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Executive Summary 

Withholding student transcripts for non-payment of a institutional debt is a common practice at postsecondary 
institutions. However, as a student may require an official transcript to transfer and complete their program or 
obtain employment, the practice is increasingly criticized as punitive, not financially effective, negatively 
impacting student success, and disproportionately affecting lower-income students, Black, Indigenous, and 
students of color.  

Minnesota is one of 13 states to have considered and/or enacted legislation limiting or prohibiting institutions 
from withholding academic transcripts in response to an unpaid balance. As part of Minnesota’s new legislation, 
the Office of Higher Education (OHE) is mandated to collect data on transcript holds from institutions. The 
information collected includes institutional policies about financial holds, data on students owing an unpaid 
balance at the institution (referred to as “debt” for purposes of this report), demographics of students owing an 
unpaid balance, and resources used to pay off the unpaid balances. The new law requires approximately 217 
institutions to report data and includes Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, the University of Minnesota, 
all Minnesota private institutions registered with the Office of Higher Education, all Minnesota private schools 
licensed with the Office of Education, and public and private out-of-state institutions registered with the Office 
of Higher Education if they enrolled one or more undergraduate Minnesota resident. 

The data presented in this report is as submitted to the Office of Higher Education. 

Findings 
• Among the 130 institutions reporting data, 75 institutions (58%) reported they had a policy allowing 

them to withhold official academic transcripts for non-payment of balances owed to the institution.  

o This practice is prevalent among public institutions, private four-year institutions, and private 
graduate institutions; but not among certificate-granting schools, or out-of-state institutions 
registered or licensed in Minnesota. 

• Prior to the 2021-2022 academic year,  

o 31% of the 75 institutions reporting data placed a transcript hold if $1 or more was unpaid, and  

o an additional 49% of institutions placed a hold if $30 or more was unpaid.  

• Beginning in the 2021-2022 academic year, 

o 33% of the 75 institutions reporting place a hold if $250 or more remains unpaid, and  

o an additional 51% of institutions place a hold only if $500 was unpaid.  

• 11% of undergraduate students (21,202 students) enrolled between July 1, 2021, and December 31, 
2021, incurred an unpaid balance.  

o For these students, unpaid balances totaled $35.9 million and averaged $1,694 per student 

o 25% of these students owed less than $250 ($91 average balance; $523,000 total) 
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o 75% of these students owed $250 or more ($2,286 average balance; $35.4 million total) 

• The change in state law and the simultaneous revisions to Minnesota State College and University policy 
impaced 14,464 students (68% of students with an unpaid balance). 

• Analysis of student demographics of students owing an unpaid balance shows over-representation by 
Black, Indigenous, and students of color, female students, and students who completed the FAFSA but 
did not receive a Pell Grant. 

o 13.3% of American Indian and Alaska Native students enrolled owe an unpaid balance 

o 12.9% of Black or African American students enrolled owe an unpaid balance 

o 10.4% of Hispanic or Latino students enrolled owe an unpaid balance 

o 10.5% of female students enrolled owe an unpaid balance 

o 10.4% of students who completed a FAFSA but did not receive a Pell Grant owe an unpaid 
balance 

• The survey also requested information from institutions about the use of any state, institutional, or 
federal COVID funds used to pay for transcript holds for the prior academic year of July 1, 2020 - June 
30, 2021. The majority of institutions were unable to provide this level of detailed data retrospectively.  

Institutions raised three main concerns with capturing data related to transcript holds. 

• The count of which students have an unpaid balance and the total unpaid balances changes daily – it is a 
dynamic process. In addition, Minnesota schools, colleges, and universities vary in programming and 
size. These ongoing changes and differences in institutional makeup make it difficult to report and use 
the data reported. 

• Institutions may not have a standardized process or timeline by which student finance data is joined to 
student enrollment, financial aid, and demographic data in a manner accessible to finance/business 
office staff in order to analyze and understand trends, outcomes, and impact of transcript and/or 
financial holds on their student equity and success. 

• Resolution of unpaid balances using internal institutional resources or state and federal resources is a 
rare practice unless specific allowances are made in federal or state law, special programs are set up, or 
the institution is able to access foundation resources for that specific purpose.  

Given the over-representation of Black and African American students, Hispanic and Latino students, women, 
and students applying for financial aid, institutions should:  

• Determine if the use of a transcript hold is the best solution for student success,  

• Routinely examine the use and impact of holds to understand the students impacted, 

• Document if holds are resolved, the percent of holds resolved, and the reasons why some holds are not 
resolved, and  

• Assess the value of an unpaid balance compared to how much the student has already spent at the 
institution.  

This information is critical in understanding the issue within the context of student success.  
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Future actions recommended by national experts also include: 

• Establish an institutional debt forgiveness program for nominal debts. This is an area where the state 
could provide incentives or seed funding for institutions.  

• The recommendation of the American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers 
(AACRAO, Kilgore, 2022) is to set the dollar threshold at which a transcript is held equal to tuition and 
fees for three semester credits, which aligns with Minnesota State’s policy for two-year colleges and the 
pilot programs at Minnesota State University, Mankato and Minnesota State University Moorhead.  

Reconsider the time-limited nature of Minnesota law as there is a concern about institutions reverting to the 
more penalizing practices once the law expires on June 30, 2023. Furthermore, the dollar threshold in 
Minnesota law is set to $250 as compared to the recommendation of the American Association of Collegiate 
Registrars and Admissions Officers (AACRAO, Kilgore, 2022), setting the threshold to a value equal to 3 semester 
credits of tuition and fees: 

• Minnesota public two-year college FY2023 $182.37 average per credit * 3 credits = $547;  
• Minnesota State University FY2023 $306.31 average per credit * 3 credits = $919;  
• University of Minnesota FY2023 $475.36 average per credit * 3 credits = $1,426).  

This recommendation aligns with Minnesota State’s policy for two-year colleges and the pilot programs at 
Minnesota State University, Mankato and Minnesota State University Moorhead. Given the data provided and 
the evolving nature of transcript hold policies nationally, further work should be undertaken to ensure the 
standard policies and practices of Minnesota colleges and universities seek to maximize student success.   
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Unpaid Balances Resulting in Transcript Holds 

As part of the new legislation, the Office of Higher Education (OHE) is mandated to collect data on transcript 
holds from institutions by April 2022 and issue a report to the Legislature in October of 2022 and 2023. 
Instructions are below for institutions submitting data to OHE.  

Institutions submitted data in six component areas: 

1. Institution contact unformation 
2. Institutional policies about financial holds 
3. Data on students owing an unpaid balance 
4. Demographics of students owing an unpaid balance 
5. Resources used to pay off a financial hold 
6. Other comments 

Reporting Requirements 

Minnesota Laws 2021, required institutions submit data related to transcript holds to the Minnesota Office of 
Higher Education by April 15, 2022 (Minnesota Laws 2021, 1st Special Session, Chapter 2, Article 2, Sec. 44. 
TRANSCRIPT ACCESS). These reporting requirements accompanied legislation restricting the institution’s ability 
to withhold official academic transcripts due to a student financial hold. The intent of the reporting 
requirements within the new law is to gather data to inform the extent to which institutions withhold official 
academic transcripts as a means of debt collection, the impact of Minnesota’s new law allowing colleges to only 
withhold official academic transcripts if debt levels exceed $250 under specific situations, and the extent to 
which financial holds impact the ability of students to persist and complete college.  

Given the report deadline, OHE issued instructions for institutions to report data undergraduates enrolled for 
the period of July 1, 2021 - Dec 31, 2021. Institutions were unable provide data for prior fiscal years given the 
dynamic nature of the accounting transactions analyzed for this report. 

