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 Good Morning!
 You have to install Microsoft Lync 2010 

Attendee to get audio and video with this 
webinar (it’s free)
 http://www.microsoft.com/en-

us/download/details.aspx?id=15755
 Please try to view the webinar on a PC rather 

than a Mac
 Don’t worry if you are having technical 

difficulties
 This webinar will be recorded and posted on 

OHE’s web site for later viewing

MN Prosperity/Dream Act
Passed by MN State Legislature & signed by Gov. 
Mark Dayton in May 2013
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Prosperity Act (MN Dream Act)
 Amended to Omnibus Higher Education 

bill
 Signed into law on May 23, 2013
 Applies to any academic term starting on 

or after July 1, 2013 at a Minnesota 
college or university

Prosperity Act (MN Dream Act)
Eligible for:
 In-state tuition rates at MnSCU and 

University of MN campuses 
 State financial aid programs
 Privately-funded scholarships 

administered by MnSCU or U of M 
campuses

Prosperity Act (MN Dream Act)
Requirements:
 Attend a MN high school for at least 3 

years
 Graduate from a MN high school or earn 

a GED in MN
 If male, complied with Selective Service 

registration requirements
 Apply for lawful immigration status once 

federal process exists (does not refer to 
Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals)
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Prosperity Act (MN Dream Act)
Selective Service Requirements
 Males 18 to 25 years old born after 1960 

are required to register 
 This includes undocumented immigrants

 If student has social security number via 
Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals 
(DACA) status
 Register for Selective Service online at: 

www.sss.gov
 Should receive confirmation in 1-2 weeks

Prosperity Act (MN Dream Act)
 If student does not have SSN, must mail in 

registration card
 Pick up at any U.S. post office or MN Office of 

Higher Education
 Takes 30-90 days for confirmation to be sent 

back to student
 Avoid delays by completing registration 

card and mailing to OHE along with other 
documentation needed for MN Dream Act
 OHE will make copy and mail original to 

Selective Service System on student’s behalf

Prosperity Act (MN Dream Act)
 If male student 26 or older never 

registered, must prove failure to register 
was not knowing or willful

 Download Request for Status Information 
Letter from www.sss.gov, complete and 
mail to Selective Service System
 If Selective Service System determines 

student’s failure to register was not knowing 
or willful, student will be eligible for MN 
Dream Act

 Otherwise, student will not be eligible
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Prosperity Act (MN Dream Act)
Documentation required to establish eligibility 
for MN Dream Act
 High school transcripts (don’t have to be 

certified/sealed)

 High school diploma or GED (if high school 
graduation not documented on transcripts)

 Proof of Selective Service registration (for 
males born after 1960)
 Completed SS registration card or
 Proof of registration from Selective Service or
 Confirmation from Selective Service that failure 

to register was not knowing or willful

Prosperity Act (MN Dream Act)
 MN Dream Act repealed state rules requiring 

state financial aid recipients to be U.S. 
citizens or eligible non-citizens

 Students will only have to meet ONE of the 
criteria in the definition of Minnesota resident 
student in state statute 136A.101, Subd. 8
 MN Dream Act provisions are one of the MN 

resident criteria
 Undocumented students who don’t meet MN 

Dream Act criteria may qualify if they were 
granted DACA status prior to meeting one of 
the other state residency criteria

MN Resident Definition
 Graduated from MN high school while residing in 

MN
 Earned a GED in MN after residing in MN for 1 year
 Dependent applicant’s parents resided in MN 

when student applied for financial aid
 Resided in MN for one year and did not attend 

college on a half-time basis or more
 Refugee who immediately settled in MN
 Relocated to MN due to college education being 

disrupted in area of natural disaster
 Stationed on active military duty in MN
 Spouse/dependent of veteran who is MN resident
 MN Dream Act criteria
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In-State Tuition at MnSCU & U of M
 Students meeting MN Dream Act (or MN 

residency criteria after receiving DACA 
status) eligible for in-state tuition rates

 Several MnSCU campuses and U of M 
Crookston and Morris campuses no longer 
have non-resident tuition rates

 Students will only have to apply for in-state 
tuition under the MN Dream Act if the 
campus charges a non-resident tuition 
rate

