Minnesota Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program

2016-2017

	FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section I	PAGE i
SECTION		DATE	
	Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	ogram July 2016	

Section I

•	ublic Safety Officer's Survivor (SOS) Grant Program	1
	Program Objective	1
	Program Overview	1
	Administration Overview	2
	Eligibility to Participate 1. Postsecondary Institutions 2. Students a. Enrolled in Eligible Program b. Years of Postsecondary Education c. Public Safety Certificate d. Age Limitation	2 3 3
	Terms of the Awards 1. Award Amount 2. Renewals 3. State Grant Eligibility 4. Deadline Date for Submission of Application 5. Refunds 6. Arrival of Awards at Institution 7. Withholding an Award	3 4 4 4
	Institutional Responsibilities	5 5 5
	State Audits 1. Student Eligibility 2. Documentation of Refunds 3. Return of Funds	6 7
	Summary of State Audit Requirements: Institutional Documentation	7
	ıdex	9

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section I	PAGE ii
Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	DATE July	2016

	_	- 4	•	_	
~	Δ	ct	\mathbf{I}	n	ш
J	ᆫ	Ŀι	ıv	,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,	

Section	on II
A.	Minnesota Statutes Governing Public Safety Officer's
	Survivor Benefits Program 1–6
B.	Minnesota Agency Rules Governing Public Safety Officer's
	Survivor Benefits Program7–8
Section Ap	pendices: Minnesota Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section I	PAGE 1
Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	DATE July 2016	

I. Public Safety Officer's Survivor (SOS) Grant Program

A. Program Objective

To provide financial assistance to students pursuing postsecondary education who are spouses or dependent children of public safety officers killed in the line of duty.

B. Program Overview

The Minnesota Office of Higher Education (the Agency) administers the education benefit portion of the Public Safety Officer's Survivor Benefits. Up to \$100,000 is available for awards. Dependent children less than 23 years of age and the surviving spouse of a public safety officer killed in the line of duty on or after January 1, 1973, are eligible to receive education benefits. The age limit is extended to less than 30 years for a dependent child who has served on active military duty 181 consecutive days or more and has been honorably discharged or released to the dependent child's reserve or National Guard unit.

In order to be eligible to receive a grant from this program, a student must be enrolled in an undergraduate or graduate degree or certificate program and not have received the maximum duration of 10 semesters or 15 quarters.

The grant award is the lesser of:

- the school's average tuition and mandatory fees for the term; or
- the applicable tuition and fee maximum established in law (for students in a four-year degree program, \$7,093 semester/\$4,728 quarter; for students in a two-year or less program, \$2,868 semester/\$1,912 quarter).

The student applies for a Safety Officer's Survivor Grant at the institution. Each institution is responsible for attaching a copy of the student's "Benefit Fund Certificate" received from the Commissioner of Public Safety and forwarding it to the Agency along with the original application for processing. The institution is also responsible for disbursing program funds to the student and administering the program in compliance with Minnesota statutes, agency rules and procedures.

	FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section I	PAGE 2
SECTION	Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	DATE July	2016

The school must maintain accurate and current records for each student receiving a Safety Officer's Survivor Grant. These records are subject to state audit and review.

C. Administration Overview

- 1. The student secures the "Public Safety Officer's Benefit Fund Certificate" from the Commissioner of Public Safety (Appendix 1).
- 2. The student completes the student portion of the application form followed by the institution completing the bottom portion. A copy of the student's "Benefit Fund Certificate" must be attached to the student's application form if the student is applying for the first time (Appendix 2).
- The institution forwards the student application to the Agency for processing. (Each student's application must be submitted each quarter/semester in order to receive funds.)
- 4. The institution receives a copy of the payment roster which lists students receiving awards from this program and the award amounts (Appendix 3).
- 5. The Agency disburses funds to the college via EFT to cover all students on the payment roster.
- 6. The institution must verify the student's enrollment and eligibility status before disbursing the funds or applying the funds to the student's account.
- 7. The payment roster (or a photocopy) is to be returned to the Agency with any refunds for individual students who were paid on that particular payment roster.