Definitions 

For purposes of this report, the following definitions are used: 

• “Institution” – An entity offering one or more postsecondary instructional programs or courses made 
available to a Minnesota resident and is operated: 

o By the state (Minnesota State Colleges and Universities), 

o By the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota, or 

o Privately and is licensed or registered as a postsecondary institution by the Office of Higher 
Education. 
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• “Transcript hold” – A hold placed on the student record that results in a student being denied receipt of 
an official academic transcript due to non-payment of a unpaid balance to the institution. Note: The 
Office of Higher Education recognizes that a hold for non-payment may result in other access being 
denied (e.g., the ability to enroll in subsequent courses). 

• "Debt"- defined in Minnesota law - Any money, obligation, claim, or sum, due or owed, or alleged to be 
due or owed, from a student that appears on the student account. Debt does not include the fee, if any, 
charged to all students for the actual costs of providing the transcripts. 

• "Entered a payment plan” - An agreement between a student who is delinquent paying the debt owed 
and the institution for the student to pay an agreed to amount towards the debt over an agreed time 
period.   

• "Compliance with payment plan" - Compliance with the payment plan is to be defined by the institution. 

• "Funds collected" – Funds collected include payments to institutions, payments made during the 
collections process, and revenue recapture. 

Data Suppression  

Each institution reporting supplied summary level data without suppression of counts fewer than 10 students to 
the Office of Higher Education. For this report, the Office of Higher Education suppressed student counts at the 
institution and sector level, but not the state level, for fewer than 10 students. 
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Background 

Withholding student transcripts for non-payment of a unpaid balance owed to the institution is a common 
practice at Minnesota institutions. However, a student may require an official transcript to transfer and 
complete their program or to obtain employment. Research has shown that the practice is punitive, may not be 
financially effective at collecting past due debts, and likely has a negative impact on student success as it 
impedes completion and disproportionately impacts lower-income students. 

Colleges have a variety of debt collection practices outside of withholding academic transcripts, which can be 
utilized to recover unpaid expenses. Currently, when a student incurs an unpaid balance from tuition, library 
fines, parking fines, or other institution fees, the college can: 

• Drop the student from currently enrolled classes (during drop/add period only), 

• Restrict or prevent the use of college services, 

• Have residence hall dining privileges denied, 

• Prevent the student from enrolling in classes in future terms, 

• Prevent the student from graduating or obtaining their diploma, 

• Assess late payment fees (one-time or repeatedly per billing cycle), 

• Refer the unpaid balance to a collection agency, or 

• Refer the unpaid balance to the Minnesota Department of Revenue for the recapture of tax or other 
refunds (public institutions only). 

Once enacted, the only way for a student to obtain their official academic transcript is to pay the balance in full 
(including fees assessed), enter into a payment plan by the college (if allowed), or declare bankruptcy. If not 
discharged during bankruptcy, the unpaid balance also has no time limit, and the college can maintain the 
financial hold indefinitely. The options available to the college for collecting the debt far outweighs the options 
available to the student for what may have been an unanticipated financial situation. 

One of the reasons universities engage in this practice is to achieve the highest likelihood of repayment by using 
all available means to collect the debt owed. Analysis of unpaid student account data from the Ohio Attorney 
General’s Office showed average account balances by institutions ranging from $647 to $26,000 (medical 
school). Annually the Ohio Attorney General collects on unpaid balances at a rate of seven cents per dollar 
unpaid or $127 per unpaid account (Maurer, 2018). Given all the debt collection options available to colleges, it 
seems unlikely that constraining the use of transcript holds will significantly diminish the funds collected. 

A second reason colleges engage in the practice is to maintain communication with the student. By preventing 
registration or transcript access, the college is prompting the student to act to remedy the situation. While the 
intent is positive, the messaging to the student can be perceived as negative and threatening (e.g., “you have 
violated your financial responsibility; non-payment has serious consequences”). Since the passage of 
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Minnesota’s legislation, the majority of college websites surveyed by the Office of Higher Education have 
moderated the tone and messaging to students. Sample website language can be found in Appendix 3. 

Nationally, innovative colleges are adopting proactive positive outreach programs that contact students with an 
unpaid balance mid-term to try and prevent academic and financial holds. Such programs actively assist 
students in applying for microgrants or taking advantage of small balance forgiveness policies. These programs 
seek to ensure that students impacted can continue to enroll, access services, and graduate.   

At Wayne State University in Michigan, the Warrior Way Back program reengages stopped-out students through 
debt forgiveness. The program waives a student’s financial hold (up to $1,500) over three consecutive semesters 
of enrollment or at graduation. Wayne State noted that the practice of maintaining academic and financial holds 
on students due to unpaid balances was creating “a prohibitive hurdle on the path to a degree for stopped out 
students—it was just another reason to dissuade these students from returning and completing what they 
started.” Since July 2018, Wayne State University re-enrolled 209 students generating $750,000 in additional net 
revenue (Financial Health Network, 2020).   

The Georgia State Panther Retention Grants program provides microgrants to students each semester to help 
cover modest financial shortfalls affecting their ability to pay tuition and fees and prevent them from stopping 
their studies or dropping out. With more than 12,000 grants awarded over the past six years, staff note that the 
Panther Retention Grant program has prevented thousands of students from dropping out of Georgia State. 
Since the start of the program, more than 86 percent of grant recipients have gone on to graduate, most within 
two semesters (Georgia State University, 2020). 

While the Office of Higher Education would like to see all Minnesota colleges adopting more proactive outreach 
strategies to maximize student retention and completion, one initial step is to limit transcript holds to extreme 
circumstances and establish consistency in transcript hold policies across Minnesota colleges. 

Legislative Developments in Other States 

The Minnesota language enacted is a less restrictive version of the language enacted by the California 
Legislature1 in October 2019. California prohibits institutions from withholding a transcript for any amount of 
unpaid balance owed. Since Minnesota passed its Transcript Access legislation in the 2021 Legislative Session, 
other states have pursued similar policies. In addition to California and Minnesota, legislation was passed in New 
York, Illinois, Colorado, Ohio, Oregon, Washington, and Louisiana. Legislation was also introduced in 
Massachusetts, Virginia, Rhode Island, and Connecticut.  

A 2020 report by the consulting firm Ithaka S+R estimated that roughly 6.6 million college students had credits 
“stranded” by institutional policies on unpaid debt (Jones & Andrews, 2021). This practice has garnered national 
attention. U.S. Education Secretary Miguel Cardona has spoken out against transcript holds (Draeger, 2022). 

                                                           

1 https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200AB1313  

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200AB1313
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Finally, the American Council on Education (2022) and 21 other college-related organizations issued a 
statement calling for an end to the practice.  

In September 2022, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau directed college leaders to stop the practice of 
withholding transcripts in response to past due institutional loans (Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2022). 
The bureau called blanket policies to withhold transcripts “abusive under the Consumer Financial Protection 
Act.”  

“Examiners found that institutions took unreasonable advantage of the critical importance of official 
transcripts and institutions’ relationship with consumers. Since many students will need official 
transcripts at some point to pursue employment or future higher education opportunities, the 
consequences of withheld transcripts are often disproportionate to the underlying debt amount…This 
heightened pressure to produce transcripts leaves consumers with little-to-no bargaining power while 
academic achievement and professional advancements depend on the actions of a single academic 
institution….Consumers do not have a reasonable opportunity to protect themselves in these 
circumstances.” (Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, 2022, p.8-9).  

