# Full Review & New Schools

# MINNESOTA OFFICE OF HIGHER EDUCATION PRIVATE CAREER SCHOOL LICENSE

Enclosed are the application forms you must complete to apply for a Minnesota Private Career School License. Also included are the state laws regulating private career schools doing business in the state of Minnesota.

The fees for a private school license application and solicitor permit are:

New School License Fee

Schools that will offer no more than one program its first year \$2,500 Schools that will offer more than one program its first year \$2,500

\$500

(per additional program)

School License Renewal Fee for category (A) schools

Schools Offering One Program
\$1,150
Schools Offering Two or More Programs
\$1,150

\$200

(per additional program – with max. annual licensing fee of \$2,000)

Solicitor Permit Fee – Per Solicitor \$350.00

Multiple Location(s) – Location(s) 2-5 \$250.00 per site
Location(s) 6 or more \$100.00 per site

Submit completed application for license and appropriate fee along with required materials to:

Office of Higher Education 1450 Energy Park Dr. Ste. #350 St. Paul, MN 55108 (north entrance elv. to 3<sup>rd</sup> floor)

Questions contact (651) 259-3976

# APPLICATION FOR PRIVATE CAREER SCHOOL LICENSE

Mail to: Office of Higher Education, Private Career School Licensure, 1450 Energy Park Dr. Suite 350, St. Paul, MN 55108

TO THE PARTY OF TH									
IDENTIFICATI	ON INFORMATION								
Name of School*		School Ph	one Number	Date of th	is Application	L			
School Address		City		State	Zip Code				
Name of Adminis	strative Director of School	Primary C	ontact Number	Email					
Mailing Address		City		State	Zip Code				
Business Owners	hip Name	I							
*	Name of School must match fi	iling as listed with th	e Minnesota Sec	cretary of S	State.				
		OWNERSHIP IN							
· ·	f ownership of the school. Comp be of ownership checked.	lete the section belo	w which is indi	cated by the	letter immedi	ately			
Prop	rietorship (A) Partnershi	p (B) Limited	l Liability Com	pany (C)	Corporat	ion (D)			
A PROPRIETORSHIP - List the name and home address of the proprietor (please type or print):									
Name of	Name of Proprietor Address City State Zip Code								
B PARTNERSHIP - List the names, titles, and home addresses of all partners in the partnership. Use Addendum Form if more space is needed (please type or print).									
Nai	me, Title	Address	City	State	% owned				
Naı	me, Title	Address	City	State	Zip Code	% owned			
LIM	ITED LIABILITY COMPANY	List the names and	title of the over	orchin norti	og with their re	enactiva			
( '	e addresses. Use Addendum Form			• •		spective			
Nai	me, Title	Address	State	Zip Code	% owned				
Name, Title Address City State Zip Code % owned									
CORPORATION - List the names and title of the corporate officers with their respective home addresses. Use Addendum Form if more space is needed (please type or print).									
	1	1 71	,						
Nai	me, Title	Address	City	State	% owned				
Nai	me, Title	Address	City	Zip Code	% owned				

TAX INFORMATION						
MN Tax ID # FEIN/ITIN (Provide one						

	SELF CERTIFICATIONS						
The owner/proprietor, general partner, managing partner, authorized corporate officer, or other representative of the school authorized by the school's governing board to sign contracts on behalf of the school certifies that:							
☐ I agree	There is no pending administrative, civil or criminal proceeding for fraud or misrepresentation against the school's owner(s), officer(s), agent(s) or sponsoring organization						
☐ I agree	There has been no administrative, civil or criminal proceeding for fraud or misrepresentation against the school's owner(s), officer(s), agent(s) or sponsoring organization						
☐ I agree	The school's compensated recruiting agents who are operating in Minnesota identify themselves as agents of the school when talking to or corresponding with students and prospective students						
☐ I agree	The school does not withhold a student's official transcript because the student is in arrears or in default on any loan issued by the school to the student if the loan qualifies as a school loan under United States Code, title 11, section 523(a)(8)(b)						
□ I agree	All instructors have with your school meet the following: A. recognized standing as a tradesperson or specialist supported by evidence from previous employers, or the possession of a baccalaureate degree; B. a high school diploma or its equivalent; and three years of full-time, trade, or professional experience in the trade or specialty taught, or successful completion of a college curriculum leading to a baccalaureate degree in that trade or specialty, or a combination of experience and education in the trade or specialty equivalent to three years of full-time experience						
☐ I agree	The quality and content of each program or course provides adequate preparation for students for entry level positions in the field of study for the program						
☐ I agree	The school continues to provide students and instructors the infrastructure and resources necessary to support effective teaching and learning such as technological infrastructure, scientific laboratories, libraries, performance spaces, clinical practice sites, museum collections, as appropriate to the school's offerings						
☐ I agree	The school conforms to commonly accepted minimum program lengths for their programs						
☐ I agree	The school has a clear policy on the maximum allowable credit for prior learning as a reasonable proportion of the requirements to complete the student's program						

<sup>\*</sup>Tennessen Warning: The Minnesota Office of Higher Education must collect your school's MN Tax ID and Federal Tax ID to comply with Minn. Stat. 270C.72 Subd. 4. The Office must submit an annual license and registration report to the Minnesota Department of Revenue. This information is required for your annual application. Refusal to provide this information will result in the revocation of your approval through the Office. The Office will only share this information with the Minnesota Department of Revenue to satisfy annual reporting requirements. (FEIN – Federal Employee Identification Number, SSN-Social Security Number, ITIN – Individual Taxpayer Identification Number)

