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation
Worksheet (Appendix O) for a full withdrawal to determine the amount of the refund due the
State Grant program from the first module attended.

In the following example, if the school disbursed a Level 12 State Grant at the onset of a
semester to cover four 3-credit sequential course modules and the student withdrew from
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school during the first module after attending the course, the school would first recalculate the
State Grant term award from Level 12 to Level 3 and refund the difference to the State Grant
program. The school would then complete the appropriate OHE Refund Calculation Worksheet
(Appendix O) for a full withdrawal for the first 3-credit course module the student attended,
including only the Level 3 State Grant award amount on the worksheet, as opposed to the
original award for 12 credits.

3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits
Class 1 Class 2 Class 3 Class 4
(attended but (didn’t start) (didn’t start) (didn’t start)
withdrew)

In the next example, the student completes the first course module and then withdraws before
starting the second course module. The original State Grant term award (Level 12) would be
recalculated for the lower enrollment level (Level 3) and the difference refunded to the State
Grant program. No refund calculation worksheet would be required, since the student did not
withdraw durin%a course module.

3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits
Class 1 Class 2 Class 3 Class 4
(completed) (didn’t start) (didn’t start) (didn’t start)

These same policies apply when the student withdraws later in the term. In the following
example, the student withdraws from school during the third course module after beginning
attendance in that course. The school must first recalculate the State Grant term award to an
enrollment level that excludes credits for any remaining modules the student did not attend,
and refund the difference between the original (Level 12) and revised (Level 9) State Grant
awards to the State Grant program. The school would then complete the appropriate Office of
Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix O) for a full withdrawal for the three
course modules the student did attend, and list only the Level 9 State Grant award when

|

completing the worksheet.
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3 Credits
Class 1

(completed)

3 Credits
Class 2

(completed)

3 Credits
Class 3

(attended then
withdrew)

3 Credits
Class 4

(didn’t start)

If a student withdraws during the last course module of a term after beginnin& attendance in
that course, an award recalculation would not be required, since there are no remaining course
modules the student did not attend. Rather, the school would complete the appropriate OHE
Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix O) for a full withdrawal, using the amount of the
original Level 12 State Grant on the worksheet.

3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits

Class 1 Class 2 Class 3 Class 4

(completed) (completed) (completed) (attended then
withdrew)

Enrollment levels, award recalculations and withdrawal refunds are determined similarly for
students taking courses simultaneously within a semester.

In the next example, the student’s original disbursement would be based on 12 credits. If this
student withdrew from school after completing the first set of simultaneous courses, the award
would be recalculated from Level 12 to Level 6 and the difference refunded to the State Grant
program. A withdrawal refund calculation would not be required, since the student did not
withdraw during a course module.

3 Credits

Class 1

<

(completed)

3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits

Class 2 Class 3 Class 4
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(completed) (not started) (not started)

If this same student withdrew from school during the first set of simultaneous courses, the
award would first be recalculated from Level 12 to Level 6 and the difference refunded to the
State Grant program. A full withdrawal refund calculation would then be performed using the
appropriate OHE Refund Calculation Spreadsheet (Appendix O) using only the amount of the
student’s Level 6 State Grant award.

l

v

3 Credits
Class 1

(completed)

3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits
Class 2 Class 3 Class 4
(completed) (not started) (not started)

If a student withdraws at any point during the term, but subsequently reenrolls in the same
program, the student cannot advance to the next term until the remaining courses in the
previous term have been completed. To determine the student’s enroliment level for the term
in question, and whether recalculation and/or withdrawal refunds for that term can be
reversed, see the ‘Enroliment Level at Non-Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools’ and ‘Post-
Withdrawal Disbursement for Returning Students at Non-Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools’
sections of this manual.

If a student withdraws during a module or between modules but continues on in a different
program, the State Grant for the original term would be recalculated to cover only the modules
the student did complete and a new State Grant would be awarded to cover the next term,
which would start with the next course module in which the student enrolled for the new
program. For example, if a Level 12 State Grant were disbursed for the initial semester and the
student fully completed two 3-credit modules of the first semester and then decided to change
programs, the State Grant for the first semester would be recalculated to a Level 6 and the
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difference between the Level 12 and Level 6 State Grant term awards would be refunded to the
State Grant program. The next course module would then be considered the first 3-credit
course module of a new semester consisting of four 3-credit modules for the student’s new
program. A Level 12 State Grant would be disbursed for the new semester.

Recalculation of State Grant Award for Student Who Receives All
Non-Passing Grades

If the student receives non-passing grades for all classes taken during a term, the federal
financial aid guidelines requiring schools to document attendance in these cases also apply to
the State Grant program. If the school determines the student never attended a class or classes,
the State Grant award must be recalculated to exclude those credits prior to any refund taking
place for withdrawn classes the student did attend. (See ‘Award Adjustments and Refunds for
All Non-Passing Grades’ in the ‘Refund Process’ section of this chapter.) Non-term-based credit-
hour schools typically extend the term length to include another course when a student fails a
class in which the student began attendance, which may result in an award recalculation. (See
‘Enrollment Level at Non-Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools for further guidance.)

ISIR Transaction Received After Student Is No Longer Enrolled

If a school receives a subsequent ISIR transaction for a student who is no longer enrolled at the
school and is not intending to reenroll, there is no requirement to adjust the student’s award if:

e the State Grant for the period of enroliment has already been disbursed; and

e atthe time of disbursement, there was no conflicting information.

Treatment of Study Abroad Courses

There are no special requirements for the treatment of study abroad courses with respect to
determining the student’s enroliment level for the purposes of awarding, adjusting awards and
calculating refunds. If the student registers directly with the foreign institution, there must be
consortium agreement between the foreign institution and the eligible Minnesota institution.
As long as the student is pursuing a credential at an eligible Minnesota institution, courses
taken through study abroad are treated in the same manner as if they took place at the eligible
Minnesota institution.

For example, a student registers for 15 credits at a foreign institution that has a consortium
agreement with the eligible Minnesota institution. It is initially determined that all classes will
count towards the student’s degree program at the Minnesota institution. The State Grant
would be awarded for 15 credits. The student earns a D in one class and an F in another class,
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so these classes will not transfer back to the eligible MN institution. The State Grant would not
be adjusted since no adjustments would have been required had the student taken those
classes at the Minnesota institution.

Disbursement Process

Disbursing Funds to Schools

To improve cash management and timely State Grant reporting, the following requirements are
used when processing funds advances for the State Grant program.

A school’s initial advance for funds will not be processed until the school has:

e reported a DDS batch for the new aid year that has been tested and is suitable for
production;

e requested funds using the SG web access screen; and
e submitted its final batch and returned its end of year fund balance for the prior aid year.

The amount of funds advanced for the school’s initial term of the new aid year is the total
amount of awards for that term in the school’s first batch for the new aid year. The Agency can
limit the amount of funds advances to less than the amount of total term awards in the school’s
most recent batch if term awards are not yet adjusted for less than full-time enrollment levels.
Schools can request additional funds once the initial installment has been disbursed to
students.

Subsequent funds requests for the first term must be requested on the SG web access screen
and accompanied by an up-to-date batch showing that payments to date have consumed most
of theinitial installment and that total term awards in the batch support the additional funds
request.

Funds advances for subsequent terms must also be requested on the SG web access screen and
accompanied by an up-to-date batch showing that payments to date have consumed most of
the previous advances. Advance amounts for subsequent terms are based on the amount of
awards for that term in the school’s most recently submitted DDS batch. Schools can request
additional funds once the initial installment has been disbursed to students.

Minnesota State Grant Program 69



Disbursing Funds to Students

In general, State Grant funds may only be used to pay for the student’s costs for the current
academic year. However, a school may use current-year funds to satisfy prior-year charges for
tuition, fees, room or board and, with written authorization from the student, other
educationally related charges.

The State Grant award must be based on the student’s enrollment level as of the date of
disbursement. If a student withdraws from a class prior to disbursement, the student cannot
receive a State Grant payment for those credits. (See also ‘Adjustments to Award Based on
Change in Enrollment Level’ and Appendices V and W for further information.)

When Schools May Disburse Funds

An institution may not make a State Grant payment to a student for a payment period or term
until the student has registered for classes. Schools are discouraged from delaying
disbursements beyond the school’s award adjustment end date to avoid award adjustments
based on changes in enroliment level.

The institution is liable for all State Grant payments that are disbursed to a registered student
prior to the start of the enrollment period if that student fails to begin the enrollment period.
The institution will have to reimburse State Grant payments disbursed to the student prior to
the start of the enrollment period if the institution cannot document that the student did begin
attending classes.

If an institution posts a State Grant payment from its own funds to a student’s account for a
crossover term prior to the beginning of the new state fiscal year from which it is awarded, the
payment must be cancelled or adjusted based on changes in enroliment, eligibility
requirements or the award calculation formula that take place prior to receipt of State Grant
funds by the institution.

Documentation must exist regarding the date of disbursement of the State Grant payment. The
disbursement date is the date that the Agency requires the institution to determine the
student’s enrollment level prior to determining the amount of State Grant funds to be
disbursed to the student. The Agency and/or the institution’s independent public auditors will
use the disbursement date to verify the enroliment level of State Grant program participants.
Schools are required to report accurate term disbursement dates on the DDS record for each

student (Appendix N).

The disbursement date of all State Grant payments made prior to the start of the enrollment
period will be the first day of required class attendance.

Minnesota State Grant Program 70



The disbursement date of all State Grant payments disbursed to a student after the start of the
enrollment period will be:

e for State Grant payments posted to a student account, the date the funds are posted to
the student’s account;

e for State Grant payments that are mailed to the student or transferred by EFT, the date
of the check or EFT transaction unless the institution elects to use the previous day as
the disbursement date for all students paid using this method; or

o for State Grant payments that are disbursed directly to the student via check, the date
the student picks up the check

Payment Periods

The Agency designates that schools may have only two or three payment periods during the
academic year. The institution specifies on the budget questionnaire it completes each year
whether it will disburse aid on a semester (two periods) or quarterly (three periods) basis.

For progressive clock hour schools, the length of a full-time payment period equals the total
number of hours in the full-time academic year (e.g., 900 clock hours) divided by the number of
payment periods (two or three). Payment periods should be of approximately equal length and
the total period covered by the payment periods should equal the entire academic year. For
example, if a clock hour school had a 1,200-hour academic year and disbursed aid on a
semester basis, each full-time payment period would consist of 600 hours. For students
attending less than full-time, the hours in the payment period must be adjusted accordingly.
(See ‘Payment Periods for Less Than Full-Time Enrollment at Progressive Clock Hour Schools.”)

Late/Retroactive Disbursement

The State Grant disbursed to a student must be based on the student’s enrollment status as of
the date of disbursement. If a student withdrew from a class prior to disbursement, those
credits cannot be included in the student’s enrollment level. If a student withdrew from school
or dropped below three credits or its equivalent prior to disbursement, the school cannot
disburse any State Grant funds to the student for that term. If a student earned a grade of FN
(failed but never attended) or FW (failed but stopped attending prior to finals) or the equivalent
for a course, that course cannot be included in the student’s enrollment level. All other grades,
including F, NC and | shall be counted when determining the student’s enrollment level.

At non term-based credit-hour schools, the State Grant award cannot be disbursed
retroactively for a term during which the student withdrew from school, even if one or more
sequential course modules were completed. Further, if a term is extended due to the student
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withdrawing from one or more courses but continuing on at the school, the student’s
enrollment level for retroactive State Grant disbursements cannot include credits for
withdrawn courses.

In cases where a student earns a non-passing grade for every class taken during a term and the
Title IV federal financial aid guidelines require the school to verify the student actually attended
classes, the results of the verification shall also apply to the State Grant program. That is, if the
school determines the student did not attend a class or classes or unofficially withdrew during
the term, the school must also calculate a refund for the State Grant program. (See ‘Award
Adjustments for Refunds for All Non-Passing Grades’ in the ‘Refund Process’ section of this
chapter.)

If a school disburses a State Grant to a student who is later determined to have a withdrawal
date set prior to the disbursement, the school must complete the appropriate OHE Refund
Calculation Worksheet (Appendix O) or spreadsheet to determine if a refund is due the State
Grant program. This can occur in cases where a school is not required to take attendance and
becomes aware of the withdrawal after the date of disbursement.

A student is eligible to receive retroactive payment for a past term, even if the student is not
currently enrolled in a subsequent term, provided the student currently meets all of the
program eligibility requirements as of the date of disbursement. If payment is for a term that
has already been completed, the disbursement must be based on the student’s enrollment
status as of the end of the term.

For example, if a student met all the program eligibility requirements throughout fall term but
was placed on a child support hold during spring term prior to the school disbursing funds for
fall and spring terms, the school cannot disburse funds to the student for either term because
the student does not meet all the program eligibility requirements as of the date of
disbursement. The same logic applies to a student who is not making satisfactory academic
progress (and has exhausted appeals and probationary periods) at the time of disbursement
even if the student was making satisfactory progress during a previous term.

Method of Disbursement to Students

Each school may disburse funds to students using one or a combination of the following
methods. The institution may make State Grant payments:

e tothestudent’s account (preferred method),
e tothe student by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT),

e Dby institutional check directly to the student, or
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e by aninstitutional check that is mailed to the student

Whichever methods of disbursement are used, the school must document the date of
disbursement and the amount of State Grant payment disbursed to the student. The Agency
holds schools liable for improperly disbursed checks.

When disbursing a State Grant check to the student, the institutional representative should
request proper identification (preferably a picture ID) and check the student’s social security
number. Once the check has been signed and cashed, the Agency will not refund or replace it.

The institution may exercise the option of mailing the checks to the student. The institution
must maintain a record that documents for each student included in each transaction the:

e student’s name,

e source and amount of state and other financial aid payments included in the payment to
the student,

e number of the institutional check, and
e the date that the check was mailed to the student if different from the date of the check

The institution is liable for all funds that are lost. The institution will have to reimburse either
the student, the Agency or both for any lost State Grant funds.

If the institution credits State Grant funds to the student’s account, the institution must
document:

e student’s name,
e amount and type of charges paid by each transaction in the student’s account, and

e source and amount of state and other financial aid payments disbursed to the student’s
account

If the institution chooses to disburse State Grant payments to the student by initiating an EFT to
the bank account designated by the student, the institution must obtain authorization from the
student to disburse by that method.

Each State Grant aid award must be based on the student’s enrollment level as of the date the
funds are electronically transferred to the student. The following standards apply to EFTs:

e The date of the EFT transaction must be documented. This will be considered the date
of disbursement unless the institution elects to take the following option.
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e Atthe institution’s option, the date of disbursement may be one business day prior to
the date of the EFT transaction.

For each EFT transaction, the institution must maintain a dated record that documents for each
student included in the transaction the:

e student’s name,

e source and amount of state and other financial aid payments included in the EFT,
e the amount of the EFT,

e student’s bank account number, and

e name of the bank into which the funds were deposited

The institution is liable for all funds that are lost. The institution will have to reimburse either
the student, the Agency or both for any lost state financial aid funds.

Disbursement to Incarcerated Students

Disbursement of the State Grant for an incarcerated student should be arranged with the
education director at the correctional facility. The award may be credited to a student’s
account at the school or disbursed to the student through the education director.

Disbursement to Students Studying Abroad

If tuition is paid at the Minnesota institution for study abroad, the student’s State Grant
payment should be credited to the student’s account. Any excess funds can be mailed to the
student or deposited in the student’s bank account via EFT unless the school is authorized by
the student to hold a balance in the student’s account. If the student must pay tuition at the
foreign school, the school may mail the check to the student or deposit the funds in the
student’s bank account via EFT, if so authorized. However, the student must be registered for
credit at an eligible Minnesota school or the eligible Minnesota school must have a consortium
agreement with the foreign school.

Payment of Unpaid Institutional Charges

At the time of disbursement, a school may require a student to pay all institutional charges
currently due the school. Minnesota financial aid recipients cannot have stricter payment
requirements than students who do not receive financial aid.
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Student Account Balances

Unless otherwise authorized by the student, whenever an institution applies state financial aid
disbursements to a student’s account and determines that the amount of those disbursements
exceeds or exceeded the amount of allowable charges the institution assessed the student, the
institution must pay that balance directly to the student as soon as possible but within 14 days
of the later of:

a. the date that balance occurs,
b. the first day of classes of a payment period/period of enrollment as applicable, or
c. the date the student rescinds his or her authorization to hold funds

This also applies to cases where the institution posts State Grant disbursements to the
student’s account prior to receipt of State Grant funds from the Agency.

If an account balance remains after paying current year charges, the school may apply funds to
satisfy any remaining prior year charges for tuition, fees, room or board and, with written
authorization from the student, other educationally related charges.

If a school receives authorization to hold excess funds, the school must identify the student or
parent and the amount of funds the school holds for the student or parent in a subsidiary
ledger account designated for that purpose. The school also must maintain, at all times, cash in
its bank account at least equal to the amount the school holds for students.

Because state financial aid funds are awarded to students to pay current year charges,
notwithstanding any authorization obtained by a school from a student or parent, the school
must pay any remaining state credit balance by:

e the end of the loan period for state loans, and

e the end of the last payment period in the award year for which they were awarded for
any other remaining balance of state financial aid disbursements

If an institution attempts to disburse funds by check or EFT transaction to the student, and the
check is returned to the institution or the EFT transaction is rejected, the institution may make
additional attempts to disburse the funds to the student, provided those attempts take place
within 45 days after the funds were returned or rejected. If no additional attempts to disburse
funds are made, the funds must be returned to the program within that 45-day period. If an
institution attempts to disburse funds by check to the student and the check is not cashed, the
institution must return funds to the program within 240 days of the check being issued.
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If a school cannot locate a student to whom a state financial aid credit balance must be paid,
the school must return the credit balance to the appropriate state financial aid program. The
Agency does not specify how a school should determine which financial aid funds created the
credit balance. However, when possible, the Agency encourages schools to return state
financial aid fund balances to the SELF Loan program first to reduce the likelihood of default.

The school is permitted to retain any interest earned on the student’s credit balance funds.

Student Authorization

An institution must obtain from a student written authorization allowing the institution to:
e disburse State Grant payments via EFT;
e hold excess funds in the student’s account; or

e apply State Grant payments to prior year charges other than for tuition, fees, room and
board

In obtaining authorization for any of these activities, an institution may not require the student
to provide that authorization and must allow the student to rescind that authorization at any
time.

The authorization granted to an institution is valid for the award year or the period of
enrollment in which the institution obtains that authorization. The initial authorization will
continue to be valid provided that the institution notifies the student of the provisions
regarding the student’s current authorization prior to conducting any of the activities that
require authorization for any subsequent award year. The institution’s notice to the student
must, in a plain and conspicuous manner, explain those provisions including an explanation
regarding any interest that the institution earns on the student’s funds and whether the
institution will provide that interest to the student. The notice must also provide the student
with the opportunity to cancel or modify those provisions.

Institutional Responsibilities Prior to Disbursement

Notification of Students

Schools are responsible for letting students know when their State Grant payments will be
ready for disbursement. Notification may include a letter to the student or announcement of
disbursement dates.
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Certification and Monitoring of Student Eligibility

Prior to disbursement, a school is responsible for certifying that a student meets the program
eligibility requirements outlined in the ‘Program Eligibility Requirements’ section of this
chapter.

Federal Verification, Conflicting Information and C Codes

Before disbursing the State Grant award, the school is responsible for resolving any conflicting
information and C codes on the student’s ISIR or SAR, including unusual enrollment history
flags. The school must also verify the data on the student’s application if it is selected for
verification using the verification criteria established by the Department of Education for
federal student aid programs. These requirements also apply to schools that do not participate
in federal aid programs. Schools should refer to the federal Application and Verification Guide
for the aid year in question for detailed instructions. The verification guide and information
about resolving conflicting information, C codes and unusual enrollment history flags are
available at www.fsapartner.ed.gov.

In instances where verification selection, conflicting information, C codes and unusual
enrollment history flags take place after the State Grant was disbursed, all future
disbursements must be held until the school resolves the issues. If corrections result in a
reduced award, the school must bill the student for the overpayment and return the
overpayment to its State Grant account. If a student fails to produce the required
documentation, the student should be billed for the entire amount previously disbursed.

A school is not required to adjust the award based on a subsequent ISIR transaction received
after the student stopped enrollment at the school provided the award has already been
disbursed and there was no conflicting information at the time of disbursement.

Adjusting Payments Due to Revised Award

Schools are responsible for adjusting a student’s State Grant payment if a change in federal
need analysis results, Pell Grant, or the budget used to calculate the State Grant resulted in a
revision to the student’s State Grant award. If a school receives a revised ISIR after the deadline
by which it must make Pell Grant adjustments and the ISIR would result in a decreased Pell
Grant and an increased State Grant, the school cannot increase the student’s State Grant if it
did not decrease the student’s Pell Grant.
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Adjusting Payments Based on Enrollment Status

Schools must generate State Grant payments based on the enrollment status as of the
disbursement date. Because the amount of the State Grant award varies based on the student’s
enrollment status, the school must make certain it is generating a payment for the appropriate
enrollment level. (See also ‘Adjustments to Award Based on Change in Enrollment Level’ and
Appendices V and W for further information.)

Payment Periods for Less Than Full-Time Enroliment at Progressive Clock Hour Schools

Schools using progressive clock hour disbursement must reduce the number of clock hoursin a
student’s payment period if the student attends on a less than full-time (Level 15) basis. Thus, if
a full-time (Level 15) payment period is 600 hours for a school with a 1,200-hour academic year
split into two payment periods, payment periods for less than full-time (Level 15) enrollment
would be reduced proportionately, as shown in the chart in Appendix Q.

For less than full-time students, State Grant payment periods may be different than Pell Grant
payment periods due to different enrollment levels for the State Grant and Pell Grant
programs. However, schools participating in federal financial aid programs should check
satisfactory academic progress based on federal payment periods. (See also ‘Satisfactory
Academic Progress’ in the Common Definitions chapter of this manual.) For samples of State
Grant payment periods, please refer to Appendix Q.

To arrive at the number of clock hours in a State Grant payment period for less than full-time
(Level 15) enrollment, multiply the number of hours in a full-time payment period by the
percentage shown on the following chart. Sample payment period charts are available in

Appendix Q.
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Determining Number of Clock Hours in Payment Period
for Less Than Full-Time Enrollment
State Grant Level Average Clock Hours Multiply Hours ir'l Full-Time
Per Week Payment Period by:
Level 15 30+ 1.0
Level 14 28-29 .933
Level 13 26-27 .867
Level 12 24-25 .800
Level 11 22-23 733
Level 10 20-21 .667
Level 9 18-19 .600
Level 8 16-17 .533
Level 7 14-15 467
Level 6 12-13 400
Level 5 10-11 .333
Level 4 8-9 .267
Level 3 6-7 .200

Determining Enrollment Status throughout the Academic Year at Progressive Clock Hour
Schools

Determining Average Clock Hours per Week

To determine the student’s average clock hours per week during a period of time, the school
would divide the number of clock hours the student attended during the period by the number
of scheduled weeks during the period. The number of scheduled weeks is derived by
multiplying the number of scheduled days by .20. Scheduled days do not include approved
leaves of absences, vacations, school closings, holidays or breaks.

For example, if a student had four days of unexcused absences and completed 336 clock hours
during 58 of 62 scheduled days during the period of time, the student would have averaged
27.10 clock hours per week. Sixty-two scheduled days multiplied by .20 = 12.4 weeks. The total
clock hours during this period (336) is then divided by 12.4 weeks, resulting in average clock
hours of 27.10 per week.

Enrollment Status for Initial Payment Period

When the State Grant award is disbursed within the first two weeks of the student’s initial
payment period at the school, the amount of the award and the number of hours in the
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student’s payment period should be based on the enrollment level for which the student has
contracted or registered.

In cases where the State Grant is disbursed after the first two weeks of the student’s initial
payment period, the enrollment status used to determine the award and hours in the payment
period should be based on the average hours per week the student has completed to date.

Payment periods and enrollment levels must also be determined and documented for students
who do not financially qualify for an award, in which case the “disbursement date” is the date
the school determines the student’s enrollment level and payment period.

The hours in each payment period must be based on the academic year and payment period
definitions for the aid year from which funds are awarded. (See also ‘Awards for Summer or
Non-Standard Terms’ in this chapter.)

Since students are not eligible to receive a State Grant during high school, any hours completed
before the student finished high school should not be considered when determining the
student’s enrollment level.

