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I. Introduction 

This manual is written for schools participating in the Minnesota State Grant program and is 

subject to all subsequent changes in both federal and Minnesota state laws and regulations 

governing the Minnesota State Grant program. 

 

The Agency will provide each school with an opportunity to respond to proposed changes to the 

State Grant program rules and regulations. Within 10 days following the adoption of new or 

modified program rules or regulations, the Agency will develop and distribute updated written 

information to schools that will later be included in this manual. 

 

This chapter of the manual is updated on an annual basis. Schools are required to read all e-mail 

and written correspondence from the Agency to keep informed of current changes during the 

interim. According to the Institutional Participation Agreement (Appendix 5), policy changes 

announced during the interim have the full force and effect of the Financial Aid Manual. All 

participating schools are responsible for designating a State Grant contact on campus and notifying 

the Agency about changes to the campus contact information; including name, e-mail address and 

phone number. 

 

II. Program Objectives 

The objective of the Minnesota State Grant program is to provide monetary assistance to eligible 

students who demonstrate financial need, in order to encourage their education at Minnesota 

postsecondary institutions of their choice. 

 

III. Program Overview 

The Minnesota State Grant program provides undergraduate students with assistance in meeting 

the cost of attendance at eligible Minnesota public and private postsecondary institutions of their 

choice. Each academic year, the Agency determines which schools will be eligible according to 

program statutes and rules. Program funds are allocated to the Agency by the State Legislature. 

 

To receive a State Grant, the student must be enrolled at an eligible Minnesota postsecondary 

institution for at least three credits per term, demonstrate financial need (as defined in Minnesota 
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Statutes 136A.121, Subd. 5), and meet several other eligibility requirements outlined in the 

‘Eligibility Requirements’ section of this chapter. A student may receive a State Grant for any year 

of undergraduate study unless the student fails to meet the program eligibility requirements. 

 

The following formula is used to calculate the 2016-2017 annual full-time State Grant award: 

 Tuition and mandatory general fees (30 semester/45 quarter credits)* 
+ Living and miscellaneous expense allowance (LME) 
= Award calculation budget 
- 50% student share 
- 94% (dependent) 
- 50% (independent w/o dependents) or 86% (independent w/ dependents) of annual 9-month FM EFC 
- Full-time annual 9-month Pell Grant 
= State Grant award ($100 annual minimum, $50 semester, $33 quarter) 

 
*Subject to tuition and fee maximums in law. 
 
(See also Appendix 8 - Shared Responsibility Formula) 

 
 
Participating schools are responsible for screening applications, calculating awards, award 

notification, and disbursement of awards at the campus level, and electronically reporting the 

application and award data to the Agency on a monthly basis to ensure that the school’s award 

calculations and payments fall within established tolerances. 

 

IV. Application Process 

A. Original Application 

The student applies for a State Grant by completing the Free Application for Federal Student 

Aid (FAFSA) on the Web at: www.fafsa.gov. In order to provide an electronic signature on 

the FAFSA on the Web, the student and parents should apply for a FSA ID at fsaid.ed.gov or 

while completing the FAFSA on the Web. 

 

Once the FAFSA is submitted, the processor calculates the Federal Methodology need analysis 

results and sends an electronic FAFSA record called the Institutional Student Information 

Record (ISIR) with results to both the Agency and any college the student listed on the 

FAFSA. The student is sent an output document called the Student Aid Report or SAR. If the 
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student provided an e-mail address on the FAFSA, the student will be sent an e-mail 

containing a link to the electronic version of the SAR. 

 

Only schools participating in federal financial aid programs can receive ISIR records from the 

federal processor. Therefore, students attending schools that do not participate in federal aid 

programs must submit their paper SAR to the school. 

 

The processor sends ISIR records to the Agency throughout the FAFSA processing cycle. 

ISIR records are downloaded by the Agency on a nightly basis. Each time the Agency 

downloads ISIR records, the records are screened to inform schools about possible eligibility 

problems and data is written to an on-line hold report for each school (see Appendix 3). The 

school is notified by the Agency via an automated e-mail any time data is changed on its on-

line hold report. 

 

 B. Correcting Applications 
  1. Correction Methods 

Once a FAFSA is processed, there are several methods a student or school can use to make 

corrections: 

• the student can make corrections on the paper SAR and resubmit the SAR to the 

FAFSA processor; 

• the student can make corrections at www.fafsa.gov; or 

• if the school participates in federal aid programs, the school can electronically submit 

corrections to the FAFSA processor. 

 

 Schools not participating in federal financial aid programs must have students submit any 

corrections on their Student Aid Report (SAR) and provide the school with a revised SAR 

after the corrections have been processed by the Central Processing System (CPS). 

 

2. Use of Professional Judgment 
The Agency allows data elements on the student’s application to be adjusted based on the 

financial aid administrator exercising professional judgment, as outlined in federal aid 
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regulations and Minnesota Statutes 136A.1312. This occurs when there are documented 

changes in the family’s economic status during the current or previous tax year. Examples 

of special cases are loss of employment, marriage, divorce, change in number of 

dependents, substantial medical expenses, etc. Professional judgment may also be used for 

a dependency override, whereby the aid administrator makes an otherwise dependent 

applicant independent based on documentation of unusual circumstances. (Please refer to 

‘Professional Judgment’ under ‘Common Definitions’ chapter of this manual for further 

instructions.) 

 

There must be written documentation of the special situation and the resulting financial 

impact in the student’s file. Documentation should include a description of the special 

situation, the effect it will have on the student’s ability to pay for his/her education, the 

effect on the student’s overall financial condition, and the date the school was informed of 

the special situation. 

 

Corrections/adjustments based on the financial aid administrator exercising professional 

judgment must be submitted to CPS by the financial aid administrator either electronically 

or on the student’s paper SAR. 

 

3. Institutional Responsibility for Correcting Applications 

Schools are responsible for resolving all conflicting information on the student’s 

application as well as any C codes on the student’s ISIR record. This includes actively 

comparing any new information received or accessed by the school to existing information 

to determine if a student’s eligibility is affected. Schools are required to make financial 

changes to a student’s application if the change will have an impact on the parent 

contribution, expected family contribution, Pell Grant award, or any other factor affecting 

the State Grant award calculation. Schools should also adhere to guidance in the Federal 

Student Aid Handbook’s Application and Verification Guide regarding the verification, 

updating and correction of student application data. 
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 Schools not participating in federal financial aid programs must have students submit any 

corrections on their Student Aid Report (SAR) and provide the school with a revised SAR 

after the corrections have been processed by the Central Processing System (CPS). 

 

If a student’s FAFSA application is selected for verification by the CPS, the institution is 

responsible for verifying the accuracy of data provided on the student’s application using 

procedures and tolerances established for federal Title IV financial aid programs, even if 

the institution does not participate in those programs. The school should obtain a copy of 

the federal ‘Application and Verification Guide’ for the current aid year at 

www.ifap.ed.gov for further guidance. 

 

If a student’s ISIR record or SAR has a value of ‘2’ or ‘3’ for the unusual enrollment 

history flag, the school must delay disbursing State Grant funds to the student until the 

unusual enrollment history can be resolved in accordance with unusual enrollment history 

guidelines issued for federal financial aid programs. This applies even if the school does 

not participate in federal financial aid programs. The unusual enrollment history flags and 

required actions are described in the March 8, 2013 Dear Colleague letter from the U.S. 

Department of Education available at www.ifap.ed.gov/dpcletters/GEN1309.html and the 

Federal Student Financial Aid Handbook at www.ifap.ed.gov.  

 

In cases where a subsequent ISIR is received after the student is no longer attending the 

school and is not intending to reenroll, the school is not required to adjust the student’s 

State Grant if: 

• all the student’s State Grant has already been disbursed; and 

• there was no conflicting information at the time of disbursement. 

 

If the school discovers the student reported incorrect information on the FAFSA for a prior 

aid year, the school must correct the prior year FAFSA and make any necessary award 

adjustments unless the federal processing system is no longer operational for that aid year. 
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C. Application and Correction Deadlines 

1. Original Application Deadlines 

In order to receive a State Grant award for a term, the student’s original FAFSA for the 

current aid year must be received by the federal central processing system (CPS) no later 

than the 30th calendar day of the term. For example, if fall semester started on 

September 1, the original FAFSA application receipt date at the CPS must be on or before 

September 30. There is no requirement that the original FAFSA result in a valid output 

document as long as the original FAFSA is received by the CPS no later than the 30th 

calendar day of the term. This same deadline applies to state financial aid applications 

submitted by undocumented students under the MN Dream Act. 

 

If the student’s original FAFSA was submitted under an incorrect social security number 

and the student later submits a FAFSA under the correct social security number, the 

FAFSA receipt date on the original FAFSA is used to determine if the student meets the 

State Grant application deadline. The same applies to a student who files both a FAFSA 

and MN Dream Act application for the same aid year; the application receipt date for the 

first application filed will be used for purposes of the application deadline. 

 

In certain cases, schools with uniform term start and end dates for all students have 

courses or programs which might start later in the term, or may even overlap terms. In 

these cases, the State Grant application deadline is 30 calendar days from the beginning of 

the term, rather than 30 days from the date the particular course or program begins. 

 

Many term-based schools combine multiple mini-sessions into one term. When this 

occurs, the term start date is considered the first day of the first mini-session in the term 

and the term end date is considered the last date of the last mini-session in the term, 

regardless of whether or not the student was enrolled in all mini-sessions. 

 

Some schools do not use uniform term start and end dates for all students. This group of 

schools includes progressive clock hour schools using payment periods instead of terms, 

credit-based schools that link together sequential credit-based modules to form a “term” 
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for each student equal to a certain number of credits, or credit-based schools with “rolling” 

term start and end dates that may have the first fall semester running September 1 through 

December 15, the second fall semester running September 15 through December 30, and 

so forth. 

 

In these cases, the term start date used to determine the State Grant application deadline 

will be the first calendar day of the student’s payment period or term. When the Agency 

processes State Grant DDS batches for these schools, it will not be able to verify the 

student’s FAFSA was received at the CPS by the application deadline because only one 

term start and end date can be stored on the State Grant database for each school. 

Therefore, these schools will need to monitor each student’s term start date on campus and 

prevent State Grant awards from going to students who missed the application deadline. 

 

If the student’s original FAFSA was received by the CPS after the application deadline for 

a term, the student cannot receive a State Grant award for that term but may be eligible for 

subsequent terms during that academic year. For example, if fall term started September 1 

and the student’s original FAFSA receipt date at the CPS were October 15, the student 

could not receive a State Grant for fall term but could be awarded for the subsequent terms 

of that aid year. The same applies to state financial aid applications submitted by 

undocumented students under the MN Dream Act. 

 
2. Correction Deadlines 

The only State Grant application transaction that is subject to the application deadline is 

the student’s original FAFSA for the aid year. If the student’s original FAFSA was 

received by the deadline, the school may accept any subsequent correction transaction 

until the school closes out its State Grant activity for the aid year, which it must do no later 

than August 31. Therefore, schools are allowed to package and adjust the student’s State 

Grant throughout the aid year, which may involve late or retroactive payment for a term, 

as long as the original FAFSA was received by the application date. (See ‘Adjusting 

Payments Due to Revised Award’ and ‘Late/Retroactive Disbursement’ sections for 
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further information.) The same applies to state financial aid applications submitted by 

undocumented students under the MN Dream Act. 

 

D. State Grant Student Eligibility Questionnaire 
Because the FAFSA does not contain all of the information needed to verify State Grant 

eligibility, the institution must collect and/or review supplemental data to determine each 

student’s history of Minnesota residency and postsecondary attendance. The institution can 

use the paper Student Eligibility Questionnaire (see Appendix 2), the On-Line Student 

Eligibility Questionnaire (see Appendix 24) or include the questions from the Agency’s 

questionnaire on its own institutional paper or on-line form as a proxy. If the institution 

chooses to include these questions on its own form, it is recommended they be included on a 

financial aid form since many students exclude previous postsecondary attendance on 

admissions forms if they do not wish to transfer credit. 

 

A school is not required to have each State Grant applicant complete the Student Eligibility 

Questionnaire (or school’s proxy) if the school has sufficient information from other sources 

(ISIR/SAR, NSLDS system, admissions and registration records, other financial aid records, 

etc.) that documents the student’s eligibility. The following are examples of when state 

residency or the amount of postsecondary attendance can be documented without using the 

paper or On-Line Student Eligibility Questionnaire (or school’s proxy): 

• The school has a copy of the student’s Minnesota high school diploma or another form the 

student completed indicating the student graduated from a Minnesota high school 

(establishes Minnesota residency via graduation from a Minnesota high school). 

• A dependent student’s SAR/ISIR indicates Minnesota as the parents’ state of legal 

residence (establishes Minnesota residency by documenting parents resided in Minnesota 

when the FAFSA was completed). 

• Student’s date of birth on the SAR/ISIR or other records held by the college is such that it 

would be impossible for the student to have exceeded the limit on postsecondary 

attendance by continuous enrollment between the date of high school graduation and the 

current academic year, including summer terms. 
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• The student has previously completed a Student Eligibility Questionnaire (or the school’s 

proxy) and subsequent information received and accessed by the school (SAR/ISIR, 

NSLDS, institutional records, etc.) is reviewed to determine it does not contradict the 

student’s continued eligibility. 

 

  Because the NSLDS and State Grant historical databases are not comprehensive sources of 

previous postsecondary attendance, they cannot be the only method used to initially determine 

the student’s amount of previous postsecondary attendance. However, once the student has 

provided information about previous postsecondary attendance on the Student Eligibility 

Questionnaire (or school’s proxy), these databases can be used to identify subsequent 

postsecondary attendance without the student having to complete additional forms. In cases 

where the amount of previous postsecondary attendance, including attendance at the current 

school, equals three or more academic years, the school is required to review the student’s 

academic transcripts to determine the precise amount of previous postsecondary attendance. 

 

E. Disclosure Statement Required for Schools  
 Not Participating in the Federal Pell Grant Program 

Private schools not participating in the Federal Pell Grant program must have all students sign 

the student disclosure statement (Appendix 23) upon enrollment at the school informing them 

that they will not be eligible to receive a Federal Pell Grant at that particular school.  

 

V. Eligibility Requirements 

A. Postsecondary Institutions 

At least annually, the Commissioner of the Minnesota Office of Higher Education adopts a list 

of schools at which a State Grant may be used. To be eligible, a postsecondary institution 

must: 

• be located in Minnesota; 

• offer at least one program that: 

a) is vocational or academic in nature, 

b) leads to a certificate or degree, 



 
FINANCIAL AID MANUAL 

 
NUMBER 

Section I 

 
PAGE 
10 

 
SECTION 
 State Grant Program 

 
DATE 

July 2016 

 
 

c) is at least eight weeks long, and 

d) involves at least 12 quarter/8 semester credits or 300 clock hours; 

• meet the definition of eligible institution contained in the ‘Common Definitions’ chapter 

of this manual (for schools not participating in the Federal Pell Grant program, this 

requires having all enrolled students sign the student disclosure statement (Appendix 23); 

• have the necessary administrative computing capability to administer the program on 

campus and electronically report student data records to the Agency; and 

• provide to the Agency data on student enrollment and federal and state financial aid. 

 

To be approved, the postsecondary institution must also: 

• complete the on-line State Grant Budget Questionnaire; 

• receive an on-site administrative overview from the supervisor of the Agency’s auditing 

staff; 

• after the administrative review, be approved by the Agency’s Commissioner; 

• once approved, sign an Institutional Participation Agreement which can be obtained from 

the State Grant unit (Appendix 5); 

• attend a training session offered by the manager of the State Grant program; and 

• purchase or create the software necessary to calculate federal need analysis and Minnesota 

State Grant awards on campus and electronically report student data records to the 

Agency. 

 

Schools are also encouraged to become members of the Minnesota Association of Financial 

Aid Administrators (MAFAA) and subscribe to the MAFAA e-mail listserv at 

www.mafaa.org. 

 

If a school is approved after the beginning of the academic year, the school will be eligible to 

disburse awards beginning with the term during which it obtained approval. 
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B. Student Eligibility 

1. Comprehensive List of Eligibility Requirements 

To be eligible for a State Grant, a student must: 

• be a Minnesota resident as defined in Minnesota Statutes 136A.101, Subd. 8; 

• be an undergraduate student who has not received a baccalaureate degree; 

• not have attended the equivalent of eight semesters of full-time postsecondary 

education after high school; 

• be a graduate of a secondary school/GED recipient or be at least 17 years of age at the 

time of disbursement (high school students enrolled in postsecondary courses prior to 

receiving their high school diploma are not eligible for a State Grant); 

• not owe the Agency for a State Grant overpayment; 

• not be in default on a student educational loan; 

• not be more than 30 days in arrears for child support payments owed to a public child 

support enforcement agency unless the student is complying with a written repayment 

plan; 

• enroll at an eligible Minnesota postsecondary institution for at least three credits (or 

six clock hours per week at clock hour institutions) while pursuing a program or 

course of study that applies to a degree, diploma or certificate at any eligible 

Minnesota postsecondary institution; 

• on the date of disbursement, be making satisfactory academic progress; and 

• not be receiving tuition reciprocity benefits from another state while attending a 

Minnesota postsecondary institution. 

 

2. Further Information on Selected Eligibility Requirements 

a. Minnesota Resident 

A student must be a Minnesota resident to receive a State Grant. (See ‘Common 

Definitions’ chapter for definition of “Resident Student.”) 

 

b. Undergraduate Requirement 

A student enrolled in an undergraduate program who has not earned a baccalaureate 

degree is eligible for a Minnesota State Grant. A comparable four-year postsecondary 
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degree earned in another country, but not officially called a “baccalaureate” degree, 

will be considered a baccalaureate degree for purposes of the State Grant program. A 

foreign bachelor’s degree consisting of six or fewer semesters without general 

education requirements is not considered a bachelor’s degree for purposes of the State 

Grant program. 

 

A student enrolled in a graduate program who has not yet earned a baccalaureate 

degree is not eligible for a State Grant, even if some of the student’s course work is at 

the undergraduate level. A student enrolled in an undergraduate program is eligible for 

a Minnesota State Grant, even if some of the student’s courses are at the graduate 

level. The key to determining eligibility is whether the student is enrolled in an 

undergraduate (eligible) or graduate (ineligible) program. 

 

c. Limit on Postsecondary Attendance 

(1) General 

An applicant who does not have the equivalent of eight full-time semesters of 

postsecondary attendance after high school is eligible for a Minnesota State Grant. 

Attendance is accumulated in units, with 96 units being the equivalent of eight 

semesters of full-time attendance. Units are assigned as follows: 

 

Units Chart - Course Work Prior to July 1, 1992 

Term Enrollment Status Units Assigned – Qtr Units Assigned - Sem 

Full-time (12+ credits) 8 12 

3/4-time (9-11 credits) 6 9 

1/2-time (6-8 credits) 4 6 

(1-5 credits) Bank Credits Bank Credits 
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Units Chart - Course Work After July 1, 1992 

Credits 
Per Term 

Clock Hours 
Per Week Units for Quarter Units for 

Semester 

15+ 30+ 8 12 

14 28-29 7.5 11.2 

13 26-27 6.9 10.4 

12 24-25 6.4 9.6 

11 22-23 5.9 8.8 

10 20-21 5.3 8.0 

9 18-19 4.8 7.2 

8 16-17 4.3 6.4 

7 14-15 3.7 5.6 

6 12-13 3.2 4.8 

5 10-11 2.7 4.0 

4 8-9 2.1 3.2 

3 6-7 1.6 2.4 

2 4-5 1.1 1.6 

1 2-3 .5 .8 
 

If the student’s total credits for a term are not a whole number (e.g., 14.5 credits), 

the remaining percentage/fraction must be dropped (e.g., assign units based on 14 

credits rather than 14.5). If a student has less than one credit per term, it would be 

considered a term with zero credits. 

 

A student loses eligibility once the student’s remaining units of eligibility are less 

than those assigned for a Level 3 term (three credits) as shown on the ‘Course 

Work After July 1, 1992’ chart. For example, if a student attending a quarter 

institution had accumulated 95 units, the student would not be eligible because the 

remaining units of eligibility (96 maximum units minus 95 accumulated 

units = 1 remaining unit) are less than those assigned to a Level 3 quarter 

(1.6 units). Therefore, a student with more than 94.4 units is no longer eligible for 

a State Grant at a quarter system institution. A student with more than 93.6 units is 

no longer eligible for a State Grant at a semester system institution. 
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Institutions that disburse aid on a quarter system may exceed the maximum of 96 

units by disbursing up to one additional full-time quarter of aid to a student who 

has not accumulated more than 94.4 units. Institutions that disburse aid on a 

semester system may exceed the maximum of 96 units by disbursing up to one 

additional full-time semester of aid to a student who has not accumulated more 

than 93.6 units. 

 
(2) Extra Term of Eligibility for Students Who Withdraw for Active Military Service 

If a student had to withdraw from college for active military service after 

December 31, 2002, course work taken during that term shall not count against the 

limit on postsecondary education used for the State Grant program. The State 

Grant Student Eligibility Questionnaire (Appendix 2) has been modified to 

identify students who may have withdrawn for active military service. If schools 

do not use this form, it is recommended that they incorporate language to solicit 

such information into any institutional forms used to determine State Grant 

eligibility and make arrangements for the school’s registrar or VA counselor to 

notify the financial aid office about such withdrawals. The financial aid 

administrator should request documentation from the student to verify the student 

has withdrawn for active military service. Once the financial aid administrator 

identifies such a student, the administrator should notify the grant unit at the 

Office of Higher Education so the appropriate adjustments can be made to the 

State Grant database. There is no restriction against this provision being used for 

multiple occurrences. 

 

    (3) Extra Term of Eligibility for Students Who Withdraw for Major Medical Illness 

If a student had to withdraw from college for a major medical illness, while under 

the care of a medical professional that substantially limited the student’s ability to 

complete the term, the current institution may exclude that term when determining 

the amount of previous postsecondary attendance for that student. This exclusion 

applies regardless of whether the withdrawal took place at the current or a 

previous institution. The State Grant Student Eligibility Questionnaire 

(Appendix 2) has been modified to identify students who may have withdrawn for 
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this reason. If schools do not use this form, it is recommended that they 

incorporate language to solicit such information into any institutional forms used 

to determine State Grant eligibility and make arrangements for the school’s 

registrar to notify the financial aid office about such withdrawals. The financial 

aid administrator should request documentation from the student’s medical 

professional verifying the student had to withdraw for a major medical illness that 

substantially limited the student’s ability to complete the term. Once the financial 

aid administrator identifies such a student, the administrator should notify the 

grant unit at the Office of Higher Education so the appropriate adjustments can be 

made to the State Grant database. There is no restriction against this provision 

being used for multiple occurrences. 

 

(4) Instructions for Reviewing Academic Transcripts 

Because the FAFSA does not contain data required to determine the amount of 

postsecondary education the student has attempted, the school must have the 

student complete the State Grant Student Eligibility Questionnaire (Appendix 2) 

or a similar form designed by the school. If the institution chooses to include these 

questions on its own form, it is recommended they be included on a financial aid 

form since many students exclude previous postsecondary attendance on 

admissions forms if they do not wish to transfer credit. If the documentation the 

campus collects indicates the student may have attended three or more years of 

postsecondary education, including attendance at the current institution, the 

institution must request and evaluate the student’s academic transcripts. (See 

‘Relying on Pell Grant Lifetime Eligibility Used (LEU)’ in this section for 

guidance on when a student’s Pell Grant LEU may be used in lieu of reviewing 

academic transcripts.) Either official transcripts or student copies are acceptable. 

 

When reviewing transcripts to determine a student’s units of postsecondary 

attendance, a separate grade transcript must be obtained from each postsecondary 

institution the student has attended. It is not sufficient to assign units based on 
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transfer credits appearing on another institution’s transcript because the student 

may have completed course work that did not transfer to another institution.  

When reviewing transcripts, units will be assigned differently depending on 

whether the course work took place before or after July 1, 1992, as shown on the 

preceding units charts. 

 

When assigning units, all postsecondary education must be counted, including, but 

not limited to:  

• course work taken after the student completed high school or terminated high 

school attendance, even if it took place before the student earned a GED; 

• course work taken during military service if it was taken at a postsecondary 

institution (as opposed to training provided by the military);  

• course work taken at colleges in other states or countries;  

• independent study courses;  

• classes from which the student withdrew (except for active military duty after 

December 31, 2002, or for a major medical illness), failed, received no credit, 

repeated, earned an incomplete or received a grade of FW (failed stopped 

attending);  

• remedial course credit equivalencies allowed in determining enrollment status; 

and  

• course work during terms for which State Grant awards were not available.  

 

[Note: The school may opt to exclude course work from which the student 

withdrew if it took place prior to July 1, 1995. However, if the student retained 

State Grant aid during that term, the Agency will assign units of aid for that term.]  

 

When assigning units, the following course work must be excluded: 

• course work completed at a Minnesota postsecondary institution which is not 

participating in the Minnesota State Grant program and from which the 

student transferred no credit (a list of all schools that have participated in the 

State Grant program is available at www.ohe.state.mn.us, Campus Financial 



 
FINANCIAL AID MANUAL 

 
NUMBER 

Section I 

 
PAGE 
17 

 
SECTION 
 State Grant Program 

 
DATE 

July 2016 

 
 

Aid Administrator Resources, Minnesota State Grant Program 

Administration); 

• course work from which the student withdrew after December 31, 2002, for 

active military service;  

• term from which the student withdrew for a major medical illness, while 

under the care of a medical professional, that substantially limited the 

student’s ability to complete the term; 

• course work for which the student received a grade of FN (failed never 

attended); 

• CLEP credits (classes the student “tested out” of without having to attend the 

class); 

• PSEO (Post-Secondary Enrollment Options) course work or other similar 

programs that allow the student to take college course work while the student 

is still in high school; 

• course work or training assigned CEUs (continuing education units); 

• programs under eight weeks in duration (e.g., nursing assistant program); 

• course work not offered by postsecondary institutions (e.g., Red Cross first aid 

training, Salvation Army on-the-job training, military training, etc.) even if it 

is later granted credit by a postsecondary institution; and 

• courses the student audited. 

 

TRANSCRIPT REVIEW TOOLS 

Schools may use either the Transcript Review Worksheet (Appendix 7) or 

Transcript Review Spreadsheet to review transcripts and assign units. The 

spreadsheet tool is available at: www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=1538. 

The spreadsheet is designed to automatically assign units based on the attempted 

credits entered into the spreadsheet for each term. The second page of the 

spreadsheet will determine units for clock hour course work taken at another 

school if the user enters total clock hours and total number of weeks in the period 

of enrollment. 
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ASSIGNING UNITS TO PRE-JULY 1, 1992 COURSE WORK 

Assign units to each term in which the student was enrolled on a half-time or more 

basis according to the pre-July 1, 1992 units chart or transcript review worksheet 

(Appendix 7). Place all credits from terms that were less than half-time (less than six 

credits) in a separate quarter or semester “bank,” depending on the system used by 

that school. Translate banked credits into units according to the instructions on the 

worksheet. The transcript review spreadsheet will automatically assign units for 

credits entered on the spreadsheet. 

 

ASSIGNING UNITS TO POST-JULY 1, 1992 COURSE WORK 

Assign units to each term based on the exact number of credits as shown on the 

post-July 1, 1992 units chart or the transcript review worksheet (Appendix 7). 

Units should be assigned to less than half-time terms instead of banking credits. 

The transcript review spreadsheet will automatically assign units for credits 

entered on the spreadsheet. 

 

ASSIGNING UNITS FOR SUMMER 1992 TERMS 

If the student was paid a State Grant for summer term 1992, assign units based on 

the units chart in effect for the academic year from which the funding originated.  

If the school cannot determine if the student was paid a State Grant for summer 

term 1992, units should be assigned based on the units chart in effect for the 

academic year in which the term started. In other words, if the summer term 

started before July 1, 1992, assign units based on the pre-July 1, 1992 units chart. 

If the term started on or after July 1, 1992, assign units based on the post-July 1, 

1992 units chart. 

 

ASSIGNING UNITS WHEN STUDENT ATTENDED  
MULTIPLE SCHOOLS FOR SAME TERM 

If a student attends multiple schools for the same term, the credits appearing on all 

transcripts should be combined prior to assigning units. For example, if a student 

took eight semester credits at one school and 10 semester credits at another, the 

credits would be combined for a total of 18 credits and assigned 12 units for a full-
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time semester of 15 or more credits. In cases where the student attends both 

quarter and semester schools, credits should be converted prior to assigning units. 

Semester credits should be multiplied by 1.5 to convert to quarter credits. Quarter 

credits should be multiplied by .667 to arrive at semester credits. 

 

CREDIT CONVERSIONS FOR PRE-1998-99 MNSCU COURSE WORK 

If a school is reviewing a transcript from a MnSCU school (public two-year 

college or state university) and quarter credits earned for course work completed 

prior to the 1998-99 academic year have been converted by MnSCU into semester 

credits, those semester credits must be converted back to quarter credits (in other 

words, multiplied by 1.5) before the transcript is reviewed for state aid program 

eligibility. 

 

ASSIGNING UNITS FOR INTERIM TERMS 

When reviewing transcripts from another school to determine the amount of 

postsecondary education a student has attended, interim terms should be treated as 

follows: 

• If the student attended an interim term and one or more semesters during the 

same academic year, the interim term should not be counted as a separate 

term. Rather, interim term credits should be distributed to the other 

semester(s) in a manner that would equalize enrollment status for both 

semesters. Once both semesters have enough credits to be considered full 

time, distributing additional interim credits to either semester will have no 

effect on the units assigned to each semester. 

• If the total number of interim credits is not an even number, distribute only 

whole credits to the other two semesters rather than dividing an uneven 

number by two. 

• If a student attended only one semester plus an interim term during the same 

academic year, all of the interim term credits should be distributed to the one 

semester. 
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• If the student only attended an interim term during an academic year, the 

interim term must be treated as a separate term. 

 

However, when assessing previous postsecondary attendance taken at the current 

school, interim credits should be allocated to adjoining terms as they were 

allocated to determine enrollment level for awarding purposes. 

 

ASSIGNING UNITS WHEN NO CREDITS LISTED FOR GRADE OF W OR F 

Certain colleges do not list attempted credits on academic transcripts when a 

student receives a grade of W or F for the course, or when the course is a remedial 

course. In such cases, the financial aid administrator must use an assumed value of 

four credits for these types of courses without having to contact the previous 

college. If the student wants to appeal that assumption, the student can produce 

additional documentation to verify the number of actual attempted credits. This 

assumption should only be applied in the rare instances when no attempted credits 

appear for certain classes on another college's transcript. Financial aid 

administrators must look up actual attempted credits for classes taken at their own 

institution. 

 

INABILITY TO DECIPHER TRANSCRIPT 

If a transcript lacks information needed to accurately determine the amount of 

postsecondary education attempted (course work not shown by term, no start or 

end dates, no credits or clock hours associated with classes, etc.), the financial aid 

administrator should make a good faith effort to assign units of postsecondary 

attendance and document how the result was determined for auditing purposes. 

 

INABILITY TO OBTAIN TRANSCRIPTS 

Prior to July 1, 2010, cosmetology schools in Minnesota were only required to 

keep records for five years. If academic transcripts from any type of school are not 

available (closed school, no records maintained, natural disaster, civil war, etc.), 

the school may accept a written, signed statement from the student in which the 
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student reconstructs his/her postsecondary period of enrollment and enrollment 

level. Such a statement cannot be used in lieu of transcripts in cases where the 

transcript cannot be released due to non-payment of institutional charges. 

However, schools are required by FERPA (34 CFR 99.10) to allow the student to 

inspect his/her educational records, or if that is impossible, to make copies of 

educational records for the student. Such records, even if not official transcripts, 

are acceptable for purposes of reviewing transcripts. 

 

If a student cannot obtain transcripts due to unpaid charges at another college, and 

the current college cannot determine the student’s eligibility for MN State Grant 

or Postsecondary Child Care Grant without reviewing those transcripts, the 

student can voluntarily waive his/her eligibility for these programs by signing the 

‘Voluntary Waiver of Minnesota State Grant and Postsecondary Child Care Grant’ 

form (Appendix 25). Use of this form by the current school is optional. 

 

PROGRESSIVE CLOCK HOUR TRANSCRIPTS 

If a transcript from a clock hour school does not separate course work into 

enrollment periods, the school should first determine the number of weeks in the 

student’s period of enrollment. Assume continuous enrollment without breaks 

unless the student states otherwise. In rare cases, total clock hours may not appear 

on a cosmetology transcript. If the student has obtained a license in any of these 

fields, assume these hours: Cosmetology = 1,550 hours; Barbering = 1,500 hours; 

Esthiology = 600 hours; Manicuring = 350 hours. 

 

Determine the student’s enrollment status by dividing the total number of clock 

hours completed by the number of weeks in the enrollment period. Once average 

hours per week are known, assumed enrollment status for the entire enrollment 

period will be based on the following chart: 
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 Enrollment Status at Clock Hour School 

Average Clock Hours 
Per Week 

Course Work Taken 
Pre-July 1, 1992 

Course Work Taken 
Post-July 1, 1992 

30+ Full-time Level 15 

28-29 Full-time Level 14 

26-27 Full-time Level 13 

24-25 Full-time Level 12 

22-23 3/4-time Level 11 

20-21 3/4-time Level 10 

18-19 3/4-time Level 9 

16-17 Half-time Level 8 

14-15 Half-time Level 7 

12-13 Half-time Level 6 

10-11 N/A Level 5 

8-9 N/A Level 4 

6-7 N/A Level 3 
 
 

Determine the approximate number of quarters that could have taken place within 

the enrollment period by dividing the total number of weeks in the enrollment 

period by 12. 

 

Determine the total units of postsecondary education by applying enrollment 

status to the number of quarters in the enrollment period and referring to the units 

charts in this section or Appendix 7. The second page within the OHE Transcript 

Review Spreadsheet is designed to calculate units if a user enters total clock hours 

and total weeks enrolled. 

 

Example of Units for Clock Hour Attendance 
 
Period of Enrollment was 9/1/89 to 8/26/90 = 51 weeks 
Total Hours Completed = 1550 
Average Hours per Week = 1550/51 = 30 
Assumed Enrollment Status = Full-time (Level 15) 
Number of Quarters in Enrollment Period = 51/12 = 4.25 
Number of PSE Units = 4.25 FT quarters x 8 units = 34 units 
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 (5) Relying on Pell Grant Lifetime Eligibility Used (LEU) 

A school may rely on a student’s Pell Grant Lifetime Eligibility Used (LEU) 

calculated on the federal central processing system in lieu of requesting and 

reviewing a student’s academic transcripts if a student’s Pell Grant LEU is 500 

percent, in which case, the school can assume the student has reached the State 

Grant limit on postsecondary attendance of at least four full-time academic years.  

 

If a school chooses to use Pell Grant LEU in this case, it should make sure it is not 

in conflict with any policy it has adopted to exclude courses with W grades earned 

before July 1, 1995, which is allowed for the State Grant program if the student 

did not receive a State Grant payment for those credits. 

 

d. High School Graduate, GED Recipient or 17 Years of Age 

To qualify for Minnesota State Grant, a student must be at least 17 years old at the 

time of disbursement or have a high school diploma or GED. While Minnesota uses 

the standard GED test, certain other states use alternative tests, such as the High 

School Equivalency Test (HiSET) or Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC). 

Minnesota’s K-12 education agency, the Minnesota Department of Education, honors 

alternative tests authorized and used by other states and will issue a student who 

successfully passed such a test a Minnesota GED certificate upon request. For 

purposes of this eligibility requirement, such a GED is acceptable. However, it cannot 

be treated as the equivalent of a GED earned in Minnesota for purposes of establishing 

state residency. (See ‘Resident Student’ in Common Definition chapter.) 

 

The Minnesota Department of Education currently does not honor such alternative 

tests if they were taken in a state in which they are not authorized. Thus, students who 

took alternative tests in a state in which they are not authorized will not be considered 

to have the equivalent of a GED for purposes of state financial aid programs. 
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The following is a list of states authorizing and using alternative tests to the GED: 

HiSET Test: California, Hawaii, Iowa, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Missouri, 

Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, North 

Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Wyoming. 

TASC Test: California, Illinois, Indiana, New Jersey, New York, Nevada, North 

Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, West Virginia, Wyoming. 

 

e. State Grant Overpayment 

A student is not eligible to receive a State Grant if the student owes the school or the 

Agency for a State Grant overpayment. A student is considered to have received an 

overpayment if the student’s total payments exceeded the allowable State Grant award 

or if the school or the Agency learned the student did not meet one of the program 

eligibility requirements after the student received a State Grant payment. 

  

The student will become eligible retroactive to the beginning of the current aid year if 

the student repays the overpayment or maintains a pattern of monthly payments to 

repay the obligation provided the student currently meets all program eligibility 

requirements. The student also has the option of repaying an overpayment from a 

previous aid year with part or all of the award for the current aid year if the student 

makes such arrangements with the school or the Agency’s Financial Services section. 

 

f. Student Loan Default 

If a student is considered to be in default on any federal student loan or state SELF 

Loan, the student is not eligible to receive a State Grant as of the date the school (in 

the case of federal student loans) or the Agency (in the case of SELF loans) was 

notified of the default. For example, if the student received a fall term State Grant 

payment and, following disbursement, defaulted on a student loan, the student would 

not lose eligibility for fall term, but would lose eligibility for subsequent terms. The 

student will be considered eligible for a State Grant retroactive to the beginning of the 

current aid year if the student produces documentation from the guarantor, lender or 

servicer that the loan has been paid in full or otherwise satisfied (i.e., meets criteria for 
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reinstatement of federal or state financial aid eligibility) and the student currently 

meets all other program eligibility requirements. 

 

The school must rely upon the student’s SAR or ISIR, or the federal NSLDS system to 

determine if the student has defaulted on a federal student loan. In the case of the state 

SELF Loan, schools are notified of a student’s default status on the State Grant On-

Line Hold Report (see ‘State Grant On-Line Hold Report’ section in this chapter). 

 

g. Child Support Arrears 

Effective January 1, 1992, a student is not eligible to receive a State Grant if the 

student is more than 30 days in arrears for child support payments owed a public child 

support enforcement agency unless a student is complying with a written payment 

agreement or order for arrearages. The State Department of Human Services will run a 

child support arrears interface on a weekly basis against the State Grant database. A 

student’s State Grant record will be marked with a hold if the student appears in the 

interface file. The student will lose eligibility for future State Grant payments as of the 

date the Office of Higher Education is notified of the delinquency. 

 

Schools will be notified of students placed on or released from child support holds on 

the State Grant On-Line Hold Report (Appendix 3) via automated e-mails. Schools 

that do not participate in federal aid programs will need to check student eligibility 

using the State Grant web access screen (Appendix 4). Schools should prevent future 

State Grant payments to these students and, in some cases, may be liable for previous 

payments made to these students (refer to ‘Responsibility for Monitoring Eligibility 

Requirements’ section of this chapter). 

 

To regain eligibility for a State Grant, the student must contact the county child 

support enforcement office and make the necessary arrangements for the worker to 

release the hold on the Department of Human Service’s child support database. Once a 

student is no longer in arrears for child support payments or is complying with a 

written repayment agreement or order for arrearages, the student is eligible to receive 
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a State Grant retroactive to the beginning of the current aid year provided the student 

currently meets all other program eligibility requirements. The hold will be removed 

from the student’s State Grant record once the student shows up as released on the 

Department of Human Service’s interface file. 

 

h. Enrollment Status at Eligible Institution 

(1) General 

To receive consideration for a State Grant, a student must be enrolled at an 

eligible Minnesota postsecondary institution for at least three credits per term (or 

six clock hours per week at clock hour institutions) in a program or course of 

study that applies to a degree, diploma or certificate. 

 

Schools that disburse aid under the progressive clock hour system must base their 

enrollment level definitions on the average number of hours attended by the 

student each week. (See also ‘Determining Enrollment Status Throughout the 

Academic Year at Progressive Clock Hour Schools’ in the Disbursement section 

of this manual for further guidance.) Schools that disburse aid under the 

term-based system must base their enrollment level definitions on the number of 

credits per term. This includes non-term based schools that combine sequential 

course modules into a term, whereby the student’s enrollment level is based on 

credits for all courses combined into one term. 

 

The number of credits per term or average clock hours per week used for the 

various enrollment levels for the State Grant program are as follows: 
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State Grant Enrollment Levels 

Credits Per Term Average Clock Hours Per Week Enrollment Level 

15+ 30+ Level 15 (full-time) 

14 28-29 Level 14 

13 26-27 Level 13 

12 24-25 Level 12 

11 22-23 Level 11 

10 20-21 Level 10 

9 18-19 Level 9 

8 16-17 Level 8 

7 14-15 Level 7 

6 12-13 Level 6 

5 10-11 Level 5 

4 8-9 Level 4 

3 6-7 Level 3 
 

If the number of credits per term is not a whole number (e.g., 7.5 credits), the 

remaining fraction or percentage must be dropped before determining enrollment 

status. A student enrolled for 7.5 credits would be assigned an enrollment level 

based on seven credits (Level 7). The same applies to clock hour schools. If a 

student’s average clock hours per week are 13.33, the enrollment level is based 

on 13 hours (Level 6). 

 

If a student drops or adds credits during a term in which the State Grant award 

has already been disbursed, the State Grant may have to be adjusted. For 

additional information, please refer to ‘Adjustments to Award Based on Changes 

in Enrollment Level’ under the ‘Award Process and Formula’ section of this 

manual.  
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 (2) Enrollment Level at Non Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools 

 Non term-based credit-hour schools link sequential course modules together to 

form a term and determine enrollment level. For example, a school might define 

its semester as 12 credits based on combining four 3-credit sequential classes. 

 
3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 

 
There is no requirement that all classes within such terms must be sequential. In 

the following example, a school defines its semester as 15 credits based on five 

3-credit classes, with two classes taken simultaneously at the onset of the term. 

 
3 Credits    
3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 3 Credits 

 
  

If a student fails a class or classes and continues in the same program, the student 

will not be able to advance to the next term unless all the credits required for the 

first term are successfully completed. Thus, the term would be extended to 

include the credits for the additional class or classes. If the school charges for the 

additional class(es), the student’s award for the extended term would also be 

adjusted for the new enrollment level. Otherwise, the original term award would 

not be adjusted. 

 

For example, if the student fails the third course module, the term would be 

extended to include an additional three credits before the student could advance 

to the next term. If the school charges for the additional class, the student’s award 

would be adjusted from Level 12 to Level 15. If the school doesn’t charge for the 

additional class, the State Grant award would remain at Level 12. 