D. Eligibility to Participate

1. Postsecondary Institutions

Minnesota public or private postsecondary institutions eligible to participate in the State Grant program (Minnesota Statutes 136A.101, Subd. 4) are eligible to participate in the Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant program.

	FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section I	PAGE 3
SECTION	Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	DATE July	2016

2. Students

a. Enrolled in Eligible Program

The student must be enrolled in an undergraduate or graduate program leading to a degree or certificate at an eligible Minnesota institution.

b. Years of Postsecondary Education

The student must be enrolled in an undergraduate or graduate degree or certification program. Each award is given the first academic year and is renewable for a maximum of eight semesters or the equivalent.

c. Public Safety Certificate

The student must possess a "Public Safety Officer's Benefit Fund Certificate" issued by the Commissioner of Public Safety. The certificate must be presented to the financial aid office at the time of application so a copy of the certificate can be attached to the original application form.

d. Age Limitation

A dependent child of a public safety officer killed in the line of duty must be under 23 years of age on the first day of the academic year for which education benefits are requested. The age limit is extended to less than 30 years for a dependent child who has served on active military duty 181 consecutive days or more and has been honorably discharged or released to the dependent child's reserve or National Guard unit.

E. Terms of the Awards

1. Award Amount

The amount of the award is the lesser of:

- a. the annual average full-time tuition and mandatory fees charged by the institution, prorated for term length and enrollment level; or
- b. the applicable tuition and fee maximum established in law for the State Grant program, prorated for term length and enrollment level.

	FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section I	PAGE 4
SECTION	Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	DATE July 2016	

The annual full-time tuition and fee maximums are \$14,186 for students in a four-year degree program and \$5,736 for students in a two-year degree program.

Both the annual average full-time tuition and mandatory fees and the tuition and fee maximum must be prorated for term length and enrollment level. For example, for a student enrolled for 12 credits at a school on the semester system, the annual tuition and fees and the applicable tuition and fee maximum are multiplied by 50 percent and then by 80 percent (12/15ths).

2. Renewals

Each award is given for one academic year but is renewable for a maximum of eight semesters, 12 quarters or the equivalent. The student must reapply for a grant each term in order to receive the funds. An award will not be renewed if the student is a dependent child who has reached the age limitations described under 'Age Limitations.'

3. State Grant Eligibility

An award from the Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant program must not affect a recipient's eligibility for a State Grant.

4. Deadline Date for Submission of Application

A student's application must be received by the Agency no later than the last day of classes for the academic year for which grant funds are being requested.

5. Refunds

If a recipient fails to enroll or reduces enrollment, the institution must refund the unused portion of the award to the Agency. To determine the correct refund amount, refer to the Refund Calculation Worksheet in the 'State Grant' chapter, Appendix 13.

Funds returned to the Agency are available for awards to other eligible students.

	FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section I	PAGE 5
SECTION I	Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	DATE July	2016

6. Arrival of Awards at Institution

The Agency shall send a student's grant award to the institution within 30 days of the receipt of the student's application for the academic term but not before July 1 of the academic year for which the award is intended.

7. Withholding an Award

The Agency shall withhold payment for a student until all information on the application is complete and the student's eligibility is verified.

F. Institutional Responsibilities

1. Monitoring Student Eligibility

Each eligible institution with award recipients must maintain accurate and updated records for every student receiving a Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant. The financial aid administrator must verify through the appropriate administrative office at the institution that the student continues to meet the student eligibility requirements throughout the student's course of study.

Each institution must establish a procedure to inform the financial aid office (or other appropriate office) of all changes in a student's status which may affect his/her eligibility for a Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant.

2. Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Application

The institution must complete the "school section" of the student's application and submit an application to the Agency for the student for each academic term of the academic year. The first time a student submits an application for an award, the institution must attach a copy of the student's "Public Safety Officer's Benefit Fund Certificate" received from the Commissioner of Public Safety to the application form prior to submitting it to the Agency for processing.

3. Disbursement of Awards

Institutions are responsible for notifying their students that Public Safety Officer's Survivor funds have been received from the Agency.

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section I	PAGE 6
Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	DATE July 2016	

Awards must be disbursed in a manner consistent with the requirements provided in the 'Disbursement Process' section of the 'State Grant' chapter of this manual.

a. Certifying Student Eligibility

At the time of disbursement, the school must verify that the student meets all of the program eligibility requirements.

G. State Audits

State auditors will periodically visit each institution to perform an audit. Schools also have the option of hiring an independent audit firm to conduct state audits in conjunction with audits of federal aid programs. (See 'Audits' under 'Common Definitions' chapter of this manual.)

Each institution must establish a procedure by which an audit can be conducted by going to no more than three administrative offices within the school. In most cases, these will be the financial aid office, the business office and the registrar's office, but that choice is made by the institution.

The institution must make available all pertinent books, documents, papers and records for audit and examination for three years after the last day of a fiscal year or until all audit exceptions for the period are resolved.

1. Student Eligibility

The school must have written documentation to support the student's eligibility including, but not limited to, the following:

- a. the student's enrollment level in an eligible program at the time of the award disbursement. The actual documentation, such as a fee statement or transcript, need not be kept at the audit location but must be readily available at the Registrar's Office or other responsible department within the school; and
- b. that the student met the other program eligibility requirements described in the 'Eligibility to Participate' section of this chapter.

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section I	PAGE 8
Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	DATE July	2016

	FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section I	PAGE 9
SECTION	Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	DATE July	2016

Index

```
age limitation, 3
application deadline, 4
application process, 2, 5
audit requirements, 6
    records retention, 6
    refund documentation, 7
    return of checks, 7
    student eligibility documentation, 6
    summary of, 7
award
    calculation, 3
    renewal, 4
degree, 3
disbursement, 2
    from Agency to school, 5
    to student, 5
eligible institutions, 2
eligible student, 3
enrollment status, 3
military service
    withdrawal for, 3
Minnesota State Grant
    affect on, 4
monitoring student eligibility, 5, 6
payment roster, 2
program objective, 1
program overview, 1
Public Safety Officer's Benefit Fund Certificate, 3, 5, 7
refunds, 4, 7
renewal awards, 4
withdrawal
    for active military service, 3
years of postsecondary education, 3
```

Minnesota
Statutes
Governing
Public
Safety
Officer's
Survivor
Grant
Program

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section II	PAGE 1
Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	DATE May	2016

299A.41 DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. **Scope.** The definitions used in this section apply to sections 299A.41 to 299A.46.

- Subd. 2. **Dependent child.** A "dependent child" means a person who is unmarried and who was either living with or was receiving support contributions from the public safety officer at the time of death, including a child by birth, a stepchild, an adopted child, or a posthumous child, and who is:
- (1) under 18 years of age;
- (2) over 18 years of age and incapable of self-support because of physical or mental disability; or
- (3) over 18 years of age and a student as defined by United States Code, title 5, section 8101.
- Subd. 3. **Killed in the line of duty.** "Killed in the line of duty" does not include deaths from natural causes, except as provided in this subdivision. In the case of a public safety officer, killed in the line of duty includes the death of a public safety officer caused by accidental means while the public safety officer is acting in the course and scope of duties as a public safety officer. Killed in the line of duty also means if a public safety officer dies as the direct and proximate result of a heart attack, stroke, or vascular rupture, that officer shall be presumed to have died as the direct and proximate result of a personal injury sustained in the line of duty if:
- (1) that officer, while on duty:
 - (i) engaged in a situation, and that engagement involved nonroutine stressful or strenuous physical law enforcement, fire suppression, rescue, hazardous material response, emergency medical services, prison security, disaster relief, or other emergency response activity; or
 - (ii) participated in a training exercise, and that participation involved nonroutine stressful or strenuous physical activity;
- (2) that officer died as a result of a heart attack, stroke, or vascular rupture suffered;
 - (i) while engaging or participating under clause (1);
 - (ii) while still on duty after engaging or participating under clause (1); or
 - (iii) not later than 24 hours after engaging or participating under clause (1); and
- (3) the presumption is not overcome by competent medical evidence to the contrary.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

	FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section II	PAGE 2
SECTION		DATE	201.5
	Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	May	2016

Subd. 4. **Public safety officer.** "Public safety officer" includes:

- (1) a peace officer defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (c) or (d);
- (2) a correction officer employed at a correctional facility and charged with maintaining the safety, security, discipline, and custody of inmates at the facility;
- (3) an individual employed on a full-time basis by the state or by a fire department of a governmental subdivision of the state, who is engaged in any of the following duties:
 - (i) firefighting;
 - (ii) emergency motor vehicle operation;
 - (iii) investigation into the cause and origin of fires;
 - (iv) the provision of emergency medical services; or
 - (v) hazardous material responder;
- (4) a legally enrolled member of a volunteer fire department or member of an independent nonprofit firefighting corporation who is engaged in the hazards of firefighting;
- (5) a good samaritan while complying with the request or direction of a public safety officer to assist the officer;
- (6) a reserve police officer or a reserve deputy sheriff while acting under the supervision and authority of a political subdivision;
- (7) a driver or attendant with a licensed basic or advanced life-support transportation service who is engaged in providing emergency care;
- (8) a first responder who is certified by the emergency medical services regulatory board to perform basic emergency skills before the arrival of a licensed ambulance service and who is a member of an organized service recognized by a local political subdivision to respond to medical emergencies to provide initial medical care before the arrival of an ambulance; and
- (9) a person, other than a state trooper, employed by the commissioner of public safety and assigned to the State Patrol, whose primary employment duty is either Capitol security or the enforcement of commercial motor vehicle laws and regulations.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Subd. 5. **Spouse.** "Spouse" means a person legally married to the decedent at the time of the decedent's death.

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section II	PAGE 3
Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	DATE May	2016

History: 1990 c 591 art 5 s 1; 1991 c 199 art 1 s 66; 1992 c 523 s 1,2; 1992 c 553 s 1; 1Sp2001 c 8 art 2 s 66; 2005 c 10 art 2 s 4

299A.42 PUBLIC SAFETY OFFICER'S BENEFIT ACCOUNT.

The public safety officer's benefit account is created in the state treasury. Money in the account consists of money transferred and appropriated to that account. Money in the account that is not expended in the fiscal year in which it is transferred or appropriated does not revert to the general fund until claims for reimbursement under section 299A.465 that are submitted in that fiscal year are either paid or denied.

History: 1990 c 591 art 5 s 2; 1Sp2003 c 2 art 4 s 2

299A.43 ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION; CONTESTED CASE.

A challenge to a determination of eligibility by the commissioner of public safety must be heard as a contested case, except that the decision of the administrative law judge is binding on the parties to the proceeding. The order of the administrative law judge is the final decision of the commissioner. The hearing must be conducted according to sections 14.62 and is subject to appeal according to sections 14.63 to 14.68.

History: 1990 c 591 art 5 s 3

299A.44 DEATH BENEFIT.

Subdivision 1. Payment required.