Once the State Grant award has been disbursed for the initial payment period, the
disbursement does not have to be subsequently adjusted if the student’s average hours per
week fall short or exceed the enrollment level used to calculate the original award. However, if
the student withdraws from school, then a refund calculation is required. (See ‘Total
Withdrawal — Progressive Clock Hour Schools’ under ‘Refund Process’ section of the State Grant
manual.)

Once the student completes the number of hours in the initial payment period, the school
should calculate and disburse the State Grant award for the next payment period. In cases
where the student withdraws during a payment period and re-enrolls at a later date, see also
‘Post-Withdrawal Disbursement for Returning Students at Progressive Clock Hour Schools.’

Enrollment Status for Subsequent Payment Periods

When the State Grant award is disbursed within the first two weeks of a subsequent payment
period, the enroliment level used to calculate the award and determine the number of hours in
the current payment period must be based on the number of hours per week the student
actually averaged during the preceding payment period. For example, if the student received a
full-time Level 15 State Grant for the initial payment period based on contracting for 30+ hours
per week but only averaged 24 hours per week during the initial payment period, the
enrollment level used to determine the award and payment period hours for the next payment
period would be 24 hours per week, or Level 12.
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When the State Grant award is disbursed after the first two weeks of a subsequent payment
period, the enrollment level used to calculate the award and determine the number of hours in
the payment period must be based on the number of hours per week the student actually
averaged during the preceding payment period up through the date of disbursement for the
current payment period. Thus, if a student completed four weeks of the current payment
period prior to State Grant disbursement, the enrollment level used to calculate the award and
payment period hours would be based on average hours per week from the beginning of the
preceding payment period through the end of the fourth week of the current payment period.

These same rules apply even when a student does not financially qualify for an award.

If the student’s average hours per week during the previous payment period through the date
of disbursement for the current payment period fall below the minimum enroliment level (six
clock hours per week), the school must delay calculation and disbursement of the award for the
current payment period until the student’s average hours per week for the previous payment
period through the disbursement date of the current payment period meet or exceed the
minimum enrollment level of six hours per week, or Level 3.
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Example of Payment Periods for 1,550 Hour Cosmetology Program

Academic Year Defined as 1,200 Clock Hours with Two Payment Periods

Payment Period 1

Payment Period 2

Payment Period 3

Disbursement Date

First day of Payment
Period 1

First day of
Payment Period 2

Delayed until first day
of fourth week of
Payment Period 3

Contracted Hours per
Week

Full-time 35 hours

N/A

N/A

Enrollment Level for
Payment Period

Level 15 (based on
contracted hours)

Level 12 (based on
average hours for
Payment Period 1)

Level 14 (based

on average hours per
week during Payment
Period 2 through third
week of Payment

Period 3)
Payment Period Hours | 600 hours 480 hours 560 hours*
(600 x 12/15ths) (600 x 14/15ths)
Number of Scheduled 125 85 75

Days in Period

Number of Weeks in
Period

125 x.20 = 25 weeks

85x.20 =17 weeks

75 x .20 = 15 weeks

Average Hours per
Week Used for Next
Period

600/25 = 24 = Level 12

480/17 = 28 = Level 14

NA

Total Program Hours
Completed/ Remaining
at End of Payment
Period

600 completed

950 remaining

1,080 completed

470 remaining

1,550 completed

0 remaining

*State Grant payments for last payment period must be prorated by 470/560 since there are only 470
remaining hours in the student’s program.

When Disbursement is Substantially Delayed

In cases where the student has attended the institution for a number of months prior to
disbursement of the State Grant award, the school may have to determine the student’s
enrollment level for multiple payment periods based on the average hours per week to date.
For example, if the student started a program in September and the initial disbursement was
delayed until March, the school would determine the student’s average hours per week from
September through March and use that enroliment level to determine the award and payment
period hours for multiple payment periods. This same rule applies to students who do not
financially qualify for an award.
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Example of Delayed Disbursement at Clock Hour Institution

Length of Student’s Cosmetology Program 1,550 clock hours

School’s Definition of Full-Time Academic 1,200 clock hours split into two full-time payment periods of 600
Year and Payment Period clock hours

Period of Student’s Enroliment Prior to From September 2006 through February 2007 student
Disbursement completed 750 clock hours in 25.8 weeks

Enroliment Status Used to Calculate Awards | 750 clock hours divided by 25.8 weeks = 29.07 hours per week =

and Payment Period Level 14

Student’s first payment period 560 hours (600 hours X 14/15ths)

Student’s second payment period 560 hours (600 hours X 14/15ths)

Student’s third payment period After student completes 1,120 hours, school will average hours

per week during the second payment period and base third
payment period and award on that enrollment level

Adjusting Payments for Clock Hour Programs When Remaining
Program Hours Are Less than the Number of Hours in Payment Period
If the number of clock hours remaining in the student’s program is less than the number of

hours in the payment period, the school must first calculate the State Grant award for the
entire payment period and then prorate the award using the following formula:

State Grant Award for Number of Clock Hours Remaining in Student’s Program

Entire Payment Period X Number of Hours in Payment Period

For example, a student is enrolled full-time (averaging 30+ clock hours per week) in a 350-hour
program at a school with an academic year of 1,200 hours split into two payment periods. A
full-time payment period would be 600 hours. The payment period award would initially be
calculated based on costs for a 600-hour period. However, because there are only 350 hours
remaining in the student’s program, the award would then be prorated by multiplying the
award by 350/600 clock hours, or by .583.

Adjusting Payments for Term-Based Clock/Credit Hour Programs
When Program Length Does Not Correspond to Term Length

Term-based clock hour schools disburse aid to students based on the amount of time that has
passed, not the number of clock hours completed.
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If the length of a student’s program does not directly correspond to term length, the State
Grant term award must be adjusted to reflect the length of the program.

In cases where program length directly corresponds to term length, the student may receive
the standard term payments. For example, if a program consisted of two quarters, the student
would be eligible for two standard term payments.

In cases where the entire or remaining program length does not directly correspond to term
length, the State Grant term award for the student’s enrollment level must be prorated
according to the following formula:

Pro-Rating Term Award for Term Based Clock/Credit Hour Program
Less Than One Academic Year in Length

a. The number of weeks remaining in the student’s program

The number of weeks in the term

b. Multiply the student’s State Grant term award by the result of (a).

For example, a student is enrolled in a program lasting 18 weeks. The school’s semesters are
each 15 weeks in length so the student’s award for the second semester would be prorated to
3/15, or .20.

Adjusting Payments for Leaves of Absence

A school cannot disburse State Grant funds to a student who is on a leave of absence. (See
definition in “‘Common Definitions’ chapter.)

The hours in a leave of absence are ignored for purposes of averaging hours per week and
disbursing aid at clock hour schools. For example, if a student is scheduled to receive a term
payment every 517 hours, the leave of absence hours would be excluded as follows:

e Student receives check covering 517 hours

e After completing only 200 hours, student takes a leave of absence

e Payment for second payment period cannot be disbursed until student returns to
school and completes the remaining 317 hours of the first payment period.
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DDS Reporting Requirements

General Description of DDS System

All participating schools are now required to administer the State Grant program on campus
using the Decentralized Delivery System (DDS).

With DDS, the school is responsible for screening the student’s application using the FAFSA
record it receives from the federal processor and the Minnesota State Grant program Student
Eligibility Questionnaire (Appendix D). Once the school completes the student’s application, the
school then calculates the student’s State Grant award using the Shared Responsibility term
award calculation (Appendix J). The Agency disburses State Grant funds to schools each term to
cover anticipated payments. The school then notifies the student about his/her State Grant
eligibility via the financial aid award offer and makes disbursements from its State Grant
account to the student at the onset of each term. The school reports award and payment
activity to the Agency on at least a monthly basis throughout the academic year. Any refunds
for students who did not enroll, withdrew or changed enrollment status are deposited back in
the school’s State Grant fund, the balance of which must be returned to the Agency at the close
of the aid year. The deadline for returning funds to the Agency is August 31.

Requesting State Grant Funds

Schools must request State Grant funds using the SG web access screen along with submitting
an up-to-date DDS batch. The Agency can adjust a school’s advance based on previous year
spending patterns or the sum of term awards in the school’s most recent DDS batch. The
Agency can also delay a school’s funds disbursement if the school is not meeting the reporting
schedule deadlines described below.

Required Reporting Schedule

Each school is responsible for submitting a batch containing DDS records for both State Grant
recipients and no-need students to the Agency on at least a monthly basis. This is to ensure that
the State Grant database contains current information about awards and payments for the
fiscal year in question. (See definition of no-need under ‘Selection of Student Records for DDS
Batches.))
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Reporting Deadlines

Schools must submit their initial DDS batch to the Agency prior to making any disbursements in
order for the Agency to check for hold data and verify accuracy of awards and payments.

While submitting DDS batches to the Agency on at least a monthly basis, schools must
incorporate the following reporting deadlines:

e Schools must submit a DDS batch suitable for production prior to receiving their initial
funds for the new aid year. For schools who process aid for the leading summer term,
the initial batch must be submitted in June. For schools with aid years starting with fall
term, the initial batch must be submitted by August 1.

e Schools with payments for the leading summer term must submit a batch reflecting
payment activity by July 15.

e Fall term payment activity for terms starting in August or September must be reported
no later than October 1. For fall terms starting in early October, fall term payment
activity must be reported no later than October 15.

e Winter quarter payment activity must be reported no later than January 15.

e Spring term payment activity for terms starting in January or February must be reported
no later than March 1. For spring terms starting in March or early April, spring term
payment activity must be reported no later than April 15.

e Trailing summer term awards and enrollment levels must be reported as soon as
students have enrolled for the trailing summer term. Payment activity must be reported
by July 1.

e Schools must submit an error-free final batch to the Agency by August 31 along with a
refund of all unused funds from that aid year.

Reporting deadlines are also shown in the ‘Calendar of Financial Aid Events and Reporting
Deadlines’ in the introductory section of the Financial Aid Manual.

Selection of Student Records for DDS Batches

DDS batches should be cumulative and increase in volume throughout the year as more
students apply and complete their financial aid applications.

Schools must report data for students who meet all the program eligibility requirements such
as residency (see ‘Comprehensive List of Eligibility Requirements’ in this chapter), have
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completed financial aid applications, will enroll at the school for one or more terms of the aid
year, and have been evaluated for a State Grant using the Shared Responsibility term award
calculation (Appendix J) and found to either be recipients or no-need students. No-need
students are those who meet all the program eligibility requirements but do not show financial
need for a State Grant award. It is critical for the Agency to have both recipient and no-need
records on its database in order to conduct accurate program expenditure projections and
simulations for proposed changes to the award formula. As with enrollment, student eligibility
may change throughout the year and across terms (i.e. Satisfactory Academic Progress). In such
instances, reporting zeros for the award and payment fields on the term(s) for which the
student was initially eligible and subsequently lost eligibility, is permissible. DDS batch selection
criteria are illustrated in Appendix M.

The DDS Record Layout

A description of the DDS Record Layout can be found in Appendix N

The DDS record contains fields for most of the data elements collected on the student’s FAFSA
record as well as need analysis results, enrollment level, term award/payment amounts and
accurate term disbursement dates.

The DDS record is identical for both recipients and no-need students, although the school
should report zeros for the award and payment fields on the record for no-need students.

Reporting Student Enrollment Status on the DDS Record

When a school first reports a student’s record to the Agency, the school should report an
assumed full-time enrollment status (15 credits) for the student for all terms of the school’s
standard academic year (fall through spring terms) unless the school is aware of the student’s
actual enrollment level for those terms. Term enrollment status for the leading and trailing
summer terms should not be populated until the student registers for those terms unless the
school has a reliable means of knowing the student will enroll for either of those terms.

Throughout the course of the school year the school should be updating term enrollment status
on the DDS record for students who do not enroll or end up enrolling less than full-time. Term
enrollment status must be updated on both recipient and no-need records.

If a student withdrew or changed enrollment status after the State Grant was disbursed and the
full amount of the difference in the awards for the initial and revised enrollment levels was not
required to be returned to the State Grant program, the school should continue to report the
enrollment level at which the student was initially paid. (See also Appendix V for examples.)
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Methods for Submitting DDS Batches

Schools should submit batches to the Agency using the SG web access screen. Schools may also
use an automated SFTP process to transmit DDS batches to the Agency. Schools interested in
submitting data via SFTP must contact the grant unit to obtain a username, password and
directory. In either case, the Agency will need to know the name of the school sending the
batch, the cut-off date for the batch and the balance of funds remaining in the school’s State
Grant account on campus. Most schools have designed their reporting software to include this
information in designated fields on the trailer record for the DDS batch.

Reviewing DDS Batch Output Reports

When the Agency processes a batch of DDS records, it checks to make sure the student does
not have an eligibility problem by checking for child support holds, SELF default holds,
overpayment holds and four years of aid holds on its database. It also uses the data on the
school’s DDS record to calculate the federal need analysis results and the State Grant award.
The Agency’s calculation results are then compared to the data submitted by the school and
any discrepancies are noted. If discrepancies are outside the established tolerances, the award
and payment data for the student is rejected.

Data about eligibility problems, award discrepancies and rejected payments is provided on a
series of on-line output reports generated for the school after the DDS batch is processed by
the Agency. Reports can either be viewed on-line or downloaded to the school’s system.

The output reports generated when a DDS batch is processed are the Roster of Rejected
Awards/Payments (Appendix R), the Award Error Detail Roster (Appendix S), the Roster of
Accepted Payments (Appendix T) and the Reconciliation Report (Appendix U). Reports are
accessed at: State Grant Web Access .

The school is responsible for reviewing DDS batch output reports and resolving errors prior to
the school reporting its next DDS batch. The school should refer to the appropriate appendices
for detailed instructions on reviewing these reports and resolving errors.

Refund Process

General Information and Deadlines

All refunds should be for an even dollar amount with cents rounded to the nearest dollar.
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Any refunds of student State Grant payments must be returned to the school’s State Grant
account on campus for the given aid year regardless of the dollar amount of the refund. Schools
are responsible for calculating the amount of student refunds within a reasonable amount of
time and returning funds to the State Grant account in a timely manner. Any remaining balance
in the account must be returned to the Agency by the end of year deadline for the DDS system
or within 10 working days of a written request from the Agency. Failure to meet this deadline
will result in the Agency delaying funds advances for the next academic year. After the school
has returned the end of year account balance to the Agency, any student refunds discovered
after that point should be sent directly to the Agency along with the Refund Return Form

(Appendix X).

Refunds for Students Who Do Not Attend

If a student fails to attend any classes for a term or payment period, any State Grant funds
disbursed to the student or credited to the student’s account must be fully refunded to the
school’s State Grant account on campus.

Calculating Refunds for Students Who Change Enrollment
Level or Withdraw After State Grant Disbursement

If, according to the refund policy the school is required to use, there is a refund of institutional
charges for a student who withdrew from school or had a change in enrollment, all or a portion
of that student’s refund may be due to the State Grant program. (See ‘Common Definitions’
chapter for a definition of “Withdrawal Date.”)

Each institution is responsible for refunds of unused institutional charges when a student
changes enrollment status or withdraws from school.

The appropriate Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet or spreadsheet
(Appendix O) or similar form must be used to document the calculation of refunds to the State
Grant program. The appropriate worksheet is for the school’s use and is not intended to be sent
to the Agency. This worksheet is also available in spreadsheet format on the Agency’s web page
under Campus Financial Aid Administrator Resources, Program Forms, Spreadsheets &
Instructions.
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Change in Enrollment Level

Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools

If, according to the policies described under ‘Adjustments to Awards Based on Change in
Enrollment Level,” the school is required to complete the Agency’s Refund Calculation
Worksheet (Appendix O) or spreadsheet for students who withdrew from a class but were still
enrolled for three or more credits for the term, the amount of the refund due the State Grant
program will be the lesser of: the difference between the State Grant term award for the
original and current enrollment level or a proportional amount of the school’s refund of
institutional charges based on the refund policy the school is required to use. If there is no
refund of institutional charges based on the institution’s refund policy, the school is not
required to return funds to the State Grant program.

The following example illustrates the difference between a case where the Agency’s Refund
Calculation Worksheet or spreadsheet would be used (Case A) and a case of award
recalculation (Case B) which, while requiring a refund, does not necessitate use of the Agency’s
Refund Calculation Worksheet. (The Refund Calculation Worksheet is used when a student
attends and then withdraws from a class or classes before the school’s award adjustment end
date. Recalculation of the award occurs when a student drops a class or classes without having
attended the class.)
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Example of Adjustments to Award Due to Reduced Enrollment

State Grant Term

Awards

Refund
Case A

Recalculation

CaseB

Level 15 $800
Level 14 $746
Level 13 $694
Level 12 $640
Level 11 $586
Level 10 $534

The student initially received a Level 15 State
Grant of $800 for fall quarter after starting
classes. The student then withdrew from a
two-credit class the student had attended
before the school’s award adjustment end
date and the enrollment status changed to
Level 13. The difference between Level 15
and Level 13 term awards is $106. Therefore,
up to $106 of the refund is due the State

The student initially received a Level 15
State Grant of $800 for fall quarter but
did not begin a two-credit course and
dropped those two credits, resulting in an
enrollment status change to Level 13. The
State Grant must be recalculated and the
difference between Level 15 and Level 13
term awards ($106) must be returned to
the State Grant program.

Level 9 $480 Grant program. The school’s refund
calculation (Appendix O) results in a refund .

Level 8 $426 The school would report 13 credits for the
to the State Grant program of $90. 5

Level 7 $374 student’s term enrollment level on the

State Grant DDS record.
Level 6 $320
2 Therefore, only $90 would be returned to

Level 5 $S300 the State Grant program. The school would

Level 4 $287 not h.ave to bill the student for the
remainder.

Level 3 $250

The school would continue to report 15
credits for the student’s term enrollment
level on the State Grant DDS record.

Non-Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools

Non-term-based credit-hour schools that combine sequential course modules into a term are
not subject to refund calculations for partial withdrawals. Since courses are offered
sequentially, student withdrawals are subject to refunds for total withdrawals and/or refunds
for award recalculations. (See ‘Enrollment Level at Non-Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools,’
‘Adjustment of Awards for Students Attending Non-Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools’ and ‘Total
Withdrawal — Non-Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools’ sections in this manual for further
guidance.)

Total Withdrawal

Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools

This policy refers to students who withdraw from school (or below three credits) after
attending classes. If a student withdraws without attending classes, the State Grant term award
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must be recalculated to zero and the State Grant term award disbursement must be returned
to the State Grant program. This also applies if the student attends classes but is granted a
withdrawal date retroactively to the first day of the term. (See ‘Backdated Withdrawal Date’ in
this section.)

Schools should refer to the definition of “withdrawal date” contained in the ‘Common
Definitions’ chapter of this manual to determine the date of withdrawal. If the refund policy the
school is required to use results in a refund of institutional charges and, after the institution’s
share of any required refund to Title IV programs has been refunded (Unearned Title IV Aid Due
from the School, Step 5.0. of Title IV Refund Worksheet), a proportional share of any remaining
refund (Line E of Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet or spreadsheet), not
to exceed the amount of the State Grant payment the student initially received for the term (if
the school charges by the term) or aid year (if the school charges upfront for the entire
program), must be returned to the State Grant program. Schools should use the appropriate
Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix O) for a full withdrawal to
calculate the amount of funds to return to state financial aid programs. The worksheet is also
available in spreadsheet format on the Agency’s web site under Campus Financial Aid
Administrator Resources, Program Forms, Spreadsheets & Instructions.

If a school disburses a State Grant to a student who is later determined to have a withdrawal
date set prior to the disbursement, the school must complete the appropriate OHE Refund
Calculation Worksheet (Appendix O) or spreadsheet to determine if a refund is due the State
Grant program. This can occur in cases where a school is not required to take attendance and
becomes aware of the withdrawal after the date of disbursement.

On line A of the Refund Calculation Worksheet/spreadsheet, the school would enter the total
amount of all (federal, state, institutional, private) financial aid and cash applied to the original
institutional charges for the term or payment period (if the school charges by the term or
payment period) or program (if the school charges upfront for the entire program), not to
exceed the amount of original institutional charges. In other words, if a student received $4,000
in financial aid and original institutional charges were only $3,500, the excess $500 disbursed to
the student for non-institutional expenses would not be reported on line A.

On line B of the refund worksheet, the school would report the amount of institutional charges
itis allowed to retain for the term or payment period (if the school charges by term or payment
period) or program (if the school charges upfront for the entire program) per its institutional or
state-mandated refund policy. Most schools rely on their institutional or accrediting agency’s
refund policy, but certain proprietary schools are required to use a state-mandated policy, such
as cosmetology schools (Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners) and for-profit
institutions not offering degrees (Minnesota Statues Chapter 141).
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In the case where a school is first performing an award recalculation prior to a refund for a total
withdrawal, the amounts on lines A and B should only include amounts for the revised
enrollment level. For example, if the school disbursed a Level 15 State Grant to a student who
first dropped or withdrew from a three-credit class without attending the class, and later fully
withdrew from school, the school would first refund the difference between the Level 15 and
Level 12 State Grants and then perform the total withdrawal refund calculation using the Level
12 State Grant amount.

Line C of the refund worksheet is the gross refund calculated by subtracting Line B from Line A.
If the amount on line C is not greater than zero, there is no refund required for state financial
aid programes. If Line Cis greater than zero, the school would report the amount of the school’s
share of any required refund to federal financial aid programs on line D (from Step 5.0. of the
federal refund worksheet), with Line E representing Line C minus Line D.

If the amount on line E is not greater than zero, no refund to state financial aid programs is
required. If the amount on line E is greater than zero, it must be distributed on a proportional
basis to non-Title IV aid programs requiring refunds, not to exceed the actual amount the
student received from each program. All Minnesota aid programs (excluding State Work Study)
from which the student received funds must receive their proportional share of the remaining
refund before the student may receive any portion of the amount listed on line E.

To determine the proportional share of the refund due each non-federal financial aid program,
the school would first list all non-federal financial aid programs in Part Two of the Refund
Calculation Worksheet (Title IV aid, State Work Study earnings, and payments made by the
student should not be included) that require a portion of any refund of institutional charges.
For non-Title IV loans disbursed by institutions that charge by the term or payment period, use
the total loan divided by the number of attendance periods in the loan period. Institutional aid
may also be included if the program requires a refund upon withdrawal. Once the amount of
the total non-Title IV aid package is known, divide the student’s State Grant by the amount of
the term’s total non-Title IV aid package to determine what percentage of the total non-Title IV
aid package is comprised of State Grant funds. In cases where the original State Grant payment
is first recalculated to exclude credits for a course the student didn’t attend, if the student
subsequently withdraws from school, the revised (i.e., recalculated) State Grant should be
listed in Part Two of the Refund Calculation Worksheet. The same would apply to the other
state financial aid programs listed in Part Two of the worksheet.
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Example of Proportional Distribution of Refund to Non-Federal Aid Programs

Institution Charges by Term

Non-Title IV Aid Package for Fall Term

State Grant $1,000 (23.8%)
SELF Loan $2,000 (47.6%)
YMCA Scholarship S 800 (19.1%)
Inst Scholarship S 400 (9.5%)
TOTAL $4,200

Case A

Refund of institutional charges = $1,000

Remaining refund after subtracting institutional share of Title IV refund = $700
Amount of remaining refund due State Grant = $700 x .238 = $166.60 = $167
Amount of remaining refund due SELF Loan = $700 x .476 = $333.20 = $333

Case B

Refund of institutional charges = $6,000

Remaining refund after subtracting institutional share of Title IV refund = $5,700
$5,700 x .238 = $1,357 which exceeds State Grant term award of $1,000

$1,000 would be refunded to State Grant

$5,700 x .476 = $2,713 which exceeds SELF Loan term award of $2,000

$2,000 would be refunded to SELF Loan

Non-Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools

When a student withdraws from a non-term-based credit-hour school, the point of withdrawal
will determine whether the school must perform an award recalculation or total withdrawal
refund, or both. In general, if a student withdraws between a completed course and the next
course, an award recalculation is performed. If a student withdraws during the last course of
the term after beginning attendance in that course, the school would perform a refund for a
total withdrawal using the appropriate OHE Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix O) or
spreadsheet. If a student withdraws during a course, and there are remaining courses in the
term that will not be attended, the school must first recalculate the State Grant award to
exclude credits for the remaining courses, and then perform a total withdrawal refund using
the appropriate OHE Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix O) or spreadsheet listing the
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State Grant award amount for the classes the student did attend during the term. For further
guidance, see sections ‘Enrollment Level at Non-Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools’ and
‘Adjustment of Awards for Students Attending Non-Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools’ in this
manual.

e Post-Withdrawal Disbursement for Returning Students at Non-Term-Based Credit-Hour
Schools

If a student at a non-term-based credit-hour school withdraws from school and subsequently
reenrolls in the same program during the same aid year, any refunds for award recalculations
and withdrawals can be reversed and the original term award reinstated, provided the student
still meets all program eligibility requirements. The length of the term would typically be
extended and the student’s enrollment level increased to compensate for the additional class. If
the student reenrolls in the next aid year, different guidelines apply. For further guidance on
both of these scenarios, refer to the sections on ‘Enrollment Level at Non-Term-Based Credit-
Hour Schools,” ‘Adjustment of Awards for Students Attending Non-Term-Based Credit-Hour
Schools,” and ‘Awards for Summer or Non-Standard Terms’ in this manual.