 
3 Credits 
Class 1 
Grade = B 

3 Credits 
Class 2 
Grade = C 

3 Credits 
Class 3 
Grade = F 

3 Credits 
Repeat Class 3 

3 Credits 
Class 4 

 
 

Likewise, if a student withdraws from school during a term, but reenters the same 

program, the student cannot advance to the next term until all the course modules 
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for the term during which the student withdrew are completed. If the student 

reenters within the same aid year, any refunds for recalculations and withdrawals 

during that term can be reversed, provided the student still meets all the program 

eligibility requirements. However, if the student reenters during the subsequent 

aid year, refunds during the previous aid year cannot be reversed. Further, the 

student’s enrollment level for that term in the subsequent aid year will be based 

solely on the credits for the remaining classes of the original term. 

 

For example, the student’s semester consists of four 3-credit classes for a total of 

12 credits. The student is paid a Level 12 State Grant at the onset of the term. 

The student withdraws during the third class, the award is recalculated from 

Level 12 to Level 9 and a withdrawal refund calculation is performed for the 

Level 9 State Grant. If the student reenters the same program within the same aid 

year, both the recalculation and withdrawal refund amounts can be reversed since 

the student is continuing in the same term. Because the student will need to 

complete 12 credits to advance to the next term, the current term can be extended 

and enrollment level can be increased to account for both the withdrawn class 

and the remaining six credits in the term. The student’s enrollment level would 

increase from Level 12 to Level 15. If the school charges for the additional 

course module, the State Grant award can be adjusted from Level 12 to Level 15. 

Otherwise, the student’s State Grant award would remain at Level 12. 

 

If the student withdraws during a term but reenters in the subsequent aid year, 

any refunds for recalculations or withdrawals for the previous aid year cannot be 

reversed. The student’s enrollment level in the subsequent aid year would be 

determined by the credits remaining in the original term. In the case cited in the 

preceding paragraph, the student completed six credits and withdrew from three 

credits in the previous aid year and would have six credits to complete in the 

subsequent aid year prior to advancing to the next semester. Therefore, the 

student could receive a Level 6 State Grant payment for the term in the 

subsequent aid year, provided the student was charged for both classes in the 
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subsequent aid year. Otherwise, credits for which the student was not charged 

would not be included in the student’s enrollment level. 

 
Aid Year One (Enrollment level recalculated from Level 12 to Level 9 and 
withdrawal refund calculated for Level 9) 
 

3 Credits 
Class 1 

3 Credits 
Class 2 

3 Credits 
Class 3 
(withdrawal) 

3 Credits 
Class 4 
(never started) 

 
 

Aid Year Two (Enrollment level based on 6 credits remaining in original term, 
assuming student charged for both classes) 
 

3 Credits 
Class 3 
repeat 

3 Credits 
Class 4 

  

 
 

In no instance can a school disburse a State Grant retroactively for a term during 

which the student withdrew from school (see also ‘Late/Retroactive 

Disbursement’ section in this manual) or for classes from which the student 

withdrew.  

 

(3) Clock-Hour/Credit-Hour Conversion 

The school must use a clock-hour to credit-hour conversion formula to determine 

the student’s enrollment unless the student’s program: 

• is at least two academic years in length and provides an associate, bachelor’s 

or professional degree; or 

• each course from the program is acceptable for full-credit towards a degree 

program offered by the institution and the institution can demonstrate 

students enroll in and graduate from that degree program. 

 

See ‘Credit Hour’ definition in the Common Definitions chapter of this manual 

for further information. Public and private non-profit schools of nursing are 

exempt from this requirement. 
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(4) When Remaining Annual Credits Are Less Than Actual Enrollment Level 

Students may receive a State Grant for up to 60 quarter credits or 45 semester 

credits within an aid year (July 1-June 30). This also includes payment periods at 

clock hour schools where enrollment level is translated to credits [see ‘State 

Grant Enrollment Levels’ chart on page 27 of this chapter]. In cases where the 

student’s remaining credits of eligibility for the final term of the aid year are less 

than the student’s actual enrollment level, the remaining credits are the 

enrollment level used to determine the amount of the award. However, the 

number of hours in a clock hour payment period must be based on the student’s 

actual enrollment level. 

 

 (5) Excluded Course Work 

Credits can only be included in the student’s enrollment level from instruction 

provided or overseen by the current school. 

 

Transfer credits earned during a previous term at another institution, courses that 

the student audited at the current school, credits awarded from placement or 

CLEP tests, or credits that will not be applied towards the student’s credential 

(with the exception of required remedial courses taken after admission to the 

student’s program) may not be counted towards enrollment level. However, the 

school may opt to have a policy that includes credits for repeated classes in the 

student’s enrollment level. 

 

When payment is delayed for a term, courses with grades of W, FN or FW may 

not be included when determining the student’s enrollment level. 

 

High school students enrolled in postsecondary classes prior to receiving a high 

school diploma are not eligible for a State Grant. 
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(6) Repeated Course Work 

 In general, courses that will not be applied towards the student’s credential may 

not be counted towards enrollment level. However, the school may opt to have a 

policy that includes credits for repeated classes when determining enrollment 

level. There is no requirement that the school’s policy for state financial aid 

programs must adhere to the policy on repeated course work used for federal 

financial aid programs. 

 

(7) State Grant Versus Pell Grant Enrollment Level 

In certain instances, the student’s enrollment level used for the State Grant 

program may differ from the student’s Federal Pell Grant enrollment level. In 

such cases, the Pell Grant subtracted in the State Grant award calculation is based 

on the student’s State Grant enrollment level. 

 

A chart comparing State Grant and Pell Grant enrollment levels is provided in the 

‘Pell Grant’ section under ‘Shared Responsibility Formula’ in this chapter. 

 

(8) Remedial Course Work 

Credits or credit equivalencies assigned for remedial course work may be 

counted towards the student’s enrollment level if the student has been accepted 

into a degree, diploma or certificate program and takes remedial course work 

within that program. A school cannot count non-credit remedial hours in a 

student’s enrollment status if the course is part of a program that leads to a high 

school diploma or GED. There is no limit on the total amount of remedial credits 

that can be used to determine the student’s enrollment level. 

 

(9) Awarding State Grant Beyond Associate Degree or  
 Maximum Time Frame at Two-Year College 

A student is eligible for a State Grant at a two-year college after earning an 

associate’s degree if the student’s course work is required for admission to a 

four-year degree program at another college or the student is already admitted to 

the four-year degree program and the course work will be applied to that 
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program. This provision applies even if the student has exceeded the maximum 

time frame for satisfactory academic progress at the two-year college, since 

course work transferred to the four-year college will count against the maximum 

time frame for satisfactory academic progress at the four-year college.  

 

In instances where the student has already been accepted into a four-year degree 

program, the State Grant may be awarded by the two-year college or the four-

year college if it is an institution eligible to participate in the State Grant 

program. If the eligible four-year college acts as the “home” institution, the 

amount of State Grant awarded must be based on the cost of tuition and fees at 

the institution the student is actually attending (see Example 8 in Appendix 9 for 

example award calculation). When the student is not yet admitted into the four-

year degree program or the four-year college is not eligible to participate in the 

State Grant program, only the eligible two-year college may award the student a 

State Grant. 

 

Whichever college awards the State Grant for this type of course work must have 

documentation from the student that verifies the course work taken at the two-

year college is required for entry into or will be applied to a four-year degree 

program at the four-year college. Such documentation should include a copy of 

the catalog or course schedule from the four-year college specifying pre-requisite 

or required course work needed for the four-year degree program and a statement 

of intent from the student that the course work is being taken for this purpose. 

State Grant awards for this type of course work are limited to no more than 30 

semester or 45 quarter credits. 

 

(10) Attending Multiple Schools for Same Term 

A student attending two or more eligible schools for the same term can either: 

• receive a separate State Grant at each school for up to a total of 15 credits 

based on the tuition and fees charged at each school; or 
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• receive a State Grant at one school based on the cost for the combined credits 

from all schools attended. 

 

If the student receives a separate State Grant at each school attended, the award 

at each school would be based on the tuition and fees for the credits attended at 

that school. However, the student cannot be awarded for more than a total of 15 

credits in any term. The school that reports a payment to the Agency which 

causes the 15 credit limit to be exceeded will have its payment rejected and will 

need to recalculate the award to a lower enrollment level. (See Example 7 in 

Appendix 9.) 

 

For example, if School A reports a fall semester payment to the Agency for eight 

credits and School B reports a fall semester payment for nine credits, for a total 

of 17 credits, School B’s payment will be rejected until School B recalculates the 

award based on the cost for seven credits and reports the new award to the 

Agency. 

 

The other option for a student attending multiple eligible schools for the same 

term is to have one school act as the “home school” and calculate the State Grant 

term award based on the cost for up to 15 credits attended at all schools. The 

dollar amount of total tuition and fees cannot exceed the tuition and fee 

maximum at the “home school” for the student’s enrollment level. 

 

The “home school” must develop a procedure that allows the school to verify the 

student’s attendance at all schools attended for the term. If the “home school” 

determines that the student withdrew or changed enrollment level or tuition and 

fee charges at the other schools, the “home school” must adjust the State Grant 

award accordingly. 

 

For further information about the tuition and fees used to calculate the State 

Grant award for a student enrolled at multiple schools for the same term, see 
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‘Tuition, Fees and LME Used for Students Attending Multiple Schools for Same 

Term’ under the ‘Shared Responsibility Term Award Calculation’ section of this 

chapter. (See also Example 8 in Appendix 9.) 

 

(11) Use of Interim Term Credits 

Schools using a 4-1-4 calendar may use student credits attended during the 

interim term in determining the student’s enrollment status for State Grants. The 

credits attended during interim may be counted as part of the fall semester or the 

spring semester or may be divided between the two terms. Schools may adopt 

any reasonable method for allocating interim credits and determining the 

appropriate enrollment status for fall and spring semesters on a student-by-

student basis. With respect to students who are also Pell Grant recipients, there is 

no requirement that interim term credits be allocated to fall and spring semesters 

in the same manner allocated for the Pell Grant program, as long as the resulting 

State Grant enrollment level will not cause the incorrect Pell Grant award to be 

subtracted within the State Grant award calculation. 

 

Example: 
A student registers for 11 credits in the fall semester, four credits in the interim term 
and 11 credits for the spring semester. The school’s policy for the Pell Grant 
program is to attach the interim term to the spring semester, resulting in a 15-credit 
enrollment level for the Pell Grant program. For the State Grant program, the 
school must also allocate the four interim term credits to the spring semester, since 
allocating any interim credits to the fall term would result in a full-time Pell Grant 
award being subtracted in the State Grant calculation when the student is receiving 
a three-quarter time Pell Grant award for the fall semester. However, if the student 
were not a Pell Grant recipient, the interim term credits could be allocated to fall 
and/or spring semesters in any manner selected by the school. 
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Example: 
A student registers for 11 credits in the fall semester and four credits in the interim 
term but does not enroll for spring semester. The school’s policy for the Pell Grant 
program is to attach the interim term to the spring semester, resulting in a four 
credit less than half-time spring term enrollment level for the Pell Grant program. 
For the State Grant program, the school must also allocate the four interim term 
credits to the spring semester, since allocating any interim credits to the fall term 
would result in an a full-time Pell Grant award being subtracted in the State Grant 
calculation when the student is receiving a three-quarter time Pell Grant award for 
the fall semester. However, if the student were not a Pell Grant recipient, the 
interim term credits could be allocated to fall and/or spring semesters in any manner 
selected by the school. 

 

Example: 
A student registers for 13 credits in the fall semester, three credits for the interim 
term and 14 credits for the spring semester. The school’s policy for the Pell Grant 
program is to attach the interim term to the spring semester, resulting in a 17-credit 
enrollment level for the Pell Grant program. For the State Grant program, the 
school may allocate all interim credits to either fall or spring semesters, or allocate 
two of the interim credits toward the fall term enrollment status and the remaining 
one credit as part of the spring semester enrollment status, resulting in a Level 15 
State Grant award for each semester. Any of these options would be allowable since 
the correct full-time Pell Grant would still be subtracted within the State Grant 
award calculation for each term regardless of how interim credits were allocated for 
the State Grant program. 

 

The school may have a policy to retroactively adjust fall term awards based on 

the assignment of interim term credits even if the adjustment is performed after 

the school’s award adjustment end date. 

 

If a student does not attend the interim term after a State Grant disbursement was 

made for an enrollment status that included interim term credits, the school must 

recalculate the State Grant award for that term and return the overpayment to the 

State Grant program. 

 

(12) For Non-Standard Terms 

A student’s term enrollment status does not have to be adjusted if the term is 

shorter than the standard length of 10 weeks per quarter or 15 weeks per 

semester. To determine the award, refer to the ‘Awards for Summer or Non-

Standard Terms’ section of this chapter. 
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   i. Pursuing Degree, Diploma or Certificate 

In order to be eligible for a State Grant, a student must be enrolled at an eligible 

Minnesota institution in a program leading to a degree, diploma or certificate that is at 

least eight weeks long and consists of a minimum of 12 credits or 300 clock hours. 

 

There is no requirement that a student must be pursuing a degree, diploma or 

certificate at the institution awarding the State Grant as long as the student is accepted 

into a degree, diploma or certificate program at any Minnesota institution eligible to 

participate in the State Grant program. No consortium agreement is required in these 

cases. (See exception under ‘Awarding State Grant Beyond Associate Degree or 

Maximum Time Frame at Two-Year College.’) 

 

If the student is taking course work at an ineligible school (foreign school, school 

located outside Minnesota), the student can only receive a State Grant if the student is 

pursuing a degree, diploma or certificate at an eligible Minnesota school and: 

• the student registers and pays for the course work through an eligible Minnesota 

school; or 

• the student registers and pays for the course work through an ineligible school that 

has a consortium or contractual agreement with the eligible Minnesota school 

administering the State Grant program. 

 

j. Satisfactory Academic Progress 

To be eligible for a State Grant, the student must be making satisfactory academic 

progress as described in the ‘Common Definitions’ section of this manual. (See also 

‘Awarding State Grant Beyond Associate Degree or Maximum Time Frame at Two-

Year College’ in this chapter.) 

 

k. Tuition Reciprocity Restriction 

A student who technically meets the definition of a Minnesota resident may not 

receive a State Grant if the student is receiving tuition reciprocity benefits from 
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another state to attend a Minnesota public postsecondary institution. The student can 

opt to cancel tuition reciprocity benefits in order to receive a State Grant. 

 

3. State Grant On-Line Hold Report 
The State Grant On-Line Hold Report (Appendix 3) is generated by the Agency and 

provides information to schools about student eligibility problems. The State Grant on-line 

hold database is updated each night when the Agency downloads Institutional Student 

Information Records (ISIR) to the State Grant database. Schools will be notified via e-mail 

if any student data was added or updated on the State Grant on-line hold database for their 

campus. The e-mail will contain a link to the screen schools can use to view the data and 

print a hold report on campus. Undocumented students applying for state financial aid 

under the MN Dream Act do not currently appear on the report since they are not able to 

submit the FAFSA. 

 

The State Grant on-line hold database will only contain data about child support arrears 

holds, SELF loan default holds, and students whose units of State Grant paid through the 

current aid year exceed three full-time academic years (> 72 units). The units appearing on 

the on-line hold database only represent units of State Grant paid to the student and do not 

eliminate the school’s responsibility for reviewing student academic transcripts to 

determine the amount of postsecondary education the student has attended to date. 

 

The Agency will store the college codes from the student’s three most recent ISIR records 

for the aid year on the State Grant database as well as the college’s position (college 

choice one through ten) on the ISIR. If a school’s code appears in any location on the three 

most recent ISIRs for the student or if the school has already reported a State Grant DDS 

record for the student to the Agency for the current aid year, the school will be notified of 

any holds for that student on the State Grant database.  

 

If the school has not yet submitted a DDS record for the student for the aid year, the 

‘DDS/ISIR rank’ column on the report will reflect on which ISIR record the college code 

was listed and the position, with the first digit of the code representing which of the three 
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most recent ISIRs contains the college code and the second digit representing the college 

choice position: 

 14 = most recent ISIR, 4th position 

 23 = 2nd most recent ISIR, 3rd position 

 31 = 3rd most recent ISIR, 1st position 

 

If the school has submitted a DDS record for the student for the aid year, a code of ‘DDS’ 

will appear in the ‘DDS/ISIR rank’ column and ISIR rank data will not be displayed. 

 

The ‘DDS/ISIR rank’ column was designed to help schools prioritize students. Schools 

may wish to spend more time reviewing hold data for students with a ‘DDS’ code in this 

column since those students are presumably attending the current institution. With respect 

to ISIR rank codes, the higher the value the less likelihood there is the student will 

actually attend the institution. However, state agencies will no longer receive the college 

codes in the same order in which they were listed by the student on the FAFSA. 

 

The school’s designated State Grant contact will be notified via an automated e-mail when 

any of the student hold data changes for that school. The e-mail will contain a link to the 

State Grant on-line hold report. E-mail notification will occur in the following instances: 

• ISIR or DDS record loaded to State Grant database for a student who has a hold 

problem and has not yet had hold information written to the State Grant on-line hold 

database for that school; or 

• hold information changes after hold information has already been written to the State 

Grant on-line hold database for that school (e.g., hold is released) regardless of whether 

or not a new ISIR or DDS record has been received. 

 

It will be the school’s responsibility to notify the Agency’s grant unit about any 

changes to the e-mail address for the designated State Grant contact at the school. 

 

The school can access the State Grant On-Line Hold Report by logging into the State 

Grant web access screen. Once logged into the screen, the school can choose to access 
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individual student data (State Grant Student Web Access Screen) or the hold report (State 

Grant On-Line Hold Report). The same username and password is used for both features. 

If a school forgets its password, the school should contact the Agency’s grant unit for 

assistance. 

 

Once the school is logged onto the State Grant On-Line Hold Report, the school will 

choose the date range for the hold report. The default date range will be the first date the 

on-line hold database was created for the current aid year through the current date, 

producing a comprehensive cumulative report for the year. If the school would like to 

produce a report for a narrower date range, the school can adjust the dates accordingly. 

After the date range is selected, a hold report will be generated displaying all hold data 

updated during that period. The default sort option produces an alphabetical report by 

student last name. A school has the option of changing the sort option to SSN, Aid Year, 

DDS/ISIR rank or Last Transaction date by clicking on those column headings. 

  

Because the State Grant On-Line Hold Report is generated from a cumulative on-line hold 

database, there will be no need for schools to maintain paper printouts of the report 

throughout the aid year since the data will be available on-line. Once a student appears in 

the on-line hold database, the student’s record will remain on the report. 

 

Many fields appearing on the report will have a ‘help’ pop-up box schools can access for a 

description of that field. It is important to note the distinction between the hold start date 

and the hold notification date appearing on the report. The hold start date is the date the 

student becomes ineligible. The notification date is the date the school was notified that 

the hold data was written to the on-line hold database. For example, a student could have 

been placed on a child support hold in January 2003 (hold start date) but the hold would 

not be written to the on-line hold database or the school notified until the first ISIR or 

DDS record was received for the current aid year (notification date). 

  

The hold start date and hold end date will continue to appear on the report regardless of 

the student’s hold status and will represent the most recent date the student was placed on 
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or released from a hold. The hold notification date will always represent the date the 

student’s most recent hold was written to the on-line hold database. 

  

Units appearing in the ‘Units’ column represent units of State Grant paid to the student up 

through the current aid year, including the current school. Though the units appearing on 

the on-line report may change throughout the aid year, the school will only be notified via 

an automated e-mail when the units exceed or fall below 72 units, which is the equivalent 

of three full-time academic years. If a school wants to view more detailed units 

information for a particular student (units by aid year and campus), the school can click on 

the student’s name and toggle to the State Grant student web access screen and then hit the 

‘Back’ key to go back to the hold report. 

 

It will be common for a student to appear twice on the on-line hold report if the State 

Grant database has a DDS or ISIR record for the student for both consecutive aid years. In 

most cases, the hold data appearing for the student will be identical for both years but the 

amount of units appearing in the ‘Units’ column may differ by aid year. 

 

If schools would like additional instructions on how to access the State Grant On-Line 

Hold Report, they can access an audio/video tutorial developed by the Agency at 

www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=346 or contact the grant unit for assistance.  

 

4. Use of State Grant Web Access Screen to Determine Hold Status 

The State Grant web access screen allows schools access to student hold data on the State 

Grant database. The hold data is current as of the time the school is accessing the student’s 

record. Therefore, schools will be able to check hold data on students prior to making a 

State Grant disbursement. Undocumented students applying for state financial aid under 

the MN Dream Act do not have records in the State Grant database since they are not able 

to submit a FAFSA. 

 

Each school participating in the State Grant program will be assigned a username and 

password to gain access to the State Grant web access screen. To log on to the screen, the 
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user would enter the school’s six-digit FAFSA school code for the username on the 

screen. If the school is not participating in federal financial aid programs, the school 

would use the six-digit code assigned by the Agency’s grant unit. The user would then 

enter the school’s password. If the school has misplaced its password, the user should 

contact the Agency’s grant unit for assistance. 

 

The security system for the State Grant web access screen will only allow a school to 

access a student’s record if that school is listed on the student’s ISIR for the current aid 

year. If the school’s code is NOT listed on the student’s ISIR for the current aid year, the 

following message will appear: 

“SCHOOL NOT LISTED ON CURRENT YEAR ISIR - CANNOT ACCESS 

STUDENT RECORD” 

 

If the Agency does not have the student’s ISIR record on file for the current aid year, the 

school will receive the following error message: 

“NO CURRENT YEAR RECORD ON FILE FOR STUDENT” 

 

If the school passes the school code clearance and accesses a student’s record, information 

about any existing holds, past history of State Grant units paid (broken out by aid year and 

college), and the enrollment status and accepted payments for the current aid year will be 

displayed on the screen. (A sample copy of the State Grant web access screen is provided 

as Appendix 4). 

 

At the top of the screen, the user will see the date of inquiry and the student’s name and 

social security number. Because private data is displayed on the screen, financial aid 

administrators should make sure they exit the system if they are away from their work 

stations. 

  

The top section of the screen will display any holds currently on the student’s file. If a 

student has a SELF default or child support hold, the date the hold was placed on the 

student’s file (that is, the date eligibility was lost) is also displayed. Holds appearing on 
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this report are controlled by the Agency and require consultation with the grant unit staff if 

the school believes the data is incorrect. If no holds appear, it means there are currently no 

holds on the student’s record. 

 

The middle section of the screen shows units of State Grant aid paid to the student during 

previous aid years broken out by aid year and school. The user may encounter the 

following message under the School Name column: “School Name Not Found. Please 

Contact the Grant Unit.” This means the school code on the student’s history record didn’t 

translate into a school name. Schools should contact the grant unit for assistance in 

determining the school name. 

 

Historical records for the State Grant system contain information about units of State 

Grant aid paid to the student during previous aid years as opposed to the units of 

postsecondary attendance the student has attempted. Schools are still expected to request 

and review academic transcripts from students to determine the amount of postsecondary 

education the student has attended. However, the State Grant web access screen may be a 

helpful tool for solving discrepancies. For example, when the Agency’s units of State 

Grant paid to the student for an aid year are greater than the units of postsecondary 

education attended derived from the school’s review of academic transcripts, the school 

should use the Agency’s units.  

 

The bottom section of the screen shows enrollment and accepted payment information at 

any school that has reported in a DDS record for the student for the current aid year, 

including the school accessing the record. 

 

Schools may wish to print and save a copy of the student’s State Grant web access screen 

to document the student’s eligibility at a certain point in time for auditing purposes. 

 

5. Liability for Monitoring Eligibility Requirements 

Because the FAFSA does not always contain information needed to verify state residency 

and the amount of previous postsecondary attendance, the institution must collect 
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supplemental data to determine if the student meets these eligibility requirements unless 

information supplied on the FAFSA is sufficient or the student has previously completed 

the paper or online State Grant Student Eligibility Questionnaire (or the school’s proxy) 

and no subsequent information contradicts the student’s continued eligibility (see also 

‘Student Eligibility Questionnaire’ section under ‘Original Application’ section of this 

chapter).  

 

If the supplemental information indicates there is reason to believe the student completed 

three or more full-time academic years of postsecondary education, the institution must 

request and evaluate the student’s academic transcript(s) according to the ‘Limit on 

Postsecondary Attendance’ section of this chapter. (See exception under ‘Relying on Pell 

Grant Lifetime Eligibility Used (LEU)’ in this chapter.) 

 

If funds are withheld either by the school or the Agency because the student owes a State 

Grant overpayment, is in default on a student loan or is more than 30 days in arrears for 

child support payments, once the obligation is repaid or otherwise satisfied, the student 

will be eligible to receive the State Grant retroactive to the beginning of the current aid 

year provided the student currently meets all program eligibility requirements. 

 

If the school had documentation on campus, including notification of hold status on the 

State Grant On-Line Hold Report, that the student did not meet an eligibility requirement 

and the school disbursed the State Grant award to the student, the school will be 

responsible for reimbursing the State Grant program from its own funds if it cannot collect 

the overpayment from the student. 

 

If a school not participating in federal financial aid programs fails to run an eligibility 

check (child support, past overpayment, four years of aid, SELF default) against the State 

Grant database via submitting a State Grant DDS batch prior to disbursing State Grant 

funds to a student, the school will be liable for repaying rejected payments from its own 

funds if it cannot collect the overpayment from the student. 
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6. Monitoring Program Eligibility Requirements During the School Year 
All schools are responsible for establishing a procedure to inform the financial aid office 

of all changes in a student’s status that may affect the student’s eligibility for a State Grant 

during an academic term. One means of ensuring this is to have the registrar’s office (or its 

counterpart) routinely inform the financial aid office when any student changes enrollment 

status, ceases to be making satisfactory academic progress, withdraws from school, 

produces additional academic transcripts, etc. The Agency strongly recommends that all 

students be required to contact the financial aid office when dropping to less than full-time 

status or withdrawing from school. 

 

VI. Award Process and Formula 

A. Shared Responsibility Formula 

The State Grant is calculated using the Shared Responsibility Formula (see Appendix 8) which 

assigns responsibility for college costs to the student, family and government. A detailed 

description of its components follows. 

 

Prior to final award parameters being established by the legislature each year, estimated 

awards contained in award notices to students must be based on estimated parameters issued 

by the Agency by February 15th preceding the aid year.  

 

The State Grant award is not subject to financial aid packaging requirements. Thus, it is never 

reduced in cases where the student’s Expected Family Contribution (EFC) and other financial 

aid and resources exceed the student’s cost of attendance used for federal financial aid 

programs.  

 

1. State Grant Budget 
The budget used in the Shared Responsibility term award calculation consists of: 

• a uniform nine-month living and miscellaneous expense allowance (LME) set by the 

Legislature each academic year prorated for term length and then for enrollment level; 

and 
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• the lesser of: 

- the school’s annual full-time (30 semester credits or 45 quarter credits) average 

tuition and mandatory fees prorated for term length and then for enrollment level, 

or 

- the annual nine-month tuition and fee maximum set by the Legislature prorated 

for term length and then for enrollment level. 

 

a. Living and Miscellaneous Expense Allowance (LME) 

A uniform nine-month annual LME is set by the Legislature for each academic year 

which represents costs for books, transportation and other living expenses. (See 

Appendix 8 for current LME.) When calculating the Shared Responsibility term award 

calculation, the LME is first adjusted for term length by multiplying by .50 for a 

semester (or a clock hour school with an academic year divided into two payment 

periods) and by .3333 for a quarter (or a clock hour school with an academic year 

divided into three payment periods) and rounding the result. If the student is enrolled 

for fewer than 15 credits, the term LME is then reduced by multiplying the term LME 

by the number of credits for which the student is enrolled divided by 15. For example, 

a student enrolled for 12 credits (or 24 clock hours per week) would have the term 

LME prorated by 12/15ths, or 80 percent, and the result rounded. The term LME is 

NOT increased if the student enrolls for more than 15 credits. (For further 

information, see Appendix 8 Shared Responsibility term award calculation.) 

 

(1) LME for Incarcerated Students 

Incarcerated students are eligible to receive a State Grant if they meet the program 

eligibility requirements. However, according to program statutes, the LME must 

be set to zero for incarcerated students. 

 

b. Tuition and Fees 

The tuition and fees used in the Shared Responsibility term award calculation are the 

lesser of the school’s average annual full-time (30 semester or 45 quarter credits) 

tuition and fees prorated for term length and then for enrollment level or the annual 
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tuition and fee maximum set by the Legislature for each academic year prorated for 

term length and enrollment level. 

 

(1) Tuition and Fee Maximum 

The Legislature sets a separate nine-month annual full-time tuition and fee 

maximum for students enrolled in a four-year degree program and another for 

students enrolled in a two-year degree or shorter credential program. (See 

Appendix 8 for current tuition and fee maximums.) The annual full-time tuition 

and fee maximum for the program the student is enrolled in for the term must be 

adjusted for term length by multiplying by .50 for a semester or by .3333 for a 

quarter and rounding the result. If the student is enrolled for fewer than 15 credits, 

the term tuition and fee maximum is reduced by multiplying the term maximum 

by the number of credits for which the student is enrolled divided by 15. For 

example, a student enrolled for 12 credits would have the term tuition and fee 

maximum prorated by 12/15ths, or 80 percent, and then rounded. The term tuition 

and fee maximum is NOT increased if the student enrolls for more than 15 credits. 

(For further information, see Appendix 8 Shared Responsibility term award 

calculation.) 

 

If a student is simultaneously enrolled in both a two- and four-year degree 

program, the tuition and fee maximum used to calculate the State Grant will be 

based on the nature of the student’s program. If the content area for both the two- 

and four-year program is identical or very similar, where the majority of credits 

from the two-year program will be applied to the four-year program, the school 

should use the four-year tuition and fee maximum to calculate the State Grant 

award for the term. For example, some students may wish to earn an A.A. degree 

at the midpoint of a B.A. degree program. 

 

If the content area of the two- and four-year degree programs is quite different, 

where the majority of credits from the two-year program will not be applied to the 

four-year degree program, the school must either: 
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• use the two-year tuition and fee maximum until the student completes the two-

year program; or 

• manually calculate the State Grant so that both the two- and four-year tuition 

and fee maximums are applied to the credits from each program. If certain 

credits will count towards both programs, they should be considered two-year 

program credits. [Note: When reporting the award to the Agency on the DDS 

system, the school should report a ‘4’ in the field that indicates which tuition 

and fee maximum was used to calculate the award.] An example of this option 

follows. 

- EXAMPLE: Jane Doe is enrolled in both a two-year Medical Assistant 

A.A.S. degree program and a four-year degree completion program for a 

B.S. in Organizational Management. Jane has eight credits that will apply 

to the two-year program and seven credits that will apply to the four-year 

degree program for a total of 15 credits. The applicable tuition and fee 

maximum for each program would be prorated to the student's enrollment 

level as follows: Annual full-time two-year tuition maximum $5,736/2 = 

$2,868 for full-time semester X 8/15ths or .533 = $1,529. Annual full-

time four-year tuition maximum $14,186/2 = $7,093 for full-time 

semester X 7/15ths or .467 = $3,312. The prorated tuition and fee 

maximums would then be compared to the tuition and fees charged by the 

school and the lesser of the two would be added to the full-time LME to 

construct the State Grant award calculation budget. The tuition and fees 

charged by the school are the annual full-time tuition and fees reported by 

the school on the Agency’s on-line State Grant Budget Questionnaire, 

prorated to the student's enrollment level. If the annual full-time tuition 

and fees were $20,000, then the amount for eight credits would be 

$20,000/2 = $10,000 for full-time semester X 8/15ths or .533 = $5,330. 

The amount for seven credits would be $10,000 X 7/15ths or .467 = 

$4,670. Because the tuition and fees charged exceed the tuition and fee 

maximum for each program, the school would add the eight credit two-

year tuition and fee maximum of $1,529 to the four-year maximum for 



 
FINANCIAL AID MANUAL 

 
NUMBER 

Section I 

 
PAGE 
49 

 
SECTION 
 State Grant Program 

 
DATE 

July 2016 

 
 

seven credits, $3,312, for a combined tuition and fee maximum of $4,841. 

This would then be added to the LME of $4,660 for a full-time semester 

resulting in a State Grant term award calculation budget of $9,501. 

 

If a student changes programs between terms, the appropriate tuition and fee 

maximum must be used to recalculate the award for the subsequent terms of the 

aid year based on the student’s current program. If a student changes programs 

within a term, the State Grant award for that term must be recalculated using the 

tuition and fee maximum for the student’s current program and any resulting 

overpayments recovered or additional funds due to the student disbursed. 

 

Schools cannot direct students who would normally enroll in a two-year degree 

program to enroll in a four-year degree program simply to take advantage of the 

higher four-year tuition and fee maximum if the students have no intention of 

completing a four-year degree. Agency auditors may review institutional records 

to determine if there is a pattern of students changing from a four-year degree 

program to a two-year program after completing their first two academic years. 

 

(2) Average Tuition and Fees 

To determine the amount of tuition and fees used to calculate the student’s State 

Grant term award, the school must compare its average annual tuition and fees 

prorated by term length and the student’s enrollment level to the appropriate 

tuition and fee maximum for the student’s degree program prorated by term length 

and enrollment level and then select the lesser of the two. 

 

The average tuition and fees for the student’s enrollment level are derived from 

the school’s annual full-time average tuition and mandatory fees which are then 

prorated for term length and student enrollment level. The annual full-time 

average tuition is the weighted average tuition the school charges a student for two 

full-time (15 credits) semesters, three full-time quarters, or for the number of 

hours in a clock hour school’s definition of academic year. For public colleges, the 
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standard resident tuition rate is used for the annual average tuition. For private 

schools where tuition rates vary by program, a weighted average is used to 

determine the annual full-time average tuition as shown in the following example. 

 

Program Name 

Cost for Two 
Full-Time 
Semesters 

 Percent of Student 
Population in 

Program 

 

Weighted Tuition 

Admin Assistant $15,000 x 75% = $11,250 

Legal Secretary $16,000 x 25% = $ 4,000 

Weighted Average Annual Tuition  $15,250 
 

Once the annual full-time average amount is known, the school must add on the 

amount of annual full-time mandatory fees charged to all full-time students. 

Annual full-time mandatory fees would consist of mandatory fees charged to all 

full-time students for two full-time (15 credits) semesters, three full-time quarters, 

or for the number of hours in a clock hour school’s definition of academic year. 

 

Mandatory fees charged to all full-time students cannot include mandatory fees for 

the purchase or rental of books, as book charges are considered a component in 

the Living and Miscellaneous Allowance (LME) used in the award calculation. 

The same applies to mandatory fees for the purchase of equipment and supplies 

required for all students (such as cosmetology supply kits and computers) in cases 

where the student retains ownership, as these items also fall under the LME. 

However, if the school charges a rental fee for equipment and supplies to all 

students and the school retains ownership, such fees are allowable general fees 

used in the State Grant calculation. 

 

Using the full-time tuition and fees applies even if students are not enrolled for 15 

credits per term since the tuition and fees will later be adjusted within the award 

calculation for less than full-time enrollment. 
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The annual full-time average tuition and annual full-time mandatory fees are then 

prorated for term length by multiplying by .50 (semester) or .3333 (quarter) and 

the result is rounded. If the student is less than full-time for the term, the tuition 

and fees are prorated for enrollment level by dividing the student’s number of 

credits by 15. For example, a student taking 12 credits would have the full-time 

term tuition and fees prorated by 12/15ths, or 80 percent, and the result rounded. 

The tuition and fees are then compared to the appropriate tuition and fee 

maximum for the student’s program and the lesser of the two are used in the term 

award calculation. (See award calculation examples in Appendix 9.) 

 

(3) Tuition Waivers 

Because a uniform amount of average tuition and mandatory fees is used to 

calculate State Grants for all students enrolled at the same institution, any tuition 

waivers applied to individual student tuition and fee charges are not subtracted 

from the tuition and fees used to calculate the State Grant award for the student, 

nor are any other types of scholarships or resources applied to tuition and fee 

charges. 

 

(4) Determining Tuition and Fees for Clock Hour Payment Period 

To determine the amount of tuition and fees for a clock hour payment period, the 

school would first divide the total tuition and fees for the program by the number 

of clock hours in the program to determine the hourly tuition and fee cost. The 

hourly cost would then be multiplied by the number of hours in the payment 

period to determine the tuition and fees for the payment period. The payment 

period tuition and fees would then be compared to the tuition and fee maximum 

for the term/payment period, prorated for the student’s enrollment level, and the 

lesser of the two would be used to calculate the State Grant award for the payment 

period. (See award calculation Examples 9 and 10 in Appendix 9 for further 

details.) 
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In cases where the remaining hours in the student’s program are less than the 

number of hours in the payment period, the school should still calculate the award 

based on costs for the entire payment period and then prorate the award. (See 

‘Adjusting Payments for Clock Hour Programs When Remaining Program Hours 

are Less Than the Number of Hours in Payment Period’ under the ‘Disbursement 

Process’ section of this chapter for further information.) 

 

c. Tuition, Fees and LME Used for Students 
Attending Multiple Schools for Same Term 

For information on enrollment requirements for students attending multiple schools 

for the same term, please refer to the ‘Attending Multiple Schools for Same Term’ and 

‘Enrollment Status at Eligible Institution’ sections under ‘Student Eligibility’ in this 

chapter. 

 

If a student opts to receive a separate State Grant at each school attended during a 

term, each school must calculate the student’s State Grant term award based on the 

average tuition and mandatory fee costs for the credits taken at that school. The tuition 

and fee costs would be subject to the tuition and fee maximum for the degree program 

the student is enrolled in, which would be prorated for the student’s enrollment level if 

the student enrolled for fewer than 15 credits. The term living and miscellaneous 

expense allowance (LME), prorated for the number of credits attended at the school, 

would be added to the tuition and fees to arrive at the State Grant term award 

calculation budget. (See award calculation Examples 7 and 8 in Appendix 9 for further 

details.) 

 

A student cannot be paid for more than a total of 15 credits of tuition and fees and 

LME when attending multiple schools for the same term. If, for example, School B 

knows that School A already awarded the student a State Grant for 10 credits, School 

B should limit the tuition, fees and LME used in its award calculation to five credits. If 

School B is not aware of the student attending the other school and awards the student 

for more than five credits, School B’s payment will be rejected when reported to the 

Agency and School B will need to recalculate the student’s State Grant so it is based 
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on tuition, fees and LME for no more than five credits. If the school cannot collect the 

overpayment from the student, the school is NOT liable for repaying the State Grant 

overpayment from its own funds. Rather, the school would turn over the overpayment 

case to the Agency at the end of the award year for collection. To avoid overpayments, 

schools can use the Agency’s State Grant web access screen (Appendix 4) to 

determine if the student has received a State Grant disbursement at another school for 

the same term. 

 

Another option for a student attending multiple schools for the same term is to have 

one school act as the “home” school and award the student a State Grant based on the 

combined costs for the total credits consumed at all schools, not to exceed 15 credits 

per term. The dollar amount of total tuition and fees used is subject to the tuition and 

fee maximum for the degree program in which the student is enrolled at the “home 

school,” which is based on 15 credits and is not increased for students taking more 

than 15 credits. The LME used in the award calculation at the “home school” is based 

on combined credits but cannot exceed the LME for 15 credits. 

 

In cases where the student is attending multiple schools within the same system 

(University of Minnesota, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, private four-

year college, private two-year college), the tuition and fees used in the State Grant 

calculation shall be the tuition and fees charged by the “home” school for the student’s 

combined credits from all schools, up to a maximum of 15 credits. For example, if the 

student were taking 10 credits at a state university (home school) and five credits at a 

community college, the State Grant would be based on the cost of 15 credits at the 

state university, since both state universities and community colleges are within the 

MnSCU system. 

 

Conversely, if the student is attending multiple schools in different systems, the 

“home” school must calculate the State Grant using the tuition and fees charged by 

each institution (see award calculation Example 8 in Appendix 9) up to a maximum of 

15 credits. Financial aid administrators should use the Multiple School Term Award 
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Calculation Spreadsheet developed by the Agency for this purpose. The spreadsheet is 

posted on the Agency’s web site (www.ohe.state.mn.us) under Campus Financial Aid 

Administrator Resources, Program Forms, Spreadsheets & Instructions. 

 

2. Student Share 

The student is expected to contribute a share of the budget used in the Shared 

Responsibility term award calculation from the student’s resources, such as employment, 

savings or private scholarships. If the term budget (tuition, fees plus LME) has been 

adjusted due to less than full-time enrollment, the student is expected to contribute a share 

of the adjusted term budget. 

 

The student share of the State Grant budget is shown in Appendix 8. However, the statute 

gives the Agency the authority to adjust this percentage on a term-by-term basis if awards 

must be rationed to address a projected funding shortfall. Any such adjustment will be 

shown in Appendix 8. 

 

3. Parent Contribution 

For dependent applicants, the nine-month annual parent contribution, as determined by the 

Federal Methodology need analysis formula, is used in the State Grant award calculation. 

The annual contribution is first adjusted for term length by multiplying by .50 (semester) 

or .3333 (quarter) and rounding the result. The result is then multiplied by .94 and 

rounded. The resulting parent contribution is not adjusted if the student is enrolled for 

more or fewer than 15 credits (see Appendices 8 and 9). 

 

In the case of two need analysis results (primary vs. secondary), the lowest parent 

contribution should be used. 

 

The State Grant statute gives the Agency the authority to add a percentage surcharge to the 

parent contribution on a term-by-term basis in order to address any projected funding 

shortfalls. Any such surcharge will be shown in Appendix 8. For example, if a 10.7 
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percent surcharge were added to the parent contribution for spring semester, the surcharge 

would be applied in the following manner: 

 

Example of Surcharge on Parent Contribution 
 
Annual Nine-Month Federal Methodology Parent Contribution 
Parent Contribution Prorated to Term Length for Semester 
Term Parent Contribution Prorated to 94 Percent 
10.7 Percent Surcharge added to Prorated Term Parent Contribution 

 
 
$1,000 
$   500 
$   470 
$   520 

 
 

4. Student Contribution 

The nine-month annual Federal Methodology need analysis student contribution, or EFC, 

is subtracted as the student contribution in the State Grant award calculation for 

independent students. No student contribution is subtracted for dependent students. The 

contribution is first adjusted for term length by multiplying by .50 (semester) or by .3333 

(quarter) and rounding the results. Only 50 percent of the term student contribution is 

subtracted in the State Grant award calculation for independent students without 

dependents other than a spouse. Only 86 percent of the term student contribution is 

subtracted in the State Grant award calculation for independent students with dependents 

other than a spouse. The resulting contribution is not adjusted if the student enrolls for 

more or fewer than 15 credits (see Appendices 8 and 9). 