While directed primarily at institutional loan collection practices, the practices described in the report as abusive 
are the same practices used by institutions when collecting other forms of past due debt.  
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Institutions Reporting Data 

Institutions subject to reporting under the new law include Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, the 
University of Minnesota, all Minnesota private institutions registered with the Office of Higher Education, all 
Minnesota private schools licensed with the Office of Education, and public and private out-of-state institutions 
registered with the Office of Higher Education if they enrolled one or more undergraduate Minnesota resident 
students between July 1, 2021, and December 31, 2021. In total, 217 institutions were contacted. Among the 
217 institutions contacted, 130 institutions provided data. Of the institutions not providing data, 30 did not 
withhold transcripts ever, 8 enrolled no undergraduate students between July 1, 2021, and December 31, 2021, 
and 49 training providers did not respond.   

In order to answer questions related to the count of enrolled undergraduate students owing financial balances 
to an institution and the total amount of unpaid balance owed, each institution was asked to create a freeze file 
of student transcript hold data between December 15, 2021, and April 1, 2022. This freeze file represents a 
snapshot of student unpaid balance status on a given date and is referred to as “the 2021-2022 data freeze 
date”. Freeze dates vary by institution but generally represent the unpaid balance status of an institution’s 
undergraduate population mid-way through the 2021-2022 academic year. The majority of institutions created 
their freeze file at the end of fall term and before billing for spring term. 
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Institutional Policies 

Among the 130 institutions reporting data for the period of July 1, 2021-Dec 31, 2021, 75 institutions (58%) 
reported they had a policy allowing them to withhold official academic transcripts for non-payment of balances 
owed to the institution. This practice is prevalent among public institutions, private four-year institutions, and 
private graduate institutions. This is not a prevalent practice among private 2-year institutions or small private 
training providers only issuing certificates as these institutions and providers require full payment of tuition and 
related costs prior to the individual starting classes.   

In addition, the majority of out-of-state institutions licensed or registered to operate in Minnesota by the Office 
of Higher Education do not withhold official academic transcripts for non-payment. This group excludes 
institutions operating in Minnesota under the NC-SARA2 agreements. Many of these licensed or registered 
institutions are based in California (not an NC-SARA member state), where California law1 prohibits both public 
and private institutions from withholding transcripts from students who owe any unpaid balance, effective 
October 4, 2019. 

Table 1. The Majority of Minnesota Institutions Withhold Academic Transcripts for Non-Payment.  

Institution Sector and Type 

Number of Institutions 
that Do Not Withhold 
Academic Transcripts 

for Non-Payment 

Number of 
Institutions that Do 
Withhold Academic 
Transcripts for Non-

Payment 

“Withholding” 
Institutions as 
a Percent of 

Total 
Institutions 

Total 
Institutions 

Minnesota State Colleges 0 30 100% 30 

Minnesota State 
Universities 0 7 100% 7 

University of Minnesota 
Institutions 0 4 100% 4 

Private Non-Profit 2-Year or 
Less Institutions 6 1 14% 7 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institutions 4 23 85% 27 

Private For-Profit 2-Year or 
Less Institutions 27 5 16% 32 

Private For-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institutions 1 2 67% 3 

Out-of-State Institutions 17 3 15% 20 

                                                           

2 The National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA) is a private nonprofit organization [501(c)(3)] 
that provides leadership over the reciprocity agreements for distance education regulation among U.S. member states. 
https://www.nc-sara.org/  

https://www.nc-sara.org/
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Institution Sector and Type 

Number of Institutions 
that Do Not Withhold 
Academic Transcripts 

for Non-Payment 

Number of 
Institutions that Do 
Withhold Academic 
Transcripts for Non-

Payment 

“Withholding” 
Institutions as 
a Percent of 

Total 
Institutions 

Total 
Institutions 

Total Institutions 55 75 58% 130 

 

Institutions surveyed conveyed similar policies regarding transcripts access for students with unpaid balances. In 
accordance with the new Minnesota law, transcripts are released for any student whose balance is less than 
$250, who is current on a payment plan, whose prospective employer has requested the transcript, or whose 
account has been turned over to a collection agency.  

• As of January 2022, eight institutions indicated they were in the process of adopting a new transcript or 
financial hold policy for the 2021-2022 academic year at the time of this survey in response to the new 
state law.  

• During Spring 2021, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities changed their policies in response to the 
system’s equity and inclusion strategic initiative.  

• The remaining 30 institutions changing their financial hold policies indicated the change was in response 
to the change in state law or occurred just prior to state law taking effect. 

It is important to note that a transcript hold is only one of the actions an institution may take regarding an 
unpaid balance. Students with an unpaid balance from a previous term(s) are generally unable to enroll for 
courses in subsequent terms. Institutions will allow transcripts to be released once the student’s balance has 
dropped below the dollar threshold established by institutional policy or if the student has entered into and 
complies with a payment plan with the institution. 

Dollar Thresholds for Transcript Holds 

Of the 75 institutions withholding official academic transcripts for non-payment, the change in state law and the 
parallel timing in Minnesota State College and University policy revisions resulted in a significant change in the 
dollar threshold used by colleges before withholding an official academic transcript.  

 The Board of Trustees for Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (2021) revised Board Policy 7.6 and the 
related Procedure 7.6.2 Accounts Receivable Management Subpart D. Holds placed on student records on July 
19, 2021. The revision raised the threshold at which a hold will be placed on a student account to more than 
$500 from $100, and added verbiage stating transcript will not be withheld due to an unpaid balance of $500 or 
less owed to a college or university (previously $30).Prior to the 2021-2022 academic year, 64 institutions (88%) 
had policies setting the dollar threshold for a transcript hold at less than $250.  

• One-third (31%) of institutions placed a hold if $1 or more was unpaid, and  

• Half of institutions (49%) placed a hold if $30 or more was unpaid.  

• Only nine institutions reported using a dollar threshold of $250 or greater prior to 2021-2022.  
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Beginning in 2021-2022, institutional policies shifted in response to the new state law and resulting discussions 
on campus prior to the law taking effect.   

• Now one-third (33%) of institutions place a hold if $250 or more remains unpaid, and  

• Half of institutions (51%) placed a hold only if $500 dollars was unpaid.  

• Two institutions (Minnesota State University, Mankato; Minnesota State University Moorhead) changed 
their policy to allow the release of academic transcripts if the student owed less than $1,000 as part of a 
three-year pilot program. 

Figure 1. The Majority of Institutions Established Transcript Holds if the Sstudent Owed $30 or More Prior to 
2021-22; and Now Establish Transcript Holds if the Student Owes $250 or More 

 

* As of January 2022, these institutions were in the process of adopting a new transcript hold policy in response to the new state law.  

Table 2. Count and Percent of Institutions by the Dollar Threshold Resulting in a Transcript Hold by the 
Institution by Time Period 

Dollar Threshold Incurring 
a Transcript Hold 

Prior to 2021 Prior to 2021 After State Law 
Change 

After State Law 
Change 

Number of 
Institutions 

Percent of 
Institutions 

Number of 
Institutions 

Percent of 
Institutions 

$1 23 31% 7* 9% 
$10 1 1% 1* 1% 
$25 1 1% 0 0% 
$30 37 49% 0 0% 
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Dollar Threshold Incurring 
a Transcript Hold 

Prior to 2021 Prior to 2021 After State Law 
Change 

After State Law 
Change 

Number of 
Institutions 

Percent of 
Institutions 

Number of 
Institutions 

Percent of 
Institutions 

$50 2 3% 0 0% 
$100 1 1% 0 0% 
$200 1 1% 0 0% 
$250 6 8% 25 33% 
$251 0 0% 1 1% 
$500 3 4% 38 51% 
$510 0 0% 1 1% 

$1,000 0 0% 2 3% 
Total 75 100% 75 100% 

* As of January 2022, these institutions were in the process of adopting a new transcript hold policy in response to the new 
state law.  
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Data on Students Owing an Unpaid Balance 

Seventy-two institutions reported data on the number of undergraduates enrolled between July 1, 2021, and 
December 31, 2021, owing an unpaid balance to the institution. A total of 21,202 students were reported as 
owing $1 or more (Table 2). Unpaid balances at all institutions reporting data totaled $35,926,069 (Table 5). The 
average amount owed was $1,694 (Table 5). Approximately 25% of students owing an unpaid balance owed less 
than $250, and the remaining 75% owed $250 or more (Table 3).  

