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Program Purpose

• To provide financial assistance to students with financial need pursuing a 
postsecondary education who require child care assistance for their dependent 
children. 
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Child Care Grant Background

• The Postsecondary Child Care 
Grant was first established in 
Minnesota statute in 1989 with 
an initial appropriation of $2 
million. 

• Major changes to the 
Postsecondary Child Care Grant 
in the past ten years are shown 
in Table. 
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Year Change

2015
Can use spouse to fulfill residency 
requirement

2015
Income formula uses percentage of 
federal poverty guideline

2016 Extends grant to graduate students
2017 Increase term limit from 8 to 10 

Child Care Grant Program Changes



Child Care Grant 2021-2022 Eligibility

Eligibility for the Child Care Grants
• Minnesota residents 
• Attending an eligible institution 
• Enrolled in 1+ undergraduate credits 

(1+ graduate)
• Students must: 

• Complete the FAFSA or Dream Act 
application 

• Complete the Postsecondary Child 
Care Grant application

• Have an eligible child,
• Maintain satisfactory academic 

progress, 
• Has not received child care grant 

funds for a period of ten 
semesters or the equivalent,

• Not be in default on any 
educational loan, 

• Not be receiving MFIP benefits,
• Have child care from a verified 

provider, and 
• Meet financial eligibility 

guidelines. 
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Child Care Grant 2021-2022 Eligibility

Eligibility for the Child Care Grants, cont.
• A student is entitled to an additional 

semester or the equivalent of grant 
eligibility and will be considered to 
be in continuing enrollment status 
upon return if the student withdraws 
from enrollment.

• For a serious health condition, while 
under the care of a medical 
professional, that substantially limits 
the students ability to complete the 
term or;

• While providing care that 
substantially limits the student’s 
ability to complete the term to the 
student’s spouse, child, or parent 
who has a serious health condition. 
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Child Care Grant 2021-2022 Eligibility

Amount and Length of Grants
• The income of the applicant and 

spouse; the number in the applicant’s 
family; and the number of eligible 
children. Have all been stricken from 
MN statutes. 

• The maximum award to the applicant 
is $6,500 for each eligible child per 
academic year, except that the 
campus financial aid officer may apply 
to the office for approval to increase 
grants by up to ten percent to 
compensate for higher market charges 
for infant care in a community. 

• Applicants with expected family 
contributions at or below the 
qualifying expected family 
contribution for the federal Pell 
Grant, as determined by the 
commissioner, qualify for the 
maximum award. Applicants with 
expected family contributions 
exceeding that threshold but less 
than 200 percent of the qualifying 
expected family contribution receive 
an amount proportional to their 
expected family contribution as 
determined by the commissioner. 

6



Child Care Grant 2021-2022 Eligibility

Amount and Length of Grants, cont.
• The academic year award amount 

must be disbursed by academic term 
using the following formula.

• The academic year award amount 
divided by the number of terms in 
the academic year, multiplied by 
applicable enrollment factor. 

• 1.00 for undergraduate students 
enrolled in 12 or more semester 
credits or the equivalent or for 
graduate students enrolled in six or 
more semester credits or the 
equivalent.

• 0.75 for undergraduate students 
enrolled in nine, ten or 11 semester 
credits or the equivalent or for 
graduate students enrolled in five 
semester credits or the equivalent.

7



Child Care Grant 2021-2022 Eligibility

Amount and Length of Grants, cont.
• 0.50 for undergraduate students 

enrolled in six, seven or eight 
semester credits or the equivalent or 
for graduate students enrolled in 
three or four semester credits or the 
equivalent.

• 0.25 for undergraduate students 
enrolled in at least one but less than 
six semester credits or the 
equivalent or for graduate students 
enrolled in one or two semester 
credits or the equivalent. 
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Eligible Institutions

• Minnesota public postsecondary institutions. 

• Minnesota private baccalaureate degree granting college or university (non-profit 
or for-profit).

• Minnesota non-profit two-year vocational school granting associate degrees. 

• A Minnesota postsecondary institution offering only graduate or professional 
degrees.

• School must submit annual program participation form, which indicates 
anticipated funding needs for the coming year. 
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Allocation Formula

• 2023-2024 Postsecondary Child Care Grant program appropriation $6,694,000

• The school’s initial ESTIMATED allocation of program funds calculated in August for the year 
is based on the school’s share of the total students with children enrolled in all participating 
schools per the previous year’s State Grant database and reported on participation request. 

• If you have a graduate student population or do not participate in the MN State Grant 
Program you will need to report the number of students with children at your institution. 

• For example, if a school has 1,000 students with children and the total students with children 
at all schools were 10,000, the school would receive approximately 10% of the appropriation 
for the program. 
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Allocation Formula

• September the initial allocation is reduced if the school’s utilization rate for the previous year 
was less than 100%. 

• If the school’s utilization rate for the previous year were 80%, the school’s current year 
allocation would be reduced by 20%. 

• The initial allocation is also capped at the amount of funds requested by the school. 

• The initial allocation is disbursed in August approximately 50%, October any additional funds 
up to 50% and December the remaining 50%. 