 

When choosing between two need analysis formula results (primary vs. secondary), the 

lowest student contribution, or EFC, should be used. 

 

The State Grant statute gives the Agency the authority to add a percentage surcharge to the 

independent student contribution on a term-by-term basis in order to address any projected 

funding shortfalls. Any such surcharge will be shown in Appendix 8. For example, if a 

10.7 percent surcharge were added to the independent student contribution for spring 

semester, the surcharge would be applied in the following manner: 
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Example of Surcharge on Student Contribution/EFC 
 
Annual Nine-Month Federal Methodology Student Contribution/EFC 
Student Contribution Prorated to Term Length for Semester 
Term Student Contribution Prorated to 50 Percent* 
10.7 Percent Surcharge Added to Prorated Term Student Contribution 

 
 
$1,000 
$   500 
$   250 
$   277 

*The Student Contribution is prorated to 50 percent for independent students without 
  dependents and 86 percent for independent students with dependents other than a  
  spouse. 

 
 

5. Pell Grant 
The amount of the Federal Pell Grant for which the student would be eligible based on the 

student’s Expected Family Contribution (EFC) and State Grant enrollment status is always 

subtracted in the State Grant formula, even if the school or program does not participate in 

the Federal Pell Grant program or the student does not actually receive the Pell Grant (e.g., 

misses application deadline, does not meet eligibility requirement). The student’s actual 

Federal Pell Grant is determined by the Federal Methodology Expected Family 

Contribution (EFC) and the student’s enrollment level for the Federal Pell Grant program, 

and is calculated in accordance with the appropriate U.S. Department of Education’s 

Federal Pell Grant disbursement schedule. However, when calculating a State Grant, the 

Pell Grant amount subtracted in the State Grant award calculation will always be based on 

the student’s enrollment status for the State Grant program and how that corresponds to 

the various enrollment levels for the Federal Pell Grant program as shown in the following 

table: 
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State Grant Enrollment Level 
Pell Grant Subtracted in 
State Grant Calculation 

15+ credits/30 clock hours per week Full-time 
14 credits/28-29 clock hours per week Full-time 
13 credits/26-27 clock hours per week Full-time 
12 credits/24-25 clock hours per week Full-time 
11 credits/22-23 clock hours per week 3/4-time 
10 credits/20-21 clock hours per week 3/4-time 
9 credits/18-19 clock hours per week 3/4-time 
8 credits/16-17 clock hours per week 1/2-time 
7 credits/14-15 clock hours per week 1/2-time 
6 credits/12-13 clock hours per week 1/2-time 
5 credits/10-11 clock hours per week Less than 1/2-time 
4 credits/8-9 clock hours per week Less than 1/2-time 
3 credits/6-7 clock hours per week Less than 1/2-time 

 
 

For example, if a student’s enrollment level for State Grant were 15 credits but the 

enrollment level for Federal Pell Grant were only 11 credits, the full-time Pell Grant 

would still be subtracted in the State Grant award calculation even if the student were 

actually receiving a 3/4-time Pell Grant. (See ‘State Grant Versus Pell Grant Enrollment 

Level’ in this chapter.) 

 

With respect to awards for crossover terms (start before and end after July 1), the State 

Grant and Pell Grant must always be based on need analysis results for the same aid year. 

 

To see examples of how the Pell Grant is subtracted in the State Grant award calculation, 

please see Appendices 8 and 9. 

 

B. Definition of Academic Year/Period of Award  
1. Definition of Academic Year 

The definition of “academic year” for purposes of award calculations is provided in the 

‘Common Definitions’ chapter of this manual. That definition of academic year must be 

used in all adjustment calculations involving State Grant, such as proration of awards. 

Although federal financial aid policy allows the institution to use a minimum academic 

year of 30 weeks (26 weeks for clock hour institutions) in its formulas, if the institution’s 
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academic year is longer than 30 weeks, the actual number of weeks in the academic year 

must be used in State Grant adjustment calculations. 

 

2. Period of Award / Annual Credit Limits 

Students may receive a State Grant for up to 60 quarter credits or 45 semester credits 

within an aid year (July 1-June 30). This also includes payment periods at clock hour 

schools where enrollment level is translated to credits [see ‘State Grant Enrollment 

Levels’ chart on page 26 of this chapter]. 

• If the student’s enrollment level exceeds 15 credits per term, the term is only counted 

as 15 credits towards the annual credit limit. 

• This includes both leading and trailing summer terms if those terms are awarded from 

the aid year. 

• In cases where the remaining credits of eligibility for the final term of the aid year are 

less than the student’s actual enrollment level, the remaining credits are the enrollment 

level used to determine the amount of the award. However, the number of hours in a 

clock hour payment period must be based on the student’s actual enrollment level (see 

‘Determining Enrollment Status Throughout the Academic Year at Progressive Clock 

Hour Schools’). 

 

a. Transfer Students 

A student who attends different schools during the aid year may also be awarded for 

up to 60 quarter credits or 45 semester credits per aid year, even if the State Grant 

award amounts differ at each school. For example, a student could receive two full-

time quarter disbursements at School A based on School A’s award calculation and 

two full-time quarter disbursements at School B based on School B’s award 

calculation. 

 

A student who transfers between schools on different systems (quarter vs semester) is 

also subject to these annual credit limits. Credits from the previous school must be 

translated to credits on the system used by the current school as shown in the 

following example: 
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Determining Eligibility For Transfer Student 

Example: 

School A awards student for two full-time quarters = 30 quarter credits 
School B awards student for one full-time semester = 15 semester credits 
 
To determine the award for a second semester at School B, convert quarter credits 
(30) to semester credits (30 x .67 = 20). Total semester credits awarded = 35. Because 
a student may not receive funding for more than 45 semester credits during the fiscal 
year, School B could award the student for up to 10 additional semester credits at 
School B for the second semester. 

 
Schools may use the Agency’s State Grant web access screen to determine whether a 

student has been paid a State Grant at another school for the same aid year (see 

Appendix 4). This information also appears on the Roster of Accepted Payments or 

Roster of Rejected Awards/Payments (see Appendices 20 and 21). 

 
C. Notification of Awards 

Schools are responsible for notifying students about their State Grant eligibility and award 

amount. The award notice should contain a statement which informs recipients about the 

impact of enrollment status on the State Grant award. The State Grant award notification may 

be incorporated into the school’s standard financial aid award notice. 

 

Prior to final award parameters being established by the legislature each year, estimated 

awards contained in award letters to students must be based on estimated parameters issued by 

the Agency by February 15th preceding the coming aid year. 

 

Schools are also responsible for providing information to students about all forms of financial 

aid administered by the institution and the availability of additional State Grant aid for a fourth 

full-time quarter or third full-time semester during the fiscal year. 

 

D. State Grant Award Advisory Roster 

Each time a school submits a batch of DDS records, the Agency checks the accuracy of 

awards and payments and generates a set of output reports for the school. The Roster of 

Rejected Awards/Payments (Appendix 16) and the Award Detail Error Roster (Appendix 17) 
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contain information about awards that fall outside established tolerances. The school is 

responsible for resolving errors shown on these reports. 

 

E. Awards for Summer or Non-Standard Terms 

Students may receive a State Grant award for up to four 15-credit quarters or three 15-credit 

semesters or the equivalent within a fiscal year. The fourth quarter or third semester will often 

times take place in the summer and overlap fiscal years. The same applies to progressive clock 

hour schools at which students can receive up to four full-time payment periods (if school 

divides academic year into three payment periods similar to quarters) or three full-time 

payment periods (for schools that divide the academic year into two payment periods like 

semesters). Such terms are referred to as “crossover” terms or payment periods. 

 

If a student is enrolled and eligible for a State Grant during the summer term or payment 

period, the student must be awarded. The school cannot require a separate application beyond 

the FAFSA (or state financial aid application used for undocumented students) and documents 

used to award for the standard terms or payment periods of the academic year. 

 
1. Origination of Funding 

If a term or payment period does not overlap two aid years, it must be paid from the aid 

year in which it occurs.  

 

When a crossover term or payment period overlaps two aid years (begins before and ends 

after July 1), funding may come from either aid year. The institution may decide from 

which aid year to draw funds on a student-by-student basis. However, because the 

student’s State Grant is based on the student’s EFC and Pell Grant award, the same aid 

year must be selected for both the State Grant and Pell Grant. Once the aid year is 

selected, the need analysis, laws, rules and policies in place for that aid year must be 

applied. 

 

For non term-based schools that link sequential course modules together to form a term, if 

such a term overlaps a fiscal year, it is considered a crossover term and is subject to 



 
FINANCIAL AID MANUAL 

 
NUMBER 

Section I 

 
PAGE 
61 

 
SECTION 
 State Grant Program 

 
DATE 

July 2016 

 
 

policies for crossover terms. In the event the student withdraws during a term and 

subsequently reenters within the same program, enrollment level and the option to reverse 

refunds should be based on policies described earlier in this manual under ‘Enrollment 

Level at Non Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools.’ 

 

2. Defining a Term 

Definition of a term must be done uniformly for all recipients. 

 

In order for two or more mini-sessions to be treated as one term, the school must define a 

student’s enrollment status in terms of the number of credits for which the student is 

enrolled during all sessions. When multiple mini-sessions are combined to make one term, 

the term start date is considered the first day of the first session in the term even if the 

student does not attend the first session. This also applies to non term-based credit-hour 

schools that combine sequential course modules into one term. 

 

Example: The first summer session starts May 28 and ends June 29 (five weeks) and the 

second summer session starts July 1 and ends August 3 (five weeks). If these two 5-week 

sessions are combined into a 10-week term, enrollment status must be based on the total 

number of credits during the 10-week period. The term start date is May 28. 

 

If the original award disbursed at the onset of the term is based on credits for other 

sessions or course modules and the student drops those credits without attending the 

classes, the State Grant must be recalculated. (See ‘Recalculation of Student Award Based 

on Changes in Enrollment Level.’) 

 

In order for multiple mini-sessions to be treated as separate “mini-terms” at standard term-

based schools, the school must define enrollment status separately for each session. This is 

not an option at non term-based credit-hour schools. 
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3. Determining Credits Needed for Enrollment Status 

Enrollment status for standard and non-standard terms or payment periods is derived in the 

same manner; that is, based on the actual number of credits or clock hours for which the 

student is enrolled. No adjustments are required for non-standard terms. 

 

4. Determining Amount of Award 

The calculation of the student’s State Grant term award for a standard or non-standard 

term is identical. There is no further proration required for non-standard terms. (See 

Appendix 8 for Shared Responsibility term award calculation.) However, award proration 

is required when the number of clock hours or weeks remaining in the student’s program 

is less than the clock hours or weeks in the school’s payment period or term. (See items 6 

and 7 under ‘Institutional Responsibilities Prior to Disbursement’ in this chapter.) 

 

F. Recalculation or Revision of State Grant Awards 

State Grant awards are revised or recalculated at the campus level. Schools are responsible for 

informing students about adjustments made to the award. 

 

1. Increased Award - Institutional Responsibilities 

If a school learns that a student’s State Grant should be increased due to a change in 

federal need analysis results, the Pell Grant award or the budget used to calculate the State 

Grant, the school is responsible for recalculating the student’s State Grant, notifying the 

student of the revised award amount and disbursing additional funds to the student. If the 

term has already started or been completed, policies for late or retroactive disbursement 

apply. (See ‘Late/Retroactive Disbursement’ section in this chapter.) 

 

Schools are not required to adjust the award based on a subsequent ISIR received after the 

student has stopped attending if the award for the term has already been disbursed and 

there was no conflicting information at the time of disbursement. Nor are schools required 

to adjust a prior year award based on incorrect data reported on the prior year FAFSA if all 

information was correct at the time of disbursement and the federal processing system is 

no longer operational for the prior aid year. 
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2. Decreased Award - Institutional Responsibilities and Liability 

If a school learns a student’s award should be reduced or eliminated due to a change in 

federal need analysis results, Pell Grant or State Grant budget, or a student not meeting the 

program eligibility requirements, the school is responsible for reducing the student’s 

award, notifying the student of the reduced award and making sure the overpayment is 

returned to its State Grant fund on campus. The balance of the fund is then returned to the 

Agency at the end of each academic year. 

 

If the school is unable to collect the overpayment from the student, the school may turn 

over the student’s account receivable to the Agency as part of the balance due the Agency 

at the end of the year if the school was not liable for repaying the overpayment from its 

own institutional funds. Otherwise, the school must repay the overpayment from its 

institutional funds. 

 

The State Grant award is not subject to financial aid packaging requirements. Thus, it is 

never reduced in cases where the student’s Expected Family Contribution (EFC) and other 

financial aid and resources exceed the student’s cost of attendance used for federal 

financial aid programs. 

 

Schools are not required to adjust the award based on a subsequent ISIR received after the 

student has stopped attending if the award for the term has already been disbursed and 

there was no conflicting information at the time of disbursement. Nor are schools required 

to adjust a prior year award based on incorrect data reported on the prior year FAFSA if all 

information was correct at the time of disbursement and the federal processing system is 

no longer operational for the prior aid year. 

 

In general, a school is liable for repaying the overpayment from its own funds if: 

• documentation on campus showed the student did not meet a program eligibility 

requirement at the time of disbursement, including the State Grant On-Line Hold 

Report; 
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• after the student was paid, an item on the application was corrected that should have 

been resolved prior to disbursement through resolving conflicting information, C 

codes or the verification process; or 

•  a school not participating in federal financial aid programs paid the student before 

submitting a State Grant DDS batch to the Agency to see if the student had received 

four years of aid, a previous State Grant overpayment, was in arrears on child support 

payments or was in default on a SELF loan and, upon checking with the Agency, 

learned that the student failed to meet one of these eligibility requirements at the time 

of disbursement. The school would be liable for repaying all funds disbursed to the 

student. 

 

In collecting overpayments from students, schools must: 

• inform the student in writing of the overpayment; 

• follow the applicable collection procedures to secure the return of the funds (the 

specific procedures utilized by the school to accomplish this would be determined by 

the school); and 

• notify the Agency if the student refuses to acknowledge the overpayment or refuses to 

repay the funds. The Agency will utilize state income tax revenue recapture or may 

seek the assistance of the Attorney General of the State of Minnesota to recover the 

overpayment. 

 

If the school is turning over a student’s file to the Agency for billing at the end of the aid 

year, it must include all pertinent documentation such as the SAR or ISIR (or the output 

from the state financial aid application used for undocumented students), copies of billing 

letters, an explanation of how the overpayment occurred, copies of cashed checks or 

student account transactions and all other supporting documentation. 

 

3. Adjustments to Award Based on Change in Enrollment Level 
State Grant award disbursements must always be based on the student’s enrollment level 

as of the date of disbursement. 
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If a student drops or withdraws from a class after disbursement of the State Grant and the 

student never attended the class, the State Grant must be recalculated to the lower 

enrollment level and any overpayment refunded to the State Grant program. This also 

applies to cases where the school grants a retroactive withdrawal for a class or classes 

backdated to the first day of the term, even if the student attended the class(es), since it is 

treated as though the student never attended. 

 

Conversely, if a student appeals to have a class added after the school’s award adjustment 

end date (described later in this section) or the late addition of the class is based on a 

school error or the assignment of interim term credits to fall term, the school may have a 

policy to recalculate the State Grant award to include those credits even if they were added 

after the school’s award adjustment end date. Or, the school can adhere to its standard 

policy regarding the award adjustment end date and not adjust the student’s award. 

 

In cases where the student has begun attendance in all classes, State Grant award 

recalculations and/or partial withdrawal refunds are not required unless the school adopts a 

written policy requiring award adjustments through a certain end date within the term. 

However, if a student withdraws from all classes, a total withdrawal refund will always be 

required (see ‘Total Withdrawal’ in the ‘Calculating Refunds for Students Who Change 

Enrollment Level or Withdraw After State Grant Disbursement’ section in this chapter). 

 

The school may choose an award adjustment end date that coincides with the end of the 

drop/add period (the most commonly chosen) or any other date during the term, including 

the last day of the term if the school opts to perform award adjustments through the entire 

term. Whichever end date is selected for award adjustments, it must also be used for all 

applicable state financial aid programs. There is no requirement that the award adjustment 

end date used for state financial aid programs match the end date selected for adjusting 

Pell Grants. The school has the option of selecting different award adjustment end dates 

for different programs of study offered by the school. 
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If a student has a change in enrollment level after beginning attendance in all classes but 

before the school’s end date for award adjustments, the school must perform award 

recalculations or partial withdrawal refunds for both increases and decreases in enrollment 

level. In other words, a school cannot opt to make adjustments only if they result in an 

increased award. The following State Grant examples apply to cases of enrollment 

changes occurring after the student has begun enrollment in all classes but before the end 

date selected by the school: 

• Student adds credits resulting in an increased State Grant award. The school would 

recalculate the State Grant award and disburse additional funds to the student. 

• Student adds credits resulting in a decreased State Grant award. If the student’s State 

Grant reduction was the result of an actual increase to the student’s Pell Grant award, 

the school would recalculate/reduce the student’s State Grant award. Otherwise, no 

refund would be required for the State Grant program. 

• Student drops/withdraws credits resulting in a reduced State Grant award. The school 

must perform a partial withdrawal refund calculation. 

• Student drops/withdraws credits resulting in an increased State Grant award. If the 

student’s State Grant increase was the result of an actual reduction of the student’s 

Pell Grant award, the school may disburse additional State Grant funds to the 

student. Otherwise, no adjustments are made to the State Grant. 

 

If a school must calculate a refund for a partial withdrawal, the school must use the Office 

of Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13c of State Grant 

manual) or spreadsheet (posted on www.ohe.state.mn.us) and return the lesser of the 

following to the State Grant program: 

• the difference between the State Grant at the original and revised enrollment level; or 

• the State Grant’s proportional share of the institution’s refund of institutional charges 

(from line I (E) of the Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet or 

spreadsheet). 
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Example A: No Change in EFC 
 
Student originally paid $500 for Level 15 enrollment 
Student withdraws from three credits to Level 12 enrollment 
Award at Level 12 is $300 
Difference between Level 15 and Level 12 award is $200 
Proportional share of refund of institutional charges is $100 
$100 is refunded to State Grant program 
School continues to report Level 15 enrollment to the Agency 

 

In the rare instance when a student withdraws from a class after beginning attendance and 

before the school’s award adjustment end date, and the student’s overall State Grant award 

is decreased based on a change in parent contribution or EFC, the school must first collect 

the overpayment (difference between the original and new State Grant award at the 

original enrollment level) from the student and then perform a partial withdrawal refund 

calculation.  

 

Example B: Change in EFC 
 
Student originally paid $500 for Level 15 enrollment 
Student withdraws from three credits to Level 12 enrollment 
Original award for Level 12 is $300 
Change in EFC results in revised award of $400 for Level 15 
Revised award for Level 12 is $200 
School must first recapture $100 (difference between original and revised award for Level 15)  
Difference between revised Level 15 ($400) and Level 12 ($200) is $200 
Proportional share of refund of institutional charges is $100 
$100 is refunded to the State Grant program 
School reports Level 15 enrollment to the Agency with payment of $300 

 

If the student withdraws from a class after beginning attendance and before the school’s 

award adjustment end date, and the State Grant at the revised enrollment level is higher 

than the award disbursed for the original enrollment level (this occurs in some cases for 

Pell Grant recipients when the withdrawn credits result in a lower Pell Grant enrollment 

level), the school can only increase the student’s State Grant if the school actually reduces 

the Pell Grant award or if the increase in the State Grant award at the lower enrollment 

level can be attributed to a change in parent contribution or EFC. 
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Example C: No Change in EFC 
 
Student originally paid $300 for Level 12 enrollment 
Student withdraws from one credit to Level 11 enrollment 
Award at Level 11 is $400 
School does not adjust Pell Grant from full-time to 3/4-time award 
State Grant remains at $300 
School continues to report Level 12 enrollment to the Agency with payment of $300 

 
 

Example D: Change in EFC 
 
Student originally paid $300 for Level 12 enrollment 
Student withdraws from one credit to Level 11 enrollment 
Award at Level 11 is $400 due to drop in Pell enrollment level 
School does not adjust Pell Grant from full-time to 3/4-time award 
Change in EFC results in $500 Level 12 and $600 Level 11 
Student limited to $200 increase in State Grant award  
($500 revised Level 12 minus $300 original Level 12) 
School continues to report Level 12 enrollment to the Agency with $500 payment 
 
[Note: Had school actually adjusted Pell to 3/4-time, the student would receive the difference 
between the original $300 Level 12 disbursement and the revised $600 Level 11 award.] 

 

If a student adds credits after the initial disbursement of the State Grant and before the 

school’s award adjustment end date, and the award at the revised enrollment level is 

higher than the award disbursed for the original enrollment level, the school should 

disburse additional funds to the student. This applies regardless of whether the increase in 

the State Grant award is based on an increase in the enrollment level and/or a change in 

the parent contribution or EFC. 

 

If a student adds credits after the initial disbursement of the State Grant and before the 

school’s award adjustment end date, and the award at the revised enrollment level is less 

than the award disbursed for the original enrollment level (this occurs in some cases for 

Pell Grant recipients), the school is only required to reduce the student’s State Grant if the 

school actually increased the student’s Pell Grant award or if the decrease in the State 

Grant award can be attributed to a change in the student’s parent contribution or EFC. 
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Example E: No Change in EFC 
 
Student originally paid $400 for Level 11 enrollment 
Student adds one credit for Level 12 enrollment 
State Grant award at Level 12 is $300 
School does not adjust Pell Grant from 3/4-time to full-time award 
State Grant remains at $400 
School continues to report Level 11 enrollment to the Agency with payment of $400 

 
 

Example F: Change in EFC 
 
Student originally paid $400 for Level 11 enrollment 
Student adds one credit for Level 12 enrollment 
State Grant award at Level 12 is $300  
School does not adjust Pell Grant from 3/4-time to full-time award 
Change in EFC results in $200 Level 11 and $100 Level 12 
School must recapture $200 decrease in State Grant award  
($400 original Level 11 minus $200 revised Level 11) 
School continues to report Level 11 enrollment to the Agency with payment of $200 
 
[Note: Had school actually adjusted Pell Grant to full-time, the school would need to recapture 
the $300 difference between the original $400 Level 11 disbursement and the revised $100 Level 
12 award.] 

 

State Grant award adjustment policy becomes more complex in cases where the student 

both withdraws from and adds credits after beginning attendance in all classes but before 

the school’s award adjustment end date. The school must always use the student’s actual 

enrollment level (original enrollment level at the time of disbursement minus credits 

withdrawn or dropped plus credits added) to determine the adjusted award. However, 

whether the adjusted award results in the disbursement of additional funds or recapturing 

funds previously disbursed will be based on the student’s disbursement history. 

Additionally, the enrollment level and payment reported to the Agency on the State Grant 

DDS record may not necessarily match the student’s actual revised enrollment level. A 

flow chart outlining the steps for State Grant award adjustments taking place after the 

initial disbursement of the State Grant award as well as several examples is provided in 

Appendix 20. 
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Appendix 21 outlines the current State Grant disbursement and award adjustment policies 

in comparison to the policies used for the Federal Pell Grant program. 

 

In cases where the initial calculation and disbursement of the State Grant award take place 

after the school’s award adjustment end date, the award must be based on the student’s 

enrollment level as of the date of disbursement and no further award adjustments would 

take place after that point. 

 

a. Adjustment of Awards for Students Attending 
Non Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools 

This section applies to non term-based credit-hour schools that combine a number of 

sequential course modules together to define a term. For example, a school may define 

a semester as 12 credits, comprised of a series of four sequential 3-credit courses that 

each last a month. 

12-Credit Semester 
3 Credits 
Class 1 

3 Credits 
Class 2 

3 Credits 
Class 3 

3 Credits 
Class 4 

 

 
 
If a student withdraws from school during the first course module of the term without 

attending the course, the entire State Grant disbursement for the term must be 

refunded. 

 

If the student did attend the first course module before withdrawing, then the school 

must first recalculate the State Grant for an enrollment level that excludes credits for 

the remaining course modules and refund the difference between the original and 

revised State Grant. The school would then complete the appropriate Office of Higher 

Education Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13) for a full withdrawal to 

determine the amount of the refund due the State Grant program from the first module 

attended. 

 

In the following example, if the school disbursed a Level 12 State Grant at the onset of 

a semester to cover four 3-credit sequential course modules and the student withdrew 
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from school during the first module after attending the course, the school would first 

recalculate the State Grant term award from Level 12 to Level 3 and refund the 

difference to the State Grant program. The school would then complete the 

appropriate OHE Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13) for a full withdrawal 

for the first 3-credit course module the student attended, including only the Level 3 

State Grant award amount on the worksheet, as opposed to the original award for 12 

credits.  

 

3 Credits 
Class 1 
(attended but 
withdrew) 

3 Credits 
Class 2 
(didn’t start) 

3 Credits 
Class 3 
(didn’t start) 

3 Credits 
Class 4 
(didn’t start) 

 

 

In the next example, the student completes the first course module and then withdraws 

before starting the second course module. The original State Grant term award 

(Level 12) would be recalculated for the lower enrollment level (Level 3) and the 

difference refunded to the State Grant program. No refund calculation worksheet 

would be required, since the student did not withdraw during a course module. 

 

3 Credits 
Class 1 
(completed) 

3 Credits 
Class 2 
(didn’t start) 

3 Credits 
Class 3 
(didn’t start) 

3 Credits 
Class 4 
(didn’t start) 

 

 

These same policies apply when the student withdraws later in the term. In the 

following example, the student withdraws from school during the third course module 

after beginning attendance in that course. The school must first recalculate the State 

Grant term award to an enrollment level that excludes credits for any remaining 

modules the student did not attend, and refund the difference between the original 

(Level 12) and revised (Level 9) State Grant awards to the State Grant program. The 

school would then complete the appropriate Office of Higher Education Refund 

Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13) for a full withdrawal for the three course 

modules the student did attend, and list only the Level 9 State Grant award when 

completing the worksheet.  



 
FINANCIAL AID MANUAL 

 
NUMBER 

Section I 

 
PAGE 
72 

 
SECTION 
 State Grant Program 

 
DATE 

July 2016 

 
 

 

3 Credits 
Class 1 
(completed) 

3 Credits 
Class 2 
(completed) 

3 Credits 
Class 3 
(attended then 
withdrew) 

3 Credits 
Class 4 
(didn’t start) 

 

 

If a student withdraws during the last course module of a term after beginning 

attendance in that course, an award recalculation would not be required, since there 

are no remaining course modules the student did not attend. Rather, the school would 

complete the appropriate OHE Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13) for a full 

withdrawal, using the amount of the original Level 12 State Grant on the worksheet. 

 

3 Credits 
Class 1 
(completed) 

3 Credits 
Class 2 
(completed) 

3 Credits 
Class 3 
(completed) 

3 Credits 
Class 4 
(attended then 
withdrew) 

 

 

Enrollment levels, award recalculations and withdrawal refunds are determined 

similarly for students taking courses simultaneously within a semester. 

 

In the next example, the student’s original disbursement would be based on 12 credits. 

If this student withdrew from school after completing the first set of simultaneous 

courses, the award would be recalculated from Level 12 to Level 6 and the difference 

refunded to the State Grant program. A withdrawal refund calculation would not be 

required, since the student did not withdraw during a course module. 

 

3 Credits 
Class 1 
(completed) 

    

3 Credits 
Class 2 
(completed) 

3 Credits 
Class 3 
(not started) 

3 Credits 
Class 4 
(not started) 

  

 

If this same student withdrew from school during the first set of simultaneous courses, 

the award would first be recalculated from Level 12 to Level 6 and the difference 

refunded to the State Grant program. A full withdrawal refund calculation would then 
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be performed using the appropriate OHE Refund Calculation Spreadsheet (Appendix 

13) using only the amount of the student’s Level 6 State Grant award.  

 

3 Credits 
Class 1 
(completed) 

    

3 Credits 
Class 2 
(completed) 

3 Credits 
Class 3 
(not started) 

3 Credits 
Class 4 
(not started) 

  

 

If a student withdraws at any point during the term, but subsequently reenrolls in the 

same program, the student cannot advance to the next term until the remaining courses 

in the previous term have been completed. To determine the student’s enrollment level 

for the term in question, and whether recalculation and/or withdrawal refunds for that 

term can be reversed, see the ‘Enrollment Level at Non Term-Based Credit-Hour 

Schools’ and ‘Post-Withdrawal Disbursement for Returning Students at Non Term-

Based Credit-Hour Schools’ sections of this manual. 

 

If a student withdraws during a module or between modules but continues on in a 

different program, the State Grant for the original term would be recalculated to cover 

only the modules the student did complete and a new State Grant would be awarded to 

cover the next term, which would start with the next course module in which the 

student enrolled for the new program. For example, if a Level 12 State Grant were 

disbursed for the initial semester and the student fully completed two 3-credit modules 

of the first semester and then decided to change programs, the State Grant for the first 

semester would be recalculated to a Level 6 and the difference between the Level 12 

and Level 6 State Grant term awards would be refunded to the State Grant program. 

The next course module would then be considered the first 3-credit course module of a 

new semester consisting of four 3-credit modules for the student’s new program. A 

Level 12 State Grant would be disbursed for the new semester. 
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4. Recalculation of State Grant Award for Student 
 Who Receives All Non-Passing Grades 

If the student receives non-passing grades for all classes taken during a term, the federal 

financial aid guidelines requiring schools to document attendance in these cases also apply 

to the State Grant program. If the school determines the student never attended a class or 

classes, the State Grant award must be recalculated to exclude those credits prior to any 

refund taking place for withdrawn classes the student did attend. (See ‘Award Adjustments 

and Refunds for All Non-Passing Grades’ in the ‘Refund Process’ section of this chapter.) 

Non term-based credit-hour schools typically extend the term length to include another 

course when a student fails a class in which the student began attendance, which may 

result in an award recalculation. (See ‘Enrollment Level at Non Term-Based Credit-Hour 

Schools for further guidance.) 

 

5. ISIR Transaction Received After Student Is No Longer Enrolled 

 If a school receives a subsequent ISIR transaction for a student who is no longer enrolled 

at the school and is not intending to reenroll, there is no requirement to adjust the student’s 

award if: 

• the State Grant for the period of enrollment has already been disbursed; and 

• at the time of disbursement, there was no conflicting information. 

 

  6. Correcting Application Data for Prior Aid Year 

If the school discovers the student reported incorrect information on the FAFSA for a prior 

aid year, the school must correct the prior year FAFSA and make any necessary 

adjustments unless the federal processing system is no longer operational for that aid year. 

 

  7. Treatment of Study Abroad Courses 

 There are no special requirements for the treatment of study abroad courses with respect to 

determining the student’s enrollment level for the purposes of awarding, adjusting awards 

and calculating refunds. If the student registers directly with the foreign institution, there 

must be consortium or contractual agreement between the foreign institution and the 

eligible Minnesota institution. As long as the student is pursuing a credential at an eligible 
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Minnesota institution, courses taken through study abroad are treated in the same manner 

as if they took place at the eligible Minnesota institution. 

 

For example, a student registers for 15 credits at a foreign institution that has a consortium 

agreement with the eligible Minnesota institution. It is initially determined that all classes 

will count towards the student’s degree program at the Minnesota institution. The State 

Grant would be awarded for 15 credits. The student earns a D in one class and an F in 

another class, so these classes will not transfer back to the eligible MN institution. The 

State Grant would not be adjusted since no adjustments would have been required had the 

student taken those classes at the  
 
VII. Disbursement Process 

A. Disbursing Funds to Schools 

To improve cash management and timely State Grant reporting, the following requirements 

are used when processing funds advances for the State Grant program. 

 A school’s initial advance for funds will not be processed until the school has: 

• reported a DDS batch for the new aid year that has been tested and is suitable for 

production;  

• requested funds using the SG web access screen; and 

• submitted its final batch and returned its end of year fund balance for the prior aid year in 

cases where the initial advance is requested after August 31. 

 

The amount of funds advanced for the school’s initial term of the new aid year is the total 

amount of awards for that term in the school’s first batch for the new aid year. The Agency 

can reduce the advance if term awards are not yet adjusted for less than full-time enrollment 

levels. Schools can request additional funds once the initial installment has been disbursed to 

students. 

 

Subsequent funds requests for the first term must be requested on the SG web access screen 

and accompanied by an up-to-date batch showing that payments to date have consumed most 
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of the initial installment and that total term awards in the batch support the additional funds 

request. 

 

Funds advances for subsequent terms must also be requested on the SG web access screen and 

accompanied by an up-to-date batch showing that payments to date have consumed most of 

the previous advances. Advance amounts for subsequent terms are based on the amount of 

awards for that term in the school’s most recently submitted DDS batch.  

 

B. Disbursing Funds to Students 
In general, State Grant funds may only be used to pay for the student’s costs for the current 

academic year. However, a school may use current-year funds to satisfy prior-year charges for 

tuition, fees, room or board and, with written authorization from the student, other 

educationally related charges. 

 

The State Grant award must be based on the student’s enrollment level as of the date of 

disbursement. If a student withdraws from a class prior to disbursement, the student cannot 

receive a State Grant payment for those credits. (See also ‘Adjustments to Award Based on 

Change in Enrollment Level’ and Appendices 20 and 21 for further information.) 

 

1. When Schools May Disburse Funds 

An institution may not make a State Grant payment to a student for a payment period or 

term until the student has registered for classes. Schools are discouraged from delaying 

disbursements beyond the school’s award adjustment end date to avoid award adjustments 

based on changes in enrollment level. 

 

The institution is liable for all State Grant payments that are disbursed to a registered 

student prior to the start of the enrollment period if that student fails to begin the 

enrollment period. The institution will have to reimburse State Grant payments disbursed 

to the student prior to the start of the enrollment period if the institution cannot document 

that the student did begin attending classes. 

 



 
FINANCIAL AID MANUAL 

 
NUMBER 

Section I 

 
PAGE 
77 

 
SECTION 
 State Grant Program 

 
DATE 

July 2016 

 
 

If an institution posts a State Grant payment from its own funds to a student’s account for 

a crossover term prior to the beginning of the new state fiscal year from which it is 

awarded, the payment must be cancelled or adjusted based on changes in enrollment, 

eligibility requirements or the award calculation formula that take place prior to receipt of 

State Grant funds by the institution. 

 

Documentation must exist regarding the date of disbursement of the State Grant payment. 

The disbursement date is the date that the Agency requires the institution to determine the 

student’s enrollment level prior to determining the amount of State Grant funds to be 

disbursed to the student. The Agency and/or the institution’s independent public auditors 

will use the disbursement date to verify the enrollment level of State Grant program 

participants. Schools are required to report accurate term disbursement dates on the DDS 

record for each student (Appendix 12). 

 

The disbursement date of all State Grant payments made prior to the start of the 

enrollment period will be the first day of required class attendance. 

 

The disbursement date of all State Grant payments disbursed to a student after the start of 

the enrollment period will be: 

• for State Grant payments posted to a student account, the date the funds are posted to 

the student’s account;  

• for State Grant payments that are mailed to the student or transferred by EFT, the date 

of the check or EFT transaction unless the institution elects to use the previous day as 

the disbursement date for all students paid using this method; or 

• for State Grant payments that are disbursed directly to the student via check, the date 

the student picks up the check. 

 

a. Payment Periods 

The Agency designates that schools may have only two or three term payment periods 

during the academic year. The institution specifies on the budget questionnaire it 
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completes each year whether it will disburse aid on a semester (two periods) or 

quarterly (three periods) basis. 

 

For progressive clock hour schools, the length of a full-time payment period equals 

the total number of hours in the full-time academic year (e.g., 900 clock hours) 

divided by the number of payment periods (two or three). Payment periods should be 

of approximately equal length and the total period covered by the payment periods 

should equal the entire academic year. For example, if a clock hour school had a 

1,200-hour academic year and disbursed aid on a semester basis, each full-time 

payment period would consist of 600 hours. For students attending less than full-time, 

the hours in the payment period must be adjusted accordingly. (See ‘Payment Periods 

for Less Than Full-Time Enrollment at Progressive Clock Hour Schools.’) 

 

When a progressive clock hour school changes the number of hours in its academic 

year from one year to the next, the payment period hours for a crossover payment 

period would be based on the number of hours in a payment period for the aid year 

from which funds are awarded. For example, if the previous academic year was 

defined as 900 clock hours with two 450-hour full-time payment periods, and the 

student’s crossover payment period was funded from that aid year, the crossover 

payment period would contain 450 hours (assuming the student is full-time). Once the 

crossover payment period ends in the new aid year, the school must start using the 

new year’s academic year and payment period hours for any payment periods starting 

in that year. 

 

2. Late/Retroactive Disbursement 
The State Grant disbursed to a student must be based on the student’s enrollment status as 

of the date of disbursement. If a student withdrew from a class prior to disbursement, 

those credits cannot be included in the student’s enrollment level. If a student withdrew 

from school or dropped below three credits or its equivalent prior to disbursement, the 

school cannot disburse any State Grant funds to the student for that term. If a student 

earned a grade of FN (failed but never attended) or FW (failed but stopped attending prior 
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to finals) or the equivalent for a course, that course cannot be included in the student’s 

enrollment level. All other grades, including F, NC and I shall be counted when 

determining the student’s enrollment level. 

 

At non term-based credit-hour schools, the State Grant award cannot be disbursed 

retroactively for a term during which the student withdrew from school, even if one or 

more sequential course modules were completed. Further, if a term is extended due to the 

student withdrawing from one or more courses but continuing on at the school, the 

student’s enrollment level for retroactive State Grant disbursements cannot include credits 

for withdrawn courses. 

 

In cases where a student earns a non-passing grade for every class taken during a term and 

the Title IV federal financial aid guidelines require the school to verify the student actually 

attended classes, the results of the verification shall also apply to the State Grant program. 

That is, if the school determines the student did not attend a class or classes or unofficially 

withdrew during the term, the school must also calculate a refund for the State Grant 

program. (See ‘Award Adjustments for Refunds for All Non-Passing Grades’ in the 

‘Refund Process’ section of this chapter.) 

 

If a school disburses a State Grant to a student who is later determined to have a 

withdrawal date set prior to the disbursement, the school must complete the appropriate 

OHE Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13) or spreadsheet to determine if a 

refund is due the State Grant program. This can occur in cases where a school is not 

required to take attendance and becomes aware of the withdrawal after the date of 

disbursement. The school is not required to complete the OHE Refund Calculation 

Worksheet/Spreadsheet if there is no refund of institutional charges. However, the school 

must make a notation that the financial aid administrator reviewed the withdrawal and 

determined there would be no refund of institutional charges. 

 

A student is eligible to receive retroactive payment for a past term, even if the student is 

not currently enrolled in a subsequent term, provided the student currently meets all of the 
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program eligibility requirements as of the date of disbursement. If payment is for a term 

that has already been completed, the disbursement must be based on the student’s 

enrollment status as of the end of the term. 

 

For example, if a student met all the program eligibility requirements throughout fall term 

but was placed on a child support hold during spring term prior to the school disbursing 

funds for fall and spring terms, the school cannot disburse funds to the student for either 

term because the student does not meet all the program eligibility requirements as of the 

date of disbursement. The same logic applies to a student who is not making satisfactory 

academic progress (and has exhausted appeals and probationary periods) at the time of 

disbursement even if the student was making satisfactory progress during a previous term. 

 
3. Method of Disbursement to Students 

Each school may disburse funds to students using one or a combination of the following 

methods. The institution may make State Grant payments:  

• to the student’s account (preferred method), 

• to the student by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT), 

• by institutional check directly to the student, or 

• by an institutional check that is mailed to the student.  

 

Whichever methods of disbursement are used, the school must document the date of 

disbursement and the amount of State Grant payment disbursed to the student. The 

Agency holds schools liable for improperly disbursed checks. 

 

When disbursing a State Grant check to the student, the institutional representative should 

request proper identification, preferably a picture ID. Once the check has been signed and 

cashed, the Agency will not refund or replace it. 

 

The institution may exercise the option of mailing the checks to the student. The 

institution must maintain a record that documents for each student included in each 

transaction the: 
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• student’s name, 

• source and amount of state and other financial aid payments included in the payment 

to the student, 

• number of the institutional check, and  

• the date that the check was mailed to the student if different from the date of the 

check. 

 

The institution is liable for all funds that are lost. The institution will have to reimburse 

either the student, the Agency or both for any lost State Grant funds. 

 

If the institution credits State Grant funds to the student’s account, the institution must 

document: 

• student’s name, 

• amount and type of charges paid by each transaction in the student’s account, and 

• source and amount of state and other financial aid payments disbursed to the student’s 

account. 

 

If the institution chooses to disburse State Grant payments to the student by initiating an 

EFT to the bank account designated by the student, the institution must obtain 

authorization from the student to disburse by that method. 

 

Each State Grant aid award must be based on the student’s enrollment level as of the date 

the funds are electronically transferred to the student. The following standards apply to 

EFTs: 

• The date of the EFT transaction must be documented. This will be considered the date 

of disbursement unless the institution elects to take the following option. 

• At the institution’s option, the date of disbursement may be one business day prior to 

the date of the EFT transaction. 

 

For each EFT transaction, the institution must maintain a dated record that documents for 

each student included in the transaction the: 
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• student’s name, 

• source and amount of state and other financial aid payments included in the EFT, 

• the amount of the EFT, 

• student’s bank account number, and 

• name of the bank into which the funds were deposited. 

 

The institution is liable for all funds that are lost. The institution will have to reimburse 

either the student, the Agency or both for any lost state financial aid funds. 

 

4. Disbursement to Incarcerated Students 

Disbursement of the State Grant for an incarcerated student should be arranged with the 

education director at the correctional facility. The award may be credited to a student’s 

account at the school or disbursed to the student through the education director. 

 

5. Disbursement to Students Studying Abroad 

If tuition is paid at the Minnesota institution for study abroad, the student’s State Grant 

payment should be credited to the student’s account. Any excess funds can be mailed to 

the student or deposited in the student’s bank account via EFT unless the school is 

authorized by the student to hold a balance in the student’s account. If the student must 

pay tuition at the foreign school, the school may mail the check to the student or deposit 

the funds in the student’s bank account via EFT, if so authorized. However, the student 

must be registered for credit at an eligible Minnesota school or the eligible Minnesota 

school must have a consortium or contractual agreement with the foreign school. 