☐ I agree	The school evaluates the success of its graduates. The school assures that its programs prepares students for advanced study or employment							
☐ I agree	If the school uses a written contract or enrollment agreement, the school provides a prospective student the school's catalog or its equivalent 5 days before the student signs the contract or enrollment agreement							
☐ I agree	The school does not use any contract or enrollment agreement that contains a wage assignment provision or a confession of judgement clause							
☐ I agree	If the school uses a written contract or enrollment agreement, the school provides an exact copy/duplicate of the signed contract or enrollment agreement to the student							
☐ I agree	If any of the school's programs require a clinical, internship, practicum or externship; the school understands that it is responsible for obtaining a site for a student							
☐ I agree	The school provides a list of its current clinical, internship, practicum or externship sites for students to review if a clinical, internship, practicum or externship is required							
	AFFIDAVIT							
	cant school is owned by an individual, this affidavit is to be made by that individual; if owned by a , by the managing partner; if owned by a corporation or association, by one of its authorized officers.							
STATE OF:								
	, being duly sworn deposes and says that (s)he is the							
	(Name - print or type)							
	of							
	(Title of Position Held) (Name of School)							
	which the foregoing application for license is made; that (s)he has read the foregoing application; and atements therein made are true to the best of his/her knowledge, information and belief.							
( Press Seal F	Below)							
	(Signature)							
	Subscribed and sworn to thisday of, 20							
	(Notary Public)							
	CountyState							

# ${\it CHECKLIST~OF~REQUIRED~DOCUMENTS}$

(Minnesota Statutes §136A.822 requires that the information below be furnished)

	A. APPLICATION FEE. The new school license fee is \$2,500 for schools that will offer one program its first year, or \$2,500 + \$500 for each additional program, for schools that will offer more than one programs its first year. The school license renewal fee is \$1,150 for schools offering one program or \$1,150 + \$200 for each additional program with a maximum of \$2,000 for schools offering two or more programs.
	<b>B. FINANCIAL.</b> Submit a current balance sheet, income statement, and adequate supporting documentation by an independent public accountant or certified public accountant, including a review level engagement. Our office also has the right to require audited financial statements if deemed necessary. New applicants should also include a projected income statement for two years of operation as well as 2 years tax returns for anyone involved inownership.
$\bot$	_ C. TRANSCRIPTS. Submit a copy of your institution's student transcript.
	D. MINNESOTA SECRETARY OF STATE FILINGS. You must provide copies of the following documents with your application: Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State Certificate of Organization, Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State Notice of Registered Agent. (see <a href="https://www.sos.state.mn.us">www.sos.state.mn.us</a> )
	<b>E. ADVERTISING.</b> Provide copies of all media advertising and promotional literature and brochures currently used or expected to be used in the near future. All advertising must be approved in advance by OHE.
	<b>F. CATALOG.</b> Submit the current school catalog. (Refer to Appendix A)
	<b>G. EQUIPMENT.</b> Provide a list of tools and equipment available for instruction.
	H. INSPECTION REPORTS. Attach copies of inspection reports issued by local and state regulating agencies indicating that the premises and conditions under which students work and study at the school are sanitary and safe. An example of a form used by the city of Minneapolis is included. A Certificate of Occupancy will also satisfy this requirement.
	<b>I. CONTRACTS.</b> Provide copies of all Minnesota enrollment agreement forms and contract forms used orproposed to be used in Minnesota. <b>These must be approved in advance.</b> ( <i>Refer to Appendix B</i> )
	_ <b>J. PLACEMENT SERVICE.</b> If you offer or advertise a job placement service, submit a certified copy of the graduate placement record and a summary of job placements. This is not required with initial license. ( <i>Refer to Appendices C and D</i> )
	K. BONDS. Surety bonds shall be in the amount of 10% of the preceeding year's Net Student Revenue with a minimum amount of \$10,000, as specified in M.S. Chp. 136A.822, Subd. 6 Such bonds shall run to the State of Minnesota/OHE. (Refer to Appendix E)
	<b>L. SOLICITORS.</b> A Solicitor Permit costs \$350. The bond amount for each solicitor is (\$2,000/solicitor). Anapplication for Solicitor's Permit must be submitted yearly along with permit fee ( <i>Refer to Appendices F and G</i> ).
	_ M. INSTRUCTORS. Provide the office with each instructors name and academic degrees earned or applicable education and experience and indicate which course(s) each instructor teaches. Instructors are required to have either abaccalaureate degree in the field they are teaching or three years work experience in the field they are teaching. (Refer to Appendix 1)
	_ <b>N. PROGRAMS.</b> Provide a list of the specific programs that are offered and the purposes of such instruction. Programs require prior approval by OHE. (Refer to Appendix J)
	O. MULTIPLE LOCATION ADDENDUM. Institutions operating more than one location must submita Multiple Location Addendum for each location, along with supporting documentation and fee. ( <i>Refer to Appendix K</i> )
	P. STUDENT RECORDS. *** Note: If your institution has a Record Plan on file with OHE that was signed after 01/01/12 you are not required to submit the Student Record Protection Plan for re-licensure at this time. Schools must either: (1) Submit a plan meeting the following: (a) copy of student records held in a secure depository; (b) an official designated to provide copies of records to students upon request; and (c) binding agreement for preserving student records if the school ceases to exist; or (2) if no binding agreement for preservation of student records exists a surety bond – or – Irrevocable Letter of Credit not to exceed \$20,000 must be filed with the office. (Refer to Appendices L-1 or L-2)
	Q. NET STUDENT REVENUE STATEMENT. You must provide a statement of the Net Student Revenue from students for the preceding calendar or fiscal year (please see Appendix M for calculation). If this is your first license application submission this requirement is not necessary. (Refer to Appendix M)
	<b>R. ORGANIZATIONAL FRAMEWORK.</b> Submit information showing that the school has an organizational framework with administrative and instructional personnel to provide the programs it intendsto offer.
_Ц	<b>S. ENROLLMENT.</b> For each course of instruction offered, provide the current enrollment. Also provide the maximum enrollment that you can accommodate with your present staff, equipment and facilities. ( <i>Referto Appendix N</i> )
	T. WORKERS COMPENSATION. Provide Workers Compensation insurance information. (Refer to Appendix O)