2013-14 Resident vs. Non-Resident Tuition*
College Resident Non-Resident Savings

U of M – TC $12,060 $18,310 $6,250
U of M - Duluth $11,720 $15,385 $3,665
Metro State Univ $ 6,329 $12,914 $6,585
MN State Univ, Mankato $ 6,668 $14,327 $7,659
MN State Univ Moorhead $ 6,898 $13,791 $6,893

Saint Cloud State Univ $ 6,584 $14,226 $7,642
Winona State Univ $ 6,866 $12,456 $5,590
Lake Superior College $ 4,418 $ 8,835 $4,417
MN West CC&TC $ 5,147 $10,293 $5,146
Pine Technical College $ 4,595 $ 9,190 $4,595

*Undergraduate tuition for 30 semester credits

Prosperity Act (MN Dream Act)

What state financial aid 
programs are available?
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Independent Student Definition 
Used for 2013-2014 Financial Aid
Age 24 by December 31, 2013
Married
Graduate or professional student
Has children or other dependents
Orphan, foster care or ward of court at any 

time since turning 13
 Emancipated minor or in legal guardianship
Unaccompanied homeless youth at any 

time after July 1, 2012
Dependency override

Expected Family Contribution (EFC)

Dependent Student
• Parents’ income and 

assets
• Household size
• Number of 

dependents 
attending college

• Student’s income and 
assets
• If income > $6,130

Independent Student
• Student’s (and spouse’s) 

income and assets
• Household size
• Number in household 

attending college

MN State Grant Program
 Need-based grant based on student’s 

federal EFC, price of college and enrollment 
level

 Gift aid; does NOT have to be repaid
 Must be used by MN resident at MN college
 Eligible until student has attended college for 

4 full-time academic years (or equivalent)
 Cannot be in default on student loans or 

delinquent on child support
 Must be making satisfactory academic 

progress in college pursuing certificate, 
diploma or degree
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MN State Grant Program
Average Tuition & Mandatory Fees* (30 sem/45 qtr credits) 

+ Living and Misc Expense Allowance (LME)** ($7,900)

= State Grant Budget
- 50% Assigned Student Responsibility
- Annual 9-month FM PC (dependent) X .96*** 
- Annual FM EFC X .86 (independent with deps)*** or  

Annual FM EFC X .50 (independent w/o deps)***
- Pell Grant Award                                                        
= State Grant Annual Award (minimum $100)
*subject to tuition & fee caps $13,000 for 4-yr program; $5,808 for 2-yr or less 

program
**LME $0 for those in correctional facility. 
***For MnSCU campuses only, contribution further prorated for enrollment level

(e.g., by 10/15ths or .667 for a student taking 10 credits)

MN State Grant Program
(Awards for Student With $0 EFC)

Annual Annual
Pell Grant State

Award Grant
$5,645 $4,805 
$5,645 $4,105 
$5,645 $3,415 
$5,645 $2,715 
$4,234 $3,426 
$4,234 $2,736 
$4,234 $2,036 
$2,823 $2,747 
$2,823 $2,057 
$2,823 $1,357 
$1,411 $2,069 
$1,411 $1,379 
$1,411 $679 

Credits
For

Term
15
14
13
12
11
10

9
8
7
6
5
4
3

Annual Annual
Pell Grant State

Award Grant
$5,645 $2,145 
$5,645 $1,623 
$5,645 $1,109 
$5,645 $587 
$4,234 $1,476 
$4,234 $962 
$4,234 $440 
$2,823 $1,329 
$2,823 $815 
$2,823 $293 
$1,411 $1,183 
$1,411 $669 
$1,411 $147 

Annual Annual
Pell Grant State

Award Grant
$5,645 $987 
$5,645 $543 
$5,645 $105 
$5,645 $0 
$4,234 $627 
$4,234 $190 
$4,234 $0 
$2,823 $712 
$2,823 $274 
$2,823 $0 
$1,411 $797 
$1,411 $360 
$1,411 $0 

U of M/Private State University 2-Year Public

Postsecondary Child Care Grant 
Program
 For low-income students with children in child 

care while they attend college
 Available to MN residents attending MN 

public colleges and private 4-year degree-
granting colleges

 Gift aid; does NOT have to be repaid
 Eligible until student has attended college for 