 

6. Payment of Unpaid Institutional Charges 

At the time of disbursement, a school may require a student to pay all institutional charges 

currently due the school. Minnesota financial aid recipients cannot have stricter payment 

requirements than students who do not receive financial aid. 
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7. Student Account Balances 

Unless otherwise authorized by the student, whenever an institution applies state financial 

aid disbursements to a student’s account and determines that the amount of those 

disbursements exceeds or exceeded the amount of allowable charges the institution 

assessed the student, the institution must pay that balance directly to the student as soon as 

possible but within 14 days of the later of: 

a. the date that balance occurs, 

b. the first day of classes of a payment period/period of enrollment as applicable, or 

c. the date the student rescinds his or her authorization to hold funds. 

 

This also applies to cases where the institution posts State Grant disbursements to the 

student’s account prior to receipt of State Grant funds from the Agency. 

 

If an account balance remains after paying current year charges, the school may apply 

funds to satisfy any remaining prior year charges for tuition, fees, room or board and, with 

written authorization from the student, other educationally related charges. 

 

If a school receives authorization to hold excess funds, the school must identify the 

student or parent and the amount of funds the school holds for the student or parent in a 

subsidiary ledger account designated for that purpose. The school also must maintain, at 

all times, cash in its bank account at least equal to the amount the school holds for 

students. 

 

Because state financial aid funds are awarded to students to pay current year charges, 

notwithstanding any authorization obtained by a school from a student or parent, the 

school must pay any remaining state credit balance by: 

• the end of the loan period for state loans, and 

• the end of the last payment period in the award year for which they were awarded for 

any other remaining balance of state financial aid disbursements. 
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If an institution attempts to disburse funds by check or EFT transaction to the student, and 

the check is returned to the institution or the EFT transaction is rejected, the institution 

may make additional attempts to disburse the funds to the student, provided those attempts 

take place within 45 days after the funds were returned or rejected. If no additional 

attempts to disburse funds are made, the funds must be returned to the program within that 

45-day period. If an institution attempts to disburse funds by check to the student and the 

check is not cashed, the institution must return funds to the program within 240 days of 

the check being issued. 

 

If a school cannot locate a student to whom a state financial aid credit balance must be 

paid, the school must return the credit balance to the appropriate state financial aid 

program. The Agency does not specify how a school should determine which financial aid 

funds created the credit balance. However, when possible, the Agency encourages schools 

to return state financial aid fund balances to the SELF Loan program first to reduce the 

likelihood of default. 

 

The school is permitted to retain any interest earned on the student’s credit balance funds.  

 

8. Student Authorization 

An institution must obtain from a student written authorization allowing the institution to: 

• disburse State Grant payments via EFT; 

• hold excess funds in the student’s account; or 

• apply State Grant payments to prior year charges for other than tuition, fees, room and 

board. 

 

In obtaining authorization for any of these activities, an institution may not require the 

student to provide that authorization and must allow the student to rescind that 

authorization at any time. 

 

The authorization granted to an institution is valid for the award year or the period of 

enrollment in which the institution obtains that authorization. The initial authorization will 
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continue to be valid provided that the institution notifies the student of the provisions 

regarding the student’s current authorization prior to conducting any of the activities that 

require authorization for any subsequent award year. The institution’s notice to the student 

must, in a plain and conspicuous manner, explain those provisions including an 

explanation regarding any interest that the institution earns on the student’s funds and 

whether the institution will provide that interest to the student. The notice must also 

provide the student with the opportunity to cancel or modify those provisions. 

 

C. Institutional Responsibilities Prior to Disbursement 
1. Notification of Students 

Schools are responsible for letting students know when their State Grant payments will be 

ready for disbursement. Notification may include a letter or e-mail to the student or an 

announcement of disbursement dates. 

 

2. Certification and Monitoring of Student Eligibility 

Prior to disbursement, a school is responsible for certifying that a student meets the 

program eligibility requirements outlined in the ‘Program Eligibility Requirements’ 

section of this chapter. 

 

3. Federal Verification, Conflicting Information and C Codes 

Before disbursing the State Grant award, the school is responsible for resolving any 

conflicting information and C codes on the student’s ISIR or SAR, including unusual 

enrollment history flags. The school must also verify the data on the student’s application 

if it is selected for verification using the verification criteria established by the Department 

of Education for federal student aid programs. These requirements also apply to schools 

that do not participate in federal aid programs. Schools should refer to the federal 

Application and Verification Guide for the aid year in question for detailed instructions. 

The verification guide and information about resolving conflicting information, C codes 

and unusual enrollment history flags are available at www.ifap.ed.gov.  
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In instances where verification selection, conflicting information, C codes and unusual 

enrollment history flags take place after the State Grant was disbursed, all future 

disbursements must be held until the school resolves the issues. If corrections result in a 

reduced award, the school must bill the student for the overpayment and return the 

overpayment to its State Grant account. If a student fails to produce the required 

documentation, the student should be billed for the entire amount previously disbursed. 

 

A school is not required to adjust the award based on a subsequent ISIR transaction 

received after the student stopped enrollment at the school provided the award has already 

been disbursed and there was no conflicting information at the time of disbursement. If the 

school discovers the student reported incorrect information on the FAFSA for a prior aid 

year, the school must correct the prior year FAFSA and make any necessary adjustments 

unless the federal processing system is no longer operational for that aid year. 

 

4. Adjusting Payments Due to Revised Award 

Schools are responsible for adjusting a student’s State Grant payment if a change in 

federal need analysis results, Pell Grant, or the budget used to calculate the State Grant 

resulted in a revision to the student’s State Grant award. If a school receives a revised 

ISIR after the deadline by which it must make Pell Grant adjustments and the ISIR would 

result in a decreased Pell Grant and an increased State Grant, the school cannot increase 

the student’s State Grant if it did not decrease the student’s Pell Grant. 

 

5. Adjusting Payments Based on Enrollment Status 

Schools must generate State Grant payments based on the enrollment status as of the 

disbursement date. Because the amount of the State Grant award varies based on the 

student’s enrollment status, the school must make certain it is generating a payment for the 

appropriate enrollment level. (See also ‘Adjustments to Award Based on Change in 

Enrollment Level’ and Appendices 20 and 21 for further information.) 
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a. Payment Periods for Less Than Full-Time Enrollment 
at Progressive Clock Hour Schools 

Schools using progressive clock hour disbursement must reduce the number of clock 

hours in a student’s payment period if the student attends on a less than full-time 

(Level 15) basis. Thus, if a full-time (Level 15) payment period is 600 hours for a 

school with a 1,200-hour academic year split into two payment periods, payment 

periods for less than full-time (Level 15) enrollment would be reduced 

proportionately, as shown in the chart in Appendix 15. 

 

For less than full-time students, State Grant payment periods may be different than 

Pell Grant payment periods due to different enrollment levels for the State Grant and 

Pell Grant programs. However, schools participating in federal financial aid programs 

should check satisfactory academic progress based on federal payment periods. (See 

also ‘Satisfactory Academic Progress’ in the Common Definitions chapter of this 

manual.) For samples of State Grant payment periods, please refer to Appendix 15. 

 

To arrive at the number of clock hours in a State Grant payment period for less than 

full-time (Level 15) enrollment, multiply the number of hours in a full-time payment 

period by the percentage shown on the following chart. Sample payment period charts 

are available in Appendix 15. 
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Determining Number of Clock Hours in Payment Period 
for Less Than Full-Time Enrollment 

State Grant Level Average Clock Hours 
Per Week 

Multiply Hours in Full-Time 
Payment Period by: 

Level 15 30+ 1.0 

Level 14 28-29 .933 

Level 13 26-27 .867 

Level 12 24-25 .800 

Level 11 22-23 .733 

Level 10 20-21 .667 

Level 9 18-19 .600 

Level 8 16-17 .533 

Level 7 14-15 .467 

Level 6 12-13 .400 

Level 5 10-11 .333 

Level 4 8-9 .267 

Level 3 6-7 .200 
 

(1) When Remaining Annual Credits Are Less Than Actual Enrollment Level 

Students may receive a State Grant for up to 60 quarter credits or 45 semester 

credits within an aid year (July 1-June 30). This also includes payment periods at 

clock hour schools where enrollment level is translated to credits [see ‘State 

Grant Enrollment Levels’ chart on page 26 of this chapter]. In cases where the 

student’s remaining credits of eligibility for the final payment period of the aid 

year are less than the student’s actual enrollment level, the remaining credits are 

the enrollment level used to determine the amount of the award. However, the 

number of hours in the clock hour payment period must be based on the student’s 

actual enrollment level (see ‘Determining Enrollment Status Throughout the 

Academic Year at Progressive Clock Hour Schools’). 
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b. Determining Enrollment Status Throughout the Academic Year 
at Progressive Clock Hour Schools 

(1) Determining Average Clock Hours Per Week 

To determine the student’s average clock hours per week during a period of time, 

the school would divide the number of clock hours the student attended during the 

period by the number of scheduled weeks during the period. The number of 

scheduled weeks is derived by multiplying the number of scheduled days by .20. 

Scheduled days do not include approved leaves of absences, excused absences, 

vacations, school closings, holidays or breaks. 

 

For example, if a student had four days of unexcused absences and completed 336 

clock hours during 58 of 62 scheduled days during the period of time, the student 

would have averaged 27.10 clock hours per week. Sixty-two scheduled days 

multiplied by .20 = 12.4 weeks. The total clock hours during this period (336) is 

then divided by 12.4 weeks, resulting in average clock hours of 27.10 per week. 

 

(2) Enrollment Status for Initial Payment Period 

When the State Grant award is disbursed within the first two weeks of the 

student’s initial payment period at the school, the amount of the award and the 

number of hours in the student’s payment period should be based on the 

enrollment level for which the student has contracted or registered. 

In cases where the State Grant is disbursed after the first two weeks of the 

student’s initial payment period, the enrollment status used to determine the award 

and hours in the payment period should be based on the average hours per week 

the student has completed to date. 

 

Payment periods and enrollment levels must also be determined and documented 

for students who do not financially qualify for an award, in which case the 

“disbursement date” is the date the school determines the student’s enrollment 

level and payment period. 
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The hours in each payment period must be based on the academic year and 

payment period definitions for the aid year from which funds are awarded. (See 

also ‘Awards for Summer or Non-Standard Terms’ in this chapter.) 

 

Since students are not eligible to receive a State Grant during high school, any 

hours completed before the student finished high school should not be considered 

when determining the student’s enrollment level. 

 

Once the State Grant award has been disbursed for the initial payment period, the 

disbursement does not have to be subsequently adjusted if the student’s average 

hours per week fall short or exceed the enrollment level used to calculate the 

original award. However, if the student withdraws from school, then a refund 

calculation is required if there is a refund of institutional charges. (See ‘Total 

Withdrawal – Progressive Clock Hour Schools’ under ‘Refund Process’ section of 

the State Grant manual.) 

 

Once the student completes the number of hours in the initial payment period, the 

school should calculate and disburse the State Grant award for the next payment 

period. In cases where the student withdraws during a payment period and re-

enrolls at a later date, see also ‘Post-Withdrawal Disbursement for Returning 

Students at Progressive Clock Hour Schools.’ 

 

(3) Enrollment Status for Subsequent Payment Periods 

When the State Grant award is disbursed within the first two weeks of a 

subsequent payment period, the enrollment level used to calculate the award and 

determine the number of hours in the current payment period must be based on the 

number of hours per week the student actually averaged during the preceding 

payment period. For example, if the student received a full-time Level 15 State 

Grant for the initial payment period based on contracting for 30+ hours per week 

but only averaged 24 hours per week during the initial payment period, the 
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enrollment level used to determine the award and payment period hours for the 

next payment period would be 24 hours per week, or Level 12.  

 

When the State Grant award is disbursed after the first two weeks of a subsequent 

payment period, the enrollment level used to calculate the award and determine 

the number of hours in the payment period must be based on the number of hours 

per week the student actually averaged during the preceding payment period up 

through the date of disbursement for the current payment period. Thus, if a 

student completed four weeks of the current payment period prior to State Grant 

disbursement, the enrollment level used to calculate the award and payment 

period hours would be based on average hours per week from the beginning of the 

preceding payment period through the end of the fourth week of the current 

payment period. 

 

These same rules apply even when a student does not financially qualify for an 

award. 

 

If the student’s average hours per week during the previous payment period 

through the date of disbursement for the current payment period fall below the 

minimum enrollment level (six clock hours per week), the school must delay 

calculation and disbursement of the award for the current payment period until the 

student’s average hours per week for the previous payment period through the 

disbursement date of the current payment period meet or exceed the minimum 

enrollment level of six hours per week, or Level 3. 
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Example of Payment Periods for 1,550 Hour Cosmetology Program 
Academic Year Defined as 1,200 Clock Hours With Two Payment Periods 

 Payment Period 1 Payment Period 2 Payment Period 3 
Disbursement Date First day of 

Payment Period 1 
First day of 
Payment Period 2 

Delayed until first 
day of fourth week 
of Payment Period 3 

Contracted Hours 
per Week 

Full-time 35 hours N/A N/A 

Enrollment Level 
for Payment Period 

Level 15 (based on 
contracted hours) 

Level 12 (based on 
average hours per 
week for Payment 
Period 1) 

Level 14 (based 
on average hours per 
week during 
Payment Period 2 
through third week 
of Payment Period 3) 

Payment Period 
Hours 

600 hours 480 hours  
(600 x 12/15ths) 

560 hours* 
(600 x 14/15ths) 

Number of 
Scheduled Days in 
Period 

125 85 75 

Number of Weeks 
in Period 

125 x .20 = 25 
weeks 

85 x .20 = 17 weeks 75 x .20 = 15 weeks 

Average Hours per 
Week Used for Next 
Period 

600/25 = 24 = 
Level 12 

480/17 = 28 = 
Level 14 

NA 

Total Program 
Hours Completed/ 
Remaining at End 
of Payment Period 

600 completed 
950 remaining 

1,080 completed 
470 remaining 

1,550 completed 
0 remaining 

*State Grant payments for last payment period must be prorated by 470/560 since there are 
  only 470 remaining hours in the student’s program. 

 

(4) When Disbursement is Substantially Delayed 

In cases where the student has attended the institution for a number of months 

prior to disbursement of the State Grant award, the school may have to determine 

the student’s enrollment level for multiple payment periods based on the average 

hours per week to date. For example, if the student started a program in September 

and the initial disbursement was delayed until March, the school would determine 

the student’s average hours per week from September through March and use that 

enrollment level to determine the award and payment period hours for multiple 

payment periods. This same rule applies to students who do not financially qualify 

for an award. 
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Example of Delayed Disbursement at Clock Hour Institution 

Length of Student’s 
Cosmetology Program 

1,550 clock hours 

School’s Definition of Full-Time 
Academic Year and Payment 
Period 

1,200 clock hours split into two full-time 
payment periods of 600 clock hours 

Period of Student’s Enrollment 
Prior to Disbursement 

From September 2006 through February 2007 
student completed 750 clock hours in 25.8 weeks 

Enrollment Status Used to 
Calculate Awards and Payment 
Period 

750 clock hours divided by 25.8 weeks = 29.07 
hours per week = Level 14  

Student’s first payment period 560 hours (600 hours X 14/15ths) 
Student’s second payment 
period 

560 hours (600 hours X 14/15ths) 

Student’s third payment period After student completes 1,120 hours, school will 
average hours per week during the second 
payment period and base third payment period 
and award on that enrollment level 

 

6. Adjusting Payments for Clock Hour Programs When Remaining 
Program Hours Are Less Than The Number of Hours in Payment Period 

If the number of clock hours remaining in the student’s program is less than the number of 

hours in the payment period, the school must first calculate the State Grant award for the 

entire payment period and then prorate the award using the following formula: 

 

 State Grant Award for                 Number of Clock Hours Remaining in Student’s Program 
 Entire Payment Period       X                       Number of Hours in Payment Period  

 

For example, a student is enrolled full-time (averaging 30+ clock hours per week) in a 350 

hour program at a school with an academic year of 1,200 hours split into two payment 

periods. The payment period award would initially be calculated based on costs for a full-

time 600 hour period. However, because there are only 350 hours remaining in the 

student’s program, the award would then be prorated by multiplying the award by 350/600 

clock hours, or by .583. 
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7. Adjusting Payments for Term-Based Clock/Credit Hour Programs 
When Program Length Does Not Correspond to Term Length 

Term-based clock hour schools disburse aid to students based on the amount of time 

that has passed, not the number of clock hours completed. 

 

If the length of a student’s program does not directly correspond to term length, the State 

Grant term award must be adjusted to reflect the length of the program. 

 

In cases where program length directly corresponds to term length, the student may 

receive the standard term payments. For example, if a program consisted of two quarters, 

the student would be eligible for two standard term payments. 

 

In cases where the entire or remaining program length does not directly correspond to term 

length, the State Grant term award for the student’s enrollment level must be prorated 

according to the following formula: 

 

Pro-Rating Term Award for Term Based Clock/Credit Hour Program 
Less Than One Academic Year in Length 

 
a. The number of weeks remaining in the student’s program 
                         The number of weeks in the term  
 
b. Multiply the student’s State Grant term award by the result of (a). 

 

For example, a student is enrolled in a program lasting 18 weeks. The school’s semesters 

are each 15 weeks in length so the student’s award for the second semester would be 

prorated to 3/15, or .20. 

 

8. Adjusting Payments for Leaves of Absence 

A school cannot disburse State Grant funds to a student who is on a leave of absence. (See 

definition in ‘Common Definitions’ chapter.) 
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The hours in a leave of absence are ignored for purposes of averaging hours per week and 

disbursing aid at clock hour schools. For example, if a student is scheduled to receive a 

term payment every 517 hours, the leave of absence hours would be excluded as follows: 

 

 • Student receives check covering 517 hours 
 • After completing only 200 hours, student takes a leave of absence 
 • Payment for second payment period cannot be disbursed until student returns to school and 

completes the remaining 317 hours of the first payment period. 
• When determining the average hours per week the student attended during this payment 

period, the days in the leave of absence are excluded. 

 
 

VIII. DDS Reporting Requirements 

A. General Description of DDS System 

All participating schools are now required to administer the State Grant program on campus 

using the Decentralized Delivery System (DDS). 

 

With DDS, the school is responsible for screening the student’s application using the FAFSA 

record it receives from the FAFSA processor and the Minnesota State Grant program Student 

Eligibility Questionnaire (Appendix 2). Once the school completes the student’s application 

(screens, verifies, resolves conflicting information and C codes), the school then calculates the 

student’s State Grant award using the Shared Responsibility term award calculation (Appendix 

8). The Agency disburses State Grant funds to schools each term to cover anticipated 

payments. The school then notifies the student about his/her State Grant eligibility via the 

financial aid award letter and makes disbursements from its State Grant account to the student 

at the onset of each term. The school reports award and payment activity to the Agency on at 

least a monthly basis throughout the academic year. Any refunds for students who did not 

enroll, withdrew or changed enrollment status are deposited back in the school’s State Grant 

fund, the balance of which must be returned to the Agency at the close of the aid year. The 

deadline for returning funds to the Agency is August 31. 
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B. Requesting State Grant Funds 

Schools must request State Grant funds using the SG web access screen along with submitting 

an up-to-date DDS batch. The Agency can adjust a school’s advance based on previous year 

spending patterns or the sum of term awards in the school’s most recent DDS batch. The 

Agency can also delay a school’s funds disbursement if the school is not meeting the reporting 

schedule deadlines described below. 

 

C. Required Reporting Schedule 

Each school is responsible for submitting a batch containing DDS records for both State Grant 

recipients and no-need students to the Agency on at least a monthly basis. This is to ensure 

that the State Grant database contains current information about awards and payments for the 

fiscal year in question. (See definition of no-need under ‘Selection of Student Records for 

DDS Batches.’) 

 

D. Reporting Deadlines 

Schools must submit their initial DDS batch to the Agency prior to making any disbursements 

in order for the Agency to check for hold data and verify accuracy of awards and payments. 

 

While submitting DDS batches to the Agency on at least a monthly basis, schools must 

incorporate the following reporting deadlines: 

• Schools must submit a DDS batch suitable for production prior to receiving their initial 

funds for the new aid year. For schools who process aid for the leading summer term, the 

initial batch must be submitted in June. For schools with aid years starting with fall term, 

the initial batch must be submitted by August 1. 

• Schools with payments for the leading summer term must submit a batch reflecting 

payment activity by July 15. 

• Fall term payment activity for terms starting in August or September must be reported no 

later than October 1. For fall terms starting in early October, fall term payment activity 

must be reported no later than October 15. 

• Winter quarter payment activity must be reported no later than January 15. 
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• Spring term payment activity for terms starting in January or February must be reported no 

later than March 1. For spring terms starting in March or early April, spring term payment 

activity must be reported no later than April 15. 

• Trailing summer term awards and enrollment levels must be reported as soon as students 

have enrolled for the trailing summer term. Payment activity must be reported by July 1. 

• Schools must submit an error-free final batch to the Agency by August 31 along with a 

refund of all unused funds from that aid year. 

 

Reporting deadlines are also shown in the ‘Calendar of Financial Aid Events and Reporting 

Deadlines’ in the introductory section of the Financial Aid Manual. 

 

E. Selection of Student Records for DDS Batches 

DDS batches should be cumulative and increase in volume throughout the year as more 

students apply and complete their financial aid applications. 

 

Schools must report data for students who meet all the program eligibility requirements such 

as residency (see ‘Comprehensive List of Eligibility Requirements’ in this chapter), have 

completed financial aid applications, will enroll at the school for one or more terms of the aid 

year, and have been evaluated for a State Grant using the Shared Responsibility term award 

calculation (Appendix 8) and found to either be recipients or no-need students. No-need 

students are those who meet all the program eligibility requirements but do not show financial 

need for a State Grant award. It is critical for the Agency to have both recipient and no-need 

records on its database in order to conduct accurate program expenditure projections and 

simulations for proposed changes to the award formula. DDS batch selection criteria are 

illustrated in Appendix 11. 

 

F. The DDS Record Layout 
A description of the DDS Record Layout can be found in Appendix 12. 
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The DDS record contains fields for most of the data elements collected on the student’s 

FAFSA record as well as need analysis results, enrollment level, term award/payment amounts 

and accurate term disbursement dates. 

 

The DDS record is identical for both recipients and no-need students, although the school 

should report zeros for the award and payment fields on the record for no-need students. 

 

G. Reporting Student Enrollment Status on the DDS Record 

When a school first reports a student’s record to the Agency, the school should report an 

assumed full-time enrollment status (15 credits) for the student for all terms of the school’s 

standard academic year (fall through spring terms) unless the school is aware of the student’s 

actual enrollment level for those terms. Term enrollment status for the leading and trailing 

summer terms should not be populated until the student registers for those terms unless the 

school has a reliable means of knowing the student will enroll for either of those terms. 

 

Throughout the course of the school year the school should be updating term enrollment status 

on the DDS record for students who do not enroll or end up enrolling less than full-time. Term 

enrollment status must be updated on both recipient and no-need records. 

 

If a student withdrew or changed enrollment status after the State Grant was disbursed and the 

full amount of the difference in the awards for the initial and revised enrollment levels was not 

required to be returned to the State Grant program, the school should continue to report the 

enrollment level at which the student was initially paid. (See also Appendix 20 for examples.) 

 

H. Methods for Submitting DDS Batches 

Schools should submit batches to the Agency using the SG web access screen. Schools may 

also use an automated SFTP process to transmit DDS batches to the Agency. Schools 

interested in submitting data via SFTP must contact the grant unit to obtain a username, 

password and directory. In either case, the Agency will need to know the name of the school 

sending the batch, the cut-off date for the batch and the balance of funds remaining in the 
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school’s State Grant account on campus. Most schools have designed their reporting software 

to include this information in designated fields on the trailer record for the DDS batch. 

 

I. Reviewing DDS Batch Output Reports 

When the Agency processes a batch of DDS records, it checks to make sure the student does 

not have an eligibility problem by checking for child support holds, SELF default holds, 

overpayment holds and four years of aid holds on its database. It also uses the data on the 

school’s DDS record to calculate the federal need analysis results and the State Grant award. 

The Agency’s calculation results are then compared to the data submitted by the school and 

any discrepancies are noted. If discrepancies are outside the established tolerances, the award 

and payment data for the student is rejected. 

 

Data about eligibility problems, award discrepancies and rejected payments is provided on a 

series of on-line output reports generated for the school after the DDS batch is processed by 

the Agency. Reports can either be viewed on-line or downloaded to the school’s system. 

 

The output reports generated when a DDS batch is processed are the Roster of Rejected 

Awards/Payments (Appendix 16), the Award Error Detail Roster (Appendix 17), the Roster of 

Accepted Payments (Appendix 18) and the Reconciliation Report (Appendix 19). 

 

The school is responsible for reviewing DDS batch output reports and resolving errors prior to 

the school reporting its next DDS batch. The school should refer to the appropriate appendices 

for detailed instructions on reviewing these reports and resolving errors. 

 

IX. Refund Process 

A. General Information and Deadlines 

All refunds should be for an even dollar amount with cents rounded to the nearest dollar. 

 

Any refunds of student State Grant payments must be returned to the school’s State Grant 

account on campus for the given aid year regardless of the dollar amount of the refund. 

Schools are responsible for calculating the amount of student refunds within a reasonable 
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amount of time and returning funds to the State Grant account in a timely manner. Any 

remaining balance in the account must be returned to the Agency by the end of year deadline 

for the DDS system or within 10 working days of a written request from the Agency. Failure 

to meet this deadline will result in the Agency delaying funds advances for the next academic 

year. After the school has returned the end of year account balance to the Agency, any student 

refunds discovered after that point should be sent directly to the Agency along with the Refund 

Return Form (Appendix 22) noting a detailed reason for the refund. 

 

B. Refunds for Students Who Do Not Attend 

If a student fails to attend any classes for a term or payment period, any State Grant funds 

disbursed to the student or credited to the student’s account must be fully refunded to the 

school’s State Grant account on campus. 

 

C. Calculating Refunds for Students Who Change Enrollment 
Level or Withdraw After State Grant Disbursement  
If, according to the refund policy the school is required to use, there is a refund of institutional 

charges for a student who withdrew from school or had a change in enrollment, all or a portion 

of that student’s refund may be due to the State Grant program. (See ‘Common Definitions’ 

chapter for a definition of “Withdrawal Date.”) 

 

Each institution is responsible for refunds of unused institutional charges when a student 

changes enrollment status or withdraws from school. 

 

The appropriate Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet or spreadsheet 

(Appendix 13) or similar form must be used to document the calculation of refunds to the 

State Grant program. The appropriate worksheet is for the school’s use and is not intended to 

be sent to the Agency. This worksheet is also available in spreadsheet format on the Agency’s 

web page at: http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=1538.  

 

The school is not required to complete the OHE Refund Calculation Worksheet/Spreadsheet if 

there is no refund of institutional charges. However, the school must make a notation that the 
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financial aid administrator reviewed the withdrawal and determined there would be no refund 

of institutional charges. 

 

1. Change in Enrollment Level 
a. Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools 

If, according to the policies described under ‘Adjustments to Awards Based on 

Change in Enrollment Level,’ the school is required to complete the Agency’s Refund 

Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13c) or spreadsheet for students who withdrew 

from a class but were still enrolled for three or more credits for the term, the amount 

of the refund due the State Grant program will be the lesser of: the difference between 

the State Grant term award for the original and current enrollment level or a 

proportional amount of the school’s refund of institutional charges based on the refund 

policy the school is required to use. If there is no refund of institutional charges based 

on the institution’s refund policy, the school is not required to return funds to the State 

Grant program or complete the OHE Refund Calculation Worksheet/Spreadsheet. 

However, the school must make a notation that the financial aid administrator 

reviewed the withdrawal and determined there would be no refund of institutional 

charges.  

 

The following example illustrates the difference between a case where the Agency’s 

Refund Calculation Worksheet or spreadsheet would be used (Case A) and a case of 

award recalculation (Case B) which, while requiring a refund, does not necessitate use 

of the Agency’s Refund Calculation Worksheet. (The Refund Calculation Worksheet 

is used when a student attends and then withdraws from a class or classes before the 

school’s award adjustment end date. Recalculation of the award occurs when a student 

drops a class or classes without having attended the class.)  
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Example of Adjustments to Award Due to Reduced Enrollment 

State Grant 
Term Awards 

Refund 
Case A 

Recalculation 
Case B 

Level 15 $800 
Level 14 $746 
Level 13 $694 
Level 12 $640 
Level 11 $586 
Level 10 $534 

 Level 9   $480 
 Level 8   $426 
 Level 7   $374 
 Level 6   $320 
 Level 5   $300 
 Level 4   $287 
 Level 3   $250 

The student initially received a 
Level 15 State Grant of $800 for 
fall quarter after starting classes. 
The student then withdrew from a 
two-credit class the student had 
attended before the school’s award 
adjustment end date and the 
enrollment status changed to Level 
13. The difference between Level 
15 and Level 13 term awards is 
$106. Therefore, up to $106 of the 
refund is due the State Grant 
program. The school’s refund 
calculation (Appendix 13c) results 
in a refund to the State Grant 
program of $90. 
 
Therefore, only $90 would be 
returned to the State Grant program. 
The school would not have to bill 
the student for the remainder. 
 
The school would continue to report 
15 credits for the student’s term 
enrollment level on the State Grant 
DDS record. 

The student initially received a 
Level 15 State Grant of $800 for 
fall quarter but did not begin a 
two-credit course and dropped 
those two credits, resulting in an 
enrollment status change to 
Level 13. The State Grant must 
be recalculated and the difference 
between Level 15 and Level 13 
term awards ($106) must be 
returned to the State Grant 
program. 
 
The school would report 13 
credits for the student’s term 
enrollment level on the State 
Grant DDS record. 

 
 

b. Non Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools 

Non term-based credit-hour schools that combine sequential course modules into a 

term are not subject to refund calculations for partial withdrawals. Since courses are 

offered sequentially, student withdrawals are subject to refunds for total withdrawals 

and/or refunds for award recalculations. (See ‘Enrollment Level at Non Term-Based 

Credit-Hour Schools,’ ‘Adjustment of Awards for Students Attending Non Term-

Based Credit-Hour Schools’ and ‘Total Withdrawal – Non Term-Based Credit-Hour 

Schools’ sections in this manual for further guidance.) 
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2. Total Withdrawal 
 a. Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools 

This policy refers to students who withdraw from school (or below three credits) after 

attending classes. If a student withdraws without attending classes, the State Grant 

term award must be recalculated to zero and the State Grant term award disbursement 

must be returned to the State Grant program. This also applies if the student attends 

classes but is granted a withdrawal date retroactively to the first day of the term. (See 

‘Backdated Withdrawal Date’ in this section.) 

 

Schools should refer to the definition of “withdrawal date” contained in the ‘Common 

Definitions’ chapter of this manual to determine the date of withdrawal. If the refund 

policy the school is required to use results in a refund of institutional charges and, 

after the institution’s share of any required refund to Title IV programs has been 

refunded (Unearned Title IV Aid Due from the School, Step 5.O. of Title IV Refund 

Worksheet), a proportional share of any remaining refund (Line E of Office of Higher 

Education Refund Calculation Worksheet or spreadsheet), not to exceed the amount of 

the State Grant payment the student initially received for the term (if the school 

charges by the term) or aid year (if the school charges upfront for the entire program), 

must be returned to the State Grant program. Schools should use the appropriate 

Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13) for a full 

withdrawal to calculate the amount of funds to return to state financial aid programs. 

The worksheet is also available in spreadsheet format on the Agency’s web site at: 

http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=1538.  

 

The school is not required to complete the OHE Refund Calculation 

Worksheet/Spreadsheet if there is no refund of institutional charges. However, the 

school must make a notation that the financial aid administrator reviewed the 

withdrawal and determined there would be no refund of institutional charges. 

 

If a school disburses a State Grant to a student who is later determined to have a 

withdrawal date set prior to the disbursement and there is a refund of institutional 
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charges, the school must complete the appropriate OHE Refund Calculation 

Worksheet (Appendix 13) or spreadsheet to determine if a refund is due the State 

Grant program. This can occur in cases where a school is not required to take 

attendance and becomes aware of the withdrawal after the date of disbursement. 

 

On Line A of the Refund Calculation Worksheet/spreadsheet, the school would enter 

the total amount of all (federal, state, institutional, private) financial aid and cash 

received to date for the term or payment period (if the school charges by the term or 

payment period) or program (if the school charges upfront for the entire program), not 

to exceed the amount of the original institutional charges. In other words, if a student 

received $4,000 in financial aid and the original institutional charges were only 

$3,500, the excess $500 disbursed to the student for non-institutional expenses would 

not be reported on Line A. 

 

For schools charging upfront for the entire program, all financial aid and cash received 

to date for the program (which might include aid disbursements to the student for 

living expenses) is reported on Line A but is then capped at the amount of the original 

institutional charge for the program. (See example on second tab of OHE Refund 

Calculation Spreadsheet for schools charging by program.) 

 

On Line B of the refund worksheet, the school would report the amount of 

institutional charges it is allowed to retain for the term or payment period (if the 

school charges by term or payment period) or program (if the school charges upfront 

for the entire program) per its institutional or state-mandated refund policy. Most 

schools rely on their institutional or accrediting agency’s refund policy, but certain 

proprietary schools are required to use a state-mandated policy, such as cosmetology 

schools (Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners) and for-profit institutions not 

offering degrees. 

 

In the case where a school is first performing an award recalculation prior to a refund 

for a total withdrawal, the amounts on lines A and B should only include amounts for 
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the revised enrollment level. For example, if the school disbursed a Level 15 State 

Grant to a student who first dropped or withdrew from a three-credit class without 

attending the class, and later fully withdrew from school, the school would first refund 

the difference between the Level 15 and Level 12 State Grants and then perform the 

total withdrawal refund calculation using the Level 12 State Grant amount. 

 

Line C of the refund worksheet is the gross refund calculated by subtracting Line B 

from Line A. If the amount on Line C is not greater than zero, there is no refund 

required for state financial aid programs. If Line C is greater than zero, the school 

would report the amount of the school’s share of any required refund to federal 

financial aid programs on Line D (from Step 5.O. of the federal refund worksheet), 

with Line E representing Line C minus Line D. 

 

If the amount on Line E is not greater than zero, no refund to state financial aid 

programs is required. If the amount on Line E is greater than zero, it must be 

distributed on a proportional basis to non-Title IV aid programs requiring refunds, not 

to exceed the actual amount the student received from each program. All Minnesota 

aid programs (excluding State Work Study) from which the student received funds 

must receive their proportional share of the remaining refund before the student may 

receive any portion of the amount listed on Line E. 

 

To determine the proportional share of the refund due each non-federal financial aid 

program, the school would first list all non-federal financial aid programs in Part Two 

of the Refund Calculation Worksheet (Title IV aid, State Work Study earnings, and 

payments made by the student should not be included) that require a portion of any 

refund of institutional charges. For non-Title IV loans disbursed by institutions that 

charge by the term or payment period, use the total loan divided by the number of 

attendance periods in the loan period. Institutional aid may also be included if the 

program requires a refund upon withdrawal. Once the amount of the total non-Title IV 

aid package is known, divide the student’s State Grant by the amount of the term’s 

total non-Title IV aid package to determine what percentage of the total non-Title IV 
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aid package is comprised of State Grant funds. In cases where the original State Grant 

payment is first recalculated to exclude credits for a course the student didn’t attend, if 

the student subsequently withdraws from school, the revised (i.e., recalculated) State 

Grant should be listed in Part Two of the Refund Calculation Worksheet. The same 

would apply to the other state financial aid programs listed in Part Two of the 

worksheet. 

 

 Example of Proportional Distribution of Refund to Non-Federal Aid Programs 
Institution Charges by Term 

 
Non-Title IV Aid Package for Fall Term 
State Grant   $1,000 (23.8%) 
SELF Loan      $2,000 (47.6%) 
YMCA Scholarship $   800 (19.1%) 
Inst Scholarship  $   400 (  9.5%) 
TOTAL   $4,200 
 
Case A 
Refund of institutional charges = $1,000 
Remaining refund after subtracting institutional share of Title IV refund = $700 
Amount of remaining refund due State Grant = $700 x .238 = $166.60 = $167 
Amount of remaining refund due SELF Loan = $700 x .476 = $333.20 = $333 
 
Case B 
Refund of institutional charges = $6,000 
Remaining refund after subtracting institutional share of Title IV refund = $5,700 
$5,700 x .238 = $1,357 which exceeds State Grant term award of $1,000 
$1,000 would be refunded to State Grant 
$5,700 x .476 = $2,713 which exceeds SELF Loan term award of $2,000 
$2,000 would be refunded to SELF Loan 

 
   
   b. Non Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools 

When a student withdraws from a non term-based credit-hour school, the point of 

withdrawal will determine whether the school must perform an award recalculation or 

total withdrawal refund, or both. In general, if a student withdraws between a 

completed course and the next course, an award recalculation is performed. If a 

student withdraws during the last course of the term after beginning attendance in that 

course, the school would perform a refund for a total withdrawal using the appropriate 

OHE Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13) or spreadsheet if there is a refund 

of institutional charges. If a student withdraws during a course, and there are 
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remaining courses in the term that will not be attended, the school must first 

recalculate the State Grant award to exclude credits for the remaining courses, and 

then perform a total withdrawal refund using the appropriate OHE Refund Calculation 

Worksheet (Appendix 13) or spreadsheet listing the State Grant award amount for the 

classes the student did attend during the term if there is a refund of institutional 

charges. For further guidance, see sections ‘Enrollment Level at Non Term-Based 

Credit-Hour Schools’ and ‘Adjustment of Awards for Students Attending Non Term-

Based Credit-Hour Schools’ in this manual. 

 
 (1) Post-Withdrawal Disbursement for Returning Students  
  at Non Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools 

If a student at a non term-based credit-hour school withdraws from school and 

subsequently reenrolls in the same program during the same aid year, any refunds 

for award recalculations and withdrawals can be reversed and the original term 

award reinstated, provided the student still meets all program eligibility 

requirements. The length of the term would typically be extended and the 

student’s enrollment level increased to compensate for the additional class. If the 

student reenrolls in the next aid year, different guidelines apply. For further 

guidance on both of these scenarios, refer to the sections on ‘Enrollment Level at 

Non Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools,’ ‘Adjustment of Awards for Students 

Attending Non Term-Based Credit-Hour Schools,’ and ‘Awards for Summer or 

Non-Standard Terms’ in this manual. 

 

   c. Progressive Clock Hour Schools 

This policy refers to students who withdraw from school (or below six clock hours per 

week) after attending classes. If a student withdraws without attending classes, the 

State Grant award must be recalculated to zero and funds must be returned to the State 

Grant program. 

 

If a student withdraws and the refund policy used by the school results in a refund of 

institutional charges, after the institution’s share of any required refund to Title IV 

programs has been refunded (Unearned Title IV Aid Due from the School, Step 5.O. 
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of Title IV Refund Worksheet), a proportional share of the remaining refund must be 

returned to the State Grant program. The proportional share is based on a percentage 

determined by dividing the amount of State Grant funds received by the total 

non-Title IV aid received. 

 

Once the percentage is calculated, the refund remaining (Line E of the Office of 

Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet) after federal aid programs have 

been repaid is multiplied by the percentage and the result, not to exceed the amount of 

the State Grant payment the student initially received for the State Grant program 

payment period (if school charges by the payment period) or aid year (if school 

charges upfront for the entire program), is returned to the State Grant program. 

 

For progressive clock hour schools with institutional refund policies based on the 

amount of institutional charges that can be retained for a payment period, lines A and 

B on Part One of the OHE Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13a) should be 

based on the funds received and charges retained for the payment period. Otherwise, 

schools charging upfront for the entire program should use the OHE Refund 

Calculation Worksheet, Appendix 13b, with lines A and B representing the funds 

received and charges retained for the entire program. (See second tab of OHE Refund 

Calculation Spreadsheet for schools charging upfront for program.) 

 

Determining the percentage of the payment period financial aid package covered by 

the State Grant can be difficult because the payment period used for State Grant may 

be different from the payment period used for other non-Title IV financial aid 

programs. For purposes of calculating what percentage of the total payment period 

non-Title IV aid package is comprised of State Grant funds, an hourly rate must be 

calculated. Divide the State Grant payment for the payment period by the number of 

hours in the State Grant payment period to determine the amount of State Grant per 

clock hour. Divide any other non-Title IV aid by the number of hours in the award 

period, which may consist of more hours than a payment period, as shown in the chart 

that follows. 
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Example of Refund Distribution at Clock Hour Institution 
Where Refund Period Based on Payment Period 

 
Academic year = 900 hours (450 Clock Hours in Level 15 Semester Payment Period) 
 
State Grant Level 14 Payment $   500 
State Grant Level 14 Payment Period      420 clock hours = $1.19 (26.3%) 
 
SELF Loan             $2,000 
SELF Loan Award Period      900 clock hours = $2.22 (49.1%) 
 
Institutional Scholarship $1,000 
Scholarship Award Period      900 clock hours = $1.11 (24.6%) 

                                   $4.52 (100%) 
                                                                                                      Total Non-Title IV 
                                                                                                      Aid Per Clock Hour 
Total Refund of Institutional Charges    $1,500 
Institutional Share of Title IV Refund   -    767 
Remaining Refund   $   733 
 
$733 x 26.3% = $193 State Grant Portion of Remaining Refund 
$733 x 49.1% = $360 SELF Loan Portion of Remaining Refund 
$733 x 24.6% = $180 Institutional Scholarship Portion of Remaining Refund 

 
 (1) Post-Withdrawal Disbursement for Returning 

 Students at Progressive Clock Hour Schools 

If a student attending a progressive clock hour school withdraws from school but 

re-enrolls at the school within 180 days of the withdrawal date, the student is 

eligible to receive a State Grant for the payment period during which the student 

withdrew. The school may not impose additional fees for the student to re-enroll 

or require the student to re-enroll in the same program. If the school performed a 

refund calculation for the withdrawal, the school may reverse the refunds to 

financial aid programs as if the student never withdrew. In these cases, the State 

Grant award is not revised from the award amount at the time of the initial 

disbursement. If the State Grant for the payment period was not disbursed prior to 

the withdrawal, it can be disbursed after the student re-enrolls based on the 

student’s enrollment level from the beginning of the previous payment period to 

the current date of disbursement. For students who re-enroll in this manner, the 

State Grant award for the next payment period cannot be disbursed until the 

student completes the hours in the payment period during which the student 

withdrew. 
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If a student attending a progressive clock hour school withdraws from school but 

re-enrolls at the same school more than 180 days after the withdrawal date, the 

timing of the next State Grant disbursement to the student will be based on the 

terms of the contract under which the student re-enrolls. If the student re-enrolls 

under the previous contract without incurring additional charges, the school may 

not disburse additional State Grant funds to the student until the hours in the 

payment period during which the student withdrew have been completed. If the 

student re-enrolls under a new contract subject to additional charges, the student is 

eligible to receive a State Grant disbursement at the onset of the new period of 

enrollment as would any other new or transfer student. When students re-enroll 

more than 180 days after the date of withdrawal, any refunds to state financial aid 

programs for the student’s withdrawal cannot be reversed. 

