decorative banner image

Student Advisory Council


Minnesota Statutes 136A.031 establishes the Student Advisory Council (SAC), which mission is for students "to provide insights, perspectives, and recommendations to the Minnesota Office of Higher Education regarding financial aid issues and student concerns within the jurisdiction of the Agency." Membership, as prescribed in statute, is as follows: 

  • The Chair of the University of Minnesota Student Senate.
  • The State Chair of Students United.
  • The President of LeadMN.
  • An office of LeadMN enrolled in a community or technical college course of study, whichever is the opposite of the LeadMN President's course of study
  • The elected Chair of the Minnesota Association of Private College Students. If no student is elected, the Minnesota Private College Council must appoint a member. 
  • A student who is enrolled in a career school appointed by students enrolled in Minnesota career schools. If no student is elected, the Commissioner of OHE will appoint a student. 
  • A student who is enrolled in a tribal college. 

The following students are SAC representatives for the 2022-2023 academic year: 

Pavan Guttipatti
University of Minnesota Student Association

Emily Hilderbrand
Minnesota Private College Council

Emmett Tibbetts
MN Tribal Students, White Earth Tribal College

John Runningen 

Kaileigh Weber
Students United

Note: documents in Portable Document Format (PDF) require Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or higher to view.

Download Adobe Acrobat Reader