• Schools with a leading summer term can request an earlier disbursements by contacting 
Brenda Larter. 
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Allocation Formula

• The utilization rate for the previous year is determined by subtracting total expenditures 
from total funds available. 

• Total expenditures  

+ student awards 
+ administrative expense allowance
= Total Expenditures  

• Total funds available

+ Current year initial allocation 
+ Current year reallocated funds
- Funds carried forward/back to another fiscal year
- Current year funds returned to OHE before March 1
= Total Funds Available
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Reallocation of Funds

• Schools may request additional funds if the initial allocation does not cover anticipated 
need. 

• OHE sends out refund/reallocation forms to schools five times during the school year 
November, January, March, May & June. 

• November reallocation you are allowed to adjust your December disbursement, this will adjust your initial 
allocation) 

• OHE will reallocate any refunds returned based on school’s share of all schools requesting 
more funds. 

• Minimum reallocation is $100.
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Carry Forward/Back

• Schools may carry forward to the next fiscal year or carry back to the previous fiscal year up 
to 10% of their current year initial allocation. 

• Schools can always carry forward. 

• Schools cannot carry back funds from the first year of a new biennium to the last year of the 
previous biennium. 

• A biennium is a two-year state budget cycle

• 2021-2022 and 2022-2023

• 2023-2024 and 2024-2025
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Administrative Expense Allowance

• A school may use up to 5% of total student awards expended for Postsecondary Child Care 
Grant awards during a fiscal year for an administrative expense allowance.

• Schools must be able to verify that the administrative expense allowance was used for the 
administration of the Postsecondary Child Care Grant Program. 
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Funds Management

• It is preferable for the school to maintain a separate account for Postsecondary Child Care 
Grant funds, but they can be combined with other funds if the fund source number is 
traceable to all activity within the account. 

• A manual or electronic record of recipients and corresponding check and account numbers 
must be maintained in order to track disbursements back through the activity account to the 
internal requisition form. 

• Each school must implement control procedures which prevent funds from one fiscal year 
from co-mingling with funds from another fiscal year, with the exception of funds which are 
transferred based on the carry forward, carry back provision.
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Excess Funds

• Excess funds are funds that will not be spent on student awards, the administrative expense 
allowance, or carried forward or back to another fiscal year. 

• Excess funds must be returned to OHE when refund/reallocation forms are sent out. 

• Excess funds returned after march 1 will result in a utilization rate under 100% which will 
reduce the initial allocation for the next fiscal year. 
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Reporting Requirements

• Schools are responsible for reporting total program awards and expenditures to date at the 
end of each month by the 10th day of each month.

• The web address is: http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/surveys/awards/awards.cfm

• Schools are responsible for collecting data requested by OHE on the End of Year Report.
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Reporting Requirements

• End of Year Reports must be submitted to OHE no later than the first working day after 
August 12th, the 2023-2024 report will be due August 12, 2024.

• Final excess funds must be returned by July 31, 2024. OHE will withhold the school’s 
allocation for the coming year if the school fails to meet the end of year deadline. 

• You must report all data elements for each student review all information reported on the 
end of year report and double check for accuracy. 

• You must make sure this report balances with your Business Office prior to submitting the 
report to OHE.

• Upon request the school must also report information about students who received awards, 
students on waiting lists and students who were denied awards. 
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End of Year Report

Recipient data:
• Name
• SSN
• Family income
• Family size
• Total hours awarded per week for all 

children
• Number of children in day care
• Total actual child care cost for award 

period
• Summer1 Child Care Grant Award 

Amount
• Summer1 Credits
• Fall Child Care Grant Award Amount 
• Fall Credits

Recipient data Continued:
• Winter Child Care Grant Award Amount
• Winter Credits
• Spring Child Care Grant Award Amount
• Spring Credits
• Summer2 Child Care Grant Award 

Amount
• Summer2 Credits
• Amount of total award used for on-

campus day care
• Amount of total award was increased 

due to 10% infant care adjustment
• Program level, 1=undergraduate, 

2=graduate/professional
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Eligible Student

• Meet ONE of the following MN resident criteria:

• Student who graduated from a MN high school while residing in MN and, if 
currently residing in another state is physically attending college in MN; or

• Student who earned GED in MN after living in MN for one year; or

• Dependent students whose parents resided in MN when FAFSA completed; or 

• Student who resided in MN for 12 consecutive months without being enrolled 
half-time or more in any term. Undergraduates 6 credits, graduate/professional 1 
credit; or
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Eligible Student

Residency cont’d.

• Student who resided in MN for 12 consecutive months without being enrolled 
half-time in any term, does not have to be initial year student lived in MN. 

• Residency established this way is lost if student later leaves MN for more than 
one year (unless for college, military, missionary service and still pay taxes to 
MN). 

• Does not apply to GED recipients; or

• Independent student who originally met residency requirement as a dependent 
because parents resided in MN when FAFSA completed are grandfathered as an 
independent student if student continues to live in MN; or 
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Eligible Student

Residency cont’d.

• Families not penalized for leaving MN to attend college or serve in military or missionary 
service if still paying taxes in MN. 