 

3. Total Withdrawal When School’s Mandatory Refund Policy 
Applies to Program Length 

If the institutional refund policy the school is required to use applies to charges assessed 

and retained for the student’s entire program as opposed to a term or payment period, 

Line A in Part One of the Refund Calculation Worksheet (Appendix 13b) or spreadsheet 

should reflect all financial aid and cash received to date for the aid year, not to exceed the 

amount of total institutional charges. This includes any cash disbursements to students for 

living expenses during the course of the program. (See example on next page.) Line B of 

the worksheet should reflect the amount of institutional charges the institution is allowed 

to retain for the student’s program. Part Two of the worksheet should reflect non-Title IV 

financial aid disbursed to date for the entire program. 
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Last Revised March 3, 2015  

Student Name: SSN:

Did student totally withdraw? Yes 9/15/2015

PART I - DETERMINING AMOUNT OF NET REFUND

A.  Amount of financial aid and cash received to date for the entire program, including any funds disbursed to the student for living
expenses and and any post-withdrawal disbursements of Title IV financial aid and funds disbursed to the student for living expenses.
Exclude federal or state work study funds. If funds received to date for the program exceed the original institutional charges* for the 
program, cap Line A at the amount of the original institutional charges for the program. Include cents.

 

A $15,010.00

B.  Amount of original institutional charges for the program the school can retain per its institutional
 or state-mandated refund policy. B $13,600.00

C.  GROSS REFUND
C $1,410.00

GO to D!

D.  Amount of institutional share of any required refund for Title IV financial aid programs from Step 5, Box O of
Return of Title IV Funds Refund Worksheet.  If there is no refund required for Title IV programs, enter 0. D $500.00

E.  NET REFUND  

E $910.00
GO to Part II 

Below!

*The state adopts the definition of institutional charges used for federal Title IV aid programs under 484B of the Higher Education Act of 1965 as amended, 

and 34 CFR 668.22.

PART II - DETERMINING PROPORTIONAL SHARE OF NET REFUND FOR DISTRIBUTION TO NON-TITLE IV AID PROGRAMS

List all non-Title IV financial aid received to date during the student's program and for the current aid year including any funds
disbursed to the student for living expenses. Include only programs requiring refunds when a student withdraws from school which 
can include institutional and private scholarships or other forms of non-Title IV aid. Do NOT include work study awards.

Amount Amount  Final
Disbursed Disbursed % of Share of Amount of
During  Current Non-Title IV Box E Refund Due

Program Name Program Aid Year Package Refund Program
1 State Grant $1,767 $900 19.1% $173.52 $173.52
2 $0 $0 0.0% $0.00 $0.00
3 $0 $0 0.0% $0.00 $0.00
4 $5,500 $2,750 59.4% $540.09 $540.09
5 $0 $0 0.0% $0.00 $0.00
6 MN GI Bill $0 $0 0.0% $0.00 $0.00
7 School Scholarship $2,000 $1,000 21.6% $196.40 $196.40
8 0.0% $0.00 $0.00
9 0.0% $0.00 $0.00
10 0.0% $0.00 $0.00

TOTAL  $9,267 $4,650 100.0% $910.00 $910.00

** The SELF loan program should only be included if the student totally withdrew from school or a dropped below half-time status.
*** These programs should only be included if the student totally withdrew from school.

MN Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Spreadsheet                                                       
for Use by Schools Charging Upfront for Program                                                                                                                

EXAMPLE

TO RESET SPREADSHEET, PRESS CTRL+SHIFT+Z
This form should be used to calculate refunds for all state financial aid programs when a student completely withdraws from school 
or, for the MN State Grant and SELF Loan programs, if the student drops below minimum enrollment level for those programs. This 
form should only be used by schools charging students upfront for the entire program and whose refund policies are based on the 
percentage of the program completed.  (Note: Refunds are never required for the State Work Study program.)

Mary Student

SELF Loan
MN Indian Scholarship

111-22-3333

Date of withdrawal/enrollment change:

Child Care Grant
Safety Officer's Survivor Grant

This represents the net refund that will be proportionally distributed 
to non-Title IV programs requiring refunds upon withdrawal.  If this 
amount is negative or zero, there will be no refund due to state 
financial aid programs.

Amount refunded to Title IV does not represent actual R2T4 policy 
and is used only to illustrate an example.

This is the gross refund.  If the result were negative or zero, there 
would be no refund due to state financial aid programs.

This represents the amount of original program charges the school 
can retain per its institutional or state-mandated refund policy.

Represents the amount of financial aid and cash received for the 
entire program (including any funds disbursed directly to the student 
for living expenses), but capped at the amount of original program 
charges.

Amounts in green column represent the lesser of the proportional 
Share of Box E Refund or the Amount Disbursed Current Aid Year. 

 Payment Period 1 
Hours 1 – 450 
Summer 2015 
2014-2015 Aid Year 

Payment Period 2 
Hours 451 – 900 
Fall 2015 
2015-2016 Aid Year 

Original Institutional Charges for 
Program 
 

$18,000 Tuition 
$  1,000  Kit 
$19,000 

 

Federal Pell Grant $  2,865 $  2,888 
MN State Grant $     857 $     900 
SELF Loan $  2,750 $  2,750 
Cash Paid by Student $          0 $         0 
School Scholarship $  1,000 $  1,000 
Total Financial Aid and Cash 
Received 

$  7,472 $  7,538 

Charges Allocated to Payment 
Period 

$  5,226 tuition* 
$  1,000 kit 
$  6,226 
*$18,000/1550 hours x 450 hours 

$  5,226 tuition* 
 
 
*$18,000/1550 hours x 450 hours 

Amount Disbursed to Student for 
Living Costs 

$   1,246  ($7,472 - $6,226) $  2,312 ($7,538 - $5,226) 

Student withdrew at hour 600, completing 38.7 percent of total 1550 program hours. Per state 
cosmetology refund policy, school can retain 70 percent of program tuition charges ($18,000 X .70 
= $12,600), plus $1,000 for kit. 
 



 
FINANCIAL AID MANUAL 

 
NUMBER 

Section I 

 
PAGE 
112 

 
SECTION 
 State Grant Program 

 
DATE 

July 2016 

 
 

4. Backdated Withdrawal Date 

A student who withdraws from a class or classes and is granted a retroactive withdrawal 

date back to the start date of the term will be treated as if the student never attended the 

class or classes. The award must be recalculated to exclude credits granted a retroactive 

withdrawal and the overpayment returned to the State Grant program. 

 

5. Award Adjustment and Refunds for All Non-Passing Grades 
If a student receives a non-passing grade in all classes taken during the term, the 

applicable federal financial aid guidelines requiring schools to document attendance in 

these cases also apply to the Minnesota State Grant program. If the school determines that 

the student never attended a class or classes, the State Grant award for the term must be 

recalculated to exclude the credits for the classes the student never attended and any 

overpayment refunded to the State Grant program prior to any refund taking place for 

other classes the student did attend but did not complete. 

 

For example, a student enrolls and receives a State Grant disbursement for 15 credits at the 

onset of the term. The student then receives a grade of F in all courses for the term. The 

school determines the student never attended one 3-credit class, did attend and complete 

three 3-credit classes and did attend but stopped attending another 3-credit class. In this 

case, a refund would not be required for the Pell Grant program since the student attended 

at least one class that extended the length of the term and, therefore, earned the F grade. 

However, for Minnesota State Grant, the award must first be recalculated to exclude the 

3-credit class the student never attended with any overpayment refunded to the program. If 

the unofficial withdrawal for the 3-credit class the student stopped attending took place 

prior to the school’s award adjustment end date, the school must perform a partial 

withdrawal refund for the Level 12 State Grant using the Refund Calculation Worksheet 

(Appendix 13c) or spreadsheet unless there is no refund of institutional charges. 

 

The state does not impose any stricter requirements upon schools to document attendance 

in these cases beyond those already in place for federal financial aid programs. In other 

words, if the school first documents the student did attend at least one class offered over 
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the entire term or payment period and is, therefore, eligible for the Federal Pell Grant, the 

state does not require the school to document attendance in all classes for the term.  

 

6. Withdrawal for Military Service or Service-Related Medical Condition 

When a student must withdraw from school for military service, the standard refund policy 

for withdrawals is used. However, state law provides special options for students whose 

postsecondary education at a Minnesota school is affected due to military service or a 

service-related disability. The applicable law can be accessed at www.leg.state.mn.us by 

retrieving Statute 192.502. 

 

7. Refunds for Overpayments 

If a revision to the student’s State Grant award for the current aid year results in an 

overpayment, the overpayment must be returned to the school’s State Grant account for 

the current aid year. In cases where the cause of an overpayment may affect State Grant 

eligibility for previous aid years, the school is required to review the student’s records for 

the three most recent previous aid years and return any overpayments to the Office using 

the Refund Return Form (Appendix 22). However, in cases where an auditor or school 

suspects fraudulent activity, student records must be reviewed for all previous aid years 

for which they are available and any resulting overpayments must be returned to the 

Office. 

 

In cases where the school receives new information that would affect the student’s need 

analysis result for prior aid year, the school is not required to make a correction if the 

federal processing system is no longer operational for the prior aid year.  

 

X. Accounting and Audit Requirements 

A. General 
Each institution must designate an employee(s) as the institutional representative to perform or 

supervise all financial and accounting activities related to the Minnesota State Grant program. 

Auditors from the Office of Higher Education will periodically visit each participating school 

to perform an audit. Schools have the option of hiring a private auditing firm to conduct the 
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audit of state aid programs in conjunction with an audit of federal financial aid programs. (See 

also ‘Audits’ under ‘Common Definitions’ chapter for criteria for hiring an independent 

auditing firm.) 

 

Each participating school must establish a procedure by which an audit can be conducted by 

going to no more than three administrative offices within the school. In most cases, these will 

be the financial aid office, the business office and the registrar’s office, but that choice is made 

by the school. 

 

The school must make available all pertinent books, documents, papers and records for audit 

and examination for three years after the last day of a fiscal year or until all audit exceptions 

for the period are resolved. 

 

Upon request by the school, the Agency will supply an updated State Grant program audit 

guide. 

 

B. Documentation of Student Eligibility 

All schools must have written documentation that the student meets all of the program 

eligibility requirements described in the ‘Student Eligibility’ section in this chapter. 

 

With respect to written documentation of enrollment status, the actual documentation, such as 

a fee statement or transcript, need not be kept at the financial aid office but must be readily 

available at the registrar’s office or other responsible department within the school. 

 

C. Documentation of State Grant Receipts, 
Disbursements and Refunds 

1. General Ledger 

All schools must maintain an audit trail in the form of a general ledger (see Appendix 14 

for example) by state fiscal year that tracks the following transactions: 

• the date and amount of State Grant funds sent by the Agency to the institution; 
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• the date and amount of State Grant funds disbursed by the institution to students. The 

institution should keep supporting documentation for disbursement entries that 

identifies the amount of State Grant funds disbursed to the student by check or 

deposited in the student’s institutional or bank account by student name and ID 

number. The institution must reconcile financial aid records to business office records 

regarding the amount of State Grant paid to each student;  

• the date and amount of State Grant refunds or repayments from students deposited 

back into the institution’s State Grant account on campus. The institution should keep 

supporting documentation for refund entries that identifies the amount of State Grant 

funds deposited back into the institution’s State Grant account for each student by 

student name and ID number. The school must also keep a copy of the refund 

calculation worksheet, or the school’s facsimile, used to calculate the State Grant 

refund; and 

• the date and amount of State Grant funds returned to the Agency by the institution at 

the end of each fiscal year. 

 

D. Reconciliation 

1. Reconciling State Grant Disbursement Records 

At the end of each state fiscal year, the financial aid office must reconcile its record of 

State Grant disbursements with: 

• the Agency’s records of State Grant disbursements, and 

• the college business office’s records of State Grant disbursements. 

 

The financial aid office must verify that financial aid records reflect the same 

disbursement amount for each student as the business office and the Agency. This process 

includes, but is not always limited to, the following steps: 

 

STEP 1. The institution selects their official record of State Grant disbursements. This 

must be the record used to submit batches to the Agency and can be 

maintained by the financial aid office or the business office. 
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STEP 2. The institution determines that its official record and the Agency records 

agree by verifying: 

• all disbursements of State Grant funds have been submitted to the 

Agency, 

• that there are no outstanding rejected payments, and 

• the total amounts disbursed by the institution and the total amount of 

payments accepted by the Agency agree. 

 

[Note: If the institution is not able to transmit payment data to the Agency due to 

software errors, the Agency will not grant the school credit for those payments.] 

 

STEP 3. The institution determines that the records of the business office and the 

financial aid office are in agreement. If appropriate, any differences should be 

corrected by adjusting the non-official State Grant disbursement record. If the 

school needs to adjust its official record, the institution must repeat Step 2. 

 

The student must be eligible to receive any increased award payments made to him or her 

as part of the reconciliation process. 

 

This part of the reconciliation must establish that: 

• the business office and the financial aid office recorded the same total disbursements, 

and 

• for each student, the business office and the financial aid office recorded the same 

disbursements. 

 

2. Reconciliation Summary Report 
Reconciliation between the school and the Agency occurs each time the school submits a 

batch of student records reflecting payments to date. The Reconciliation Summary Report 

generated during batch processing reflects the amount of funds advanced to the school, the 

amount of payments in the current batch accepted by the Agency, and the remaining 
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balance due the Agency at the end of the academic year. (See Appendix 19 for further 

information about this report.) 

 

3. Return of Excess Funds 

The school must return all excess funds to the Agency no later than August 31. Schools 

must also honor any requests for return of excess cash balances sent by the Agency 

throughout the aid year and return the requested amount within 10 days of receiving the 

request.  

 

E. Utilization of State Grant Fund Interest Earnings 

Schools are allowed to utilize any interest earnings on State Grant funds advanced to the 

institution to offset administrative costs incurred by the financial aid office from administering 

the State Grant program on a decentralized basis.  

 

F. Prohibition Against Charging Student Fees 

The school shall not, under any circumstances, collect from State Grant applicants or 

recipients any special fees for charges to directly cover the cost of administering the State 

Grant program. 

 

G. Student Account Requirement 
A school must maintain a student account for each student. The school must provide the 

student with an itemized statement of the account at least annually and upon termination of 

enrollment. (See also ‘Student Authorization’ under ‘Disbursement Process’ section of this 

chapter.) 

 

H. Summary of State Audit Requirements: Institutional 
Documentation for the Minnesota State Grant Program 

At a minimum, each school must be able to produce the following for auditors: 

 1. individual student financial aid files for State Grant recipients; 

 2. documentation that students meet program eligibility requirements as outlined under 

‘Student Eligibility’ in this chapter; 
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 3. documentation of the need analysis results used to calculate the student’s State Grant 

award; 

 4. documentation of the student’s enrollment level at the time of State Grant disbursement; 

 5. documentation of the disbursement dates of payments to individual award recipients; 

 6. written documentation of refund calculations for individual award recipients (e.g., copy of 

Refund Calculation Worksheet or Spreadsheet (Appendix 13)) or, in cases where there is 

no refund of institutional charges, this may be a notation in the student’s file; 

 7. written documentation of individual student refund amounts and the date these State Grant 

funds were returned to the school’s State Grant account; 

 8. written definition of “satisfactory academic progress” and a policy which conforms to both 

federal and state requirements; 

 9. written definitions of “full-time student,” “three-quarter time student,” “half-time student,” 

and “less than half-time student” for purposes of Federal Title IV programs;  

 10. documentation of the unusual circumstances requiring a professional judgment change of 

dependency status or adjustment of EFC or cost of attendance; and 

 11. for private schools not participating in the Federal Pell Grant program, a signed student 

disclosure statement (Appendix 23) for all enrolled students. 
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Index 

academic year 
clock hour schools, 88 
definition of, 57 

account balances, 83 

adjusting payments based on change in enrollment level, 64 

adjusting payments based on enrollment status, 86 

adjusting payments for F grades, 74 

adjusting payments for modular credit-hour schools, 70 

advances, 75, 96 

application deadlines, 6 

application fees, 117 

application process, 2 
conflicting information, 4 

auditing requirements 
documentation of State Grant funds, 114 
documentation of student eligibility, 114 
general, 113 
general ledger, 114 
reconciliation, 115 
summary of, 117 

average tuition and fees, 49 

award 
overpayment, 63 
recalculation of, 62, 64 

Award Advisory Roster, 59 

award calculation, 45 
attending multiple schools, 52, 58 
non-standard term, 60 
summer term, 60 

award notification, 59, 85 

award revisions, 62 

awards 
proration at clock hour schools, 93 

budget, State Grant, 45 
attending multiple schools, 52 
LME, 46 
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student share, 54 
tuition and fees, 46 

Centralized Delivery System, 1 

child support arrears, 25 

citizenship requirement, 11 

CLEP credits, 17 

clock hour schools 
payment period, 78 
payment periods, 87 
proration, 93 

concortium agreement, 82 

consortium agreement, 26 

correcting applications, 3 

correction deadlines, 7 

crossover terms, 60 

DDS record layout, 97 

deadline 
for corrections, 7 
for original application, 6 

Decentralized Delivery System, 1 
batch selection, 97 
batch submission, 98 
funds advances, 96 
general description, 95 
output reports, 99 
record layout, 97 
reporting deadlines, 96 
reporting enrollment status, 98 
reporting requirements, 96 

default, 24 

disbursement, 75 
clock hour schools, 87 
crediting student accounts, 81 
disbursement date, 77 
disbursing checks, 80 
electronic funds transfer, 81 
funds advances, 96 
incarcerated students, 82 
late disbursement, 78 



 
FINANCIAL AID MANUAL 

 
NUMBER 

Section I 

 
PAGE 
121 

 
SECTION 
 State Grant Program 

 
DATE 

July 2016 

 
 

mailing checks, 80 
payment periods, 77 
retroactive disbursement, 78 
student account balances, 83 
student authorization, 84 
when schools may disburs funds, 76 

electronic funds transfer, 81 

eligibility certification, 85 

eligibility monitoring, 43, 45 

eligibility reinstatement, 44 

eligibility requirements, 11 

eligible non-citizen, 11 

enrollment status 
adjusting awards due to change in, 27, 101 
adjusting payments based on, 86 
attending two schools for same term, 33 
clock hour schools, 89 
clock hours, 27 
consortium agreement, 26 
credit hours, 27 
interim terms, 35 
non-standard terms, 36 
remedial course work, 16, 32 
reporting on DDS record, 98 

Expected Family Contribution, 56 

FAFSA, 2 

Federal Pell Grant, 56 

foreign course work, 16, 82 

four years of postsecondary education 
clock hour transcripts, 21 
exclusions, 16 
inability to obtain transcripts, 20 
interim terms, 19 
maximum units, 13 
Pell Grant Lifetime Eligibility Used (LEU), 23 
postsecondary enrollment options, 17 
reviewing transcripts, 15 
units, 12, 13, 18 

funds advances, 75, 96 

good standing, 37 
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home school, 34 

incarcerated students, 46, 82 

Initial Eligibility Problem Roster, 3 

institutional eligibility, 9 

institutional liability, 43, 63 

interest earnings, 117 

interim terms 
enrollment level, 35 
on transcripts, 19 

late disbursement, 78 

leave of absence, 94 

limit on postsecondary attendance, 12 

living and miscellaneous expense allowance, 46 
attending multiple schools, 52 
incarcerated students, 46 
when less than full-time, 46 

LME, 46 

loan default, 24 

military service 
units for, 16 
withdrawal, 14, 17, 113 

Minnesota resident, 11 

no need record, 97 

non-standard term, 60 

non-standard terms, 36 

notification of awards, 59 

on-line hold report, 38 

overpayment, 24, 63 

parent contribution, 54 
surcharge, 54 

payment periods, 77 

Pell Grant Lifetime Eligibility Used (LEU), 23 

postsecondary enrollment options 
units for, 17 
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professional judgment, 3 

program objectives, 1 

program overview, 1 

proration 
clock hour schools, 93 
leave of absence, 94 
non-standard term, 62 
term based schools, 94 

recalculation of award, 62 

reciprocity restriction, 37 

reconciliation, 115 
Recociliation Summary Report, 116, 117 

records retention, 114 

refunds, 99 
all non-passing grades, 112 
change in enrollment level, 101 
deadline, 99 
failure to enroll, 100 
Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet, 100 
withdrawal, backdated, 112 
withdrawal, clock hour school, 107 
withdrawal, military service, 113 
withdrawal, program length, 110 
withdrawal, term-based school, 103 

remedial course work, 16, 32 

resident, 11 

retroactive disbursement, 78 

satisfactory academic progress, 37 

SG web access screen, 25, 41, 75, 76 

Shared Responsibility Formula, 2, 45 
attending multiple schools, 52, 58 
Federal Pell Grant, 56 
parent contribution, 54 
student contribution, 55 
student share, 54 
transfer students, 58 
tuition and fees, 46 

special conditions, 3 

State Grant web access screen, 25 



 
FINANCIAL AID MANUAL 

 
NUMBER 

Section I 

 
PAGE 
124 

 
SECTION 
 State Grant Program 

 
DATE 

July 2016 

 
 
student account balances, 83 

student account requirement, 117 

student account requirements, 83, 84 

student authorization, 84 

student contribution, 55 
surcharge, 55 

student disclosure statement, 9, 10, 118 

student eligibility, 11 

Student Eligibility Questionnaire, 8 

student share, 54 

study abroad, 82 

summer term, 60 

surcharge, 54, 55 

transcripts, 15 
clock hour transcripts, 21 
inability to decipher, 20 
inability to obtain, 20 
requirement to request, 44 
transcript review spreadsheet, 18 

transfer students 
award calculation, 58 

tuition and fee maximum, 47 

tuition and fees, 46 
attending multiple schools, 52 
average, 49 
clock hour schools, 51 
mandatory fees, 50 
tuition and fee maximum, 47 
waivers, 51 

U.S. citizenship, 11 

unusual enrollment history, 5 

verification, 5, 85 

withdrawal 
calculating refund, 103, 107 
for military service, 113 
units for, 16 
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136A.121 STATE GRANT PROGRAM. 

Subdivision 1. [Repealed, 1989 c 293 s 85] 

 

Subd. 2. Eligibility for grants. An applicant is eligible to be considered for a grant, regardless of the 

applicant's sex, creed, race, color, national origin, or ancestry, under sections 136A.095 to 136A.131 if the 

office finds that the applicant:  

(1)  is a resident of the state of Minnesota; 

(2) is a graduate of a secondary school or its equivalent, or is 17 years of age or over, and has met all 

requirements for admission as a student to an eligible college or technical college of choice as defined 

in sections 136A.095 to 136A.131;  

(3) has met the financial need criteria established in Minnesota Rules; 

(4) is not in default, as defined by the office, of any federal or state student educational loan; and 

(5) is not more than 30 days in arrears in court-ordered child support that is collected or enforced by the 

public authority responsible for child support enforcement or, if the applicant is more than 30 days in 

arrears in court-ordered child support that is collected or enforced by the public authority responsible 

for child support enforcement, but is complying with a written payment agreement under section 

518A.69 or order for arrearages.  

 

Subd. 3. Allocation. Grants must be awarded on a funds available basis to those applicants who meet the 

office's requirements. 

 

Subd. 4. [Repealed, 1989 c 293 s 85]  

 

Subd. 5. Grant stipends. The grant stipend shall be based on a sharing of responsibility for covering the 

recognized cost of attendance by the applicant, the applicant's family, and the government. The amount of 

a financial stipend must not exceed a grant applicant's recognized cost of attendance, as defined in 

subdivision 6, after deducting the following: 

(1) the assigned student responsibility of at least 50 percent of the cost of attending the institution of the 

applicant's choosing; 

(2) the assigned family responsibility as defined in section 136A.101; and  

(3) the amount of a federal Pell grant award for which the grant applicant is eligible. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1989&type=0&id=293
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=136A.095#stat.136A.095
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=136A.131#stat.136A.131
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=136A.095#stat.136A.095
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=136A.131#stat.136A.131
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=518A.69#stat.518A.69
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1989&type=0&id=293
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=136A.101#stat.136A.101
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The minimum financial stipend is $100 per academic year. 

 

Subd. 6. Cost of attendance. 

(a) The recognized cost of attendance consists of: (1) an allowance specified in law for living and 

miscellaneous expenses, and (2) an allowance for tuition and fees equal to the lesser of the average 

tuition and fees charged by the institution, or a tuition and fee maximum if one is established in law. 

If no living and miscellaneous expense allowance is established in law, the allowance is equal to the 

federal poverty guidelines for a one person household in Minnesota for nine months. If no tuition and 

fee maximum is established in law, the allowance for tuition and fees is equal to the lesser of: (1) the 

average tuition and fees charged by the institution, and (2) for two-year programs, an amount equal to 

the highest tuition and fees charged at a public two-year institution, or for four-year programs, an 

amount equal to the highest tuition and fees charged at a public university. 

(b) For a student registering for less than full time, the office shall prorate the cost of attendance to the 

actual number of credits for which the student is enrolled. 

(c) The recognized cost of attendance for a student who is confined to a Minnesota correctional 

institution shall consist of the tuition and fee component in paragraph (a), with no allowance for 

living and miscellaneous expenses. 

(d) For the purpose of this subdivision, “fees” include only those fees that are mandatory and charged to 

full-time resident students attending the institution. Fees do not include charges for tools, equipment, 

computers, or other similar materials where the student retains ownership. Fees include charges for 

these materials if the institution retains ownership. Fees do not include optional or punitive fees. 

 

Subd. 7. Insufficient appropriation. If the amount appropriated is determined by the office to be 

insufficient to make full awards to applicants under subdivision 5, awards must be reduced by: 

(1) adding a surcharge to the applicant's assigned family responsibility, as defined in section 136A.101, 

subdivision 5a; and  

(2) a percentage increase in the applicant's assigned student responsibility, as defined in subdivision 5. 

 

The reduction under clauses (1) and (2) must be equal dollar amounts. 

 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=136A.101#stat.136A.101.5a
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=136A.101#stat.136A.101.5a
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Subd. 7a. Surplus appropriation. If the amount appropriated is determined by the office to be more than 

sufficient to fund projected grant demand in the second year of the biennium, the office may increase the 

living and miscellaneous expense allowance in the second year of the biennium by up to an amount that 

retains sufficient appropriations to fund the projected grant demand. The adjustment may be made one or 

more times. In making the determination that there are more than sufficient funds, the office shall balance 

the need for sufficient resources to meet the projected demand for grants with the goal of fully allocating 

the appropriation for state grants. An increase in the living and miscellaneous expense allowance under 

this subdivision does not carry forward into a subsequent biennium. 

 

Subd. 8. [Repealed, 1Sp1985 c 11 s 81]  

 

Subd. 9. Awards. An undergraduate student who meets the office's requirements is eligible to apply for 

and receive a grant in any year of undergraduate study unless the student has obtained a baccalaureate 

degree or previously has been enrolled full time or the equivalent for eight semesters or the equivalent, 

excluding courses taken from a Minnesota school or postsecondary institution which is not participating 

in the state grant program and from which a student transferred no credit. A student who withdraws from 

enrollment for active military service, or for a major illness, while under the care of a medical 

professional, that substantially limits the student's ability to complete the term is entitled to an additional 

semester or the equivalent of grant eligibility. A student enrolled in a two-year program at a four-year 

institution is only eligible for the tuition and fee maximums established by law for two-year institutions. 

 

[See Note.] 

 

Subd. 9a. Full-year grants. Students may receive state grants for four consecutive quarters or three 

consecutive semesters during the course of a single fiscal year. In calculating a state grant for the fourth 

quarter or third semester, the office must use the same calculation as it would for any other term, except 

that the calculation must subtract any federal Pell grant for which a student would be eligible even if the 

student has exhausted the Pell grant for that fiscal year. 

 

Subd. 9b. [Repealed, 2013 c 99 art 2 s 30]  

 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1985&type=1&id=11
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2013&type=0&id=99
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Subd. 10. [Repealed, 1Sp1993 c 2 art 2 s 26]  

 

Subd. 11. Renewal conditions. Each grant is renewable, contingent on continued residency in Minnesota, 

satisfactory academic progress, recommendation of the eligible institution currently attended, and 

evidence of continued need. 

 

Subd. 12. Annual application. To continue to receive a grant, the student must apply for renewal each 

year. 

 

Subd. 12a. Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) compliance. All eligible institutions 

must implement policies and procedures that ensure that applicants are aware that they must annually 

complete the FAFSA to be eligible for financial aid. 

 

Subd. 13. Deadline. The deadline for the office to accept applications for state grants for a term is 30 days 

after the start of that term. 

 

Subd. 14. [Repealed, 1Sp1985 c 11 s 81]  

 

Subd. 15. [Repealed, 1989 c 293 s 85]  

 

Subd. 16. How applied; order. Grants awarded under this section must be applied to educational costs in 

the following order: tuition, fees, books, supplies, and other expenses. Unpaid portions of the awards 

revert to the grant account. 

 

Subd. 17. Independent student information. The office shall inform students in its financial aid 

publications about the definition of independent student status and appeals to the financial aid 

administrator relating to the declaration of the status. 

 

Subd. 18. Data. 

(a) An eligible institution must provide to the office data on student enrollment and federal and state 

financial aid. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1993&type=1&id=2
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1985&type=1&id=11
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1989&type=0&id=293
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(b) An institution or its agent must provide to the office aggregate and distributional financial or other 

data as determined by the commissioner that is directly related to the responsibilities of the office 

under this chapter and chapter 141. The commissioner may only request aggregate and distributional 

data after establishing and consulting with a data advisory task force to determine the need, content, 

and detail of the information. Data provided by nonpublic institutions under this paragraph is 

considered nonpublic data under chapter 13. 

 

Subd. 19. Reporting. By November 1 and February 15, the Office of Higher Education must provide, to 

the committees of the legislature with jurisdiction over higher education finance and policy, updated state 

grant spending projections taking into account the most current and projected enrollment and tuition and 

fee information, economic conditions, and other relevant factors. Before submitting state grant spending 

projections, the Office of Higher Education must meet and consult with representatives of public and 

private postsecondary institutions, the Department of Management and Budget, the Governor's Office, 

legislative staff, and financial aid administrators. 

 

Subd. 20. Institution reporting. 

(a) Each institution receiving financial aid under this section must annually report to the office the 

following for each award level: 

 (1) enrollment and graduation data for all students, including subgroup information on state and 

federal Pell grant recipients; and 

 (2) the aggregate awarded financial aid information for all students, and cumulative debt of all 

graduates by race and ethnicity, gender, and income. 

 (b) Using the data submitted to the office by institutions pursuant to paragraph (a), as well as other 

data available to the office, the office shall provide the following on its Internet Web site by 

placing a prominent line on its Web site home page: 

 (1) information including, but not limited to, persistence and completion, debt of graduates, 

employment and wage information, and other relevant data for each institution subject to 

paragraph (a), which shall be made available in a searchable database; and 

 (2) other information and links that are useful to students and parents who are in the process of 

selecting a college or university. This information may include, but is not limited to, local 

occupational profiles. 
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(c) The office shall provide a standard format and instructions for institutions supplying the information 

required under paragraph (a). 

(d) The office shall provide an electronic copy of the information provided on its Internet Web site under 

paragraph (b) to each public and private high school in the state and each workforce center operated 

by the Department of Employment and Economic Development. The copy must contain information 

formatted by institution so that comparison can be easily made between institutions. High schools are 

encouraged to make the information available to students, including through individual counseling 

sessions with students. Workforce centers shall make the information available to job seekers, those 

seeking career counseling, and others as determined by the centers. 

 

History: 1971 c 862 s 4; 1975 c 271 s 6; 1975 c 390 s 5; 1977 c 384 s 2; 1977 c 449 s 16; 1979 c 238 s 1-

4; 1981 c 359 s 15,16; 1983 c 258 s 42; 1984 c 654 art 4 s 21; 1Sp1985 c 11 s 30-42; 1987 c 258 s 12; 

1987 c 401 s 17,18; 1989 c 246 s 2; 1989 c 293 s 27; 1991 c 292 art 5 s 2; 1991 c 356 art 8 s 6-8; 1992 c 

513 art 1 s 13; 1993 c 340 s 1; 1Sp1993 c 2 art 2 s 9,10; 1994 c 532 art 2 s 5; 1995 c 212 art 3 s 22-26,59; 

1997 c 183 art 2 s 4,5; 1998 c 384 s 8; 1999 c 214 art 2 s 5; 1Sp2001 c 1 art 2 s 10,11; 2002 c 220 art 5 s 

5; 2002 c 374 art 5 s 1; 2003 c 133 art 2 s 9-13; 2005 c 107 art 2 s 17-22; 2005 c 164 s 29; 1Sp2005 c 7 s 

28; 2007 c 144 art 2 s 19,20; 2008 c 298 s 4; 2008 c 363 art 4 s 7; 2009 c 95 art 2 s 12-14; 2009 c 101 art 

2 s 109; 2010 c 215 art 2 s 6; 1Sp2011 c 5 art 2 s 2; 2013 c 99 art 2 s 7,29; art 3 s 2; 1Sp2011 c 5 art 2 s 

2; 2013 c 99 art 2 s 7,29; art 3 s 2; 2014 c 149 s 14,15,74; 2015 c 69 art 2 s 46; art 3 s 9; art 5 s 1,2 

 

 

NOTE: The additional semester or the equivalent of grant eligibility under subdivision 9, as amended by 

Laws 2005, chapter 107, article 2, section 20, applies to any student who withdrew from enrollment in a 

postsecondary institution after December 31, 2002, because the student was ordered to active military 

service as defined in section 190.05, subdivision 5b or 5c. Laws 2005, chapter 107, article 2, section 59. 

 

136A.131 ACCOUNTING AND RECORDS. 

Subdivision 1. Accounts. The office shall establish and maintain appropriate accounts and related records 

of each recipient of a grant. 

 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1971&type=0&id=862
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1975&type=0&id=271
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1975&type=0&id=390
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1977&type=0&id=449
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1979&type=0&id=238
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1981&type=0&id=359
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1983&type=0&id=258
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1984&type=0&id=654
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1985&type=1&id=11
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1987&type=0&id=258
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1987&type=0&id=401
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1989&type=0&id=246
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1989&type=0&id=293
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1991&type=0&id=292
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1991&type=0&id=356
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1992&type=0&id=513
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1992&type=0&id=513
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1993&type=0&id=340
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1993&type=1&id=2
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1994&type=0&id=532
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1995&type=0&id=212
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1997&type=0&id=183
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1998&type=0&id=384
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1999&type=0&id=214
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2001&type=1&id=1
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2002&type=0&id=220
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2002&type=0&id=220
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2002&type=0&id=374
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2003&type=0&id=133
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2005&type=0&id=107
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2005&type=0&id=164
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2005&type=1&id=7
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2005&type=1&id=7
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2007&type=0&id=144
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2008&type=0&id=298
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2008&type=0&id=363
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2009&type=0&id=95
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2009&type=0&id=101
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2009&type=0&id=101
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2010&type=0&id=215
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2011&type=1&id=5
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2013&type=0&id=99
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=190.05#stat.190.05.5b
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Subd. 2. Rules, payment and accounting. The office shall provide by rule the method of payment of the 

grant awarded and prescribe a system of accounting to be kept by the institution selected by a recipient. 

 

Subd. 3. Certification to commissioner of management and budget. Upon proper verification for 

payment of a grant, the office shall certify to the commissioner of management and budget the amount of 

the current payment to be made to the grant recipient in conformance with the rule of the office governing 

the method of payment. 

 

Subd. 4. Recovery of overpayments.  

(a) A recipient of a grant must reimburse the office for overpayment. The amount of reimbursement is 

the difference between the amount received and the amount of actual entitlement as calculated by the 

office after it makes its final findings under section 136A.121 and rules implemented under that 

section. The amount of reimbursement may include any costs or expenses, including reasonable 

attorney fees, incurred by the agency in collecting the debt. The reimbursement is recoverable from 

the recipient or the recipient's estate. The agency may institute a civil action, if necessary for 

recovery.  

(b) The recipient must not receive additional awards until the overpayment is recovered or the recipient is 

making payments under an approved plan. Additional awards for which the recipient is eligible may 

be used to recover an unreimbursed overpayment. 

 

History: 1971 c 862 s 5; 1973 c 492 s 14; 1975 c 271 s 6; 1989 c 293 s 30; 1995 c 212 art 3 s 59; 2009 c 

101 art 2 s 109  

 

136A.1311 CASH FLOW. 

The Minnesota Office of Higher Education may ask the commissioner of management and budget to lend 

general fund money to the grant account to ease cash flow difficulties. The Minnesota Office of Higher 

Education must first certify to the commissioner that there will be adequate refunds to the account to 

repay the loan. The commissioner shall use the refunds to make repayment to the general fund of the full 

amount loaned. Money necessary to meet cash flow difficulties in the state grant program is appropriated 

to the commissioner of management and budget for loans to the Minnesota Office of Higher Education. 

 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=136A.121#stat.136A.121
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1971&type=0&id=862
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1973&type=0&id=492
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1975&type=0&id=271
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1989&type=0&id=293
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1995&type=0&id=212
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2009&type=0&id=101
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2009&type=0&id=101
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History: 1991 c 356 art 8 s 14; 1995 c 212 art 3 s 59; 2005 c 107 art 2 s 60; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1991&type=0&id=356
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=1995&type=0&id=212
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2005&type=0&id=107
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws?doctype=Chapter&year=2009&type=0&id=101
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4830.0200 SCOPE. 

Parts 4830.0200 to 4830.0700 govern state grants. 

 

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.04; 136A.111; 136A.121; 136A.132; 136A.141; 136A.16; 136A.233; 136A.234; 

136A.70 

Hist: 8 SR 196; 8 SR 2335; 9 SR 991; 15 SR 1780 

 

4830.0300 ELIGIBLE SCHOOLS. 

Subpart 1. Annual list. Annually the director shall approve a list of schools at which a state grant may be 

used. Schools may be added to the list by the director anytime during the school year. 

 

Subp. 2. Requirements. To be eligible a school must: 

A. be located in Minnesota; 

B. offer at least one program that: 

 (1) is vocational or academic in nature; 

 (2) leads to a certificate or degree; 

 (3) is at least eight weeks long; and 

 (4) involves at least 12 academic credits or 300 clock hours; 

C. be: 

 (1) accredited by a federally recognized accrediting agency or association; 

 (2) approved to offer degrees or use terms in its name according to part 4840.0500; or 

 (3) licensed by an appropriate state agency; 

D. sign an institutional agreement with the director; and 

E. have the necessary administrative computing capability to administer the program on campus and 

electronically report student data records to the office. 

 

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.01; 136A.04; 136A.111; 136A.121; 136A.132; 136A.141; 136A.16; 136A.233; 

136A.234; 136A.70 

Hist: 8 SR 196; 8 SR 2335; 9 SR 991; 9 SR 2341; 15 SR 1780; 18 SR 1141; 20 SR 2284; 24 SR 518 
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4830.0400 APPLICATION DATES AND STUDENT ELIGIBILITY. 

Subpart 1. Date. Annually the office shall adopt by resolution a date after February 14, by which all 

applications must be filed to receive an award. 

 

Subp. 2. [Repealed, 15 SR 1780] 

 

Subp. 2a. Out-of-state housing. A student’s Minnesota residence is not lost if the student or parent must 

live outside of Minnesota for purposes of postsecondary education, military service, or missionary work, 

provided the student or parent continues to claim Minnesota as the state of legal residence for income tax 

purposes. 

 

Subp. 3. [Repealed, 15 SR 1780] 

 

Subp. 4. Eligibility for initial grant. To be eligible for an initial grant a student must be an eligible 

student, as defined in part 4830.0100, subpart 5, except item D, and: 

A. demonstrate financial need; 

B. if under 17 years old, hold a high school diploma or the equivalent; 

C. pursuing a program or course of study that applies to a degree, diploma, or certificate; 

D. must not have received a previous Minnesota state grant; and 

E. is not more than 30 days in arrears for any child support payments owed to a public agency 

responsible for child support enforcement or, if the student is more than 30 days in arrears, is 

complying with a payment plan for arrearages. 

 

Subp. 5. Renewal awards. A grant is renewable for a maximum of six semesters, nine quarters, or the 

equivalent, but must not continue after the first of the following occurrences: 

A. the recipient has obtained a baccalaureate degree; or 

B. the recipient has been enrolled on a full-time basis for eight semesters, 12 quarters, or the equivalent, 

taking into account the exclusions specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.121, subdivision 9. 

 

To be eligible to renew a grant a student must apply each year and continue to meet the requirements for 

an initial grant, except for subpart 4, item D. A student must have made satisfactory academic progress as 

defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.101, subdivision 10. 
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Subp. 5a. Child support arrearages. A grant is not renewable if the recipient is more than 30 days in 

arrears for any child support payment owed to a public agency responsible for child support enforcement 

and not subject to a payment plan for arrearages or not in compliance with a payment plan for the 

arrearages. 

 

Subp. 6. [Repealed, 18 SR 1141] 

 

Subp. 7. Minnesota correctional institution. “Minnesota correctional institution” means a federal or 

state penal institution located in Minnesota in which students are eligible for grants under this rule 

pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.121, subdivision 6. 

 

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.01; 136A.04; 136A.111; 136A.134; 136A.16; 136A.234; 136A.70; 147.30 

Hist: 8 SR 196; 8 SR 2335; 9 SR 991; 10 SR 2319; 13 SR 128; 15 SR 1780; 16 SR 1822; 18 SR 1141; L 

1995 c 212 art 3 s 59; 20 SR 2284 

 

4830.0500 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141] 

 

4830.0600 AWARDS. 

Subpart 1. [Repealed, 23 SR 594] 

 

Subp. 1a. [Repealed, 23 SR 594] 

 

Subp. 1b. [Repealed, 13 SR 128] 

 

Subp. 1c. [Repealed, 13 SR 128] 

 

Subp. 1d. [Repealed, 13 SR 128] 

Subp. 1e. Awards for fourth quarter or third semester. In calculating a state grant for the fourth 

quarter or third semester within a fiscal year, the award shall be calculated as specified in Minnesota 

Statutes, section 136A.121, subdivisions 5 and 9a. 