Progressive Clock Hour Schools

This policy refers to students who withdraw from school (or below six clock hours per week)
after attending classes. If a student withdraws without attending classes, the State Grant award
must be recalculated to zero and funds must be returned to the State Grant program.

If a student withdraws and the refund policy used by the school results in a refund of
institutional charges, after the institution’s share of any required refund to Title IV programs
has been refunded (Unearned Title IV Aid Due from the School, Step 5.0. of Title IV Refund
Worksheet), a proportional share of the remaining refund must be returned to the State Grant
program. The proportional share is based on a percentage determined by dividing the amount
of State Grant funds received by the total non-Title IV aid received.

Once the percentage is calculated, the refund remaining (Line E of the Office of Higher
Education Refund Calculation Worksheet) after federal aid programs have been repaid is
multiplied by the percentage and the result, not to exceed the amount of the State Grant
payment the student initially received for the State Grant program payment period (if school
charges by the payment period) or aid year (if school charges upfront for the entire program), is
returned to the State Grant program.

For progressive clock hour schools with institutional refund policies based on the amount of
institutional charges that can be retained for a payment period, lines A and B on Part One of the
OHE Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix Q) should be based on the funds applied and
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charges retained for the payment period. Otherwise, schools charging upfront for the entire
program should use the OHE Refund Calculation Worksheet, Appendix O, with lines A and B
representing the funds applied and charges retained for the entire program.

Determining the percentage of the payment period financial aid package covered by the State
Grant can be difficult because the payment period used for State Grant may be different from
the payment period used for other non-Title IV financial aid programs. For purposes of
calculating what percentage of the total payment period non-Title IV aid package is comprised
of State Grant funds, an hourly rate must be calculated. Divide the State Grant payment for the
payment period by the number of hours in the State Grant payment period to determine the
amount of State Grant per clock hour. Divide any other non-Title IV aid by the number of hours
in the award period, which may consist of more hours than a payment period, as shown in the
chart that follows.

Example of Refund Distribution at Clock Hour Institution

Where Refund Period Based on Payment Period

Academic year = 900 hours (450 Clock Hours in Level 15 Semester Payment Period)

State Grant Level 14 Payment S 500

State Grant Level 14 Payment Period 420 clock hours = $1.19 (26.3%)

SELF Loan $2,000

SELF Loan Award Period 900 clock hours = $2.22 (49.1%)

Institutional Scholarship $1,000

Scholarship Award Period 900 clock hours = $1.11 (24.6%)
$4.52 (100%)
Total Non-Title IV
Aid Per Clock Hour

Total Refund of Institutional Charges $1,500

Institutional Share of Title IV Refund - 767

Remaining Refund S 733

$733 x 26.3% = $193 State Grant Portion of Remaining Refund
$733 x49.1% = $360 SELF Loan Portion of Remaining Refund
$733 x 24.6% = $180 Institutional Scholarship Portion of Remaining Refund

Minnesota State Grant Program 96



e Post-Withdrawal Disbursement for Returning Students at Progressive Clock Hour
Schools

If a student attending a progressive clock hour school withdraws from school but re-enrolls at
the school within 180 days of the withdrawal date, the student is eligible to receive a State
Grant for the payment period during which the student withdrew. The school may not impose
additional fees for the student to re-enroll or require the student to re-enroll in the same
program. If the school performed a refund calculation for the withdrawal, the school may
reverse the refunds to financial aid programs as if the student never withdrew. In these cases,
the State Grant award is not revised from the award amount at the time of the initial
disbursement. If the State Grant for the payment period was not disbursed prior to the
withdrawal, it can be disbursed after the student re-enrolls based on the student’s enroliment
level from the beginning of the previous payment period to the current date of disbursement.
For students who re-enroll in this manner, the State Grant award for the next payment period
cannot be disbursed until the student completes the hours in the payment period during which
the student withdrew.

If a student attending a progressive clock hour school withdraws from school but re-enrolls at
the same school more than 180 days after the withdrawal date, the timing of the next State
Grant disbursement to the student will be based on the terms of the contract under which the
student re-enrolls. If the student re-enrolls under the previous contract without incurring
additional charges, the school may not disburse additional State Grant funds to the student
until the hours in the payment period during which the student withdrew have been
completed. If the student re-enrolls under a new contract subject to additional charges, the
student is eligible to receive a State Grant disbursement at the onset of the new period of
enrollment as would any other new or transfer student. When students re-enroll more than
180 days after the date of withdrawal, any refunds to state financial aid programs for the
student’s withdrawal cannot be reversed.

Total Withdrawal When School’s Mandatory Refund Policy
Applies to Program Length

If the institutional refund policy the school is required to use applies to charges assessed and
retained for the student’s entire program as opposed to a term or payment period, Line A in
Part One of the Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix O) or spreadsheet should reflect all
financial aid and cash applied to institutional charges to date for the aid year, not to exceed the
amount of institutional charges. Line B of the worksheet should reflect the amount of
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institutional charges the institution is allowed to retain for the student’s program. Part Two of

the worksheet should reflect non-Title IV financial aid disbursed to date for the entire program.

Sample of Withdrawal Refund Calculation

For Clock Hour School Charging Upfront for Entire Program

Institutional Charges = $20,000 for 1550 hour cosmetology program charged upfront

School defines aid year as 900 clock hours, with two 450-hour full-time payment periods

Financial aid and cash applied to institutional charges to date for program:
MN State Grant = Aid Year 1: $2,700 first payment period
$2,700 second payment period
Aid Year 2: $1,542 for third payment period
$6,942 Total to date for program

SELF Loan = Aid Year 1: $2,000 first payment period
$2,000 second payment period
Aid Year 2: $2,000 third payment period
$6,000 Total to date for program

Cash payment = Aid Year 1: $4,000
Aid Year 2: $3,058
$7,058 Total to date for program
$20,000 TOTAL

Student has been enrolled full-time but withdraws from school during second aid year at hour 1,040.

Student has completed 45.2% of program (1040/1550 = 67.1%).

School’s mandated refund policy allows school to retain 67.1% of institutional charges for the program.

Part One of Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix O) or spreadsheet

Line (A) = $20,000 (all financial aid and cash applied to institutional charges to date for program)
Line (B) — $13,420 ($20,000 program charges x 67.1% institution can retain)

Line (C)=$ 6,580 (520,000 - $13,420)

Line (D) - $ 0 (no Title IV financial aid disbursed)

Line (E)=$ 6,580 (to be distributed proportionally to non-Title IV financial aid programs)
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Part Two of Worksheet — Proportional Share of Non-Title IV aid disbursed to date for program
$6,942 State Grant (53.6%)

_$6,000 SELF Loan (46.4%)

$12,942 Total Non-Title IV Financial Aid Disbursed (100%)

Distribution of Remaining Refund as shown online (E) Part One

$6,580 x 53.6% = $3,216 to MN State Grant - Refund capped at $1,542 (amount received
during current aid year)

$6,000 x 46.4% = $2,784 to SELF Loan - Refund capped at $2,000 (amount received

during current aid year)

Backdated Withdrawal Date

A student who withdraws from a class or classes and is granted a retroactive withdrawal date
back to the start date of the term will be treated as if the student never attended the class or
classes. The award must be recalculated to exclude credits granted a retroactive withdrawal
and the overpayment returned to the State Grant program.

Award Adjustment and Refunds for All Non-Passing Grades

If a student receives a non-passing grade in all classes taken during the term, the applicable
federal financial aid guidelines requiring schools to document attendance in these cases also
apply to the Minnesota State Grant program. If the school determines that the student never
attended a class or classes, the State Grant award for the term must be recalculated to exclude
the credits for the classes the student never attended and the overpayment refunded to the
State Grant program prior to any refund taking place for other classes the student did attend
but did not complete.

For example, a student enrolls and receives a State Grant disbursement for 15 credits at the
onset of the term. The student then receives a grade of F in all courses for the term. The school
determines the student never attended one 3-credit class, did attend and complete three 3-
credit classes that extended the length of the term and did attend but stopped attending
another 3-credit class. In this case, a refund would not be required for the Pell Grant program
since the student attended at least one class that extended the length of the term and,
therefore, earned the F grade. However, for Minnesota State Grant, the award must first be
recalculated to exclude the 3-credit class the student never attended with the difference
refunded to the program. If the unofficial withdrawal for the 3-credit class the student stopped
attending took place prior to the school’s award adjustment end date, the school must perform
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a partial withdrawal refund for the Level 12 State Grant using the Refund Calculation
Worksheet (Appendix O) or spreadsheet.

The state does not impose any stricter requirements upon schools to document attendance in
these cases beyond those already in place for federal financial aid programs. In other words, if
the school first documents the student did attend at least one class offered over the entire
term or payment period and is, therefore, eligible for the Federal Pell Grant, the state does not
require the school to document attendance in all classes for the term.

Withdrawal for Military Service or Service-Related Medical
Condition

When a student must withdraw from school for military service, the standard refund policy for
withdrawals is used. However, state law provides special options for students whose
postsecondary education at a Minnesota school is affected due to military service or a service-
related disability. The applicable law can be accessed at www.leg.state.mn.us by retrieving
Statute 192.502.

Refunds for Overpayments

If a revision to the student’s State Grant award for the current aid year results in an
overpayment, the overpayment must be returned to the school’s State Grant account for the
current aid year. In cases where the cause of an overpayment may affect State Grant eligibility
for previous aid years, the school is required to review the student’s records for the three most
recent previous aid years and return any overpayments to the Office using the Refund Return
Form (Appendix X). However, in cases where an auditor or school suspects fraudulent activity,
student records must be reviewed for all previous aid years for which they are available and any
resulting overpayments must be returned to the Office.

Accounting and Audit Requirements

General

Each institution must designate an employee(s) as the institutional representative to perform
or supervise all financial and accounting activities related to the Minnesota State Grant
program.

Auditors from the Office of Higher Education will periodically perform audits with each
participating schools. The audits are performed remotely by audit staff rather than on site at
institutions. Schools have the option of hiring a private auditing firm to conduct the audit of
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state aid programs in conjunction with an audit of federal financial aid programs. (See also
‘Audits’ under ‘Common Definitions’ chapter for criteria for hiring an independent auditing
firm.)

The school must make available all pertinent books, documents, papers and records for audit
and examination for three years after the last day of a fiscal year or until all audit exceptions for
the period are resolved. These documents can be collected in paper form, but are most
commonly collected electronically through a secure transfer.

Upon request by the school, the Agency will supply an updated State Grant Program Audit
Guide.

Documentation of Student Eligibility

All schools must have written documentation that the student meets all of the program
eligibility requirements described in the ‘Student Eligibility’ section in this chapter.

With respect to written documentation of enrollment status, the actual documentation, such as
a fee statement or transcript, need not be kept at the financial aid office but must be readily
available at the registrar’s office or other responsible department within the school.

Documentation of State Grant Receipts, Disbursements and
Refunds

General Ledger

All schools must maintain an audit trail in the form of a general ledger (see Appendix P for
example) by state fiscal year that tracks the following transactions:

e the date and amount of State Grant funds sent by the Agency to the institution;

e the date and amount of State Grant funds disbursed by the institution to students. The
institution should keep supporting documentation for disbursement entries that
identifies the amount of State Grant funds disbursed to the student by check or
deposited in the student’s institutional or bank account by student name and social
security number. The institution must reconcile financial aid records to business office
records regarding the amount of State Grant paid to each student;

e the date and amount of State Grant refunds or repayments from students deposited
back into the institution’s State Grant account on campus. The institution should keep
supporting documentation for refund entries that identifies the amount of State Grant
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funds deposited back into the institution’s State Grant account for each student by
student name and social security number. The school must also keep a copy of the
refund calculation worksheet, or the school’s facsimile, used to calculate the State Grant
refund; and

e the date and amount of State Grant funds returned to the Agency by the institution at
the end of each fiscal year.

Reconciliation

Reconciling State Grant Disbursement Records

At the end of each state fiscal year, the financial aid office must reconcile its record of State
Grant disbursements with:

e the Agency’s records of State Grant disbursements, and
e the college business office’s records of State Grant disbursements.

The financial aid office must verify that financial aid records reflect the same disbursement
amount for each student as the business office and the Agency. This process includes, but is not
always limited to, the following steps:

STEP 1.The institution selects their official record of State Grant disbursements. This must be
the record used to submit batches to the Agency and can be maintained by the financial aid
office or the business office.

STEP 2.The institution determines that its official record and the Agency records agree by
verifying:

e all disbursements of State Grant funds have been submitted to the Agency,
e that there are no outstanding rejected payments, and

e the total amounts disbursed by the institution and the total amount of payments
accepted by the Agency agree.

[Note: If the institution is not able to transmit payment data to the Agency due to software
errors, the Agency will not grant the school credit for those payments.]

STEP 3.The institution determines that the records of the business office and the financial aid
office are in agreement. If appropriate, any differences should be corrected by adjusting the
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non-official State Grant disbursement record. If the school needs to adjust its official record,
the institution must repeat Step 2.

The student must be eligible to receive any increased award payments made to him or her as
part of the reconciliation process.

This part of the reconciliation must establish that:

e the business office and the financial aid office recorded the same total disbursements,
and

e for each student, the business office and the financial aid office recorded the same
disbursements.

Reconciliation Summary Report

Reconciliation between the school and the Agency occurs each time the school submits a batch
of student records reflecting payments to date. The Reconciliation Summary Report generated
during batch processing reflects the amount of funds advanced to the school, the amount of
payments in the current batch accepted by the Agency, and the remaining balance due the
Agency at the end of the academic year. (See Appendix U for further information about this
report.)

Return of Excess Funds

The school must return all excess funds to the Agency no later than August 31. Schools must
also honor any requests for return of excess cash balances sent by the Agency throughout the
aid year and return the requested amount within 10 days of receiving the request.

Utilization of State Grant Fund Interest Earnings

Schools are allowed to utilize any interest earnings on State Grant funds advanced to the
institution to offset administrative costs incurred by the financial aid office from administering
the State Grant program on a decentralized basis.

Prohibition against Charging Student Fees

The school shall not, under any circumstances, collect from State Grant applicants or recipients
any special fees for charges to directly cover the cost of administering the State Grant program.
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Student Account Requirement

A school must maintain a student account for each student. The school must provide the
student with an itemized statement of the account at least annually and upon termination of
enrollment. (See also ‘Student Authorization’ under ‘Disbursement Process’ section of this
chapter.)

Summary of State Audit Requirements: Institutional

Documentation for the Minnesota State Grant Program
At a minimum, each school must be able to produce the following for auditors:
e individual student financial aid files for State Grant recipients;

e documentation that students meet program eligibility requirements as outlined under
‘Student Eligibility’ in this chapter;

e documentation of the need analysis results used to calculate the student’s State Grant
award;

e documentation of the student’s enrollment level at the time of State Grant
disbursement;

e documentation of the disbursement dates of payments to individual award recipients;

e written documentation of refund calculations for individual award recipients (e.g., copy
of Refund Calculation Worksheet or Spreadsheet (Appendix O));

e written documentation of individual student refund amounts and the date these State
Grant funds were returned to the school’s State Grant account;

e written definition of “satisfactory academic progress” and a policy which conforms to
both federal and state requirements;

n u,

e written definitions of “full-time student,” “three-quarter time student,” “half-time

student,” and “less than half-time student” for purposes of Federal Title IV programs;

e documentation of the unusual circumstances requiring a professional judgment change
of dependency status or adjustment of EFC or cost of attendance; and

e for private schools not participating in the Federal Pell Grant program, a signed student
disclosure statement (Appendix Y) for all enrolled students.
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Appendices

Appendix A: Minnesota Status Governing State Grant Program

136A.121 STATE GRANT PROGRAM.
Subdivision 1. [Repealed, 1989 c 293 s 85]

Subd. 2. Eligibility for grants. (a) An applicant is eligible to be considered for a grant, regardless of
the applicant's sex, creed, race, color, national origin, or ancestry, under sections 136A.095 to
136A.131 if the office finds that the applicant:

(1) is a resident of the state of Minnesota;

(2) is a graduate of a secondary school or its equivalent, or is 17 years of age or over, and has
met all requirements for admission as a student to an eligible college or technical college of
choice as defined in sections 136A.095 to 136A.131;

(3) has met the financial need criteria established in Minnesota Rules;

(4) is not in default, as defined by the office, of any federal or state student educational loan;
and

(5) is not more than 30 days in arrears in court-ordered child support that is collected or
enforced by the public authority responsible for child support enforcement or, if the applicant
is more than 30 days in arrears in court-ordered child support that is collected or enforced by
the public authority responsible for child support enforcement, but is complying with a written
payment agreement under section 518A.69 or order for arrearages.

(b) A student who withdraws from enrollment for active military service after December 31,
2002, because the student was ordered to active military service as defined in section 190.05,
subdivision 5b or 5c, or who withdraws from enrollment for a major iliness, while under the care
of a medical professional, that substantially limits the student's ability to complete the term is
entitled to an additional semester or the equivalent of grant eligibility.

Subd. 3.Allocation. Grants must be awarded on a funds available basis to those applicants who
meet the office's requirements.

Subd. 4. [Repealed, 1989 c 293 s 85]

Subd. 5.Grant stipends. The grant stipend shall be based on a sharing of responsibility for
covering the recognized cost of attendance by the applicant, the applicant's family, and the
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government. The amount of a financial stipend must not exceed a grant applicant's recognized
cost of attendance, as defined in subdivision 6, after deducting the following:

(1) the assigned student responsibility of at least 50 percent of the cost of attending the
institution of the applicant's choosing;

(2) the assigned family responsibility as defined in section 136A.101; and
(3) the amount of a federal Pell grant award for which the grant applicant is eligible.
The minimum financial stipend is $100 per academic year.

Subd. 6.Cost of attendance. (a) The recognized cost of attendance consists of: (1) an allowance
specified in law for living and miscellaneous expenses, and (2) an allowance for tuition and fees
equal to the lesser of the average tuition and fees charged by the institution, or a tuition and
fee maximum if one is established in law. If no living and miscellaneous expense allowance is
established in law, the allowance is equal to 101 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for a
one person household in Minnesota for nine months. If no tuition and fee maximum is
established in law, the allowance for tuition and fees is equal to the lesser of: (1) the average
tuition and fees charged by the institution, and (2) for two-year programs, an amount equal to
the highest tuition and fees charged at a public two-year institution, or for four-year programs,
an amount equal to the highest tuition and fees charged at a public university.

(b) For a student registering for less than full time, the office shall prorate the cost of
attendance to the actual number of credits for which the student is enrolled.

(c) The recognized cost of attendance for a student who is confined to a Minnesota correctional
institution shall consist of the tuition and fee component in paragraph (a), with no allowance
for living and miscellaneous expenses.

(d) For the purpose of this subdivision, "fees" include only those fees that are mandatory and
charged to full-time resident students attending the institution. Fees do not include charges for
tools, equipment, computers, or other similar materials where the student retains ownership.
Fees include charges for these materials if the institution retains ownership. Fees do not include
optional or punitive fees.

Subd. 7.Insufficient appropriation. If the amount appropriated is determined by the office to be
insufficient to make full awards to applicants under subdivision 5, awards must be reduced by:

(1) adding a surcharge to the applicant's assigned family responsibility, as defined in section
136A.101, subdivision 5a; and
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(2) a percentage increase in the applicant's assigned student responsibility, as defined in
subdivision 5.

The reduction under clauses (1) and (2) must be equal dollar amounts.

Subd. 7a.Surplus appropriation. If the amount appropriated is determined by the office to be
more than sufficient to fund projected grant demand in the second year of the biennium, the
office may increase the living and miscellaneous expense allowance in the second year of the
biennium by up to an amount that retains sufficient appropriations to fund the projected grant
demand. The adjustment may be made one or more times. In making the determination that
there are more than sufficient funds, the office shall balance the need for sufficient resources
to meet the projected demand for grants with the goal of fully allocating the appropriation for
state grants. An increase in the living and miscellaneous expense allowance under this
subdivision does not carry forward into a subsequent biennium.

Subd. 8. [Repealed, 1Sp1985 c 11 s 81]

Subd. 9.Awards. An undergraduate student who meets the office's requirements is eligible to
apply for and receive a grant in any year of undergraduate study unless the student has
obtained a baccalaureate degree or previously has been enrolled full time or the equivalent for
eight semesters or the equivalent, excluding courses taken from a Minnesota school or
postsecondary institution which is not participating in the state grant program and from which
a student transferred no credit. A student enrolled in a two-year program at a four-year
institution is only eligible for the tuition and fee maximums established by law for two-year
institutions.

Subd. 9a.Full-year grants. Students may receive state grants for four consecutive quarters or
three consecutive semesters during the course of a single fiscal year. In calculating a state grant
for the fourth quarter or third semester, the office must use the same calculation as it would
for any other term, except that the calculation must subtract any federal Pell grant for which a
student would be eligible even if the student has exhausted the Pell grant for that fiscal year.

Subd. 9b. [Repealed, 2013 ¢ 99 art 2 s 30]

Subd. 10. [Repealed, 1Sp1993 c 2 art 2 s 26]

Subd. 11.Renewal conditions. Each grant is renewable, contingent on continued residency in
Minnesota, satisfactory academic progress, recommendation of the eligible institution currently
attended, and evidence of continued need.

Subd. 12.Annual application. To continue to receive a grant, the student must apply for renewal each
year.

Minnesota State Grant Program 3


https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=11&year=1985&type=1
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=99&year=2013&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=2&year=1993&type=1

Subd. 12a.Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) compliance. All eligible institutions must
implement policies and procedures that ensure that applicants are aware that they must
annually complete the FAFSA to be eligible for financial aid.

Subd. 13.Deadline. The deadline for the office to accept applications for state grants for a term
is 30 days after the start of that term.

Subd. 14. [Repealed, 1Sp1985 c 11 s 81]

Subd. 15. [Repealed, 1989 c 293 s 85]

Subd. 16.How applied; order. Grants awarded under this section must be applied to educational
costs in the following order: tuition, fees, books, supplies, and other expenses. Unpaid portions
of the awards revert to the grant account.

Subd. 17.Independent student information. The office shall inform students in its financial aid
publications about the definition of independent student status and appeals to the financial aid
administrator relating to the declaration of the status.

Subd. 18.Data. (a) An eligible institution must provide to the office data on student enroliment
and federal and state financial aid.

(b) An institution or its agent must provide to the office aggregate and distributional financial or
other data as determined by the commissioner that is directly related to the responsibilities of
the office under this chapter. The commissioner may only request aggregate and distributional
data after establishing and consulting with a data advisory task force to determine the need,
content, and detail of the information. Data provided by nonpublic institutions under this
paragraph is considered nonpublic data under chapter 13.

Subd. 19.Reporting. By November 1 and February 15, the office must provide, to the committees
of the legislature with jurisdiction over higher education finance and policy, updated state grant
spending projections taking into account the most current and projected enrollment and tuition
and fee information, economic conditions, and other relevant factors. Before submitting state
grant spending projections, the office must meet and consult with representatives of public and
private postsecondary institutions, the Department of Management and Budget, the
Governor's Office, legislative staff, and financial aid administrators.

Subd. 20.Institution reporting. (a) Each institution receiving financial aid under this section must
annually report to the office the following for each award level:

(1) enrollment and graduation data for all students, including subgroup information on state
and federal Pell grant recipients; and
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(2) the aggregate awarded financial aid information for all students, and cumulative debt of all
graduates by race and ethnicity, gender, and income.