• A member, spouse or dependent of the armed forces of the US stationed in MN on 
active federal military service as defined in MS 190.05, Subd. 5c; or

• A spouse or dependent of a veteran who meets the residency requirement; or

• A person or spouse of who relocated to MN from an area that is declared a presidential 
disaster area within the preceding 12 months, if the disaster  interrupted the person’s 
postsecondary education; or

• A person defined as a refugee under US code, title 8, section 1101 (a)(42) who upon 
arrival in the US, moved to MN and has continued to reside in MN.
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Eligible Student

Residency cont’d.

• MN Dream Act is part of state residency statute, requirements are:

• Attended MN high school for at least three academic years.

• Graduated from MN high school or earned MN GED.

• Meet selective service system (SSS) registration requirements:

• Must register with SSS if male 18-25 years old;

• If male 26 or older, must have registered when 18-25;

• Can attempt to get status letter from SSS to show failure to register wasn’t 
knowing or willful.
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Eligible Student

Residency cont’d.

• The definition of MN resident for the Postsecondary Child Care Grant Program 
ONLY, was revised to include a student whose spouse is a resident of MN. This 
would require the school to determine the spouse’s residency status by having 
the spouse complete OHE’s student eligibility questionnaire (appendix 2 of the 
State Grant manual). This change was effective for terms starting on or after 
August 1, 2015.  

• The student must not be receiving Tuition Reciprocity benefits from a 
neighboring state to attend a MN institution. 
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Eligible Student

• Is enrolled in at least one credit in an undergraduate program or one credit in a 
graduate/professional program leading to a degree, certificate or diploma.  

• A student can receive a Postsecondary Child Care Grant at more than one eligible 
institution as long as the student is enrolled in a program leading to a credential 
at one eligible institution. 

• Interim term credits should be allocated to adjoining terms as described for the 
State Grant program. 
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Eligible Student

• The student must be enrolled in a non-sectarian program or course of study. A 
“non-sectarian program” means a program of study that is not specifically 
designed to prepare students to become ministers of religion, to enter some 
other religious vocation, or to prepare them to teach theological subjects.

• Must be making satisfactory academic progress (SAP) requirements in state law. 
Which adopts the SAP requirements used for federal financial aid program. The 
federal requirements referred to in state law defined minimum standards for 
maintaining SAP, schools are allowed to adopt stricter standards. 
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Eligible Child

• The student must have a child 12 years of age or younger, or 14 years of age or 
younger who is disabled as defined in MS 125A.02, and who is or will be 
receiving care on a regular basis from a licensed or legal non-licensed care giver. 
If the child is 12 years of age at the start of the term, the child can be considered 
for an award for the entire term. 
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Eligible Child

• “Child with a disability” means a child who has a hearing impairment, blindness, 
visual disability, speech or language impairment, physical disability, other health 
impairment, mental disability, emotional health impairment, mental disability, 
emotional/behavioral disorder, specific learning disability, autism, traumatic 
brain injury, multiple disabilities, or deaf/blind disability who need special 
education and related services is a child with a disability. 

• A licensed physician, an advanced practice nurse, or a licensed psychologist is 
qualified to make a diagnosis and determination of attention deficit disorder or 
attention deficit hyperactivity disorder for purposes of identifying a child with a 
disability. 

• A child with a short term or temporary physical or emotional illness or disability 
is not a child with a disability.
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Eligible Child

• The child must meet the requirements for inclusion in the independent student’s 
household size or dependent student’s parental household size, as specified in 
applicable Title IV program regulations. 

• Foster children are not eligible.  
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Eligible Child

• It is possible for the child to be included in the household size on both parents’ 
FAFSA applications. If both students include the child in the household size on 
the FAFSA application, both can apply for a Postsecondary Child Care Grant. 

• If one unmarried student is providing more than half the support for the other 
student, in addition to providing more than half the support for the child,  that 
student can include both the child and other student/parent in the household 
size on the FAFSA.
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Eligible Child

• The student receiving the support could not include the other student in the 
household size, but could include the child. 

• For 50% support test, the student can include any funds received from someone 
other than the students parents that flow through to the child. Child’s other 
parent, Government assistance programs. 
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Eligible Child

• For example, if a student who lives alone with her child, receives cash from her 
boyfriend that amounts to more than 50% support for her child, then she would 
be able to count the child as a dependent in her household size and apply as 
independent. 

• If the boyfriend  is the father of the child and a student himself, then he would 
also be able to count the child in his household size and apply as independent. 

• You would award the first student and then have to subtract the award the first 
student received from the actual child care costs for the other student prior to 
determining the award amount for the second student. 
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Eligible Student

• The student must NOT be receiving benefits from the Minnesota Family 
Investment Program (MFIP). 

• This applies even if MFIP child care assistance does not cover school hours. 

• A student can get a pro-rated Postsecondary Child Care Grant if the student only 
received MFIP benefits for a portion of the term. 
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Eligible Student

• If student is only receiving MFIP benefits for a portion of a term, the student 
would be eligible for a prorated Postsecondary child Care Grant award for 
remainder of the term. 

• Postsecondary Child Care Grant award does not have to be refunded to the 
program if the student receives MFIP benefits later in a term, provided the 
student notified the school within 10 days of the change of status. 