### **CATALOG CHECKLIST**

#### Minnesota Statutes Section 136A.822 and 136A.827 - 136A.828 require the following information

Identifying data, such as volume and date. (136A.822 Subd. 10(1))
School name and address. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (2))
School governing body and officials. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (2))
Calendar of the school year showing legal holidays and beginning and ending dates of classes. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (3))
Enrollment dates and entrance requirements for each course. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (4))
Attendance policies: leave, absences, class cuts, make-up work, tardiness, unsatisfactory attendance. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (5))
Grading policies: grading system, standards of progress for minimum grades, probation, re-enrollments. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (6))
Conduct: policies and dismissal procedures. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (7))
Detailed schedule of all fees: tuition, books, supplies, tools, activities, lab fees, service charges, and other charges. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (8))
Facilities & Equipment. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (10))
Course outline: course objectives, subject or units in each course, type of work or skill to be learned, time or clock hours, lecture or lab-time. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (11))
Previous credit: transfer credit, work/life experience credit. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (12))
Complaint procedure: a procedure to investigate and resolve student complaints (136A.822 Subd. 10 (14))
OHE name and address: the full name of the Minnesota Office of Higher Education and its current address. (136A.822 Subd. 10 (15))
Required Disclosure Statement: MN STATUTE 136A.828 Subd. 1. A school, agent, or solicitor may represent in advertisements and <i>shall disclose</i> in catalogues, applications, and enrollment materials that the school is duly licensed by the state by prominently displaying the following statement:

"(Name of School) is licensed as a private career school with the Minnesota Office of Higher Education pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections <u>136A.821</u> to <u>136A.832</u>. Licensure is not an endorsement of the institution. Credits earned at the institution may not transfer to all other institutions."

Refund Policy. (136A.827) *** - Note this refund policy is the same language required to be Included in your
 Contract/Enrollment Agreement if your institution uses one – (see Contract/Enrollment Agreement Checklist
below APPENDIX B)

During the 2021 legislative session, there were changes made to the statutory refund policy required by Private Career School Act refund. Our office has created the following language from the required refund policies for your institution's inclusion into your catalog and if applicable, contract or enrollment agreement. You are permitted to use the following refund policies in lieu of the statutory language. You only need to publish the policies that are applicable to the programs your institution offers (See A, B, or C).

#### A. Refund policy for Programs that are 40 hours or less

If your application is rejected, you will receive a full refund of all tuition, fees, and other charges. If your program is 40 hours or less and you withdrew from your program, your refund will be pro-rated by the number of hours attended and the length of the program. To receive a full refund of tuition, fees, and other charges, you must withdraw from your program before the scheduled start day of the program. You will receive written notice acknowledging your withdraw request within 10 business days after receipt of the notice and you will receive a refund of any tuition, fees, and other charges within 30 business days of receipt of your withdrawal. Any mailed notice is effective as of the date of the postmark if sent by mail or the day it has been hand-delivered to the school. Notice to withdraw may also be given by email, verbally to a school official (not just an instructor), or with a voicemail to a school official. [insert school's policy who is a school official]

Schools must include this clause in your school's student catalog, contract, or enrollment agreement includes a separate statement on the fair market of the equipment and any of the equipment can be reasonably resold: "You may be entitled to a refund of your equipment and supplies costs if you return your equipment and supplies within 10 days of withdrawing if your supplies are in a condition suitable for resale. If you do not return your equipment and supplies or the supplies are not in a condition suitable for resale, this cost will be deducted from your tuition, fee, and other charge refund that you may be eligible for."

#### B. Refund policy for Programs greater than 40 hours with a written contract or enrollment agreement

If your application is rejected, you will receive a full refund of all tuition, fees, and other charges. You will be entitled to a full refund of tuition, fees, and other charges if you give notice that you are canceling your contract within 5 business days after the contract or enrollment agreement is considered effective. A contract or enrollment agreement will be presumed to be effective on the date that the school notifies you that you have been accepted into the school and you have signed the contract or enrollment agreement. If the notification of acceptance into the school is sent by mail, then the effective day of being accepted is the postmark on the acceptance letter.