- (a) On certification to the governor by the commissioner of public safety that a public safety officer employed within this state has been killed in the line of duty, the commissioner of finance shall pay \$100,000 from the public safety officer's benefit account, as follows:
 - (1) if there is no dependent child, to the spouse;
 - (2) if there is no spouse, to the dependent child or children in equal shares;
 - (3) if there are both a spouse and one or more dependent children, one-half to the spouse and one-half to the child or children, in equal shares;
 - (4) if there is no surviving spouse or dependent child or children, to the parent or parents dependent for support on the decedent, in equal shares; or

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section II	PAGE 4
Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	DATE May 2016	

- (5) if there is no surviving spouse, dependent child, or dependent parent, to the public safety officer's estate.
- (b) If there are both a spouse and one or more dependent children under age 18, the spouse, at the spouse's discretion, may spend a maximum of one-third of a child's share on medical or dental treatment for the child or the child's education. Expenditures under this paragraph on behalf of a child do not diminish the shares of any other children. In addition, a spouse, at the spouse's discretion, may expend money from a child's share to pay state and federal taxes on any interest accrued on the share.

Subd. 2. **Adjustment of benefit.** On October 1 of each year beginning after July 1, 1995, the commissioner of public safety shall adjust the level of the benefit payable immediately before October 1 under subdivision 1, to reflect the annual percentage change in the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers, published by the federal Bureau of Labor Statistics, occurring in the one-year period ending on June 1 immediately preceding such October 1.

History: 1990 c 591 art 5 s 4; 1995 c 133 s 1; 1995 c 226 art 2 s 4; 1995 c 265 art 2 s 26; 1Sp2003 c 2 art 4 s 3

299A.45 EDUCATION BENEFIT.

Subdivision 1. **Eligibility.** A person is eligible to receive educational benefits under this section if the person:

- (1) is certified under section 299A.44 and in compliance with this section and rules of the commissioner of public safety and the Minnesota Office of Higher Education;
- (2) is enrolled in an undergraduate degree or certificate program after June 30, 1990, or a graduate degree or certificate program after June 30, 2011, at an eligible Minnesota institution as provided in section 136A.101, subdivision 4;
- (3) has not received benefits for the maximum duration specified in subdivision 4; and
- (4) is related in one of the following ways to a public safety officer killed in the line of duty on or after January 1, 1973:
 - (i) as a dependent child less than 23 years of age;
 - (ii) as a surviving spouse; or

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section II	PAGE 5
Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	DATE May 2016	

(iii) as a dependent child less than 30 years of age who has served on active military duty 181 consecutive days or more and has been honorably discharged or released to the dependent child's reserve or National Guard unit.

Subd. 2. Award amount.

- (a) The amount of the award is the lesser of:
 - (1) the average tuition and fees charged by the institution; or
 - (2) the tuition maximums established by law for the state grant program under section 136A.121. The tuition maximum for graduate study is the maximum established by law for the state grant program for four-year programs.
- (b) An award under this subdivision must not affect a recipient's eligibility for a state grant under section 136A.121.
- (c) For the purposes of this subdivision, "fees" include only those fees that are mandatory and charged to all students attending the institution.
- (d) For the purpose of benefits awarded under this section, "full time" for a graduate program is eight or more credits per term or the equivalent.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from July 1, 2011.

Subd. 3. **Payment.** On proof of eligibility for this program, an eligible institution, on behalf of the student, shall request payment of the award from the Minnesota Office of Higher Education. An institution must not request payment unless the student is enrolled in or has completed the term for which the payment is intended.

Subd. 4. **Renewal.** Each award must be given for one academic year and is renewable for a maximum of eight semesters or the equivalent. A student who withdraws from enrollment for active military service or for a major illness, while under the care of a medical professional, that substantially limits the student's ability to complete the term is entitled to an additional semester or the equivalent of grant eligibility. An award must not be given to a dependent child who is 23 years of age or older on the first day of the academic year.