• School can opt to adjust the award and bill the student for the overpayments, but 
in this case it is not required. 

• If the student did not notify the school of the change, the student does not meet 
program eligibility requirements and should not receive future disbursements 
during the aid year, nor be considered a renewal applicant in future aid years.

Brenda Larter | http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=348



Eligible Student

• If the student is excluded from receiving MFIP benefits,  but the students children 
receive MFIP benefits, the student IS eligible for the Postsecondary Child Care 
Grant. 

• Since many students do not know if the assistance they receive is under MFIP, if 
they indicate on their application that the family is receiving any type of public 
assistance, the school must collect documentation from the county verifying the 
student is excluded from receiving MFIP benefits.

• OHE created the “MFIP CCAP Verification Form” for you to use to determine what 
type of assistance the students is receiving from the county.  

• Students who are not on MFIP, but receive other benefits such as General 
Assistance, MN Care Insurance, Medical Assistance, Food Stamps, or Diversionary 
Work Program (DWP) ARE eligible for the Postsecondary Child Care Grant. 
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Eligible Student

• Students receiving DWP are eligible for child care assistance through the DWP, so 
those benefits would be subtracted from actual child care costs used in the 
Postsecondary  Child Care Grant award calculation. The DWP is a program 
families are referred to for four months prior to going on MFIP. Therefore, you 
need to follow-up with these students. 
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Eligible Student

• The student cannot be in default on any student loan. The student can regain 
eligibility retroactive to the beginning of the current aid year by producing 
documentation from the holder of the loan that it has been paid in full or 
otherwise satisfied.  

• A student who has a hold on their State Grant file for being in arrears on child 
support payments IS eligible to participate in the Postsecondary Child Care Grant 
Program. According to statute this hold only prevents a student from receiving 
funds from the MN State Grant Program. 

• Has not received child care grant funds for a period of ten semesters or the 
equivalent.
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Eligible Student

• The student must report any changes to data reported on the Postsecondary 
Child Care Grant application within 10 days of the change taking place. 

• The student is notified of this requirement in the student certification section of 
the application. 

• It is left to the discretion of the financial aid administrator to determine whether 
the student’s failure to report changes was an unintentional oversight or an 
intentional withholding of information from the school.  
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Eligible Provider

• A licensed child care provider; or

• A legal non-licensed care giver, is a person who is at least 18 years old and takes 
care of the children from only one family other than his/her own; or

• Other programs excluded from state licensure, after school program affiliated 
with school district, all-day kindergarten and pre-school if they charge a fee. 
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Not An Eligible Provider

• A parent or legal guardian of the student’s child does NOT qualify as an eligible 
provider. 

• Parents, step-parents, legal guardians of the child. 

• Any individual if they reside in the same household or occupies the same 
residence as the student and child. 

• There is no requirement that the provider be located in Minnesota. 
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Provider Verification

• Campuses are required to verify provider information for ALL students. Provider 
verification is being required to preserve the integrity and future viability of this 
program to ensure that funds go to eligible students. 

• A form letter template was created to send to the provider along with a copy of 
the provider section page of the student’s completed application. When mailing 
a copy of the provider section of the application to the provider make sure you 
only copy the provider page of the application and black out the student’s ID 
number at the top of the page. 

• Providers can verify the information in the provider section via telephone, faxing, 
emailing, or mailing the information back to the school. 

• Be sure to take adequate notes, including the date and time for auditing 
purposes.  
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Provider Verification

• You can modify the language on the form template. For example, if you would 
like all responses via email, you can delete the language and contact information 
for the other methods.

• Or, if you prefer to enclose a blank provider section form to be completed by the 
provider (similar to a verification worksheet) as opposed to having the provider 
verify a copy of a completed application.
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Provider Verification

• Schools that choose to disburse Postsecondary Child Care Grant funds directly to 
the child care provider will also need to verify the provider information prior to 
disbursing funds. 

• Provider verification will be required for each applicant at least once during the 
aid year prior to disbursing funds. Schools can opt to do provider verification 
more frequently. 

• If there is a change in provider, verification would need to be done for the new 
provider.
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Provider Verification

• To avoid liability for overpayments, a school will want to delay awarding a 
student until the provider’s information has been verified. 

• In cases where a student receives a disbursement prior to provider verification, 
and provider verification results in changes to the award, the student will be 
liable for the overpayment to the Postsecondary Child Care Grant Program. 

• If the school cannot collect the overpayment from the student, the school must 
repay the overpayments to the Postsecondary Child Care Grant Program. 
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Provider Verification

• In cases where verification does take place prior to awarding, but subsequent 
changes are reported after disbursement that decreases or eliminate the award, 
the student will be liable for the overpayment. 

• The school would not be required to repay the funds from institutional funds if it 
cannot collect the overpayment from the student. 

• These cases can be turned over to OHE to collect after you make diligent effort to 
collect the overpayment. 

Brenda Larter | http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=348



Provider Verification

• If in your best judgement, the student and/or provider willfully provided false 
information on the application, the student’s Postsecondary Child Care Grant 
should be cancelled and recouped for any term during the aid year for which 
fraudulent information was provided. 