This five-day refund policy applies regardless of when the program starts. If you give notice more than 5 days after you signed the contract, but before the start of the program (or first lesson for an online distance education program), you will receive a refund of all tuition, fees, and other charges minus 15%, up to \$50, of the total cost of the program. If you withdraw after the start of your program and it has been more than 5 days after you signed the contract, your will receive a pro-rated refund of the entire cost of your program based on your last day of attendance. You will be provided a prorated tuition, fees, and other charges refund minus your initial application fees, up to \$50, and minus the less or 25% of the total tuition or \$100. Proration is based on whether your program is term-based or clock hours and how much of the program you have completed.

If your program is term-based, the completion rate is the number of calendar days from the first date of the program through your last documented date of attendance divided by the length of the program. The completion rate is calculated to the second decimal point (.XX).

If your program is clock-hour based, the completion rate is the number of clock hours you actually attended divided by the number of clock hours in the program. The completion rate is calculated to the second decimal point (.XX)

If you withdraw from your program after 75.00% of the program has completed, you are not entitled to a refund of tuition, fees, and other charges.

You will receive written notice acknowledging your withdraw request within 10 business days after receipt of the notice and you will receive a refund of any tuition, fees, and other charges within 30 business days of receipt of your withdrawal. Any mailed notice is effective as of the date of the postmark if sent by mail or the day it has been hand-delivered to the school. Notice to withdraw may also be given by email or verbally, including a voicemail, to a school official (defined by school's Student Right to Cancel policy). [insert school's policy who is a school official]

If you do not withdraw in writing or contact the school about your absence and you have not attended your program or contact the school about your absence for 14 consecutive days, you will be considered to have withdrawn from the school as of your last date of attendance. Your school is responsible for sending you a written notice of cancellation if you are withdrawn for failing to attend to your last known address. The confirmation from the school must state that the school has withdrawn your enrollment, and if this action was not the student's intent, the student must contact the school.

Schools must include this clause if your school's student catalog, contract, or enrollment agreement includes a separate statement on the fair market of the equipment and any of the equipment can be reasonably resold: "You may be entitled to a refund of your equipment and supplies costs if you return your equipment and supplies within 10 days of withdrawing if your supplies are in a condition suitable for resale. If you do not return your equipment and supplies or the supplies are not in a condition suitable for resale, this cost will be deducted from your tuition, fee, and other charge refund that you may be eligible for."

#### C. Refund policy for programs more than 40 hours without a written contract or enrollment agreement

If your application is rejected, you will receive a full refund of all tuition, fees, and other charges. You will be entitled to a full refund of tuition, fees, and other charges if you give notice that you are canceling your enrollment within 5 days of being accepted into the school or program

This five-day refund policy applies regardless of when the program starts. If you give notice more than 5 days after being accepted in to the program, but before the start of the program (or first lesson for an online distance education program), you will receive a refund of all tuition, fees, and other charges minus 15%, up to \$50, of the total cost of the program.

If you withdraw after the start of your program and it has been more than 5 days after you were accepted into your program, you will receive a pro-rated refund of the entire cost of your program based on your last day of attendance. You will be provided a prorated tuition, fees, and other charges refund minus your initial application fees, up to \$50, and minus the less or 25% of the total tuition or \$100. Proration is based on whether your program is term-based or clock hours and how much of the program you have completed.

If your program is term-based, the completion rate is the number of calendar days from the first date of the program through your last documented date of attendance divided by the length of the program. The completion rate is calculated to the second decimal point (.XX).

If your program is clock-hour based, the completion rate is the number of clock hours you actually attended divided by the number of clock hours in the program. The completion rate is calculated to the second decimal point (.XX)

If you withdraw from your program after 75.00% of the program has completed, you are not entitled to a refund of tuition, fees, and other charges.

You will receive written notice acknowledging your withdraw request within 10 business days after receipt of the notice and you will receive a refund of any tuition, fees, and other charges within 30 business days of receipt of your withdrawal. Any mailed notice is effective of the date of the postmark if sent by mail or the day it has been hand-delivered to the school. Notice to withdraw may also be given by email or verbally, including a voicemail, to a school official (defined by school's Student Right to Cancel policy). [insert school's policy who is a school official]

If you do not withdraw in writing or contact the school about your absence, and you have not attended your program or contact the school about your absence for 14 consecutive days, you will be considered to have withdrawn from the school as of your last date of attendance. Your school is responsible for sending you a written notice of cancellation if you are withdrawn for failing to attend to your last known address. The confirmation from the school must state that the school has withdrawn you from enrollment, and if this action was not the student's intent, the student must contact the school.

Schools must include this clause if your school's student catalog, contract, or enrollment agreement includes a separate statement on the fair market of the equipment and any of the equipment can be reasonably resold: "You may be entitled to a refund of your equipment and supplies costs if you return your equipment and supplies within 10 days of withdrawing if your supplies are in a condition suitable for resale. If you do not return your equipment and supplies or the supplies are not in a condition suitable for resale, this cost will be deducted from your tuition, fee, and other charge refund that you may be eligible for."