Only 1% of the 2,157 students owing less than $250 (Table 4) had entered into a payment plan, compared to 
17% of the 15,478 students owing $250 or more. Among students owing $250 or more and entering into a 
payment plan, 66% of students had complied with the terms of the payment plan (Table 6).  

Table 3. Percent of Enrolled Students Owing an Unpaid Balance, Fall 2021 

System 
Number of Students 

Owing an Unpaid Balance 
to the Institution 

Fall 2021 
Enrollment 

Percent of Enrolled 
Undergraduates with an 
Unpaid Balance to the 

Institution 
Minnesota State College 4,815 61,173 8% 
Minnesota State University 1,882 33,404 6% 
University of Minnesota 4,177 41,577 10% 
Private Non-Profit 2-Year or Less 32 141 23% 
Private Non-Profit 4-Year or Graduate 6,591 37,200 18% 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less 25 189 13% 
Private For-Profit 4-Year or Graduate 3,669 14,752 25% 
Out-of-State Institution 11 105 10% 
Total 21,202 188,541 11% 

Table 4. Percent of Students Owing an Unpaid Balance by Balance Owed, Fall 2021 

System Number of Students Owing an 
Unpaid Balance to the Institution 

Owing Less 
than $250 

Owing More 
than $250 

Minnesota State College 4,815 3% 97% 
Minnesota State University 1,882 0.4% 99.6% 
University of Minnesota 4,177 66% 34% 
Private Non-Profit 2-Year or Less 32 41% 59% 
Private Non-Profit 4-Year or Graduate 6,591 31% 69% 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less 25 4% 96% 
Private For-Profit 4-Year or Graduate 3,669 8% 92% 
Out-of-State Institution 11 * * 
Total 21,202 25% 75% 

*Data is not shown where the count of students is less than 10. 
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Table 5. Of Students Owing an Unpaid Balance, Total and Average  
Unpaid Balance Owed, Fall 2021 

System Number of Students 
Owing an Unpaid Balance 

Total Unpaid 
Balance 

Average Unpaid 
Balance 

Minnesota State College 4,815 $8,309,047 $1,726 
Minnesota State University 1,882 $587,838 $312 
University of Minnesota 4,177 $6,534,380 $1,564 
Private Non-Profit 2-Year or Less 32 $24,214 $757 
Private Non-Profit 4-Year or Graduate 6,591 $13,882,450 $2,106 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less 25 $89,514 $3,581 
Private For-Profit 4-Year or Graduate 3,669 $6,410,035 $1,747 
Out-of-State Institution 11 $88,591 $8,054 
Total 21,202 $35,926,069 $1,694 

Students owing a unpaid balance of less than $250 

Table 6. Of Students Owing an Unpaid Balance Less than $250, Number and Percent  
with a Payment Plan and In Compliance with the Payment Plan, Fall 2021 

System 

Number of 
Students 

Owing Less 
Than $250 

Number with 
a Payment 

Plan** 

Percent with 
a Payment 

Plan** 

Number in 
Compliance 

with Payment 
Plan** 

Percent in 
Compliance 

with Payment 
Plan** 

Minnesota State College 131 0 0% 0 n/a 
Minnesota State University * * * * * 
University of Minnesota 2,770 n/a n/a n/a n/a 
Private Non-Profit 2-Year or 
Less 

13 0 0% 0 n/a 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate 

2,512 42 2% 40 95% 

Private For-Profit 2-Year or 
Less 

* n/a n/a n/a n/a 

Private For-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate 

287 * * * * 

Out-of-State Institution * * * * * 
Total 5,724 52 1% 49 94% 

*Data is not shown where the count of students is less than 10. 
** Table 6 calculations excludes students enrolled at institutions that did not have the capacity to report payment plan 
compliance at the time of the survey. 
Note: Not all institutions offer payment plans to students with outstanding financial obligations.   
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Table 7. Of Students Owing an Unpaid Balance Less than $250, Total and Average  
Unpaid Balance Owed, Fall 2021 

System 
Number of Students 

Owing an Unpaid Balance 
of Less than $250 

Total Unpaid 
Balances** 

Average 
Unpaid 

Balance** 
Minnesota State College 131 $100,061 $764 
Minnesota State University * * * 
University of Minnesota 2,770 $185,977 $67 
Private Non-Profit 2-Year or Less 13 $1,240 $95 
Private Non-Profit 4-Year or Graduate 2,512 $177,079 $70 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less * * * 
Private For-Profit 4-Year or Graduate 287 $37,543 $131 
Out-of-State Institution * * * 
Total 5,724 $523,106 $91 

*Data is not shown where the count of students is less than 10. 
** Students owed less than $250 as of the initial date that data was pulled for this survey, but may have owed more than 
$250 at the time the institution calculated total unpaid balance owed for reporting to OHE. 

Students owing a unpaid balance of $250 or more 

Table 8. Of Students Owing an Unpaid Balance of $250 or More, Number and Percent  
with a Payment Plan and In Compliance with the Payment Plan, Fall 2021 

System 

Number of 
Students 

Owing 
$250 or 
More 

Number 
with a 

Payment 
Plan** 

Percent 
with a 

Payment 
Plan** 

Number in 
Compliance 

with 
Payment 
Plan** 

Percent in 
Compliance 

with 
Payment 
Plan** 

Minnesota State College 4,684 791 17% 75 9% 
Minnesota State University 1,874 787 42% 784 99.6% 
University of Minnesota 1,407 n/a n/a n/a n/a 
Private Non-Profit 2-Year or Less 19 * * * * 
Private Non-Profit 4-Year or Graduate 4,079 692 23% 641 93% 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less 24 * * * * 
Private For-Profit 4-Year or Graduate 3,382 0 0% 0 n/a 
Out-of-State Institution * * * * * 
Total 15,478 2,284 17% 1,502 66% 

*Data is not shown where the count of students is less than 10. 
** Table 8 calculations excludes students enrolled at institutions that did not have the capacity to report payment plan 
compliance at the time of the survey. 

Note: Not all institutions offer payment plans to students with outstanding financial obligations.   
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Table 9. Of Students Owing an Unpaid Balance of $250 or More,  
Total and Average Balance Owed, Fall 2021 

System 
Number of Students 

Owing an Unpaid Balance 
of $250 or More 

Total Unpaid 
Balances** 

Average 
Unpaid 

Balance** 
Minnesota State College  4,684  $8,208,986 $1,753 
Minnesota State University  1,874  $578,383 $309 
University of Minnesota  1,407  $6,348,403 $4,512 
Private Non-Profit 2-Year or Less  *  * * 
Private Non-Profit 4-Year or Graduate  4,079  $13,688,625 $3,356 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  24  $89,461 $3,728 
Private For-Profit 4-Year or Graduate  3,382  $6,372,492 $1,884 
Out-of-State Institution  *  * * 
Total  15,478  $35,386,218 $2,286 

*Data is not shown where the count of students is less than 10. 