4 full-time academic years (or equivalent)
 Cannot be in default on student loans 
 Must be making satisfactory academic 

progress in college
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Postsecondary Child Care Grant 
Program
 Maximum award per child for full-time 

student $2,800
 Must fill out paper program application after 

completing online state financial aid 
application
 Program application available at college 

financial aid office
 Will be awarded by financial aid office at 

college
 Financial aid administrator can access 

student’s application record on OHE system to 
get total income, household size, household 
members, EFC

MN State Work Study Program
 Must have DACA status, work authorization 

and social security number
 Must also meet MN Dream Act requirements 

OR have DACA status before meeting state 
residency requirements

 Work study jobs available on or off campus
 Most students work 10-15 hours per week

 Must be arranged by college financial aid 
office

 Contact college after submitting online state 
financial aid application and all supporting 
documentation
 College can access OHE system to confirm 

DACA, MN resident status, EFC

Tuition Reciprocity Program

 Available to MN residents attending public 
colleges and universities in:
 North Dakota
 South Dakota
 Wisconsin
 Manitoba
 Iowa Lakes Community College

 Won’t have to pay higher non-resident tuition 
rate

 MN residents generally pay the higher of the 
MN resident tuition rate or the resident tuition 
charged by the college attended
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Tuition Reciprocity Program

 If attending in SD, IA, Manitoba and ND, 
students will be approved on campus
 All students attending in SD, IA, MB
 New high school graduates attending in ND

 Otherwise, students should:
 Use new state online financial aid application
 Tuition reciprocity application

 Both available on: www.ohe.state.mn.us
 State financial aid NOT available in other 

states (except SELF Loan)

SELF Loan Program
 Available to students attending MN colleges 

or MN residents attending in other states
 No immigration requirements for student 

borrower
 Co-signer must be U.S. citizen or permanent 

resident, live in U.S. and have no adverse credit
 Should complete state online financial aid 

application
 Will also require a SELF loan application

 www.selfloan.org (does not require SSN)
 $10,000 per year for 4-year degree programs 

or graduate students
 $7,500 per year for shorter programs

SELF Loan Program
 Can choose fix rate interest rate (6.9%) or 

quarterly variable rate (currently 3.3%)
 Must make quarterly interest payments while 

attending college
 DOES need to be repaid
 After graduating, monthly interest payments 

for one year, then payments on interest and 
principal until loan paid in full

 CANNOT be consolidated with federal student 
loans

 More information available at: 
www.selfloan.org
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Other State Financial Aid Programs
 MN Indian Scholarship Program
 MN GI Bill Program
 Safety Officers Survivor Grant

Financial Verification Documents
 Online state application has already 

asked for members of household, age, 
relationship to student and number in 
college

 Student will need to submit 
documentation in support of income 
information provided on the state online 
financial aid application

Financial Verification Documents
 Will need to submit signed copies of 2012 

federal income tax return
 Student (and spouse, if married)
 Student and Parents (if student is dependent 

for financial aid purposes)
 If income was under threshold for filing a 

tax return, should submit W2s and signed 
statement indicating not required to file 
tax return and listing any additional 
income
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Financial Verification Documents
 If income was over threshold for filing 

federal tax return, student/parents must 
complete and submit a federal tax return
 Can apply for and use ITIN (instead of SSN) 

to file tax return
 Submit copy of completed form(s) to OHE 

with other MN Dream Act documentation

2012 Federal Tax Returns Required
Tax Filing Status Age Gross Income at Least
Single Under 65

65 or older
$  9,750
$11,200

Married filing 
jointly

Under 65 (both)
65 or older (one)
65 or older (both)

$19,500
$20,650
$21,800

Married filing 
separately

Any age $  3,800

Head of 
Household

Under 65
65 or older

$12,500
$13,950

Single and
claimed as 
dependent

Under age 65 $     950 unearned income
$  5,950 earned income

Online State Financial Aid Application
 Undocumented students cannot file a Free 

Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)
 Lack social security numbers
 Won’t pass legal immigration status

 OHE contracted with Access Group, Inc. to 
have students use customized state financial 
aid application
 Contains questions on the FAFSA
 Additional standard questions that won’t be 

used by MN 
 Additional customized questions to determine 

MN Dream Act and state financial aid eligibility
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Online State Financial Aid Application
 Link and MN-Specific Instructions to online 

state financial aid application posted on:
 www.ohe.state.mn.us/MNDreamAct

 Two versions of online state application
 MN Dream Act – State Financial Aid and U of M 