• If the school cannot collect the funds after diligent efforts are made, the school 
will not be liable. 

• In these cases, the student’s liability can be turned over to OHE as an accounts 
receivable at the end of the year. 
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Provider Verification

• The school may also want to pursue action against the student according to its 
own student conduct policies and/or contact the county attorney for the county 
to initiate a fraud investigation. 

• OHE should be notified of all cases referred to the county attorney’s office.

• Financial Aid Administrators are free to require any type of documentation you 
feel is necessary to verify the accuracy of the student’s application.  Including, 
requiring the student to use a licensed day care facility that can provide 
documentation on facility stationary. 
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Prioritizing Applicants/Renewal Applications

• School’s are required to award all renewal applicants prior to awarding first time applicants. 
School must establish a deadline date by which applications for initial and renewal awards 
must be received for the initial prioritization of applications. 

• After all applicants (renewal and first-time) meeting the initial application deadline have 
been awarded, the school may then award students whose applications were received after 
the initial application deadline.

• Prioritization of applications received after the initial deadline date is based on the school’s 
written award policy.

• At this point there is no requirement that renewals be given priority over first time 
applicants. 

• Most schools have prioritized these applications based on the date received. 
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Prioritizing Applicants/Renewal Applications

• A “renewal” applicant is a student who:

• Received an award in the immediately preceding academic year, and has had continuing 
enrollment at the institution since the time the previous year’s award was given. 

• “Continuing enrollment” means that a student has not had an interruption in enrollment at 
the current institution for more than one academic term or 60 days in the preceding 
academic year, whichever is longer. 

• 2007 higher education bill contained language excusing enrollment interruption for those 
who left for active duty military service.
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Prioritizing Applicants/Renewal Applications

• A student may miss one academic term and summer term and not lose continuing 
enrollment status. 

• If funds don’t cover all renewal applicants meeting initial application deadline, school must 
prioritize these applications according to its written award policy. 

• If funds don’t cover all eligible applicants, school must maintain waiting list. 

• Prioritization of those on the waiting list is based on the school’s written award policy. 

• Schools must give priority to renewal applicants meeting initial priority deadline. 

• Schools should encourage students to apply and be placed on the waiting list even if no 
funds are available. 

• Waiting list data must be reported to OHE on both the refund/reallocation and the monthly 
spending reporting forms on the web.
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Prioritizing Applicants/Renewal Applications

• The program statute does not allow denial of Postsecondary Child Care awards for future aid 
years based on suspected fraud during the current aid year. However, schools can add 
language to your written award policy to address this issue.

• The statute requires renewal recipients who meet the school’s priority deadline to be given 
first priority during the next aid year. So a renewal applicant who provided fraudulent 
information the previous aid year must be given priority if student meets the priority 
deadline the following year. 

• For example, the information provided fall term was accurate, but spring term was 
fraudulent. Since the student was awarded during fall the student would be considered a 
renewal applicant. 
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Prioritizing Applicants/Renewal Applications

• However, if the student’s entire award was cancelled during the current aid year 
due to fraudulent information, the student would not be considered a renewal 
applicant the following aid year. 

• Applicant’s who do not meet the school’s priority deadline can be prioritized 
according the school’s written award policy. 

• Though most schools choose to rank applicants based on date of receipt, a school 
would have the option of assigning lowest priority to students who provided 
fraudulent information in a previous aid year. 
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Student Application Form

• A student must complete section A of the Postsecondary Child Care Grant 
program application, check and sign the certification section of the application. 
By signing the student certification, student agrees to:

• Report any changes in application data to school within 10 days. 
• Use Postsecondary Child Care Grant to pay child care expenses.
• Allows school and/or OHE to contact provider for verification and understands 

the application will be on hold pending provider verification.
• Allows information be shared between school, OHE and county child care 

assistance programs. 
• Parents or legal guardian of child is not available to care for child.
• Provide truthful information.
• May be required to return all or a portion of award for withdrawals.
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Student Application Form

• Provider must complete section B of the Postsecondary Child Care Grant program 
application, check and sign the certification section of the application. By signing 
the provider certification, provider agrees to:

• Provide truthful and correct information.
• Provide additional documentation, including confirming the information 

provided to Financial Aid administrator and grants permission to OHE or school 
auditors to review financial records to verify receipt of Postsecondary Child Care 
funds.

• Unlicensed child care providers only, grants permission to OHE or the school to 
report the amount of the student’s Postsecondary Child Care Grant to the IRS or 
MN Department of Revenue as taxable income to the provider, when requested.
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Student Application Form

• Understands they cannot charge a Postsecondary Child Care Grant recipient a 
higher rate for services than rates charged to non-recipients. 

• Understands if they give false or misleading information, they may be subject to 
a fine, prison sentence or both. 

• Understands they must immediately report any changes to the information 
provided to the school including no longer providing child care services to the 
student’s children. 
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Student Application Form

• Date stamp everything with the date received.

• Application must be complete prior to awarding the student. 

• You must verify household size and total income used in the calculation match 
what is listed on FAFSA and are consistent across financial aid programs.