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section II	PAGE 6
Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	DATE May	2016

History: 1990 c 591 art 5 s 5; 1991 c 356 art 8 s 22; 1995 c 212 art 3 s 59; 1Sp2001 c 1 art 2 s 20,21; 2003 c 133 art 3 s 26; 2005 c 107 art 2 s 53,54,59,60; 2008 c 363 art 4 s 10; 2009 c 95 art 2 s 36; 2012 c 270 s 12,13; 2013 c 99 art 2 s 25

NOTE: The additional semester or the equivalent of grant eligibility under subdivisions 1 and 4, as amended by Laws 2005, chapter 107, article 2, sections 53 and 54 respectively, applies to any student who withdrew from enrollment in a postsecondary institution after December 31, 2002, because the student was ordered to active military service as defined in section 190.05, subdivision 5b or 5c. Laws 2005, chapter 107, article 2, section 59.

299A.46 RULES.

The commissioner of public safety may adopt rules under chapter 14 to implement, coordinate, and administer sections 299A.41 to 299A.44. The Minnesota Office of Higher Education may adopt rules to implement, coordinate, and administer section 299A.45.

History: 1990 c 591 art 5 s 6; 1995 c 212 art 3 s 59; 1995 c 233 art 2 s 56; 2005 c 107 art 2 s 60

Office of Higher Education Rules Governing Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section II	PAGE 7
Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	DATE Decemb	per 2003

4830.8000 SCOPE.

Parts 4830.8000 to 4830.8040 govern state postsecondary education grants to spouses and dependent children of public safety officers killed in the line of duty.

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.04; 136A.16; 136A.234

Hist: 15 SR 2266

4830.8010 ELIGIBLE INSTITUTIONS.

A student receiving a grant from the Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program must attend a postsecondary institution that is an eligible institution as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.101, subdivision 4, and part 4830.0300, subparts 1 and 2, as limited by Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.45, subdivision 1.

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.04; 136A.16; 136A.234

Hist: 15 SR 2266

4830.8020 ELIGIBLE RECIPIENT.

To be eligible for a grant, the person must:

- A. be enrolled in an undergraduate degree or certificate program after June 30, 1990, at an eligible institution as specified in part 4830.8010;
- B. not have received a baccalaureate degree, nor have been enrolled full time or the equivalent for eight semesters or 12 quarters, whichever occurs first;
- C. be a dependent child less than 23 years of age or the surviving spouse of a public safety officer killed in the line of duty on or after January 1, 1973; and
- D. provide a copy of the certification of eligibility received from the commissioner of public safety to the eligible institution.

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.01; 136A.04; 136A.16; 136A.234

Hist: 15 SR 2266; 23 SR 594

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section II	PAGE 8
Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	Decemb	per 2003

4830.8030 INSTITUTIONAL REQUEST AND DISBURSEMENT OF FUNDS FOR GRANTS.

Subpart 1. **Institutional request.** After verifying a student's eligibility, the institution must submit a written request to the executive director for payment of grant money for the student. A separate request must be submitted for each academic term the student is enrolled. A copy of the student's certificate of eligibility from the commissioner of public safety must accompany the institution's first request for payment.

Subp. 2. **Deadline.** The request for grant money for a student must be received by the executive director no later than the last day of classes for the academic year for which grant money is requested.

Subp. 3. **Disbursement of funds.** An institution must not disburse grant money for a student unless the student is enrolled in or has completed the academic term for which payment is intended.

Subp. 4. **Refunds.** A grant is made for a student's attendance at a specific institution for the state fiscal year. If a recipient fails to enroll or reduces enrollment, the institution must refund the unused portion of the grant to the executive director. Refunded money is available for awards to other eligible students.

Stat Auth: MS s 14.388; 136A.04; 136A.16; 136A.234

Hist: 15 SR 2266; 28 SR 889

4830.8040 PAYMENTS TO INSTITUTIONS.

Subpart 1. **Time of payment.** The executive director shall send grant money for an eligible student to the institution within 30 days of receipt of a request for payment, but not before July 1 of the academic year for which payment is intended.

Subp. 2. **Withholding payment.** The executive director shall withhold payment for a student until the institution's request for payment is complete and the student's eligibility is verified.