 

Subp. 2. [Repealed, 28 SR 889] 
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Subp. 3. [Repealed, 10 SR 2319] 

 

Stat Auth: MS s 14.388; 136A.01; 136A.04; 136A.111; 136A.134; 136A.16; 136A.234; 136A.70; 

147.30 

Hist: 8 SR 196; 8 SR 2335; 9 SR 991; 10 SR 2319; 13 SR 128; 15 SR 1780; 20 SR 2284; 23 SR 594; 28 

SR 889 

 

4830.0700 METHOD OF PAYMENT. 

Subpart 1. Payments to schools. After a grant award is determined, the award amount shall be sent by the 

director to the school chosen by the recipient or the school shall withdraw the award amount from its state 

grant account. The school shall apply the award to the recipient’s educational costs in the following order: 

tuition, fees, books, supplies, and other expenses. The costs must be prorated for each term of the 

academic year. The school shall notify each recipient that the award is ready for disbursement. 

 

Subp. 2. Refunds. A grant is awarded for full-time attendance at a specified school for up to four quarters 

or three semesters within the state fiscal year. If a recipient fails to enroll or reduces enrollment, the 

school must refund the unused portion of the award. If the director determines that a school has 

fraudulently handled grant money, the refund of the unused portion of the award is immediately due, and 

the office may institute a civil action for recovery if necessary. Refunds to the office are determined as 

follows: 

A. calculate the percentage the state grant award represents of the student’s total financial aid package 

for the applicable term, excluding funds received from federal Title IV programs, United States Code, 

title 20, sections 1070-1099; 

B. calculate the total tuition refund amount using the refund calculation required of schools participating 

in federal Title IV programs; 

C. subtract the federal aid programs’ refund amount from item B to determine the remaining tuition 

refund amount; and 

D. multiply the percentage in item A by the amount calculated in item C to determine the amount to be 

refunded to the state grant program. 

 

Refunded money to the state grant program is available for awards to eligible students. 
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Subp. 3. School accounting requirements. Schools shall maintain separate accounts for grant funds. 

Refunds to the state grant program must be accompanied with a list stating the social security number, 

name, award type, amount of refund, term, and refund code for each student included in the refund. The 

refund must be made to the program within 30 days from the end of the academic term, or 30 days from 

the date the school is notified of a student’s withdrawal, whichever is less. Schools must provide 

evidence, prepared according to generally accepted accounting principles, that all awards have either been 

distributed or refunded to the program. 

 

Subp. 4. Recovery of overpayments. An overpayment occurs when a grant recipient receives more 

money than the recipient is eligible to receive under the award calculation. A grant recipient shall 

reimburse the state grant program for overpayment regardless of the cause. The overpayment amount is 

the difference between the amount received and the calculated award eligibility. The reimbursement 

amount includes any costs or expenses incurred by the office in collecting the debt, including reasonable 

attorney fees. The reimbursement is recoverable from the recipient or the recipient’s estate. The office 

may institute a civil action for recovery if necessary. 

 

The recipient must not receive additional awards until the overpayment is recovered or the recipient is 

making payments under an approved plan. Additional awards for which the recipient is eligible may be 

used to recover an unreimbursed overpayment. 

 

Stat Auth: MS s 136A.01; 136A.04; 136A.111; 136A.134; 136A.16; 136A.234; 136A.70; 147.30 

Hist: 8 SR 196; 9 SR 991; 10 SR 2319; 13 SR 128; 15 SR 1780; 18 SR 2482; L 1995 c 212 art 3 s 59; 20 

SR 2284 

 

4830.1000 [Repealed, 10 SR 2417] 
 
4830.1100 [Repealed, 10 SR 2417] 
 
4830.1200 [Repealed, 10 SR 2417] 
 
4830.1300 [Repealed, 10 SR 2417] 
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4830.1400 [Repealed, 10 SR 2417] 
 
4830.1500 [Repealed, 10 SR 2417] 
 
4830.1550 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141] 
 
4830.1551 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141] 
 
4830.1552 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141] 
 
4830.1553 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141] 
 
4830.1554 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141] 
 
4830.1555 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141] 
 
4830.1560 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141] 
 
4830.1561 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141] 
 
4830.1562 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141] 
 
4830.1563 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141] 
 
4830.1564 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141] 
 
4830.1565 [Repealed, 18 SR 1141] 
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Minnesota State Grant Program 
Delivery System 

 
 
Decentralized Delivery System 

• Schools receive student’s FAFSA data from federal processor. 

• Schools screen applications for program eligibility requirements. 

• Schools calculate awards and notify students. 

• Schools report DDS records to Office of Higher Education (OHE) each month containing FAFSA, 

award and payment data. 

• The Agency edits for certain eligibility criteria and checks schools’ awards and payments for 

accuracy, generating output reports. 

• Upon the school’s request, the Agency advances funds to the school to cover awards submitted in the 

latest DDS batch. 

• Schools resolve errors on output reports prior to disbursement. 

• Schools disburse funds to students and return excess funds to OHE at close of aid year. 

• Communication is between student and school. 

 
All participating schools are now on the Decentralized Delivery System for the Minnesota State Grant 
program.
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MN STATE GRANT PROGRAM STUDENT ELIGIBILITY QUESTIONNAIRE 

AID YEAR: ____________ 

 
  
Student Name: 
 

 
Social Security Number: 

 
Name and address (city and state) of your high school and year 
you received your diploma. (Write N/A if you didn’t graduate.) 

 
Your address when you received your high school diploma. (Write N/A if you 
didn’t graduate.) 

 
 

 
 

 
Did you earn a G.E.D.? 

 
Parents’ address at time you completed your Free Application for Federal Student 
Aid (FAFSA): 

 
___ Yes     ___ No        If “yes,” in which state? _____________ 
 
                                      If “yes,” date earned:    ____/___/_____ 

 
 

 
Please list all the states (or countries) in which you have resided, your dates of residence and your reason for residing (e.g., college, employment, 
military service, place of birth, etc.) in each state. Please circle any of the following reasons for residing in Minnesota if they apply to you, your 
spouse or your parent(s):  

• active federal military service in Minnesota 
• you are a spouse or dependent of a veteran who is a Minnesota resident 
• active member of Minnesota National Guard residing in Minnesota 
• active member of the reserve component of the U.S. Armed Forces who resides and whose duty station is located in Minnesota. 
• relocation to Minnesota from presidential disaster area within 12 months of disaster declaration 
• immediate relocation to Minnesota as a refugee from another country 

State                             Dates of Residence                                      Reason for Residing in State 

 
Please list the names of all schools you have attended after high school and the dates of attendance for each school. Do NOT include college courses 
taken during high school. If you withdrew from college during a term due to a major illness while under the care of a physician, or you withdrew for 
active military service after December 31, 2002, please make note of this below and provide the necessary documentation to your college financial aid 
administrator. PLEASE LIST ALL COLLEGES ATTENDED, EVEN IF YOU DO NOT WISH TO TRANSFER CREDIT. 
 
Name of College    Dates of Enrollment Enrollment Level 
 

  
If attending public college in Minnesota, are you receiving tuition reciprocity benefits from a neighboring state?   ____Yes     ____ No 
If you are currently residing outside of MN, are you enrolled in a distance education program offered by a MN college?  ____Yes     ____No 
 
  
 ____________________________________ ____________________________ 
 Student Signature  Date Form Completed 
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This Side for School Use Only  
 
 
If the student listed more than 3 years of postsecondary attendance on the questionnaire, the school is required to review academic 
transcripts from each college attended to determine the amount of postsecondary attendance the student has accumulated. 
 
In addition to screening for eight full-time semesters of postsecondary attendance (or the equivalent) and Minnesota residency on 
the reverse side of this form, the school is also responsible for verifying that the student meets the remainder of eligibility 
requirements for the Minnesota State Grant program shown on this side of the form. 
 
 

 Student has not earned baccalaureate degree prior to the 
start of the current academic year 

 

 
 Student is not in default on a federal student loan 

 
 Student is enrolled in an undergraduate program in course 

work leading to a diploma, certificate or degree 
 

 
 Student is a high school graduate, GED recipient or will be 17 

at the time of disbursement 

 
 Student is not receiving Tuition Reciprocity benefits from 

another state (applies only to MN public colleges) 
 

 
 Student meets federal and state requirements for satisfactory 

academic progress 

 
 Student will be enrolled for 3 or more credits (or 6 clock 

hours per week at clock hour school) 
  

 
* Student does not owe the Office of Higher Education for a State 

Grant overpayment 

 
* Student is not in default on a state SELF loan 

 
* Student is not more than 30 days past due on a child support 

obligation 
 
 Student’s FAFSA was received by federal processor 

within 30 days of term start date 
 

 
  

 
* The Office of Higher Education assists schools in screening for these variables by reporting data on the State Grant On-Line Hold Report. 
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 INSTITUTIONAL PARTICIPATION AGREEMENT 
 MINNESOTA STATE FINANCIAL AID PROGRAMS 
 (Excluding SELF Loan Program) 
 

WHEREAS, The Minnesota Office of Higher Education (hereinafter “the Agency”) has been 
designated as the agency to administer the Minnesota State Grant Program, State Work Study Program, 
Postsecondary Child Care Grant Program, and Safety Officer’s Survivor Grant Program (hereinafter 
“Programs”); and 
 

WHEREAS, Program recipients must attend an eligible institution pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 
136A.101, Subdivision 4, 136A.121, Subdivision 18, and Agency Rules 4830.0300. Subpart 2, unless 
Minnesota Statutes and/or Agency Rules governing Programs dictate otherwise; and 
 

WHEREAS, _________________________________________________________________ 
(hereinafter “Institution”) desires to be recognized as an eligible institution for one or more of the above 
mentioned Programs administered by the Agency; and 
 

WHEREAS, the Agency, upon review of the Institution’s application for eligibility as evidenced by 
the completion of Section XV of this Agreement and by providing the required signatures in this section, 
the Agency does recognize the Institution as an eligible institution pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 
136A.101, Subdivision 4, and Agency Rules 4830.0300, Subpart 2, but does not recognize such 
eligibility with respect to Programs where Minnesota Statutes and/or Agency Rules governing the 
Programs dictate otherwise; 
 

THEREFORE, the parties agree to the following terms and conditions: 
 
I. Designation of Institutional Employee(s) 
 

The Institution must designate an employee(s) as the Institutional Representative(s) to perform or 
supervise all financial aid and accounting activities. 

 
II. Limitation of Institutional Participation 
 

An Institution is eligible to participate in the Programs subject to program eligibility limitations 
specified in Minnesota Statutes and Agency Rules governing the Programs. 

 
III. Program Administration 
 

Both parties to this agreement agree to administer the Programs in accordance with all Federal and 
Minnesota State Statutes and Agency Rules governing the Programs and the Program policies and 
procedures contained in the most current version of the Agency’s Minnesota Financial Aid Manual.  

 
This agreement is subject to all subsequent changes in both Federal and Minnesota State Statutes 
and Agency Rules governing the Programs, and Program policies and procedures contained in the 
most current version of the Agency’s Minnesota Financial Aid Manual.  
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Both parties acknowledge that the pertinent Program chapters of the Agency’s Minnesota 
Financial Aid Manual will be updated on an annual basis and that written directives concerning 
Program policies and procedures issued by the Agency in the interim will have the full force and 
effect of the Agency’s Minnesota Financial Aid Manual, until they are so incorporated. 

 
IV. Terms of the Agreement 
 

This Agreement shall be effective July 1, 2005, or upon final execution, whichever is later, and 
shall remain in force until modified by mutual consent by both parties or terminated as hereafter 
provided. 

 
V. Modification or Termination of Agreement 
 

The Agreement may be modified at any time upon mutual agreement of both the Agency and 
the Institution. 

 
The Agency or the Institution may terminate this Agreement at any time with or without cause 
upon thirty (30) days written advance notice to the other party. Termination shall be effective on 
the termination date given in the written notice. All requirements of the agreement related to 
monies received shall remain in effect until resolved. 

 
VI. Assignment 
 

The Institution shall neither assign nor transfer any rights or obligations under this Agreement 
without the prior written consent of the Agency. 

 
VII. Amendments 
 

Any amendments to this Agreement shall be in writing. 
 
VIII. Audits 
 

The books, records, documents, and accounting procedures, and practices of an outside party, if 
applicable and relevant to this Agreement, shall be subject to examination by the Agency and the 
Legislative auditors. 

 
IX. Affirmative Action 
 

When applicable, the Institution must certify that it has received a certificate of compliance from 
the Commission of Human Rights pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 363.073. 

 
X. Workers' Compensation 
 

In accordance with the provisions of Minnesota Statutes 176.182, the Agency affirms that the 
Institution has provided acceptable evidence of compliance with the workers’ compensation 
insurance coverage requirement of Minnesota Statutes 176.181, Subdivision 2. 
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XI. Antitrust 
 

The Institution hereby assigns to the State of Minnesota any and all claims for overcharges as to 
goods and/or services provided in connection with this Agreement resulting from antitrust 
violations which arise under the antitrust laws of the United States and the antitrust laws of the 
State of Minnesota. 

 
XII.  Voter registration  
 

If the Institution is a state agency or a community based public agency or a non-profit corporation, 
it shall provide non-partisan voter registration services and assistance, using forms provided by the 
state, to employees of the institution and the public as required by Minnesota Statutes Section 
201.162. 

 
XIII. Sexual Harassment and Violence Policy 
 

All eligible institutions, as defined in Minnesota Statutes 136A.101, Subdivision 4, must adopt a 
Sexual Harassment and Violence Policy, as outlined in Minnesota Statutes 135A.15.  
 

XIV. Data Practices 
 

The Institution, whether public or private, and the Agency, will maintain and handle all 
confidential, private and non-public data pursuant to the Minnesota Data Practices Act (“Act”) 
(Minn. Stat. Chapter 13) in the administration of the Programs. The Institution and the Agency 
agree that each will be responsible for its own acts or omissions relative to compliance with the 
Act, and the results of such acts or omissions, to the extent authorized by law and shall not be 
responsible for the acts of the other party and the results thereof. 
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Certification 
 

 
 
1. Name of Institution 

 
 
_________________________________________________________________ 
(type or print) 

 
 
2. Full Address 

 
 
_________________________________________________________________ 
(type or print) 
 
_________________________________________________________________ 
(type or print) 

 
 
 
3. The six digit code assigned to the school by the U.S. Department of Education: 
    
    ______  ______  ______  ______  ______  ______  
    (FAFSA Code) 
 
  
4. Name and Telephone Number of the Director of Financial Aid: 
 
   ____________________________________________     (           )_________________________________ 
   Name         Telephone Number 
 

 
IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties have caused this agreement to be duly executed intending to be bound thereby. 
 

APPROVED INSTITUTION MINNESOTA OFFICE OF HIGHER EDUCATION 

President, Chief Executive Officer Director of Financial Services 

Name: ___________________________________ Name: Tim Geraghty 

Signature: ________________________________ Signature: _________________________________ 

Date: ____________________________________ Date: _____________________________________ 

 

Financial Aid Director  

Name: ___________________________________ 

Signature: ________________________________ 

Date: ____________________________________ 

  

Chief Fiscal Officer/Business Manager  

Name: ___________________________________  

Signature: ________________________________ 

Date: ____________________________________ 
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*Data triggering selection for eligibility verification is not all inclusive. Schools may have other sources that 

cause schools to question eligibility. 

Guidelines for Verifying 
State Grant Eligibility Requirements 

 
 

Eligibility 
Requirement 

 
Data Triggering Eligibility Verification* 

and Suggested Documentation 
Undergraduate Program 
No Baccalaureate Degree 

FAFSA degree and grade level questions, school’s records. Transcripts or 
other academic records must prove student does not have a baccalaureate 
degree and is enrolled in an undergraduate program. 

Minnesota Residency 
 
(Schools using State Grant online 
student eligibility questionnaire can 
rely on those responses absent missing 
or conflicting information. See 
Appendix 24 for further details.) 

FAFSA parent and student state of legal residence, date of legal residence, 
high school state, address state; admissions records may possibly hold 
state of high school graduation or GED and whether student is paying 
resident tuition other than through a reciprocity agreement; institutional 
form should be used to obtain data not on FAFSA (state of GED, whether 
family resided in Minnesota during high school attendance, date student 
last moved to Minnesota, when student started postsecondary education in 
Minnesota, purpose for residing in Minnesota). Documentation must 
verify that student graduated from a Minnesota high school while residing 
in Minnesota or student earned a GED in Minnesota after living here 12 
months or dependent student’s parents resided in Minnesota when 
FAFSA was completed or student lived in Minnesota 12 months without 
attending college on a half-time basis or more. Twelve month requirement 
is waived for certain cases such as military service, natural disasters, 
refugee status, etc. (see ‘Resident Student’ definition in Common 
Definitions chapter).  

Minnesota Residency Under MN 
Dream Act 

Documentation collected by OHE. Documentation must prove student 
attending MN high school for at least three years, graduated from a MN 
high school or earned a MN GED, and complied with Selective Service 
registration requirements (if male). Undocumented students who do not 
meet MN Dream Act criteria can be considered a MN resident if they 
were granted Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) status 
prior to meeting one of the state residency criteria above. 

Not Receiving Tuition Reciprocity 
Benefits from Another State 

Admissions, business office and registration records. 
 

Limit on Postsecondary Education 
 
(Schools using State Grant online 
student eligibility questionnaire can 
use those responses absent missing or 
conflicting information. See Appendix 
24 for further details.) 

FAFSA year in college, degree/certificate and bachelor’s degree questions 
along with date of birth. OHE eligibility questionnaire or institutional 
form should ask student to list all colleges attended and dates of 
enrollment. Academic transcripts must be reviewed to determine units of 
postsecondary education attended if student indicates previous enrollment 
of three or more years. (Refer to State Grant manual for instructions on 
reviewing transcripts.) The Agency’s State Grant On-Line Hold Report 
(Appendix 3) shows units of State Grant paid to the student in prior years. 
Schools can also access this data using the State Grant Web Access 
Screen (Appendix 4). Federal NSLDS system also shows previous 
attendance if student received federal financial aid. 
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*Data triggering selection for eligibility verification is not all inclusive. Schools may have other sources that 

cause schools to question eligibility. 

 
Eligibility 

Requirement 

 
Data Triggering Eligibility Verification* 

and Suggested Documentation 
17 Years Old or High School 
Diploma/GED  
 
(High school students taking college 
courses are not eligible for State 
Grant) 

FAFSA date of birth and high school graduation/GED responses are 
sufficient unless there is conflicting information. Documentation must 
prove student will be 17 or older at the time of disbursement or have high 
school diploma/GED. Suggested documentation would be high school 
diploma or GED certificate or birth certificate. (See information regarding 
alternate GED tests under ‘High School Diploma, GED or 17 Years of 
Age’ in this chapter.) 

Enrolled 3 Credits or More in 
Program Leading to Degree, 
Diploma or Certificate 

School's registration records. School must verify coursework is applicable 
towards degree, diploma or certificate. Pell Grant eligible credit 
equivalencies should be counted towards enrollment status. 

Satisfactory Academic Progress State adopts federal satisfactory academic progress policy used for Title 
IV financial aid programs. Special provision for approved programs 
serving students with intellectual disabilities (see Common Definitions 
chapter of manual for further information). 

State Grant Overpayment The Agency stores data on its database about students who owe a State 
Grant overpayment and controls this eligibility criteria by informing 
schools about students on hold. Students must repay the Agency in full or 
enter into a repayment plan. School can also access data using State Grant 
Web Access Screen (Appendix 4) or State Grant On-Line Hold Report 
(Appendix 3). 

Federal Loan Default CPS interface with federal loan default data base (NSLDS). Verification 
documentation the same as for Title IV programs. Schools not 
participating in federal financial aid programs must rely on the student’s 
SAR. 

SELF Loan Default The Agency stores this data on its database and controls this eligibility 
criteria by informing schools about students on hold. Student must repay 
loan in full or enter into a repayment plan. School can also access data 
using State Grant Web Access Screen (Appendix 4) or State Grant On-
Line Hold Report (Appendix 3). 

Child Support Arrears The Agency loads data from Human Services Department onto its 
database and controls this eligibility requirement by informing schools 
about students on hold. School can also access data using State Grant 
Web Access Screen (Appendix 4) or State Grant On-Line Hold Report 
(Appendix 3). DHS must send electronic notification to the Agency that 
student has repaid past due amount or entered into repayment plan. 
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Student's Name:     Social Security #:   

Minnesota State Grant Program Transcript Review Worksheet 
Aid Year:___________________________ 

Units for Pre-July 1, 1992 Coursework Units for Post-July 1, 1992 Coursework 
 

Quarter Credits 
 

Semester Credits 
 

Credits 
 

Quarter Units 
Semester Units 

12+ = 8 Units 12+ = 12 Units 15+ 8 12 
11-9 = 6 Units 11-9 =  9 Units 14 7.5 11.2 
8-6  =  4 Units 8-6   = 6 Units 13 6.9 10.4 
5-0  = Bank Credits 5-0   = Bank Credits 12 6.4 9.6 

* Translating total quarter bank credits to units. Divide total quarter bank credits by 12 to 
determine number of full-time quarters. Multiply whole number portion of result by 8 units and assign 
units to any remaining portion of result as follows: .00-.49 = 0 units; .50-.74 = 4 units; .75-.99 = 6 
units. Example: Total quarter bank credits = 32 credits divided by 12 = 2.66 FT quarters = 20 units 
(2.00 x 8 units = 16 units; .66 = 4 units.) 
** Translating total semester bank credits to units. Divide total semester bank credits by 12 to 
determine number of full-time semesters. Multiply whole number portion of result by 12 units and 
assign units to any remaining portion of result as follows: .00-.49 = 0 units; .50-.74 = 6 units; .75-.99 = 
9 units. Example: Total semester bank credits = 32 credits divided by 12 = 2.66 FT semesters. 2.66 FT 
semesters = 30 units (2.00 x 12 units; .66 = 6 units.) 
*** Total Units. After translating banked credits to units, add all units for total units. Four full-time 
years = 96 units. However, schools on the quarter system may exceed the maximum by disbursing one 
more quarter of aid to a student who has not exceeded 94.4 units. The corresponding cutoff for 
semester system schools is 93.6 units. 

11 5.9 8.8 
10 5.3 8.0 
9 4.8 7.2 
8 4.3 6.4 
7 3.7 5.6 
6 3.2 4.8 
5 2.7 4.0 
4 2.1 3.2 
3 1.6 2.4 
2 1.1 1.6 
1 .5 .8 

Quarter School  
Name 

 
Term 

 
Year 

 
Credits 

 
Units 

 Bank 
Credits 

Semester School Name  
Term 

 
Year 

 
Credits 

 
Units 

 Bank 
Credits 

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

            

Total Banked Credits N/A  Total Banked Credits N/A  

Total Quarter Units  * Total Semester Units  ** 

Total Units ***   Terms of remaining eligibility  Date Reviewed: 
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 Student's Name: Student Smith    Social Security #:    444-44-4444 

Minnesota State Grant Program Transcript Review Worksheet 
Aid Year: __________________________ 

Units for Pre-July 1, 1992 Coursework Units for Post-July 1, 1992 Coursework 
 

Quarter Credits 
 

Semester Credits 
 

Credits 
 

Quarter Units 
Semester Units 

12+ = 8 Units 12+ = 12 Units 15+ 8 12 
11-9 = 6 Units 11-9 =  9 Units 14 7.5 11.2 
8-6  =  4 Units 8-6   = 6 Units 13 6.9 10.4 
5-0  = Bank Credits 5-0   = Bank Credits 12 6.4 9.6 

* Translating total quarter bank credits to units. Divide total quarter bank credits by 12 to 
determine number of full-time quarters. Multiply whole number portion of result by 8 units and assign 
units to any remaining portion of result as follows: .00-.49 = 0 units; .50-.74 = 4 units; .75-.99 = 6 
units. Example: Total quarter bank credits = 32 credits divided by 12 = 2.66 FT quarters = 20 units 
(2.00 x 8 units = 16 units; .66 = 4 units.) 
** Translating total semester bank credits to units. Divide total semester bank credits by 12 to 
determine number of full-time semesters. Multiply whole number portion of result by 12 units and 
assign units to any remaining portion of result as follows: .00-.49 = 0 units; .50-.74 = 6 units; .75-.99 = 
9 units. Example: Total semester bank credits = 32 credits divided by 12 = 2.66 FT semesters. 2.66 FT 
semesters = 30 units (2.00 x 12 units; .66 = 6 units.) 
*** Total Units. After translating banked credits to units, add all units for total units. Four full-time 
years = 96 units. However, schools on the quarter system may exceed the maximum by disbursing one 
more quarter of aid to a student who has not exceeded 94.4 units. The corresponding cutoff for 
semester system schools is 93.6 units. 

11 5.9 8.8 
10 5.3 8.0 
9 4.8 7.2 
8 4.3 6.4 
7 3.7 5.6 
6 3.2 4.8 
5 2.7 4.0 
4 2.1 3.2 
3 1.6 2.4 
2 1.1 1.6 
1 .5 .8 

Quarter School  
Name 

 
Term 

 
Year 

 
Credits 

 
Units 

 Bank 
Credits 

Semester School Name  
Term 

 
Year 

 
Credits 

 
Units 

 Bank 
Credits 

Mankato State Univ. Fall 89-90 12 8  Univ. of St. Thomas Fall 91-92 4  4 

“     “ Wtr 89-90 10 6  “     “ Sum 90-91 7 6  

“     “ Spg 89-90 5  5 “     “ Sum 93-94 4 3.2  

U of M – Mpls. Fall 93-94 12 6.4  Hamline University Sum 91-92 5  5 

“     “ Wtr 93-94 10 5.3   Fall 92-93 15 12  

“     “ Spg 93-94 17 8        

“     “ Fall 95-96 16 8        

“     “ Wtr 95-96 14 7.5        

“     “ Spg 95-96 16 8        

“     “ Sum 95-96 7 3.7        

            

            

Total Banked Credits N/A 5 (/12 = .417 
FT Qtrs) 

Total Banked Credits N/A 9 (/12 = 75 
FT Sems) 

Total Quarter Units 60.9 *0 Total Semester Units 21.2 **9 

Total Units *** (60.9 + 0 + 21.2 + 9) 91.1 Terms of remaining eligibility 1 qtr   1 sem Date Reviewed:  7/1/10 
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2016-2017 STATE GRANT SHARED RESPONSIBILITY TERM AWARD CALCULATION 

Final Parameters 6/1/2016 
The 2016-2017 State Grant term award calculation is shown below. When prorating/multiplying, results should be rounded up or 
down to the nearest dollar. (Round up if .50 or higher; down if .49 or lower.)  

+ Average tuition and fees for 
term 

 
(The average tuition and fees 
for the term is a uniform 
amount used for all students 
at an institution and consists 
of tuition and mandatory fees 
charged to all full-time 
students)  

 
Use the lesser of the school’s average tuition and fees for 15 credits or the full-time 
tuition and fee maximum for the term. The four-year full-time tuition and maximum is 
$7,093 for a semester and $4,728 for a quarter. The two-year full-time tuition and fee 
maximum is $2,868 for a semester and $1,912 for a quarter. If the student is enrolled for 
fewer than 15 credits per term, both the average full-time tuition and fees and the 
applicable full-time tuition and fee maximum for the term are prorated on a per credit 
basis for the student’s enrollment level (e.g., by .733 or 11/15ths for a student enrolled 
for 11 credits) and the lesser of the two is used in the award calculation. The full-time 
average tuition and fees or the full-time tuition and fee maximum are NOT increased if 
the student enrolls for more than 15 credits. The tuition and fee maximum used for each 
student is based on the student’s program of study. If the student is enrolled in a four-
year degree program, the four-year college tuition and fee maximum is used. If the 
student is enrolled in a two-year or less program/degree, then the two-year college 
tuition and fee maximum is used. If the student is paid a State Grant at multiple schools 
for the same term, the student cannot be paid for more than a total of 15 credits per 
term. Students enrolled for fewer than three credits per term are not eligible for State 
Grants. OHE has the authority to increase the maximums during the second year of the 
biennium (aid year 2016-2017) to use up any projected surplus of funds. 

 
+ Living and Misc Expense 

Allowance (LME) for Term 

 
The 9-month annual full-time LME of $9,320 is prorated for the term length ($4,660 for a 
semester; $3,106 for a quarter) and then prorated again if the enrollment level is less 
than 15 credits (e.g., by .733 or 11/15ths if the student is enrolled for 11 credits). The 
LME is NOT increased if the student is enrolled for more than 15 credits. If a student is 
paid a State Grant at multiple schools for the same term, the total amount of LME used 
in all the award calculations cannot exceed the LME amount for 15 credits. OHE has the 
authority to increase the LME during the second year of the biennium (aid year 2016-
2017) to use up any projected surplus of funds. 

 
= State Grant Budget for Term 

 
Derived by adding the term tuition and fees to the term LME. 

 
- Student Share 
 50% 

 
50 percent of the State Grant Budget for Term. OHE has authority to adjust this 
percentage during the year to address funding shortfalls. 

 
- Parent Contribution 
 for Term  
 
 

 
Subtract only for dependent students. Prorate 100 percent of the 9-month annual 
Federal Methodology need analysis Parent Contribution by term length (.50 for semester 
system; .3333 percent for quarter system). Multiply the term amount by .94. Do NOT 
prorate for less than full-time enrollment. Subtract the result within the award calculation. 
OHE has the authority to place a percentage surcharge on the PC due to projected 
funding shortfalls. 

 
- Student Contribution/ 
 EFC for Term 
 
 

 
Subtract only for independent students. Prorate 100 percent of the 9-month annual 
Federal Methodology need analysis Expected Family Contribution (EFC) by term length 
(.50 for semester system; .3333 percent for quarter system). Multiply the term amount by 
.86 for independent students with dependents other than a spouse or by .50 for 
independent students without dependents other than a spouse. Do NOT prorate for less 
than full-time enrollment. OHE has the authority to place a percentage surcharge on the 
EFC due to projected funding shortfalls. 

 
- Federal Pell Grant 

Term Award 
(based on the 2016-2017 
Pell Grant Payment Schedule) 

 
Subtract Federal Pell Grant award for term based on student’s enrollment level used for 
the State Grant program. Prorate annual Pell Grant award for student’s enrollment level 
by term length (50 percent for semester system; .3333 percent for quarter system). Pell 
Grant enrollment levels are: 12+ credits = full-time, 9-11 credits 3/4-time; 6-8 credits 
1/2-time; 1-5 credits less than half-time. 

 
= State Grant Term Award 

 
If less than the minimum award of $50 per semester or $33 per quarter, set to zero.  
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Sample 2016-2017 State Grant Term Award Calculations 

Using Average Tuition and Fees 
 

Example 1: State Grant award for dependent student enrolled in 4-year degree program taking 
17 credits at 4-year state university on semester system. Student has 9-month annual Federal 
Methodology Parent Contribution of $1,505 and 9-Month Federal Methodology EFC of $2,000. 
 
Annual Standard Resident Tuition for 30 semester credits = $6,944 
Full-Time (15 credits) semester tuition = $3,472 (must limit tuition to 15 credits) 
Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $1,106 
Full-Time (15 credits) semester fees = $553 (must limit fees to 15 credits) 
Tuition and Fees for Semester = $4,025 
 
Annual Tuition and Fee Maximum for 4-Year College = $14,186  
Tuition and Fee Maximum for Full-Time Semester = $14,186 X .50 = $7,093 
(maximum not increased for students taking more than 15 credits) 
 
Tuition used in term award calculation = $3,472  
Fees used in term award calculation = $   553 

 $4,025 
 
LME used in award calculation + $4,660 ($9,320 X .50 = $4,660) 

  (15 credit LME not increased for student 
    taking more than 15 credits) 

 
State Grant Budget for Term: = $8,685 
 
Minus 50% Student Share  - $4,343 ($8,685 X .50 = $4,343) 
 
Minus FM Parent Contribution - $   708 ($1,505 X .50 = $753 X .94 = $708) 
 
Minus Full-Time Pell Grant - $1,933 ($3,865 X .50 = $1,933) 
 
State Grant Award for Term = $1,701 (over minimum semester award of $50) 
 
* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot 
include fees for the purchase of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of 
required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are required. Fees cannot 
cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can be waived for certain 
students, even if required for other students. 
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Sample 2016-2017 State Grant Term Award Calculations 

Using Average Tuition and Fees 
 

Example 2: State Grant award for married independent student without dependents enrolled in 
2-year degree program taking 13 credits at 2-year public college with tuition banding on semester 
system. Student has 9-month annual Federal EFC of $2,145. 
 
Tuition $200.00 per credit for student taking 1 - 11 credits 
Tuition $2,500 per semester for student taking 12 - 18 credits  
Tuition for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $2,500 
Tuition for 13 Credit Semester = $2,500 X 13/15ths or 86.7% = $2,167.50 = $2,168 
Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $600 
Full-Time (15 credits) semester fees = $300 
Fees for 13 credit semester = $300 X 13/15ths or 86.7% = $260.10 = $260 
 
Tuition and Fees for 13 Credit Semester = $2,428 
 
Annual Full-Time (30 semester credits) Tuition and Fee Maximum for 2-Year College = $5,736 
Maximum for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $5,736 X .50 = $2,868 
Maximum for 13 Credit Semester = $2,868 X 13/15ths or 86.7% = $2,487 
 
Tuition used in term award calculation = $2,168 
Fees used in term award calculation = $   260 

 $2,428 
 
LME used in award calculation + $4,040 (50% of 13/15 of 15 credit LME of $9,320) 

  ($8,828 X .50 = $4,660) 
  ($4,660 X .867 = $4,040) 

 
State Grant Budget for Term: = $6,468 
 
Minus 50% Student Share  - $3,234 ($6,468 X .50 = $3,234) 
 
Minus FM Student Contribution - $   537 ($2,145 X .50 = $1,073) 
    ($1,073 X .50 = $537) 
 
Minus Full-Time Pell Grant          - $1,833     (50% of $3,665) 
 
State Grant Award for Term = $   864 (over minimum semester award of $50) 
 
* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot 
include fees for the purchase of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of 
required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are charged to all 
students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can 
be waived for certain students, even if required for other students. 
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Sample 2016-2017 State Grant Term Award Calculations 

Using Average Tuition and Fees 
 

Example 3: State Grant award for dependent student enrolled in 4-year degree program taking 
18 credits at private 4-year college on semester system. Student has 9-month annual Federal 
Methodology Parent Contribution of $1,755 and 9-Month Federal EFC of $2,235. 
 
Annual Tuition $1,133.33 per credit X 30 credits = $34,000 
Tuition for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $34,000 X .50 = $17,000 
 
Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $500 
Full-Time (15 credits) semester fees = $250 
 
Annual Full-Time Tuition and Fee Maximum = $14,186 
Maximum for Full-Time Semester = $14,186 X .50 = $7,093 
(Full-time private 4-year tuition maximum of $14,186 for 15 credits not increased for students taking 
more than 15 credits) 
 
Tuition used in term award calculation = $-------- 
Fees used in term award calculation = $-------- 

 $ 7,093 (tuition and fee maximum) 
 
LME used in award calculation + $ 4,660 ($9,320 X .50 = $4,660) 

  (15 credit LME not increased for student 
    taking more than 15 credits) 

State Grant Budget for Term: = $11,753 
 
Minus 50% Student Share  - $ 5,877 ($11,753 X .50 = $5,877) 
 
Minus FM Parent Contribution - $   825 ($1,755 X .50 = $878 X .94 = $825) 
 
Minus Full-Time Pell Grant - $1,783 ($3,565 X 50%) 
 
State Grant Award for Term = $3,268 (over minimum semester award of $50) 
 
* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot 
include fees for the purchase of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of 
required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are charged to all 
students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can 
be waived for certain students, even if required for other students. 
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Sample 2016-2017 State Grant Term Award Calculations 

Using Average Tuition and Fees 
 

Example 4: State Grant award for single independent student with dependents enrolled in 4-year 
degree program taking 12 credits at private 4-year college on semester system. Student has 9-month 
annual Federal Methodology EFC of $2,241. 
 
Tuition $1,133.33 per credit X 30 credits = $34,000 
Tuition for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $34,000 X .50 = $17,000 
Tuition for 12 Credit Semester = $17,000 X 12/15ths or 80% = $13,600 
 
Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $600 
Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $300 
Fees for 12 Credit Semester = $300 X 12/15ths or 80% = $240 
 
Annual Full-Time Tuition and Fee Maximum = $14,186 
Maximum for Full-Time (15 Credits) Semester = $14,186 X .50 = $7,093 
Maximum for 12 Credits Semester = $7,093 X 12/15ths or 80% = $5,674 
 
Tuition used in term award calculation = $-------- 
Fees used in term award calculation = $-------- 

 $5,674 (tuition and fee maximum) 
 
LME used in award calculation + $3,728 ($9,320 X .50 = $4,660) 

                     ($4,660 X .80 (12/15) = $3,728) 
 
State Grant Budget for Term: = $9,402 
 
Minus 50% Student Share - $4,701 ($9,402 X .50 = $4,701) 
 
Minus FM Student Contribution - $   964 ($2,241 X .50 = $1,121) 
    ($1,121 X .86 = $964) 
    (prorated by state) 
 
Minus Full-Time Pell Grant - $1,783 ($3,565 X .50) 
 
State Grant Award for Term = $1,954 (over semester minimum award of $50) 
 
* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot 
include fees for the purchase of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of 
required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are charged to all 
students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can 
be waived for certain students, even if required for other students. 



 
FINANCIAL AID MANUAL 

 
NUMBER 

Section III 

 
PAGE 

App 9 
 
SECTION 
 State Grant Program 

 
DATE 

July 2016 

  
Sample 2016-2017 State Grant Term Award Calculations 

Using Average Tuition and Fees 
 

Example 5: State Grant award for dependent student enrolled in 2-year degree program taking 11 
credits at private 2-year college with tuition banding on semester system. Student has 9-month annual 
FM Parent Contribution of $2,829 and 9-Month Federal EFC of $3,414. 
 
Tuition $680 per credit for student taking 1 - 11 credits 
Tuition $8,160 band for students taking 12 - 18 credits = $8,160 
Full-Time (15 Credits) Semester Tuition = $8,160 
Tuition for 11 Credit Semester = $8,160 X 11/15ths or 73.3% = $5,981.28 = $5,981 
 
Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $500 
Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $500 X .50 = $250 
Fees for 11 Credit Semester = $250 X 11/15ths or 73.3% = $183.25 = $183 
 
Tuition and Fees for 11 Credit Semester = $6,164 
 
2-Year Annual Tuition and Fee Maximum = $5,736 
Maximum for Full-Time (15 Credits) Semester = $5,736 X 50% = $2,868 
Maximum for 11 Credit Semester = $2,868 X 11/15ths or 73.3% = $2,102 
 
Tuition used in term award calculation = $-------- 
Fees used in term award calculation = $-------- 

 $2,102 (tuition and fee maximum) 
 
LME used in award calculation + $3,416 (50% of 11/15 of 15 credit LME of $9,320) 

  ($9,320 X .50 = $4,660) 
  ($4,660 X .733 = $3,416) 

 
State Grant Budget for Term: = $5,518 
 
Minus 50% Student Share - $2,759 ($5,518 X .50 = $2,759) 
 
Minus FM Parent Contribution - $1,330 ($2,829 X .50 = $1,415 X .94 = $1,330) 
 
Minus 3/4-Time Pell Grant - $1,183 ($2,365 X .50 = $1,183) 
 
State Grant Award for Term = $   246 (over semester minimum award of $50) 
 
* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot 
include fees for the purchase of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of 
required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are charged to all 
students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can 
be waived for certain students, even if required for other students. 
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Sample 2016-2017 State Grant Term Award Calculations 

Using Average Tuition and Fees 
 
Example 6: State Grant award for single independent student without dependents enrolled in 
2-year degree program taking 7 credits at private 2-year vocational college on quarter system. Student 
has 9-month annual Federal Methodology EFC of $7,000. 
 
$250 per credit X 45 quarter credits = $11,250 
Tuition for Full-Time (15 Credits) Quarter = $3,750 
Tuition for 7 Credit Quarter = $3,750 X 7/15ths or 46.7% = $1,751.25 = $1,751 
 
Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 45 quarter credits = $300 
Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Quarter = $100 
Fees for 7 Credit Quarter = $100 X 7/15ths or 46.7% = $46.70 = $47 
 
Tuition and Fees for 7 Credit Quarter = $1,798 
 
Annual Tuition and Fee Maximum: $5,736 
Maximum for Full-Time (15 Credits) Quarter = $5,736 X .3333% = $1,912 
Maximum for 7 Credit Quarter = $1,912 X .467 (7/15ths) = $893 
 
Tuition used in term award calculation = $-------- 
Fees used in term award calculation = $-------- 

 $   893 (tuition and fee maximum) 
 
LME used in award calculation + $1,451 ($9,320 X .3333 = $3,106) 

  ($3,106 X .467 (7/15) = $1,451) 
  (15 credit LME prorated for student taking 
    fewer than 15 credits) 

 
State Grant Budget for Term: = $2,344 
 
Minus 50% Student Share - $1,172 ($2,344 X .50 = $1,172) 
 
Minus FM Student Contribution - $1,167 ($7,000 X .3333 = $2,333) 
    ($2,333 X .50 = $1,167) 
    (prorated by state) 
 
Minus Half-Time Pell Grant - $       0  
 
State Grant Award for Term = $       0 (under $33 minimum award for quarter) 
 
* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot 
include fees for the purchase of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of 
required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are charged to all 
students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can 
be waived for certain students, even if required for other students. 
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Sample 2016-2017 State Grant Term Award Calculations 

Using Average Tuition and Fees 
 
Example 7: State Grant awards for dependent student taking 10 credits at 2-year public college 
and 7 credits at a private 4-year college both on semester system for the same term. Award calculated 
and disbursed separately at both schools. Public college was first to report award to OHE for 10 
credits, so private 4-year college is limited to using 5 credits of actual tuition and fees, tuition and fee 
maximum and LME. Student has 9-month annual Federal Methodology Parent Contribution of $0 and 
9-Month Federal Methodology EFC of $0. 
 