** Students owed $250 or more as of the initial date that data was pulled for this survey, but may have owed less than 
$250 at the time the institution calculated total unpaid balance owed for reporting to OHE. 
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Students Impacted by Law Change 

Approximately 68% of students with an unpaid balance (14,464, Table 10) are now able to access their academic 
transcripts due to the new state law, and Minnesota State’s system policy change as compared to prior 
institutional policies.  

Table 10. Of Students Owing an Unpaid Balance, Number and Percent Able to Access Transcripts 

System 

Number of 
Students Owing 

Any Unpaid 
Balance 

Students Owing Any 
Unpaid Balance Able 
to Access Transcripts 

Percent of Students 
Owing Any Unpaid 

Balance Able to Access 
Transcripts 

Minnesota State College 4,815 4,755  99% 
Minnesota State University 1,882 1,880  100% 
University of Minnesota 4,177 1,456  35% 
Private Non-Profit 2-Year or Less 32 * * 
Private Non-Profit  4-Year or Graduate 6,591 4,623  70% 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less 25 * * 
Private For-Profit 4-Year or Graduate 3,669 1,701  46% 
Out-of-State Institution 11 * * 
Total 21,202 14,464  68% 

*Data is not shown where the count of students is less than 10. 

Table 11. Of Students Owing an Unpaid Balance Less than $250,  
Number and Percent Able to Access Transcripts 

System 

Number of Students 
Owing an Unpaid 

Balance of Less than 
$250 

Number of Students 
Owing Less than 

$250 Able to Access 
Transcripts 

Percent of Students 
Owing Less than 

$250 Able to Access 
Transcripts 

Minnesota State College 131 102  78% 
Minnesota State University * * * 
University of Minnesota 2,770 49  2% 
Private Non-Profit 2-Year or Less 13 13  100% 
Private Non-Profit  4-Year or 
Graduate 

2,512 1,963  78% 

Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less * * * 
Private For-Profit 4-Year or Graduate 287 77  27% 
Out-of-State Institution * * * 
Total 5,724 2,211  39% 

*Data is not shown where the count of students is less than 10. 
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Table 12. Of Students Owing an Unpaid Balance of $250 or More,  
Number and Percent Able to Access Transcripts 

System 

Number of Students 
Owing an Unpaid 

Balance of $250 or 
More 

Number of Students 
Owing $250 or More 

Able to Access 
Transcripts 

Percent of Students 
Owing $250 or More 

Able to Access 
Transcripts 

Minnesota State College 4,684 4,653 99.3% 
Minnesota State University 1,874 1,874 100% 
University of Minnesota 1,407 1,407 100% 
Private Non-Profit 2-Year or Less * * * 
Private Non-Profit  4-Year or 
Graduate 

4,079 2,660 65% 

Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less 24 7 29% 
Private For-Profit 4-Year or Graduate 3,382 1,624 48% 
Out-of-State Institution * * * 
Total 15,478 12,253 79% 

*Data is not shown where the count of students is less than 10. 
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Demographics of Students Owing a Unpaid Balance 

Transcript hold policies, as well as the more comprensive financial hold policies which generally prevent course 
registration and access to other services, are an equity issue as they disproportionately impact students of color, 
women, and lower-income students. 

Race and Ethnicity of Students Owing a Unpaid Balance 

Fifty-three institutions reported race and ethnicity information.  Among students owing any unpaid balance to 
the institution at the end of fall term 2021, Black, indigenous, and persons of color (BIPOC) are over-
represented. Specifically, American Indian and Alaska Native students, Black or African American students, and 
Hispanic or Latino students have the highest rates among unpaid balance holders. 

Among students owing a balance: 

• 13.3% of American Indian and Alaska Native students enrolled owe an unpaid balance, 

• 12.9% of Black or African American students enrolled owe an unpaid balance, 

• 10.4% of Hispanic or Latino students enrolled owe an unpaid balance, and 

• 6.3% of White students enrolled owe an unpaid balance. 

Figure 2. Percent of Students by Race and Ethnicity Owing Any Unpaid Balance 
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Table 13. Percent of Students by Race and Ethnicity Owing Any Unpaid Balance 

Race and Ethnicity 
Number of 

Undergraduates 
Enrolled, Fall 2021 

Number of 2021-
2022 Students 

Owing Any Debt 

Percent of 2021-
2022 Students 

Owing Any Debt 
Black or African American 17,261 2,229 12.9% 

American Indian or Alaska Native 1,022 136 13.3% 

Asian 9,289 640 6.9% 

Hispanic or Latino 10,867 1,131 10.4% 

White 93,175 5,850 6.3% 

Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander 135 11 8.1% 

Two or more races 5,905 571 9.7% 

Race and ethnicity not reported 3,288 221 6.7% 

Other, includes international students 5,069 727 14.3% 

Total 146,011 11,516 7.9% 

BIPOC 44,479 4,718 10.6% 

*Data is not shown where the count of students is less than 10. 

Sex of Students Owing a Unpaid Balance 

Fifty-five institutions reported sex information for 14,231 students. Among students owing any unpaid balance 
to the institution at the end of fall term 2021, female students are over-represented among those with an 
unpaid balance. 

Among students owing a balance: 

• 10.5% of female students enrolled owe an unpaid balance, 

• 8.7% of male students enrolled owe an unpaid balance, and 

• 7.6% of students with gender not reported enrolled owe an unpaid balance. 
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Figure 3. Percent of Students by Sex Owing Any Unpaid Balance 

 

Note: Not Reported includes enrolled students indicated a gender other than male or female; however, survey options did 
not allow transcript hold data for other gender options to be reported. 

Table 14. Percent of Students by Sex Owing Any Unpaid Balance 

Sex 
Number of 

Undergraduates 
Enrolled, Fall 2021 

Number of 2021-2022 
Students Owing Any Debt  

Percent of 2021-2022 
Students Owing Any Debt 

Female 85,377 8,990 10.5% 

Male 60,044 5,196 8.7% 

Not Reported 590 45 7.6% 

Total 146,011 14,231 9.7% 

Note: Not Reported includes enrolled students indicated a gender other than male or female; however, survey options did 
not allow transcript hold data for other gender options to be reported. 

Financial Aid Status of Students Owing a Unpaid Balance 

Fifty-four institutions reported financial aid status information for 11,738 students.   

Students who completed a FAFSA but did not receive a Pell Grant are over-represented among students owing 
an unpaid balance at the end of fall term 2021.  This group would include students whose family incomes are 
lower-middle and middle income ($40,000-$100,000 adjusted gross income).  
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Among students owing a balance: 

• 10.4% of Students who completed a FAFSA but did not receive a Pell Grant owe an unpaid balance, 

• 8.2% of Pell Grant students enrolled owe an unpaid balance, and 

• 5.9% of students enrolled and not filing a FAFSA owe an unpaid balance. 

Figure 4. Percent of Students by Financial Aid Status Owing Any Unpaid Balance 

 

Table 15. Percent of Students by Financial Aid Status Owing Any Unpaid Balance 

Financial Aid Status 
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Undergraduates 
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Number of 2021-2022 
Students Owing Any 

Debt 

Percent of 2021-2022 
Students Owing Any 

Debt 

Pell Grant Recipient 52,697 4,325 8.2% 

Filed FAFSA but not a 
Pell Grant Recipient 
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Total 146,011 11,738 8.0% 
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Resources Used to Pay Off Unpaid Balances  

The survey requested information from institutions about the use of any state, institutional, or federal COVID 
funds used to pay for transcript holds for the period July 1, 2020 - June 30, 2021. Most institutions were unable 
to provide this data retrospectively. Without having survey instructions available prior to institutions providing 
funding, the majority of institutions did not track the information at a level of detail requested for this survey. 
Several institutions reported that they could not separate the use of funds at a student level between 
emergency grants and funds used to pay off incurred balances, given that the transactions had occurred two 
years prior to the request for data. 