In-State Tuition
 MN Dream Act – Univ of MN In-State Tuition Only

 U of M students who don’t want to apply for 
state financial aid should use MN Dream Act –
In-State Tuition Only application

 Otherwise, use application for both state 
financial aid and in-state tuition rates
 This includes both MnSCU and U of M students 

applying for state financial aid and in-state 
tuition

Online State Financial Aid Application
 U of M will rely on online state application to 

verify students qualify for in-state tuition rates 
under MN Dream Act

 MnSCU campuses charging non-resident 
rates will build MN Dream Act questions into 
MnSCU’s online admissions application 
process

Online State Financial Aid Application
PROs
 Existing system since 1994

 Would have taken much longer for OHE to build own system or 
use California’s

 Easy to use for students without SSNs
 Customer support & online instructions
CONs
 Not in Spanish like FAFSA on the Web
 Students may think they have to pay fee (OHE is 

paying fees for all undocumented students)
 Contains standard questions that are not on 

FAFSA and won’t be used to determine EFC
 OHE will indicate in instructions which questions will not be used 

(student can enter any response)
 Independent students under age 24 taken 

through parental section (can leave blank)
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Online State Financial Aid Application
 For customer service with application, call 

 (800) 282-1550
 Monday through Friday
 8:00 a.m to 4:30 p.m. 

 Students can also call MN Office of Higher 
Education Grant Unit
 (651) 642-0567 #2  Toll-free (800) 657-3866
 Can arrange for translation services if 

student and/or parents don’t speak English

After Using Online State Application
 Students will receive email confirming 

they have used the online application
 Email will tell student what documentation 

is needed for:
 MN Dream Act

 High school transcripts, diploma, GED
 Selective Service registration confirmation

 State Financial Aid
 College transcripts (if student has attended 

college for 3 or more academic years)
 Tax forms and W2s for verification of financial 

information

After Using Online State Application
 Output from state online financial aid application 

loaded to new system at OHE
 MN colleges can access system to see status of 

application, certify student is enrolled, meets other 
eligibility requirements (e.g. SAP, etc.) and ready 
for payment

 OHE system will calculate student’s State Grant 
and notify student and college(s)

 OHE will send funds to college to cover State 
Grant payments for eligible students

 Colleges send back refunds with payment rosters 
at end of year
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MN Dream Act State Grant System

MN Dream Act State Grant System

MN Dream Act State Grant System
= Schools can access
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MN Dream Act State Grant System
= Schools can access

Accessed only by 
OHE

MN Dream Act State Grant System

U of M Twin Cities and Duluth can use this 
screen to determine if student is eligible for 
in-state tuition rates

MN Dream Act State Grant System
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MN Dream Act State Grant System

Strongly recommend that school enter 
15 credits for terms of standard 
academic year unless absolutely 
certain of enrollment level

MN Dream Act State Grant System

School can 
use chart to 
determine 
State Grant 
awards at 
different 
enrollment 
levels

MN Dream Act State Grant System
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MN Dream Act State Grant System

MN Dream Act State Grant System

MN Dream Act State Grant System
 Will be separate from the main State 

Grant system
 Funds advances tracked separately
 Students not included in State Grant DDS 

batches
 OHE will transfer student payment and 

units data to main State Grant database 
at end of year
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MN Dream Act – Postsecondary Child 
Care Grant & State Work Study
 Schools will access MN Dream Act State 

Grant system to get student application data, 
need analysis calculations, State Grant award 
amounts

 Students must still complete separate CCG 
application and any other paperwork 
required for State Work Study

 Students still awarded on campus and 
reported in end of year reports using 9-digit 
applicant ID assigned by online state 
financial application
 Work study students would have SSN via DACA

In the Future…..
 If federal DREAM Act passes that extends 

federal financial aid eligibility to 
undocumented students, they can use the 
FAFSA

 Until then, MN undocumented students will 
need to complete the state online financial 
aid application