Annual Full-Time Tuition at Public College: $170 per credit X 30 Semester Credits = $5,100 
Tuition for Full-Time (15 Credits) Semester = $5,100 X .50 = $2,550 
Tuition for 10 Credit Semester = $2,550 X 10/15ths or 66.7% = $1,701  
 
Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $600 
Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $600 X .50 = $300 
Fees for 10 Credit Semester = $300 X 10/15ths or 66.7% = $200 
 
Tuition and Fee Maximum for 2-Year College = $5,736 X .50 = $2,868  
                                                                             $2,868 X 10/15ths or .667 = $1,913 
 
Award Calculation at Public College for 10 Credits 
 
Tuition used in term award calc:  $1,701 
Fees used in term award calculation:  $   200  

 $1,901 (actual tuition and fees below cap) 
 
LME used in award calculation + $3,108 ($9,320 X .50 = $4,660) 

  ($4,660 X .667 = $3,108) 
  (LME would be limited to 8 credits if  
    private college reported first) 

 
State Grant Budget for Term: = $5,009 
 
Minus 50% Student Share - $2,505 ($5,009 X .50 = $2,505) 
 
Minus FM Parent Contribution - $       0 
 
Minus 3/4-Time Pell Grant - $2,181 ($4,361 X .50 = $2,181) 
 
State Grant Award for Term = $   323 (over minimum semester award of $50) 
at 2-Year Public College 
 
* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot 
include fees for the purchase of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of 
required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are charged to all 
students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can 
be waived for certain students, even if required for other students. 
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Example 7 (continued) 
 
Annual Full-Time Tuition at Private College: $1,133.33 per credit X 30 credits = $34,000 
Full-Time Tuition for Semester = $34,000 X .50 = $17,000 
Tuition for Remaining 5 Credits of Eligibility = $17,000 X 5/15ths or 33.3% = $5,661  
 
Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $600 
Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $600 X .50 = $300 
Fees for 5 Credits of Remaining Eligibility = $300 X 5/15ths or 33.3% = $100 
 
Annual Tuition and Fee Maximum for 4-Year College = $14,186 
Maximum for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $14,186 X 50% = $7,093 
Maximum for Remaining 5 Credits of Eligibility = $7,093 X .333 (5/15ths) = $2,362 
 
Award Calculation at Private 4-Year College for 5 Credits  
 
Tuition and fees used:  $2,362 (tuition and fee maximum for 5 credits) 

   
 
LME used in award calculation + $1,552 ($9,320 X .50 = $4,660) 
    ($4,660 X .333 (5/15ths) = $1,552) 

  (10 credits LME used at public college 
    leaving 5 remaining credits of LME) 

 
State Grant Budget for Term = $3,914 
 
Minus 50% Student Share - $1,957 ($3,914 X .50 = $1,957) 
 
Minus Federal Parent Contribution - $       0 
 
Minus Less Than Half-Time Pell Grant - $   727 ($1,454 X .50 = $727) 
 
State Grant Award for Term = $1,230 (over minimum semester award of $50) 
at Private 4-Year College 
 
* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot 
include fees for the purchase of required equipment or supplies, but may include charges for rental of 
required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are charged to all 
students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can 
be waived for certain students, even if required for other students. 
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Sample 2016-2017 State Grant Term Award Calculations 

Using Individualized Tuition and Fees 
 
Example 8: State Grant award for dependent student enrolled in 4-year degree program taking 
10 credits at a 4-year private college and 10 credits at a 2-year public college both on semester 
system. Credits and costs are combined and the award is calculated and disbursed at the 4-year 
private college. In this case, average tuition and mandatory fees for 15 credits combined from both 
schools are compared to the 4-year private college tuition and fee maximum for the student’s 
combined credits. Student has 9-month annual State Parent Contribution of $0 and 9-Month Federal 
EFC of $0. 

Annual Full-Time Average Tuition at Private College: $1,133.33 per credit X 30 credits = $34,000 
Full-Time Tuition for Semester = $34,000 X .50 = $17,000 
Tuition for 10 Credits = $17,000 X 10/15ths or 66.7% = $11,339  

Annual mandatory fees* charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $600 
Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $600 X .50 = $300 
Fees for 10 Credits = $300 X 10/15ths or 66.7% = $200 

Annual Full-Time Average Tuition at 2-Year Public College: $170 per credit X 30 credits = $5,100 
Full-Time Tuition for Semester = $5,100 X .50 = $2,550 
Tuition for 5 Remaining Credits of Eligibility = $2,550 X 5/15ths or 33.3% = $849  

Annual mandatory fees charged to all students for 30 semester credits = $600 
Fees for Full-Time (15 credits) Semester = $600 X .50 = $300 
Fees for 5 Credits of Remaining Eligibility = $300 X 5/15ths or 33.3% = $100 

10 Credits Tuition and Fees at Private 4-Year College = $11,539 
5 Credits Tuition and Fees at Public 2-Year College = $     949 
    $12,488 

Private Tuition and Fee Maximum for 4-Year College for 15 Credits: $14,186 X .50 = $7,093 
$12,488 Exceeds Tuition and Fee Maximum of $7,093, so $7,093 is used  

Award Calculation at Private 4-Year College for Combined Credits 

Tuition and fees used:  $  7,093 
LME used in award calculation + $  4,660 ($9,320 X .50 = $4,660) 

  (LME limited to 15 credits per term) 

State Grant Budget for Term: = $11,753 

Minus 50% Student Share - $  5,877 ($11,753 X .50 = $5,877) 

Minus State Parent Contribution - $         0  

Minus Full-Time Pell Grant - $  2,908 ($5,815 X .50 = $2,908) 

State Grant Award for Term = $  2,968 (over minimum semester award of $50) 

* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot 
include fees for the purchase of required kits, equipment or supplies, but may include charges for 
rental of required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are charged to all 
students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can 
be waived for certain students, even if required for other students.  
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Sample 2016-2017 State Grant Term Award Calculations 

Using Average Tuition and Fees 
 

Example 9: State Grant award for single independent student with no dependents attending 
progressive clock hour school for 30+ hours per week. School defines full-time academic year as 1200 
clock hours and divides academic year into 2 payment periods, like semesters. Student has 9-month 
annual Federal Methodology EFC of $1,505. 
 
Tuition: $13,840 for 1550-hour cosmetology program = $8.39 per hour 
Annual Tuition for Full-Time 1200-Hour Academic Year = 1,200 X $8.39 = $10,068 
Tuition for Full-Time 600-Hour Payment Period/Semester = $10,068 X .50 = $5,034 
 
Mandatory fees* charged to all students for 1550 hour cosmetology program = $200 = $.13 hr 
Fees for Full-Time 1200-hour academic year = 1,200 X $.13 = $156 
Fees for Full-Time 600-Hour Payment Period/Semester = $156 X .50 = $78 
 
Annual Full-Time Tuition and Fee Maximum for 2-Year College = $5,736 
Maximum for Full-Time 600-Hour Payment Period = $5,736 X .50 = $2,868 
 
Tuition used in term award calculation = $------- 
Fees used in term award calculation  = $------- 

 $2,868 (private tuition and fee maximum) 
 
LME used in award calculation + $4,660 ($9,320 X .50 = $4,660) 
 
State Grant Budget for Period: = $7,528 
 
Minus 50% Student Share - $3,764 ($7,528 X .50 = $3,764) 
 
Minus FM EFC  - $   377 ($1,505 X .50 = $753) 
    ($753 X .50 = $377) 
    (prorated by state) 
 
Minus Full-Time Pell Grant - $2,133 (50% of $4,265) 
 
State Grant Award for Term = $1,254 (over minimum semester award of $50) 
 
* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees cannot 
include fees for the purchase of required kits, equipment or supplies, but may include charges for 
rental of required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees are charged to all 
students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees cannot include fees that can 
be waived for certain students, even if required for other students.  
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Sample 2016-2017 State Grant Term Award Calculations 

Using Average Tuition and Fees 
Example 10: State Grant award for single independent student with dependents attending 
progressive clock hour school for 22 hours per week (Level 11). School defines full-time academic 
year as 1200 clock hours and divides academic year into 2 payment periods, like semesters. Student 
has a 9-month Federal Methodology EFC of $1,505. Student has 350 remaining hours in program. 

Tuition $5,000 for 350-hour manicurist program = $14.29 per hour 
Annual Full-Time Tuition for 1200-Hour Academic Year = 1,200 X $14.29 = $17,148 
Tuition for Full-Time 600-Hour Payment Period = $17,148 X .50 = $8,574 
Tuition for Level 11 440-Hour Payment Period = $8,574 X 11/15ths or 73.3% = $6,285 

Mandatory fees* charged to all students for 350-hour manicurist program = $100 = $.29 hour 
Fees for Full-Time 1200-hour academic year = 1,200 X $.29 = $348 
Fees for Full-Time 600-Hour Payment Period = $348 X .50 = $174 
Fees for Level 11 440-Hour Payment Period = $174 X 11/15ths or 73.3% = $127.50 = $128  

Annual Full-Time Tuition and Fee Maximum for 2-Year College = $5,736 
Maximum for Full-Time 600-Hour Payment Period = $5,736 X .50 = $2,868 
Maximum for Level 11 440-Hours Payment Period = $2,868 X 11/15ths or 73.3% = $2,102 

Tuition used in term award calculation = $------- 
Fees used in term award calculation = $------- 

 $2,102 (tuition and fee maximum Level 11) 

LME used in award calculation + $3,416 ($9,320 Level 15 LME X .50 = $4,660) 
   ($4,660 X 11/15 (.733) = $3,416) 

 (LME for Level 11 period) 

State Grant Budget for Period: = $5,518 

Minus 50% Student Share - $2,759 ($5,518 X .50 = $2,759) 

Minus FM EFC - $   648 ($1,505 X .50 = $753) 
    ($753 X .86 = $648) 
    (prorated by state) 

Minus 3/4-Time Pell Grant - $1,600 (50% of 3/4-time annual Pell of $3,199 = $1,600) 

State Grant Award for Level 11 = $   511 (over minimum semester award of $50) 
Pay Period of 440 hours 

Prorated State Grant Award for 
350 remaining hours within 440 hour 
pay period $511 X 350/440 (.80) = $   409 
 
* Fees can only include mandatory fees charged to all students enrolled at the institution. Fees 
cannot include fees for the purchase of required kits, equipment or supplies, but may include 
charges for rental of required equipment or supplies if the school retains ownership and the fees 
are charged to all students. Fees cannot cover rental or purchase charges for books. Fees 
cannot include fees that can be waived for certain students, even if required for other students. 
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 DDS Processing Cycle 
 

 

 

 
1. The DDS institution submits a batch of DDS 

records to the Agency via SG web access upload 
or automated SFTP process.  

2. School also requests funds using SG web access 
screen. 

 

 

 
The Office of Higher Education provides an initial 
funds advance for first term payments no sooner than 
14 days in advance of the first term’s start date, based 
on historical payment data for the institution and the 
sum of term awards in the institution’s most recent 
batch. 

 

 

 
The Agency compares the institution’s trailer record 
totals with its own computation of totals. If a 
discrepancy is found, the Agency will not process the 
DDS transmittal and will ask the school to correct 
and resubmit its transmittal. 

 The Roster of Rejected Awards/Payments displays 
rejected payments for students with award or 
payment calculation errors. The roster also includes 
warning edits for awards that are below the Agency’s 
calculated award and discrepancies in the EFC and 
PC. 

  
The Award Error Detail Roster displays data on all 
award errors occurring within the batch and compares 
the institution’s need analysis and State Grant awards 
to the results calculated by the Agency. 

 
 
The Roster of Accepted Payments displays all 
students in the DDS batch with accepted payments 
and total accepted payments by term. 

 
 
A Reconciliation Report is generated to enable the 
Agency and the institution to reconcile amounts for 
advances, accepted payments, rejected payments and 
cash balances on hand. 

Award 
Error Detail 
Roster 

Roster of 
Accepted 
Payments 

Reconciliation Report 
   Agency      School 
       $                $ 

Roster of 
Rejected 
Awards/ 
Payments 
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The Agency places output reports in the institution’s 
directory on the SG web access screen. Schools log 
on to SG web access screen to view, print or 
download output reports. 

 
 

 
The institution reviews the reports and makes any 
necessary corrections to its student and accounting 
records. The cycle is repeated on a monthly basis 
until the end of the year with close attention paid to 
the reporting deadlines listed under ‘Reporting 
Deadlines’ in the State Grant Manual. 

 

      

 
The school returns all excess funds and submits an 
error-free final batch by the end of year deadlines 
listed under ‘Reporting Deadlines’ in the State Grant 
manual. 
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Selecting a DDS Batch Population 
 
 
 
 

 
  
 

 
    Total Student 
    Population 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
    Financial Aid 
    Applicants 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
    Financial Aid Applicants 
    Enrolled with Completed  
    Files/Packaged 
 
    Applicants Meeting 
    State Grant Eligibility 
    Requirements 

• MN residents 
• undergraduates who 

haven’t yet earned four-
year degree or reached 
limit on postsecondary 
attendance 

• making satisfactory 
academic progress 

• not in default on student 
loans 

 
 

 
  DDS Batch Population 
 
 
 
DDS Batch should include: 
• Recipients 
• “No-needs” (meet 

eligibility requirements 
but don’t show financial 
need for an award) 
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MN Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet 
USE FOR FULL WITHDRAWAL (or drop below minimum enrollment level) AT 

SCHOOLS CHARGING BY TERM OR CLOCK HOUR PAYMENT PERIOD 
This form is available in spreadsheet format at: http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=1538  

This form should be used to calculate refunds for all state financial aid programs when a student completely withdraws from 
school or, for the MN State Grant and SELF Loan programs, if the student drops below minimum enrollment level for those 
programs. This form should only be used by schools charging students by the term or payment period. (Note: Refunds are never 
required for the State Work Study program.) 
            
Student Name:   SSN:  
            
Did student totally withdraw from school? (enter Yes/No)       
Date of student withdrawal or change in enrollment level:     
            
PART I – DETERMINING AMOUNT OF NET REFUND 
            
A. Amount of financial aid and cash received to date for the term or clock hour payment period, including any 

post-withdrawal disbursements of Title IV financial aid applied to institutional charges. Include cents. If 
funds exceed the original institutional charges* for the term or clock hour payment period, enter the amount 
of original institutional charges only. To determine the amount of financial aid applied to the clock hour 
payment period, see corresponding OHE Refund Calculation Spreadsheet. 

  
   
   
   
 A  
            
B. Subtract amount of original institutional charges for the term or clock hour payment period the school can 

retain per its institutional or state-mandated refund policy. 
  

 B  
            
C. = GROSS REFUND   
 If gross refund is less than or equal to zero, then no refund is due state financial aid programs. C  
            
D. Subtract amount of institutional share of any required refund for Title IV financial aid programs from Step 5    
 Box O) of Return of Title IV Funds Refund Worksheet. Enter 0 if no Title IV refund is due. D  
            
    
E. = NET REFUND   
 If net refund is less than or equal to zero, then no refund is due state financial aid programs. E  
            
 
*The state adopts the definition of institutional charges used for federal Title IV aid programs under 484B of the Higher 
Education Act of 1965 as amended and 34 CFR 668.22. 

  

            

http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=1538
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=1538
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PART II – DETERMINING PROPORTIONAL SHARE OF NET REFUND FOR DISTRIBUTION TO NON-TITLE IV AID PROGRAMS 
            
List all non-Title IV financial aid received for the term or clock hour payment period. Include only programs requiring 
refunds when a student withdraws from school or drops below minimum enrollment level. For SELF Loans, use the 
total loan divided by the number of attendance periods in the loan period. Do NOT include work study awards. Clock 
hour schools should refer the example shown in the corresponding OHE Refund Calculation Spreadsheet to 
calculate an hourly rate for aid disbursed and apply those percentages to the net refund on Line E above. 

 

            
       % of Non-

Title IV Aid 
Package 

 Refund(s) to 
State Financial 
Aid Programs 

  

 

Program Name 

 
Amount 
Disbursed 

 (For each program 
divide amount 
disbursed by total 
disbursed and 
round to two 
decimal places, 
(45.665%=45.67%) 

 (Multiply Part I, Line E 
by % of Non-Title IV 
Aid Package for each 
program and round to 
nearest dollar) 

  

1 State Grant  $  %  $    
2 Postsecondary Child Care Grant  $  %      $    
3 Safety Officer’s Survivor Grant  $  %  $    
4 SELF Loan  $  %  $    
5 MN Indian Scholarship  $  %  $    
6 MN GI Bill  $  %  $    
7 MnSCU Occupational Grant  $  %  $    
8   $  %  $    
9   $  %  $    
   TOTAL     $   100.0%     
            
 
            
WHERE TO RETURN REFUNDS: 
            
SELF Loan refunds should be returned to:  Firstmark Services, PO Box 82522, Lincoln, NE  68501 
            
State Grant, Child Care Grant and MnSCU Occupational Grant refunds occurring before the school closes out its activity for the aid 
year should be placed back in the school’s accounts on campus. Refunds for MN Indian Scholarship as well as post-closure refunds for 
State Grant, Child Care Grant and MnSCU Occupational Grant should be returned as individual refunds to OHE on the Refund Return 
Form downloadable from: http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=1538. Refunds for other state financial aid programs should 
also be sent directly to OHE on the Refund Return Form.  
            

 
 

http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=1538
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=1538


 
 

FINANCIAL AID MANUAL 
 

NUMBER 
Section III 

 
PAGE 

App 13b 
 
SECTION 
 State Grant Program 

 
DATE 

July 1, 2016 

 
 

MN Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet 
USE FOR FULL WITHDRAWAL (or drop below minimum enrollment level) AT 

SCHOOLS CHARGING UPFRONT FOR PROGRAM 
This form is available in spreadsheet format at: http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=1538  

This form should be used to calculate refunds for all state financial aid programs when a student completely withdraws from 
school or, for the MN State Grant and SELF Loan programs, if the student drops below minimum enrollment level for those 
programs. This form should only be used by schools charging students upfront for the entire program and whose refund policies 
are based on the percentage of the program completed. (Note: Refunds are never required for the State Work Study program.) 
            
Student Name:   SSN:  
            
Did student totally withdraw from school? (enter Yes/No)       
Date of student withdrawal or change in enrollment level:     
            
PART I – DETERMINING AMOUNT OF NET REFUND 
            
A. Amount of financial aid and cash received to date for the entire program, including any post-withdrawal 

disbursements of Title IV financial aid and funds disbursed to the student for living expenses. Exclude 
federal or state work study funds. If funds received to date for the program exceed the original institutional 
charges* for the program, cap Line A at the amount of the original institutional charges for the program. 
Include cents. (See example in corresponding OHE Refund Calculation Spreadsheet.) 

  
   
   
   
 A  
            
B. Amount of original institutional charges for the program the school can retain per its institutional or state-

mandated refund policy.                                                                                                                                   - 
  

 B  
            
C. A – B = GROSS REFUND   
 If gross refund is less than or equal to zero, then no refund is due state financial aid programs.                   = C  
            
D. Amount of institutional share of any required refund for Title IV financial aid programs from Step 5    
 Box O) of Return of Title IV Funds Refund Worksheet. Enter 0 if no Title IV refund is due.                            - D  
            
    
E. C – D = NET REFUND   
 If net refund is less than or equal to zero, then no refund is due state financial aid programs.                      = E  
            
 
*The state adopts the definition of institutional charges used for federal Title IV aid programs under 484B of the Higher 
Education Act of 1965 as amended and 34 CFR 668.22. 

  

       
 

       

http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=1538
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=1538
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PART II – DETERMINING PROPORTIONAL SHARE OF NET REFUND FOR DISTRIBUTION TO NON-TITLE IV AID PROGRAMS 
            
List all non-Title IV financial aid received to date during the student's program and for the current aid year including 
any funds disbursed to the student for living expenses. Include only programs requiring refunds when a student 
withdraws from school which can include institutional and private scholarships or other forms of non-Title IV aid. Do 
NOT include work study awards. 
 
 

 

            
            
 

Program Name 

 Amount 
Disbursed 
to Date for 
Student’s 
Entire 
Program 

 % of Non-
Title IV Aid 
Package  
For each program 
divide amount 
disbursed by total 
disbursed and 
round to two 
decimal places,  
(45.665=45.67%) 

 Refund(s) to 
State 
Financial Aid 
Programs  
(Multiply Part I, Line E 
by % of Non-Title IV 
Aid Package for each 
program and round to 
nearest dollar. 

  

1 State Grant  $  %  $     
2 Postsecondary Child Care Grant  $  %      $     
3 Safety Officer’s Survivor Grant  $  %  $    
4 SELF Loan  $  %  $    
5 MN Indian Scholarship  $  %  $    
6 MN GI Bill  $  %  $    
7   $  %  $    
8   $  %  $    
9   $  %  $    
   TOTAL     $   100.0%     
            
 
            
WHERE TO RETURN REFUNDS: 
            
SELF Loan refunds should be returned to:  Firstmark Services, PO Box 82522, Lincoln, NE  68501 
            
State Grant and Child Care Grant refunds occurring before the school closes out its activity for the aid year should be placed back in 
the school’s State Grant or Child Care Grant account on campus. Refunds for MN Indian Scholarship as well as post-closure refunds 
for State Grant and Child Care Grant should be returned as individual refunds to OHE on the Refund Return Form downloadable from: 
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=1538. Refunds for other state financial aid programs should also be sent directly to OHE 
on the Refund Return Form.  
            

 
 

Note: If 
calculated 
refund 
amounts 
exceeds 
amount 
disbursed from 
that program 
during the 
current aid 
year, cap the 
refund and 
return only the 
amount 
disbursed 
during the 
current aid 
year. 

http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=1538
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MN Office of Higher Education Refund Calculation Worksheet 
USE FOR PARTIAL WITHDRAWAL (MN State Grant, Postsecondary Child Care Grant, Safety Officer’s Survivor Grant) 

This form is available in spreadsheet format at: http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=1538  

This form should be used to calculate refunds for the MN State Grant, Postsecondary Child Care Grant and Safety Officer’s 
Survivor Grant programs when the student changes enrollment level at a credit-hour institution that charges by the term but is 
still enrolled at or above the minimum enrollment level for each program. 
            
Student Name:   SSN:  
            
Date of student’s change in enrollment level:      
            
PART I – DETERMINING AMOUNT OF NET REFUND 
            
A. Amount of financial aid and cash received to date for the term, including any post-withdrawal disbursements 

of Title IV financial aid applied to institutional charges.*  Include cents. If funds received exceed the original 
institutional charges, enter the amount of original institutional charges only.  
  

  
   
   
 A  
            
B. Amount of original institutional charges the school can retain per its institutional or 

State-mandated refund policy.*                                                                                                                        - 
  

 B  
            
C. A – B = GROSS REFUND    
 If gross refund is less than or equal to zero, then no refund is due state financial aid programs.                   = C  
            
*The state adopts the definition of institutional charges used for federal Title IV aid programs under 484B of the 
Higher Education Act of 1965 as amended and 34 CFR 668.22. 

  

            
PART II – DIFFERENCE BETWEEN ORIGINAL AND REVISED STATE FINANCIAL AID AWARDS 
            
 

 
Credits  

State 
Grant 
Award  

Child Care 
Grant 
Award  

Safety 
Officer’s 
Survivor 
Award   

Original Enrollment Level:  $  $  $    
          
Revised Enrollment Level  - $  - $  - $    
          
AWARD DIFFERENCE  = $  = $  = $    
(Original minus Revised)          
            

  

http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=1538
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PART III – DETERMINING PROPORTIONAL SHARE OF NET REFUND FOR DISTRIBUTION TO NON-TITLE IV AID PROGRAMS 
            
List all non-Title IV financial aid received to date for the term. Include only programs requiring refunds when a student changes 
enrollment level but is still enrolled at or above the minimum enrollment for the program.  
            
            
       % of Non-

Title IV Aid 
Package 

 Proportional 
Share of 
Refund* 

 Refund for 
Partial 
Withdrawal 

 Program Name  
Amount 
Disbursed  

(For each program 
divide amount 
disbursed by  
total disbursed and 
round to two 
decimal places, 
(45.665%=45.67%)  

(Multiply Part I, Line 
C by % of Non-Title 
IV Aid Package for 
each program and 
round to nearest 
dollar.)  

(Lesser of program 
Award Difference in 
Part II or  
Proportional Share  
of Refund) 

1 State Grant*  $  %   $  $  
2 Postsecondary Child Care Grant* $  %   $  $  
3 Safety Officer’s Survivor Grant $  %   $  $  
4   $  %  $  $  
5  $  %  $  $  
     TOTAL   = $  = 100.0% $    
            
 
            
WHERE TO RETURN REFUNDS: 
            
State Grant and Child Care Grant refunds occurring before the school closes out its activity for the aid year should be placed back in 
the school’s State Grant or Child Care Grant account on campus. Post-closure refunds for these programs as well as refunds for the 
Safety Officer’s Survivor Grant should always be sent directly to OHE using the Refund Return Form downloadable from: 
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=1538. 
            

 
 

http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/mPg.cfm?pageID=1538
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SAMPLE GENERAL LEDGER 
FOR MINNESOTA STATE GRANT PROGRAM 

DECENTRALIZED DELIVERY SYSTEM SCHOOLS 
 
 
 

 
Date 

 
Description 

 
Debits 

 
Credits 

 
Balance 

 
9/1/2016 

 
From State Grant Program 
Fall Semester 2016 Advance 

 
 

 
$950,000 

 
$950,000 

 
9/21/2016 

 
Disbursed to Student Accounts 
(Invoice #395) 

 
$800,000 

 
 

 
$150,000 

 
10/03/2016 

 
Refunds from 9/21/2016 disbursements 
(Invoice #493) 

 
 

 
$100,000 

 
$250,000 

 
12/30/2016 

 
From State Grant Program  
for Spring Semester Advance 

 
 

 
$700,000 

 
$950,000 

 
 1/12/2017 

 
Disbursed to Student Accounts 
(Invoice #654) 

 
$800,000 

 
 

 
$150,000 

 
1/25/2017 

 
Refunds from 01/12/2017 

 
 

 
$40,000 

 
$190,000 

 
8/25/2017 

 
Returned 2016-2017 Balance to  
Office of Higher Education 

 
$190,000 

 
 

 
$0 
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Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School 

900 Hour Academic Year – 3 Pay Periods 
 

 
 

 
 

State Payment Periods 
 
State Grant 
Enrollment 
Level 

 
Hours 

Per Week 

 
% State 
Budget 

 
Hrs State 
Acad Yr 

 
Pay Period 

1 

 
Pay Period 

2 

 
Pay Period 

3 
 

Level 15 
 

30+ 
 

100% 
 

900 
 

300 
(1-300) 

 
300 

(301-601) 

 
300 

(601-900) 
 

Level 14 
 

28-29 
 

93.3% 
 

840 
 

280 
(1-280) 

 
280 

(281-560) 

 
280 

(561-840) 
 

Level 13 
 

26-27 
 

86.7% 
 

780 
 

260 
(1-260) 

 
260 

(261-520) 

 
260 

(521-780) 
 

Level 12 
 

24-25 
 

80% 
 

720 
 

240 
(1-240) 

 
240 

(241-480) 

 
240 

(481-720) 
 

Level 11 
 

22-23 
 

73.3% 
 

660 
 

220 
(1-220) 

 
220 

(221-400) 

 
220 

(441-660) 
 

Level 10 
 

20-21 
 

66.7% 
 

600 
 

200 
(1-200) 

 
200 

(201-400) 

 
200 

(401-600) 
 

Level 9 
 

18-19 
 

60% 
 

540 
 

180 
(1-180) 

 
180 

(181-360) 

 
180 

(361-540) 
 

Level 8 
 

16-17 
 

53.3% 
 

480 
 

160 
(1-160) 

 
160 

(161-320) 

 
160 

(321-480) 
 

Level 7 
 

14-15 
 

46.7% 
 

420 
 

140 
(1-140) 

 
140 

(141-280) 

 
140 

(281-420) 
 

Level 6 
 

12-13 
 

40% 
 

360 
 

120 
(1-120) 

 
120 

(121-240) 

 
120 

(241-360) 
 

Level 5 
 

10-11 
 

33.3% 
 

300 
 

100 
(1-100) 

 
100 

(101-200) 

 
100 

(201-300) 
 

Level 4 
 

8-9 
 

26.7% 
 

240 
 

80 
(1-80) 

 
80 

(81-160) 

 
80 

(161-240) 
 

Level 3 
 

6-7 
 

20.0% 
 

180 
 

60 
(1-60) 

 
60 

(61-120) 

 
60 

(121-180) 
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Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School 

900 Hour Academic Year – 2 Pay Periods 
 

 
 

 
 

State Payment Periods 
 
State Grant 
Enrollment 
Level 

 
Hours 

Per Week 

 
% State 
Budget 

 
Hrs State 
Acad Yr 

 
Pay Period 

1 

 
Pay Period 

2 
 

Level 15 
 

30 + 
 

100% 
 

900 
 

450 
(1-450) 

 
450 

(451-900) 
 

Level 14 
 

28-29 
 

93.3% 
 

840 
 

420 
(1-420) 

 
420 

(421-840) 
 

Level 13 
 

26-27 
 

86.7% 
 

780 
 

390 
(1-390) 

 
390 

(391-780) 
 

Level 12 
 

24-25 
 

80% 
 

720 
 

360 
(1-360) 

 
360 

(361-720) 
 

Level 11 
 

22-23 
 

73.3% 
 

660 
 

330 
(1-330) 

 
330 

(331-660) 
 

Level 10 
 

20-21 
 

66.7% 
 

600 
 

300 
(1-300) 

 
300 

(301-600) 
 

Level 9 
 

18-19 
 

60% 
 

540 
 

270 
(1-270) 

 
270 

(271-540) 
 

Level 8 
 

16-17 
 

53.3% 
 

480 
 

240 
(1-240) 

 
240 

(241-480) 
 

Level 7 
 

14-15 
 

46.7% 
 

420 
 

210 
(1-210) 

 
210 

(211-420) 
 

Level 6 
 

12-13 
 

40.0% 
 

360 
 

180 
(1-180) 

 
180 

(181-360) 
 

Level 5 
 

10-11 
 

33.3% 
 

300 
 

150 
(1-150) 

 
150 

(150-300) 
 

Level 4 
 

8-9 
 

26.7% 
 

240 
 

120 
(1-120) 

 
120 

(121-240) 
 

Level 3 
 

6-7 
 

20.0% 
 

180 
 

90 
(1-90) 

 
90 

(91-180) 
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Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School 

1100 Hour Academic Year – 3 Pay Periods 
 

 
 

 
 

State Payment Periods 
 
State Grant 
Enrollment 
Level 

 
Hours 

Per Week 

 
% State 
Budget 

 
Hrs State 
Acad Yr 

 
Pay Period 

1 

 
Pay Period 

2 

 
Pay Period 

3 
 

Level 15 
 

30+ 
 

100% 
 

1100 
 

367 
(1-367) 

 
367 

(368-734) 

 
366 

(735-1100) 
 

Level 14 
 

28-29 
 

93.3% 
 

1026 
 

342 
(1-342) 

 
342 

(343-684) 

 
342 

(685-1026) 
 

Level 13 
 

26-27 
 

86.7% 
 

954 
 

318 
(1-318) 

 
318 

(319-636) 

 
318 

(637-954) 
 

Level 12 
 

24-25 
 

80% 
 

880 
 

294 
(1-294) 

 
293 

(295-587) 

 
293 

(588-880) 
 

Level 11 
 

22-23 
 

73.3% 
 

806 
 

269 
(1-269) 

 
269 

(270-538) 

 
268 

(539-806) 
 

Level 10 
 

20-21 
 

66.7% 
 

734 
 

245 
(1-245) 

 
245 

(246-490) 

 
244 

(491-734) 
 

Level 9 
 

18-19 
 

60% 
 

660 
 

220 
(1-220) 

 
220 

(221-440) 

 
220 

(441-660) 
 

Level 8 
 

16-17 
 

53.3% 
 

586 
 

196 
(1-196) 

 
195 

(197-391) 

 
195 

(392-586) 
 

Level 7 
 

14-15 
 

46.7% 
 

514 
 

172 
(1-172) 

 
171 

(173-343) 

 
171 

(344-514) 
 

Level 6 
 

12-13 
 

40% 
 

440 
 

147 
(1-147) 

 
147 

(148-294) 

 
146 

(295-440) 
 

Level 5 
 

10-11 
 

33.3% 
 

367 
 

123 
(1-123) 

 
122 

(124-245) 

 
122 

(246-367) 
 

Level 4 
 

8-9 
 

26.7% 
 

294 
 

98 
(1-98) 

 
98 

(99-196) 

 
98 

(197-294) 
 

Level 3 
 

6-7 
 

20.0% 
 

220 
 

74 
(1-74) 

 
73 

(75-147) 

 
73 

(148-220) 
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Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School 
1100 Hour Academic Year – 2 Pay Periods 

 
 

 
 

 
State Payment Periods 

 
State Grant 
Enrollment 
Level 

 
Hours 

Per Week 

 
% State 
Budget 

 
Hrs State 
Acad Yr 

 
Pay Period 

1 

 
Pay Period 

2 
 

Level 15 
 

30 + 
 

100% 
 

1100 
 

550 
(1-550) 

 
550 

(551-1100) 
 

Level 14 
 

28-29 
 

93.3% 
 

1026 
 

513 
(1-513) 

 
513 

(514-1026) 
 

Level 13 
 

26-27 
 

86.7% 
 

954 
 

477 
(1-477) 

 
477 

(478-954) 
 

Level 12 
 

24-25 
 

80% 
 

880 
 

440 
(1-440) 

 
440 

(441-880) 
 

Level 11 
 

22-23 
 

73.3% 
 

806 
 

403 
(1-403) 

 
403 

(404-806) 
 

Level 10 
 

20-21 
 

66.7% 
 

734 
 

367 
(1-367) 

 
367 

(368-734) 
 

Level 9 
 

18-19 
 

60% 
 

660 
 

330 
(1-330) 

 
330 

(331-660) 
 

Level 8 
 

16-17 
 

53.3% 
 

586 
 

293 
(1-293) 

 
293 

(294-586) 
 

Level 7 
 

14-15 
 

46.7% 
 

514 
 

257 
(1-257) 

 
257 

(258-514) 
 

Level 6 
 

12-13 
 

40.0% 
 

440 
 

220 
(1-220) 

 
220 

(221-440) 
 

Level 5 
 

10-11 
 

33.3% 
 

367 
 

184 
(1-184) 

 
183 

(185-367) 
 

Level 4 
 

8-9 
 

26.7% 
 

294 
 

147 
(1-147) 

 
147 

(148-294) 
 

Level 3 
 

6-7 
 

20.0% 
 

220 
 

110 
(1-110) 

 
110 

(111-220) 
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Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School 

1200 Hour Academic Year – 3 Pay Periods 
 

 
 

 
 

State Payment Periods 
 
State Grant 
Enrollment 
Level 

 
Hours 

Per Week 

 
% State 
Budget 

 
Hrs State 
Acad Yr 

 
Pay Period 

1 

 
Pay Period 

2 

 
Pay Period 

3 
 

Level 15 
 

30+ 
 

100% 
 

1200 
 

400 
(1-400) 

 
400 

(401-800) 

 
400 

(801-1200) 
 

Level 14 
 

28-29 
 

93.3% 
 

1120 
 

373 
(1-373) 

 
373 

(374-746) 

 
374 

(747-1120) 
 

Level 13 
 

26-27 
 

86.7% 
 

1040 
 

347 
(1-347) 

 
347 

(348-694) 

 
346 

(695-1040) 
 

Level 12 
 

24-25 
 

80% 
 

960 
 

320 
(1-320) 

 
320 

(321-640) 

 
320 

(641-960) 
 

Level 11 
 

22-23 
 

73.3% 
 

880 
 

293 
(1-293) 

 
293 

(294-586) 

 
294 

(587-880) 
 

Level 10 
 

20-21 
 

66.7% 
 

800 
 

267 
(1-267) 

 
267 

(268-534) 

 
266 

(535-800) 
 

Level 9 
 

18-19 
 

60% 
 

720 
 

240 
(1-240) 

 
240 

(241-480) 

 
240 

(481-720) 
 

Level 8 
 

16-17 
 

53.3% 
 

640 
 

213 
(1-213) 

 
213 

(214-426) 

 
214 

(427-640) 
 

Level 7 
 

14-15 
 

46.7% 
 

560 
 

187 
(1-187) 

 
187 

(188-374) 

 
186 

(375-560) 
 

Level 6 
 

12-13 
 

40% 
 

480 
 

160 
(1-160) 

 
160 

(161-320) 

 
160 

(321-480) 
 

Level 5 
 

10-11 
 

33.3% 
 

400 
 

133 
(1-133) 

 
133 

(134-266) 

 
134 

(267-400) 
 

Level 4 
 

8-9 
 

26.7% 
 

320 
 

107 
(1-107) 

 
107 

(108-214) 

 
106 

(215-320) 
 

Level 3 
 

6-7 
 

20.0% 
 

240 
 

80 
(1-80) 

 
80 

(81-160) 

 
80 

(161-240) 
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Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School 

1200 Hour Academic Year – 2 Pay Periods 
 

 
 

 
 

State Payment Periods 
 
State Grant 
Enrollment 
Level 

 
Hours 

Per Week 

 
% State 
Budget 

 
Hrs State 
Acad Yr 

 
Pay Period 

1 

 
Pay Period 

2 
 

Level 15 
 

30 + 
 

100% 
 

1200 
 

600 
(1-600) 

 
600 

(601-1200) 
 

Level 14 
 

28-29 
 

93.3% 
 

1120 
 

560 
(1-560) 

 
560 

(561-1120) 
 

Level 13 
 

26-27 
 

86.7% 
 

1040 
 

520 
(1-520) 

 
520 

(521-1040) 
 

Level 12 
 

24-25 
 

80% 
 

960 
 

480 
(1-480) 

 
480 

(481-960) 
 

Level 11 
 

22-23 
 

73.3% 
 

880 
 

440 
(1-440) 

 
440 

(441-880) 
 

Level 10 
 

20-21 
 

66.7% 
 

800 
 

400 
(1-400) 

 
400 

(401-800) 
 

Level 9 
 

18-19 
 

60% 
 

720 
 

360 
(1-360) 

 
360 

(361-720) 
 

Level 8 
 

16-17 
 

53.3% 
 

640 
 

320 
(1-320) 

 
320 

(321-640) 
 

Level 7 
 

14-15 
 

46.7% 
 

560 
 

280 
(1-280) 

 
280 

(281-560) 
 

Level 6 
 

12-13 
 

40.0% 
 

480 
 

240 
(1-240) 

 
240 

(241-480) 
 

Level 5 
 

10-11 
 

33.3% 
 

400 
 

200 
(1-200) 

 
200 

(201-400) 
 

Level 4 
 

8-9 
 

26.7% 
 

320 
 

160 
(1-160) 

 
160 

(161-320) 
 

Level 3 
 

6-7 
 

20.0% 
 

240 
 

120 
(1-120) 

 
120 

(121-240) 
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Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School 

1550 Hour Academic Year – 3 Pay Periods 
 

 
 

 
 

State Payment Periods 
 
State Grant 
Enrollment 
Level 

 
Hours 

Per Week 

 
% State 
Budget 

 
Hrs State 
Acad Yr 

 
Pay Period 

1 

 
Pay Period 

2 

 
Pay Period 

3 
 

Level 15 
 

30 + 
 

100% 
 

1550 
 

517 
(1-517) 

 
517 

(518-1034) 

 
516 

(1035-1550) 
 

Level 14 
 

28-29 
 

93.3% 
 

1446 
 

482 
(1-482) 

 
482 

(483-964) 

 
482 

(965-1446) 
 

Level 13 
 

26-27 
 

86.7% 
 

1344 
 

448 
(1-448) 

 
448 

(449-896) 

 
448 

(897-1344) 
 

Level 12 
 

24-25 
 

80% 
 

1240 
 

413 
(1-413) 

 
413 

(414-826) 

 
414 

(827-1240) 
 

Level 11 
 

22-23 
 

73.3% 
 

1136 
 

379 
(1-379) 

 
379 

(380-758) 

 
378 

(759-1136) 
 

Level 10 
 

20-21 
 

66.7% 
 

1034 
 

345 
(1-345) 

 
345 

(346-690) 

 
344 

(691-1034) 
 

Level 9 
 

18-19 
 

60% 
 

930 
 

310 
(1-310) 

 
310 

(311-620) 

 
310 

(621-930) 
 

Level 8 
 

16-17 
 

53.3% 
 

826 
 

275 
(1-275) 

 
275 

(276-550) 

 
276 

(551-826) 
 

Level 7 
 

14-15 
 

46.7% 
 

724 
 

241 
(1-241) 

 
241 

(242-482) 

 
242 

(483-724) 
 

Level 6 
 

12-13 
 

40% 
 

620 
 

207 
(1-207) 

 
207 

(208-414) 

 
206 

(415-620) 
 

Level 5 
 

10-11 
 

33.3% 
 

516 
 

172 
(1-172) 

 
172 

(173-344) 

 
172 

(345-516) 
 

Level 4 
 

8-9 
 

26.7% 
 

414 
 

138 
(1-138) 

 
138 

(139-276) 

 
138 

(277-414) 
 

Level 3 
 

6-7 
 

20.0% 
 

310 
 

103 
(1-103) 

 
103 

(104-206) 

 
104 

(207-310) 
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Sample Payment Periods at Progressive Clock Hour School 

1550 Hour Academic Year – 2 Pay Periods 
 

 
 

 
 

State Payment Periods 
 
State Grant 
Enrollment 
Level 

 
Hrs Per 
Week 

 
% State 
Budget 

 
Hrs State 
Acad Yr 

 
Pay Period 

1 

 
Pay Period 

2 
 

Level 15 
 

30 + 
 

100% 
 

1550 
 

775 
(1-775) 

 
775 

(776-1550) 
 

Level 14 
 

28-29 
 

93.3% 
 

1446 
 

723 
(1-723) 

 
723 

(724-1446) 
 

Level 13 
 

26-27 
 

86.7% 
 

1344 
 

672 
(1-672) 

 
672 

(673-1344) 
 

Level 12 
 

24-25 
 

80% 
 

1240 
 

620 
(1-620) 

 
620 

(621-1240) 
 

Level 11 
 

22-23 
 

73.3% 
 

1136 
 

568 
(1-568) 

 
568 

(569-1136) 
 

Level 10 
 

20-21 
 

66.7% 
 

1034 
 

517 
(1-517) 

 
517 

(518-1034) 
 

Level 9 
 

18-19 
 

60% 
 

930 
 

465 
(1-465) 

 
465 

(466-930) 
 

Level 8 
 

16-17 
 

53.3% 
 

826 
 

413 
(1-413) 

 
413 

(414-826) 
 

Level 7 
 

14-15 
 

46.7% 
 

724 
 

362 
(1-362) 

 
362 

(363-724) 
 

Level 6 
 

12-13 
 

40% 
 

620 
 

310 
(1-310) 

 
310 

(311-620) 
 

Level 5 
 

10-11 
 

33.3% 
 

516 
 

258 
(1-258) 

 
258 

(259-516) 
 

Level 4 
 

8-9 
 

26.7% 
 

414 
 

207 
(1-207) 

 
207 

(208-414) 
 

Level 3 
 

6-7 
 

20.0% 
 

310 
 

155 
(1-155) 

 
155 

(156-310) 
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Report Name Roster of Rejected Awards/Payments 
   
 
Program Origin 

 
One of four State Grant Decentralized Delivery System (DDS) Output Reports 

 
Distribution 

 
DDS School (1); Office of Higher Education (1). 