Resolution of transcript and other financial holds using internal resources or state and federal resources is a rare 
practice in Minnesota. The Higher Education Emergency Relief Fund (HEERF), as part of the national CARES Act 
enacted on March 27, 2020, allowed unpaid balances to be resolved. Approximately $14 billion was made 
available to institutions during the COVID-19 pandemic. The money received sought to provide emergency 
financial grants to students for expenses resulting from the disruption of campus operations and services. As a 
second example, the former MN Reconnect program allowed participating institutions to use state funds up to 
the maximum allowed in law to pay off unpaid balances for students seeking to re-enroll after a two-year 
absence. Finally, if the institution has a related foundation or partnership with a foundation, foundation-
provided funds may be used to pay off unpaid balances for selected students.  

Based on national survey data (Kilgore, 2022), 67% of institutions surveyed used HEERF funds to forgive student 
debt associated with unpaid balances at their institution. Depending on the institution, the institution may have 
forgiven all outstanding unpaid balance accrued during pandemic terms. Other institutions set a maximum on 
the grant dollars available or only forgave unpaid balances for those with demonstrated need. 

Of the 75 Minnesota institutions providing data, six institutions reported they used state, institutional, federal, 
or COVID funds to pay for transcript holds for the period July 1, 2020 - June 30, 2021. However, only four private 
non-profit four-year institutions were able to provide total funds used by source (Table 16). Just over $2 million 
were used to pay off financial holds, with the majority of funds (69%) provided by the institution. However, 
given the limited nature of the data reported, this trend is not generalizable. 

Table 16. Funds to Pay for Unpaid Balances Incurred by Students Enrolled July 1, 2020-June 30, 2021 

Source of Funds used to Pay Off Unpaid Balances Number of Institutions Reporting Total Funds 

State 4 $140,782 

Institutional 4 $1,468,814 

Federal  4 $426,441 

COVID Funds 4 $100,977 

Total 4 $2,137,014 
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Discussion 

The data presented in this report is as submitted to the Office of Higher Education. Comments and questions 
from institutions indicated three main concerns with capturing financial hold data related to transcripts, 
including concern with data and reporting, demographics and financial aid status of students with a transcript 
hold, and institutional access to funds to resolve transcript holds. 

Data and Reporting  
Transcript holds result when charges against a student’s account go unpaid past deadlines established by the 
institution. Transcript holds can result from numerous institutional services, including but not limited to tuition 
and fees, housing, meals, library, and parking. These charges can occur on any given day during the academic 
year, as can student payments, which means that student account balances can change on a daily basis. Thus, 
the count of which students have an unpaid balance and the total unpaid balances will change daily – it is a 
dynamic system. To resolve this issue, the Office of Higher Education asked institutions to “freeze” the data on a 
date of their choosing, between the end fall 2021 term and the beginning of the subsequent term.  

In addition, as Minnesota schools, colleges, and universities vary in programming and size, the Office of Higher 
Education asked institutions to only include undergraduate students enrolled at their institution between July 1, 
2021 and December 31, 2021. This approach standardized the data reported in order to assess the prevalence 
and scope of transcript holds incurred, yet many institutions struggled with fulfilling the request.  

The Demographics and Financial Status of Students with Unpaid Balances 
The survey also asks institutions to report the demographics and financial aid status of students with unpaid 
balances. This request requires the freeze file of student finance data to be joined to enrollment, financial aid, 
and demographic data that may or may not be accessible to finance/business office staff. The results for 
Minnesota institutions mirror those of institutions nationally. A report from the American Association of 
Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers (AACRAO) noted that only 29% of institutions surveyed could 
calculate the percentage of students with transcript or registration holds for a given student population (gender, 
race, ethnicity, age group, socioeconomic status, student-athlete, etc., Kilgore, 2022). The ability of institutions 
to assess the characteristics of students owing an unpaid balance is needed to assess the impact of financial 
practices and policies on equity and student success. OHE anticipates further difficulty when staff are asked to 
report student outcome data, including the retention and graduation status of students with transcript holds.  

Funds to Pay Off Unpaid Balances 
The final questions on the survey requested institutions report if any student unpaid balances have been 
resolved using institutional, state, federal, or COVID funds for the prior academic year (2020-2021). As shown in 
the report, the majority of institutions could not report the source of the funds if used to pay off transcript holds 
or the total funds used. Several institutions reported that they could not separate the use of funds at a student 
level between emergency grants and funds used to pay off incurred balances, given that the transactions had 
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occurred two years prior to the request for data. That said, resolution of transcript and other financial holds 
using internal resources or state and federal resources is a rare practice unless specific allowances are made in 
federal or state law, special programs are set up, or the institution is able to access foundation resources for 
that specific purpose.  

Conclusion 
The data provided, though limited, provides a basis for exploring changes in policies related to transcript holds 
as well as the related practices. Given the over-representation of Black and African American students, Hispanic 
and Latino students, women, and students applying for financial aid, institutions should determine if the use of a 
transcript hold is the best solution for student success. At a minimum, institutions should routinely examine the 
use and impact of holds to understand the students impacted, which aligns with the intent of the Minnesota 
law. In addition, institutions should also examine if holds are resolved, the percent of holds resolved, and the 
reasons why some holds are not resolved. This information is critical to understanding the issue within the 
context of student success. This point also emphasizes the need for assessing the timing of hold placement, how 
holds are communicated to students, the effectiveness of that communication, and the processes by which 
institutions assist students in resolving holds (Kilgore, 2022; Ithaka, 2020).  

In addition, Kilgore (2022) recommends, “Examine the value of debt holds compared to how much the student 
has already spent at your institution. Calculate the number of credits stranded due to the use of transcript holds 
as a means to understand the magnitude of the impact on students of the use of holds…. Establish a debt 
forgiveness program for nominal debts.” Institutions with debt forgiveness programs have provided evidence of 
their effectiveness. This is an area where the state could provide incentives for institutions.  

The time-limited nature of Minnesota’s law does cause concern about whether institutions will revert to the 
more penalizing practices once the law expires on June 30, 2023. The dollar threshold in Minnesota law is set to 
$250 as compared to the recommendation of the American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions 
Officers (AACRAO, Kilgore, 2022), setting the threshold to a value equal to 3 semester credits of tuition and fees 
(Minnesota public two-year college FY2023 $182.37 average per credit * 3 credits = $547; Minnesota State 
University FY2023 $306.31 average per credit * 3 credits = $919; University of Minnesota FY2023 $475.36 
average per credit * 3 credits = $1,426). This recommendation aligns with Minnesota State’s policy for two-year 
colleges and the pilot programs at Minnesota State University, Mankato and Minnesota State University 
Moorhead.  

Given the data provided and the evolving nature of transcript hold policies nationally, further work should be 
undertaken to ensure the standard policies and practices of Minnesota colleges and universities seek to 
maximize student success. The next report on transcript holds at Minnesota institutions is due to the Legislature 
by October 15, 2023.  
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Appendix A. Transcript Hold Policies by Institution 

Table A1. Transcript Hold Policies by Institution 

Institution System or Type State Institution Name 

Does the 
Institution 

Withhold Academic 
Transcripts for 
Non-Payment? 