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.04; 136A.16; 136A.234

Hist: 15 SR 2266

Appendices:
Minnesota
Public
Safety
Officer's
Survivor
Grant
Program

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section III	PAGE 1
Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	DATE July	2016

Appendices: Minnesota Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program

	<u>Appendix</u>
Benefit Fund Certificate	1
Student Application Form	2
Manual Payment Roster	3

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL

NUMBER Section III

PAGE App 1

SECTION

Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program

July 2016



Is eligible for education benefits under the Public Safety Officer's Benefit Fund in accordance with Minnesota Statute 299A.45, at a Minnesota Public or Private Post secondary institution upon presentation of this certificate.



In Witness Whereof, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the Seal of the Department of Public Safety of the State of Minnesota to be affixed this fourth day of September in the year of our Lord one thousand nine hundred and ninety-seven, and of the State the one hundred thirty-third.

HECBSOS/072697/477700066/122854

Commissioner of Public Safety

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section III	PAGE App 2
Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	DATE July	2016

2016-2017 Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program Application

Student completes Section A. Financial aid administrator at the school completes section B. Students applying to the Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program must return this completed application to the financial aid office at the school you are/will be attending. You must attach a copy of your certification from the Commissioner of Public Safety to the application.

SECTION A – To be completed by student (Please use ink or type)					
1. Name (Last, First, Middle)					
2. Social Security Number	3. Date of Birth (month, day, year)		year)	4. County of Residence	
5. Permanent Home Address			6. Telep	phone Number (include area code)	
7. City, State, Zip Code			8. Stude	ent's Email Address	
9. I am: (check one) — enrolled in a 4-year undergraduate d — enrolled in a 2-year undergraduate d — enrolled in a certificate program. — enrolled in a graduate program.		10. I am: (check one) □ a surviving spouse of a public safety officer killed in the line of duty. □ a surviving dependent child of a public safety officer killed in the line of duty. (Complete item #11)			
11. If you are the surviving dependent child of a public safety officer killed in the line of duty, when will you be 23 years of age? //			tilled in the duty 181 o norably di		
STUDENT CERTIFICATION					
I certify that the information on this application about my financial aid package from the postsed the Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Prog a fine, prison sentence or both; and such action	condary institution the ram and that if I purp	at I attend. I ur osely give fals	nderstand the or mislead	at this form is used to establish eligibility for ding information on this form I am subject to	
Student's Signature	,			Date (month, day, year)	
SECTION B – To be completed by the s	chool				
Name of Postsecondary institution			2.	Date (month, day, year)	
3. Street Address			4.	Telephone Number (include area code)	
5. City, State, Zip Code			6.	School Administrator's Email Address	
7. Name of School Administrator (print o	7. Name of School Administrator (print or type) 8. School Administrator's Signature				
9. Provide enrollment level (# credits) for term student is applying for. This information must be submitted each term.					
fall winter	spring	sui	mmer		

	FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section III	PAGE App 2
SECTION	Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program		2016

2016-2017 Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program Application Instructions

YOU MUST ATTACH A COPY OF YOUR CERTIFICATION FROM THE COMMISSIONER OF PUBLIC SAFETY TO THE APPLICATION.

Read instructions before completing the application. Incomplete applications will not be processed. Students applying to the Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program must complete this application and return it to the financial aid office at the school you are/will be attending. Applications must be completed in ink or typed.

To be eligible to receive a Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant, a student must:

- 1. be a dependent child less than 23 years of age (or 30 years of age for a public safety officer's surviving dependent child who has served on active military duty 181 consecutive days or more and has been honorably discharged or released to the surviving dependent child's reserve or National Guard unit) or the surviving spouse of a public safety officer killed in the line of duty on or after January 1, 1973;
- 2. be enrolled in an undergraduate degree or certificate program or a graduate degree or certificate program at an eligible Minnesota institution;
- 3. not have received benefits for the maximum of 10 full-time semesters or 15 full-time quarters (a student who withdraws from enrollment for active military service is entitled to an additional semester of grant eligibility); and
- 4. attach a copy of the certification of eligibility received from the Commissioner of Public Safety to the application.