(b) Using the data submitted to the office by institutions pursuant to paragraph (a), as well as
other data available to the office, the office shall provide the following on its Internet website
by placing a prominent link on its website home page:

(1) information including, but not limited to, persistence and completion, debt of graduates,
employment and wage information, and other relevant data for each institution subject to
paragraph (a), which shall be made available in a searchable database; and

(2) other information and links that are useful to students and parents who are in the process
of selecting a college or university. This information may include, but is not limited to, local
occupational profiles.

(c) The office shall provide a standard format and instructions for institutions supplying the
information required under paragraph (a).

(d) The office shall provide an electronic copy of the information provided on its Internet
website under paragraph (b) to each public and private high school in the state and each
workforce center operated by the Department of Employment and Economic Development.

The copy must contain information formatted by institution so that comparison can be easily
made between institutions. High schools are encouraged to make the information available to
students, including through individual counseling sessions with students. Workforce centers
shall make the information available to job seekers, those seeking career counseling, and others
as determined by the centers.

History:

1971 c8625s4;1975¢c27156;1975¢3905s5;1977 c38452;1977 c449516;1979c2385s1-4;1981 c
35955 15,16; 1983 c 258 s42; 1984 c654 art 4 s21; 1Sp1985 c11 5s30-42; 1987 c258 s12;1987 c401 s
17,18;1989¢c246s2; 1989 ¢293527;1991 c292 art 552;1991 c356 art 8 s 6-8; 1992 c513 art 1 5s13;
1993 ¢3405s1;1Sp1993 c2 art259,10; 1994 c532 art 2 s5; 1995 c212 art 3'522-26,59; 1997 c 183 art
254,5;1998 c38458;1999 c214 art 25 5;15p2001 c1 art2s10,11; 2002 c 220 art55s5; 2002 c 374
art 5s1;2003 c133 art2s9-13;2005 c107 art 2 s17-22; 2005 c 164 s 29; 1Sp2005 c 7 s 28; 2007 c 144
art 2.519,20; 2008 c 298 s 4; 2008 c 363 art4s7; 2009 c95art2s12-14;2009 c 101 art 25109; 2010 c
215art2s6;1Sp2011 c5art2s2;2013c99art2s7,29;art3s2; 2014 c149s14,15,74; 2015 c 69 art
2s46;art3s9;art5s1,2;2016 c189 art15s10;2017c89art2s7
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https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=220&year=2002&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=374&year=2002&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=374&year=2002&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=133&year=2003&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=107&year=2005&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=164&year=2005&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=7&year=2005&type=1
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=144&year=2007&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=144&year=2007&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=298&year=2008&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=363&year=2008&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=95&year=2009&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=101&year=2009&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=215&year=2010&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=215&year=2010&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=5&year=2011&type=1
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=99&year=2013&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=149&year=2014&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=69&year=2015&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=69&year=2015&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=189&year=2016&type=0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/?id=89&year=2017&type=0

Appendix B: Minnesota Agency Rules Governing State Grant Program

4830.0200 SCOPE.

Parts 4830.0200 to 4830.0700 govern state grants.

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.04; 136A.111; 136A.121; 136A.132; 136A.141; 136A.16; 136A.233;
136A.234; 136A.70

History: 8 SR 196; 8 SR 2335; 9 SR991; 15 SR 1780
Published Electronically: June 11, 2008
4830.0300 ELIGIBLE SCHOOLS.

Subpart 1. Annual list. Annually the commissioner shall approve a list of schools at which a state
grant may be used. Schools may be added to the list by the commissioner anytime during the
school year.

Subp. 2. Requirements. To be eligible a school must:

A. be located in Minnesota;

B. offer at least one program that:

(1) is vocational or academic in nature;

(2) leads to a certificate or degree;

(3) is at least eight weeks long; and

(4) involves at least 12 academic credits or 300 clock hours;

C. be:

(1) accredited by a federally recognized accrediting agency or association;

(2) approved to offer degrees or use terms in its name according to Minnesota Statutes, section
136A.65; or

(3) licensed by an appropriate state agency;

D. sign an institutional agreement with the commissioner; and
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https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/136A.65

E. have the necessary administrative computing capability to administer the program on
campus and electronically report student data records to the office.

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.388; 136A.01; 136A.04; 136A.111; 136A.121; 136A.132; 136A.141;
136A.16; 136A.233; 136A.234,; 136A.70

History: 8 SR 196; 8 SR 2335; 9 SR 991; 9 SR 2341; 15 SR 1780; 18 SR 1141; 20 SR 2284; 24 SR
518;34 SR 903; L2013 c99art2s29

Published Electronically: July 1, 2013
4830.0400 APPLICATION DATES AND STUDENT ELIGIBILITY.

Subpart 1. Date. Annually the office shall adopt by resolution a date after February 14, by which
all applications must be filed to receive an award.

Subp. 2. [Repealed, 15 SR 1780]

Subp. 2a. Out-of-state housing. A student's Minnesota residence is not lost if the student or
parent must live outside of Minnesota for purposes of postsecondary education, military
service, or missionary work, provided the student or parent continues to claim Minnesota as
the state of legal residence for income tax purposes.

Subp. 3. [Repealed, 15 SR 1780]

Subp. 4. Eligibility for initial grant. To be eligible for an initial grant a student must be an eligible
student, as defined in part 4830.0100, subpart 5, except item D, and:

A. demonstrate financial need;

B. if under 17 years old, hold a high school diploma or the equivalent;

C. pursuing a program or course of study that applies to a degree, diploma, or certificate;
D. must not have received a previous Minnesota state grant; and

E. is not more than 30 days in arrears for any child support payments owed to a public agency
responsible for child support enforcement or, if the student is more than 30 days in arrears, is
complying with a payment plan for arrearages.

Subp. 5. Renewal awards. A grant is renewable for a maximum of six semesters, nine quarters,
or the equivalent, but must not continue after the first of the following occurrences:
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A. the recipient has obtained a baccalaureate degree; or

B. the recipient has been enrolled on a full-time basis for eight semesters, 12 quarters, or the
equivalent, taking into account the exclusions specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.121,
subdivision 9.

To be eligible to renew a grant a student must apply each year and continue to meet the
requirements for an initial grant, except for subpart 4, item D. A student must have made
satisfactory academic progress as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.101, subdivision
10.

Subp. 5a. Child support arrearages. A grant is not renewable if the recipient is more than 30
days in arrears for any child support payment owed to a public agency responsible for child
support enforcement and not subject to a payment plan for arrearages or not in compliance
with a payment plan for the arrearages.

Subp. 6. [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]

Subp. 7. Minnesota correctional institution. "Minnesota correctional institution" means a
federal or state penal institution located in Minnesota in which students are eligible for grants
under this rule pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.121, subdivision 6.

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.01; 136A.04; 136A.111; 136A.134; 136A.16; 136A.234; 136A.70; 147.30

History: 8 SR 196; 8 SR 2335; 9 SR 991; 10 SR 2319; 13 SR 128; 15 SR 1780; 16 SR 1822; 18 SR
1141;1 1995 ¢ 212 art 3s59; 20 SR 2284

Published Electronically: June 11, 2008
4830.0600 AWARDS.

Subpart 1. [Repealed, 23 SR 594]
Subp. 1a. [Repealed, 23 SR 594]

Subp. 1b. [Repealed, 13 SR 128]

Subp. 1c. [Repealed, 13 SR 128]

Subp. 1d. [Repealed, 13 SR 128]
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Subp. 1e. Awards for fourth quarter or third semester. In calculating a state grant for the fourth
guarter or third semester within a fiscal year, the award shall be calculated as specified in
Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.121, subdivisions 5 and 9a.

Subp. 2. [Repealed, 28 SR 889]
Subp. 3. [Repealed, 10 SR 2319]

Stat Auth: MSs 14.388; 136A.01; 136A.04; 136A.111; 136A.134; 136A.16; 136A.234; 136A.70;
147.30

Hist: 8 SR 196; 8 SR 2335; 9 SR 991; 10 SR 2319; 13 SR 128; 15 SR 1780; 20 SR 2284, 23 SR 594;
28 SR 889

4830.0700 METHOD OF PAYMENT.

Subpart 1. Payments to schools. After a grant award is determined, the award amount shall be
sent by the director to the school chosen by the recipient or the school shall withdraw the
award amount from its state grant account. The school shall apply the award to the recipient’s
educational costs in the following order: tuition, fees, books, supplies, and other expenses. The
costs must be prorated for each term of the academic year. The school shall notify each
recipient that the award is ready for disbursement.

Subp. 2. Refunds. A grant is awarded for full-time attendance at a specified school for up to four
quarters or three semesters within the state fiscal year. If a recipient fails to enroll or reduces
enrollment, the school must refund the unused portion of the award. If the director determines
that a school has fraudulently handled grant money, the refund of the unused portion of the
award is immediately due, and the office may institute a civil action for recovery if necessary.
Refunds to the office are determined as follows:

A. calculate the percentage the state grant award represents of the student’s total financial
aid package for the applicable term, excluding funds received from federal Title IV programs,
United States Code, title 20, sections 1070-1099;

B. calculate the total tuition refund amount using the refund calculation required of schools
participating in federal Title IV programs;

C. subtract the federal aid programs’ refund amount from item B to determine the remaining
tuition refund amount; and
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D. multiply the percentage in item A by the amount calculated in item C to determine the
amount to be refunded to the state grant program.

Refunded money to the state grant program is available for awards to eligible students.

Subp. 3. School accounting requirements. Schools shall maintain separate accounts for grant
funds. Refunds to the state grant program must be accompanied with a list stating the social
security number, name, award type, amount of refund, term, and refund code for each student
included in the refund. The refund must be made to the program within 30 days from the end
of the academic term, or 30 days from the date the school is notified of a student’s withdrawal,
whichever is less. Schools must provide evidence, prepared according to generally accepted
accounting principles, that all awards have either been distributed or refunded to the program.

Subp. 4. Recovery of overpayments. An overpayment occurs when a grant recipient receives
more money than the recipient is eligible to receive under the award calculation. A grant
recipient shall reimburse the state grant program for overpayment regardless of the cause. The
overpayment amount is the difference between the amount received and the calculated award
eligibility. The reimbursement amount includes any costs or expenses incurred by the office in
collecting the debt, including reasonable attorney fees. The reimbursement is recoverable from
the recipient or the recipient’s estate. The office may institute a civil action for recovery if
necessary.

The recipient must not receive additional awards until the overpayment is recovered or the
recipient is making payments under an approved plan. Additional awards for which the
recipient is eligible may be used to recover an unreimbursed overpayment.

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.01; 136A.04; 136A.111; 136A.134; 136A.16; 136A.234; 136A.70; 147.30

Hist: 8 SR 196; 9 SR 991; 10 SR 2319; 13 SR 128; 15 SR 1780; 18 SR 2482; L 1995 c 212 art 3 5 59;
20 SR 2284

4830.1000 [Repealed, 10 SR 2417]
4830.1100 [Repealed, 10 SR 2417]
4830.1200 [Repealed, 10 SR 2417]
4830.1300 [Repealed, 10 SR 2417]

4830.1400 [Repealed, 10 SR 2417]
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4830.1500 [Repealed, 10 SR 2417]
4830.1550 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]
4830.1551 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]
4830.1552 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]
4830.1553 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]
4830.1554 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]
4830.1555 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]
4830.1560 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]
4830.1561 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]
4830.1562 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]
4830.1563 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]
4830.1564 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]

4830.1565 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141]
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Appendix C: Minnesota State Grant Program Delivery System

Decentralized Delivery System

¢ Schools receive student’s FAFSA data from federal processor.

¢ Schools screen applications for program eligibility requirements.
¢ Schools calculate awards and notify students.

¢ Schools report DDS records to Office of Higher Education (OHE) each month containing
FAFSA, award and payment data.

* The Agency edits for certain eligibility criteria and checks schools’ awards and payments for
accuracy, generating output reports.

e Upon the school’s request, the Agency advances funds to the school to cover awards
submitted in the latest DDS batch.

* Schools resolve errors on output reports prior to disbursement.
e Schools disburse funds to students and return excess funds to OHE at close of aid year.
e Communication is between student and school.

All participating schools are now on the Decentralized Delivery System for the Minnesota State
Grant program
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Appendix D: MN State Grant Program Student Eligibility
Questionnaire

MINNESOTA STATE GRANT PROGRAM STUDENT ELIGIBILITY QUESTIONNAIRE

AID YEAR:
Student Name: Social Security Number:
If you graduated from high school, please provide the name and If you graduated from high school, please provide the address at which you
address (city and state) of your high school and the year in which resided when you received your diploma:

you received your diploma:

If you did not graduate from high school, did you earn your G.E.D.? Please provide the address at which your parents resided when you
completed your Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA):

Yes __ No If “yes,” in which state?

If “yes,” date earned: / /

Please list all the states (or countries) in which you have resided, your dates of residence and your reason for residing (e. g., college, employment,
military service, place of birth, etc.) in each state. Please contact the college financial aid administrator if any of the following reasons for residing in
Minnesota apply to you, your spouse or your parent: active federal military service in Minnesota, you are a spouse or dependent of a veteran who is a
Minnesota resident, relocation to Minnesota from presidential disaster area within 12 months of disaster declaration, immediate relocation to
Minnesota as refugee from another country; active member of Minnesota National Guard residing in Minnesota; active member of the reserve
component of the U.S. Armed Forces who resides and whose duty station is located in Minnesota.

Name of State Dates of Residence Reason for Residing in State

Please list the names of all schools you have attended after high school and the dates of attendance for each school. Do NOT include college courses
taken during high school. If you withdrew from college during a term due to a major illness while under the care of a physician, or you withdrew for
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MINNESOTA STATE GRANT PROGRAM STUDENT ELIGIBILITY QUESTIONNAIRE
AID YEAR:

active military service after December 31, 2002, please make note of this below and provide the necessary documentation to your college financial aid
administrator. PLEASE LIST ALL COLLEGES ATTENDED, EVEN IF YOU DO NOT WISH TO TRANSFER CREDIT.

Name of College Dates of Enrollment Enrollment Level

If attending public college in Minnesota, are you receiving tuition reciprocity benefits from a neighboring state? Yes No

If you are currently residing outside of MN, are you enrolled in a distance education program offered by a MN college? Yes No

Student Signature Date Form Completed
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This Side for School Use Only

In addition to screening for eight full-time semesters of postsecondary education (or the equivalent) and Minnesota residency
on the reverse side of this form, the school is also responsible for verifying that the student meets the remainder of eligibility
requirements for the Minnesota State Grant program shown on this side of the form.

Student has not earned baccalaureate degree prior to the
start of the current academic year

Student is not in default on a federal student loan

Student is enrolled in an undergraduate program in course
work leading to a diploma, certificate or degree

Student is a high school graduate, GED recipient or will
be 17 by the end of the academic year

Student is not receiving Tuition Reciprocity benefits from
another state

(applies only to MN public colleges)

Student meets federal and state requirements for
satisfactory academic progress

Student will be enrolled for 3 or more credits (or 6 clock
hours per week at clock hour school)

Student does not owe the Office of Higher Education for
a State Grant overpayment

Student is not in default on a state SELF loan

Student is not more than 30 days past due on a child
support obligation

Student’s FAFSA was received by federal processor
within 30 days of term start date

* The Office of Higher Education assists schools in screening for these variables by reporting data on the State Grant On-Line Hold Report.

Minnesota State Grant Program
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Appendix E: State Grant Online Hold Report

Minnesota State Grant Program
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Appendix F: State Grant Student Record Search Results

State Grant Student Record Search Results

1112a2021

Hold Data

Code Begin Date End Date

cs wl2021

Aid Year School Name Units Award Payment
2018-2019 PINE TECHNICAL COLLEGE 12 698 698
207-2018 PINE TECHNICAL COLLEGE e 32 209 09
27-2018 HENNEPIN TECHNICAL COLLEGE 1% 6.4 430 430
2016-2017 PINE TECHNICAL COLLEGE 20 895 295
2015-2016 HENNEPIN TECHNICAL COLLEGE 1.z 376 TG
2014-2015 HENNEPIN TECHNICAL COLLEGE 1.z 3] 316
2013-2014 HEMNEPIN TECHNICAL COLLEGE 5.6 109 109
2012-2013 HENNEPIN TECHNICAL COLLEGE ] o 0
2011-2012 HENNEPIN TECHNICAL COLLEGE ] o 0

I021-2022

Units

Schoal Paid

Summer |

Fall

Winter

Spring

Summer [1

Credits | Paid

Credits | Paid

Credits | Paid

Credits ] Faid

Credits | Paid

Note

Added by

Back  Log Out
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Appendix G: Institutional Participation Agreement

M MINNesOTA

Institutional Participation Agreement
Minnesota State Aid Programs, excluding SELF Loan Program

WHEREAS, The Minnesota Office of Higher Education (hereinafter “the Agency”) has been
designated as the agency to administer the following state aid programs: Minnesota State Grant,
Minnesota Indian Scholarship, State Work Study, Postsecondary Child Care Grant, Safety Officer’s
Survivor Grant, Student Teacher Grants, Grants for Students with Intellectual and Developmental
Disabilities and Fostering Independence Higher Education Grant (hereinafter “Programs”); and

WHEREAS, Program recipients must attend an eligible institution pursuant to Minnesota Statutes

Eﬂﬁ.ﬁ..mlISuhdMSiunﬂf 1364121 Subdivision 13] and Agency Rules 4830.0300, Subpart 2, unless

Minnesota Statutes and/or Agency Rules governing Programs dictate otherwise; and

WHEREAS,

(hereinafter “Institution™) desires to be recognized as an eligible institution for one or more of the
above mentioned Programs administered by the Agency; and

WHEREAS, the Agency, upon review of the Institution’s application for eligibility as evidenced by
the completion of Section XV of this Agreement and by providing the required signatures in this section,
the Agency does recognize the Institution as an eligible institution pursuant to Minnesota Statutes
136A.101, Subdivision 4, and Agency Rules 4830.0300, Subpart 2, but does not recognize such eligibility
with respect to Programs where Minnesota Statutes and/or Agency Rules governing the Programs
dictate otherwise;

THEREFORE, the parties agree to the following terms and conditions:

l. Designation of Institutional Employes(s)

The Institution must designate an employee(s) as the Institutional Representative(s) to perform or
supervise all financial aid and accounting activities.

L. Limitation of Institutional Participation

An Institution is eligible to participate in the Programs subject to program eligibility limitations
specified in Minnesota Statutes and Agency Rules governing the Programs.

. Erogram Administration

Both parties to this agreement agree to administer the Programs in accordance with all Federal

and Minnesota State Statutes and Agency Rules governing the Programs and the Program policies
and procedures contained in the Agency’'s Minnesota Financial Aid Manual.

This agreement is subject to all subsequent changes in both Federal and Minnesota State Statutes
and Agency Rules governing the Programs, and Program policies and procedures contained in the
Agency’s Minnesotg Financiol Aid Manuai.

Both parties acknowledge that the pertinent Program chapters of the Agency's Minnesotg
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Financial Aid Manual will be regularly updated and that written directives concerning Program
policies and procedures issued by the Agency in the interim will have the full force and effect of
the Agency’s Minnesota Fingncial Aid Manual, until they are so incorporated.

Terms of the Asreement
This Agreement shall be effective July 1, 2005, or upon final execution, whichewver is later, and

shall remain in force until modified by mutual consent by both parties or terminated as hereafter
provided.

Modification or Termination of A

The Agreement may be modified at any time upon mutual agreement of both the Agency and the
Institution.

The Agency or the Institution may terminate this Agreement at any time with or without cause
upon thirty (30) days written advance notice to the other party. Termination shall be effective on

the termination date given in the written notice. All requirements of the agreement related to
monies received shall remain in effect until resolved.

Assignment

The Institution shall neither assign nor transfer any rights or obligations under this Agreement
without the prior written consent of the Agency.

Amendments

Any amendments to this Agreement shall be in writing.

Audits
"m
The books, records, documents, and accounting procedures, and practices of an outside party, if

applicable and relevant to this Agreement, shall be subject to examination by the Agency and the
Legislative auditors.

Affirmative Action

When applicable, the Institution must certify that it has received a certificate of compliance from
the Commission of Human Rights pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Saction 363A.36.

Workers' Compensation

Im accordance with the provisions of Minnesota Statutes 176182 the Agency affirms that the
Institution has provided acceptable evidence of compliance with the workers' compensation
insurance coverage requirement of Minnesota Statutes 1756.181 Subdivision 2.

Antitrust

Minnesota State Grant Program
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The Institution hereby assigns to the State of Minnesota any and all claims for overcharges as to
goods and/or services provided in connection with this Agreement resulting from antitrust
violations, which arise under the antitrust laws of the United States and the antitrust laws of the
State of Minnesota.

Vioter registration

If the Institution is a state agency or @ community based public agency or a non-profit
cornporation, it shall provide non-partisan voter registration services and assistance, using forms
provided by the state, to employees of the institution and the public as required by Linnesota
Statutes Section 201 162

<2xual Hargssment and Violence Policy

All eligible institutions, as defined in Minnesota Statutes 1364101, Subdivision 4, must adopt a
Sexual Harassment and Violence Policy, as outlined in Minnesota Statufes 13548 15

Data Practices

The Institution, whether public or private, and the Agency, will maintain and handle all
confidential, private and non-public data pursuant to the Minnesota Data Practices ACT [(“Act™)
[Minm, Stat, Chapter 13) in the administration of the Programs. The Institution and the Agency
agree that each will be responsible for its own acts or omissions relative to compliance with the
Act, and the results of such acts or omissions, to the extent authorized by law and shall not be
responsible for the acts of the other party and the results thereof.

Minnesota State Grant Program
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Appendix H: Guidelines for Verifying State Grant Eligibility

Requirements

Eligibility

Requirement

Data Triggering Eligibility Verification*

and Suggested Documentation

Undergraduate Program

No Baccalaureate Degree

FAFSA degree and grade level questions, school’s records. Transcripts or
other academic records must prove student does not have a baccalaureate
degree and is enrolled in an undergraduate program.

Minnesota Residency

(Schools using State Grant online
student eligibility questionnaire can
rely on those responses absent missing
or conflicting information. See
Appendix Z for further details.)

FAFSA parent and student state of legal residence, date of legal residence,
high school state, address state; admissions records may possibly hold
state of high school graduation or GED and whether student is paying
resident tuition other than through a reciprocity agreement; institutional
form should be used to obtain data not on FAFSA (state of GED, whether
family resided in Minnesota during high school attendance, date student
last moved to Minnesota, when student started postsecondary education in
Minnesota, purpose for residing in Minnesota). Documentation must
verify that student graduated from a Minnesota high school while residing
in Minnesota or student earned a GED in Minnesota after living here 12
months or dependent students' parents resided in Minnesota when FAFSA
was completed or student lived in Minnesota 12 months without attending
college on a half-time basis or more. Twelve month requirement is waived
for certain cases such as military service, natural disasters, refugee status,
etc. (see ‘Resident Student’ definition in Common Definitions chapter).

Minnesota Residency Under MN
Dream Act

Documentation collected by OHE. Documentation must prove student
attending MN high school for at least three years, graduated from a MN
high school or earned a MN GED, and complied with Selective Service
registration requirements (if male). Undocumented students who do not
meet MN Dream Act criteria can be considered a MN resident if they
were granted Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) status
prior to meeting one of the state residency criteria above.

Not Receiving Tuition Reciprocity
Benefits from Another State

Admissions, business office and registration records.

Limit on Postsecondary Education

(Schools using State Grant online
student eligibility questionnaire can
use those responses absent missing or
conflicting information. See Appendix
Z for further details.)

FAFSA year in college, degree/certificate and bachelor’s degree questions
along with date of birth. OHE eligibility questionnaire or institutional
form should ask student to list all colleges attended and dates of
enroliment. Academic transcripts must be reviewed to determine units of
postsecondary education attended if student indicates previous enroliment
of three or more years. (Refer to State Grant manual for instructions on
reviewing transcripts.) The Agency’s State Grant On-Line Hold Report
(Appendix 3) shows units of State Grant paid to the student in prior years.
Schools can also access this data using the State Grant Web Access
Screen (Appendix 4). Federal NSLDS system also shows previous
attendance if student received federal financial aid.
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Eligibility

Requirement

Data Triggering Eligibility Verification*

and Suggested Documentation

17 Years Old or High School
Diploma/GED

(High school students taking college
courses are not eligible for State
Grant)

FAFSA date of birth and high school graduation/GED responses are
sufficient unless there is conflicting information. Documentation must
prove student will be 17 or older at the time of disbursement or have high
school diploma/GED. Suggested documentation would be high school
diploma or GED certificate or birth certificate. (See information regarding
alternate GED tests under ‘High School Diploma, GED or 17 Years of
Age’ in this chapter.)

