decorative banner image



Who's Eligible for Tuition Reciprocity Benefits?

There's no statewide reciprocal agreement between Minnesota and Iowa. However, there's a limited reciprocity agreement between Minnesota West Community & Technical College and Iowa Lakes Community College (with campuses in Algona, Estherville, Emmetsburg, Spencer, and Spirit Lake).

Additionally, several Minnesota colleges charge resident tuition rates to students from any state, including Iowa. Students should apply directly to the college they choose to attend.

What Rate Do You Pay?

Eligible students pay the resident rate at whichever school they attend. For specific tuition rate information, students should contact the school they're interested in attending.

How Many Students Participate?

For fall term 2013, there were 164 Minnesota residents attending Iowa Lakes Community College and 56 Iowa residents attending Minnesota West Community and Technical College.