Minnesota State College MN Alexandria Technical & Community College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Anoka Technical College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Anoka-Ramsey Community College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Central Lakes College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Century College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Dakota County Technical College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Fond du Lac Tribal & Community College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Hennepin Technical College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Hibbing Community College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Inver Hills Community College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Itasca Community College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Lake Superior College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Mesabi Range College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Minneapolis Community & Technical College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Minnesota State College Southeast Yes 

Minnesota State College MN Minnesota State Community & Technical 
College Yes 

Minnesota State College MN Minnesota West Community & Technical 
College Yes 

Minnesota State College MN Normandale Community College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN North Hennepin Community College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Northland Community & Technical College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Northwest Technical College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Pine Technical & Community College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Rainy River Community College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Ridgewater College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Riverland Community College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Rochester Community and Technical College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Saint Paul College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN South Central College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN St. Cloud Technical & Community College Yes 
Minnesota State College MN Vermilion Community College Yes 
Minnesota State University MN Bemidji State University Yes 
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Institution System or Type State Institution Name 

Does the 
Institution 

Withhold Academic 
Transcripts for 
Non-Payment? 

Minnesota State University MN Metropolitan State University Yes 
Minnesota State University MN Minnesota State University Moorhead Yes 
Minnesota State University MN Minnesota State University, Mankato Yes 
Minnesota State University MN Southwest Minnesota State University Yes 
Minnesota State University MN St. Cloud State University Yes 
Minnesota State University MN Winona State University Yes 
University of Minnesota MN University of Minnesota Crookston Yes 
University of Minnesota MN University of Minnesota Duluth Yes 
University of Minnesota MN University of Minnesota Morris Yes 
University of Minnesota MN University of Minnesota Twin Cities Yes 
Private Non-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN All Braids & Hair Company No 
Private Non-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Goodwill Industries No 

Private Non-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Hennepin Healthcare School of Laboratory 
Science No 

Private Non-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Institute of Floristry No 
Private Non-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Northwestern Academy of Homeopathy No 
Private Non-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Takoda Institute of Higher Education No 
Private Non-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN White Earth Tribal & Community College Yes 
Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Augsburg University Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Bethany Lutheran College Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Bethel University Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Bethlehem College and Seminary Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Cardinal Stritch University Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Carleton College Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN College of St. Scholastica, The Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Concordia College Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Concordia University-St. Paul Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Crown College Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Gustavus Adolphus College Yes 
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Institution System or Type State Institution Name 

Does the 
Institution 

Withhold Academic 
Transcripts for 
Non-Payment? 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Hamline University Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Herzing University No 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Macalester College Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Martin Luther College Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Minneapolis College of Art and Design No 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Mitchell Hamline School of Law Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Montessori Training Center of Minnesota No 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN North Central University Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Northwestern Health Sciences University No 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Oak Hills Christian College Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Saint Mary's University of Minnesota Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN St. Catherine University Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN St. Olaf College Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN United Theological Seminary of the Twin 

Cities Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN University of Northwestern - St. Paul Yes 

Private Non-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN University of St. Thomas Yes 

Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Aesthetics Academy by Radiance No 

Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN American Institute of Non-Destructive 
Testing No 

Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN ARCH Language Network No 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Avalon School of Cosmetology Yes 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Aveda Institute Rochester No 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Club Pilates - Edina No 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN CompTIA Tech Career Academy Yes 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Empire Beauty School Bloomington No 
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Institution System or Type State Institution Name 

Does the 
Institution 

Withhold Academic 
Transcripts for 
Non-Payment? 

Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Empire Beauty School Spring Lake Park No 

Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Faces Etc Makeup Artist School of 
Minnesota No 

Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Green Lotus Yoga No 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Hastings Beauty School Inc. No 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Institute of Production & Recording No 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Minnesota School of Barbering No 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Minnesota School of Bartending No 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Minnesota School of Beauty No 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Minnesota School of Cosmetology No 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN National Able Network, Inc No 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Nova Academy of Cosmetology No 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Nova Academy of Cosmetology No 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Paragon Pilates & Physical Therapy No 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN PCI Academy Yes 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Phlebotomy Training Specialists Yes 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Pilates MN No 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Savant Aesthetics Institute No 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Software Guild No 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN The Institute of Advanced Aesthetics No 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Townsend Barber Institute No 
Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Upward Facing Dawn No 

Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Virginia Montessori Teacher Education 
Center No 

Private For-Profit 2-Year or Less  MN Washington Technical Institute Yes 
Private For-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Capella University No 

Private For-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Rasmussen University Yes 

Private For-Profit 4-Year or 
Graduate Institution MN Walden University Yes 

Out of State Institution CA Academy of Art University No 
Out of State Institution  IL Adler University Yes 
Out of State Institution  CA Animal Behavior School No 
Out of State Institution  OH Antioch University No 
Out of State Institution  CO At-Home Professions No 
Out of State Institution  CA Brandman University No 
Out of State Institution  CA California State University - Northridge No 
Out of State Institution  IL DeVry University - Online No 
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Institution System or Type State Institution Name 

Does the 
Institution 

Withhold Academic 
Transcripts for 
Non-Payment? 

Out of State Institution  CA Hope International University No 
Out of State Institution  CA Los Angeles Film School No 
Out of State Institution  CA Pacific College of Health & Science No 
Out of State Institution  CA San Jose State University No 
Out of State Institution  GA South University-Online Yes 
Out of State Institution  FL Southeastern University Yes 

Out of State Institution  TX The Chicago School of Professional 
Psychology No 

Out of State Institution  CA The University of Arizona Global Campus No 
Out of State Institution  FL Ultimate Medical Academy No 
Out of State Institution  CA University of California - Davis No 
Out of State Institution  CA University of Southern California No 
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Appendix B. Minnesota Laws  

Minnesota Laws 2021 1st Special Session Chapter 2 Article 2 
Sec. 44. TRANSCRIPT ACCESS. 

Subdivision 1. Definitions.  

(a) The terms defined in this subdivision apply to this section. 

(b) "Debt" means any money, obligation, claim, or sum, due or owed, or alleged to be due or owed, from a 
student that appears on the student account. Debt does not include the fee, if any, charged to all students for 
the actual costs of providing the transcripts. 

(c) "School" means any public institution governed by the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and 
Universities, private postsecondary educational institution as defined under section 136A.62 or 136A.821, or 
public or private entity responsible for providing transcripts to current or former students of an educational 
institution. Institutions governed by the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota are requested to 
comply with this section. 

(d) "Transcript" means the statement of an individual's academic record, including an official transcript or the 
certified statement of an individual's academic record provided by a school and an unofficial transcript or the 
uncertified statement of an individual's academic record provided by a school. 

Subd. 2. Prohibited practices.  

A school must not: 

(1) refuse to provide a transcript for a current or former student because the student owes a debt to the 
school if: 

(i) the debt owed is less than $250; 

(ii) the student has entered into and, as determined by the institution, is in compliance with a 
payment plan with the school; 

(iii) the transcript request is made by a prospective employer for the student; or 

(iv) the school has sent the debt for repayment to the Department of Revenue or to a collection 
agency, as defined in section 332.31, subdivision 3, external to the institution; or 

(2) charge an additional or a higher fee for obtaining a transcript or provide less favorable treatment of a 
transcript request because a student owes a debt to the originating school. 

Subd. 3. Institutional policy.  

(a) Institutions that use transcript issuance as a tool for debt collection must have a policy accessible to students 
that outlines how the institution collects on debts owed to the institution. 

(b) Institutions shall seek to use transcript issuance as a tool for debt collection for the fewest number of cases 
possible.  