• Resolve any conflicting information between the application and any other forms 
or documentation in the student’s file. 

• The school must keep a copy of the application form and any other 
documentation including notes in the student’s financial aid file. 

• An institution may maintain electronic records for the fiscal year file instead of 
paper copies, as long as the records are available to auditors.
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Written Award Policy

• The school must have a written Postsecondary Child Care Grant award policy with the 
effective date for implementation. 

• Prior to drafting this policy, review MN statutes and agency rules to ensure the policy is in 
accordance with these statutes and rules.

• The policy must be signed and dated by the Director of Financial Aid. 
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Written Award Policy

• Written award policy for prioritization must include the following:

• The institution’s method of prioritizing Postsecondary Child Care Grant applications.

• The deadline date for receipt of applications in order to be included in the initial 
prioritization of applications.

• The deadline date for receipt of applications in order to be included in the initial 
prioritization of applications. 

• The deadline date to resubmit an application for continuing a Postsecondary Child Care 
Grant.

• The standard method of award disbursement to the student or child care provider with the 
reasons for deviation from this policy documented in a student’s financial aid file.

Brenda Larter | http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=348



Written Award Policy

• The method used to create and maintain a waiting list.

• Any other institutional policies used to determine which students receive awards and how 
retroactive awards are processed. 

• The institutions method of prioritizing applications may assign the lowest priority to 
applicants who previously failed to report changes or provided fraudulent information on the 
application.

• The above suggestions are made to protect the institution in dealing with applicants to the 
Postsecondary Child Care Grant program and to provide for the equitable treatment of 
program applicants. 
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Award Period

• The school must award the student for the full 9-month academic year, fall through spring 
terms. 

• Can award for fewer terms if:

• Student will only attend partial year.

• Student will run out of eligibility mid year.

• Awarding later in academic year, you do have the option to award retroactively to past terms 
if funds are available.

• Remaining funds won’t cover full year.
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Award Period

• The institution is responsible for calculation of each student’s Postsecondary Child Care 
award. The calculation must be documented for each child for each term. 

• Although the initial award calculated for the nine-month academic year based on assumed 
actual costs and enrollment status, the award must be revised at the onset of each term to 
reflect actual costs and enrollment status for that term.
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Award Period

• Like State Grant school can award a student for up to three full-time semesters or four full-
time quarters.

• The award for the extra term is calculated in the same manner as for any other term. 

• A student could actually get awarded for both summer terms plus fall through spring terms 
provided, both summer terms were crossover terms. The sum of all term awards did not 
exceed 150% semester system or 133% quarter system of the annual maximum award for 
the student’s EFC and enrollment level.
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Award Calculation

• OHE has an award calculation spreadsheet and maximum award chart along with additional 
program forms are available on the OHE website.

• www.ohe.state.mn.us

• Financial Aid Administrator Resources.

• Forms for Financial Aid Administrators.

• Postsecondary Child Care Grant Program.

• The maximum award amount per eligible child, per year currently in statute is $6,500. 
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Example Annual Award Table under the Simplified Formula

Undergraduate Student Enrollment Levels Full-time 
(12 or more credits 

per term)

3Q Time 
(9-11 credits per 

term)

Half Time 
(6-8 credits per term)

Less than Half Time 
(1-5 credits per term)

Graduate Student Enrollment Levels Full-time (6 or more 
credits per term)

3 Quarter Time (5 
credits per term)

Half Time (3-4 credits 
per term)

1Quarter Time (1-2 
credits per term)

Pell Eligible: EFC $0-$6,656
$6,500 $4,875 $3,250 $1,625

EFC $6,657-$6,999 $6,347 $4,760 $3,174 $1,587

EFC $7,000-$7,999 $5,347 $4,010 $2,674 $1,337

EFC $8,000-$8,999 $4,347 $3,260 $2,174 $1,087

EFC $9,000-$9,999 $3,347 $2,510 $1,674 $837

EFC $10,000-$10,999 $2,347 $1,760 $1,174 $587

EFC $11,000-$11,999 $1,347 $1,010 $674 $337

EFC $12,000-$13,312 $655 $491 $328 $164

EFC $13,313 - + $0 $0 $0 $0

Annual Award Amount Per Eligible Child



Award Calculation

• The total Postsecondary Child Care Grant awarded to the student each term is the sum of 
Postsecondary Child Care Grant awards for each of the student’s eligible children.

• The term award for each eligible child is the lesser of:

• The student’s actual, reported child care costs for that child during the term; or

• The maximum annual award per eligible child on the Postsecondary Child Care Grant table 
divided by two for semester, or three for quarter, and adjusted for enrollment status. 
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Actual Child Care Costs

• Actual child care costs are reported by the provider on the application form. 

• Schools can require receipts to verify actual costs reported by the provider. 

• School can reference average provider rates collected by Department of Human Services. 

• Providers cannot charge Postsecondary Child Care Grant recipients a higher costs than non-
recipients. 

• The maximum rate payable to a provider is $5.00 per hour for home care or $10 per hour for 
center care up to a maximum of 40 hours per week. 

• Hours per week can include school hours, study time, work time, etc. we do not differentiate 
between school and work hours. 
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Actual Child Care Costs

• School can include costs for child care during breaks or portion of term when student not 
enrolled. 