 OHE will expect MN colleges to modify their 
systems to handle output from the state 
online financial aid application for 2014-2015
 OHE will verify MN Dream Act eligibility, but 

colleges will do remaining tasks
 State Grant eligibility requirements, verification, 

award calculation, disbursement

Questions??????
 Use chat box on webinar screen
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Online State Financial Aid Application

Online State Financial Aid Application

Online State Financial Aid Application
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Online State Financial Aid Application

Online State Financial Aid Application

Online State Financial Aid Application
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Online State Financial Aid Application

Online State Financial Aid Application

Online State Financial Aid Application

Select ‘MN Dream Act – State Financial Aid and U of M In-State Tuition’ 
and click on Add button.  If U of M student does not want to apply for 
state financial aid, select ‘MN Dream Act – Univ of MN In-state Tuition 
Only’ instead.
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Online State Financial Aid Application

Online State Financial Aid Application

Online State Financial Aid Application
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Online State Financial Aid Application

Can leave blank if 
student doesn’t have 

SSN

Online State Financial Aid Application
= Not Used by MN, but must have some type of response

Online State Financial Aid Application
= Not Used by MN, but must have some type of response
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Online State Financial Aid Application
= Not Used by MN, but must have some type of response

Online State Financial Aid Application
= Not Used by MN, but must have some type of response

Online State Financial Aid Application
= Not Used by MN, but must have some type of response
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Online State Financial Aid Application
= Not Used by MN, but must have some type of response

Online State Financial Aid Application
= Not Used by MN, but must have some type of response

Online State Financial Aid Application



8/13/2013

26

Online State Financial Aid Application
= Not Used by MN, but must have some type of response

Online State Financial Aid Application
= Not Used by MN, but must have some type of response

Online State Financial Aid Application
= Not Used by MN, but must have some type of response
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Online State Financial Aid Application
= Not Used by MN, but must have some type of response

Online State Financial Aid Application
= Not Used by MN, but must have some type of response

Online State Financial Aid Application
= Not Used by MN, but must have some type of response
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Online State Financial Aid Application
= Not Used by MN, but must have some type of response

Online State Financial Aid Application

Online State Financial Aid Application

 Will be several customized questions 
related to MN Dream Act and State Grant 
eligibility criteria

 Screens were not available at time of 
presentation
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Online State Financial Aid Application

Student can print copy 
of application 

(optional)

Online State Financial Aid Application

OHE will be adding 
instructions about what 
documentation student 

should send to the 
Office of Higher 

Education

Online State Financial Aid Application
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Online State Financial Aid Application

Screen student sees when logging back in to make corrections

Questions??????
 Use chat box on webinar screen

Changes to Recalculation/Refund 
Policy for State Financial Aid Programs
 If student doesn’t begin attendance in 

class(es), award recalculation always
required as it is for Federal Pell Grant

 Effective for 2013-2014 aid year, after a 
student begins attendance in all classes:
 Award recalculations or refund calculations for 

partial withdrawals no longer required
 However, school can have policy to do 

recalculations and partial withdrawal refunds 
through a certain date 
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Changes to Recalculation/Refund 
Policy for State Financial Aid Programs
 If school opts to recalculate awards or do 

partial withdrawal refunds after a student 
begins attendance in all classes
 Must have written policy with end date for 

adjustments
 End date could be end of drop/add or any other 

date in term
 End date must be used for all state financial aid 

programs requiring adjustments
 Does NOT have to match end date used for Pell 

Grant adjustments

Changes to Recalculation/Refund 
Policy for State Financial Aid Programs
 School can select different end dates for 

different programs of study
 Day school vs weekend college
 Nursing vs other programs

 Adjustments must be made for both 
increases and decreases in enrollment level
 Can’t opt to make adjustments only for cases 

of increased award

Changes to Recalculation/Refund 
Policy for State Financial Aid Programs
 If enrollment changes after student began 

attendance in all classes but before the 
adjustment end date:
 Student adds credits and award increases