Appendix B 33 

Subd. 4. Report required.  

(a) By April 15, 2022, and April 15, 2023, a school subject to this section must provide the Office of Higher 
Education a report that includes the following information for the most recently completed academic year: 

(1) the school's current policy on transcript holds due to debt owed to the school and the school's same 
policy prior to the enactment of this section; 

(2) the number of students who owe a debt of less than $250 to the school; 

(3) the number of students who owe a debt of more than $250 to the school; 

(4) the number of students who have had their transcripts withheld for non-payment of a debt; 

(5) the number of students who entered a payment plan after the hold is placed; 

(6) what percentage of funds owed by students are collected; and 

(7) the number of students with debt who were able to obtain transcripts due to this provision, whether 
the debt was paid, and whether the students whose transcript hold was waived reenrolled. The 
information under this clause is required only to the extent the office is able to obtain the information. 

Reports submitted for the first year should include the most recently completed academic year and the two 
prior years. The report must also include information on any state, institutional, or federal COVID funds used to 
pay for transcript holds. 

(b) By October 15, 2022, and October 15, 2023, the commissioner shall compile the data submitted under 
paragraph (a) and report to the legislature as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 3.195, and to the chairs 
and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over higher education on the 
impact of this section. 
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Appendix C. Sample Language about Unpaid Balances 

Example from the University of Minnesota  

Late payment consequences 

Financial responsibility 

By registering for classes, you entered into a legally-binding contract to pay all tuition and fees, including any 
non-refundable fees. If your account is in collection status and you cannot pay the balance due in full, please 
contact Student Account Assistance (612-625-8007) as early as possible so that we can help. 

If you do not pay on time 

If you are an admitted student and the University does not receive the amount due on your student account by 
your billing due date, the following will happen: 

• You will be charged a late payment fee of $40.00 for each billing cycle that your bill is not paid. 
• We will place a hold on your student record. Holds due to non-payment may have the following 

consequences: 
• Your current registration may be canceled including classes you are already attending. 
• You may be prevented from registering in the future, ordering a transcript, and/or being issued your 

diploma. 
• You may be unable to make bookstore charges to your student account. 
• You may become ineligible for current or future financial aid. 

Pay in full to avoid collections 

Your payment in full must be received by the third billing due date (or first billing due date for May/summer 
term) or your past-due account will be referred to collections.  

Find billing and payment due dates on the academic calendar. 

If you pay a past due account with a personal check or e-payment, there could be a 15-business day waiting 
period before transcripts or diplomas will be released or further registration will be allowed. 

Registration cancellation policy 

According to University policy, you must pay in full all past due balances or your current and/or future 
registration will be canceled. Your payment must be received, not postmarked, before the current due date to 
avoid cancellation of classes. 

If payment in full is not received by the fourth payment due date (or the second payment due date for 
May/summer term), your registration for future terms may be canceled. 
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If your registration is canceled for non-payment, you will not be allowed to register again until payment in full 
has been posted to your student account. Please be aware that there is no guarantee that the same classes will 
be available. 

Non-degree enrollment late payment policy 

If you are a non-degree student, you are required to pay your student account balance in full by the University’s 
first payment date for the current term. If you do not meet this requirement, your registration for the current 
term may be canceled. If your enrollment is canceled, you must contact One Stop to re-register. Please be aware 
that there is no guarantee that the same classes will be available. 

Collections and fees 

Seriously delinquent accounts may be referred to the Minnesota Department of Revenue and/or a collection 
agency. Any charges incurred from this action will be assessed to you. 

You are responsible for any and all fees necessary for the collection of any amount not paid when due. If you fail 
to pay your account, you will be subject to a late payment fee of $40.00 each billing cycle.  

Past due accounts may be subject to additional charges, including collection fees and collection agency 
commissions, which can be as high as 40%. Collection could include court action and referral to outside 
collection agencies. You are responsible for any and all fees necessary for the collection of any amount not paid 
to the University or contracted Collection Agency. 

Any check or e-payment returned by the bank as unpaid will be assessed a $20.00 returned check charge and 
could result in your current and/or future registration being canceled. 

Call to make a payment arrangement 

If your account is in collection status and you cannot pay the balance due in full, please contact Student Account 
Assistance (612-625-8007) as early as possible so that we can help. The sooner you contact us, the better. We 
will work with you to set up a payment arrangement. The payment arrangement timeline will be the shortest 
possible period based on the balance due. 

Additional terms 

• No penalty for prepayment. 
• You can pay more than the monthly amount due or pay your bill in full at any time. 
• If you pay more than the monthly amount due without paying your bill in full, it will not lower next 

month's payment amount. You can pay more at any time, but will still need to pay the amount due each 
month. 

Once you have a payment arrangement with Student Account Assistance, you must make payments as arranged. 
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Accounts in default 

If you make payments for less than the agreed upon amount without prior approval, you will be considered in 
default of your payment arrangement. Default means that you have stopped making monthly payments on time 
per your agreement with the University. Missing one payment could result in default. Any fees that were waived 
will be reinstated. Your account could be sent to an outside collection agency and credit reporting agencies 
notified of your default status. 

https://onestop.umn.edu/finances/billing-and-payment/late-payment-consequences  

Example State University 

Unpaid Balance Hold 

Semester Due Date 

The Semester Due Date each semester is the 25th business day of the term which requires one of the following: 

• Payment in full 
• Enrollment in a Nelnet/FACTS payment plan 

Past Due Account Balances 

Unpaid account balances will be reviewed three weeks after the Semester Due Date. These balances are 
considered past due. Accounts with remaining balances of $1,000 or more not covered by a Nelnet/FACTS 
payment plan will be subject to an Unpaid Balance Hold. The Unpaid Balance Hold prevents future registration 
transactions, the ability to receive official transcripts, and the ability to receive a diploma. Additionally, a Late 
Fee will be added to past due accounts. The Unpaid Balance Hold remains in place until the account is paid in 
full. 

Unpaid Balance Holds 

Unpaid Balance Holds are recognized system-wide; a hold placed by one college or university within the 
Minnesota State Colleges and Universities’ (MinnState) system will be honored by other Minnesota State 
colleges and universities. 

https://www.mnsu.edu/university-life/campus-services/campushub/bills-payment/unpaid-balance-hold/  

Example 2-Year College 

Holds 

A hold on your record will prevent you from registering for classes, setting up payment plans or graduating and 
will prevent Lake Superior College from sending out a transcript for you. No matter what the hold type is, you 
must contact the office that placed the hold to resolve the issue before you can proceed. 

https://onestop.umn.edu/finances/billing-and-payment/late-payment-consequences
https://www.mnsu.edu/university-life/campus-services/campushub/bills-payment/unpaid-balance-hold/
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Contact the appropriate office to resolve your hold 

Code Hold Description Contact 

0002 Academic Suspension Records Office 

0006 Assessment Test Assessment Test Administrator 

0010 Incorrect Address Records Office 

0013 Did Not Attend Orientation Advising  

0015 Past Due Balance Student Payment Office  

0031 Unpaid Balance Student Payment Office  

0032 Admissions Admissions 

0073 Write Off Student Payment Office  

0088 Collection Agency Hold Student Payment Office  

0096 Academic Success Plan Counseling 
or Student Services Center Reception 

Don't let "holds" hold you back! 

You can find and add classes to your “plan” in e-services now. When the hold on your account is lifted, return to 
complete registration. See registration instructions. 

https://www.lsc.edu/current-students/course-info/holds/   

https://www.lsc.edu/current-students/course-info/holds/
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