• However, you cannot include costs for weeks when student is not receiving child care. 

• School must subtract any other child care assistance the student or spouse receives. Basic 
Sliding Fee, Early Childhood scholarship, Transition Year, employer child care assistance, 
other parent receiving discounted rate, child care scholarship, Postsecondary Child Care 
Grant received by spouse, or any other assistance programs. 

• If the day care rate is one cost for 17 weeks in the term and another cost for one “holiday” 
week. Use the 17 week cost for the 18 weeks in the term. 

• If the rate charged is a different rate at various times throughout the term you should use an 
average rate for the calculation worksheet. 
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Actual Child Care Costs

• School must also subtract court-ordered child care assistance paid to the provider by the 
other parent if it is not considered child support already included in the student’s income on 
the FAFSA. 

• Other sources of child care assistance should be reported by the provider in Section B of the 
application and by the student. 
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Infant Care Adjustment

• The amount shown on the Maximum Award Chart can be inflated by 10% to compensate for 
higher infant care costs. 

• The institution must request permission from OHE to make this adjustment on its annual 
program participation form.

• Student must document higher infant care costs by having provider complete the Request 
for Infant Care Adjustment Form. 

• “Infant” is defined by the provider up to a maximum age of 18 months. 
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Infant Care Adjustment

• If the child care provider is providing day care for only the student’s infant, the 10% 
adjustment would not be made because there is no means of documenting the provider 
charges higher costs for infant care.

• The student could appeal this decision to the financial aid administrator who could then 
make a 10% adjustment to the amount on the maximum award table if the provider’s infant 
care rate is above the average market rate in the provider’s county (see DHS Maximum 
Provider Rates). 

• The minimum award is $50 per semester or $33 per quarter. 
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Award Adjustments

• Award may change due to changes or corrections to household size or total income on the 
FAFSA, actual child care costs, MFIP status, enrollment status, provider information or other 
factors affecting award. 

• All changes affecting the award must be dated, documented and maintained in the student’s 
file. 

• If a change results in an increase in the student’s award, the school must increase the award 
if funds are available. This includes a student adding credits after the original award has been 
disbursed. 
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Award Adjustments

• If a change other than drop in enrollment level results in a reduction of Postsecondary Child 
Care Grant award, the school must either:

• Reduce the student’s awards for the subsequent terms of the aid year to compensate for the 
overpayment; or

• Bill the student for the overpayment and return the funds to the school’s Postsecondary 
Child Care Grant account on campus. 

• If student drops/withdraws credits or withdraws from school after the disbursement of the 
original award, the school must:

• Recalculate the award if the student did not attend classes; or

• Complete the OHE Refund Calculation Worksheet. 
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Award Adjustments

• You may choose an award adjustment end date that coincides with the end of the drop/add 
period or any other date during the term, including the last day of the term. 

• Whichever end date is selected for award adjustments, it must be used for all applicable 
state financial aid programs. 
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Disbursement

• The school can disburse the award to either the student or provider. 

• The award must be disbursed on a term basis, unless the school chooses to disburse more 
frequently. 

• Funds cannot be disbursed to the student or provider until the student is registered for 
classes for a term.

• If the student fails to begin the enrollment period, the school must refund the entire 
Postsecondary Child Care Grant award. 

• The student’s award must be based on the student’s enrollment level as of the date of 
disbursement. 
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Disbursement

• The school can use any of the following methods to disburse the Postsecondary Child Care 
Grant award: 

• By institutional check directly to the student or provider; or

• By institutional check mailed to the student or provider; or

• By crediting the student’s account, or 

• To the student via electronic funds transfer (EFT). 
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Disbursement

• School should request picture ID if disbursing funds directly to student. 

• If mailing a check to the student or provider, the institution must document the student’s or 
provider’s name, amount and types of charges paid by transaction, source and amount of 
any other financial aid funds included in the payment, number of the check and the date the 
check was mailed. 

• OHE will not replace lost or forged checks. 

• The institution must document the student’s name, amount and type of charges paid  by 
each transaction to the student’s account the source and amount of financial aid funds 
applied.
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Disbursement

• The institution must document the disbursement of funds to each student. 

• The disbursement date for funds disbursed to the student prior to beginning of the term will 
be the first day of required class attendance. 

• The disbursement date for funds disbursed to the student during the enrollment period will 
be the date the funds were credited to the student’s account or applied to tuition charges or 
the date of the check or EFT or the date the student or provider is handed the check. 

• The school must obtain written authorization from the student to disburse Postsecondary 
Child Care funds by EFT or to hold excess funds in the student’s account. 
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Disbursement

• The school may NOT require the student to provide written authorization and must allow the 
student to rescind authorization ay any time. 

• Authorization is valid for the award year and can be renewed upon written notice to the 
student informing the student of the provisions of the authorization and the right to rescind 
authorization. 

• Such notices should indicate how interest accumulates on the student’s account and 
whether interest will be paid to the school or student.
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Late Disbursement

• A school may make a late or retroactive payment to the student provided the student did not 
withdraw from school or drop below half-time status during the term in question. 

