skip to content
  • Get Ready!
  • SELF Loan
  • Minnesota College Savings Plan
Minnesota Office of Higher Education

Home > Paying for College > Financial Aid You Don't Repay > Aid for Students with Special Circumstances > Education Vouchers for Former Youth In Care

 

Education Vouchers for Former Youth In Care


 

Education vouchers are federal funds made available to states through the Chafee Foster Care Independence Act. Education vouchers are intended to help current and former foster care youth pay for postsecondary education.

Who Is Eligible?

Initial application: Youth applying for an ETV for the first time, or those who previously completed an application but did not receive an ETV award, must be under age 21 by the application due date and accepted into an accredited postsecondary education or training program. Youth must also meet ONE of the following criteria.:

  • You were in foster care on or after your 16th birthday, and continue to be in foster care up to or beyond your 18th birthday.
  • You were adopted from foster care after your 16th birthday.
  • You were in foster care on or after your 16th birthday when a relative accepts a transfer of permanent legal and physical custody through a juvenile court order.
  • You are/were under state guardianship at your 18th birthday.

Renewal application: Youth previously awarded an ETV must meet all of the following criteria:

  • Participating in the ETV program on your 21st birthday and have not reached your 23rd birthday, and
  • Continuing to be enrolled in school, and
  • Making progress towards completing your school program.

How Much Money Can You Get?

The maximum amount per year is $5,000 per student. Youth must apply for other sources of financial aid as well. In addition to tuition, books and fees, education vouchers may be used for room and board, child care, transportation, computers, and other expenses the student may need to cover to make a post secondary education possible.

The amount of an education voucher award is based on the amount of other aid you are receiving and an estimated living expenses budget which is a part of the application.

What Is the Application Process?

The application is available on the Minnesota Department of Human Services Education and Training Voucher website.

NOTE: The revised online application will be on the ETV website in April, 2013.

You also must attach copies of the FAFSA, financial aid award letter, school acceptance letter, and most recent transcripts. Students must reapply each year if they need ETV funds.

What Is the Deadline?

Students submitting applications and all of the required supporting documents on or before the following deadlines will receive the maximum ETV award based on their need with the maximum award of $5,000.

  • July 1 for students starting school in the fall semester
  • January 1 for students starting school in the spring semester

Students submitting applications and all of the required supporting documents by the following deadlines will receive ETV awards based on their need and the availability of funds.

  • July 2-October 31 for students starting school in the fall semester
  • January 2-31 for students starting school in the spring semester

For More Information

Visit the Minnesota Department of Human Services Education and Training Voucher website or contact:

Minnesota Department of Human Services
444 Lafayette Road North, 3rd Floor South
St. Paul, MN 55155
Tel: (651) 431-4663
E-mail: DHS.ETVcoordinator@state.mn.us.