Enrolled 3 Credits or More in
Program Leading to Degree,
Diploma or Certificate

School's registration records. School must verify coursework is applicable
towards degree, diploma or certificate. Pell Grant eligible credit
equivalencies should be counted towards enrollment status.

Satisfactory Academic Progress

State adopts federal satisfactory academic progress policy used for Title
IV financial aid programs.

State Grant Overpayment

The Agency stores data on its database about students who owe a State
Grant overpayment and controls this eligibility criteria by informing
schools about students on hold. Students must repay the Agency in full or
enter into a repayment plan. School can also access data using State Grant
Web Access Screen (Appendix 4) or State Grant On-Line Hold Report
(Appendix 3).

Federal Loan Default

CPS interface with federal loan default data base (NSLDS). Verification
documentation the same as for Title IV programs. Schools not
participating in federal financial aid programs must rely on the student’s
SAR.

SELF Loan Default

The Agency stores this data on its database and controls this eligibility
criteria by informing schools about students on hold. Student must repay
loan in full or enter into a repayment plan. School can also access data
using State Grant Web Access Screen (Appendix 4) or State Grant On-
Line Hold Report (Appendix 3).

Child Support Arrears

The Agency loads data from Human Services Department onto its
database and controls this eligibility requirement by informing schools
about students on hold. School can also access data using State Grant
Web Access Screen (Appendix 4) or State Grant On-Line Hold Report
(Appendix 3). DHS must send electronic notification to the Agency that
student has repaid past due amount or entered into repayment plan.
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Appendix I: MN State Grant Program Transcript Review Spreadsheet
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Postsecondary Education Units Calculator for Progressive Clock Hour Transcripts
(Enter data in orange cells)

Was course work taken after July 1, 19927 E
Total Hours in Student's Period of Enrollment
Total Weeks in Student's Period of Enrollment

Average Clock Hours per Week
Enroliment Level (in credits)
Units for Enrollment Level

Total Units for Period of Enrollment

JULLHLE

Clear This Sheet

oy
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Appendix J: 2021-2022 State Grant Shared Responsibility Term Award
Calculation Official Parameters

The 2021-2022 State Grant term award calculation is shown below. When prorating/multiplying, results should be
rounded up or down to the nearest dollar. (Round up if .50 or higher; down if .49 or lower.) Changes from 2020-

2021 shown in red.

+ Average tuition and fees
for term

(The average tuition and fees
for the term is a uniform
amount used for all students
at an institution and consists
of tuition and mandatory fees
charged to all full-time
students)

Use the lesser of the school’s average tuition and fees for 15 credits or the full-time tuition and fee
maximum for the term. The four-year full-time tuition and maximum is $7,684 for a semester and $5,123 for
a quarter. The two-year full-time tuition and fee maximum is $3,144 for a semester and $2,096 for a
quarter. If the student is enrolled for fewer than 15 credits per term, both the average full-time tuition and
fees and the applicable full-time tuition and fee maximum for the term are prorated on a per credit basis for
the student’s enroliment level (e.g., by .733 or 11/15ths for a student enrolled for 11 credits) and the lesser
of the two is used in the award calculation. The full-time average tuition and fees or the full-time tuition and
fee maximum are NOT increased if the student enrolls for more than 15 credits. The tuition and fee
maximum used for each student is based on the student’s program of study. If the student is enrolled in a
four-year degree program, the four-year college tuition and fee maximum is used. If the student is enrolled
in a two-year or less program/degree, then the two-year college tuition and fee maximum is used. If the
student is paid a State Grant at multiple schools for the same term, the student cannot be paid for more
than a total of 15 credits per term. Students enrolled for fewer than three credits per term are not eligible
for State Grants. OHE has the authority to increase the maximums during the second year of the biennium
(aid year 2022-2023) to use up any projected surplus of funds.

+ Living and Misc Expense
Allowance (LME) for Term

The 9-month annual full-time LME of $10,530 is prorated for the term length ($5,265 for a semester; $3,510
for a quarter) and then prorated again if the enrollment level is less than 15 credits (e.g., by .733 or 11/15ths
if the student is enrolled for 11 credits). The LME is NOT increased if the student is enrolled for more than 15
credits. If a student is paid a State Grant at multiple schools for the same term, the total amount of LME
used in all the award calculations cannot exceed the LME amount for 15 credits. OHE has the authority to
increase the LME during the second year of the biennium (aid year 2022-2023) to use up any projected
surplus of funds.

= State Grant Budget for
Term

Derived by adding the term tuition and fees to the term LME.

- Student Share 50%

50 percent of the State Grant Budget for Term OHE has authority to adjust this percentage during the year
to address funding shortfalls.

- Parent Contribution
for Term

Subtract only for dependent students. Prorate 100 percent of the 9-month annual Federal Methodology
need analysis Parent Contribution by term length (.50 for semester system; .3333 percent for quarter
system). Multiply the term amount by .79. Do NOT prorate for less than full-time enroliment. Subtract the
result within the award calculation. OHE has the authority to place a percentage surcharge on the PC due to
projected funding shortfalls.

- Student Contribution/
EFC for Term

Subtract only for independent students. Prorate 100 percent of the 9-month annual Federal Methodology
need analysis Expected Family Contribution (EFC) by term length (.50 for semester system; .3333 percent for
quarter system). Multiply the term amount by .71 for independent students with dependents other than a
spouse or by .35 for independent students without dependents other than a spouse. Do NOT prorate for less
than full-time enrollment. OHE has the authority to place a percentage surcharge on the EFC due to
projected funding shortfalls.
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Award

(based on the 2021-2022 Pell Grant
Payment Schedule)

Subtract Federal Pell Grant award for term based on student’s enroliment level used for the State Grant
program. Prorate annual Pell Grant award for student’s enrollment level by term length (50 percent for
Federal Pell Grant Term semester system; .3333 percent for quarter system). Pell Grant enrollment levels are: 12+ credits = full-time,
9-11 credits 3/4-time; 6-8 credits 1/2-time; 1-5 credits less than half-time.

State Grant Term Award If less than the minimum award of $50 per semester or $33 per quarter, set to
zero.

Appendix K: Sample 2021-2022 State Grant Term Calculations
Example 1: State Grant award for dependent student enrolled in 4-year degree program taking

17 credits at 4-year state university on semester system. Student has 9-month annual Federal
Methodology Parent Contribution of $1,500 and 9-Month Federal Methodology EFC of $2,000.

Minnesota State Grant Program 28




Annual Standard Resident Tuition for 30 semester credits = $12,000

Full-Time (15 credits) semester tuition = $6,000 (must limit tuition to 15 credits)

Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $1000

Full-Time (15 credits) semester fees = $500 (must limit fees to 15 credits)

Tuition and Fees for Semester = $6,500

Annual Tuition and Fee Maximum for 4-Year College = $15,368

Tuition and Fee Maximum for Full-Time Semester = $15,368 X .50 = $7,684

(maximum not increased for students taking more than 15 credits)

Tuition used in term award calculation = $6,000.00

Fees used in term award calculation =$ 500.00
$6,500.00

LME used in award calculation + $5,265.00

State Grant Budget for Term: =$11,765.00
Minus 50% Student Share - $5,883.00
Minus FM Parent Contribution - $ 593.00
Minus Full-Time Pell Grant - $2,273.00
State Grant Award for Term = $3,018.00

($10,530.00 X .50 = $5,265.00)
(15 credit LME not increased for student

taking more than 15 credits)

($11,765 X .50 = $5,883.00)

($1,500 X .50 = $750 X .79 = $593)
($4,545.00 X .50 = $2,273)

(over minimum semester award of $50)

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot include fees for the purchase

of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of required equipment or supplies if the school retains

ownership and the fees are required. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can be

waived for certain students, even if required for other students.
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Example 2 State Grant award for married independent student without dependents
enrolled in 2-year degree program taking 13 credits at 2-year public college with tuition banding
on semester system. Student has 9-month annual Federal EFC of $2,145.

Tuition $200.00 per credit for student taking 1 - 11 credits

Tuition $2,400 per semester for student taking 12 - 18 credits

Annual Full-Time Tuition for 30 Semester Credits = $2,400 X 2 = $4,800

Tuition for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $2,400

Tuition for 13 Credit Semester = $2,400 X 13/15ths or 86.7% = $2,080.80 = $2,081
Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $600
Full-Time (15 credits) semester fees = $300

Fees for 13 credit semester = $300 X 13/15ths or 86.7% = $260.10 = $260

Tuition and Fees for 13 Credit Semester = $2,341

Annual Full-Time (30 semester credits) Tuition and Fee Maximum for 2-Year College = $6,287
Maximum for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $6,287 X .50 = $3,144
Maximum for 13 Credit Semester = $3,144 X 13/15ths or 86.7% = $2,725.00

Tuition used in term award calculation = $2,081
Fees used in term award calculation = $ 260
$2,341
LME used in award calculation +$4,565.00 (50% of 13/15 of 15 credit LME of $10,530)

($10,530 X .50 = $5,265.00)
($5,265 X .867 = $4,565.00)

State Grant Budget for Term: $6,906.00
Minus 50% Student Share - $3,453 ($6,906 X .50 = $3,011)
$ 375 ($2,145 X .50 =$1,073) ($1,073 X .35 = $375)

Minus FM Student Contribution

Minus Full-Time Pell Grant - $2,173 (50% of $4,345)
$ 905 - 15 credits, $446 at 13 credits

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot include fees for the purchase
of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of required equipment or supplies if the school retains
ownership and the fees are required. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can be
waived for certain students, even if required for other students.

State Grant Award for Term
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Example 3. State Grant award for dependent student enrolled in 4-year degree program
taking 18 credits at private 4-year college on semester system. Student has 9-month annual
Federal Methodology Parent Contribution of $1,755 and 9-Month Federal EFC of $2,235.

Annual Tuition $1,133.33 per credit X 30 credits = $34,000
Tuition for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $34,000 X .50 = $17,000

Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $1,000

Full-Time (15 credits) semester fees = $500

Annual Full-Time Tuition and Fee Maximum = $15,368
Maximum for Full-Time Semester = $15,368 X .50 = $7,684

(Full-time private 4-year tuition maximum of $15,368 for 15 credits not increased for students taking more than 15
credits)

Tuition used in term award calculation = $-

Fees used in term award calculation = $--

$ 7,684 (tuition and fee maximum)

LME used in award calculation + $5,265 ($10,530 X .50 = $5,265)
(15 credit LME not increased for student

taking more than 15 credits)

$12,949

$6,475 ($12,949 X .50 = $6,475)

$ 693 ($1,755 X .50 =$878 X .79 = $693)
Minus Full-Time Pell Grant - $2,123 ($4,245 X 50%)

State Grant Budget for Term:
Minus 50% Student Share

Minus FM Parent Contribution

$3,659 (over minimum semester award of $50)

State Grant Award for Term

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot include fees for the purchase
of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of required equipment or supplies if the school retains
ownership and the fees are required. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can be
waived for certain students, even if required for other students.
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Example 4: State Grant award for single independent student with dependents enrolled in
4-year degree program taking 12 credits at private 4-year college on semester system. Student
has 9-month annual Federal Methodology EFC of $2,241.

Tuition $1,133.33 per credit X 30 credits = $34,000
Tuition for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $34,000 X .50 = $17,000
Tuition for 12 Credit Semester = $17,000 X 12/15ths or 80% = $13,600

Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $2000
Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $1000
Fees for 12 Credit Semester = $300 X 12/15ths or 80% = $800

Annual Full-Time Tuition and Fee Maximum = $15,368
Maximum for Full-Time (15 Credits) Semester = $15,368 X .50 = $7,684
Maximum for 12 Credits Semester = $7,684 X 12/15ths or 80% = $6,147.00

Tuition used in term award calculation = $-

Fees used in term award calculation = $--

$6,147.00 (tuition and fee maximum)

LME used in award calculation + $4,212 ($10,530 X .50 = $5,265)
($5,265 X .80 (12/15) = $3,396)
State Grant Budget for Term: =$10,359
Minus 50% Student Share -$5,180($10,359 X .50 = $5,180)
Minus FM Student Contribution -$ 796 ($2,241 X .50 =$1,121) ($1,121 X .71 = $769)

(prorated by state)

Minus Full-Time Pell Grant - $2123 ($4,245 X .50)

State Grant Award for Term =  $2,263 (over semester minimum award of $50)

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot include fees for the purchase
of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of required equipment or supplies if the school retains
ownership and the fees are charged to all students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include
fees that can be waived for certain students, even if required for other students.
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Example 5: State Grant award for dependent student enrolled in 2-year degree program
taking 11 credits at private 2-year college with tuition banding on semester system. Student has
9-month annual FM Parent Contribution of $2,829 and 9-Month Federal EFC of $3,414.

Tuition $680 per credit for student taking 1 - 11 credits

Tuition $8160 band for students taking 12 - 18 credits = $8,160

Annual Full-Time (30 semester credits) Tuition = $16,320

Full-Time (15 Credits) Semester Tuition = $8,160

Tuition for 11 Credit Semester = $8,160 X 11/15ths or 73.3% = $5,981.28 = $5,981

Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $600
Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $500 X .50 = $250
Fees for 11 Credit Semester = $250 X 11/15ths or 73.3% = $183.25 = $183

Tuition and Fees for 11 Credit Semester = $6,164
2-Year Annual Tuition and Fee Maximum = $6287
Maximum for Full-Time (15 Credits) Semester = $6,287 X 50% = $3,144

Maximum for 11 Credit Semester = $3,144 X 11/15ths or 73.3% = $2,305

Tuition used in term award calculation = $--oe-

Fees used in term award calculation = $--

$3,144 (tuition and fee maximum)
LME used in award calculation +  $3,861 (50% of 11/15 of 15 credit LME of $10,530)
($10,530 X .50 = $5,265)
($5,265 X .733 = $3,861)

State Grant Budget for Term: = $6,166
Minus 50% Student Share - $3,083 ($6,166 X .50 = $3,083)
Minus FM Parent Contribution - $1,117 ($2,829 X .50 = $1,415 X .79 = $1,117)

Minus 3/4-Time Pell Grant $ 1,142 ($3045 X .50 X .75= $1,142)

State Grant Award for Term $ 824 (over semester minimum award of $50)

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot include fees for the purchase
of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of required equipment or supplies if the school retains
ownership and the fees are charged to all students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include
fees that can be waived for certain students, even if required for other students.
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Example 6: State Grant award for single independent student without dependents enrolled
in 2-year degree program taking 7 credits at private 2-year vocational college on quarter
system. Student has 9-month annual Federal Methodology EFC of $7,000.

$250 per credit X 45 quarter credits = $11,250
Tuition for Full-Time (15 Credits) Quarter = $3,750
Tuition for 7 Credit Quarter = $3,750 X 7/15ths or 46.7% = $1,751.25 = $1,751

Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 45 quarter credits = $300
Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Quarter = $100
Fees for 7 Credit Quarter = $100 X 7/15ths or 46.7% = $46.70 = $47

Tuition and Fees for 7 Credit Quarter = $1,798
Annual Tuition and Fee Maximum: $6,287
Maximum for Full-Time (15 Credits) Quarter = $6,287 X .3333% = $2,096

Maximum for 7 Credit Quarter = $2,096 X .467 (7/15ths) = $979

Tuition used in term award calculation = $—

Fees used in term award calculation = $-

$ 979 (tuition and fee maximum)

LME used in award calculation + $1,639 ($10,530 X .3333 = $3,510)
($3,510 X .467 (7/15) = $1,639)
(15 credit LME prorated for student taking

fewer than 15 credits)

State Grant Budget for Term: = $2,618

Minus 50% Student Share - $1,309 ($2,618 X .50 = $1,309)

Minus FM Student Contribution - $817 ($7,000 X .3333 = $2,333) ($2,333 X .35 = $817)
(prorated by state)

Minus Half-Time Pell Grant - 3 0

State Grant Award for Term =% 492 (under $33 minimum award for quarter)

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot include fees for the purchase
of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of required equipment or supplies if the school retains
ownership and the fees are charged to all students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include
fees that can be waived for certain students, even if required for other students.
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Exam P le 7: state Grant awards for dependent student taking 10 credits at 2-year public
college and 7 credits at a private 4-year college both on semester system for the same term.
Award calculated and disbursed separately at both schools. Public college was first to report
award to OHE for 10 credits, so private 4-year college is limited to using 5 credits of actual
tuition and fees, tuition and fee maximum and LME. Student has 9-month annual Federal
Methodology Parent Contribution of $0 and 9-Month Federal Methodology EFC of $0.

Annual Full-Time Tuition at Public College: $170 per credit X 30 Semester Credits = $5,100
Tuition for Full-Time (15 Credits) Semester = $5,100 X .50 = $2,550
Tuition for 10 Credit Semester = $2,550 X 10/15ths or 66.7% = $1,701

Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $600
Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $600 X .50 = $300
Fees for 10 Credit Semester = $300 X 10/15ths or 66.7% = $200

Tuition and Fee Maximum for 2-Year College = $6,287 X .50 = $3,144
$3,144 X 10/15ths or .667 = $2,096
Award Calculation at Public College for 10 Credits

Tuition used in term award calc: $1,701
Fees used in term award calculation: $ 200

$1,901 (actual tuition and fees below cap)

LME used in award calculation +  $3,510 ($10530 X .50 = $5,265)
($5,265 X .667 = $3,510)
(LME would be limited to 8 credits if

private college reported first)

State Grant Budget for Term: =  $5411

Minus 50% Student Share - $2,706 ($5,411 X .50 = $2,705)

Minus FM Parent Contribution - 3% 0

Minus 3/4-Time Pell Grant - $2,436 ($6,495 X .50 X.75= $2,436)

State Grant Award for Term = $ 271 (over minimum semester award of $50)

at 2-Year Public College

Minnesota State Grant Program
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Example 7 (continued)

Annual Full-Time Tuition at Private College: $1,133.33 per credit X 30 credits = $34,000
Full-Time Tuition for Semester = $34,000 X .50 = $17,000
Tuition for Remaining 5 Credits of Eligibility = $17,000 X 5/15ths or 33.3% = $5,661

Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $600
Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $600 X .50 = $300
Fees for 5 Credits of Remaining Eligibility = $300 X 5/15ths or 33.3% = $100

Annual Tuition and Fee Maximum for 4-Year College = $15,368
Maximum for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $15,368 X 50% = $7,684

Maximum for Remaining 5 Credits of Eligibility = $7,684 X .333 (5/15ths) = $2,561

Award Calculation at Private 4-Year College for 5 Credits

Tuition and fees used: $2,561 (tuition and fee maximum for 5 credits)
LME used in award calculation + $1,755 ($10,530 X .50 = $5,265)

($5,265 X .333 (5/15ths) = $1,755)

(10 credits LME used at public college
leaving 5 remaining credits of LME)

State Grant Budget for Term = $4,316

Minus 50% Student Share - $2,158 ($4,316 X .50 = $2,158)

Minus Federal Parent Contribution - $ 0

Minus Less Than Half-Time Pell Grant - $ 812 ($6245 X .50 X.25=$812)

State Grant Award for Term =  $1,346 (over minimum semester award of $50)

at Private 4-Year College

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot include fees for the purchase
of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of required equipment or supplies if the school retains
ownership and the fees are charged to all students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include
fees that can be waived for certain students, even if required for other students.
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Example 8: State Grant award for dependent student enrolled in 4-year degree program
taking 10 credits at a 4-year private college and 10 credits at a 2-year public college both on
semester system. Credits and costs are combined and the award is calculated and disbursed at
the 4-year private college. In this case, average tuition and mandatory fees for 15 credits
combined from both schools are compared to the 4-year private college tuition and fee
maximum for the student’s combined credits. Student has 9-month annual State Parent
Contribution of $0 and 9-Month Federal EFC of $0.

Annual Full-Time Average Tuition at Private College: $1,133.33 per credit X 30 credits = $34,000
Full-Time Tuition for Semester = $34,000 X .50 = $17,000

Tuition for 10 Credits = $17,000 X 10/15ths or 66.7% = $11,339

Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $600

Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $600 X .50 = $300

Fees for 10 Credits = $300 X 10/15ths or 66.7% = $200

Annual Full-Time Average Tuition at 2-Year Public College: $170 per credit X 30 credits = $5,100
Full-Time Tuition for Semester = $5,100 X .50 = $2,550

Tuition for 5 Remaining Credits of Eligibility = $2,550 X 5/15ths or 33.3% = $849

Annual mandatory fees charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $600

Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $600 X .50 = $300

Fees for 5 Credits of Remaining Eligibility = $300 X 5/15ths or 33.3% = $100

10 Credits Tuition and Fees at Private 4-Year College =$11,539
5 Credits Tuition and Fees at Public 2-Year College =$___ 949
$12,488
Private Tuition and Fee Maximum for 4-Year College for 20 Credits: $15,368 X .50 = $7,684
(15 Credit maximum not increased for students taking more than 15 credits)

$12,488 Exceeds Tuition and Fee Maximum of $7,684500, so $6,500 will be used

Award Calculation at Private 4-Year College for Combined Credits

Tuition and fees used: $ 7,684
LME used in award calculation + $ 5,265 ($10,530 X .50 = $5,265)
(LME limited to 15 credits per term)
State Grant Budget for Term: = $12,949
Minus 50% Student Share - $ 6,475 ($12,949 X .50 = $6,475)
Minus State Parent Contribution - $ 0
Minus Full-Time Pell Grant - $ 3,248 ($6,495 X .50 = $3,248)
State Grant Award for Term = $ 3,227 (over minimum semester award of $50)

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot include fees for the purchase
of required kits, equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of required equipment or supplies if the school retains
ownership and the fees are charged to all students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include
fees that can be waived for certain students, even if required for other students.
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Example O: State Grant award for single independent student with no dependents
attending progressive clock hour school for 30+ hours per week. School defines full-time
academic year as 1200 clock hours and divides academic year into 2 payment periods, like
semesters. Student has 9-month annual Federal Methodology EFC of $1,505.

Tuition: $13,000 for 1550 hour cosmetology program = $8.39 per hour
Annual Tuition for Full-Time 1200 Hour Academic Year = 1,200 X $8.39 = $10,068
Tuition for Full-Time 600 Hour Payment Period/Semester = $10,068 X .50 = $5,034

Mandatory fees* charged to all students for 1550 hour cosmetology program = $200 = $.13 hr
Fees for Full-Time 1200 hour academic year = 1,200 X $.13 = $156
Fees for Full-Time 600 Hour Payment Period/Semester = $156 X .50 = $78

Annual Full-Time Tuition and Fee Maximum for 2-Year College = $6,287
Maximum for Full-Time 600 Hour Payment Period = $6,287 X .50 = $3,144

Tuition used in term award calculation = $----m--

Fees used in term award calculation = | —

$3,144 (private tuition and fee maximum)

LME used in award calculation + $5,265 ($10,530 X .50 = $5,265)

State Grant Budget for Period: = $8,409

Minus 50% Student Share - $4,204 ($8,409 X .50 = $4,204)

Minus FM EFC - $ 263 ($1,505 X .50 = $753) ($753 X .35 =

377) (prorated by state)

Minus Full-Time Pell Grant - $2,473 (50% of $4,945)

State Grant Award for Term =  $1,469 (over minimum semester award of $50)

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot include fees for the purchase

of required kits, equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of required equipment or supplies if the school retains
ownership and the fees are charged to all students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include
fees that can be waived for certain students, even if required for other students.
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Example 10: state Grant award for single independent student with dependents attending
progressive clock hour school for 22 hours per week (Level 11). School defines full-time
academic year as 1200 clock hours and divides academic year into 2 payment periods, like
semesters. Student has a 9-month Federal Methodology EFC of $1,505.