### CONTRACT OR ENROLLMENT AGREEMENT CHECKLIST

(Minnesota Statutes §136A.822 requires the following information)

Name and address of the school. (136A.826 Subd. 2 (1))
Clear and conspicuous disclosure that agreement is a legally binding instrument upon written acceptance of the student unless cancelled under section 136A.827 (136A.826 Subd. 2 (2))
Refund/cancellation policy: must be entitled "Buyer's Right to Cancel". (136A.826 Subd. 2 (3))
Refund Policy - *** As referenced above in APPENDIX A. (136A.826 Subd. 2 (3))
The total cost of program including tuition and all other charges shall be clearly stated. (136A.826 Subd. 2 (4))
Name and description of program including number of hours of class room instruction and/or number of distance education lessons. (136A.826 Subd. 2 (5))
Clear and conspicuous form and means for student to cancel, effective date of cancellation, and name/address to which the notice should be sent. (See "Sample" notice of cancellation) (136A.826 Subd. 2 (6))
Required Disclosure Statement: MN STATUTE 136A.828 Subd. 1. A school, agent, or solicitor may represent in advertisements and <i>shall disclose</i> in catalogues, applications, and enrollment materials that the school is duly licensed by the state by prominently displaying the following statement:
"(Name of School) is licensed as a private career school with the Minnesota Office of Higher Education pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, sections 136A.821 to 136A.832. Licensure is not an endorsement of the institution. Credits earned at the institution may not transfer to all other institutions."
Contract/Enrollment Agreement does not contain a wage assignment provision or a confession of judgment clause. (136A.826 Subd. 3)
An exact copy of the signed Contract/Enrollment Agreement is provided to the student upon execution. (136A.826 Subd. 3)

### **SAMPLE**

# INTERAGENCY REQUEST FOR FIRE INSPECTION OF SCHOOL FACILITY

\*\*\* Note (Instead of this form an inspector may submit their own documentation of inspection or report)

Date	Name of Inspector
School	Name
School	Address
Contac	t Person
	I inspected the above school facility. The facility meets the requirements
of the fire	code for use as a school not to exceedpersons.
meet the 1	I inspected the above school facility. The above school facility does not requirements of the fire code. (See attached list of violations). Violations must be corrected(date).
have been	I re-inspected the above school facility. The previously cited violations a corrected and the facility meets the requirements of the fire code for use as a school not topersons.
	Signature of Fire Inspector
	Date Inspection is Valid Through
	Fire Prevention Bureau

#### **RETURN TO:**

Office of Higher Education Private Career School Licensure 1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350 St. Paul, MN 55108 (651) 259-3976

#### INSTITUTIONAL SUMMARY OF GRADUATE STATUS BY PROGRAM

Reporting Period (last complete 12 month period
July 1-June 30 prior to this application's due date):
July 1, through June 30,

					SUMI	MARY	BY ST	ATUS						IN T	HE LA	BOR F	ORCE			
	TOTAL GRADUATES		In the Not in the Labor Labor Force		Not in the		e Continuing Education		Status Unknown								ployed t-Time		amplayad	
PROGRAM						For Which Trained					Related		Not Related		or Short- Term <sup>3</sup>		Unemployed			
	N	%	N	%	N	%	N	%	N	%	N	%	N	%	N	%	N	%	N	%
		100.0																		
		100.0																		
		100.0																		
		100.0																		
		100.0																		
		100.0																		

- 1. Includes deceased, incarcerated, medical condition, and not seeking employment.
- 2. Employed full-time means employed after graduation at one job for at least 4 weeks and for at least 30 hours per week.
- 3. Employed part-time or short-term means employed after graduation for fewer than four weeks or fewer than 30 hours per week.

### GRADUATE PLACEMENT RECORD

Program:	
Name of Institution	Reporting Period:
Name of Person Completing this Form	July 1, through June 30,

Name (	ame of Person Completing this Form					July 1, through June 30,								
		Grad			Status	Emp	oloyed Full-7	l'ime		oloyed Part-Torr		N	Not Employed	d
'	Graduate's Name	Date	Employer Name & Address	Job Title (specific)	Unknown	Trained	Related	Unrelat	Trained	Related	Unrelat	Unempl	Unavail	Cont Ed

	Grad			Status	Employed Full-Time		Employed Part-Time or Short-Term			Not Employed			
Graduate's Name	Date	Employer Name & Address	Job Title (specific)	Unknown	Trained	Related	Unrelat	Trained	Related	Unrelat	Unempl	Unavail	Cont Ed

### PRIVATE SCHOOL BOND

		Bond Nun	nber:		
	Name(s) of Pr	incipal(s)			_
an individual doing business as					
partners doing business as					
a corporation					
of(State)	(Zip Code)	_, as princip	pai(s), (Stree	et) (City)	
and Name of Surety Company	(Street)	(City)	(State)	(Zip Code)	
as surety, are held and firmly bound in the unto the state of Minnesota, and unto an accordance with Minnesota Statutes §13 severally bind ourselves, and each of our firmly by these presents.	y person who may ha 6A.822. For the payr	ve a cause onent of this	of action for well and tru	ly to be made, we jointly ar	nd
The condition of this obligation is such t private school under the provisions of M	-	-	re) conduct	ing, or is (are) about to conc	luct, a
<b>NOW THEREFORE</b> , if the principal(s the principal(s) or its (their) agents or so injury in consequence of any breach of a otherwise it shall remain in full force and	licitors, and shall pay my such contract or a	to the State	e and to suc	h persons, if any, as may su	•
Signed and Sealed with our Seals and da	ated thisday	of	, 2	0	
Principal			Co	orporate Principal	_
Principal				President	_
Principal				Secretary	
			S	urety Company	
			F	attorney-in-Fact	
			Counters	igned by Resident Agent	
			Addre	ss of Resident Agent	_

### ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF INDIVIDUAL OR PARTNERSHIP PRINCIPAL(S)

State of	
County of)	
On this day of, 20	0, before me appeared
and	to me personally known, who before me did swear that
(s)he/they is (are) the principal(s) in the foregoing boact and deed.	nd and acknowledged that (s)he/they executed the same as his/her/their free
act and deed.	
	Notary Public
(Seal)	County,
	My commission expires
	ENT OF CORPORATE PRINCIPAL
State of	
County of)	
	0, before me appeared
	to me personally known, who being by me duly sworn
	n, and that said bond was executed in behalf of the corporation by authority of strument to be the free act and deed of the corporation.  Notary Public  County,
(Seal)	
	My commission expires
ACKNOWL	EDGEMENT OF SURETY
State of)	
SS.	
County of)	
	0, before me appeared, to me personally known, who being by me duly sworn
did say that (s)he is the attorney-in-fact of the corpora	ate surety in the foregoing bond, that the seal affixed thereto is the corporate ted on behalf of the corporation by authority of its board of directors, and
	Notary Public
(Seal)	County,
	My commission expires

Attach Power of Attorney and Copy of Resolution for Agent Named Above.

#### APPLICATION FOR SOLICITOR'S PERMIT

Mail to: Office of Higher Education Private Career School Licensure 1450 Energy Park Dr., Suite 350

St. Paul, MN 55108

**GENERAL INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS:** Any person seeking a permit to solicit students who are residents of the state of Minnesota for purposes of enrolling in private career schools must obtain a solicitor's permit pursuant to the requirements of Minnesota Statutes 136A.822. The completed application, a continuous surety bond in the amount of \$2,000 and a nonrefundable permit fee of \$350 (check payable to the State of Minnesota/OHE must be submitted to the above address. Permits expire one year from date of issuance. Solicitation is prohibited until the solicitor's permit has been received by the applicant.

APPLICANT INFORMATION						
Name of Solicitor (Last, First, Middle)						
Home Address (Street/P.O. Box, City, State, Zip Code)	Telephone Number					

# **IDENTIFICATION OF SCHOOL(S)** Identify the location for which you are applying for permit. Attach an addendum sheet if you wish to represent more than three locations with the same school. **NOTE:** A separate permit application must be made for each school which is under the same common ownership. School Name Telephone Number Location 1 Address (Street/P.O. Box, City, State, Zip Code) School Name Telephone Number Location 2 Address (Street/P.O. Box, City, State, Zip Code) School Name Telephone Number Location 3 Address (Street/P.O. Box, City, State, Zip Code)

# EACH AFFIDAVIT MUST BE PROPERLY SIGNED AND NOTARIZED

AFFID	DAVIT OF SOLICITOR
STATE OF:	
COUNTY OF:	
	, being duly sworn deposes and says that (s)he is the
Name (print or type)	, being duty sworn deposes and says that (s)ne is the
	of
Title of Position Held	Name of School Location
application; and that the statements therein are tru	solicitor's permit is made; that (s)he has read the foregoing rue to the best of his (her) knowledge, information, and belief; and has knowledge of the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter
Subscribed and sworn to before me this	Signature of Solicitor
day of	Notary Public
	County,
	County,
(SEAL)	My Commission Expires:
AFFIDA	VIT OF SCHOOL OFFICIAL
STATE OF:	
COUNTY OF:	
	, being duly sworn deposes and says that (s)he is the
Name of School Official (print or type)	, being duty sworn deposes and says that (s)ne is the
	of Name of School
Position Held	Name of School
and that the applicant solicitor named in this appl the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 136	plication has been furnished a copy, has read, and has knowledge of 36A.822.
Subscribed and sworn to before me this	Signature of School Official
day of, 20	Notary Public
	Notary Public
	County,

full

# BLANKET PRIVATE CAREER SCHOOL SOLICITOR'S BOND

	Box	nd Number:		
	Name(s) of Principa	al(s)		
an individual doing business as				
partners doing business as				
a corporation				
of_		, as pr	rincipal(s),	
	(City) (State)		•	
and	, of			
Name of Surety Company	(Street)	(City)	(State)	(Zip Code)
of Minnesota, and unto any person who may last 136A.822. For the payment of this well and executors, administrators, representatives, such	truly to be made, we jointly	y and severally bind our		
The condition of this obligation is such that we school under the provisions of Minnesota Statesurety bond of said solicitor's.		_		-
NOW THEREFORE, if the principal(s) shall principal(s) or its (their) agents or solicitors, a consequence of any breach of any such contractoric and effect.	and shall pay to the State ar	nd to such persons, if an	y, as may sustai	n injury in
The liability of the surety of this bond shall no total of any and all recoveries hereunder not t				
Signed and Sealed with our Seals and dated the	hisday of	, 20		
Principal		Corpo	orate Principal	
Principal		F	President	
Principal	<del></del>	S	ecretary	
		Sure	ty Company	
		Atto	rney-in-Fact	
		Countersigne	ed by Resident A	agent
		Address	of Resident Ager	nt

(Continued on Next)

# ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF INDIVIDUAL OR PARTNERSHIP PRINCIPAL(S)

State of		)		
On this	day of		_, 20	
and	ma) tha main aim al(a)	in the female in	a hand a	to me personally known, who before me did swear that nd acknowledged that (s)he/they executed the same as his/her/their free act
and deed.	re) the principal(s)	in the foregoing	g bond a	nd acknowledged that (s)ne/they executed the same as his/her/their free act
			_	Notary Public
(Se	eal)			County,
				My commission expires
			GEMEN	T OF CORPORATE PRINCIPAL
State of		)		
County of		)		
On this	_day of	and	_, 20	, before me appearedto me personally known, who being by me duly sworn
its board of dir	ectors, and they act	mowledged said	d instrun -	nent to be the free act and deed of the corporation.  Notary Public
(Se	eal)			County,
				My commission expires
		ACKN	owlel	OGEMENT OF SURETY
County of		ss.		
On this	day of		_, 20	, before me appeared, to me personally known, who being by me duly sworn did
the corporation	, and that said bond	d was executed	on behal	, to me personally known, who being by me duly sworn did y in the foregoing bond, that the seal affixed thereto is the corporate seal of lf of the corporation by authority of its board of directors, and (s)he of the corporation.
			-	Notary Public
(Se	al)			County,
				My commission expires

Attach Power of Attorney and Copy of Resolution for Agent Named Above.

# **NEW INSTRUCTOR FORM**

Minnesota Rule 4880.1900, requires schools licensed pursuant to Minnesota Statutes §136A.822 to inform the Office of Higher Education within 30 days of certain changes. One of those changes is the hiring of new instructors. This means that a school must inform this office of all new instructors within 30 days of the hire.

Institutions

Please make copies of this form so that you can submit it as necessary throughout the year. Provide the office with each new instructor's name, the academic degrees earned or applicable education and work experience as specified in Minnesota Rule 4880.1900. Also provide a list of the course or courses for which the person will be responsible.

msutution:	
Instructors Name:	Date Hired:/
Qualifications:	
Education:	
Experience:	
Course(s) to be taught:	

#### LICENSED INSTITUTIONS

#### PROCESS & CRITERIA FOR NEW PROGRAM APPROVAL

#### **A.** Criteria

Minn. Rules 4880.1700 subp. 4: A program is a course or a grouping of courses that is advertised or listed in the school's catalog, brochures, electronic display, or other publications, or for which the school grants a diploma, certificate, or other formal recognition that does not confer a degree. A program is the same as a "course of instruction." For each program, the school must provide the following information:

#### **B.** Information required:

- (1) Title of program and type of diploma/certificate awarded on completion
- (2) Geographic location
- (3) Proposed implementation date
- (4) Length of program in quarter or semester credits, lessons, or clock hours
- (5) Number of graduates expected annually
- (6) Curriculum required to complete the program. Outline of each course including course objectives, subjects or units in the course, type of work or skill to be learned, and approximate time, hours, or credits to be spent on each subject or unit
- (7) Data that supports employment opportunities for graduates
- (8) Physical resources needed, including equipment currently available for program instruction
- (9) Information services needed, including libraries
- (10) Academic and administrative mechanisms planned for monitoring the quality of the program
- (11) Documentation of availability of clinical, internship, practicum, or externship sites, if applicable

#### MULTIPLE LOCATION ADDENDUM

Fee: \$250 per location 2-5 - \$100 per location after 5th

Minnesota Statutes §136A.822 requires that an addendum be completed for each location other than the principal site.

IDENTIFICATION INFORMATION						
Name of School*	School Phone Number	Date of this Application				
School Address	City	State	Zip Code			
Name of Administrative Director of School	Primary Contact Number	Email	·			
Mailing Address	City	State	Zip Code			
Business Ownership Name						

LOCATION OF ADDITIONAL SITE						
Name of School		Telephone Number	er			
School Address	City	State	Zip Code			

#### REQUIRED ATTACHMENTS

- **A. CATALOG.** Submit if different from primary site.
- **B. INSTRUCTORS.** List their name, the subjects they will be teaching, and their qualifications.
- **C. EQUIPMENT.** For each program offered, provide a list of the tools and equipment available for instruction.
- **D. INSPECTION REPORTS.** Attach copies of inspection reports issued by local and state regulating agencies. These should show that the facilities are sanitary, healthful and safe.
- **E. ENROLLMENT.** Provide the current enrollment for each program and the maximum enrollment that can be accommodated with present staff, equipment and facilities.

#### STUDENT RECORDS PROTECTION PLAN

(In the Event of Institutional Closure)

\*\*\* Please note that if your institution has a Student Record Protection Plan on file with OHE that was signed after 01/01/15 you are not required to submit this form for re-licensure at this point. OHE does reserve the right to require this form be completed as part of licensure renewal.

The Private Career School Act (Minnesota Statutes §136A.822) requires that all licensed institutions provide to the Minnesota Office of Higher Education an agreement between the licensed institution and another organization acceptable to OHE, to maintain and make accessible official copies of the student records of the licensed institution should it cease operation. This form is to be filled out by the organization which agrees to hold student records in the event of institutional closure.

	agrees to hold the student records of
(Name of Organization to Receive the Records)	
	for at least 50 years should the
(Name of Licensed Institution)	
	cease to exist, and agrees to maintain
(Name of Licensed Institution)	
and provide official copies of these records.	
	(Organization to Receive Student Records)
further agrees to inform the Minnesota Office of Higher Einability to continue to execute this agreement.	Education in writing at the address below in the event of its
(Name and Address of Organization to Receive the Reco	rds)
(Name)	(Title)
(Signature) Subscribed and sworn to thisday of	, 20
Notary (Signature and Seal)	(SEAL)
	(SEAL)

Please return this completed form to:

Minnesota Office of Higher Education, 1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 350, St. Paul, MN 55108 - ATTN: Private Career School Licensure

