The Public Safety Officer's Survivor Grant provides educational benefits to dependent children and the surviving spouse of a public safety officer killed in the line of duty on or after January 1, 1973.
Applicants must be enrolled in an undergraduate degree or certificate program or a graduate degree program after June 30, 2011, at an eligible Minnesota institution that participates in the State Grant Program and not have received benefits for the maximum of 10 full-time semesters or 15 full-time quarters. (A student who withdraws from enrollment for active military service or due to a major medical illness is entitled to an additional semester of grant eligibility.)
Awards are based on the annual average full-time tuition and mandatory fees charged by the institution, or the applicable tuition and fee maximum established in law. The annual full-time tuition and fee maximums are $14,760 for students in a 4-year degree or graduate program and $5,790 for students in a 2-year degree program, prorated for term length and enrollment level.
Applicants need to take a certificate of eligibility to the financial aid office at the school they attend or plan to attend. Awards need to be applied for each term. This certificate can be obtained from:
Minnesota Department of Public Safety
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 1000 NCL Tower
St. Paul, MN 55101
Tel: (651) 201-7164
After filing the FAFSA, the student should contact the institution’s financial aid administrator at the college or vocational school he or she is attending to ask what documentation the school needs in order to document the student’s eligibility for the scholarship