 Recalculate SG award and disburse additional 
funds to student

 Student adds credits and award decreases
 SG recalculation and refund required only if 

school recalculated and increased Pell Grant
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Changes to Recalculation/Refund 
Policy for State Financial Aid Programs
 If enrollment changes after student began 

attendance in all classes but before the 
adjustment end date:
 Student drops/withdraws credits and SG award 

increases
 Recalculate award and disburse additional funds to 

student ONLY IF Pell Grant recalculate and reduced
 Student drops/withdraws credits and SG award 

decreases
 Partial withdrawal refund calculation required

EXAMPLE
 Student enrolled for 12 credits at MCTC.  State 

Grant award is $0.  Before state adjustment end 
date, student adds 3 credits. Award at 15 
credits is $490.
 School should recalculate State Grant and 

disburse additional funds ($490) to student
 Enrollment level reported as 15 credits on State 

Grant DDS record

EXAMPLE
 Student enrolled for 11 credits at MCTC and 

begins attendance in all classes.  State Grant 
award is $311.  Before state adjustment end 
date, student adds 1 credit. State Grant award 
at 12 credits is $0.
 If Pell Grant recalculated to full-time award, State 

Grant must be recalculated and $311 refunded to 
State Grant

 If Pell Grant not recalculated, State Grant is not 
adjusted
 State Grant enrollment level reported as 11 credits 

on DDS record
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EXAMPLE
 Student enrolled for 12 credits at MCTC and 

beings attendance in all classes.  State Grant 
award is $0.  Before state adjustment end date, 
student withdraws 1 credit. State Grant award 
at 11 credits is $311.
 If Pell Grant recalculated to ¾-time award, State 

Grant must be recalculated and $311 State Grant 
disbursed to student

 If Pell Grant not recalculated, State Grant is not 
adjusted
 State Grant enrollment level reported as 12 credits 

on DDS record

EXAMPLE
 Student enrolled for 15 credits at MCTC and 

begins attendance in all classes.  State Grant 
award is $490.  Before state adjustment end 
date, student withdraws 3 credits. State Grant 
award at 12 credits is $0.
 No Pell Grant adjustment required
 School must perform state refund for partial 

withdrawal and return lesser of:
 Difference between original and revised SG ($490)
 SG proportional share of Line C of OHE refund 

calculation worksheet/spreadsheet
 If this change took place after the state 

adjustment end date, no adjustment would be 
required

Changes to Recalculation/Refund 
Policy for State Financial Aid Programs
 If initial disbursement of SG award takes 

place after the adjustment end date
 Award must be based on student’s enrollment 

level as of that date
 No further recalculations or partial withdrawal 

refunds based on enrollment changes 
required
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Changes to Recalculation/Refund 
Policy for State Financial Aid Programs
 If student appeals to have class(es) 

removed from transcript
 SG award must be recalculated

 If award decreased, must return SG funds
 If award increased, cannot disburse additional 

SG funds unless Pell Grant reduced

Changes to Recalculation/Refund 
Policy for State Financial Aid Programs
 If student appeals to have class(es) added 

after the adjustment end date or late 
addition is school’s error
 School can have policy to recalculate SG 

award
 School can stick with adjustment end date 

and not recalculate award

Changes to Recalculation/Refund 
Policy for State Financial Aid Programs
 Full withdrawal refund calculation still 

required throughout term for students who 
withdraw from all classes
 Also required for students who drop below 

minimum enrollment level for SELF loan (6 
credits) and State Grant (3 credits)
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Other State Financial Aid Changes
 Summer Transition Grant changed from 

student grant to competitive grant to 
colleges offering bridge programs

 Child Care Grant maximum award 
permanently increased to $2,800 per 
eligible child

 Withdrawal for major medical illness 
excluded from 4-year limit on 
postsecondary attendance for Child Care 
Grant and Safety Officer’s Survivor Grant

Other State Financial Aid Changes
 Funding for MN Indian Scholarship increased 

from $1.85 to $3.1 million per year
 Should eliminate or substantially reduce 

waiting list
 MN GI Bill expanded to include veterans 

who served before 09/11/2011
 ND/MN reciprocity agreement renegotiated 

to reduce MN’s payment to ND
 MN residents will pay slightly more tuition in 

ND

Other State Financial Aid Changes
 OHE Financial Aid Manual updated for 2013-

2014 aid year
 Will be posted on OHE web site with cover 

letter outlining major changes
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Contact Information
 www.ohe.state.mn/MNDreamAct
 Ginny Dodds

Manager, State Financial Aid
MN Office of Higher Education
(651) 355-0610
Ginny.Dodds@state.mn.us