The award amount is the lesser of:

- a. the annual average full-time tuition and mandatory fees charged by the institution, prorated for term length and enrollment level*; or
- b. the applicable tuition and fee maximum established in law prorated for term length and enrollment level. The annual full-time tuition and fee maximums for the 2016-2017 academic year are \$14,186 for students in a four-year degree or graduate program and \$5,736 for students in a two-year degree program.

NOTICE TO APPLICANTS

Section 7(b) of the Federal Privacy Act of 1974 (5 U.S.C. 552a) requires that when any federal, state, or local government agency asks you to disclose your Social Security Account Number, you must be advised whether that disclosure is mandatory or voluntary, by what statutory or other authority the number is solicited, and what uses will be made of it. Accordingly, you are being advised that disclosure of your Social Security number is voluntary.

The Social Security number will be used to verify your identity, and as an identifier of your file in order to record necessary data accurately. As an identifier, the Social Security number is used in the Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program for such purposes as processing the application form, program evaluation and reporting, and notification of program eligibility and award amount to your postsecondary institution.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Sec. 13.04, subd. 2 (2004), you are hereby informed that the information supplied in this application may be used as follows: (1) in the processing and verification of the data supplied to determine your eligibility for this program; (2) for compilation and analysis of summary data relative to this program; and (3) for dissemination of information to the school. You are not required to provide the information supplied in this application. However, failure to submit requested data may prevent further processing of this application. The information supplied in this application may be shared with other public and private individuals and entities in order to use the information for the purposes specified above.

The Minnesota Office of Higher Education does not discriminate on the basis of disability in the admission or access to, or treatment or employment, in its programs or activities. This document can be made available in an alternative format to individuals by calling (651) 642-0567.

^{*}The award amount is based on enrollment level. Therefore, if the student drops or changes enrollment level after disbursement, a refund may be necessary. Please follow State Grant guidelines on 'Adjustments to Award Based on Change in Enrollment Level' to determine if a refund is necessary.

	FINANCIAL AID MANUAL	NUMBER Section III	PAGE App 3
SECTION	Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant Program	DATE July	2016

Manual Payment Request & Roster

equest & Roster	School Name:	School Address:		Fice Code:
Manual Payment Request & Roster	Date:	Program: Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant	Payment Requested by: Brenda Larter	Warrant Payable to: Institution
Office of Higher Education 1450 Energy Park Drive	Suite 350 St Paul MN 55108-5227	651-642-0567 1-800-657-3866	MN Relay Service:	

2016-2017 Academic Year

Student Name	Vendor Number	Total Award Amount Paid to Date 15-16	Payment Amount	Term	Document Number	Returned Amount	Reason for Return
		S	SA.			69	
		8	8			€	
		\$	89			\$	
		S	89			⇔	
		⇔	۶۶			69	
	Tota	Total Payments:	\$				
For Financial Services Use Only:			То Ве Сош	To Be Completed by Institution:	stitution:		
E603 1416, E60 1416, 1000 Acct Code 441101			I verify the amo according to the	I verify the amounts listed above have been recei according to the established program procedures.	have been received tram procedures.	I verify the amounts listed above have been received and the monies disbursed or returned according to the established program procedures.	sed or returned
Date Invoice Safety Officers	fficers						
I hereby certify that this payment is in accordance with specifications and is in proper form, kind, amount, and quality, and payment therefore is hereby recommended.	with specifications and is yy recommended.	s in proper form, kind,	Note: Return ra of Higher Educa	oster and any refi ation, at the addre	[Note: Return roster and any refunds to the attention of Higher Education, at the address shown above.]	[Note: Return roster and any refunds to the attention of the Financial Services Unit at Office of Higher Education, at the address shown above.]	ces Unit at Office
Payment approved by: Signature of Fina	nancial Services Official	ıl	Signature			Date (Mo/Day/Yr)	/Yr)