• Payment must be based on the student’s enrollment level as of the date of disbursement. 

• Credits for courses from which the student withdrew should not be counted towards 
enrollment level. 

• Credits with a grade of “F” or “N” should be counted as credits earned. 

• A retroactive payment for a term already completed can be made even if the student is no 
longer enrolled at the school, provided the student still meets the other program eligibility 
requirements. 

• A retroactive payment must be made from funds for the same fiscal year in which the term 
took place. 
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Refunds

• If a student does not attend any classes for a term the entire Postsecondary Child Care Grant 
award must be refunded. 

• If a student drops/withdraws credits for a class the student never attended, the school  must 
determine if an award adjustment is needed by comparing the student’s actual costs for the 
term to the amount on the Maximum Award Chart prorated for the revised enrollment level.

• If a student attends classes and then drops/withdraws credits or withdraws from school, the 
school must refund a proportional share of any remaining refund of institutional charges 
after the institution’s share of any required Title IV refund is subtracted. 

• Schools can use the OHE Refund Calculation Worksheet on OHE’s Forms for Multiple 
Programs web page.

• Proportional share is based on the Postsecondary Child Care Grant’s share of the total non-
title IV financial aid package. 
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Refunds

• Courses that a student withdrew, failed but never attended, failed but stopped attending 
prior to finals or the equivalent for a course cannot be included in the student’s enrollment 
level. All other grades, including “F”, “NC” and “I”, or it’s equivalent should be counted when 
determining the student’s enrollment level. 

• All refunds must be returned to the school’s Postsecondary Child Care Grant account and 
documented in the school’s fiscal records. 

• If the school has already closed-out the year, (end of year report has been submitted) 
additional refunds need to be returned directly to OHE with the OHE Refund Return Form. 
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Award Notification Denial/Termination

• The school must provide each recipient with an award notice which includes the amount of 
the award for each term and the names of the recipient’s children. 

• School must deny or terminate the student’s award if the student does not meet the 
program eligibility requirements.

• The denial or termination notice must be in writing and state the reason the award is being 
denied or terminated and inform the student of the right to appeal the adverse action and 
the procedure for doing so. 

• The provider should also be notified that the student’s award was denied or terminated.
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Denial/Termination

• Valid reasons for denial or termination include but are not limited to:

• Failure to provide required information or documentation.

• Failure to report status changes. 

• Misrepresentation of child care costs. 

• Extended absences without an approved leave of absence. 

• Failure to meet any of the program eligibility requirements.

• Payments must be suspended pending the outcome of any appeal.
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Denial/Termination

• The institution must allow the student to meet with financial aid administrator to discuss the 
termination and to provide documentation as to why the termination should not occur. 

• Students must follow the school’s appeal process established to handle complaints about 
financial aid program decisions. 

• If the student is not satisfied with the results of the appeal, the student may ask the school 
to forward the results to OHE for review. 

• OHE reviews the case to determine if the school made its decision in accordance with 
applicable program statutes and rules and informs the student and school of the decision 
which is considered final. 
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State Audit Requirements

• OHE staff will periodically perform an audit. Historical records and documentation must be 
kept on file for three years after the last day of the fiscal year or until all audit exceptions for 
the period have been resolved. 

• The school must have written documentation that verifies the student meets all of the 
requirements of the program. 

• Written award policy for prioritization. 

• All items must be date stamped.
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State Audit Documentation

• The school must have written documentation to show:

• An auditable trail from the application, through the account, to the disbursement of
Postsecondary Child Care Grant funds to the student or child care provider.

• The calculation of applicable refund amount for students who withdraw or reduce
enrollment status.

• That funds were used in the fiscal year in  which they were allocated, with the exception of
carry forward-back provision.
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State Audit Documentation

• Each student’s award calculation, including supporting income documentation and any 
recalculations. 

• Documentation of the required provider verification and/or federal verification.

• Copy of the Postsecondary Child Care Grant end of year report and applicable supplements. 

• Definition of satisfactory academic progress based on federal aid program regulations and 
MS 136A.101, subd. 10.
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Child Care Terms of Receipt

• Postsecondary Child Care Grant end of year reports only collected annual child 
care award amount. 

• OHE loaded 2004-2021 end of year reports into the database. 2021-2022 end 
of year reports will be added to the database soon.

• OHE compared data with the MN State Grant and OHE’s Research Department 
student enrollment database to obtain enrollment information. 

• OHE research staff sent data requests to the U of M system, MNState Central 
and each of the private participating institutions requesting term data 
information.

• OHE is holding both students and institutions harmless for an award given to a 
student who had missing term data information.



Child Care Terms of Receipt

• To access the Postsecondary Child Care Grant Terms of Receipt Database you will need to 
log into the State Grant Web Access using your email and the password assigned to you 
for access to the Child Care terms of receipt database. 

• https://www.ohe.state.mn.us/SSL/SG/index.cfm

https://www.ohe.state.mn.us/SSL/SG/index.cfm


Child Care Terms of Receipt



Thank you!

Brenda Larter
Brenda.larter@state.mn.us

651-355-0612

mailto:Brenda.larter@state.mn.us
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