# PRIVATE CAREER SCHOOL STUDENT RECORDS BOND

		Bond	l Number:		
	Nai	me(s) of Principal	(s)		
an individual doing business as _					
partners doing business as					
a corporation					
of			,	as principal(s),	
(Street)	(City)	(State)	(Zip Code)	1 1 ()	
and	, of				
Name of Surety Company		(Street)	(City)	(State)	(Zip Code)
as surety, are held and firmly bound in the					
preserving student records after		principal(s)		shall ceas	se to exist.
The condition of this obligation is such the school under the provisions of Minnesota NOW THEREFORE, if the principal(s) full force and effect	Statutes, Cha	apter 136A.822 Sub	d. 4.		_
Signed and Sealed with our Seals and date	ed this	day of	, 20		
Principal		-	(	Corporate Principal	
Principal		-		President	
Principal		-		Secretary	
		-		Surety Company	
		-		Attorney-in-Fact	
		_	Counter	rsigned by Resident	Agent
		<del>-</del>	Addr	ess of Resident Age	ent

(Continued on Next)

### ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF INDIVIDUAL OR PARTNERSHIP PRINCIPAL(S)

State of	)	
County of	s)	
On thisday of		, before me appeared
and		to me personally known, who before me did swear that and acknowledged that (s)he/they executed the same as his/her/their free
(s)he/they is (are) the principal(s) in tact and deed.	the foregoing bond a	and acknowledged that (s)he/they executed the same as his/her/their free
act and acca.	_	
		Notary Public
(Seal)		County,
		My commission expires
ACK)	NOWLEDGEMENT	T OF CORPORATE PRINCIPAL
State ofs		
State ofs	<u></u> ) s.	
County of		
	, 20	, before me appeared
		to me personally known, who being by me duly sworn ectively, of the corporate principal in the foregoing bond; that the seal
		ad that said bond was executed in behalf of the corporation by authority of
_	_	ment to be the free act and deed of the corporation.
ns board of directors, and they dekno	wiedged baid instru	ment to be the free act and deed of the corporation.
	-	Notary Public
(Seal)		County,
(2011)		My commission expires
		My commission expires
	ACKNOWLED	GEMENT OF SURETY
State of	)	
	S.	
County of		
		, before me appeared
		, to me personally known, who being by me duly sworn surety in the foregoing bond, that the seal affixed thereto is the corporate
		on behalf of the corporation by authority of its board of directors, and
(s)he acknowledged said instrument		
		Notary Public
(Seal)		County,
		My commission agriros

Attach Power of Attorney and Copy of Resolution for Agent Named Above.

# NET STUDENT REVENUE STATEMENT

(School Name)	
License applications must include Net Student Revenue earned in the preceding ye student tuition, fees, and other required institutional charges as described in M.S. 136A.822, Subd. 6 (b)(1).	
<b>Net Student Revenue:</b> Total gross revenues generated from only educational actituition, fees, kits, books and supplies, housing and meal plans if billed through a staystem, etc.) less amounts representing reduction of those gross revenues due to stay withdrawals during a program which required refund calculations. A school may a from the total gross revenues from educational activities any grant/scholarship proschool in the form of an unfunded tuition discount (e.g. military discount, etc.).	tudent account udent also subtract
The amount of the surety bond shall be ten percent of the preceding year's net studies, and other required institutional charges collected, but in no event less than \$1 that a school may deposit a greater amount at its own discretion. A school that oper more locations may combine net student tuition, fees, and other required institutional locations for the purpose of determining the annual surety bond requirement.	10,000, except erates at two or
A school in each annual application for licensure must compute the amount of the and verify that the amount of the surety bond complies with this subdivision. In lie applicant may deposit with the commissioner of management and budget a sum examount of the required surety bond in cash, an irrevocable letter of credit issued by institution equal to the amount of the required surety bond, or securities as may be purchased by savings banks or for trust funds in an aggregate market value equal to the required surety bond. (M.S. Chapter 136A.822, Subd. 6 (d))	eu of bond, the qual to the y a financial c legally
NOTE to OUT OF STATE LICENSED SCHOOLS. Licensed schools that are states should provide only their Net Student Revenue for Minnesota Students.	based in other
Please identify the 12 month period used to determine the school's net tuition inco	ome:
/ to/	
month day year to// month day year month day yea	r

TOTAL NET STUDENT REVENUE

# **Organizational Framework (insert)**

# **ENROLLMENT**

School:	
---------	--

Program	Current Enrollment	Maximum Enrollment

### WORKERS' COMPENSATION INSURANCE VERIFICATION

Minnesota Statutes 176.182 requires as a condition to issue or renew a license or permit, that a business in Minnesota must present evidence of compliance with the workers' compensation insurance coverage requirements of Minnesota Statutes 176.181, subdivision 2 by providing, to the agency issuing such license or permit, the name of the insurance company, the policy number, and the dates of coverage or the permit to self-insure.

Please provide the requested information or indicate that the school has no employees required to be covered by workers' compensation insurance in the spaces provided.

# No Workers' Compensation Insurance Coverage:

workers' compensation insu	requirements of Minnesota Statutes 176.181, Subd. 2. to obtain urance coverage.
School Name	
Signature of School Officer	:/Official
Workers' Co	ompensation Insurance Coverage Information:
Insurance Company Name:	(Company name, not agency name)
Insurance Policy Number:	
	to
Insurance Coverage Dates:	