Tuition $5,000 for 350 hour manicurist program = $14.29 per hour

Annual Full-Time Tuition for 1200 Hour Academic Year = 1,200 X $14.29 = $17,148
Tuition for Full-Time 600 Hour Payment Period = $17,148 X .50 = $8,574

Tuition for Level 11 440 Hour Payment Period = $8,574 X 11/15ths or 73.3% = $6,285

Mandatory fees* charged to all students for 350 hour manicurist program = $100 = $.29 hour
Fees for Full-Time 1200 hour academic year = 1,200 X $.29 = $348

Fees for Full-Time 600 Hour Payment Period = $348 X .50 = $174

Fees for Level 11 440 Hour Payment Period = $174 X 11/15ths or 73.3% = $127.50 = $128

Annual Full-Time Tuition and Fee Maximum for 2-Year College = $6,287
Maximum for Full-Time 600 Hour Payment Period = $6,287 X .50 = $3,144
Maximum for Level 11 440 Hours Payment Period = $3,144 X 11/15ths or 73.3% = $2,305

Tuition used in term award calculation = R

Fees used in term award calculation = | —

$2,305 (tuition and fee maximum Level 11)

LME used in award calculation +  $3,861 ($10,530 Level 15 LME X .50 = $5,265)
($5,265 X 11/15 (.733) = $3,861)
(LME for Level 11 period)

State Grant Budget for Period: =  $6,166

Minus 50% Student Share - $3,083 ($6,166 X .50 = $3,083)

Minus FM EFC - $ 534 ($1,505 X .50 = $753) ($753 X .86 = $534)
(prorated by state)

Minus 3/4-Time Pell Grant - $1,854 ($4,945 Pell Award * .50 * .75 = $1,854)
State Grant Award for Level 11 = $ 695 (over minimum semester award of $50)

Pay Period of 440 hours

Prorated State Grant Award for
350 remaining hours within 440 hour
pay period $695 X 350/440 (.80)

$ 552

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot include fees for the purchase
of required kits, equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of required equipment or supplies if the school retains
ownership and the fees are charged to all students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include
fees that can be waived for certain students, even if required for other students.
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Appendix L: DDS Processing Cycle
DDS Processing Cycle

1. The DDS institution submits a batch of DDS
records to the Agency via SG web access upload
or automated SFTP process.

2. School also requests funds using SG web access
screen.

The Office of Higher Education provides an initial
funds advance for first term payments no sooner than
14 days in advance of the first term’s start date, based
on historical payment data for the institution and the
sum of term awards in the institution’s most recent
batch.

The Agency compares the institution’s trailer record
totals with its own computation of totals. If a
discrepancy is found, the Agency will not process the
DDS transmittal and will ask the school to correct
and resubmit its transmittal.

Roster of
Rejected
Awards/

Pavments

The Roster of Rejected Awards/Payments displays
rejected payments for students with award or
payment calculation errors. The roster also includes
warning edits for awards that are below the Agency’s
calculated award and discrepancies in the EFC and
PC.

Award

Error Detail

[ o PR

The Award Error Detail Roster displays data on all
award errors occurring within the batch and compares
the institution’s need analysis and State Grant awards
to the results calculated by the Agency.

Roster of
Accepted

The Roster of Accepted Payments displays all
students in the DDS batch with accepted payments
and total accepted payments by term.

Minnesota State Grant Program
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Reconciliation Report

Agency  School

A Reconciliation Report is generated to enable the
Agency and the institution to reconcile amounts for
advances, accepted payments, rejected payments and
cash balances on hand.

The Agency places output reports in the institution’s
directory on the SG web access screen. Schools log
on to SG web access screen to view, print or
download output reports.

The institution reviews the reports and makes any
necessary corrections to its student and accounting
records. The cycle is repeated on a monthly basis
until the end of the year with close attention paid to
the reporting deadlines listed under ‘Reporting
Deadlines’ in the State Grant Manual.

)

il

At
A

4

v

The school returns all excess funds and submits an
error-free final batch by the end of year deadlines
listed under ‘Reporting Deadlines’ in the State Grant
manual.
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DDS Batch Population

DDS Bateh should include:

* Recipients

* “No-needs " (meet
eligibility requirements
but don’t show financial
need for an award)

Minnesota State Grant Program

Appendix M: Selecting a DDS Batch Population

Total Student
Population

Financial Aid
Applicants

Financial Aid Applicants
Enrolled with Completed
Files/Packaged

Applicants Meeting

State Grant Eligibility

Requirements

* MN residents

+ undergraduates who
haven’t yet earned four-
vear degree or reached
limit on postsecondary
attendance

+ making satisfactory
academic progress

* not in default on student
loans



Appendix N: Decentralized Delivery System Record Format

MINNESOTA OFFICE OF HIGHER EDUCATION
DECENTRALIZED DELIVERY SYSTEM RECORD FORMAT

ACADEMIC YEAR 2021-2022 Version 2022.1 April, 22 2021
NOTES FOR PROGRAMMERS

Instructions for programmers are provided below, as well as within the field description on the DDS record format.
If you have questions, please contact Shawn Reynolds at (651) 355-0615 or shawn.reynolds@state.mn.us. For
technical support regarding DDS batch record submissions or errors, please contact Shannon Olson at (651)355-
0611 or Shannon.l.olson@state.mn.us.

1. Records should be sent in ASCII and submitted via the Office of Higher Education’s SG Web Access screen or
via SFTP for schools using an automated SFTP process.

2. Alpha values (e.g., student's name) should be left-justified in the field. For example, the field for last name holds
16 characters. If the student's last name is only 10 characters, the name is followed by 6 spaces.

3. Numeric values should be right-justified and zero-filled (unless spaces are a valid value). For example, if a
numeric field holds 4 digits, and you want to send a value of zero, fill the entire field with zeros - 0000. If you want
to report $20, send 0020; $159 would be 0159; $2,500 would be 2500, and so forth. Fields designated as numeric (9)
should always contain positive numeric values, unless designated as a signed field.

There are certain numeric fields for which spaces are acceptable if the student left the item blank on the application.
When sending spaces in a numeric field, send all spaces; don't ever send a mixture of spaces and numbers. These
fields are marked with a # sign on the DDS record format.

4. Signed numeric fields (shown as S9 on layout) are for values that could either be negative or positive. Signed
numeric values should also be right-justified and zero-filled (unless spaces are a valid value). Do not use a minus or
plus sign to identify whether the value is negative or positive. Rather, the last digit in the number should be send as
an alpha value according to the following key:

Last Digit Is: Send this if positive: Send this if negative:
0 {,[,?0r0 }1.:, or!
1 Aorl J

2 Bor2 K

3 Cor3 L

4 Dor4 M

5 EorS N

6 For6 )

7 Gor7 P

8 Hor8 Q

9 lor9 R
Example: If field is S9(5) and you want to report -$4,912, send 0491K.

All DDS fields can be found at the MN OHE website at:

Minnesota State Grant Program Administration

Minnesota State Grant Program 2


mailto:Shannon.l.olson@state.mn.us
https://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=346

Appendix O: MN OHE Refund Calculation Spreadsheet

MM Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Spreadsheet
for Use by Schools Charging by Term or Clock Hour Payment Period

Last Revised July 1, 2015

TO RESET SPREADSHEET, PRESS CTRL+SHIFT+Z
Thiz form sheuld be rsed to caloulste refunds for state financial aid programs when a student completzly withdraws from school or, for
the MM State Grant and SELF Lean programs, if the student drops below minimum enrollment level for those programes. This form
should only be used by schools charging students by term or payment peried and whose refund policies are based on the percentags
of the t=rm or payment pericd completed. (Mote: Refunds are never required for the State Work Study pragram.)

StudentNeme: | | ssve [
Choose  for full withdrawal, N for partial withdrawsal
Date of student withdrawal or change in enrollment level:

PART | - DETERMINING AMOUNT OF NET REFUND

Thiz saction is shways complated.

A Amount of financial aid and cash received to date for the term or payment period, including any post-withdrawal disbursements
of Title IV financial aid applied to institutional charges.* Include cents. If funds applied exceed the ariginal institutional charges,
enter the amauﬂ}ariginal institutional charges only.

S I
B. Amount of onginal institutional charges for the term the school can retain per its institutional or state-mandsted

refund policy. Include cents. B
C. GROSS REFUND
c s0.00

STOP, No
Refund!

D. Amount of institutional share of any required refund for Titke IV financial 3id programs from Step 5, Box O of
Return of Tele W Funds Refund Worksheet. Ifthere is no refund required for Tigle IV programs, enter 0. Include D
cents.

E. NET REFUND E 50,00

STOPR, No
Refund!

hi difinition ol instiuticnal charges usad for fedaral Titke [V aid programs under 2848 of thi Highar Edwcabion Act of 1960 as amanded
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PART Il - DIFFEREMCE BETWEEMN ORIMGINAL AND REVISED STATE FINANCIAL AID AWARDS
This sectian is used if the siudent’s enralment stalus changed due to 2 partial withdrewal and is anly required for the programes shoan
Nat used for Occupational Grant, Stale Work Siedy, SELF Loan, MN Gl Bil or MN Indian Schalarship.

IT the studenl talally wilhdrew from schoedl, skip this seciaon and ga direcily 1o PART I
Safaty
Siate Child Cars Officar’s
Grant Grant Survivor

Original Envoliment Level: [N /1 /] [—

Revised Envoliment Level: [0 [ | 1
AWARD DIFFERENCE | il | )| [ =)

Cantinue 1o PART Il

PART Il - DETERMINING PROPORTIONAL SHARE OF NET REFUND FOR DISTRIBUTION TO NON-TITLE IV AID PROGRAMS

List all non-Title [V financial aid disbursed 1o the student for the ermipayment peried. Include only programs requinng refunds

when a sisdent changes enrolment level or tolally withdraws from scheal. De NOT include work study awards. For SELF lcans.

= ther talal loan divided by the number of altendance periods inthe loan penod. Clock hour schools should refer 1o examghe al right
Io dedermine e proportional finandal aid per dock hour and apoly those perozntages 1o the net refund in Line E abowe.

Final
% of Share of Amount of
MNon-Tite [V Bax E Refund Dus
Program Mame Packages Refund
1 State Granl ™ &Dnm Ll Te ]
2 Child Care Granl r 2D F 2o
3 Safety Officer's Survivar Grant Frani FRnvl
L SELF Loan™ Fennn F ¥l
5 MM Indian Schalarship** FEnnm LTI
8 MM Gl Bil ™ &0 Ll u ] {10
7 MnSCU Oooupalional Granl Fanni L Te ]
a Fen T
| Franni FRnn il
10 Fennn F ¥l
TOTAL £0 [ &0 Ll Te ]
Please be absalulely sure you enfered 2™ or "N’ in 'Did Stodent Tolaly Withdraw from Schoal 7" aboee.

** The: SELF loan program should anly be included if the student togally withdres from school or a dropped below half-Sme status.
#** Should anly be induded if the student tolaly withdres from schoal.

TO RESET SPREADSHEET, PRESS CTRL+EHIFT+Z

WHERE TO RETURM REFUMDS:
SELF loan refunds shawld be retumed Lo: Firstmark Services, PO Box 82522, Lincoln, ME. BES01

Slale Grand, Child Care Granl and Mn3CU Oooupational Granl refunds ooouring before the school closes oul its activity for the aid yeo
should be placed back in the schoals accownls an campues. End ol year balances far these programs should be relurned o the
W Office af Higher Educalion using the top porfan af e Refund Relum Form on the nest pege of this spreadsheel
Pret-dosure student refunds for thess programs should be retumed o OHE wsing the battam partion of the Refund Retum Form.
Individual siuedent refunds for the M Gl Bil, MH Indizn Scholarship and Safety Officer's Sursivor Grant should aksays be senl
directly to OHE using the bottorn partian of the Refund Retum Form on the next page of this worksheel

Refund for Schools Charging Upfront for Program
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MN Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Spreadshest
for Use by Schools Charging Upfront for Program

Last Revised August §, 2015

TO RESET SPREADSHEET, PRESS CTRL+SHIFT+Z
This forrm should be used fo calculste refunds for state inancial aid programs when a student completely witharaws from schoo
ar, for the MM State Grant and SELF Loan pragrams, if the student drops Bslow minimum enralimant level for those programs.
This forrn should only be used by schoels charging students upfront for the entire program and whaose refund paolicies are based
on the percentage of the program completed. (Mote: Refunds are never reguired for the State Work Study program.)

Student Mame: | SEN: |:|
Did student totally withdraw? Date of withdrawal'anrcliment change:
PART | - DETERMINING AMOUNT OF NET REFUND

expenses 2nd 2nd any post- wal disbursements of Title IV financial aid and funds disbursed to the student for living expenset
Exclude federal or state work =dy funds. If funds received to date for the program exceed the original instituticnal charges® for the
program, cap Line A at the amount of the original institutional charges for the program. Include cents.

A Armount of financial aid an?! jaEI‘ received to date for the entire program, including any funds disbursed to the student for lving

S I
B. Armount of original institutional charges for the program the school can retain per its institutional

or state-mandated refund pobcy. Include cants. B
C. GROSS REFUND
G $0.00

STOP, No Refund!

D. Amcunt of institutional share of any required refund for Title IV financial aid programs from Step 5, Box O of
Return of Title IV Funds Refund Worksheet. If there is no refund required for Title IV programs, enter 0. Dy

E. MET REFUND E 0.00

STOR, No Refund!

Thea siaie adopds fe definiiion of insiluional charges uvsaed for federal Tille 1Y aid programs under S48 of the Higher Educabion Ack of 1965 as amanded

and 34 CFR EES.22
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PART Il - DETERMINING PROPORTIOMAL SHARE OF MET REFUND FOR DISTRIBUTION TO NON-TITLE IV AID PROGRAMS

List all non-Title IV financial aid received to date during the student’s program and for the current aid year incleding any funds
disbursed to the student for living expensas. Include only programs requiring refunds whean a student withdraws from school which
can inclede institutional and private scholarships er other forms of non-Title IV aid. Do NOT include wark study awards.

Amount  Amount Final
Disbursed Disbursed % of Share of Armount of
Dwring Curmrent MNaon-Title IV Box E Refund Due
Program Mame Program  Ald Year  Package Refund 2m
1 State Grant =D Z0NI0!
2 Child Cars Grant =D Z0NI0!
3 Safety Officer's Survivor Grant #DINA 200!
4 SELF Loan ZDINID! Z0NI0!
5 MM Indian Scholarship FDIWI! E0NJ0!
L MM Gl Bill #OIID! Z0NI0!
T #0NID! Z0NI0!
8 =00 Z0N0!
9 FOINID! E0N0!
10 w00l E0NA0!
TOTAL =0 SOT #DIWD! Z0Ni0!

o

** The SELF kean program should anly be included if the student totally withdrew frem scheol er 3 dropped below hal-time status.
*** These programs should enly be included if the student totslly withdrew from school.

TO RESET SPREADSHEET, PRESS CTRL+SHIFT+Z

WHERE TO RETURN REFUMDS:
SELF loan refunds should be returmned to: Firstmark Services, PO Box 32522, Lincoln, ME, 32501

State Grant and Child Care Grant refunds occuring before the school closss outits activity for the sid year should ke placed back
in the schools State Grant or Child Care Grant account on campus. End of year balances for these programs should be returned
to the MM Office of Higher Education using the top portion of the Refund Return Ferm on the next page of this spreadsheet.
Post-closure student refunds for these programs should b2 returned to OHE using the bottom gortion of the Refund Return Form.
Individual student refunds for the MM G1 Bill, MM Indian Scholarship and Safety Officer's Survivor Grant should always be sent
directly to ©OHE using the bottem portion of the Refund Return Form on the next page of this worksheet.
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Appendix P: Sample General Ledger for MN State

Date Description Debits Credits Balance
9/1/2020 From State Grant Program $950,000 $950,000

Fall Semester 2020 Advance

9/10/2020  Disbursed to Student Accounts $800,000 $150,000
(Invoice #395)

10/02/2020 Refunds from 9/21/2020 disbursements $100,000 $250,000
(Invoice #493)

01/05/2021  From State Grant Program $700,000 $950,000
for Spring Semester 2021 Advance

01/11/2021 Disbursed to Student Accounts $800,000 $150,000
(Invoice #654)

02/14/2021  Refunds from 12/21/2013 $40,000 $190,000

6/30/2021  Returned 2020-2021 Balance to $190,000 0
Office of Higher Education

Minnesota State Grant Program



Appendix Q: Sample Pay Periods at Progressive Clock Hour

Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School
900 Hour Academic Year — 3 Pay Periods
State Payment Periods
State Grant Hours % State Hrs State Pay Period Pay Period Pay Period
Enrollment
Level Per Week Budget Acad Yr 1 2 3
Level 15 30+ 100% 900 300 300 300
(1-300) (301-601) | (601-900)
Level 14 28-29 93.3% 840 280 280 280
(1-280) (281-560) (561-840)
Level 13 26-27 86.7% 780 260 260 260
(1-260) (261-520) (521-780)
Level 12 24-25 80% 720 240 240 240
(1-240) (241-480) (481-720)
Level 11 22-23 73.3% 660 220 220 220
(1-220) (221-400) (441-660)
Level 10 20-21 66.7% 600 200 200 200
(1-200) (201-400) | (401-600)
Level 9 18-19 60% 540 180 180 180
(1-180) (181-360) (361-540)
Level 8 16-17 53.3% 480 160 160 160
(1-160) (161-320) (321-480)
Level 7 14-15 46.7% 420 140 140 140
(1-140) (141-280) | (281-420)
Level 6 12-13 40% 360 120 120 120
(1-120) (121-240) | (241-360)

Minnesota State Grant Program




Level 5 10-11 33.3% 300 100 100 100
(1-100) (101-200) | (201-300)
Level 4 8-9 26.7% 240 80 80 80
(1-80) (81-160) (161-240)
Level 3 6-7 20.0% 180 60 60 60
(1-60) (61-120) (121-180)
Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School
900 Hour Academic Year — 2 Pay Periods
State Payment Periods
State Grant Hours % State Hrs State Pay Period Pay Period
Enrollment
Level Per Week Budget Acad Yr 1 2
Level 15 30 + 100% 900 450 450
(1-450) (451-900)
Level 14 28-29 93.3% 840 420 420
(1-420) (421-840)
Level 13 26-27 86.7% 780 390 390
(1-390) (391-780)
Level 12 24-25 80% 720 360 360
(1-360) (361-720)
Level 11 22-23 73.3% 660 330 330
(1-330) (331-660)
Level 10 20-21 66.7% 600 300 300
(1-300) (301-600)
Level 9 18-19 60% 540 270 270
(1-270) (271-540)

Minnesota State Grant Program




Level 8 16-17 53.3% 480 240 240
(1-240) (241-480)
Level 7 14-15 46.7% 420 210 210
(1-210) (211-420)
Level 6 12-13 40.0% 360 180 180
(1-180) (181-360)
Level 5 10-11 33.3% 300 150 150
(1-150) (150-300)
Level 4 8-9 26.7% 240 120 120
(1-120) (121-240)
Level 3 6-7 20.0% 180 90 90
(1-90) (91-180)

Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School
1100 Hour Academic Year — 3 Pay Periods

State Payment Periods
State Grant Hours % State Hrs State Pay Period Pay Period Pay Period
Enrollment
Level Per Week Budget Acad Yr 1 2 3
Level 15 30+ 100% 1100 367 367 366
(1-367) (368-734) (735-1100)
Level 14 28-29 93.3% 1026 342 342 342
(1-342) (343-684) (685-1026)
Level 13 26-27 86.7% 954 318 318 318
(1-318) (319-636) (637-954)
Level 12 24-25 80% 880 294 293 293
(1-294) (295-587) (588-880)

Minnesota State Grant Program 10




Level 11 22-23 73.3% 806 269 269 268
(1-269) (270-538) (539-806)
Level 10 20-21 66.7% 734 245 245 244
(1-245) (246-490) (491-734)
Level 9 18-19 60% 660 220 220 220
(1-220) (221-440) (441-660)
Level 8 16-17 53.3% 586 196 195 195
(1-196) (197-391) (392-586)
Level 7 14-15 46.7% 514 172 171 171
(1-172) (173-343) (344-514)
Level 6 12-13 40% 440 147 147 146
(1-147) (148-294) (295-440)
Level 5 10-11 33.3% 367 123 122 122
(1-123) (124-245) (246-367)
Level 4 8-9 26.7% 294 98 98 98
(1-98) (99-196) (197-294)
Level 3 6-7 20.0% 220 74 73 73
(1-74) (75-147) (148-220)
Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School
1100 Hour Academic Year — 2 Pay Periods
State Payment Periods
State Grant Hours % State Hrs State Pay Period Pay Period
Enrollment
Level Per Week Budget Acad Yr 1 2
Level 15 30 + 100% 1100 550 550
(1-550) (551-1100)

Minnesota State Grant Program
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Level 14 28-29 93.3% 1026 513 513
(1-513) (514-1026)
Level 13 26-27 86.7% 954 477 477
(1-477) (478-954)
Level 12 24-25 80% 880 440 440
(1-440) (441-880)
Level 11 22-23 73.3% 806 403 403
(1-403) (404-806)
Level 10 20-21 66.7% 734 367 367
(1-367) (368-734)
Level 9 18-19 60% 660 330 330
(1-330) (331-660)
Level 8 16-17 53.3% 586 293 293
(1-293) (294-586)
Level 7 14-15 46.7% 514 257 257
(1-257) (258-514)
Level 6 12-13 40.0% 440 220 220
(1-220) (221-440)
Level 5 10-11 33.3% 367 184 183
(1-184) (185-367)
Level 4 8-9 26.7% 294 147 147
(1-147) (148-294)
Level 3 6-7 20.0% 220 110 110
(1-110) (111-220)

Minnesota State Grant Program
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Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School
1200 Hour Academic Year — 3 Pay Periods
State Payment Periods
State Grant Hours % State Hrs State Pay Period | Pay Period | Pay Period
Enrollment
Level Per Week Budget Acad Yr 1 2 3
Level 15 30+ 100% 1200 400 400 400
(1-400) (401-800) | (801-1200)
Level 14 28-29 93.3% 1120 373 373 374
(1-373) (374-746) | (747-1120)
Level 13 26-27 86.7% 1040 347 347 346
(1-347) (348-694) | (695-1040)
Level 12 24-25 80% 960 320 320 320
(1-320) (321-640) | (641-960)
Level 11 22-23 73.3% 880 293 293 294
(1-293) (294-586) | (587-880)
Level 10 20-21 66.7% 800 267 267 266
(1-267) (268-534) | (535-800)
Level 9 18-19 60% 720 240 240 240
(1-240) (241-480) | (481-720)
Level 8 16-17 53.3% 640 213 213 214
(1-213) (214-426) | (427-640)
Level 7 14-15 46.7% 560 187 187 186
(1-187) (188-374) | (375-560)
Level 6 12-13 40% 480 160 160 160
(1-160) (161-320) | (321-480)
Level 5 10-11 33.3% 400 133 133 134
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(1-133) (134-266) | (267-400)
Level 4 8-9 26.7% 320 107 107 106
(1-107) (108-214) | (215-320)
Level 3 6-7 20.0% 240 80 80 80
(1-80) (81-160) (161-240)
Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School
1200 Hour Academic Year — 2 Pay Periods
State Payment Periods
State Grant Hours % State Hrs State Pay Period Pay Period
Enrollment
Level Per Week Budget Acad Yr 1 2
Level 15 30 + 100% 1200 600 600
(1-600) (601-1200)
Level 14 28-29 93.3% 1120 560 560
(1-560) (561-1120)
Level 13 26-27 86.7% 1040 520 520
(1-520) (521-1040)
Level 12 24-25 80% 960 480 480
(1-480) (481-960)
Level 11 22-23 73.3% 880 440 440
(1-440) (441-880)
Level 10 20-21 66.7% 800 400 400
(1-400) (401-800)
Level 9 18-19 60% 720 360 360
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(1-360) (361-720)
Level 8 16-17 53.3% 640 320 320
(1-320) (321-640)
Level 7 14-15 46.7% 560 280 280
(1-280) (281-560)
Level 6 12-13 40.0% 480 240 240
(1-240) (241-480)
Level 5 10-11 33.3% 400 200 200
(1-200) (201-400)
Level 4 8-9 26.7% 320 160 160
(1-160) (161-320)
Level 3 6-7 20.0% 240 120 120
(1-120) (121-240)

Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School

1550 Hour Academic Year — 3 Pay Periods

State Payment Periods

Minnesota State Grant Program

State Grant . . .
Enrollment Hours % State Hrs State Pay Period Pay Period Pay Period
Level Per Week Budget Acad Yr 1 2 3
Level 15 30 + 100% 1550 517 517 516
(1-517) (518-1034) (1035-
1550)
Level 14 28-29 93.3% 1446 482 482 482
(1-482) (483-964) (965-1446)
Level 13 26-27 86.7% 1344 448 448 448
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(1-448) (449-896) | (897-1344)
Level 12 24-25 80% 1240 413 413 414
(1-413) (414-826) | (827-1240)
Level 11 22-23 73.3% 1136 379 379 378
(1-379) (380-758) | (759-1136)
Level 10 20-21 66.7% 1034 345 345 344
(1-345) (346-690) | (691-1034)
Level 9 18-19 60% 930 310 310 310
(1-310) (311-620) | (621-930)
Level 8 16-17 53.3% 826 275 275 276
(1-275) (276-550) | (551-826)
Level 7 14-15 46.7% 724 241 241 242
(1-241) (242-482) | (483-724)
Level 6 12-13 40% 620 207 207 206
(1-207) (208-414) | (415-620)
Level 5 10-11 33.3% 516 172 172 172
(1-172) (173-344) | (345-516)
Level 4 8-9 26.7% 414 138 138 138
(1-138) (139-276) | (277-414)
Level 3 6-7 20.0% 310 103 103 104
(1-103) (104-206) | (207-310)

Minnesota State Grant Program

16



Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School
1550 Hour Academic Year — 2 Pay Periods
State Payment Periods
State Grant Hrs Per % State Hrs State Pay Period Pay Period
Enrollment
Level Week Budget Acad Yr 1 2
Level 15 30 + 100% 1550 775 775
(1-775) (776-1550)
Level 14 28-29 93.3% 1446 723 723
(1-723) (724-1446)
Level 13 26-27 86.7% 1344 672 672
(1-672) (673-1344)
Level 12 24-25 80% 1240 620 620
(1-620) (621-1240)
Level 11 22-23 73.3% 1136 568 568
(1-568) (569-1136)
Level 10 20-21 66.7% 1034 517 517
(1-517) (518-1034)
Level 9 18-19 60% 930 465 465
(1-465) (466-930)
Level 8 16-17 53.3% 826 413 413
(1-413) (414-826)
Level 7 14-15 46.7% 724 362 362
(1-362) (363-724)
Level 6 12-13 40% 620 310 310
(1-310) (311-620)
Level 5 10-11 33.3% 516 258 258

Minnesota State Grant Program
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(1-258) (259-516)
Level 4 8-9 26.7% 414 207 207

(1-207) (208-414)
Level 3 6-7 20.0% 310 155 155

(1-155) (156-310)

Minnesota State Grant Program
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Appendix R: Roster of Rejected Awards / Payments

Report Name

Roster of Rejected Awards/Payments

Program Origin
Distribution

Frequency

Purpose

General Description

Data Description

* Name

* Soc Sec

* Date of Birth
* Total Paid

e Summer 1

* Fall

Minnesota State Grant Program

One of four State Grant Decentralized Delivery System (DDS) Output Reports
DDS School (1); Office of Higher Education (1).