 
Frequency 

 
This output report is generated each time the Office of Higher Education processes a 
DDS batch containing errors. This report will not be generated if there were no 
award or payment errors in the school’s DDS batch. 

 
Purpose 

 
The error edits performed during DDS batch processing inform schools about 
possible overpayments and prevent erroneous data from being loaded to the 
Agency’s State Grant database. This output report provides information to DDS 
schools so that errors can be corrected prior to the next DDS batch submission. The 
total of rejected payments on this roster also appears on the Reconciliation Report, 
another output report displaying accounting totals for the school’s DDS batch. 
Schools can review and print this report on-line by logging into the SG Web Access 
Screen the day after submitting a DDS batch to the Agency. The data can also be 
copied from the report into another format, such as Word or Excel.  

 
General Description 
 

 
This report displays data on all errors that occurred during processing of the school’s 
DDS batch. Most errors result in rejection of awards or payments, but some errors 
are merely warnings that do not result in award or payment rejection. The school is 
responsible for recovering any funds disbursed to students appearing on this report 
with rejected payments, unless data can be corrected that will allow payments to be 
accepted in the next DDS batch submission. A small number of error messages are 
warnings that do not result in rejected payments. Further detail on some of the award 
and payment errors appearing on this report appears on the Award Error Detail 
Roster. 

 
Data Description 

 
A description of the data appearing on this roster is provided below by column 
heading: 

 
• Name 

 
Student’s reported name 

 
• Soc Sec 

 
Student’s reported social security number 

 
• Date of Birth 

 
Student’s reported date of birth 

 
• Total Paid 

 
Total rejected payments for student for all terms 

 
• Summer 1 

 
Student’s rejected payment for leading summer term 

 
• Fall 

 
Student’s rejected payment for fall term 

 
• Winter 

 
Student’s rejected payment for winter term (quarter schools only) 

 
• Spring 

 
Student’s rejected payment for spring term 

 
• Summer 2 

 
Student’s rejected payment for trailing summer term 2 

 
Message 

 
A description of error messages and their corresponding ‘Action Steps’ is provided 
below. 

 
Date of Birth is Blank 
or Invalid 

 
Appears when the date of birth on the student’s incoming DDS record is blank or 
invalid and results in all reported payments being rejected. The school should correct 
the student’s date of birth prior to the next DDS batch submission. 
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SSN is Non-Numeric 

 
Appears when the social security number on the student’s incoming DDS record 
contains a non-numeric value and results in all reported payments being rejected. 
The school should correct the student’s social security number prior to the next DDS 
batch submission. 

 
School’s Name/DOB 
Do Not Match the 
Agency’s Name/DOB 
 

 
Appears when both the student’s name and date of birth on the incoming DDS 
record for a given social security number do not match the name and date of birth 
associated with the corresponding social security number on the Agency’s existing 
State Grant database. This error results in all reported payments being rejected. The 
school should check the student’s social security number, name and date of birth and 
make any necessary changes prior to the next DDS batch submission. If the school 
determines the Agency’s data is in error, the school should notify the Agency’s grant 
unit via email or fax. 

 
Invalid Aid Year on 
DDS Record 
 

 
Appears when the aid year value on the student’s incoming DDS record is not for 
the current year being processed and results in all reported payments being rejected. 
The school should correct the aid year value on the student’s record prior to the next 
DDS batch submission. 
 

 
Term Award is 
Non-Numeric 
 
 

 
Appears when any of the reported term awards contains a non-numeric value other 
than spaces. The name of all affected terms will be included in the error message 
and reported payments for all affected terms will be rejected. The school should 
correct the term award values prior to the next DDS batch submission. 

 
Term Enrollment is 
Blank or > 30 
 
 

 
Appears when any of the reported term enrollment values is blank or greater than 30 
credits in cases where there is a reported payment for that term. The name of all 
affected terms will be included in the error message and reported payments for all 
affected terms will be rejected. The school should correct the term enrollment values 
prior to the next DDS batch submission. 

 
Child Support Hold 
Before Term 
Disbursement 
 

 
Appears when a child support hold existed on the Agency’s State Grant database 
prior to the date of disbursement reported by the school for the term. The name of all 
affected terms will be included in the error message and reported payments for all 
affected terms will be rejected. If a student is on hold for being 30+ days in arrears 
on child support payments, the school must withhold all future State Grant payments 
for the student until the student is no longer in arrears. Rejected payments should be 
recovered from the student and returned to the school’s State Grant account. The 
school does not have liability for repayment of overpayments from its own 
institutional funds unless the school disbursed State Grant funds after the school was 
notified by the Agency, via the on-line hold report or a previous DDS batch output 
report, of the student being placed on hold.  

 
SELF Default Hold 
Before Term 
Disbursement 
 

 
Appears when a SELF default hold existed on the Agency’s State Grant database 
prior to the date of disbursement reported by the school for the term. The name of all 
affected terms will be included in the error message and reported payments for all 
affected terms will be rejected. If a student is on hold for defaulting on a SELF loan, 
the school must withhold all future State Grant payments for the student until the 
student is no longer in default or has made six consecutive monthly payments to 
regain eligibility for State Grant. Rejected payments should be recovered from the 
student and returned to the school’s State Grant account. The school does not have 
liability for repayment of overpayments from its own institutional funds unless the 
school disbursed State Grant funds after the school was notified by the Agency, via 
the on-line hold report or a previous DDS batch output report, of the student being 
placed on hold.  
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Total Units in Prior 
Aid Years Exceed 
Limit 

 
Appears when the student has accumulated the maximum number of units of State 
Grant paid in previous aid years and results in all reported payments being rejected. 
A student loses eligibility for State Grant once the student has attended or received 
State Grant payments for 96 units, which is the equivalent of eight full-time 
semesters or 12 full-time quarters. The actual cut-off point is >94.4 units for a 
student attending a quarter school and 93.6 units for a student attending a semester 
school. A school can use the SG Web Access screen to query the student and review 
historical State Grant payment data. All rejected payments for the current year must 
be recovered from the student and returned to the school’s State Grant account.  

 
Total Units Prior to 
Term Exceed Limit 

 
Appears when the student has accumulated the maximum number of units of State 
Grant paid prior to the term embedded in the error message. Any reported payments 
for the affected and subsequent terms will be rejected and must be recovered from 
the student and returned to the school’s State Grant account. A student loses 
eligibility for State Grant once the student has attended or received State Grant 
payments for 96 units, which is the equivalent of eight full-time semesters or 12 full-
time quarters. The actual cut-off point is >94.4 units for a student attending a quarter 
school and 93.6 units for a student attending a semester school. A school can use the 
SG Web Access screen to query the student and review historical State Grant 
payment data. All rejected payments for the current year must be recovered from the 
student and returned to the school’s State Grant account.  

 
Term Payment > 
Term Award 

 
Appears when a reported payment for a term exceeds that term’s reported award by 
more than $1. The affected term will be embedded in the error message and the 
corresponding term payment will be rejected. The school should adjust the term 
payment and return any overpayments to its State Grant account prior to the next 
DDS batch submission. 

 
Multiple Term 
Payments > 
15 Credits 

 
Appears when another school has already paid the student for the term(s) in question 
and the current school’s reported term payment results in the student being paid for 
more than 15 credits. The name of the affected term will be embedded in the error 
message and the corresponding term payment will be rejected. The current school 
should adjust the student’s State Grant payment to an acceptable level and return any 
overpayments to its State Grant account prior to the next DDS batch submission. 

 
Annual Units Limit 
Exceeded 

 
Appears when the student is paid for more than three full-time semesters (36 units) 
or four full-time quarters (32 units) during the current aid year. The name of the 
affected term will be embedded in the error message and the corresponding term 
payment will be rejected. The current school should either cancel or adjust the 
student’s State Grant payment for the affected term and return any overpayments to 
its State Grant account prior to the next DDS batch submission. 

 
Applied After Cutoff 
for Term 

 
Appears when the student missed the State Grant application deadline for the term in 
question. The name of the affected term(s) will be embedded in the error message 
and all reported payments for the affected terms will be rejected. In order to meet the 
application deadline, the student’s original FAFSA application must be received by 
the federal application processor within 30 days of the term start date. The Agency 
makes this determination by comparing the student’s FAFSA receipt date on the 
ISIR to the school’s term start dates collected on the annual State Grant budget 
questionnaire. If the school believes the student’s original FAFSA receipt date was 
within 30 days of the term start date, the school should contact the Grant Unit for 
assistance at (651) 642-0567. If the student did apply after the term deadline date, 
the school should cancel the student’s award for that term(s) and return any rejected 
State Grant payments to its State Grant account. 
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No ISIR Record on 
File 

 
Appears when the Agency does not have an ISIR record for the student for the 
current aid year under the Social Security Number on the school’s record and is, 
therefore, unable to verify whether the student met the State Grant application 
deadline. The school should make sure the student submits a FAFSA. If the student 
has submitted a FAFSA, the school should contact the Agency’s State Grant unit for 
assistance. 

 
Term Award Too High 
for Enrolled Credits 

 
Appears when the reported award for the term in question is more than $2 higher 
than the Agency’s calculated award for the term, based on the student’s reported 
enrollment level. The name of the affected term is embedded in the error message 
and the corresponding term payment is rejected. A detailed comparison of term 
awards is provided on the accompanying Award Error Detail Roster for the current 
DDS batch. The school should adjust the term award and return any overpayments 
to its State Grant account. In cases where the award appears too high because the 
school reported an incorrect enrollment value, the school should correct the 
enrollment value prior to the next DDS batch submission. 

 
Term Award Too Low 
for Enrolled Credits 

 
Appears when the reported award for the term in question is more than $2 lower 
than the Agency’s calculated award for the term, based on the student’s reported 
enrollment level. The name of the affected term is embedded in the error message 
but the corresponding term payment is NOT rejected. A detailed comparison of term 
awards is provided on the accompanying Award Error Detail Roster for the current 
DDS batch. If necessary, the school should adjust the term award. In cases where the 
award appears too low because the school reported an incorrect enrollment value, 
the school should correct the enrollment value prior to the next DDS batch 
submission. 

 
Federal Reject 
 

 
Appears when the Agency could not perform the Federal Methodology need analysis 
formula and State Grant award calculation due to the student’s application data 
meeting one or more of the several Federal Methodology reject edits. All reported 
term payments for the current year will be rejected. The precise federal reject code 
and detailed description will appear on the accompanying Award Error Detail 
Roster for the current DDS batch. The school should correct the application data 
creating the federal reject prior to the next DDS batch submission. 

 
School’s EFC Not 
Equal to the 
Agency’s EFC 

 
Appears when the school’s reported Expected Family Contribution (EFC) for the 
student does not match the EFC calculated by the Agency using the data supplied on 
the DDS record for the student. This is a warning message only and does not result 
in rejected payments. In most cases, discrepancies occur because the school’s EFC is 
based on Federal Methodology assumptions and the Agency’s EFC is not, or vice 
versa. The school should check the value it sent in the MHESO-ORIGIN-TYPE 
field on the DDS record to make sure it sent the correct value. A value of ‘O’ means 
the Agency should use assumptions when calculating the EFC. A value of ‘R’ or 
spaces means the Agency should not use assumptions when calculating the EFC. 

 
School’s PC Not 
Equal to the 
Agency’s PC 

 
Appears when the school’s reported Parent Contribution (PC) for the student does 
not match the PC calculated by the Agency using the data supplied on the DDS 
record for the student. This is a warning message only and does not result in rejected 
payments. In most cases, discrepancies occur because the school’s PC is based on 
Federal Methodology assumptions and the Agency’s PC is not, or vice versa. The 
school should check the value it sent in the MHESO-ORIGIN-TYPE field on the 
DDS record to make sure it sent the correct value. A value of ‘O’ means the Agency 
should use assumptions when calculating the PC. A value of ‘R’ or spaces means the 
Agency should not use assumptions when calculating the PC. 
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Report Name Award Error Detail Roster 
  
 
Program Origin 

 
One of four State Grant Decentralized Delivery System (DDS) Output Reports. 

 
Distribution 

 
DDS School (1); Office of Higher Education (1). 

 
Frequency 

 
This output report is generated each time the Office of Higher Education processes a 
DDS batch containing need analysis or award errors. This report will not be 
generated if there were no award or payment errors in the school’s DDS batch. 

 
Purpose 

 
The error edits performed during DDS batch processing prevent erroneous data from 
being loaded to the Agency’s State Grant database. This output report provides 
further detail on need analysis and award calculation errors so they can be corrected 
prior to the next DDS batch submission. Schools can review and print this report on-
line by logging into the SG Web Access Screen the day after submitting a DDS 
batch to the Agency. The data can also be copied from the report into another 
format, such as Word or Excel.  

 
General Description 
 

 
This report provides further detail for need analysis and award calculation errors 
appearing on the Roster of Rejected Awards/Payments. Most errors result in 
rejection of awards or payments, but some errors are merely warnings that do not 
result in award or payment rejection. 

 
Data Description 

 
A description of the data appearing on this roster is provided below by column 
heading: 

 
• Name 

 
Student’s reported name. 

 
• Soc Sec 

 
Student’s reported social security number. 

 
• Tuition 

 
Term tuition reported by school appears if term award is flagged for error 

 
• Fees 

 
Term fees reported by school appears if term award is flagged for error 

 
• Cap Term tuition and fee maximum for student’s degree program (two- or four-year) 

reported by school appears if term award is flagged for error 
 
• Dep Status 

 
Student’s dependency status as reported by school (D=dependent; I=independent) 

 
• Federal PC 

 
Federal Methodology parent contribution calculated by the Agency using data 
supplied by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported Federal 
Methodology parent contribution appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. 

 
• State PC 

 
State need analysis parent contribution calculated by the Agency using data supplied 
by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported state need 
analysis parent contribution appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. (Note: Data in this 
field is only used if state need analysis differs from federal need analysis. Currently, 
the state adopts the federal need analysis.) 
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• State PC 

 
State need analysis parent contribution calculated by the Agency using data supplied 
by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported state need 
analysis parent contribution appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. (Note: Data in this 
field is only used if state need analysis differs from federal need analysis. Currently, 
the state adopts the federal need analysis.) 

 
• State SC 

 
State need analysis parent contribution calculated by the Agency using data supplied 
by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported state need 
analysis parent contribution appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. (Note: Data in this 
field is only used if state need analysis differs from federal need analysis. Currently, 
the state adopts the federal need analysis.) 

 
• Federal EFC 

 
Federal Methodology expected family contribution calculated by the Agency using 
data supplied by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported 
Federal Methodology expected family contribution appears under ‘Inst Award’ 
column. 

 
• FT Pell Award 

 
The full-time Federal Pell Grant award calculated by the agency appears under 
‘State Award’ column. School’s reported full-time Federal Pell Grant award appears 
under ‘Inst Award’ column. 

 
• 3Q Pell Award 

 
The three-quarter time Federal Pell Grant award calculated by the Agency appears 
under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported three quarter-time Federal Pell Grant 
award appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. 

 
• HT Pell Award 

 
The half-time Federal Pell Grant award calculated by the Agency appears under 
‘State Award’ column. School’s reported half-time Federal Pell Grant award appears 
under ‘Inst Award’ column. 

 
• PT Pell Award The less than half-time Federal Pell Grant award calculated by the Agency appears 

under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported less than half-time Federal Pell 
Grant award appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. 

 
• Summer 1 

 
State Grant award for leading summer term calculated by the Agency using data 
supplied by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported award 
for leading summer term appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. Any difference 
between leading summer term awards is displayed in the ‘Award Diff’ column. 

 
• Fall 

 
State Grant award for fall term calculated by the Agency using data supplied by 
school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported award for fall term 
appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. Any difference between fall term awards is 
displayed in the ‘Award Diff’ column. 

 
• Winter 

 
State Grant award for winter quarter calculated by the Agency using data supplied 
by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported award for winter 
quarter appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. Any difference between winter quarter 
awards is displayed in the ‘Award Diff’ column. (Note: Semester schools reporting 
winter quarter term awards will see errors and award differences since there is no 
winter quarter on a semester system.) 

 
• Spring 

 
State Grant award for spring term calculated by the Agency using data supplied by 
school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported award for spring 
term appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. Any difference between spring term 
awards is displayed in the ‘Award Diff’ column. 
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• Summer 2 

 
State Grant award for trailing summer term calculated by the Agency using data 
supplied by school appears under ‘State Award’ column. School’s reported award 
for trailing summer term appears under ‘Inst Award’ column. Any difference 
between trailing summer term awards is displayed in the ‘Award Diff’ column. 

 
Message 
 

 
A description of error messages and their corresponding ‘Action Steps’ is provided 
below. 

 
Term Award Too High 
for Enrolled Credits 

 
Appears when the reported award for the term in question is more than $2 higher 
than the Agency’s calculated award for the term, based on the student’s reported 
enrollment level. The name of the affected term is embedded in the error message 
and the corresponding term payment is rejected. The school should adjust the term 
award and return any overpayments to its State Grant account. In cases where the 
award appears too high because the school reported an incorrect enrollment value, 
the school should correct the enrollment value prior to the next DDS batch 
submission. 

 
Term Award Too Low 
for Enrolled Credits 

 
Appears when the reported award for the term in question is more than $2 lower 
than the Agency’s calculated award for the term, based on the student’s reported 
enrollment level. The name of the affected term is embedded in the error message 
but the corresponding term payment is NOT rejected. If necessary, the school should 
adjust the term award. In cases where the award appears too low because the school 
reported an incorrect enrollment value, the school should correct the enrollment 
value prior to the next DDS batch submission. If there is a valid reason the award 
appears too low (e.g., proration of award at clock hour school), no action is required 
by the school. 

 





 
FINANCIAL AID MANUAL 

 
NUMBER 

Section III 

 
PAGE 

App 18 
 
SECTION 
 State Grant Program 

 
DATE 

July 2016 

 
 

Report Name Roster of Accepted Payments 
  
 
Program Origin 

 
One of four State Grant Decentralized Delivery System (DDS) Output Reports. 

 
Distribution 

 
DDS School (1); Office of Higher Education (1). 

 
Frequency 

 
This output report is generated each time the Office of Higher Education processes a 
DDS batch containing payments that were not flagged for errors. This report is not 
generated if there were no accepted payments in the school’s DDS batch. 

 
Purpose 

 
The error edits performed during DDS batch processing prevent erroneous data from 
being loaded to the Agency’s State Grant database. If a term payment passes through 
the error edits, it is displayed on this report as accepted. It is possible for a student to 
appear on this roster, as well as the Roster of Rejected Awards/Payments, if one 
term’s payment is rejected and another’s is accepted. The total of accepted payments 
on this roster also appears on the Reconciliation Report, another output report 
displaying accounting totals for the school’s DDS batch. Schools can review and 
print this report on-line by logging into the SG Web Access Screen the day after 
submitting a DDS batch to the Agency. The data can also be copied from the report 
into another format, such as Word or Excel.  

 
General Description 
 

 
This report displays data on all accepted term payments within the school’s most 
recent DDS batch. Data is provided by student in alphabetical order, with accepted 
term payments appearing under the applicable term headings. 

 
Data Description 

 
A description of the data appearing on this roster is provided below by column 
heading: 

 
• Name 

 
Student’s reported name. 

 
• Soc Sec 

 
Student’s reported social security number. 

 
• Total Paid 

 
Student’s total accepted payments for all terms. 

 
• Summer 1 

 
Student’s accepted payment for leading summer term. 

 
• Fall 

 
Student’s accepted payment for fall term. 

 
• Winter 

 
Student’s accepted payment for winter term (used only for quarter system). 

 
• Spring 

 
Student’s accepted payment for spring term. 

 
• Summer 2 

 
Student’s accepted payment for trailing summer term. 
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Report Name Reconciliation Report 
  
 
Program Origin 

 
One of four State Grant Decentralized Delivery System (DDS) Output Reports 

 
Distribution 

 
DDS School (1); Office of Higher Education (1). 

 
Frequency 

 
The Reconciliation Report is generated each time the Office of Higher Education 
processes a DDS submitted by the institution. 

 
Purpose 

 
The report is produced in order for the Agency and the institution to reconcile 
accounting records with respect to cash advances to date, accepted net payments to 
date, rejected net payments to date and cash balances on hand at the institution. 
Schools can review and print this report on-line by logging into the SG Web Access 
Screen the day after submitting a DDS batch to the Agency. The data can also be 
copied from the report into another format, such as Word or Excel. 

 
General Description 
 

 
The report provides a comparison of the Agency’s and the institution’s data in order 
to reconcile accounting records and cash flow figures. Totals are taken from a 
variety of sources such as the institution’s trailer record for its DDS batch, the 
Agency’s records of cash advances to date, and the total accepted and rejected 
payments from the Roster of Rejected Awards/Payments and the Roster of Accepted 
Payments. 

 
Data Description 

 
A description of the data appearing on this roster is provided below by column 
heading: 

 
• School 

 
Name of school submitting DDS batch 

 
• School Code 

 
School’s 6-digit school code used for federal financial aid programs 

 
• Label ID 

 
10-character optional identifier supplied by school submitting DDS batch 

 
• Cutoff Date 

 
School’s cutoff date for data supplied in DDS batch 

 
• Date Received 

 
Date DDS batch received by the Agency 

 
• Date Processed 

 
Date DDS batch processed by the Agency 

 
• Number of Records 

 
Number of student records in DDS batch as counted by the Agency (OHE column) 
and school (School column) 

 
• Amount Net 

Payments 

 
Total amount of payments in DDS batch as calculated by the Agency (OHE column) 
and school (School column) 

 
• Total Advances 

 
Total funds advanced to school by the Agency to date, with detail of individual 
advances appearing below total 

 
• Total Payments 

Accepted  

 
Total payments accepted in current batch from the Roster of Accepted Payments 

 
• Balance on Hand  

 
Total funds advanced to school by the Agency minus total of accepted payments. 
May be a negative figure if school is seeking reimbursement. 
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• Total Rejected 

Payments 

 
Total payments rejected in current batch from the Roster of Rejected 
Awards/Payments 

 
• Unidentified School 

Difference 

 
This amount should always be ‘0.’ If it is necessary for the Agency to “plug” an 
amount on this line to reconcile, it is an indication that the institution has not 
reconciled its computer records with its business office accounting records prior to 
submitting DDS records to the Agency. This figure is derived by subtracting the 
total rejected payments from the difference between the school’s balance on hand 
and the Agency’s balance on hand. 

 
• Balance Payable to 

the OHE 

 
Total funds advanced to school by the Agency minus total of accepted payments. 
Balance must be returned to the Agency no later than August 1 at the end of each aid 
year. May be a negative figure if school is seeking reimbursement. 
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Reconciliation Report • 07/30/2007 
SAMPLE UNIVERSITY [ 001234 ] 

Label ID: SA01  
Cutoff Date:  07/27/2007 
Date Received:  07/27/2007 
Date Processed:  07/30/2007 

 
Trailer Reconciliation OHE School 

Number of Records  391 391 

Amount Net Payments $78,435.00 $78,435.00 
    

Outstanding Balance Summary OHE School 

Advance Dated 07/20/2007 $35,000.00  

Total Advances  $35,000.00  

Net Payments Accepted Through Cutoff $77,801.00  

Balance On Hand As of Cutoff Date ($42,801.00) ($43,435.00) 
Roster of Rejected Net Payments  $634.00 

Unidentified School Difference  $0.00 

Balance Payable to OHE  ($42,801.00) 
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Comparison of State and Pell Grant 
Disbursement and Award Adjustment Policies 

 

Scenario Current SG Policy Pell Grant Policy 

Award first paid at 
beginning of term 

Base on enrollment level at 
beginning of term. 

Base on enrollment level at 
beginning of term. 

Award first paid on 
school’s award 
adjustment end date 

Base on enrollment level at time of 
disbursement. Exclude dropped or 
withdrawn credits. 

Base on enrollment level at time of 
disbursement. Exclude dropped or 
withdrawn credits. 

Award first paid after 
school’s award 
adjustment end date 

Base on enrollment level at time of 
disbursement. Exclude W credits. 

Base on enrollment level at time of 
disbursement. Exclude W credits. 

Award first paid after 
end of term 
 

Base on enrollment level at end of 
term. Exclude W, FN or FW credits 
or their equivalent. Subject to Pell 
Grant requirement to verify 
attendance if student receives all F 
grades. Subject to award 
recalculation if school determines 
student never attended class. 
Subject to refund for total or partial 
withdrawal if school determines 
student attended but did not 
complete class(es). 

Base on enrollment level at end of 
term. W credits excluded. Verify 
attendance if student receives all 
non-passing grades. Subject to 
refund for total withdrawal if school 
cannot document attendance in at 
least one class covering the entire 
length of the term. 

Student withdraws from 
course after initial State 
Grant disbursement but 
is still enrolled 
 

Award recalculation required if 
student never attended class. 
Otherwise, partial withdrawal refund 
calculation required if award at new 
enrollment level is less, student 
withdrew from course before 
school’s award adjustment end date 
and there is a refund of institutional 
charges. If award at new enrollment 
level is higher, no refund required 
but award can only be increased if 
Pell Grant is reduced (based on 
change in enrollment level) and 
enrollment level changed before 
school’s award adjustment end date 
or if award increase is based on 
change in parent contribution or 
EFC. 

In general, no award recalculation 
takes place after school’s Pell Grant 
award adjustment end date unless 
student never attended class. 
Refunds not required for partial 
withdrawals. 
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Scenario Current SG Policy Pell Grant Policy 

Student adds credits 
after initial State Grant 
disbursement  

If enrollment change occurs before 
school’s award adjustment end 
date, disburse additional funds if 
award at new enrollment level is 
higher. School may also have policy 
to add credits that were not 
originally included due to school 
error or interim term credits 
assigned to fall term. If award at 
new enrollment level is less, State 
Grant is only reduced if the Pell 
Grant is actually increased (based 
on change in enrollment level) or 
award decrease is based on change 
in parent contribution or EFC. 

In general, no award recalculation 
takes placed after school’s award 
adjustment end date. 

Total withdrawal from 
school prior to 
disbursement 

Not eligible for State Grant. Eligible for percentage earned 
during period of enrollment. 

Total withdrawal after 
initial disbursement 

Subject to refund calculation for 
total withdrawal if there is a refund 
of institutional charges (based on 
each school’s institutional refund 
policy–certain proprietary schools 
subject to prorata policy in MS 141). 

Subject to refund calculation for 
total withdrawal (based on 
percentage earned for period of 
enrollment under R2T4 policy). 

Retroactive withdrawal 
backdated to first day of 
term 

If total withdrawal, entire State 
Grant must be repaid. If partial 
withdrawal, award recalculated to 
exclude backdated withdrawal 
credits. 

Subject to refund calculation for 
total withdrawal (based on 
percentage earned for period of 
enrollment). No award recalculation 
for partial withdrawal after school’s 
Pell Grant award adjustment end 
date. 
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[PLACE SCHOOL’S LOGO OR LETTERHEAD HERE] 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Student Disclosure Statement Required for Schools Not Participating 
in the Federal Pell Grant Program 

2016-2017 Academic Year 
 

 
 
As a postsecondary educational institution that is not participating in the Federal Pell Grant program, we 
are required by Minnesota Statutes 136A.103 to inform you that, by choosing to attend this institution, 
you will not be eligible to receive a Federal Pell Grant. 
 
For the 2015-2016 academic year (July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016), Federal Pell Grants range from $588 to 
$5,775 per year and are available to students who: 
 

1. have an expected family contribution (EFC) less than $5,199 
2. are U.S. citizens or eligible non-citizens, 
3. are enrolled in an eligible undergraduate program at a participating postsecondary institution,  
4. are making satisfactory academic progress, 
5. are not in default status on a federal student loan, and 
6. have not have been convicted of the sale of illegal drugs while receiving federal financial aid. 

By signing below, I am confirming that I have read the above disclosure statement and understand that I 
will not be receiving a Pell Grant at this institution. 
 
 
 
__________________________________________________  __________________________ 
Student’s Signature       Date Signed 
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Report Name 

State Grant On-Line Student Eligibility 
Questionnaire Report 

  
 
Report Origin 

 
Records are created when students access the State Grant On-Line Student 
Eligibility Questionnaire via the student’s original FAFSA on the Web confirmation 
page state link or, for those who missed the state link, through a follow-up email 
from OHE containing a student-specific link to the state questionnaire site. Once a 
student has a successfully completed on-line state questionnaire on file, the student 
can no longer access the state on-line questionnaire. Participating campuses create 
reports by logging into the SG Web Access screen and choosing the ‘State Grant 
On-Line Student Eligibility Questionnaire Report’ option.  

 
Distribution 

 
Each school’s on-line state questionnaire report is limited to financial aid 
administrators at that campus, as well as OHE grant unit staff. 

 
Frequency 

 
The State Grant On-Line Student Eligibility Questionnaire database is updated in 
real-time as students access the system and complete questionnaires. Reports of 
student on-line questionnaire records may be created at any time by financial aid 
administrators at participating campuses and will reflect real-time student data. 

 
Purpose 

 
The State Grant On-Line Student Eligibility Questionnaire system was created to 
capture information from Minnesota FAFSA applicants about state residency and 
amount of postsecondary attendance after high school. The information collected is 
stored and made available to participating campus financial aid administrators when 
they create a report from the system for their campus. The information on the report, 
as well as other documentation collected on the FAFSA or by financial aid 
administrators, will be used to determine if applicants meet program eligibility 
requirements for the Minnesota State Grant program, as well as other state financial 
aid programs requiring Minnesota residency or a limit on postsecondary attendance. 

 
General Description 
 

 
The report created by the financial aid administrator will display the student’s 
responses to the questions on the on-line state questionnaire, as well as relevant data 
from the student’s most current Institutional Student Information Record (ISIR) for 
the aid year. There may be multiple on-line state questionnaire transactions for 
students who logged into the questionnaire on multiple occasions but did not 
complete the questionnaire until the most recent transaction. There may also be 
multiple transactions when a previously completed on-line state questionnaire was 
subsequently invalidated by a newer ISIR transaction (see description of this under 
‘Guidance’ section below). 

When students reach the on-line state questionnaire page, screen-out logic is used 
to bypass the entire on-line state questionnaire if the student’s FAFSA data indicates 
the student will not meet program eligibility requirements: 

• The student will be 20 years old as of the start of the aid year (July 1) and the 
student either answered: ‘yes’ to having a bachelor’s degree; ‘yes’ to being a 
graduate/professional student; or that s/he was pursuing a graduate/professional 
degree (ISIR credential value of ‘8’); OR 

• The student had a value of ‘3’ (neither U.S. citizen or eligible non-citizen) for the 
citizenship question; OR 
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• The student’s ISIR did not contain at least one college code for a MN college 

participating in the State Grant On-Line Student Eligibility Questionnaire 
system; OR 

• The student has already successfully completed the on-line questionnaire and 
there are no new participating MN college codes on the ISIR. 

For students who are not immediately screened out and do access the on-line state 
questionnaire, skip logic is used to bypass the screen containing state residency 
questions if the student’s state residency status can be easily determined by data 
supplied on the ISIR. In both of the cases below, the ‘State Residency Status’ field 
on the student’s on-line state questionnaire record is set to ‘Confirmed’: 

• A student whose FAFSA high school state = ‘MN’ and who indicated MN was 
the state of residence at the time of high school graduation on the on-line state 
questionnaire screen; OR 

• A dependent student whose parents’ state of legal residence on the FAFSA = 
‘MN’.  

A description of the data appearing on each student’s on-line state questionnaire 
record is described in the annotated version of the MN State Grant Student 
Eligibility Questionnaire Record at the end of this document. 

 
Guidance 

 
In many cases, financial aid administrators are not required to collect additional 
documentation beyond what appears on the student’s on-line state questionnaire 
record to determine a student’s Minnesota residency status and/or amount of 
previous postsecondary attendance unless there is conflicting information in the 
student’s file.  

The following are examples of cases where no additional documentation would be 
required. 

If the ‘State Residency Status’ field is set to ‘Confirmed,’ the student would be 
considered a Minnesota resident absent conflicting information.  

 If the ‘Student Successfully Completed State Grant Questionnaire’ field is set to 
‘Y,’ and: 

• the ‘State Residency Status’ field is set to ‘Unconfirmed,’ the school must review 
all of the information provided under ‘State Residency Questions’ on the 
student’s on-line eligibility questionnaire to determine if the student meets the 
state residency requirement. It is only if the school is unable to make a 
determination based on the student’s on-line questionnaire responses that the 
school would need to collect additional documentation from the student. 

• the ‘Indicated No Attendance Beyond High School,’ field is ‘Y,’ and the 
‘Transcripts Required’ field is set to ‘N,’ the school is not required to request 
academic transcripts from the student absent conflicting information. 

• the ‘Indicated No Attendance Beyond High School,’ field is set to ‘N,’ and 
postsecondary attendance is listed but the ‘Transcripts Required’ field is set to 
‘N,’ the school is not required to request academic transcripts from the student 
absent conflicting information. 
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In some cases, the school will need to collect additional documentation beyond what 
is collected on the on-line state questionnaire. The following are examples of when 
the school would either need to collect additional information or watch for another 
on-line state questionnaire record. 

• The ‘Student Successfully Completed State Grant Questionnaire’ field is set to 
‘N’ for No, which means the school can either give the student the link to the on-
line state questionnaire so the student can complete an on-line questionnaire or 
collect information directly from the student using the paper state questionnaire 
or similar form developed by the school. Directing the student to the on-line state 
questionnaire link will only work if the student does not meet the screen out logic 
used by the on-line state questionnaire. 

• The ‘Student Successfully Completed State Grant Questionnaire’ field is set to 
‘I’ for Invalidated and the ‘State Residency Status’ field is set to ‘Reversed.’ This 
occurs when the residency fields on the previous ISIR transaction confirmed state 
residency without the student having to complete the full residency section of the 
previous on-line state questionnaire transaction, but the residency fields on the 
newest ISIR transaction do not confirm state residency. OHE will email the 
student a link to the on-line state questionnaire and once accessed, it will require 
the student to complete the full residency section on the questionnaire, generating 
another questionnaire record. 

• The student lists 810 or more days of postsecondary attendance and the 
‘Transcripts Required?’ flag is set to ‘Y,’ unless the 810 or more days includes 
future attendance listed by the student or the school has documentation proving 
the student did not attend 810 or more days of postsecondary education. 

 NOTE: For example, if the student listed a period of enrollment at the current 
institution as 08/15/2007 to 06/15/2009 (670 days), and a previous institution as 
08/15/2006 to 01/15/2007 (153 days), for a total of 823 days, but the school 
knows the student didn’t attend summer term 2008 (90 days) at the current 
institution, the school would not be required to collect transcripts from the 
previous school, since the total days would equal 733. 

• If the student indicates on the on-line state questionnaire that s/he is receiving 
tuition reciprocity benefits from a neighboring state, and the student is attending 
a Minnesota public postsecondary school, the school should follow-up to make 
sure the student is not receiving both state financial aid and tuition reciprocity 
benefits from another state. The student may turn down reciprocity benefits in 
order to qualify for state financial aid, assuming the student meets the state 
residency requirement. 

• If the student’s response to ‘If you currently reside in another state/country, are 
you physically attending a Minnesota college?’ is ‘Y’ or ‘N’ rather than ‘N/A,’ 
the school should make sure the student is physically attending at least one class 
if the only way the student can meet the state residency requirement is by having 
graduated from a MN high school and the student currently resides in another 
state. 

• If the student lists postsecondary attendance and indicates s/he withdrew for a 
major medical illness or active military duty, the school should request 
supporting documentation from the student and not count that term’s attempted 
credits towards the limit on postsecondary attendance. 
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Annotated MN State Grant Student Eligibility Questionnaire Record 

Aid Year: 2017 [last calendar year in aid year] 
Date Generated: 01/18/2016  03:46PM            Source: FOTW (FAFSA interface), OHE email response (student 
used unique link in OHE follow-up email), OHE log-in (student logged in), OHE automated record (previous 
record copied for new school)            Dep Status: I/Y=independent, D/X=dependent 
Student: LAST NAME, FIRST NAME                      DOB: MM/DD/CCYY                      SSN: XXX-XX-XXXX 
Insts: 002354, 002342, 002334 [school codes from current FAFSA/ISIR] 
 
Screen-Out Variables 

Graduate or Professional Student? 2 [1=Yes, 2=No–from current FAFSA/ISIR] 
U.S. Citizen/Eligible Non-Citizen? 1 [1=citizen, 2=eligible non-citizen, 3=neither–from current FAFSA/ISIR] 
Bachelor's Degree? 2 [1=Yes, 2=No - from current FAFSA/ISIR] 
Degree/Credential Code: 5 [1=first bach, 2=2nd bach, 3-6 associate or certificate, 7=teach cred, 8=grad/prof, 
9=undecided–from current FAFSA/ISIR] 
Prior Year Questionnaire? N     Prior Year(s) Found: n/a [from OHE search of database] 
Student Successfully Completed State Grant Questionnaire? Y [determined by OHE] 
Sent SELF Loan information? N [based on student’s response on questionnaire] 
State Residency Status: Unconfirmed [Confirmed=Student graduated from MN high school while residing in 
MN OR dependent student’s parents’ state of residence=MN on FAFSA] 
 
State Residency Questions 

Student's State of Legal Residence on FAFSA: MN [from current FAFSA/ISIR] 
Parents' State of Legal Residence on FAFSA: [from dependent student’s current FAFSA/ISIR] 
State in Which Student's High School Located: ND [from current FAFSA/ISIR] 
Student's State at Time of HS Graduation: [from OHE questionnaire if student graduated from MN high school] 
Year of High School Graduation: 1980 [from OHE questionnaire only if student not MN high school graduate] 
Year of GED: 1980     State of GED: [from OHE questionnaire only if student not MN high school graduate] 
 
State/Country   [from OHE questionnaire] From To Reason 

MINNESOTA  06/2010 01/2016 Other  

NORTH DAKOTA  06/2008 06/2010 Employment  

TEXAS  06/1985 06/2008 Military Service  

GERMANY  05/1983 05/1985 Military Service  
NORTH DAKOTA  05/1974 03/1983 Orig Place of Res  
 
Tuition reciprocity benefits from another state? N [Y or N response from OHE questionnaire] 
If you currently reside in another state/country, are you physically attending a Minnesota college? N/A [Y, N 
or N/A response from OHE questionnaire] 
 
Previous Postsecondary Attendance 

College  [from OHE questionnaire] From To 
Enrollment 
Level 

NORTH DAKOTA STATE UNIV  07/1980 05/1982 Full  
NORTH HENNEPIN COMMUNITY 08/2012 05/2013 Full-time  
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[CON’T] 

 
Transcripts Required? Y [Default of N=No; Set to Y=Yes by OHE if student total days > 809] 
Indicated no attendance beyond high school: N [Y=Yes – student indicated no postsecondary attendance, N=No] 
Withdrew for major medical illness while under care of professional: N [Y or N response from OHE 
questionnaire] 
Withdrew for active duty military service after 12/31/2002: N [Y or N response from OHE questionnaire] 
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Voluntary Waiver of 
Minnesota State Grant and Postsecondary Child Care Grant 

for Academic Year: ___________ 
 

 
___________________________________________________          _____________________________ 
Name (Please print)                                                                                        Student I.D. # 
 
 
Please indicate why you are voluntarily waiving your right to the Minnesota State Grant and 
Postsecondary Child Care Grant: 
 
         I am currently unable to provide my academic transcript(s), but plan do so in the future 
 

NOTE:  It is your responsibility to notify the financial aid office to review the transcript when it is provided.   
Disbursement will be based on your eligibility at the time of disbursement. 

 
         I am unable to provide my academic transcript(s) this academic year 
 

NOTE:  The Family Educational Rights and Privact Act (FERPA) requires colleges to allow you access to your academic 
records even if there is a hold on your official records. This means you can physically inspect and copy your unofficial 
records, such as transcripts. If it is impossible for you to physically inspect the records, colleges must send copies of the 
requested records to you and may charge you for doing so. You can then submit the unofficial records to your current 
college which will review them to determine your eligibility for Minnesota State Grant and/or Postsecondary Child Care 
Grant. However, unofficial transcripts/records cannot be used to transfer in course work to your current college. 
 
NOTE: If your previous college has closed, your transcripts may be held by another college or organization. This web site 
provides information about private colleges that closed in Minnesota: 
http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/sPages/closedSchoolContact.cfm 
 

         Other: ___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
By signing this waiver, I certify that I am voluntarily relinquishing any and all rights to the 2016-2017 
Minnesota State Grant and/or Postsecondary Child Care Grant. I also understand that relinquishing my 
rights to the Minnesota State Grant may negatively affect other state financial aid programs that are 
dependent upon my eligibility for Minnesota State Grant, such as the Minnesota Indian Scholarship and 
MN GI Bill programs. I also certify that a member of the financial aid staff has informed me of all of my 
options, given me the opportunity to ask questions and answered all my questions to my satisfaction. 
 
 
___________________________________________________          _____________________________ 
Student’s Signature                                                                                        Date 
 
 
___________________________________________________          _____________________________ 
Signature of Campus Financial Aid Administrator                                    Date 

http://www.ohe.state.mn.us/sPages/closedSchoolContact.cfm
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                                      DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY 
                                                           UNIT LETTERHEAD 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
[Note: This is an example of acceptable documentation of active membership in the National Guard. The 
letter can also be modified to serve as documentation of membership in the Reserves, in which case, the 
Commanding Officer must also verify the member is stationed in Minnesota.] 
 
 
OFFICE SYMBOL DATE 
 
 
MEMORANDUM FOR RECORD   
 
SUBJECT:  Verification of Minnesota National Guard Status 
 
 
1.  This memorandum is to verify that SOLDIER NAME/RANK (XXX-XX-1234) is an 

active member of the Minnesota National Guard.   
 
2.  SOLDIER NAME/RANK has been a member of the Minnesota National Guard from 

DATE-PRESENT.   
 
3.  Due to SOLDIER NAME/RANK’s status in the Minnesota National Guard, he/she 

and his/her spouse and/or dependents are eligible for state financial aid, provided 
he/she meets the program-specific eligibility requirements, such as residing in 
Minnesota.   

 
4.  POC for this memorandum is the unit full-time Readiness NCO, RNCO NAME/RANK 

at PHONE NUMBER or EMAIL ADDRESS. 
 
 
 
   

                 
COMMANDER’S 
SIGNATURE BLOCK 

       

mailto:justin.d.anderson.mil@mail.mil
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