This output report is generated each time the Office of Higher Education processes a
DDS batch containing errors. This report will not be generated if there were no
award or payment errors in the school’s DDS batch.

The error edits performed during DDS batch processing inform schools about
possible overpayments and prevent erroneous data from being loaded to the
Agency’s State Grant database. This output report provides information to DDS
schools so that errors can be corrected prior to the next DDS batch submission. The
total of rejected payments on this roster also appears on the Reconciliation Report,
another output report displaying accounting totals for the school’s DDS batch.
Schools can review and print this report on-line by logging into the SG Web Access
Screen the day after submitting a DDS batch to the Agency. The data can also be
copied from the report into another format, such as Word or Excel.

This report displays data on all errors that occurred during processing of the school’s
DDS batch. Most errors result in rejection of awards or payments, but some errors
are merely warnings that do not result in award or payment rejection. The school is
responsible for recovering any funds disbursed to students appearing on this report
with rejected payments, unless data can be corrected that will allow payments to be
accepted in the next DDS batch submission. A small number of error messages are
warnings that do not result in rejected payments. Further detail on some of the award
and payment errors appearing on this report appears on the Award Error Detail
Roster.

A description of the data appearing on this roster is provided below by column
heading:

Student’s reported name

Student’s reported social security number

Student’s reported date of birth

Total rejected payments for student for all terms
Student’s rejected payment for leading summer term

Student’s rejected payment for fall term
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* Winter
* Spring
e Summer 2

Message

Date of Birth is Blank
or Invalid

SSN is Non-Numeric

School’s Name/DOB
Do Not Match the
Agency’s Name/DOB

Invalid Aid Year on
DDS Record

Term Award is
Non-Numeric

Term Enrollment is
Blank or > 30

Minnesota State Grant Program

Student’s rejected payment for winter term (quarter schools only)
Student’s rejected payment for spring term
Student’s rejected payment for trailing summer term 2

A description of error messages and their corresponding ‘Action Steps’ is provided
below.

Appears when the date of birth on the student’s incoming DDS record is blank or
invalid and results in all reported payments being rejected. The school should correct
the student’s date of birth prior to the next DDS batch submission.

Appears when the social security number on the student’s incoming DDS record
contains a non-numeric value and results in all reported payments being rejected.
The school should correct the student’s social security number prior to the next DDS
batch submission.

Appears when both the student’s name and date of birth on the incoming DDS
record for a given social security number do not match the name and date of birth
associated with the corresponding social security number on the Agency’s existing
State Grant database. This error results in all reported payments being rejected. The
school should check the student’s social security number, name and date of birth and
make any necessary changes prior to the next DDS batch submission. If the school
determines the Agency’s data is in error, the school should notify the Agency’s grant
unit via email or fax.

Appears when the aid year value on the student’s incoming DDS record is not for
the current year being processed and results in all reported payments being rejected.
The school should correct the aid year value on the student’s record prior to the next
DDS batch submission.

Appears when any of the reported term awards contains a non-numeric value other
than spaces. The name of all affected terms will be included in the error message
and reported payments for all affected terms will be rejected. The school should
correct the term award values prior to the next DDS batch submission.

Appears when any of the reported term enrollment values is blank or greater than 30
credits in cases where there is a reported payment for that term. The name of all
affected terms will be included in the error message and reported payments for all
affected terms will be rejected. The school should correct the term enrollment values
prior to the next DDS batch submission.
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Child Support Hold
Before Term
Disbursement

SELF Default Hold
Before Term
Disbursement

Total Units in Prior
Aid Years Exceed
Limit

Total Units Prior to
Term Exceed Limit

Term Payment >
Term Award

Minnesota State Grant Program

Appears when a child support hold existed on the Agency’s State Grant database
prior to the date of disbursement reported by the school for the term. The name of all
affected terms will be included in the error message and reported payments for all
affected terms will be rejected. If a student is on hold for being 30+ days in arrears
on child support payments, the school must withhold all future State Grant payments
for the student until the student is no longer in arrears. Rejected payments should be
recovered from the student and returned to the school’s State Grant account. The
school does not have liability for repayment of overpayments from its own
institutional funds unless the school disbursed State Grant funds after the school was
notified by the Agency, via the on-line hold report or a previous DDS batch output
report, of the student being placed on hold.

Appears when a SELF default hold existed on the Agency’s State Grant database
prior to the date of disbursement reported by the school for the term. The name of all
affected terms will be included in the error message and reported payments for all
affected terms will be rejected. If a student is on hold for defaulting on a SELF loan,
the school must withhold all future State Grant payments for the student until the
student is no longer in default or has made six consecutive monthly payments to
regain eligibility for State Grant. Rejected payments should be recovered from the
student and returned to the school’s State Grant account. The school does not have
liability for repayment of overpayments from its own institutional funds unless the
school disbursed State Grant funds after the school was notified by the Agency, via
the on-line hold report or a previous DDS batch output report, of the student being
placed on hold.

Appears when the student has accumulated the maximum number of units of State
Grant paid in previous aid years and results in all reported payments being rejected.
A student loses eligibility for State Grant once the student has attended or received
State Grant payments for 96 units, which is the equivalent of eight full-time
semesters or 12 full-time quarters. The actual cut-off point is >94.4 units for a
student attending a quarter school and 93.6 units for a student attending a semester
school. A school can use the SG Web Access screen to query the student and review
historical State Grant payment data. All rejected payments for the current year must
be recovered from the student and returned to the school’s State Grant account.

Appears when the student has accumulated the maximum number of units of State
Grant paid prior to the term embedded in the error message. Any reported payments
for the affected and subsequent terms will be rejected and must be recovered from
the student and returned to the school’s State Grant account. A student loses
eligibility for State Grant once the student has attended or received State Grant
payments for 96 units, which is the equivalent of eight full-time semesters or 12 full-
time quarters. The actual cut-off point is >94.4 units for a student attending a quarter
school and 93.6 units for a student attending a semester school. A school can use the
SG Web Access screen to query the student and review historical State Grant
payment data. All rejected payments for the current year must be recovered from the
student and returned to the school’s State Grant account.

Appears when a reported payment for a term exceeds that term’s reported award by
more than $1. The affected term will be embedded in the error message and the
corresponding term payment will be rejected. The school should adjust the term
payment and return any overpayments to its State Grant account prior to the next
DDS batch submission.
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Multiple Term
Payments >
15 Credits

Annual Units Limit
Exceeded

Applied After Cutoff
for Term

No ISIR Record on
File

Term Award Too High
for Enrolled Credits

Term Award Too Low
for Enrolled Credits

Minnesota State Grant Program

Appears when another school has already paid the student for the term(s) in question
and the current school’s reported term payment results in the student being paid for
more than 15 credits. The name of the affected term will be embedded in the error
message and the corresponding term payment will be rejected. The current school
should adjust the student’s State Grant payment to an acceptable level and return any
overpayments to its State Grant account prior to the next DDS batch submission.

Appears when the student is paid for more than three full-time semesters (36 units)
or four full-time quarters (32 units) during the current aid year. The name of the
affected term will be embedded in the error message and the corresponding term
payment will be rejected. The current school should either cancel or adjust the
student’s State Grant payment for the affected term and return any overpayments to
its State Grant account prior to the next DDS batch submission.

Appears when the student missed the State Grant application deadline for the termin
question. The name of the affected term(s) will be embedded in the error message
and all reported payments for the affected terms will be rejected. In order to meet the
application deadline, the student’s original FAFSA application must be received by
the federal processor within 30 days of the term start date. The Agency makes this
determination by comparing the student’s FAFSA receipt date on the ISIR to the
school’s term start dates collected on the annual State Grant budget questionnaire. If
the school believes the student’s original FAFSA receipt date was within 30 days of
the term start date, the school should contact the Grant Unit for assistance at (651)
642-0567. If the student did apply after the term deadline date, the school should
cancel the student’s award for that term(s) and return any rejected State Grant
payments to its State Grant account.

Appears when the Agency does not have an ISIR record for the student for the
current aid year and is, therefore, unable to verify whether the student met the State
Grant application deadline. The school should make sure the student submits a
FAFSA. If the student has submitted a FAFSA, the school should contact the
Agency’s State Grant unit for assistance.

Appears when the reported award for the term in question is more than $2 higher
than the Agency’s calculated award for the term, based on the student’s reported
enrollment level. The name of the affected term is embedded in the error message
and the corresponding term payment is rejected. A detailed comparison of term
awards is provided on the accompanying Award Error Detail Roster for the current
DDS batch. The school should adjust the term award and return any overpayments
to its State Grant account. In cases where the award appears too high because the
school reported an incorrect enrollment value, the school should correct the
enrollment value prior to the next DDS batch submission.

Appears when the reported award for the term in question is more than $2 lower
than the Agency’s calculated award for the term, based on the student’s reported
enrollment level. The name of the affected term is embedded in the error message
but the corresponding term payment is NOT rejected. A detailed comparison of term
awards is provided on the accompanying Award Error Detail Roster for the current
DDS batch. If necessary, the school should adjust the term award. In cases where the
award appears too low because the school reported an incorrect enroliment value,
the school should correct the enrollment value prior to the next DDS batch
submission.
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Federal Reject

School’s EFC Not
Equal to the
Agency’s EFC

School’s PC Not
Equal to the
Agency’s PC

Minnesota State Grant Program

Appears when the Agency could not perform the Federal Methodology need analysis
formula and State Grant award calculation due to the student’s application data
meeting one or more of the several Federal Methodology reject edits. All reported
term payments for the current year will be rejected. The precise federal reject code
and detailed description will appear on the accompanying Award Error Detail
Roster for the current DDS batch. The school should correct the application data
creating the federal reject prior to the next DDS batch submission.

Appears when the school’s reported Expected Family Contribution (EFC) for the
student does not match the EFC calculated by the Agency using the data supplied on
the DDS record for the student. This is a warning message only and does not result
in rejected payments. In most cases, discrepancies occur because the school’s EFC is
based on Federal Methodology assumptions and the Agency’s EFC is not, or vice
versa. The school should check the value it sent in the MHESO-ORIGIN-TYPE
field on the DDS record to make sure it sent the correct value. A value of ‘O’ means
the Agency should use assumptions when calculating the EFC. A value of ‘R’ or
spaces means the Agency should not use assumptions when calculating the EFC.

Appears when the school’s reported Parent Contribution (PC) for the student does
not match the PC calculated by the Agency using the data supplied on the DDS
record for the student. This is a warning message only and does not result in rejected
payments. In most cases, discrepancies occur because the school’s PC is based on
Federal Methodology assumptions and the Agency’s PC is not, or vice versa. The
school should check the value it sent in the MHESO-ORIGIN-TYPE field on the
DDS record to make sure it sent the correct value. A value of ‘O’ means the Agency
should use assumptions when calculating the PC. A value of ‘R’ or spaces means the
Agency should not use assumptions when calculating the PC.
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Sample University - [ 001234 ]+ 12/2/2021 Roster of Rejected Awards / Payments 2022
Roster of Rejected Awards/Payments 2022

Name

SSN DOB

Total

Paid |Summer I |Fall

Anderson / Andrew | 111-22-3333 101/01/2000 |0

Anderson / Blake

Benson / Henry

Carlson / Carla

111-23-3334 |5/23/2001

222-33-4444 |7/29/2000

333-44-5555 |9/9/1908

Minnesota State Grant Program

0

1122

0

1122

Error

Winter |Spring | Summer II | Message

Fall award too low
for enrolled credits
See Award Error
Detail Roster for
details

Spring award too low

for enrolled credits
See Award Error
Detail Roster for
details

School's EFC not
equal to OHE'S EFC
School's EFC: 46159
Recalc EFC: 23878

School's PC not
equal to OHE's PC
School's PC: 46114
Recalc PC: 23833

School's EFC not
equal to OHE'S EFC
School's EFC: 6579
Recalc EFC: 4049

School's PC not
equal to OHE's PC
School's PC: 6179
Recalc PC: 3649

School's EFC not
equal to OHE'S EFC
School's EFC: 99999
Recalc EFC: 230575
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http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/sPagesOHE/errorDesc.cfm?item=57
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/sPagesOHE/errorDesc.cfm?item=57
file://///cavern.heso.state.mn.us/Shares/Financial_Aid_Grants/DDS/Schools/century/22SGReport010546.htm%23detailRoster
file://///cavern.heso.state.mn.us/Shares/Financial_Aid_Grants/DDS/Schools/century/22SGReport010546.htm%23detailRoster
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/sPagesOHE/errorDesc.cfm?item=59
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/sPagesOHE/errorDesc.cfm?item=59
file://///cavern.heso.state.mn.us/Shares/Financial_Aid_Grants/DDS/Schools/century/22SGReport010546.htm%23detailRoster
file://///cavern.heso.state.mn.us/Shares/Financial_Aid_Grants/DDS/Schools/century/22SGReport010546.htm%23detailRoster
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/sPagesOHE/errorDesc.cfm?item=92
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/sPagesOHE/errorDesc.cfm?item=92
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/sPagesOHE/errorDesc.cfm?item=93
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/sPagesOHE/errorDesc.cfm?item=93
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/sPagesOHE/errorDesc.cfm?item=92
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/sPagesOHE/errorDesc.cfm?item=92
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/sPagesOHE/errorDesc.cfm?item=93
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/sPagesOHE/errorDesc.cfm?item=93
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/sPagesOHE/errorDesc.cfm?item=92
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/sPagesOHE/errorDesc.cfm?item=92

Appendix S: Award Error Detail Roster

Report Name

Award Error Detail Roster

Program Origin
Distribution

Frequency

Purpose

General Description

Data Description

* Name

* Soc Sec

* Tuition

* Fees

* Cap

* Dep Status

* Federal PC

Minnesota State Grant Program

One of four State Grant Decentralized Delivery System (DDS) Output Reports.
DDS School (1); Office of Higher Education (1).

This output report is generated each time the Office of Higher Education processes a
DDS batch containing need analysis or award errors. This report will not be
generated if there were no award or payment errors in the school’s DDS batch.

The error edits performed during DDS batch processing prevent erroneous data from
being loaded to the Agency’s State Grant database. This output report provides
further detail on need analysis and award calculation errors so they can be corrected
prior to the next DDS batch submission. Schools can review and print this report on-
line by logging into the SG Web Access Screen the day after submitting a DDS
batch to the Agency. The data can also be copied from the report into another
format, such as Word or Excel.

This report provides further detail for need analysis and award calculation errors
appearing on the Roster of Rejected Awards/Payments. Most errors result in
rejection of awards or payments, but some errors are merely warnings that do not
result in award or payment rejection.

A description of the data appearing on this roster is provided below by column
heading:

Student’s reported name.

Student’s reported social security number.

Term tuition reported by school appears if term award is flagged for error

Term fees reported by school appears if term award is flagged for error

Term tuition and fee maximum for student’s degree program (two- or four-year)
reported by school appears if term award is flagged for error

Student’s dependency status as reported by school (D=dependent; I=independent)

Federal Methodology parent contribution calculated by the Agency using data
supplied by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported Federal
Methodology parent contribution appears under ‘Inst Award’ column.
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e State PC

e State PC

» State SC

* Federal EFC

* FT Pell Award

* 3Q Pell Award

* HT Pell Award

* PT Pell Award

e Summer 1

* Fall

Minnesota State Grant Program

State need analysis parent contribution calculated by the Agency using data supplied
by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported state need
analysis parent contribution appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. (Note: Data in this
field is only used if state need analysis differs from federal need analysis. Currently,
the state adopts the federal need analysis.)

State need analysis parent contribution calculated by the Agency using data supplied
by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported state need
analysis parent contribution appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. (Note: Data in this
field is only used if state need analysis differs from federal need analysis. Currently,
the state adopts the federal need analysis.)

State need analysis parent contribution calculated by the Agency using data supplied
by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported state need
analysis parent contribution appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. (Note: Data in this
field is only used if state need analysis differs from federal need analysis. Currently,
the state adopts the federal need analysis.)

Federal Methodology expected family contribution calculated by the Agency using
data supplied by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported
Federal Methodology expected family contribution appears under ‘Inst Award’
column.

The full-time Federal Pell Grant award calculated by the agency appears under
‘State Award’ column. School’s reported full-time Federal Pell Grant award appears
under ‘Inst Award’ column.

The three-quarter time Federal Pell Grant award calculated by the Agency appears
under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported three quarter-time Federal Pell Grant
award appears under ‘Inst Award’ column.

The half-time Federal Pell Grant award calculated by the Agency appears under
‘State Award’ column. School’s reported half-time Federal Pell Grant award appears
under ‘Inst Award’ column.

The less than half-time Federal Pell Grant award calculated by the Agency appears
under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported less than half-time Federal Pell
Grant award appears under ‘Inst Award’ column.

State Grant award for leading summer term calculated by the Agency using data
supplied by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported award
for leading summer term appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. Any difference
between leading summer term awards is displayed in the ‘Award Diff” column.

State Grant award for fall term calculated by the Agency using data supplied by
school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported award for fall term
appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. Any difference between fall term awards is
displayed in the ‘Award Diff” column.
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* Winter

* Spring

e Summer 2

Message

Term Award Too High
for Enrolled Credits

Term Award Too Low
for Enrolled Credits

Minnesota State Grant Program

State Grant award for winter quarter calculated by the Agency using data supplied
by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported award for winter
quarter appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. Any difference between winter quarter
awards is displayed in the ‘Award Diff” column. (Note: Semester schools reporting
winter quarter term awards will see errors and award differences since there is no
winter quarter on a semester system.)

State Grant award for spring term calculated by the Agency using data supplied by
school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported award for spring
term appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. Any difference between spring term
awards is displayed in the ‘Award Diff” column.

State Grant award for trailing summer term calculated by the Agency using data
supplied by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported award
for trailing summer term appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. Any difference
between trailing summer term awards is displayed in the ‘Award Diff” column.

A description of error messages and their corresponding ‘ Action Steps’ is provided
below.

Appears when the reported award for the term in question is more than $2 higher
than the Agency’s calculated award for the term, based on the student’s reported
enrollment level. The name of the affected term is embedded in the error message
and the corresponding term payment is rejected. The school should adjust the term
award and return any overpayments to its State Grant account. In cases where the
award appears too high because the school reported an incorrect enroliment value,
the school should correct the enrollment value prior to the next DDS batch
submission.

Appears when the reported award for the term in question is more than $2 lower
than the Agency’s calculated award for the term, based on the student’s reported
enrollment level. The name of the affected term is embedded in the error message
but the corresponding term payment is NOT rejected. If necessary, the school should
adjust the term award. In cases where the award appears too low because the school
reported an incorrect enrollment value, the school should correct the enrollment
value prior to the next DDS batch submission. If there is a valid reason the award
appears too low (e.g., proration of award at clock hour school), no action is required
by the school.
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Award Error Detail Roster 2022

Name SSN

Anderson / Andrew 111-22-3333

2469

Anderson / Blake 111-23-3334

2469

Benson / Henry 222-33-4444

Minnesota State Grant Program

329 2

314 2

Dep
Tuition Fees Cap Status

D

State

Inst

Award Award Diff

Federal PC 293
State PC 293
State SC 0
Federal EFC 2038
FT Pell Award 4445
3Q Pell Award 3334
HT Pell Award 2223
PT Pell Award 1111

Fall 1225
Spring 1771
Federal PC 3649
State PC 3649

State SC 0

Federal EFC 4049
FT Pell Award 2445
3Q Pell Award 1834
HT Pell Award 1223

PT Pell Award 0

Fall 899

Spring 1445
Federal PC 2859
State PC 2859

State SC 0

0

0

0
429
6045
4534
3023
1511

540 -685

1087 -684

6179

0
0
1122 223

1669 224

8274

0

Award

Message

Fall award too low for
13.00 credits

Spring award too low
for 15.00 credits

Fall award too high
for 13.00 credits

Spring award too
high for 15.00 credits
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Federal EFC 4114 9529
FT Pell Award 2345 0O
3Q Pell Award 1759 0
HT Pell Award 1173 0
PT Pell Award 0 0

0 0 2 Spring 1807 841 -966 Spring award too low
for 15.00 credits

Appendix T: Roster of Accepted Payments

Report Name

Roster of Accepted Payments

Program Origin
Distribution

Frequency

Purpose

General Description

Data Description

* Name
e Soc Sec

* Total Paid

Minnesota State Grant Program

One of four State Grant Decentralized Delivery System (DDS) Output Reports.
DDS School (1); Office of Higher Education (1).

This output report is generated each time the Office of Higher Education processes a
DDS batch containing payments that were not flagged for errors. This report is not
generated if there were no accepted payments in the school’s DDS batch.

The error edits performed during DDS batch processing prevent erroneous data from
being loaded to the Agency’s State Grant database. If a term payment passes through
the error edits, it is displayed on this report as accepted. It is possible for a student to
appear on this roster, as well as the Roster of Rejected Awards/Payments, if one
term’s payment is rejected and another’s is accepted. The total of accepted payments
on this roster also appears on the Reconciliation Report, another output report
displaying accounting totals for the school’s DDS batch. Schools can review and
print this report on-line by logging into the SG Web Access Screen the day after
submitting a DDS batch to the Agency. The data can also be copied from the report
into another format, such as Word or Excel.

This report displays data on all accepted term payments within the school’s most
recent DDS batch. Data is provided by student in alphabetical order, with accepted
term payments appearing under the applicable term headings.

A description of the data appearing on this roster is provided below by column
heading:

Student’s reported name.
Student’s reported social security number.

Student’s total accepted payments for all terms.
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* Summer 1
* Fall

* Winter

* Spring

e Summer 2

Student’s accepted payment for leading summer term.

Student’s accepted payment for fall term.

Student’s accepted payment for winter term (used only for quarter system).

Student’s accepted payment for spring term.

Student’s accepted payment for trailing summer term.

Roster of Accepted Payments 2022

Name

Anderson / Steve
Abdi / Abdi
Benson / Ben

Benson / Carla

SSN Total Paid [Summer I |[Fall |Winter |Spring |Summer II Message
111-22-3333 |540 0 540 |0 0 0
111-23-3334 |305 0 305 |0 0 0
111-33-1111 |857 0 857 |0 0 0
111-22-1111 |577 0 577 |0 0 0

Minnesota State Grant Program
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Appendix U: Reconciliation Report

Report Name

Reconciliation Report

Program Origin
Distribution

Frequency

Purpose

General Description

Data Description

* School

* School Code

* Label ID

* Cutoff Date

* Date Received
* Date Processed

* Number of Records

Minnesota State Grant Program

One of four State Grant Decentralized Delivery System (DDS) Output Reports
DDS School (1); Office of Higher Education (1).

The Reconciliation Report is generated each time the Office of Higher Education
processes a DDS submitted by the institution.

The report is produced in order for the Agency and the institution to reconcile
accounting records with respect to cash advances to date, accepted net payments to
date, rejected net payments to date and cash balances on hand at the institution.
Schools can review and print this report on-line by logging into the SG Web Access
Screen the day after submitting a DDS batch to the Agency. The data can also be
copied from the report into another format, such as Word or Excel.

The report provides a comparison of the Agency’s and the institution’s data in order
to reconcile accounting records and cash flow figures. Totals are taken froma
variety of sources such as the institution’s trailer record for its DDS batch, the
Agency’s records of cash advances to date, and the total accepted and rejected
payments from the Roster of Rejected Awards/Payments and the Roster of Accepted
Payments.

A description of the data appearing on this roster is provided below by column
heading:

Name of school submitting DDS batch

School’s 6-digit school code used for federal financial aid programs
10-character optional identifier supplied by school submitting DDS batch
School’s cutoff date for data supplied in DDS batch

Date DDS batch received by the Agency

Date DDS batch processed by the Agency

Number of student records in DDS batch as counted by the Agency (OHE column)
and school (School column)
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* Amount Net
Payments

e Total Advances

* Total Payments
Accepted

e Balance on Hand

* Total Rejected
Payments

¢ Unidentified School
Difference

* Balance Payable to
the OHE

Minnesota State Grant Program

Total amount of payments in DDS batch as calculated by the Agency (OHE column)
and school (School column)

Total funds advanced to school by the Agency to date, with detail of individual
advances appearing below total

Total payments accepted in current batch from the Roster of Accepted Payments

Total funds advanced to school by the Agency minus total of accepted payments.
May be a negative figure if school is seeking reimbursement.

Total payments rejected in current batch from the Roster of Rejected
Awards/Payments

This amount should always be ‘0.” If it is necessary for the Agency to “plug” an
amount on this line to reconcile, it is an indication that the institution has not
reconciled its computer records with its business office accounting records prior to
submitting DDS records to the Agency. This figure is derived by subtracting the
total rejected payments from the difference between the school’s balance on hand
and the Agency’s balance on hand.

Total funds advanced to school by the Agency minus total of accepted payments.
Balance must be returned to the Agency no later than August 1 at the end of each aid
year. May be a negative figure if school is seeking reimbursement.
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Reconciliation Report 2022
Cutoff Date: 12/01/2021
Date Received: 12/01/2021
Date Processed: 12/02/2021

Trailer Reconciliation
Number of Records

Amount Net Payments

Outstanding Balance Summary

Advance Dated 09/01/2021
10/08/2021
11/08/2021

Total Advances

Total Payments Accepted

Balance On Hand

Total Rejected Payments

Unidentified School Difference

Balance Payable to OHE

Minnesota State Grant Program

OHE
3639

$1,413,667.00

OHE
$1,324,897.00
$67,802.00
$20,000.00
$1,412,699.00
$1,412,545.00

$154.00

School
3639

$1,413,667.00

School

$2,086,333.00
$1,122.00
(%$2,087,301.00)

$154.00
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Appendix V: Logic State Grant Adjustment after Initial Disbursement

(when enrollment change occurs before school’s award adjustment end-date)

b

Mo SG award
adjustment
needed. Report
actual enrollment
level to Office of
Higher Education
START HERE Mes
Is revised SG Is revised 3G Disburse
award at actual award at actual Is SG award increased SG
Determine actual enmollment level enmollment level increase based on
enrollment level the same as what No greater than what Yes assumption Pell Yes Was Pell Grant Yes | award and report
2> 2> > | actually reduced? | - | actual enroliment
(exclude Ws) student can relain student can retain Grani was
- - level to the
from onginal from onginal reduced? Agenc
disbursement? disbursement? Y-
YNo +No +No
Is SG award Disburse Don't increase SG
increased SG award. Report
reduction based .
No on assumplion award and report original enrollment
<« actual enrcliment level and payment
’ that Pell Grant
Don't reduce SG level to the retained to the
was increased?
award. Repor = enc Agency
original enrollment ¥es -
level and payment
retained to the Reduce 5G
Agency. Was Pell Grant award, collect
No actually Yes | overpayment and
<« increased? > report actual
enroliment level to
the Agency.

Minnesota State Grant Program
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Examples of State Grant Award Adjustments After Initial Disbursement
(when enrollment change occurs after student begins attendance but before school’s award adjustment end date)

State Revised | Increase | Increase
Grant Award or or Credits
) Award Higher | Decrease | Decrease Reported
Credits | Difference | Credits | Actual | orLower | Dueto Due to to Office
Later Fulky Later | Enroliment | Than Change | Change in aof Higher
Creditat | Withdrawn | Refunded | Added Level Original | in Parent Pell WasPell | Educabon
Initial for W Payment | Contor | Enroliment | Actually on DDS
| Payment (B) Credits?" (+) = Retained | EFC? Level? | Adwsted? | Record State Grant Action
15 3 Yes 0 12 Lower No No No 12 Report 12 credits and Level 12 payment amount
15 3 No 0 12 Lower No No No 15 Report 15 credits and up to Level 15 payment amount
15 3 No 12 Lower Yes No No 15 School would need fo recapture difference betwean
original and rewised Level 15 award prior to doing refund
calculation for withdrawn credits
15 3 Yes 3 15 Same No No No 15 Report 15 credits and Level 15 payment
15 3 No 3 15 Sama No No No 15 Report 15 credits and Level 15 payment
12 3 Yes 4 13 Highes Mo No No 13 Pay increased amount for Level 13
12 3 No 4 13 Higher Mo No No 13 Pay increased amount for Level 13
12 3 No 4 13 Higher Yes No No 13 Pay increased amount for revised Level 13 award
12 3 No 2 1 Lower Mo No No 12 Report 12 credits and up to Level 12 payment amount
12 3 No 2 1" Lower Yes No No 12 School would need fo recaplure difference between
original and revised Level 12 award prior to doing refund
calculation for withdrawn credits
12 3 No 2 1" Higher No Yes No 12 Gannot award higher Level 11 Stale Grant since Pell
award nol reduced.
12 3 No 2 i1 Highes Yes No No 1 Pay increased amount of revised Level 11 award
11 0 N/A 1 12 Highar dla No No 12 PPay increased amount for Level 12 award
1 0 NiA 1 12 Lower ll,_o Yes No 1 Not required fo reduce award to Level 12 since Pell
award not increased
12 1 Yes 0 1" Lower No No No 1" Report 11 credits since differance between 12 and 11
credit awards was fully refunded
12 1 No 0 1" Higher No Yes No 12 Cannot award higher Level 11 State Grant since Pell
award not reduced
12 1 No 0 11 Higher Yes No No 11 Pay increased amount for new Level 11 award
12 1 No 0 1 Higher Yes Yes No 12 If Pell not decreased, additional funds can only be
disbursed for the difference between the onginal and
revised Level 12 State Grant award

*Indicates whether difference between the State Grant at the original enrollment level and the State Grant for the revised (oniginal minus W credits) enroliment level was fully refunded to the

State Grant program.

Minnesota State Grant Program
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Appendix W: Comparison of State Grant and Pell Grant

Disbursement and Award Adjustment Policies

Scenario

Current SG Policy

Pell Grant Policy

Award first paid at
beginning of term

Base on enrollment level at
beginning of term.

Base on enrollment level at
beginning of term.

Award first paid on
school’s award
adjustment end date

Base on enrollment level at time of
disbursement. Exclude dropped or
withdrawn credits.

Base on enrollment level at time of
disbursement. Exclude dropped or
withdrawn credits.

Award first paid after
school’'s award
adjustment end date

Base on enrollment level at time of
disbursement. Exclude W credits.

Base on enrollment level at time of
disbursement. Exclude W credits.

Award first paid after
end of term

Base on enrollment level at end of
term. Exclude W, FN or FW credits
or their equivalent. Subject to Pell
Grant requirement to verify
attendance if student receives all F
grades. Subject to award
recalculation if school determines
student never attended class.
Subject to refund for total or partial
withdrawal if school determines
student attended but did not
complete class(es).

Base on enrollment level at end of
term. W credits excluded. Verify
attendance if student receives all
non-passing grades. Subject to
refund for total withdrawal if school
cannot document attendance in at
least one class covering the entire
length of the term.

Student withdraws from
course after initial State
Grant disbursement

Award recalculation required if
student never attended class.
Otherwise, partial withdrawal refund
calculation required if award at new
enroliment level is less and student
withdrew from course before
school’s award adjustment end
date. If award at new enrollment
level is higher, no refund required
but award can only be increased if
Pell Grant is reduced (based on
change in enroliment level) and
enrollment level changed before
school’s award adjustment end date
or if award increase is based on
change in parent contribution or
EFC.

In general, no award recalculation
takes place after school’s Pell Grant
award adjustment end date unless
student never attended class.
Refunds not required for partial
withdrawals.

Minnesota State Grant Program
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Scenario

Current SG Policy

Pell Grant Policy

Student adds credits
after initial State Grant
disbursement

If enroliment change occurs before
school's award adjustment end
date, disburse additional funds if
award at new enroliment level is
higher. School may also have policy
to add credits that were not
originally included due to school
error or interim term credits
assigned to fall term. If award at
new enroliment level is less, State
Grant is only reduced if the Pell
Grant is actually increased (based
on change in enrollment level) or
award decrease is based on change
in parent contribution or EFC.

In general, no award recalculation
takes placed after school’'s award
adjustment end date.

Total withdrawal from
school prior to
disbursement

Not eligible for State Grant.

Eligible for percentage earned
during period of enrollment.

Total withdrawal after
initial disbursement

Subject to refund calculation for
total withdrawal (based on each
school’s institutional refund policy —
certain proprietary schools subject
to prorata policy in MS 141).

Subiject to refund calculation for
total withdrawal (based on
percentage earned for period of
enroliment under R2T4 policy).

Retroactive withdrawal
backdated to first day of
term

If total withdrawal, entire State
Grant must be repaid. If partial
withdrawal, award recalculated to
exclude backdated withdrawal
credits.

Subject to refund calculation for
total withdrawal (based on
percentage earned for period of
enroliment). No award recalculation
for partial withdrawal after school’s
Pell Grant award adjustment end
date.

Minnesota State Grant Program
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Appendix X: Refund Return Form

MN Office of Higher Education Refund Return Form

For Returning End of Year Balances of Post-Closure Refunds

Returning End of Year Balance
(for use with State Grant, State Work Study, Postsecondary Child Care Grant and MN G| Bill programs)

Program Name Aid Year Amount of Refund

“ |||

Returning Individual Student Refund(s)*

(for use with Achieve Scholarship, Indian Scholarship, State Grant, State Work Study, Postsecondary Child Care Grant and MN Gl Bill programs)
If Reason is PW or CH, please
indicate enroliment level at:
Reason Time of Disbursement/
Student’s Name SSN Program Amount Term | Aid Year L Current
XAX-XX- %
KAX-XX- $
KAHX-XX- $
KAXK-XX- $
KHXK-XX- $
XXX-XX- $
XHXK-XX- $
KHXK-XX- $
KKK $
Reason  NE = not enrolled for term/withdrawal before disbursement Return refund with form to:
Codes: WI = total withdrawal from school after disbursement Minnesota Office of Higher Education
PW = withdrew from class but still enrolled Administrative Services Division
CH = changed enroliment level, refunding full difference in awards PO Box 64449
OT = other (provide explanation above) St. Paul, MN 55164-0449
Person Returning Funds: Phone Number:
Name of College: | School Code: Date Completed:

*Schools should only return individual student refunds for State Grant, State Work Study, Postsecondary Child Care Grant and MN Gl Bill
programs if they occur after the school has closed out program activity for the aid year.

Appendix Y: Student Disclosure Statement

[PLACE SCHOOL’S LOGO OR LETTERHEAD HERE]

Student Disclosure Statement Required for Schools Not Participating
in the Federal Pell Grant Program

Minnesota State Grant Program
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2014-2015 Academic Year

As a postsecondary educational institution that is not participating in the Federal Pell Grant program, we
are required by Minnesota Statutes 136A.103 to inform you that, by choosing to attend this institution,
you will not be eligible to receive a Federal Pell Grant.

For the 2014-2015 academic year (July 1, 2014 to June 30, 2015), Federal Pell Grants range from $600 to
$5,730 per year and are available to students who:

have an expected family contribution (EFC) less than $5,158
are U.S. citizens or eligible non-citizens,
are enrolled in an eligible undergraduate program at a participating postsecondary institution,
are making satisfactory academic progress,
are not in default status on a federal student loan, and

6. have not have been convicted of the sale of illegal drugs while receiving federal financial aid.
By signing below, | am confirming that | have read the above disclosure statement and understand that |
will not be receiving a Pell Grant at this institution.

AN .

Student’s Signature Date Signed

Minnesota State Grant Program 39
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Appendix Z: Online Student Eligibility Questionnaire

Report Name

State Grant Online Student Eligibility
Questionnaire Report

Report Origin

Distribution

Frequency

Purpose

General Description

Minnesota State Grant Program

Records are created when students access the State Grant On-Line Student
Eligibility Questionnaire via the student’s original FAFSA on the Web confirmation
page state link or, for those who missed the state link, through a follow-up email
from OHE containing a student-specific link to the state questionnaire site. Once a
student has a successfully completed on-line state questionnaire on file, the
student can no longer access the state on-line questionnaire. Participating
campuses create reports by logging into the SG Web Access screen and choosing
the ‘State Grant On-Line Student Eligibility Questionnaire Report’ option.

Each school’s on-line state questionnaire report is limited to financial aid
administrators at that campus, as well as OHE grant unit staff.

The State Grant On-Line Student Eligibility Questionnaire database is updated in
real-time as students access the system and complete questionnaires. Reports of
student on-line questionnaire records may be created at any time by financial aid
administrators at participating campuses and will reflect real-time student data.

The State Grant On-Line Student Eligibility Questionnaire system was created to
capture information from Minnesota FAFSA applicants about state residency and
amount of postsecondary attendance after high school. The information collected
is stored and made available to participating campus financial aid administrators
when they create a report from the system for their campus. The information on
the report, as well as other documentation collected on the FAFSA or by financial
aid administrators, will be used to determine if applicants meet program eligibility
requirements for the Minnesota State Grant program, as well as other state
financial aid programs requiring Minnesota residency or a limit on postsecondary
attendance.

The report created by the financial aid administrator will display the student’s
responses to the questions on the on-line state questionnaire, as well as relevant
data from the student’s most current Institutional Student Information Record
(ISIR) for the aid year. There may be multiple on-line state questionnaire
transactions for students who logged into the questionnaire on multiple occasions
but did not complete the questionnaire until the most recent transaction. There
may also be multiple transactions when a previously completed on-line state
questionnaire was subsequently invalidated by a newer ISIR transaction (see
description of this under ‘Guidance’ section below).

When students reach the on-line state questionnaire page, screen-out logic is used
to bypass the entire on-line state questionnaire if the student’s FAFSA data
indicates the student will not meet program eligibility requirements:

e The student will be 20 years old as of the start of the aid year (July 1) and the
student either answered: ‘yes’ to having a bachelor’s degree; ‘yes’ to being a
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Guidance

Minnesota State Grant Program

graduate/professional student; or that s/he was pursuing a
graduate/professional degree (ISIR credential value of ‘8’); OR

e The student had a value of ‘3’ (neither U.S. citizen or eligible non-citizen) for the
citizenship question; OR

e The student’s ISIR did not contain at least one college code for a MN college
participating in the State Grant On-Line Student Eligibility Questionnaire system;
OR

e The student has already successfully completed the on-line questionnaire and
there are no new participating MN college codes on the ISIR.

For students who are not immediately screened out and do access the on-line state
questionnaire, skip logic is used to bypass the screen containing state residency
questions if the student’s state residency status can be easily determined by data
supplied on the ISIR. In both of the cases below, the ‘State Residency Status’ field
on the student’s on-line state questionnaire record is set to ‘Confirmed’:

e Astudent whose FAFSA high school state = ‘MN’ and who indicated MN was the
state of residence at the time of high school graduation on the on-line state
questionnaire screen; OR

e Adependent student whose parents’ state of legal residence on the FAFSA =
‘MN’.
A description of the data appearing on each student’s on-line state questionnaire

record is described in the annotated version of the MN State Grant Student
Eligibility Questionnaire Record at the end of this document.

In many cases, financial aid administrators are not required to collect additional
documentation beyond what appears on the student’s on-line state questionnaire
record to determine a student’s Minnesota residency status and/or amount of
previous postsecondary attendance unless there is conflicting information in the

student’s file.

The following are examples of cases where no additional documentation would be
required.

If the ‘State Residency Status’ field is set to ‘Confirmed,’ the student would be
considered a Minnesota resident absent conflicting information.

If the ‘Student Successfully Completed State Grant Questionnaire’ field is set to ‘Y,’
and:

e the ‘State Residency Status’ field is set to ‘Unconfirmed,’ the school must review
all of the information provided under ‘State Residency Questions’ on the
student’s on-line eligibility questionnaire to determine if the student meets the
state residency requirement. It is only if the school is unable to make a
determination based on the student’s on-line questionnaire responses that the
school would need to collect additional documentation from the student.

e the ‘Indicated No Attendance Beyond High School,’ field is ‘Y,” and the
‘Transcripts Required’ field is set to ‘N,” the school is not required to request
academic transcripts from the student absent conflicting information.

e the ‘Indicated No Attendance Beyond High School,’ field is set to ‘N,” and
postsecondary attendance is listed but the ‘Transcripts Required’ field is set to
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Minnesota State Grant Program

‘N,” the school is not required to request academic transcripts from the student
absent conflicting information.

In some cases, the school will need to collect additional documentation beyond
what is collected on the on-line state questionnaire. The following are examples of
when the school would either need to collect additional information or watch for
another on-line state questionnaire record.

The ‘Student Successfully Completed State Grant Questionnaire’ field is set to
‘N’ for No, which means the school can either give the student the link to the
on-line state questionnaire so the student can complete an on-line
guestionnaire or collect information directly from the student using the paper
state questionnaire or similar form developed by the school. Directing the
student to the on-line state questionnaire link will only work if the student does
not meet the screen out logic used by the on-line state questionnaire.

’

The ‘Student Successfully Completed State Grant Questionnaire’ field is set to ‘I
for Invalidated and the ‘State Residency Status’ field is set to ‘Reversed.’ This
occurs when the residency fields on the previous ISIR transaction confirmed
state residency without the student having to complete the full residency
section of the previous on-line state questionnaire transaction, but the
residency fields on the newest ISIR transaction do not confirm state residency.
OHE will email the student a link to the on-line state questionnaire and once
accessed, it will require the student to complete the full residency section on
the questionnaire, generating another questionnaire record.

The student lists 810 or more days of postsecondary attendance and the
‘Transcripts Required?’ flag is set to ‘Y,” unless the 810 or more days includes
future attendance listed by the student or the school has documentation
proving the student did not attend 810 or more days of postsecondary
education.

NOTE: For example, if the student listed a period of enrollment at the current
institution as 08/15/2007 to 06/15/2009 (670 days), and a previous institution
as 08/15/2006 to 01/15/2007 (153 days), for a total of 823 days, but the school
knows the student didn’t attend summer term 2008 (90 days) at the current
institution, the school would not be required to collect transcripts from the
previous school, since the total days would equal 733.

If the student indicates on the on-line state questionnaire that s/he is receiving
tuition reciprocity benefits from a neighboring state, and the student is
attending a Minnesota public postsecondary school, the school should follow-up
to make sure the student is not receiving both state financial aid and tuition
reciprocity benefits from another state. The student may turn down reciprocity
benefits in order to qualify for state financial aid, assuming the student meets
the state residency requirement.

If the student’s response to ‘If you currently reside in another state/country, are
you physically attending a Minnesota college?’ is ‘Y’ or ‘N’ rather than ‘N/A,’” the
school should make sure the student is physically attending at least one class if
the only way the student can meet the state residency requirement is by having
graduated from a MN high school and the student currently resides in another
state.

If the student lists postsecondary attendance and indicates s/he withdrew for a
major medical illness or active military duty, the school should request

42



Minnesota State Grant Program

supporting documentation from the student and not count that term'’s
attempted credits towards the limit on postsecondary attendance.
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Annotated MN State Grant Student Eligibility Questionnaire Record
Aid Year: 2014 [last calendar year in aid year]

Date Generated: 01/18/2013 03:46PM Source: FOTW (FAFSA interface), OHE email response (student
used unique link in OHE follow-up email), OHE log-in (student logged in), OHE automated record (previous
record copied for new school) Dep Status: I/Y=independent, D/X=dependent

Student: LAST NAME, FIRST NAME DOB: MM/DD/CCYY SSN: XXX-XX-XXXX
Insts: 002354, 002342, 002334 [school codes from current FAFSA/ISIR]

Screen-Out Variables

Graduate or Professional Student? 2 [1=Yes, 2=No—from current FAFSA/ISIR]

U.S. Citizen/Eligible Non-Citizen? 1 [1=citizen, 2=eligible non-citizen, 3=neither—from current FAFSA/ISIR]
Bachelor's Degree? 2 [1=Yes, 2=No - from current FAFSA/ISIR]

Degree/Credential Code: 5 [1=first bach, 2=2" bach, 3-6 associate or certificate, 7=teach cred, 8=grad/prof,
9=undecided—from current FAFSA/ISIR]

Prior Year Questionnaire? N Prior Year(s) Found: n/a [from OHE search of database]

Student Successfully Completed State Grant Questionnaire? Y [determined by OHE]

Sent SELF Loan information? N [based on student’s response on questionnaire]

State Residency Status: Unconfirmed [Confirmed=Student graduated from MN high school while residing in
MN OR dependent student’s parents’ state of residence=MN on FAFSA]

State Residency Questions

Student's State of Legal Residence on FAFSA: MN [from current FAFSA/ISIR]

Parents' State of Legal Residence on FAFSA: [from dependent student’s current FAFSA/ISIR]

State in Which Student's High School Located: ND [from current FAFSA/ISIR]

Student's State at Time of HS Graduation: [from OHE questionnaire if student graduated from MN high school]
Year of High School Graduation: 1980 [from OHE questionnaire only if student not MN high school graduate]
Year of GED: 1980 State of GED: [from OHE questionnaire only if student not MN high school graduate]

State/Country [from OHE questionnaire] From To Reason
MINNESOTA 06/2010 01/2013 Other

NORTH DAKOTA 06/2008 06/2010 Employment
TEXAS 06/1985 06/2008 Military Service
GERMANY 05/1983 05/1985 Military Service
NORTH DAKOTA 05/1974 03/1983 Orig Place of Res
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Tuition reciprocity benefits from another state? N [Y or N response from OHE questionnaire]
If you currently reside in another state/country, are you physically attending a Minnesota college? N/A [Y, N
or N/A response from OHE questionnaire]

Previous Postsecondary Attendance

Enroliment
College [from OHE questionnaire] From To Level
NORTH DAKOTA STATE UNIV 07/1980 05/1982 Full
NORTH HENNEPIN COMMUNITY 08/2012 05/2013 Full-time

[CON'T]

Transcripts Required? Y [Default of N=No; Set to Y=Yes by OHE if student total days > 809]

Indicated no attendance beyond high school: N [Y=Yes — student indicated no postsecondary attendance, N=No]
Withdrew for major medical illness while under care of professional: N [Y or N response from OHE
guestionnaire]

Withdrew for active duty military service after 12/31/2002: N [Y or N response from OHE questionnaire]
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